Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
New York

Photo Credit: AttributionNoncommercial Some rights reserved by Larry Ridinger


New York ALHN Site

State Coordinator: Ron Nielson


New York was admitted to statehood on July 26, 1788.   It is called "Empire State."




"First I will mention to you that New York, among other proofs that its boundary line was the west side of Connecticut river, and that the province extended northward to the St. Lawrence or Canada line, averred, that the Five Nations, the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Cayugas, and Senecas, had been subdued, and had submitted to the governors of New York, by treaties, as early as 1683.  These Five Nations were, by the French, called Iroquois.  They were a powerful confederacy of distinct tribes, and had conquered the other native tribes from the great lakes to the ocean.  New York claimed, from their submission, the exclusive right to purchase their lands from them, and to have jurisdiction over the country when purchased and settled.  The country on both sides Lake Champlain belonged to the Five Nations; and in the ancient maps, that water is called Lake Iroquois.  New York, you know, likewise claimed all this country as being surrendered to England b y the Dutch, and granted by the king to the Duke of York ..."

Source:  A History of New York, for Schools, Volume 1 by William Dunlap


Read more