Bruce County Genealogical Society - Amabel Township
BCGS logo
Serving Bruce County Families --past and present

Bruce County Genealogical Society

Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0

Click to see larger Bruce County map
Projects & Events

Amabel Township

A map of Amabel Township can be found on the Bruce County GenWeb website. Amabel Township was named after a relative of Sir Edmund Walker Head, who was Governor General of British North America from 1854 to 1861.

Amabel Township Places

  • Allenford - a village on the boundary of Amabel and Arran townships. Named for its first settler, James Allen, it was surveyed in 1867.

    Allenford Pow-wow plaque Allenford pow-wow plaque. This commemorates a pow-wow held here in 1855, regarding a dispute about the interpretation of Treaty 72, signed in 1854.
  • Chippewa Hill - a post office at the southwest corner of the township, near Southampton.

  • Clavering - a hamlet north of Hepworth on the boundary of Amabel township and Keppel Township, Grey County. It was named after the Essex, England home of an early postmaster, Henry Cammidge.

  • Elsinore - a village in the south of the township.

  • Hepworth - a village on the eastern boundary of the township, established in the 1860s.

  • Oliphant - a village on Lake Huron, located at an old portage route.

  • Park Head - a village named after the Scottish birthplace of the wife of the first postmaster, William Simpson.

    Park Head chopping mill The Park Head chopping mill
  • Salem - a hamlet in the southeast of the township.

  • Sauble Beach - the first cottage in this Lake Huron village was built in 1905.

  • Sauble Falls - a village where the Sauble River enters Lake Huron. At one time it had lumber mills and a hydroelectricity plant.

  • Skipness - a hamlet on the 4th concession. It had a post office from 1868 until 1914.

  • Wiarton - a town in the northeast corner of the township. It was settled in the 1860s and became an incorporated village in 1880, and became a town in 1894.

    Wiarton main street Wiarton main street

Amabel Township Notable People

William Wilfred Campbell was a poet who spent part of his childhood and some of his working life in Wiarton. He was also a teacher, Anglican minister and civil servant. His best known poem is Indian Summer.

Alexander McNeill was the member of Parliament for North Bruce from 1881 to 1901. He lived at the Corran, near Wiarton.


An Intimate Picture of Wilfred Campbell by his daughter, Faith L. Malloch.

Selected Poetry of William Wilfred Campbell, Department of English, University of Toronto.

Alexander McNeill: A Political Life by Allan Bartley, 1990. Amicus No. 14041478.

At the Crossroads: A  History of Hepworth: With Anecdotes and Reminiscences by William D. Stewart, 2003. Amicus No. 28861271.

Generations of Love: The Story of Zion-Amabel United Church, 1889-1989 by the Zion-Amabel Historical Society, 1989. Amicus No. 8963646.

Green Meadows and Golden Sands: The History of Amabel Township 1851 - 1982 by the Amabel Township Historical Society, 1984. Amicus No. 5149889.

History of the County of Bruce by Norman Robertson, 1906. Available online.

The History of St. John's United Church, Wiarton, Ontario, 1889-1989 by the Centennial Book Committee, 1990. Amicus No. 10690339.

History of Wiarton and District by James Percy Sims and Mrs. Charles Preston, 1961. Amicus No. 34377.

Oliphant and Its Islands, Lake Huron: Historical and Descriptive Sketches by Irene Monkman and Roy Fleming, 1912. Amicus No. 6444415.

Postcards from the Bay is an online glimpse into the history of Colpoy's Bay and Wiarton.


Bruce County's Townships (before  1998 amalgamations)

Albemarle Township
Colpoy's Bay United Church, Colpoy's Bay, Albemarle Township, Bruce County

Amabel Township
Wiarton, Amabel Township, Bruce County

Arran Township
Christ Church Anglican Cemetery Record, Tara, Arran Township, Bruce County

Brant Township
Walkerton town clock, Walkerton, Brant Township, Bruce County

Bruce Township
Underwood United Church, Underwood, Bruce Township, Bruce County

Carrick Township
Mildmay church, Mildmay, Carrick Township, Bruce County

Culross Township
Salem United Church, Culross Township, Bruce County

Eastnor Township
Barrow Bay, Eastnor Township, Bruce County

Elderslie Township
Memorial plaque, hamlet of Williscroft, Elderslie Township, Bruce County

Greenock Township
Plaque, village of Pinkerton, Greenock Township, Bruce County

Huron Township
Huron Township Hall, Ripley, Huron Township, Bruce County

Kincardine Township
Mural, village of Tiverton, Kincardine Township, Bruce County

Kinloss Township
South Kinloss Presbyerian Church

Lindsay Township
War Memorial, Lindsay Township, Bruce County

Saugeen Township
Dunblane Presbyterian Church, Saugeen Township, Bruce County

St. Edmunds Township

Lighthouse, Tobermory, St. Edmunds Township, Bruce County
Bruce County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0
Copyright 2003 -2013