Bruce County Genealogical Society - Albemarle Township
BCGS logo
Serving Bruce County Families --past and present

Bruce County Genealogical Society

Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0

Click to see larger Bruce County map
Projects & Events

Albemarle Township

A map of Albemarle Township can be found on the Bruce County GenWeb website. Albemarle Township was named after the Earl of Albemarle.

Albemarle Township Places

  • Adamsville - had a post office from 1888 until 1916. The first postmaster was Samuel Adams. 

  • Cape Croker - was named for John Wilson Croker, Secretary to the Admiralty. The post office opened in 1873.

  • Colpoy's Bay - was named for Sir John Colpoy, an admiral in the British Navy. The post office was opened in 1863. The first settlers were John Wood and Samuel Atkinson, in 1857. The first postmaster was Ludwick Kribs, followed by John Shakleton in 1869, and William D. Bell in 1881. The first sawmill was built in 1858 by Leonard Gleason.

    Colpoy's Bay United Church Colpoy's Bay United Church
  • Howdenvale - was originally called Golden Valley. Its summer post office opened in 1913 and its first postmaster was Isabella C. Ashcroft.

  • Mar - its post office opened in 1870 and the first postmaster was Edward White.

    Mar School Mar School, 1912
  • Purple Valley - its post office opened in 1884 and the first postmaster was Thomas Hambly.

  • Red Bay - its post office opened in 1881 and the first postmaster was James Christison, followed by John McFarlane in 1882.

Albemarle Township Notable People

Ludwick Kribs built a saw and grist mill in Colpoy's Bay shortly after 1858. He was also a Congregational clergyman and postmaster.


Albemarle: A History of the Township edited by Dorothy Crocker and published by the Albemarle Township Historical Society, 1991. Amicus # 11940154.

Days of the `Mud Hen' and Other Memories of Colpoy’s Bay Village, Ontario by Sheila Gatis. Originally published in 1986. Republished in 2005. Amicus #s 7959276 and 32059974.

Memories, The Elders of Neyaashiinigmiig, 1992. Amicus No. 17710225.

History of the County of Bruce by Norman Robertson, 1906. Available online.

A Pictorial History of Bruce County prior to 1918 - A collection of postcards and photographs by the History Hunters New Horizon Committee of the Bruce County Historical Society, 1989. Amicus No. 9192938.

Postcards from the Bay is an online glimpse into the history of Colpoy's Bay and Wiarton.


Bruce County's Townships (before  1998 amalgamations)

Albemarle Township
Colpoy's Bay United Church, Colpoy's Bay, Albemarle Township, Bruce County

Amabel Township
Wiarton, Amabel Township, Bruce County

Arran Township
Christ Church Anglican Cemetery Record, Tara, Arran Township, Bruce County

Brant Township
Walkerton town clock, Walkerton, Brant Township, Bruce County

Bruce Township
Underwood United Church, Underwood, Bruce Township, Bruce County

Carrick Township
Mildmay church, Mildmay, Carrick Township, Bruce County

Culross Township
Salem United Church, Culross Township, Bruce County

Eastnor Township
Barrow Bay, Eastnor Township, Bruce County

Elderslie Township
Memorial plaque, hamlet of Williscroft, Elderslie Township, Bruce County

Greenock Township
Plaque, village of Pinkerton, Greenock Township, Bruce County

Huron Township
Huron Township Hall, Ripley, Huron Township, Bruce County

Kincardine Township
Mural, village of Tiverton, Kincardine Township, Bruce County

Kinloss Township
South Kinloss Presbyterian Church

Lindsay Township
War Memorial, Lindsay Township, Bruce County

Saugeen Township
Dunblane Presbyterian Church, Saugeen Township, Bruce County

St. Edmunds Township

Lighthouse, Tobermory, St. Edmunds Township, Bruce County
Bruce County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0
Copyright © 2003 -2013