Bruce County Genealogical Society - Carrick Township
BCGS logo
Serving Bruce County Families --past and present

Bruce County Genealogical Society

Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0

Click to see larger Bruce County map
Projects & Events

Carrick Township

A map of Carrick Township can be found on the Bruce County GenWeb website. Carrick Township was named for the Earl of Carrick.

Carrick Township Places

  • Ambleside - an early post office and hamlet on the western border of the township. The first postmaster was M. Henry Hartman, who was appointed in June, 1869, and "absconded" in January, 1870.

  • Balaclava - its post office, named Glenlyon, opened in 1856 and closed in 1872. Balaclava was originally settled by three Shannon brothers. John Shannon was the first postmaster, and also operated a tavern. One of his brothers operated a store. 

  • Carlsruhe - an early post office and hamlet. The post office was established in 1864.

    Carlsruhe area farmhouse, Carrick TownshipA typical Carlsruhe area farmhouse  
  • Deemerton - its post office opened in 1880 and closed in 1926. Bernard Ruland was postmaster from 1883 until his death in 1926.

  • Formosa - a village settled by Alsace Germans.  A brewery was established in 1870 and a Roman Catholic church was built in 1883.

    Formosa church Formosa church plaque
    Formosa Brewery plaque, Formosa, Carrick TownshipFormosa Brewery plaque  
  • Mernersville - an early name for Mildmay. Named after Samuel Merner, who did the original survey.

  • Mildmay - a village, established in 1867. It had several mills and factories, and a newspaper, The Mildmay Gazette.

    Mildmay church, Mildmay, Carrick TownshipMildmay church  

Carrick Township Notable People

Robert Edwin Clapp was a Mildmay physician with an interest in politics. He was reeve of Carrick Township in the late 1890s and was member of the Ontario Legislature from 1905 to 1908.


Hockey Night in Mildmay: The Glory Days of Hockey in Mildmay, Ontario by John Thompson, 2006. Amicus No. 32277836.

Historical Walks Through Carrick and Mildmay by the Mildmay - Carrick Historical Society, 1989. Amicus No. 9699554.

History and Stories of Formosa and Area by the Formosa Old Boys' Reunion Committee, 1980, H. M. Kuntz. Amicus No. 2310618.

History of the County of Bruce by Norman Robertson, 1906. Available online.

In and Around the Forty Hills of Carrick about Forty Years Ago by Roy Wiseman, 1990. Amicus No. 10460257.

Those Were the Days: A Pictorial History of Formosa Schools, 1854-1991, School Book Committee, 1991. Amicus No. 28783426.


Bruce County's Townships (before  1998 amalgamations)

Albemarle Township
Colpoy's Bay United Church, Colpoy's Bay, Albemarle Township, Bruce County

Amabel Township
Wiarton, Amabel Township, Bruce County

Arran Township
Christ Church Anglican Cemetery Record, Tara, Arran Township, Bruce County

Brant Township
Walkerton town clock, Walkerton, Brant Township, Bruce County

Bruce Township
Underwood United Church, Underwood, Bruce Township, Bruce County

Carrick Township
Mildmay church, Mildmay, Carrick Township, Bruce County

Culross Township
Salem United Church, Culross Township, Bruce County

Eastnor Township
Barrow Bay, Eastnor Township, Bruce County

Elderslie Township
Memorial plaque, hamlet of Williscroft, Elderslie Township, Bruce County

Greenock Township
Plaque, village of Pinkerton, Greenock Township, Bruce County

Huron Township
Huron Township Hall, Ripley, Huron Township, Bruce County

Kincardine Township
Mural, village of Tiverton, Kincardine Township, Bruce County

Kinloss Township

Lindsay Township
War Memorial, Lindsay Township, Bruce County

Saugeen Township
Dunblane Presbyterian Church, Saugeen Township, Bruce County

St. Edmunds Township

Lighthouse, Tobermory, St. Edmunds Township, Bruce County
Bruce County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1083, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada N0H 2C0
Copyright 2003 -2013