Attorneys of Tallahatchie County Ms., USGenWeb Project

Welcome to Tallahatchie County, MSGenWeb Project

USGenWeb Project
MSGenWeb Project





We are once again indebted to Nick Denley, Clerk of Chancery Court, Tallahatchie County Mississippi for this information.

F. W. Aldridge 1856

Law Firms 1898
Stone & Saunders
Dinkins & Caldwell
W.B. Marshall
Eskridge & Buntin
McLean & Broome

J. L. Bailey

Andrew Cleveland Baker 1966-1974
Born 1936, Cooldale, W. VA.
Appointed Special Chancellor 1974-1975
Member of Penitentiary 1974-1976
Elected Circuit Judge 1978-
Admitted to Bar 1966

Beverly Gayle Birdsong R. Barton 1979
Born 06-27-1953, Marks, MS
Date admitted to Bar 1979

James Andrew Blount 1907-1972
Admitted to Bar, 1913
Elected State Senator 1944-

Jessie J. Breland 1915-1969
b. 12-24-1888, Wiggins, MS
Admitted to Bar 1915
d. 1969

Earl V. Cato, Jr.
Born 1908
Admitted to Bar 1934

C. H. Broome

J. Hamilton Caldwell, Sr.

J. Hamilton Caldwell, Jr.

Ben Caldwell

R. L. Cannon

Sidney Carlton 1939-
Born New Albany, Miss. Nov. 26, 1915
Admitted to Bar 1939

George Payne Cossar, Sr. 1931-1992
Elected to Mississippi House of Representatives, 1944

George Payne Cossar, Jr. 1960-

Richard Denman

E. D. Dinkins

Bradford J. Dye

J. E. Emerson

W. S. Eskridge

H. L. Gary

Alex Brown Gates

Aldridge H. Golladay

C. E. Harris

A. A. Hearst

Robert Harvey Henderson 1947-
Born, Dec. 13, 1921, Sumner Miss.
Admitted to Bar, 1947

J. W. Kellum
Born 1911
Admitted to Bar, 1939 1939-

John M. Kuydendall

Joseph Albert May 1903
Born , Mendenhall, Miss.
Served in the Legislature,Tallahatchie

W. T. Marshall
Born 1928
Admitted to Bar, 1958 1958-

James G. Pennington

Thomas Upton Reynolds II 1977-
Elected to the Mississippi House of Representatives 1980-

Greek L. Rice
Elected Mississippi Attorney General

Hall Sanders

William Richard Sanders, Jr. 1983-
Appointed Juvenile Court Judge, 1994

W. E. Stone

James Stone

Joseph "Joe" Lee Tennyson 1964-
Born 1934
Admitted to Bar, 1964
City Judge, Charleston, MS 1967-1968
Trustee, Northwest Junior College 1970-1976
Vice Chairman of Board of Trustees NWJC
MS Fish and Game Comissioner 1971
Appointed Special Family Master 1986
Elected Tallahatchie County Prosecuting Attorney,

Mose Wander

Joseph Ward
brother to R.L. Ward

R. L. Ward
brother to Joseph Ward

A. Ed Weinstein

A. L. Whitten

Albert Donald Whitten 1957-
Born 1928
Admitted to Bar, 1957
Elected Tallahatchie County Prosecuting Attorney,

Jamie L. Whitten
Born 1910. Cascilla, MS
Admitted to Bar,1931
Elected to United States Congress 1941-1992

John W. Whitten, Jr. 1940-
b.2-26-1919, Cascilla, MS
Admitted to bar, 1940

John W. Whitten, III 1978-
b. 9-12-1948, Jackson, MS
Admitted to bar, 1978
Appointed Juvenile Court Judge 1978-1980
Municipal Judge, City of Charleston, 1980

E.O. Whittington
Born 1877
Admitted to Bar, 1908 1908-

W. R. Woods

W. T. Wynn

November 11, 1971

Andrew Cleveland Baker
E. V Catoe, Jr.
George Payne Cossar, Sr.
George Payne Cossar, Jr.
Alex Brown Gates
Robert Harvey Henderson
J. W. Kellum
James G. Pennington
Joseph "Joe" Lee Tennyson
Albert Donald Whitten
John W. Whitten, Jr.


George Payne Cossar, Jr.
Alex Brown Gates
Robert Harvey Henderson
Thomas Upton Reynolds, II
William Richard Sanders, Jr.
Joseph "Joe" Lee Tennyson
John W. Whitten, Jr.
John W. Whitten, III

Index of County Offices of Tallahatchie County Mississippi

Return Main Page

Updater: This page was last updated Tuesday, 30-Sep-2003 14:52:53 MDT


If you have any suggestions, questions about this page, or have information you would like to add, please contact
  Lela Evans or Helen Arnold

[Main Page] [Biographies] [Celebrations] [Cemeteries] [Census] [Churchs]
[Government] [History] [Lookups] [Marriages] [Military]
[Obituaries] [Physicians] [Queries] [Reunions] [Search]

© Copyright 1998-2004 by  Helen Arnold & Lela Evans.  All rights reserved.   This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without our consent.  Information from this site may be freely used by individuals doing private, family research.