Arkansas Trails To The Past
Arkansas Trails To The Past LogoTrails To The Past Logo

Join Trails To The Past Logo

Arkansas Trails has several counties up for adoption. If you would be interested in adopting a county on Arkansas Trails look at the Counties List. Counties with no administrator listed are available for adoption. If you find one that you would like to adopt e-mail the State Administrator.

Trails To The Past has several states and other projects available. To see what states and other projects might be available click the Trails To The Past Logo above.

[ Being a County or State Administrator is fun and rewarding. If you have an interest in the history of Arkansas and the genealogy of it's residents please consider it. If you think "there is no way I can do this" there are many people ready, willing and able to help you. It's not near as difficult as you might think. ]

Former Counties in Arkansas

Lovely County (1827 - 1828)Crawford and Dissolved by Washington.
Dorsey County (1873 - 1885)Cleveland County
CountyCounty seatEstablishedOriginAdministrator
Arkansas County De Witt and Stuttgart 1813 1st County
(Eastern Arkansas)
Ashley County Hamburg 1848 Drew and
Union Counties
Baxter County Mountain Home 1873 Fulton, Izard, Marion,
and Searcy Counties
Benton County Bentonville 1836 Washington County   
Boone County Harrison 1869 Carroll and
Marion Counties
Bradley County Warren 1840 Union County   
Calhoun County Hampton 1850 Dallas and
Ouachita Counties
Carroll County Berryville and
Eureka Springs
1833 Izard County and
Madison County (1870)
Chicot County Lake Village 1823 Arkansas County   
Clark County Arkadelphia 1818 Arkansas (1818)   
Clay County Piggott and
1873 Randolph and Greene Counties
originally named Clayton before 1875
Cleburne County Heber Springs 1883 White, Van Buren, and Independence Counties   
Cleveland County Rison 1873 Bradley, Dallas, Jefferson counties
formerly named Dorsey County (from 1885)
Columbia County Magnolia 1852 Formed from LaFayette, Hempstead,
and Ouachita Counties
Conway County Morrilton 1825 Pulaski county   
Craighead County Jonesboro and
Lake City
1859 Mississippi, Greene,
and Poinsett Counties
Crawford County Van Buren 1820 Pulaski   
Crittenden County Marion 1825 Phillips   
Cross County Wynne 1862 St. Francis, Poinsett,
and Critteden Counties
Dallas County Fordyce 1845 Clark and Bradley Counties   
Desha County Arkansas City 1838 Arkansas, Union Counties,
then from Chicot County (prior to 1880),
and Lincoln (prior 1930)
Drew County Monticello 1846 Bradley, Chicot, Desha,
Union Counties
Faulkner County Conway 1873 Pulaski and Conway Counties   
Franklin County Ozark and
1837 Crawford and Johnson Counties   
Fulton County Salem 1842 Izard County and then later from Lawrence County (prior 1850) Billie Walsh
Garland County Hot Springs 1873 Montgomery, Hot Springs, and Saline Counties   
Grant County Sheridan 1869 Jefferson, Hot Spring, Saline Counties   
Greene County Paragould 1833 Lawrence County and later on by Randolph   
Hempstead County Hope 1818 Arkansas (1818)   
Hot Spring County Malvern 1829 Clark County and later from Montgomery County (prior 1880)
Howard County Nashville 1873 Pike, Hempstead, Polk, Sevier Counties.   
Independence County Batesville 1820 Lawrence County (1820)   
Izard County Melbourne 1825 Independence, Crawford Counties, and later from Fulton (prior 1880) Billie Walsh
Jackson County Newport 1829 Lawrence, and St. Francis   
Jefferson County Pine Bluff 1829 Arkansas and Pulaski   
Johnson County Clarksville 1833 Pope County, and a small portion from Madison County (prior 1890)   
Lafayette County Lewisville 1827 Hempstead County and later from Columbia County (prior 1910)   
Lawrence County Walnut Ridge 1815 Arkansas and New Madrid (MO) in 1815
Lee County Marianna 1873 Phillips, Monroe, Crittenden, and St. Francis Counties.   
Lincoln County Star City 1871 Arkansas, Bradley, Desha, Drew, and Jefferson Counties   
Little River County Ashdown 1867 Sevier County   
Logan County Booneville and
1871 Franklin, Johnson, Pope, Scott, and Yell Counties (Formally named Sarber County)   
Lonoke County Lonoke 1873 Prairie and Pulaski Counties   
Madison County Huntsville 1836 Washington County   
Marion County Yellville 1835 Izard County   
Miller County Texarkana 1862 LaFayette County   
Mississippi County Blytheville and
1883 Crittenden   
Monroe County Clarendon 1839 Phillips and Arkansas Counties   
Montgomery County Mount Ida 1842 Hot Spring   
Nevada County Prescott 1871 Columbia, Hempstead, Ouachita Counties   
Newton County Jasper 1842 Carroll Linda
Ouachita County Camden 1842 Union   
Perry County Perryville 1840 Conway County   
Phillips County Helena 1820 Arkansas and Lawrence County   
Pike County Murfreesboro 1833 Clark and Hempstead Counties   
Poinsett County Harrisburg 1838 Greene, Lawrence Counties   
Polk County Mena 1844 Sevier   
Pope County Russellville 1829 Crawford County   
Prairie County Des Arc and
DeValls Bluff
1846 Arkansas and Pulaski Counties   
Pulaski County Little Rock 1818 Arkansas and Lawrence Counties (1818)   
Randolph County Pocahontas 1835 Lawrence County   
St. Francis County Forrest City 1827 Phillips County   
Saline County Benton 1835 Independence and Pulaski   
Scott County Waldron 1833 Crawford and Pope Counties   
Searcy County Marshall 1838 Marion County   
Sebastian County Greenwood and
Fort Smith
1851 Crawford and Scott   
Sevier County De Queen 1828 Hempstead County   
Sharp County Hardy and Evening Shade before 1963
Ash Flat
1868 Lawrence County Billie Walsh
Stone County Mountain View 1873 Izard, Indenpendence, Searcy, Van Buren   
Union County El Dorado 1829 Clark and Hempstead Counties   
Van Buren County Clinton 1833 Conway, Izard, and Independece   
Washington County Fayetteville 1828 Lovely County   
White County Searcy 1835 Independence, Jackson and Pulaski counties   
Woodruff County Augusta 1862 Jackson and St. Francis Counties   
Yell County Danville and Dardanelle 1840 Hot Spring, Pope, and Scott County   

Return to Arkansas Home Page
Last Updated,
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

© by Arkansas State Administrator