Fairfield Co. Richland Co. SC line 1785 - 1797
The County Line
Fairfield County & Richland County SC
from 1785 to 1797

South Carolina A Guide for Genealogists by Theresa M. Hicks on page 83 - 84 says on March 16, 1783 the state was to be divided into counties ... not more than 40 miles square and in 1785 Camden District was divided into 7 counties, Fairfield County beginning at the mouth of Cedar Creek, thence up Broad River [north] to the mouth of Sandy River, thence in a strait line [east] to the mouth of Rocky Creek, thence down the Wateree River [south] to the corner of Richland County, Richland County's northern line being defined as from the mouth of Cedar Creek, thence [east] to the mouth of 25 Mile Creek.

This lasted until 1797 when Fairfield County's southern line was moved north. See page 95 of the above book.

Return to Historical/Genealogical Places in Fairfield County on the
Fairfield County GenWeb Page

The url of this page is

This page was put on the web 26 June 2000.
This page was Last Updated __.

This page was put on the web by
James W. Green III.

This is the Bottom of this Web Page (End of File).