Shasta County


Pre-1905 Calif Death Index


Shasta County is one of the original 27 counties created in 1850. This county was named after Mount Shasta. The name Shasta is derived from the English equivalent for the name of an Indian tribe that once lived in the area. The name of the tribe was spelled in various ways until the present version was used when the county was established. Territory which at one time was in Shasta County is now in Lassen, Modoc, Siskiyou and Tehama counties. Shasta County was originally to be named Redding County, but the name was changed before the county was adopted.


A-An     Ar-Ba     Be-Bl     Bo-Br     Bu-Ca     Ce-Co

Cr-Da     De-Do     Dr-El     En-Fi     Fl-Fu     G-Gl

Go-Gu     H-Has     Hat-Hi     Ho-Hu     I-J     K

L-Le     Li-Mal     Mar-McD     McE-Mi     Mo-My

N-O     P-Pi     Pl-Re     Ri-Ro     Ru-Sc     Se-Sh

Si-Sn     So-St     Su-Th     Ti-U     V-Wa     We-Wh

Wi-Wo     Wr-Z & no surname



copyright 2003-2004 - Pre-1905CADI Phoenix Project

 Comments, questions or difficulties?