Fresno County


Pre-1905 Calif Death Index

Fresno County was created in  April 1856 through three roughly equal transfers from Mariposa, Merced and Tulare Counties. Territory which at one time was in Fresno County is now in Inyo, Kings, Madera, Mono, San Benito and Tulare Counties. Named after Fresno Creek. Fresno in Spanish signifies "ash tree" and it was because of the abundance of mountain ash or ash trees in the county that it received its name.



A-Bi     Bl-Bu     C     D-E     F     G     H

I-K     L     M-Mi     Mo-O     P-Q    

R-Se     Sh-Sw     T-V     W-Y



copyright 2003 - Pre-1905CADI Phoenix Project

 Comments, questions or difficulties?