Lebanon Cemetery Articles of Incorporation, Warren County, Ohio Court Records
This page is part of the Warren County Ohio GenWeb project
You are our [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor since 23 September 2013 -- thanks for stopping by!
Warren County, Ohio, Court Records
Lebanon Cemetery
Articles of Incorporation
June 20, 1850
Candy Jo Tucker
Record of Religious Societies & Corporate Bodies
Edna L. Bowyer Records Center and Archives of Warren County Ohio
[Click on the thumbnails (if available) for larger images]

front cover

Record of Religious Societies & Corporate Bodies

page 12

Page 12 Item No. 14

At a meeting of the subscribers to the Lebanon cemetery association whose names are as follows to wit; David P. Egbert, Francis B. Howe ll, John E. Dey, Jacob Egbert, William H. James, Horace M. Stokes, William H. Parshall, Christian Smith, Adam Sellers, Robert Boake, Samuel Hardy, Henry White, Jacob H. Smith, John Simonton, Granville W. Stokes, John C. Skinner, Ebed Stowell, Joshua Stevens, Joseph Sausser, Montgomery Patton, Charles P. Grey, Ezra Graver, Amos Barr, Anthony H. Dunlevy, and William M. Charters; held at the town of Lebanon, Warren County Ohio, at the Town Hall in said town on the 20th day of June A.D. 1850, at 2 o’clock P.M, on said day in pursuance of a notice published for more than twenty days previous to said time of meeting in the Western Star, a newspaper printed in said town; for the purpose of forming a “Cemetery association” and to obtain corporate powers therefore under the statute of Ohio entitled “An act making provision for the incorporation of Cemetery Associations” passed February 26, 1848,
Anthony H. Dunlevy Esqr. was called to the chair and William L. Parshall appointed Secretary pro. Tempore.

page 13

Page 13 Item No. 14 continued

Whereupon said subscribers determined to form themselves into a “Cemetery association” to be known and called by the name of The Lebanon Cemetery Association.
The association then on motion Resolved to proceed to elect of their number five to serve as trustees one as clerk and one as treasurer to continue in office for the term of one year and until their successors shall be elected and qualified in conformity to the By-laws, Rules, and Regulations hereafter to be adopted by the association,
The association then went into an election for the officers aforesaid when it appeared that Anthony H. Dunlevy, John E. Dey, Jacob Egbert, Robert Boake and William M. Charters were duly elected Trustees. Horace M. Stokes Clerk and William L. Parshall Treasurer.
In motion the Trustees were instructed to examine into the different grounds suggested for the location of the proposed cemetery and report at the next meeting of the association as to their Eligibility prices &c.
Whereupon on motion the association adjourned until Saturday 22, June 1850, at 2 o’clock P.M.
I, Horace M. Stokes, the clerk appointed as above set forth do herby certify that the foregoing is a true record of the proceedings of the meeting of the “Cemetery Association” above mentioned. I do further certify as set forth in said proceedings that the name by which said association desires to be known is “The Lebanon Cemetery Association.”
Given under my hand at Lebanon aforesaid this 20th day of June A.D. 1850.
H. M. Stokes, Clerk
As foresaid

Rec. for Record July 1st 1850 and Recorded 11th same mo.
John R. Bone R.W.C
By D.W. Bone

FOOTNOTES: [If you would like to add a related footnote to this page, email your comments to Arne H Trelvik]

NOTICE: All documents and electronic images placed on the Warren County OHGenWeb site remain the property of the contributors, who retain publication rights in accordance with US Copyright Laws and Regulations. These documents may be used by anyone for their personal research. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material, must obtain the written consent of the contributor, or their legal representative, and contact the listed Warren County OHGenWeb coordinator with proof of this consent.

This page created 23 September 2013 and last updated 23 September, 2013
© 2013 Arne H Trelvik All rights reserved