Montana State Genealogical Society

Montana Genealogy
Genealogical Societies
Montana-L Mailing List
Queries & Research
Montana Archives
MTGenWeb Project
Our Society

First Families
Reading Room
Sign Guestbook
MSGS Home Page
Tuesday, July 14, 2009


In 1997, Anna Mae Hansen, a dedicated genealogist, was awarded a posthumous award for her dedicated service to the genealogical community. As a member of the Broken Mountain Genealogical Society, she gave a great deal of her time and efforts without ever being asked. She was one of the founding members of the State Society, serving as Historian until the time of her death in 1996. She was the kind of person that quietly gave many - many hours, and never asked to have attention for her efforts.


Because of her fine example to other genealogists, it was decided to give an award annually at the state conference in her name to a genealogist who also gives dedicated service to the genealogical community.


The following are the worthy individuals who have earned this award:


At the 2008 State Conference, four exceptional members were presented with the Anna Mae Hanson award.






Loretta Chapman – Park County Genealogical Society


Paulette Parpart – Western Montana Genealogical Society


Mary Ann QuiringCentral Montana Genealogy Society


Verba Valentine – Yellowstone Genealogy Forum



Pat Ludwig – Broken Mountain Genealogical Society


Anita Smith – Yellowstone Genealogy Forum


Pat Darling – Beaver Head Hunters Society

Del Harris – Lewis & Clark Genealogical Society


Al Stoner – Lewis & Clark Genealogical Society


Nancy Alley – Jefferson County Genealogical Society


Ellen Rae Thiel – Jefferson County Genealogical Society


Betty Marshall – Broken Mountain Genealogical Society


Darlene Hildreth – Beaver Head Hunters Society


Louise LaRue – Yellowstone Genealogy Forum


Anna Mae Hanson (Posthumous)


About the Award:

The first Anna Mae Hanson award was announced at the 1997 Montana State Genealogical Society Annual Conference in Glendive, MT. This is an award for dedicated service in the genealogical community. We will accept nominations from any member of the Montana State Genealogical Society. A committee of three district representatives will be appointed by the president each year to select the person to receive the award. Please be thinking of people in your local society that you would like to nominate for this award. You all know that we honor someone out of our seventeen Societies for the Anna Mae Hanson Award. This award is to be presented to someone who is an outstanding person, works beyond what is expected of them and is very dedicated to the field of genealogy.


Nominations should be done in a written letter and submitted to Mary Pitch 700 Grant Avenue Helena MT 59601 by September 1st of each year. The Society will present the award each year at our annual conference.

Copyright 1997-2008 . MSGS. All Rights Reserved.
Hosted by Rootsweb!