Howard County MOGenWeb
usgenweb missouri

Howard County Militia

Source: History of Howard and Cooper Counties, 1883, p. 278.

The following are the names of the officers of the various militia companies of Howard County:

  • Boonsboro Township - W. A. ELKINS, captain; G. A. KNOX, first lieutenant; W. R. QUINLY, second lieutenant.
  • Franklin Township - Hugh W. STEWART, captain; Charles CANOLE, first lieutenant; N. ROLLINS, second lieutenant.
  • Moniteau Township - George M. PIPES, captain; M. M. BASEY, first lieutenant; Zach. CREWS, second lieutenant.
  • Bonne Femme Township - Platoon - J. N. SMITH, first lieutenant.
  • Prairie Township - W. S. LYNCH, captain; W. A. GREEN, first lieutenant; Thomas MONTGOMERY, second lieutenant.
  • Chariton Township - June WILLIAMS, captain; Martin GREEN, first lieutenant; Peter LAND, second lieutenant.
  • Richmond Township - James H. FELAND, captain; Joseph PEELER, first lieutenant; William SHAFROTH, second lieutenant.
  • Colored Companies - Richmond and part of Bonne Femme - R. J. PATTON, captain; Woolman GIBSON, first lieutenant; A. M. Fielding, second lieutenant.
  • Moniteau and part of Bonne Femme - No officers.
  • Franklin and part of Boonsboro - No officers.
  • Chariton - W. P. ETHERIDGE, captain.
  • Prairie Platoon - John QUINN, first lieutenant.
    Back to Howard County During the War of 1861
    Back to Howard County MOGenWeb

    usgenweb missouri

    2001 by Sherryl Barger for the Howard County MOGenWeb Project

    This page was last updated on January 5, 2001.