Fremont County, WY - TTTP

Fremont County

Fremont County is a county located in the U.S. state of Wyoming. It was named in honor of John C. Frémont, a general, explorer, and politician. As of 2000, the population was 35,804. Its county seat is Lander. Fremont County was organized in 1884. It is the historical home of the Wind River Indian Reservation, home of the Shoshone and Arapaho tribes of Native Americans.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 9,266 square miles (23,998 km˛), of which, 9,182 square miles (23,782 km˛) of it is land and 84 square miles (216 km˛) of it (0.90%) is water. Elevations and climate range from desert at Boysen State Park to glaciers at 13,804-foot (4,207 m) Gannett Peak, the highest point not only in Wyoming but in the three Central Rockies states of Wyoming, Idaho and Montana. It is the second largest county in land size (after Sweetwater County, WY) in the six Rocky Mountain States. The southern end of the county is traversed by the Oregon Trail and in the northwest corner lies Dubois, a gateway town for Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park. Although the county seat is Lander, the largest community is Riverton, home of Central Wyoming College and the economic hub of the region. A large portion of the western edge of the county follows the Continental Divide at the crest of the Wind River Range of the Rocky Mountains, known for its vast wilderness areas and home of the largest glaciers in the American Rocky Mountains.


Neighboring Counties

Hot Springs / Washakie / Natrona / Carbon /
Sweetwater / Sublette / Teton / Park



Linda Simpson
All Rights Reserved