Bayfield County Government
Bayfield County Government

Washburn is the county seat. Bayfield County was named in honor of Lieut. Henry R.T. Bayfield, of the British Navy, who made the first survey of Lake Superior from 1823-1825. Bayfield County was created from Ashland County in 1845. Originally it was named La Pointe and then its name was changed to Bayfield in 1866.

Bayfield County Courthouse
117 E. 5th St.
Washburn, WI. 54891

Bayfield's Earliest Records:
1879 - births
1870 - deaths
1869 - Marriages

(Birth, Death and Marriages are at the Register of Deeds Office, Probates are at the Register of Probates Office, Divorce and Civil Records are at Clerk of Circuit Court Office).

Bayfield County, WI.