Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
Dummerston, Windham Co. VT




"He that is not proud of his ancestors, either he has no ancestors to be proud of, or he is a degenerate son."


was that of Col. Joseph Kellogg and his scouting party from Fort Dummer.

They ascended Black Mountain, Nov. 30, 1724; Col. Kellogg wrote in his journal at that time:

"The next scout I sent up ye West River Mountain, and there to Lodge on ye top and view Evening and Morning for smoaks, and thence up ye mountain at Great Falls and there also to Lodge on ye top and view morning and evening for smoak; but these making no discovery of any Enemy returned."

Dummerston was a name originally applied to one of four tracts of land granted about 1713, by Massachusetts to Connecticut as an equivalent for 197,793 acres of land granted by the former to planters, and which upon determining the boundary between the two governments were found to be within the jurisdiction of the latter. This tract containing 43,943 acres and including a portion of the present towns of Brattleboro, Dummerston, and Putney, was sold at auction, together with the other tracts, by order of the colony of Connecticut, April 24 and 25, 1716, and upon partition made, fell to William Dummer (afterwards Lieutenant Governor.) Anthony Stoder (Stoddard) William Brattle and John White.

Dummer being the oldest proprietor, the tract was called after him. On the settlement of the judicial line between Massachusetts and New Hampshire in 1741, this tract fell within the limits of the government of New Hampshire which incorporated the whole into three townships, including in the middle township, the greatest part of the land belonging to the heirs of Wm. Dummer and Antony Stoder, and called the name of it Fullum, by virtue of which the privileges of a town are now held.

The charter from New Hampshire, dated Dec. 26, 1753, was issued to Stoder and 56 others, and covered 19,360 acres. The time to fulfil some of the conditions of the charter was extended June 12, 1760, and again July 7, 1763.

'History of New England' - Cooledge and Mansfield, 1860. -- Town Record.

Note: Anthony Stoddard, William Dummer and John White, resided in Boston Mass. and Wm. Brattle in Cambridge.


Through the kindness of O. E. Randall of Chesterfield, N.H., the representative of that town to the Legislature of that State, which met at Concord, June 4, 1879, we have obtained a copy of the charter of Fullum.

The original charter is recorded in the "Charter Record" Vol. 1 Page 185, which volume is kept in the office of the Secretary of State, for the State of New Hampshire, at Concord.


George the second by the grace of God, of Great Britain, France and Ireland. King, defender of the Faith, &c. To all Persons to whom these Presents shall come, Greeting: Know ye, that we of our special grace, certain knowledge, and mere motion, for the encouragement of settling a New Plantation within our said Province, by and with the advice of our trusty and well-beloved Benning Wentworth, Esq., our Governor and Commander-in-chief of our said Province of New Hampshire, in New England, and of our Council of said Province, have upon the conditions and reservations hereinafter made, given and granted, and by these presents, for us our heirs and successors, do give and grant in equal shares unto our living subjects, inhabitants of our said Province of New Hampshire, and our other governments, and to their heirs and assigns forever, whose names are entered on this grant, to be divided to and amongst them into fifty-six shares (two of which shares to be laid out in one tract of the contents of eight hundred acres for His Excellency, Benning Wentworth, Esq., and in full for his two shares, which said tract is bounded Viz: Beginning at the North East Corner of this town, then running down Connecticut River two hundred and forty rods, then West 10° North, till eight hundred acres are completed,) all that tract or parcel of land situate, lying and being within our said Province of New Hampshire, containing by admeasurment, nineteen thousand three hundred and sixty acres, which tract is to contain five and a half miles square and no more; out of which an allowance is to be made for highways, and unimprovable lands, by rocks, ponds, mountains and rivers, one thousand and forty acres free, according, to a plan thereof, made and presented by our said Governor's order, and hereunto annexed, butted and bounded as follows, viz: Beginning at a stake and stone on the bank of Connecticut River, being the North East corner of Brattleborough and running West 10 ° North on said Brattleborough to Marlboro East line, thence North 10° East on said Marlborough to the line of Faine thence on the line of Faine East 10° South, five hundred rods, thence, northerly on said Faine four miles to a stake and stones from thence east 10° South to Connecticut River, and from thence down said river to the bound first mentioned, and that the same be, and hereby is incorporated into a township by the name of Fullum, and that the inhabitants that do or shall hereafter inhabit the said township, are hereby declared to be enfranchised with and entitled to all and every of the privileges and immunities that other towns within our Province by law exercise and enjoy: And further, that the said town as soon as there shall be fifty families resident and settled thereon, shall have the liberty of holding two Fairs, one of which shall be held on the first Thursday in May annually, and the other on the first Thursday in September annually which Fairs are not to continue and he held longer than the respective Saturday following the said respective Thursday, and that as soon as the said town shall consist of fifty families, a market shall be opened and kept one or more days in each week, as may be thought most advantageous to the inhabitants: Also that the first meeting for. the choice of town officers, agreeable to the laws of our said Province, shall be held on the fifteenth day of January next, which meeting shall be notified by Josiah Willard, Esq., who is hereby appointed the Moderator of the said first meeting which he is to notify and govern agreeable to the laws and customs of our said Province; and that the annual meeting for ever hereafter for the choice of such officers for the said town, shall be on the first Tuesday of' March, annually to have and to hold the said tract of land as above expressed together with all privileges and appurtenances, to them and their respective heirs and assigns forever, upon the following conditions, viz:

    1. That every grantee, his heirs or assigns shall plant or cultivate five acres of land within the term of five years, for every fifty acres contained in his or their share or proportion of land in said township, and continue to improve and settle the same by additional cultivations, on penalty of forfeiture of his grant or share in the said township and of its reverting to us, our heirs and successors, to be by us or them re-granted to such of our subjects as shall effectually settle and cultivate the same.

II. That all white and other pine trees within the said township, fit for Masting our Royal Navy, he carefully preserved for that use. and none to be cut or felled without his Majesty's special license for so doing first had and obtained, upon the penalty of forfeiture of the right of such grantee, his heirs and assigns, to us, our heirs and successors, as well as being subject to the penalty of any act or acts of Parliament that now are, or hereafter shall be enacted.

III. That before any division of the said land be made to and among the grantees, a tract of land as near the centre of said township as the land will admit of, shall be reserved and marked out for town lots, one of which shall be allotted to each grantee of the contents of one acre,

IV. Yielding and paying therefor to us, our heirs and successors for the space of ten years. to be computed from the date hereof, the rent of one ear of Indian Corn only, on the first day of January, annually, if lawfully demanded the first payment to be made on the first day of January after the first of January next ensuing the date hereof.

V. Every proprietor, settler or inhabitant, shall yield and pay unto us, our heirs and successors yearly, and every year forever, from and after the expiration of ten years from the date hereof, namely, on the first day of January, which will be in the year of our Lord Christ one thousand seven hundred and sixty four, one shilling proclamation money for every hundred acres he so owns, settles or possesses, and so in proportion for a greater or lesser tract of the said land; which money shall be paid by the respective persons above said, their heirs or assigns, in our Council Chamber at Portsmouth, or to such officers as shall be appointed to receive the same; and this to be in lieu of all other rents and services whatsoever.

In testimony whereof we have caused the Seal of our said Province to be hereunto affixed. Witness - Benning Wentworth, Esq., our Governor and Commander-in-Chief of our said Province, the twenty-sixth day of December in the year of our Lord Christ, one thousand seven hundred and fifty three, and in the twenty-seventh year of our Reign.


By his Excellency's command with advice of Council.


Entered and recorded according to the original, under the Province Seal, this 27th day of December, 1753.


Simeon Stodard, John Franklin, Anthony Stodard, Martha Holmes, Thomas Hubbard, Samuel Holebrook, Nathaniel Perkins, Thomas Brumfield, John Cushing, Samuel Watts, John Chandler, Joseph Royal, Benjamin Lowder, William Lowder, Solomon Willard, Daniel Oliver, Gillum Phillips, John Foy, John Foy, Jun., Ebenezer Field, Samuel Hunt, John Powel, Jeremiah Powel, Shrimpton Hutchinson, Eliakim Hutchinson, Henry Liddle, William Hutchinson, Robert Jenkins, Thomas Amory, Nathaniel Coffin, Jonas Mason, Thomas Seales, Nicholas Loreing, Benjamin Hallowell, Henry Bromfield, William Phillips, Samuel Freel, Richard Foster, Robert Fletcher, Jun., David Nevins, James Minot, Jonathan Hubbard, Elijah Alexander, John Summers, John Pierce, Daniel Warner, Theodore Atkinson, Richard Wibird, Samuel Solley, Meshech Wear.

His Excellency, Benning Wentworth, Esq. a tract of land to contain eight hundred acres, which is to be accounted two of the within mentioned shares, and laid out and bounded as within mentioned; one whole share for the Incorporated Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts; one whole share for the first settled minister of the gospel; in said town; one whole share for a Glebe for the minister of the Church of England, as by Law Established; also one whole share for Sampson Willard. Recorded from the back of the original Charter for Fullum the 27th. day of December 1753.


The Grantees, owing to Indian wars, as they claimed, could not fulfil the conditions of the charter; hence, they applied for an extension. Mr. Randall did not deem it necessary to copy the merely preliminary or terminal matter, but made the following extract from Extension of Charter:

"Now know ye that we being willing to promote the end proposed, have of our farther grace and favour suspended our claims of the forfeitures which the said Grantees may have incurred, and by these presents do grant unto the said Grantees, their heirs and assigns the term of one year for performing and fulfilling the conditions, matters and things by them to be done which term is to be renewed annually until his Majesty's Plenary Instructions shall be received relative to the incident that has prevented a compliance with the charter according to the true intent and meaning thereof.

Signed, sealed &c. by Benning Wentworth the 12th, of June 1760.

Received pr.

Theodore Atkinson, Sect'y,

according to the original. June 12, 1760."


The plan of the town as surveyed by Isaac Miller, and Ebenezer Waters in 1767, is quite different from the one recorded at the end of the charter on the Charter Book with the Secretary of the State of New Hampshire. The west boundary line of the town as surveyed in 1767 is a straight line. The plan of the town drawn on parchment by Ebenezer Waters is still in existence; but the writing has nearly faded out. By careful study, we have deciphered, or made out all but one or two words. It reads as follows:

"This is a Platt of 21,700 acres of Equivalent Lands, so called, Lying on and adjoining the West side of Connecticut River and North of Haidens Land so called, and said Equivalent Lands of Gov. Dummer and Anthony Stoddard Esq. deceased beginning at the N. E. corner of Brattleborough at a basswood tree marked standing on the bank of said River, From thence extending West 9° 45 North 5 3-4 Miles and 47 rods to a Beech Tree marked on the West line of said Equivalent Lands from thence extending North 26° 25 East 6 3-4 Miles 18 1-4 rods on said West line to a small Hemlock Tree marked, Thence extending East 10° 25 South 6 3-4 miles & 56 rods to a stake and stones Found on the Bank of said River and from thence Extending southerly by said River on which it Bounds easterly to the Bounds as formerly said ------ 15,600 acres of said Land was laid out in the months of Sept. & Oct. 1767, and 6100 acres laid out in the month of June - for all said Land was laid into 100 acre lots Excepting some slips that was not convenient for lots, and these was also mostly on corners - all was done in lots that could be by Isaac Miller of Worcester & by Particular orders of Capt. John Stevens of Ashford, Conn. and Anthony Stoddard Esq. -------- Surveyed.


The Captain's name was barely legible. The south line of Dummerston is now 7 miles long, and the width of the town about 5 miles. 61 lots, or 6100 acres, were sometime set off to Putney, leaving 15,600 acres. Adding 1400'probably once a part of Marlboro, we have 17,000 acres, or as reported in the grand list of 1880, 18,481 acres. The township was re-charted by Gov. Tryon in 1766.


Brookline and Putney bound Dummerston on the N., Connecticut river on the E., Brattleboro on the S., Marlboro and Newfane on the W. The surface is exceedingly diversified. There are many high hills and deep valleys. Most of the land is very productive, especially in the Connecticut river and the West river valleys; and other portions are well adapted for grazing purposes. The principal forest trees are hemlock, pine, beech, birch, oak, ash, hickory and some chestnut. The sugar maple is abundant, and the product of one of the largest orchards, in the best seasons, has been 3300 lbs. of maple sugar. In 1850, other products amounted to 1581 head of cattle valued at $50,000; 967 bushels of rye were raised that year, also, 8639 bushels of oats; 45066 lbs. of butter were made and 14550 lbs. of cheese.

West river separates the town into two divisions called East and West Dummerston. It flows southeasterly through the town and empties into the Connecticut at Brattleboro. The school districts are numbered from one to five in the west part, and from one to eight in the east. Two have been consolidated with the others leaving only eleven at the present day. The west village is located near the right bank of West river on a lowland plain running north and south. The principal buildings include a church, store, tavern, post-office, and saw and grist-mill. The thrifty farmers and mechanics occupy neat looking dwellings. The Brattleboro and Whitehall narrow gauge railroad is building past this village. (Written in 1879.)

From this valley the hills rise gradually till their summit is reached, in this town, four miles distant near Marlboro pond. From that point the hills overlook Black mountain which rises to a height of 1150 feet above the surface of West river into which flow the streams from this high range of hills. The largest stream is Allen's brook, so named from the circumstance that a Mr. Allen was killed by the Indians many years ago, and buried near its source at Marlboro pond. They defeated the whites in a battle at Newfane, and Mr. Allen was one of the number pursued and killed. For long years a pine stump marked the spot where he was buried near the brook which received his name. Late years it has been called Stickney brook. On it are good water privileges, and within a few years, 4 saw-mills were standing on its banks within the space of as many miles. Three are still in operation and one has been pulled down. Along the passes of this brook are very deep ravines. The most beautiful stream is "Furnace brook" on which is the "Cascade" made famous and attractive to the passer-by on account of its foaming, rushing and sparkling waters jumping, tossing and glittering in the falling rays of the sun, down over a high ledge of rocks shaded by over-hanging trees and bushes threatening to dash upon the traveler as he passes over the bridge under which it swiftly glides into the river below.

Of the western range, Wicopee Hill is the most famous. Years ago there was no other pathway up the West river valley from Brattleboro to Newfane except over this very steep hill, by marked trees; and the traveler must have found it a hard road to travel. Black Mountain is on the left bank of West river opposite the village of West Dummerston. It rises almost perpendicularly from the water 1150 feet and opens to the south in the form of a horse-shoe, called "The Shoe of the Mountain." The appearance of the mountain as you pass along on the opposite bank of the river is bold and majestic. Granite rocks are piled one upon another. Evergreen trees and stunted shrubbery poorly cover its surface and give it a dark and sombre hue. In the N. W. part of the town is a narrow defile made by the river. Along this narrow passway called "The valley of the shadow of death," is the road leading to Newfane. So steep and high are the hills and so narrow the pass, that for two or three months of the winter the rays of the sun scarcely fall upon the road for a mile, any part of the day. Well may the traveler exclaim on his journeying over the hills in this town:

"The hills! the everlasting hills!

How peerlessly they rise,

Like earth's gigantic sentinels,

Discoursing in the skies."

Through the east part of the town passes the Vermont Valley Railroad along the Connecticut valley. The railroad buildings include a passenger and freight depot. After leaving the railroad station, about two miles distant across the meadows and plains is the village of Slab Hollow, not a very high sounding name, but a place of considerable business, located on Salmon brook where there are good water privileges. The principal buildings are mills and shops, aside from the dwellings which together make quite a collection. One mile farther west is Dummerston Centre, a small village on an elevation of land that affords a delightful view of the long range of New Hampshire hills. No water-power is near and hence its former prosperity has greatly declined. Here is where the first meeting-house was built more than a century ago. Here is where the first settlers met so often at the house of Enoch Cook to transact town business. The new meeting-house stands not far from the site of the old church. The post-office is located where Hosea Miller lived, who was one of fourteen to sign the first call for a settler's meeting Jan. 21, 1771.

Business was once sufficient to keep open two stores, and the firm of Noyes, Mann & Hayes profited to the extent of $3,000 in one year. Litigants found employment for two lawyers; and the old time schoolmaster flourished his ruler over four-score and ten pupils. All is now changed. The number of school children has lessened one third. The old store is empty, the lawyers are starved out and only tillers of the soil remain. The range of hills through the central part of the town form a watershed from which the streams flow in one direction to the West river, and in the opposite direction, easterly, to the Connecticut. The principal streams on the eastern slope are Salmon brook and Canoe brook or Murder Hollow brook as it is called at the present day. The first name was given from the circumstance that Alexander Kathan, one of the first settlers, found an Indian canoe in that stream. The other name was given from the fact of its being the scene of a murder committed near where it empties into the Connecticut. The victim was a peddler of silk dress-goods. His body was supposed to have been thrown into the river, as a trail from the place of violence was found leading across the sandy soil to the edge of the stream.

The view from Prospect hill is always pleasing, and at this season of the year, May 27th, when the fields and pastures are green with fresh grass, the forests clothed with new leaves and the fruit trees in full bloom, the survey is truly delightful. Prospect is nearly 200 feet higher than the beautiful hill where the Central village stands below, and almost overlooks Black mountain on the southwest in the West river valley. From its summit ten churches are visible in the several villages exposed to view. A part of the thriving village of Brattleboro can be seen six miles southward. The Green Mountains terminate the view in the west and gradually slope downward to the valley between, fertilized by West river. that rushes on in its rapid course until it unites with the Connecticut a few miles to the south, and destined some day not far distant to furnish a path for the swift locomotive that carries wealth and enterprise whereever it speeds. The blue Ascutney rises prominent in the scenery 40 miles away to the north, and the woodland hills fade into the horizon far beyond. The granite hills of New Hampshire extend along the eastern sky and the grey old turret of Mt. Monadnock rears in sight far above the neighboring summits. A rich and beautiful valley intervenes, through which flow the tranquil waters of the Connecticut as they roll silently on to the broad ocean. These are some of the principal features of the surrounding landscape. Consider, also, the cultivated fields, the numerous farm-dwellings, dotting the hillsides, the grassy plains and the fertile meadows and many pleasing objects, too numerous for description, and it can well be said that the view is charming.


This paper for our history was to have been written by Samuel Knight of Brattleboro, but old age and failing health prevented his performing the allotted task. The writer can make only a brief statement on the subject. In the east part of the town is a large quarry of argillaceous or roofing slate which has been wrought for more than half a century. There are other kinds of slate some of which are serviceable for flagging stones. Schorl or black tourmaline is found in this town. Granite is also very abundant and highly valuable for building stones. Excellent granite has been extensively wrought for building abutments, piers, culverts of highways and railroads. It is also used for the walls of buildings, underpinning, doorsteps, hearthstones, window-caps and fencing posts. Allen, or Stickney brook, flows over a bed of excellent granite near its mouth, that has been worked many years. There is a shop near by for stone mason's work where the granite is formed into the required shape for building purposes. Black mountain is a huge pile of granite rocks piled up like "Ossa on Pelion" making an inexhaustible granite quarry. The Brattleboro and Whitehall Railroad passes close to the foot of this mountain of granite. [the above was written in 1879. The writer adds, Jan. 1884:] This quarry was owned by a New York Company in 1879. It is now owned by Geo. Lyon of Northfield Mass. who employs about 50 men in getting out granite. He has a large and increasing business, and contracts at the present time that will require two or more years to fulfil.


Gauge, three feet:

The road extends up the West River valley from Brattleboro to Londonderry.

The trains began running, Nov. 20, 1880, and the road has been in successful operation since that time with increased earnings and passenger traffic from year to year. The earnings from Nov. 20, 1880, to Jan. 1, 1882, as reported by the treasurer, of the road are as follows:

From passengers, $15,041,97

" freight, 15,919,78

" express, 579,41

" mails, 2,251,14

A total of 33,810,30
The total cost of the road was not far from $408,000.




(From Joseph Miller, Town Clerk.).

This is to inform the freeholders of the Town of Dummerston that they meet at the house of Mr. Isaac Miller in said town on the first Monday March at ten of the clock in the forenoon to act on the following articles, viz:

1st. To choose a Moderator to govern said meeting.

2d. To choose a Clerk for the settlers.

3d. To see if they will choose a commity to lay out roads in said town.

4th. To choose Surveyor to order the work on said roads, and see how many days each man shall work at the roads year ensuing.

5th. To choose a commity to view the public Lots and choose a spot to set a meeting house on, and this commity to be employed by the settlers to see to the owners for a title to the land to set a meeting house on.

6th. To choose a commity to look out a convenient spot for a burying place.

7th. For all who have worked on the road to bring in their account at said meeting - and further to act as they shall think proper when met together.

Dummerston, January the 21st, 1771. The foregoing was signed by

Alexander Kathan, Ebe'z. Haven, Chas. Davenport, Daniel Kathan, Enoch Cook, John Kilbury, Samuel Wiswall, Josiah Boyden, Barzilla Rice, Rufus Sargent, Samuel Dutton, Jr., Nathaniel French, Isaac Miller, Hosea Miller.

Agreeable to the foregoing the settlers met at the house of Mr. Isaac Miller in Dummerston on Monday the 4th day of March 1771 and acted as followeth, viz:

1st. Chose Mr. Alexander Kathan Moderator.

Secondly Enoch Cook Settlers Clerk

3ly. Voted and chose Mr. Samuel Wiswall, Mr. Alexander Kathan and Mr. Enoch Cook for to be a commity to lay out roads.

4thly. Chose Mr. Isaac Miller and Mr. Benjamin Jones to be joined by the above commity to view the public Lots and chuse a spot to set the meetinghouse.

5thly. Choose Mr. Benjamin Jones and Mr. Alexander Kathan Surveyors of highways and voted each settlers lot to work four days.

61y. Choose Mr. Charles Davenport and Mr. Daniel Kathan and Mr. Joseph Hildreth to look out a burying place.

7th. Voted the commity for viewing public Lots, to apply to the owners for a title to the land to set the Meetinghouse on.

Agreeable to the 7th article, put to vote whether there should be any allowance for any that had worked at the roads before the year 1771, and it passed in the negative.

"A town meeting was holden at the house of Mr. Enoch Cook in December 1772 voted to build a meeting house forty foot long and thirty two foot wide. Lieutenant Spaulding, and Mr. Charles Davenport and Mr. Ebenezer Haven a commity to compute the cost and adjourned till the 28th day of this instant day of December at the house of Mr. Thompson at eleven o'clock in the forenoon.

December 28th 1772 then met according to adjournment at the house of Mr. Jacob Thompson & voted, first, that the vote for build a meeting-house forty feet long, and thirty two feet be Reconsidered and voted that a meeting house be built 50 feet long, and 40 feet wide, and further voted that Mr. John Hooker, & Mr. Joseph Hildreth and Enoch Cook be a commity to forward the building of said house, and dissolved the meeting. (No name signed as clerk but think Enoch Cook at this time was clerk.)

Dummerston, Alias, Fullam, Alias, Fullam District, May 9th, 1772.

Public Notice is hereby given that the third Tuesday in May instant being the 19th of the same month is appointed by law, for the freeholders and inhabitants of that tract of land called Fullam which is erected into a District to elect & choose from & among the freeholders & inhabitants thereof one Supervisor, Assessor, Collector, Overseer of the Poor Commissioners for laying out highways. Also so many persons to be Surveyors, and Overseers of the highway as shall be thought to be necessary. Fence-viewers, and four Constables and Selectmen or Trustees."


FOR THE YEARS 1773 & 1774.

The tract of land called Dummerston is a part of the tract of land on the west side of Connecticut River formerly granted to Connecticut government as an equivolent for some lands, which the province of Massacdusetts Bay had granted to their planters which upon inquiry was found to be within the Government of Connecticut in order to secure the property of ye soil to the Massachusetts planters, that government granted to Connecticut the property of sundry tracts of their province lands one of which was the tract here mentioned, which the government of Connecticut sold to sundry private gentlemen among whom the late Honorable William Dummer. Anthony Stoder Esq. whose heirs are now the proprietors of one-half of the whole tract on Connecticut River supposed to contain 48000 acres the said Wm. Dummer being the oldest proprietor the tract was called after him, the name is now kept up in acknowledgement of the title from the original grant of the Massachusetts government which is the title the land is now held by - on the settlement of the jurisdictional line of the province of Massachusetts Bay with that of New Hampshire, the tract of land here mentioned fell within the limits of New Hampshire government which incorporated the whole into three township including in the middle townships the greatest part of the lands, belonging to the heirs of Wm. Dummer & Anthony Stoddard & called the name of Fullum by virtue of which the privileges of a town are now held. Besides the town of it Fullum which is known by the name of Dummerston, includes nearly one half of the town of Putney.


"After the record of a town meeting holden on the 17th of May 1774, are the remarks of Dr. Solomon Harvey then town clerk of Dummerston. The reader may observe that no Trustees were chosen at the annual meeting as usual, which, should it excite any speculation, it may be remembered that the Government of New York who had ever since July ye 4th Anno 1764, exercised an unprecidented system of tyrany over all that territory then called State of Vermont - and did in almost numberless instances, so cruelly harrass and pillage the poor new settlers in their intolerably, inhospitable wilderness, as rendered their hard earned pittance scarce worth enjoying, and all under the sacred and auspicious name of administering justice; for a particular account of which see Col. Ethan Allen's treatise on the monopolizing conduct of New York relative to the New Hampshire grantees and settlers on the West side of the Green Mountains and all to reflect on the conduct of the New Yorkers in the neighborhood from the time of the commitment of Lieut. Spaulding to the common jail for high treason till after their murthering of William French and Daniel Houghton; and no man can be at a loss in regard to the truth of what is here laid down.

Governor Tyron and his imps, and the minions of the British tyrant (George the third) had by their hell invented policy, their plans, commissioners and other artful insinuations, extended their influence into every new plantation over which they tyranized, and had not failed even to have some in their interest in this town who by art and insinuation overpursuaded the honest people of the town to omit choosing Trustees for the year, alleging that they had no right to it by virtue of any law of the Government, notwithstanding the provision made and provided in such case, and the special injunction to all incorporated societies to comply with it, and accordingly the meeting was dissolved by a majority of votes. The people finding how grossly they had been imposed on in the affair, grew uneasy at the conduct of the artful insinuator, knowing that the next step would be that the New York Judges and Trustees in their Court convened at that blood stained star-chamber in Westminster would appoint some of their immisaries to supply the place of Trustees in the town according to the law of New York made and provided in that case as aforesaid, and of consequence to avoid the mischief entended a meeting was held on the 10th of June following at 4 of the clock in the afternoon at the house of Enoch Cook in said town previous to which an advertisement had been published by the Clerk exhibiting the articles hereafter acted on, viz:

1stly, After the meeting being opened the Moderator of the former meeting took his place in order to keep silence agreeable to the 1st article, the inhabitants voted to reconsider the vote of the former meeting for dissolving it, and to revise said meeting and

2dly chose Joseph Hildreth, Enoch Cook and Solomon Harvey Trustees for the year ensuing,.

3dly, Thomas Clark as an assessor to be joined with the other two chosen at the former meeting, after which the meeting was adjourned, and to meet at any time or as occasion might require in the judgement of the Trustees, to consider of such business as might be thought sufficient for consideration, the response for a meeting of this nature seems to have been the threatning approach of New York's Tyranny which might require a more speedy meeting of the inhabitants than what could have been convened agreeable to the usual method.

A true record of the aforesaid proceedings.


On the 18th of Oct. ADom 1774 Lieut. Leonard Spaulding of the town of Fulham Alias Dummerston was committed to the common goal for high treason against the British Tyrant George the third, by the direction of the infamous Crean Brush, his attorney and Noah Sabin, William Willard, and Ephraim Rana Esqrs., and Wm. Patterson the high Shreve and Benjamin Gorton and the infamous Bildad Eason his deputies upon which he upon the following day, viz: Oct. 29th a majority of the inhabitants meet near the house of Charles Davenport on the green and made choice of sundry persons to serve as a committee correspondency to join with other towns or respectable bodies of people, the better to secure and protect the rights and privileges of themselves and fellow creatures from the ravages and embarrassments of the British tyrant and his New York and other emmasaries. The persons made choice of ware these, viz: Solomon Harvey, John Butler, Jonathan Knight, Josiah Boyden, Daniel Gates.

By whose vigilence and activity Mr. Spaulding was released from his confinement after about eleven days; the committee finding it necessary to be assisted by a large concourse of their freeborn neighbors and brethren consisting of the inhabitants of Dummerston, Putney, Guilford, Halifax and Draper, who discovered a patriotic zeal, and true heroic fortitude on the important occasion. The plain truth is that the sons of freedom whose patience was worn out with the inhuman insults of the imps of power, grew quite sick of diving after redress in a legal way and finding that the law was only made use of, for the emolument of its creatures and the immisaries of the British tyrant, resolved on an eisier method and accordingly opened the goal without key or lock-picker, and after congratulating Mr. Spaulding upon the recovery of his freedom dispersed every man in peace to his respective home, or place of abode.

The aforegoing is a true and short relation of that wicked affair of the New York cut-throatly Jacobitish, High Church Torietical minions of George the third, the pope of Canada and tyrant of Briton.


P. S. - Mr. Spaulding's pretended crime was that he threw out some words unfavorable to the British tyrant, relating to the Quebeck bill by which he is made pope of that Government.

On February ye 3d the freeholders of Dummerston met at the house of Enoch Cook in said town, at the hour of 2 in the afternoon agreeable to a legal advertisement for the purpose.

1stly. Made choice of Hosea Miller as Moderator.

2dly. Chose Solomon Harvey, and Richard Kelley to serve as delegates to set in Congress at Westminster on the 7th instant at the hour of ten in the forenoon.

3dly. Voted that the Courts of Common pleas be put by for a time. After which the meeting was adjourned to the 14th instant at 2 of the clock in the afternoon, in order to hear the report of the delegates after the rising of Congress.

HOSEA MILLER, Moderator.

A true copy from the minutes.


On Feb. ye 14th met according to adjournment the former Moderator being absent and made choice of Enoch Cook to conclude the business of the meeting.

Voted 1stly. That the Delegates conduct at the Congress is satisfactory to the town.

2ndly. Voted that the Cadet Company have leave to act independent of the town until the 3d Wednesday in May next with regard to military affairs.

3dly. Voted to dissolve the meeting.

A true copy from the minuets


On the 28th of November 1774, at 8 o'clock in the forenoon the freeholders &c met at the house of Enoch Cook in Dummerston agreeable to an advertisement previously posted for that purpose in which the articles to be acted on were regularly inserted.

1st Chose Solomon Harvey, Ebenezer Haven, Hosea Miller to act as delegates in the County Congress at Westminster, on the 30th instant

2dly Voted that the Assessors, assess the town in a discretionary sum of money sufficient to procure 100wt. of Gunpowder 200wt. of Lead & 300 flints for the town use, which was proposed to be procured with Potash Salts

3dly Voted that Josiah Boyden & Thomas Clark be a committee to receive the Salts & procure the articles above mentioned. The meeting was then dissolved by vote of the town.


Finistur A Dom 1775.

On April the 6th a meeting was held in Dummerston agreeable to the usual forms.

Voted 1stly That Lieut. Leonard Spaulding be the Moderator of said meeting.

Voted 2dly To send Solomon Harvey, Ebenezer Haven, Cornelius Jones and William Negus to Westminster, there to meet other Committees, to consult on the best methods for dealing with the unprovoked murtherers of William French and Daniel Houghton.

3dly Voted to Dismiss Alexander Kathan and Enoch Cook from being Assessors because they refused to assess the town for the purchasing a stock of ammunition agreeable to a vote of the town of November ye 28th 1774.

4thly Made choice of Jonathan Knight, Hosea Miller, Wm. Negus to supply their places after which the meeting was dissolved by a majority of votes.

Tests Leonard Spaulding, Moderator.

Per Solomon Harvey Town Clerk."


Town Clerk

I cannot conclude the records of the town regularly with regard to sundry proceedings toward the close of the year. I would cast no undue reflections but it may not be amiss to say that this year was the most remarkable ever known in this land, being a time of heart searching perplexity throughout all America the most porgnant griefs and raging calamities seems to have raged in all parts, and in this neighborhood the affairs of a public nature wore the most disagreeable face.

The enemies of our land and of our temporal happiness exerted themselves in a very singular manner in order to create jealousies the most dangerous to societies and thereon to build the monstrous fabric of discord designed for our destruction. The worthy inhabitants of this town cannot after a moments reflection but be sensible of the artful insinuation of the inveterate enemies of the public affairs which so far succeeded notwithstanding my faithfulness and unshaken fidelity both to the town and country and mankind at large as rendered it necessary that I should resign all public offices among which that of Town Clerk. I resigned to John Scott your Constable to whom you are referred for the remainder of the Town records of the year A Dom 1775. Thus I conclude by subscribing myself the towns and all mankinds hearty and sincere friend.



Soon after the charter of Fullum was granted, John Kathan who had resided in the limits of the town since the year 1752, united with a number of persons, purchased in conjunction with them, from the New Hampshire proprietors, a part of the township, and in the year 1754, according to his own account removed there "with his wife and seven or eight helpless children.'' Possessing the qualities of industry and perseverance - qualities especially necessary to the successful management of a new settlement, he addressed himself to his task and did "actually clear and improve above 120 acres, and built a good dwelling-house, barn and all necessary offices, and also a saw-mill and a potash works," and in order to guard his improvements was "at considerable expense in building a fort around his house" and was under the disagreeable necessity of residing therein during the course of a tedious and distressing war.

Joseph Temple of this town tradition says was saved in Westminster fight by the pewter basin in his knapsack.

Another brave man of the same township, John Hooker escaped with the loss of the soles of his boots which were raked off by a chance shot from the enemy. But the discomfiture was only temporary; the art of the shoemaker was potent to restore the wanting portions, and the boots were afterwards worn by their owner with feelings of pride and satisfaction. Many a man more distinguished but less valient than Mr. John Hooker has in time of battle found safety in trusting to his soles, and that too, in a manner not one half as honorable.



In accordance with the act of Congress, adopting the "non-importation, non-consumption, non-exportation association" on Oct. 20, 1774, the town held a meeting Nov. 28, 1774, and voted:

"that the assessors assess the town in a Discretionary Sum of money Sufficient to procure 100 weight of gun powder, 200 weight of Lead & 300 flints for the town use which was proposed to be procured with potash salts."

Josiah Boyden and Thomas Clark were chosen a committee to receive the salts and procure the articles above mentioned In one of the articles of the "non-importation" &c act, was a recommendation that a committee should be chosen "in every county, city and town, by those qualified to vote for representatives in the Legislature, whose business it should be attentively to observe the conduct of all persons" in regard to measures adopted by the association. The advice conveyed in these words, though rejected by Westminster, was heeded by the patriotic people of Dummerston. The service implied was such as suited their temper. The subject was broached in town-meeting, Jan. 3, 1775, and several persons with Dr. Harvey at their head were chosen a "Committee of inspection to observe the "Conduct of the inhabitants agreeable to an order or recommendation of the Right Honorable Continental Congress." Under authority of this Committee, two of the town assessors were removed from their places, because they had refused to purchase the stock of ammunition which was to be paid for in "potash salts." From one man they took a gun because they suspected it contained a ball more friendly to the King than to the Congress.

By their decision, another man who had been prominent in the history of the village was declared unfit for office, and was not permitted to act in a public station, until by his conduct he evinced the spirit of a patriot. After the beginning of the Revolution, committees like these were to be found in almost every town throughout the New Hampshire. Grants, but the people of Dummerston seem to have led the way in sustaining in Cumberland county (now Windham and Windsor counties) the efforts of Congress to guard against the manuoeuvres of inimical persons.



to whom in the year 1753, the township of Fullum was granted, unitedly with a number of other persons, purchased from New Hampshire proprietors, removed there with his family. He addressed himself with energy to his task and cleared and improved 120 acres on which he built a good dwelling-house and all necessary offices, also a sawmill and potash works," and in order to guard his improvements "was at considerable expense in building a fort round his house.

The first settler of Dummerston, as stated in the preceding records by the town clerk, performed good labors in the midst of great hardships and trials. Misfortune rendered his toil more severe. His eldest daughter, Mrs. Moore was taken captive by the Indians and he did not know her fate until she was returned from her captivity. The settlement, although much disturbed by the war, was not allowed to die, and a few years after the restoration of order, John Kathan and his eighteen associates, with their families were rapidly subduing the forests of Fullum, and accomplishing the conditions of their charter."

In addition to the town record account, the history of Captain Kathan, thus far given is from Hall's History of Eastern Vermont. For further information relative to him and his family, we are indebted to relatives of the Kathan family at the present time. Valuable information has been obtained from two Bibles; one containing the family record of Alexander Kathan, the other that of his father's family. Alexander's family Bible is now the property of a relative in Bangor, Me. It was printed in 1775. The Bible with the record of Captain John Kathan was printed in 1731, and is 148 years old. It is now the property of Charles C. Frost of Brattleboro. Both Bibles contain facts relative to the captivity of Mrs. Moore, a daughter, of Capt. John and sister of Alexander Kathan.

Capt. John Kathan came from England in the year 1729, and probably resided in Worcester, Mass. previous to his removal to Dummerston. He married a sister of Capt. Fairbank Moore. Their children were Alexander, b. Apr. 22, 1729, during the passage of his parents to America; Margaret, b. Oct. 6, 1730; John, b. Jan. 7, 1732, died June 3, 1802, aged, 70; Mary, b Oct., 18, 1734, and married Col. John Sargeant, the first Anglo-Saxon child born in Vermont; the event is recorded in the old Bible as follows:

"tuesday ye 16 day of Dec. 1760, John Sargeant and Mary Kathan was married by Major Belles, (Bellows).

She was the mother of Eli Sargeant, the elder, who died at West River, Apr. 24, 1834, aged 73. Martha Kathan was born May 8, 1736, and married "July ye 22, of tuesday 1764 to Asa Holgait, By Samuel Stevens Esq."

DANIEL KATHAN was born Feb. 1, 1741 and married,

"tuesday May ye 6 day 1764, to Ruth Beret (Barrett) By Mr. Gay of Hinsdell."

Charles Kathan was born Mar. 26, 1743. These are the seven children that Capt. John Kathan had when he removed his family to Dummerston. They were not very "helpless" at that time, for the youngest was 9 years of age and the eldest 22 years. It is not certain that Alexander came here with the rest of the family. If he did, he must have returned to his home in Massachusetts, where he was married in 1755, and came back to this town in 1761.

John Kathan was present with his father in 1765, for John Kathan and John Kathan Jun., with nine other persons signed a memorial that year. (MSS. in the office of Sect. State Mass. LXXV. 547.) It was a complaint against Nathan Willard, in command of Fort Dummer. The record of Capt. Kathan's settlement in this town reads thus:

"June 5, 1752, John Kathan with his family Cam to settle at Bemas' rock on Conicut river in ye Government of New hampshir eight miles from Fort Dummer."

This rock, which is near Putney depot, was named for Joseph Bemas, probably, a rather noted individual in this region at that time, and from whom sprang numerous families by that name.

The place is now called Kathan's ferry. The naming of rocks in the river appears for two objects: one as points for surveys of land, as deeds are in existence making these rocks as boundaries: The other as stopping places in voyages on the river to different military posts. Capt. John Kathan died Nov. 23, 1787, in the 81st year of his age. His wife, Martha (Moore) Kathan, died, "22 of September 1766, of a monday night." We read also, in the old Bible that on

"tuesday february ye 10, 767, Capt. John Kathan and the Widow Mary Wright maired at Springfield By the Rev. Mr Lotrop (Lothrop)."

"May 11, 1755, Margaret Kathan maired Benjamin Moors."

Although the captivity of Mrs. Moore is an incident in the early history of Brattleboro, it is mentioned thus briefly for the purpose of adding in connection what was recorded in the old Bibles of the Kathan family.

"Monday March ye 6, 1758, Capt. Moors with his son Benjamin were killed and Ben's Wife and two children were taken captives by the Indians."

After she had regained her liberty, we read in the same record:

"January 26, 1764, the widow Margaret Moors was maired to Moses Johnson by the reverent Mr. Gay of Hinsdell."

This passage explains what Alexander Kathan wrote in his Bible about the captivity of "sister Johnson" by the Indians. In the old Bible printed in 1761, we find the earliest date of births in Dummerston.

"Mar, ye 5, 1761, thursday Mary Kathan or Mary Sargent wife of John Sargent; her first child a son was born in fullom (Fullum) and province of New Hampshire. His name was Eli Sargent. He died Apr. 24, 1834, aged 73 years."

The second family that moved into Dummerston was that of


son of John Kathan who came to America in 1729. He was born Apr. 22, 1729, during the passage of his parents to this country. Margaret Baird, his wife, was born Aug. 21, 1732. They were married, Dec. 4, 1755, by Rev. Mr. Roberts of Leicester. Their children were Mary, b, Oct. 8, 1756, married Elihu Sargent, died Dec. 18, 1850; John, b. Oct. 12, 1758, died Apr. 10, 1833, aged 74; Daniel, b. Oct. 15, 1760, married Olive Lamb, died Sept. 10, 1804, Olive his wife died Jan. 23, 1803; Thomas, born in Dummerston Apr 30, died July 15, 1838; Elisabeth, born Dec. 25, 1767, died Jan. 13, 1828.

"I, Alexander Kathan, arrived in Fulham May 1, 1761, with my family from Worcester. Nov. 10, 1762, moved into my log-house. Nov. 6, 1783, moved into my new house west side the road."

It was, probably, not the first framed house built in town, as stated in another place. Alexander Kathan died Feb. 14, 1825, aged 95 yrs. 6 mos.; Margaret, his first wife, died July 14, 1803.

He married after her death. Dec. 21, 1806, Mrs. Mary Hart Davenport, who died June 22, 1830, aged 98 yrs. 3 mos. Alexander's mother died Sept. 22, 1766.

His father died Nov. 23, His wife's father, Mr. Baird, died May 3, 1782. John died June 3, 1802. His brother Charles resided in Putney where he built a house in the year 1768, "on the spot where Mrs. McLellan lives [1825] near Dr. Campbell's." As a military man, his rank was Lieut. Colonel. He died May 22, 1793, aged 50 years. His brother, Lieut. Daniel Kathan died Oct. 17, 1807, aged 67 yrs. Daniel's wife, Ruth Barrett, died Aug. 3, 1802, aged 57. Alexander's family Bible has the following information recorded:

"Mercy Baird died Apr. 23, 1790.

"Hosea Beckley, ordained minister in Dummerston Mar. 2, 1808; Court stopped at Westminster March 13, 1775.

"Sister Johnson was taken by the Indians, carried to Canada Mar. 6, 1758, and was redeemed by Gen. Schuyler in the fall. She died Oct. 18, 1779, up at the lake."

Also, we read in the same record that Alexander Kathan and wife joined the church in Dummerston, Mar. 11, 1787.

Religious sentiments and counsel for his family are written on several pages of this old Bible and many texts of scripture from which he had heard sermons preached by Rev. Aaron Crosby.

The first three settlers located, not on the high lands, as many have done in early settlements, but on the forest plains near the Connecticut. Capt. John Kathan, Alexander Kathan and Daniel Kathan built their log-houses near to the three principal brooks that flow into the Connecticut river in the east part the town.

Capt. John Kathan settled near the brook north of Putney depot on land then a part of Dummerston; Alexander, near Canoe brook, and Daniel not far from Salmon brook. These families came from Worcester, Mass. Alexander kept a memorandum in almanacs for each year, of principal events in his farming business and other matters worthy of note. These almanacs were kept in file by stringing them on a leathern thong, and are now in possession of his descendants; some forty in number are in possession of a family in this town.

The earliest of these almanacs is for the year 1764, and the numbers are complete down to the year 1817, except 1795 and 1814. The oldest ones are the almanacs published by Nathaniel Low. Most of the file from 1781, are the almanacs of Isaiah Thomas. Mr. Kathan was in the habit of noting on the margin of these almanacs important events relating to his business and other affairs. Here are a few items in reference to the making of sugar:

"March 19, 1764, tapped trees, made 21 lbs. of molasses."

"February 1765, tapped trees, and sugared off 18 pounds on the 26th."

"Apr. 6, 1778, made off, 10 lbs. of sugar; that's the first this season."

Here we find the date when the first meeting-house in town was raised.

"November 10th 1773, raised the meeting house."

"May 19th, 1780, remarkable dark day."

"April 5th 1781, a man and a horse crossed the river on the ice."

"The 2d Sabbath in the same month snow was knee deep in the field and solid."

"1785, snow 1st day of April, 34 inches deep on a level."

"19th, old snow knee deep, new snow."

"'May 26th, put in seine and catch no shad."

"May 30, catch shad."

"March 31st. 1786, no snow."

"2d day of April, terrible storm of wind, and. snow fell knee deep."

"17th. began to plow."

"March 29th. 1787, burnt out the bass-wood stub and seart out two flying squirrels."

"May 10th. 1788, the mountains covered with snow."

"Aug. 19th. a hurricane."

"March, 1803, what a sight of pigeons did fly all the 13th."

"June 6th. 1804, set tobacco."

"Aug. 29th. cut up tobacco."

"Mrs. Kathan sea a robin on the 9th of February, Robins here seen til the 17th."

"March 5th, sea two robins."

"July 12th. had string beans."

"the 22d, had new tatos."

"February 1811, killed 110 rats in the corn house in one day."

Alexander cleared a piece of plain land thickly overgrown with old pines, on which he planted corn at one time, but the tall over-shadowing pines prevented his securing anything but a harvest of fodder. The first apple trees grown in town, he brought from Worcester, three in number, and set out on his farm. The kind of apples which these bore was called "cotton wool." The last one of the old trees stood till the year 1869, on land just north of the barn on "the old Kathan place." Mr. Kathan went to Deerfield, Mass. during the first years of his settlement, to get his corn ground. The first record of a grist-mill in Dummerston was Nov. 23, 1772 at which time the settlers voted "that the road be accepted from the meeting-house (lot) by the corner of Hosea Miller's lot, so on the south line of said Miller's lot to the Salmon brook, over the brooks down on the north side of said brook, to the Corn Mill, thence to John Kilbury's thence to the great road on the south side of Daniel Kathan's barn."

On one occasion when Alexander Kathan was returning from Worcester or Deerfield, guided on his way by marked trees, a dark object appeared in his path not far in front of him. It was evening and near his home. Not being able, on account of the darkness to recognize what it was that obstructed his pathway, and not daring to risk too much by a nearer approach, he fired his gun and the dark object glided away into the forest. In the morning he returned in company with others to the scene of his adventure, and finding traces of blood followed the trail to a swamp, now south of the old burying ground near Oscar F. Bennett's, they discovered a dead bear. Bears were plenty in this town in those days, and frequently the family were kept awake during the night time by the howling of wolves near the sheep-pens where they were often seen standing on their hind feet with their paws resting against the pen, and barking furiously. Some idea of the dense growth of the forest trees and under-brush in those times may be had from the fact that one of Mr. Kathan's little children was lost for a short time in the woods only a few rods from the house, having been sent out by their mother to call their father to dinner.

The first house he lived in was built of round logs, the second one, of hewn logs. The third building was framed, and may have been the first framed house built in town, The old house was remodeled many. years ago and the carpenter who helped do the work says, that the old roof was taken off, another story added, and what is now quite a good looking, two-story, white house was once the habitation of the second family that settled in Dummerston. By good fortune this building escaped destruction in Aug. 1843. A violent whirlwind or hurricane that prostrated several acres of forest trees on the hills west of the buildings, swept down across the plain, leveling the trees in its path, making a direct route towards the house around which it made a sudden turn in serpentine course, shaking up the stately old elms furiously, and spending its force not far to the eastward. The oldest sugar lot in town stands on this farm. Only thirty-one of the old monarchs of the forest are now standing, the largest of which measures 17 1-2 feet in circumference.

A grand-son of Alexander Kathan cut down in 1858, or 1859, one of the large trees in this old lot, and while working it up, the number of rings made by the annual growth from the place where the deepest incision was made in "boxing" the trees, were counted and found to be nearly one hundred.

In boxing the trees for sap to run, a place or groove was cut with an axe, instead of boring with a bit, as the custom is at the present day. With the aid of an iron gouge a place was made to receive the wooden spout. The sap was caught in bass-wood troughs. A section of wood from one of these old trees has been preserved. It shows the marks of three instances of boxing in perpendicular line, the central scar being in the form of the letter Y.

A great grandson of Alexander Kathan named Horace, 10 years old, was scalded with hot sugar so that he died, 9 days after the accident, Mar. 8, 1833.

He was helping his father take off a kettle of hot sugar. The leg of the kettle caught on the side of the arch, and tipped the contents upon the boy. His father caught him up and dipped him into a tub of cold sap which relieved him of agony a short time, but was not effectual in saving his life.

An incident relating to John Kathan, Jr. is given in Hall's history. In 1779, he refused to serve in the Vermont militia. June 17, of that year, John Kathan and Benjamin Jones, Jr. both of Dummerston, were informed by an officer that they were required to do military duty. On their refusal to comply, being subjects of New York, the officer took a cow from each and sold one of them at auction, and retained the other for the use of the state," Ezra Robinson and Ephraim Rice, also, of this town had cattle sold in the same manner because they refused to pay or serve in the militia. Children of:


the order of names being uncertain -

Susanna, m. Freedom Bigelow of Chesterfield, N.H., Dec. 14, 1788;

Eunice, m. Israel Bigelow, June 11, 1792;

Rufus m. Nabby Stone, Nov. 8. 1796;

Phebe, m. 1st. William Wilder, Jan. 3, 1800, 2d. Josiah Dodge;

Daniel Jr. m. Fanny Haven, Oct, 23, 1800;

Lydia m. Benjamin Frost, Oct. 25, 1801;

Dolly m. Jacob Frost.

Lieut. Kathan died Oct. 17, 1807 AE 67; Ruth, his wife died Aug. 3, 1802, AE 57.

It is said that Mrs. Kathan was, in some way related to widow Rebecca Barrett, who died May 15, 1809, aged 79, and who was the "Parent of Lieut. Elijah Brown."

Silas Butler, who married Sally McFarland, Jan. 25, 1816, is said to have owned the old tannery property, located south of Lt. Kathan's residence. The old building and well-sweep were standing in 1832, perhaps later than that date.

A portion of the old tannery-building was occupied for a dwelling. The old millstone, used in the bark mill, that lay imbedded in the earth many years, was recently removed, and now forms a part of the covering on a large water-course built 3 years ago on the Haven place.


Daniel Kathan (2d.), son of Alexander, Esq. b. Oct. 15, 1790, m. Olive Lamb, 2d. Sibyl McFarland; He died Sept. 10, 1804.

Children of Daniel and Olive Kathan:

Thomas, b. Nov. 25, 1788, m. 1st. Lucy, b. May 9, 1790; Caty, b. Dec. 22, 1791;

Anna, b. Feb. 7, 1795, m. Alpheus Pratt, of Brattleboro, May 21st, 1812,

Emery, b. May 23, 1797;

Wyman Lamb, b. Dec. 9, 1798, m. Laura Burnham, July 31st, 1825;

Orison, b. Judy 31, 1801.

The children of Wyman and Laura Kathan were Amandarin, b. Oct. 9, 1825; Maridda, b. Oct. 5, 1827; Eliza, b. Feb. 12, 1831;

Wyman L. Kathan died Feb. 25, 1832, and his widow married Job Knight, June 7, 1834. They had two children, Caroline and Herbert Knight. Their mother died Oct. 17, 1842.

Gardner Kathan, Sen. was a son of Colonel Charles and brother of Prentice Kathan, whose name appears on the tax list for 1802. On the same list is the name of David Kathan. Gardner, Sen. married Betsey Townshend, of Putney. He is said to have been twice married. He died Feb. 11, 1813, AE 46. His children were:

Lydia, who m. Charles Davenport, Jr., Sept. 6, 1812:


Robert, b. 1790, d. Apr. 8, 1819, AE 29;

Gardner, b. Aug. 11, 1794, m. Apr. 10, 1821;

Jerusha, daughter of Charles and Lydia (Scott) Kathan, b. Dec. 29, 1800;

Betsey, born 1796, m. Abel Knight Oct. 17, 1817, d. Mar. 4, 1872.

Orrin, b. 1802,m. Adaline Kathan.

The children of Gardner and Jerusha Kathan were:

Gardner S., b. Dec. 4, 1821;

Henry, b. Jan. 7, 1823;

Eliza, b. May 6, 1825;

Norman, b. Jan. 25, 1827;

Dorr W., b. July 8, 1829;

John A., b. .July 19, 1832;

Frances, b. Nov. 15, 1833;

Helen, b. Dec. 22. 1837;

Riley H., b. June 15, 1839.

The father of these children died June 28, 1858.

One Charles Kathan married Sabra McFarland, Mar. 29, 1811.

John, eldest son of Alexander, Esq. was born Oct. 12, 1758, m, 1st. Polly Perry, sister of Bethany, wife of Jesse Knight, 2d. Rebecca, dau. of John Severy of Worcester, Mass. His first wife, Polly, died Mar. 8, 1791, AE 23; Rebecca. the second wife, died Dec. 25, 1837, AE 79. By the first marriage he had one child, John, born Nov. 6, 1790; by the second, Polly, b. 1794, or '95, who m. Squire Spaulding, July 3, 1811.

John Kathan m. Rhoda, daughter of Roswell Burnham, of Westmoreland, N.H., Nov. 14, 1817. She was born Dec. 3, 1800, died Jan. 3, 1860. He d. Oct. 19, 1859. Their children were:

Louisa, b. Feb. 5, 1819, m. Wilder Knight, July 2, 1839.

Horace, b. Nov. 9, 1821, d. Mar. 12, 1831.

Aurelia S., b. Feb. 28, 1823, m. William A. Dutton, Sept. 10, 1850.

Adeline E., b. June 14, 1825, married Orrin Kathan, Sept. 14, 1856, d. July 19, 1863.

Fanny M., b. Feb. 18, 1829, m. Adin A. Dutton, Jan. 1, 1850;

Ellen, born Feb. 26, 1831, m. Larkin G. Cole of Westmoreland, N.H., Apr. 15, 1858;

John H., b. Mar. 23, 1833, married Fanny M. Newman, of Brattleboro, d. Dec. 7, 1883;

George F. Kathan, born Nov. 18, 1835, married Eliza Ware, of Westmoreland, N.H., May 1860;

Kingsley S., b. July 2, 1838, d. Dec, 27, 1864;

Henry H., b. Aug. 18, 1840, m. Belle Belknapp, May 6, 1863, died Aug. 24, 1873.

Elizabeth, youngest child of Alexander Kathan, was b. Dec. 25. 1767, m. Joseph Wilson. Jan. 7, 1796.

The earliest record of any death in town is that of Capt. John Kathan's wife, Martha, who died Sept. 22, 1766, about 60.


The first burials in town wore made in the old grave-yard, formerly in Dummerston, now in Putney, about 40 rods northwest from the railroad station. In 1873, seventeen old gravestones were left standing in the yard, and at the present time only nine remain. The rest have been broken down and trampled in pieces by cattle. The grave of Capt. John Kathan, the first settler in Dummerston, is, therefore, left unmarked. Quite a number of the first settlers must have been buried in that yard; for in making the excavation for a cellar on its site a few years ago, seven bodies or skeletons were found, and the owner of the land states that his horses sometimes step into soft places where graves were dug.

Thus ends the record of the births, marriages and deaths in the first three families in town.

The following inscription was taken from one of the old grave-stones left standing in that cemetery of olden time.

"In memory

Colonel Charles Kathan he

Died May 22 1793 in

The 51st year of his age

Time was I stood where thou doest now

And vewed the dead as thou dost me

Ere long thoult lie as low as I

And others stand and look on thee"

From the first settlement in 1752, down to the present time, families by the name of Kathan have been residents of this town. The last person, but one, who died here in the year 1883, was John Kathan, whose death occurred Dec. 7th. He was born in Dummerston. Mar. 23, 1833, and was great-great grandson of the first settler.


the eldest daughter of Capt. John and Martha Moore Kathan, was born, Oct. 6, 1730, probably in Worcester, Mass. She was married to Benjamin Moore, son of Capt. Fairbank Moore, May 11, 1755, and in less than three years after was taken prisoner by the Indians who broke into the house of Capt. Moore, her father in law, with whom she and her husband resided, at midnight Mar. 6, 1758, and killed her husband and the Captain, his father. She, startled from sleep by the terrible war-whoop of the savages, sprang from her bed and while the fierce attack was going on below, hurridly dressing herself and her children escaped from the house. It was in the middle of the night, dark and cold. Not knowing what she did in her fright she had pulled on in dressing two pair of long woolen stockings that proved of good service now and it probably saved her life. She took a sled-road for the woods, that her husband had broke the day before to draw wood. With her two children, the youngest a babe of but three weeks old, she was soon overtaken by 'the Indians, who as soon as it was light discovered her footsteps in the snow. They took both of her children from her at first but soon returned her babe to her which they allowed her to carry; and they led or carried the oldest child that was but little over two years old. During the night the Indians finding in the house some beans and tallow, cooked the beans in about 20 pounds of tallow and put them up in bags for provision on the way; upon this they subsisted, traveling on foot to Fort Ticonderoga, which they reached on the tenth day from their departure; having crossed the Green Mountains in the most inclement season of the year and from Ticonderoga they were taken by boat to Montreal in Canada, where Mrs. Moore and her children remained in captivity for two and a half years; her father's family in Dummerston, not knowing her fate till she was returned to them; - Col. Peter Schuyler having "paid a ransom of four hundred livres ($74) for her redemption from captivity."

She came back to her friends, in 1762, and was married to Moses Johnson, Jan. 26, 1764, d. "up the, Lake", 1779.

In her after life, it is said, she never reverted to her captivity unless first it was mentioned to her. The reason she gave for it was, during that time she suffered so much that it was painful to remember it.

At the time of the massacre, Capt. Fairbank Moore and his son lived upon the farm comprising the meadows now owned by the Insane Asylum proprietors, just north of that institution. They were killed in a skirmish, and also several Indians whose bones, have been exhumed from time to time by plowing and digging on these premises; supposed to have been their remains.

After the death of Capt. Moore, the above farm was purchased by Major John Arms. After his death which was by the kick of a horse, his son, Josiah kept the inn on the place, which was a favorite stopping place for Ethan Allen and the Bradleys in their day. Major John was the father of Captain John Arms whose children were Josiah, John, Alfred, (Doctor) Willard, and William Arms of Dummerston. We are indebted to the Vermont Phoenix, 1876 for some of these particulars last mentioned. Mr. Hall says that Hoyt, the author of Hoyt's Indian Wars, notices this transaction as having occurred in the month of September; another account says February. Hoyt locates Mr. Moore's residence in Hinsdale, another account near Fort Dummer. The relation given in the text is, however, believed to be correct. The farm on which Mr. Moore lived, is now occupied by Newman Allen Esq. To an account of this transaction, which appeared in the columns of the "Vermont Phoenix" in the year 1849, is appended the following note:

''Mr. Moore and his son alluded to above as having fallen victims to the Indians, are supposed to have been buried near the side of their log-house which was burnt. On Monday last, bones believed to have been theirs were found in Mr. Allen's barn-yard, covered with about one foot of earth and a board over them, but apparently no coffin or box around them. One of the skulls contained an ounce bullet, which was undoubtedly the cause of death."

[The apology made once or twice in these Kathan family papers, as in the John Sargeant papers following; ---- for introducing matters of history that occurred on ground in Brattleboro, is handsome in the author, but scarcely needed; not only, as Brattleboro papers sent for publication in this work do not include this new and interesting information, but also as Mrs. Benjamin Moore and Mrs. John Sargeant belong certainly to the Kathan family, the two oldest daughters of old Capt. John Kathan. Margaret Kathan and Mary Kathan, both having been raised and having lived here until their marriage, and Mary, probably having been born here; and as the eldest daughters of the first settler, the first young women who lived in the town, could not well be spared from the Dummerston record of "ye olden time." Ed.]


was the first Anglo Saxon child born in Vermont. We write about this family because John Sargeant married Mary Kathan of Dummerston, daughter of Capt. John Kathan. Their first child was born in this town Mar. 5, 1761. His brother Rufus was a resident of the town and bought his land of the proprietary in 1770. It is recorded in history, that Thomas Sargeant, a brother of Rufus, was a resident of Fullam. One Thomas Sargeant of Brattleboro bought a farm in Dummerston in 1793.

The earliest account we have of the family begins with Digory Sargeant who was born in Sudbury, Mass. The first name is spelled Dickery in Barber's Historical Collections of Massachusetts. He was one of the early settlers of Worcester, and in company with John Wing, George Danson, Peter Goulding and Jacob Leonard began a settlement there in 1685. The town had been previously settled by a few families in 1665, when six or seven houses were built, but soon deserted on account of Indian hostilities in connection with King Philip's war which raged at that time. From the time of the second settlement in 1685, when the whites returned with Mr. Sargeant and others, the settlers prospered well till 1701, when the Indians resumed hostilities on the frontier towns, and Worcester was again depopulated. All the settlers fled except Mr. Sargeant and his family. He determined to remain and brave the dangers of the Indian foe. He was not molested till 1703, or '04. The following particulars of his death are preserved. When the Indians surrounded his house, Sargeant, seized his gun to defend himself. As he was retreating to the staircase, he was shot down by the savages. Upon this, they rushed into the house and completed the work of death with their tomahawks and tore off his scalp. They seized his wife and five children and began a rapid retreat westward. Mrs. Sargeant overcome with grief and fatigue impeded their progress. As they were ascending the Tataesset or Tatnick hills, a chief stepped out of the file, and while pretending to be looking for game, came up behind Mrs. Sargeant in an unsuspecting moment and deprived his sinking captive of life at a single blow. The children were taken to Canada, where they remained a long time before they were redeemed by their friends. It appears from one record that Mr. Sargeant was twice married. His second, wife was sister of George Parmenter of Sudbury. Martha was the eldest of his five children. She was born before 1699, and married Daniel Shattuck of Worcester, Apr. 16, 1719. She died in 1722. The other children were: John, Daniel, Thomas and Mary. Daniel and Mary never returned from captivity, but remained with their captors and adopted the habits and manners of the Indians. Thomas resided in Boston in 1715. John, his brother, had an eventful life. After his return from captivity, he entered the service of the province. During the old French and Indian war, he was a solider at Fort Dummer. He was a lieutenant, and both his name and that of his son, Daniel appear on Capt. Josiah Willard's company roll, dated Feb. 12, 1748. Lieut. John Sargeant, his son, Daniel, Moses Cooper, Joshua Wells and one other soldier started Mar. 29, 1748, from Fort Dummer down the scout path to Colrain, for oars and paddles. When a little more than a mile from the fort, they were fired upon by an ambush of 12 or 15 Indians. Moses Cooper was mortally wounded at the first fire, but managed with the help of a comrade to reach the fort. Lieut. Sargeant with the others retreated slowly, firing as they went. The woods were thick and the savages well covered. Wells was soon killed. The Lieutenant encouraged his son with the assurance that help would be sent from the fort; dared the skulking enemy to come out and fight like men, and firing as often as an Indian showed himself. When near the fort, Lieut. Sargeant was killed and his son was taken captive. The next day a company of seven men from Northfield under Capt. Ebenezer Alexander went up to fort Dummer, and found and buried the Lieutenant and his comrade. His grave was probably in sight of the fort. In a petition to the General Court, dated Nov. 29, 1738, asking for a grant of land, he says:

"About the beginning of Queen Anne's war yr Petitioner's father [Digory Sargeant] then [1704] living in Worcester, had the misfortune with your petitioner's mother and one brother to be killed by the Indian enemy: At which time yr petitioner with 5 brothers, and sisters were taken into captivity where yr petitioner remained 12 or 13 years.

When Inclined to go home met with great oppossition as well from the papists as Indians: yet he came home and was at the sole cost of his redemption: That upon his arrival into his native country, he was put into the service under Capt. Kellogg, [and after under Capt. Willard] and so remains to this time: That he has been three times to Canada in the service of the Province since his redemption, and when the Truck-house [one of the small houses in the stockade] was burnt in 1737, he lost greatly."

A grant of 200 acres of land above Northfield was made to him by the legislature. The land appears to have been laid out at the lower end of Fort Dummer meadow. He built a house on this grant where he and his family lived at the time of his death. His age was about 54 years. In 1763, his widow, Abigail Sargeant and the other heirs sold the estate to Capt. Samuel Hunt of Northfield. It is described in the deed as "161 acres with buildings thereon, which was a grant to the proprietors of Lunenburg in 1731."

The wife of Lieut. Sargeant was Abigail Jones of Springfield, Mass. They were married July 4, 1727. Their children were:

Daniel, b. Mar. 25, 1728, m. Dinah Jones of Springfield, Mass., July 20, 1751;

Abigail, b. Jan. 1730;

John, b. 1732, at Fort Dummer; the first English child born in Vermont, m. "tuesday ye 16 day of Dec. 1760, Mary Kathan, by Major Belles (Bellows)" died July 30, 1798;

Thomas, b. about 1734; lived at Fort Dummer, and Fullum; married, May 17, 1757, Anna, dau. of Joseph Stebbins, of Northfield, Mass.

Mary, born 1742;

Rufus, b. 1740; married about 1774, Susanna ________; died Nov. 23, 1826.

The, children of Col. John Sargeant were:

Eli, born Mar. 5, 1761, "in Fullum" [Dummerston].

Levi, m, Lydia Daily;

Lucy, wife of Isaac Bigelow;

Abigail, wife of Robert Wells, and Mary, alias Polly.

The children of Thomas Sargeant and Anna Stebbins, his wife were:

Elisha, b. May 3, 1758;

Anna, b. June 18, 1760.

The children of Rufus Sargeant and his wife, Susanna, were John, Sally, Rufus and Susanna. A daughter of Rufus Sargeant, Jr. married James H. Sargeant of Brattleboro, who now lives on the site of the house built by Col. John.

Col. Sargeant was captain of a company in the Lower Regiment "of Vt. in 1776, and was commissioned Lt. Col. of the Southern Regiment, Aug. 18, 1778."

His father had a brother James, and they together, purchased all the land in Brattleboro, lying between West and Connecticut rivers or what is now in that town, called West River. On account of the Indians, it was not deemed prudent to build and occupy, so they with their families took refuge in Fort Dummer, which was on the site of the present residence of Simon Brooks.

This brother James was the father of Thomas Sargeant, who was the father of Elihu, Calvin, Thomas and Luther. The two former living and dying at West River. Elihu was born May 3, 1758 and died, Dec. 1, 1833.

A writer of "historical notes" in the Vermont Phoenix Mar. 31, 1876, says that Col. John Sargeant built about 1762, a large, two-story, gambrel-roof house on the site of the present residence of James H. Sargeant, which became a noted rendezvous for the neighborhood, and also for entertainment for travellers and officers of military posts up and down the river. They were greatly annoyed by the Indians, and the inhabitants had many dangers and hairbreadth escapes to relate.

At the time the Colonel's house was building, his wife was living with her father, John Kathan, in Dummerston, where her first child, Eli was born. Eli and his brother, Levi, lived to an advanced age, and died on farms comprised in the foregoing purchase. Mary, a maiden sister, lived and died on the old homestead. Col. Sargeant was a distant relative of Mrs. Jemima Howe, afterwards Mrs. Tute, who was captured June 27, 1755, by the Indians at Fort Bridgman on Vernon meadow, a short distance below Fort Dummer. It appears in the record that Mr. Sargeant was married by Major Bellows, who was doubtless, Col. Benjamin Bellows of Walpole, N.H. His sister, Juda, married Capt. Fairbank Moore, killed by the Indians in Brattleboro, Mar. 6, 1758. She was born in 1708, and her brother, Col. Bellows, in 1715. Capt. Moore had two children, Fairbank and Benjamin. Fairbank married Esther Kathan, who was admitted to the church in Northfield, Mass., Nov. 28, 1756. He lived with his family in Putney, 1768, on what was known in 1825, as the Timothy Underwood place. It is recorded that a family by the name of Fairbank Moore lived in Walpole, N.H., in 1759. Benjamin Moore married Margaret Kathan, sister of Mary, the wife of Col. Sargeant, whose marriage was performed by Major Bellows. The statement is made in Northfield history by Sheldon and Temple, that Esther, wife of Fairbank Moore, Jr., was a daughter of Capt. John Kathan, but her name is not given in the family record in the old Sargeant Bible. The three sisters, as there recorded, are Margaret, born 1730, Mary, born 1734, and Martha, wife of Asa Holgait, born 1736; . Their mother was sister of Capt. Fairbank Moore. Colonel Sargent died at West River in Brattleboro, and was buried in the cemetery near his home. On the stone at the head of his grave, it reads thus:

"Sacred to the memory of Col. John Sargeant

who departed this life July 30,1798,

in the 66th year of his age

Who now lies in the same town in

which he was born, and was the first

white man born in the state of Vermont."

His eldest child, Eli, the first child born in Dummerston, died at West River in Brattleboro, Apr. 24, 1834, AE 73.

His wife was Elizabeth Gurton.


who was the first representative to the Vermont Legislature, chosen from this town, was a resident of Dummerston, Nov. 23, 1772, when with two other persons he was chosen to draw a plan of the first meeting-house built in this town From an old account-book it appears he was in Westmoreland, N.H., at work on a farm in May, 1772, which he bought of Abner Howe. He was a resident of Putney in the summer of 1771, where he had lived six years and perhaps, longer. In his old account-book, minus 19 pages, he charged under date March, 1766:

"Mikel Law to a quart of runt and mug of flip."

Lt. Spaulding settled in Putney soon after the close of the French and Indian war, during which he served as soldier. He made a clearing on the plane east of Putney village, now known as the Dea. Jones farm. When cutting the timber he left the trunk of the largest tree higher than the rest and with his axe leveled and smoothed the top as much as he could. The log house was so built that the stump was in the centre of the room and served for a table till he could get time to make one, after removing his family from Westford, where they lived during his absence, in the French and Indian war. The ground answered for a floor to his cabin. A rustic bed, made of stakes and poles, overspread with hemlock boughs, served for a couch on which to sleep until his goods should arrive. When the new home was ready for the reception of his family, the Lieutenant returned to Connecticut and removed in the early spring to Vermont. He and one child, his wife and another rode on horseback, Thomas Love, his wife's brother, with three more of the children followed, driving the ox team and cart, loaded with a small amount of furniture and clothing.

According to the age of the fifth child, it would be in the spring of 1764, that his family came to Putney. The charges in the old account book show that the Lieutenant was not only a farmer, but also a carpenter and trader to some extent. He bought and sold many articles usually kept in a country store.

Numerous charges are made against customers for rum, flip and occasionally a "pot of syder." From 1766 to 1771, the following names of persons living in Putney are found on the book: Mikel Law, Samuel Allen, Jacob Thompson, Ichabob Gary, Andrew McAdam, Nehemiah Howe, Jethro Brown, Samuel Skinner, Joshua Parker, Lt. Edward Howe, William Winam, Mr. Hale, Benjamin Hutchins, R. Robens, Mr. Hartwell, Samuel Morse, Abraham Carly, Aaron Alexander, Lt. Benjamin Whitcomb. John Cole, Elijah Temple, John Scott, Leon'd Keep, Mr. Sawyer, Capt. Aaron Brown, Aaron Gary, Jona. Moore, Daniel Pearce, Daniel Whipple, Judge Lord.

Spaulding's house was burned, probably in the fall of 1771. He did not rebuild, but bought a farm in Westmoreland N.H., where he remained less than a year, and removed to Dummerston, bought a farm; built a log-house and some years after a framed dwelling now standing. The place is now owned and occupied by George Warwick.

Lt. Spaulding was the first man here, to start with his gun for the fight at Westminster, Mar. 13, 1775. He was knocked down and wounded in that skirmish. He immediately joined the army and continued in the service much of the time during the Revolutionary war. His wife and sons, Reuben and Leonard jr. managed the farm during his absence, yet he came home quite often on furlough. He was in the battle of Bennington [1777]. The day it was fought, his wife, who was in the garden gathering vegetables for dinner, heard distinctly the sound of the roaring cannon, nearly forty miles away. Others in her neighborhood heard the same noise and called it distant thunder; and no one thought differently until the news of' the battle came.

Mrs. Spaulding was afraid of wild animals, and one night when her husband was absent from home, a bear came and tried to drive away the hog, which naturally refused to go. The squealing of the hog awakened the family; and the boys with the aid of a dog and burning torches, drove the bear away and rescued the future meat of the family.

It is related of Mrs. Spaulding that she went on horseback, alone, every two years to visit her aged mother in Providence, R. I. as long as she lived, who died at the advanced age of nearly a hundred years. When returning from one of those visits she brought home a small willow stick, used on the way for a riding-whip and stuck it into the ground where it was moist; and it grew to be a large tree; said to be the first of its kind in this town. Mr. Spaulding held a lieutenant's commission, not only in the French and Indian war, but, also, in the Revolutionary war. He was wounded in the battle of White Plains, Oct. 28, 1776, in the thigh, by a ball which remained in his leg as long as lie lived; and was troublesome at times.

Lieut. Leonard Spaulding, for his service in the war of 1776, he received a grant lying west of Lake Champlain in New York state. His commission and other papers showing evidence of service in the war were kept in the family many years; but Timothy Spaulding, a grand-son of Lieut. Spaulding, getting the impression he could secure a pension for the heirs, all of the papers were given up to him by Mrs. Anna (Spaulding) Laughton. He removed soon after to the West, where he died before an application was made to the government and the papers were never returned to the family.

Leonard Spaulding married, Mar. 5, 1756, Margaret, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Sprague) Love of Providence R. I. Her brother, Thos. Love, settled in Pownal, but removed to Bennington. The maiden name of Spaulding's mother was Persis Prescott. Joanna Spaulding was a sister of Lt. Leonard. She married Jesse Frost of Brattleboro and lived in what forms the ell-part of the house in which Dr. S. N. Bemis of that town now lives. She was born Mar. 29, 1739, died Nov. 1834, AE 95 years, and was buried in the cemetery west of her residence.

Josiah and Samuel Spaulding were brothers, probably, of the Lieutenant.

They were with him at Crown Point in 1758. Jonathan Spaulding may also have been his brother. The family were tall, strong looking persons; and it is said the sons of the Lieutenant were over six feet in height; the tallest one six feet seven inches.

The children of Lt. Leonard and Margaret Spaulding were:

Reuben, b. Nov. 19, 1756, m. ____ Gates, died, Jan. 20, 1794;

Betsey, b. June 22, 1758, m. Henry Stevens, Dec. 19, 1779, died Feb. 2, 1790;

Leonard Jr., b. Mar. 14, 1760, m. Priscilla Gleason, Dec. 9, 1779, d. Sept. 3, 1792;

Mary, b. Oct. 11, 1761, m. David Laughton, died May 12, 1782;

Sarah, b. July 19, 1763, m, Charles Wilder, Oct. 27, 1782;

Timothy and John, (twins) b. May 13, 1765, d. June 13, 1785, and Mar. 26, 1793;

Anna, b. Apr. 7, 1767, m. Samuel Laughton, Dec. 14, 1786, died, Jan. 13, 1849;

Esther b. Apr. 1767, d. July 1783;

Josiah, b. Mar. 30, 1771, m. Eunice Skinner, d. Dec. 3, 1798;

Olive, b. Oct. 17, 1773, m. 1st. David Wilson, Feb. 17, 1798; 2d. Daniel Mixer of Brattleboro.

Lt. Spaulding was born Oct. 28, 1728 and died of consumption July 17, 1788 AE 59, in a house which he built, now standing on George Warwick's farm.

He was buried at his own request in the grave-yard east of the Hollow, because, at that time, the cemetery where his children were buried was wet ground. No stone marks his resting place. Margaret, his wife, resided with her son, Josiah, on the home farm till his death when she went to West Dummerston after her farm was sold, and lived near her daughter, Mrs. Anna Laughton, where she died May 1, 1827, AE. 94. Her grave is beside that of Mrs. Anna Laughton, who died Jan. 31, 1849, and no gravestone marks the place.

When Anna Spaulding was married, she wore a linen muslin dress of her own manufacture. She selected the nicest flax, hatcheled, carded and spun the same into a thread so fine that each skein consisting of fourteen knots, could be drawn through her open thimble. The dress was woven, cut and made by herself, and in texture resembled silk.

Josiah and Eunice Spaulding's children were Polly, born 1793; Timothy, Betsey, and John.

Leonard and Priscilla Spaulding were the parents of Thomas, b. Oct. 19, 1780, Leonard, 3d. Adam, John, William, and Squire, b. May 12, 1790.

Leonard (3d.) married Sally Fuller, of Putney. She was a sister of Mrs. Alvin Knapp. Their children, so far as known, were Rinda, who married Dec. 1, 1880, Asa Baldwin; Amy, married John Cudworth of Putney, and Priscilla married a Howe;

Arba married 1st. Emeline, daughter of Benjamin Estabrook, 2d. Margaret Boyden, sister of Mrs. Electa (Boyden) Bemis. Harriet married Samuel Wilder; Charles; Alvin; Lovina; Lucina.

Children by the first marriage were: Clarissa E., Benjamin A.; 2d. marriage, Hoyt T., Anna, Nellie. Clarissa E. married Ransom C. Farr of Chesterfield, N.H.; Hoyt T. married Ella Mason. The parents and the other three children are not living.

Lieutenant is the title given on the town records; but on the grave-stones of his children, the inscription is Capt. Leonard Spaulding. He was a citizen of the town when it was organized.

The place where he settled and cleared the land was about 2 miles north of the meeting-house and long known as Spaulding's Hill. He was a prominent and capable man in business affairs and in continual service for the town until the year 1788, when he was unable on account of sickness, to act as one of the committee in finishing the building of pews in the meeting-house. July 2d., 1788:

"the town met and chose Thomas Clark in lieu of Lt. Spaulding who is unable to act."

He deeded his farm to his son, Josiah, June 3, 1778. He also, deeded fifty acres to his son, John, June 23, 1778.

In the deed to Josiah, provision was made for Margaret, wife of Captain Spaulding; also, for Mrs. Betsey Stevens, Mrs. Sarah Wilder, Mrs. Anna Laughton, and Olive Spaulding, his daughter. He was then near his end with consumption.

Although the children of Lt. Spaulding, especially the sons, became large, muscular persons, all but one or two, died under 40 years of age of consumption, and their sickness was brief.

It is related by those who remember the circumstance; after six or seven of the family had died of consumption, another daughter was taken, it was supposed, with the same disease. It was thought she would die, and much was said in regard to so many of the family's dying of consumption when they all seemed to have the appearance of good health and long life. Among the superstitions of those days, we find it was said that a vine or root of some kind grew from coffin to coffin, of those of one family, who died of consumption, and were buried side by side; and when the growing vine had reached the coffin of the last one buried, another one of the family would die; the only way to destroy the influence or effect, was to break the vine; take up the body of the last one buried and burn the vitals, which would be an effectual remedy: Accordingly, the body of the last one, buried was dug up and the vitals taken out and burned, and the daughter, it is affirmed, got well and lived many years. The act, doubtless, raised her mind from a state of despondency to hopefullness.

"Hall's History of Eastern Vermont" gives us much of the following information In a sermon preached (Preached at Putney. See Putney, this vol.) by Rev. E. D. Andrews, on Fast day, 1825, he states that Leonard Spaulding in 1768, lived near where B. Reynold's resided in 1825. At the June term of the Inferior Court of Common Pleas in 1771, one Jonas Moore of Putney recovered judgment against Leonard Spaulding, of the same place, to the amount of forty pounds, including costs. A fieri facias having issued to satisfy the judgement the sheriff by his deputy seized some of Spaulding's effects and placed them in the charge of Moore, who was to keep them at his house until the day appointed by the sheriff for the sale.

Meantime, the 27th of Jan. 1772, seventy or eighty men crossed from New Hampshire over Connecticut river and going in the evening to the house where the goods were deposited, broke open the door, seized upon and carried them away, and insulted Moore's family at the same time, "various ways."

This affair was owing to the enmity which existed between the supporters of the jurisdiction of New York and the favorers of the jurisdiction of New Hampshire. (For account of his imprisonment at Westminster. see record report by the town clerk.)

In 1776, the "Committee of Safety" cited the doughty old soldier of Dummerston to answer or "make suitable Confession to this Committee for his conduct in Taking Colonel Wells by military force; that mode of proceeding Being Contrary to the minds of this Committee, and also a Violation of a Certain Resolve, formerly passed by this Committee."

To this resolution is appended the following note: "Spaulding comply'd with the above Vote by making proper Confession, &c." Polite and valient, his apologies were ample, and the complaint was dismissed. This incident was copied front the records of the Committee of Safety for Cumberland County, July 25th, at which time Lieutenant Spaulding, a most patriotic citizen of Dummerston was a member. The committee noticed the matter in order to wipe out the disgrace which had been cast upon them by the unwarrented act of the fiery Dummerstonian. Jacob Laughton, who was a cotemporary with Dr. Harvey, says, Mr. Hall in his History, in a conversation with him in 1857, said Lt. Spaulding was a resolute man and that when he was committed to the jail at Westminster, it took three or four Yorkers to conquer him.




From the remnant of a journal kept by Lt. Spaulding in 1758, lately found among old papers in the posession of Mrs. Electa B. Bemis, his great-grand daughter.


Lieut. Curtis and Ensign Davice these officers was all Keld and several men beside that I do not Know.

the 21st day a party of our men went out to took up the Ded men that was not found they found four of our men Keld Nothing more

the 22d Nothing Remarkabel Straing (strange) I remaining week and Loo.

the 23d No news to be hold only mr. morrel was not abel to preach it being Sabeth day our men got mad and sed thay would go hom case thay Ded No good to the King or Cutry (Country)

the 24d. in the morning a number of sheep came to the fort and our men brought them en an almost every man got one towards night a cumpany of Rangers came from the Lake and a cannon was sent from the Lake to be Kept here

the 25d. orders came for our Regemmet to march to the Lake three hundred of Reglers came to stay and two hundred of provenshels

we struck our tents and moved to the Lake Left Cur'll (Col.) Cummings and several of our men in order.


the 26d. we petcht our tents what we had of them

the 27d. the Regements all droed (drawed) up on the Lines so as the General mit fue (view) them.

the 28d. News cam en in the Evening by a post from the half way broock that there was a bout thirty six teams and three wagons Cut of and About fiefty men to A skoit them to ye half way broock got With en two miles of ye s'd brook a bout four or five hundred Indians fel on them and toock al the tems and Keld and toock a bout 20 women and a bout 20 or 30 men

the 29d. there was orders from the general for al the men that Could not draw there charge was to fire off there peaces moses Sartwell Drawed his charge and only for flashing his gun ye Commodore bregade general a riding a Long his hors stated and he Emmeditedly contined him the s'd Sartwell and tryed by a court marshall Capt. fales presanted Leut. Bellard Lent. maikentosh Leut. Godfree Ensign farvel members ----- under examination the wetness cleared him Capt Daniel fletcher and Capt Jones was wetness and was confined to there tents for given Sartwell favors

the 30d. Capt jones was ordered to go on Comand for his punishment Down the Lake to the Narrows with the party of 12 hundred men

the 31d Capt Daniel fletcher was sot at Liberty a party of sixty men out of our Regement was ordered to go to ye half way broock

Aug 1d. Nothing RemarKabel in the evening I rec'd Sondery Letters for our companey one from Mr. Joseph Emerson to Capt. Thomas Lawrence I being Commander of the Companey I broke it open and Red it I found a word of coshon to Capt Lawrence

the 2d. Leut weson came in from the Narowers a number of teams cam en with prevesions

the 3d the teams went out Loaded with Chest of arms and Sick men was ordered to move over the hill we en campt and got very good tent for our selves but sum of the men had none and was forst to do as they could get sum bark

the 4d. Nothing Remarkable at night orders Came out for Con'll fetehs Regt. to march in the morning by four a Clock

the 5d Brother Josiah Spaulding in the morning toock his gun and went out in order to kill sum pigens and a coming en he fierd of his gun and the gard seeing him went and toock him and kep him under gard 2 ouers I went and got him oft a bout son down Reced a letter from my wife and one from mother to Josiah which Rejoyced me much at though it hed been a longe time on its pasaged it bore date June 23D

the 6d we drawed four days previsions in the four Noon in the after Noon I went to hear preaching

the 7d. Nothing straing only one of the Regelers was in Swiming and was Drowned and two men was found Ded a bout half a mile from the encampment judged to have ben keld by the moohokes who thay be Longed to it is not Known

the 8d. I went on gard 48 ours with one hundred men About son one our high about seventy teams Cam en brought sum flower some loded with setlers stowers they brought en ten six pounders in order to put on bord the fesel

the 9d. the teams went a way and carred towards a hundred sick men. a party of men that went out five days ago Came en and brought in a french man that they toock

the 10d. I came of from gard and Nues came on from maj'r Rogers that he had a fight and had got a bout 50 skelps and 2 presners and he lost about 20 men about 30 wounded

the 11d. in the morning the whole army was Drawed up on the lines in order to find spies if there was any in the Camp but none found. the genral went Round to see the men. a party of teams Came en at night by Candel Lite. i went ye Con' ll tent and a Number of officers was in there and got In a frollick and put Leut. weson en capt and henry woods Ensign and settled the Company

the 12d. Nothing straing or Remarkabel

the 13d. Mager Rogers came en from fort Edward and a bout 90 teams Came en Loded with prevensions

the 14d. the teams went a way. mager Rogers went out a gain with a bout seven hundred men to the south Bay on the eight day of this month. mager Rogers and mager putman being at the south Bay with 700 men. major Rogers took 400 men and went over to wood Creek. after he was gon one of putmans men went out about 10 rods from the rest of the Cumpany out on an old Logg a tring to Catch sum fish and wile he was there he hearing a Noise he Loock he see a bark cannoo with two, Indians a running from him. he went and told the maj'r. he then found that he was discovered. he thought proper to Remove to the Rest of the party. he sot out for wood creek got a bout half way met ten of maj'r Rogers men a coming to him for maj'r Rogers and his party was discovered by a party of french and Indians in a boat in wood creek and when mager Rogers and putman came togather thay thot proper to march home wards to wards fort Edward. thay marcht to fort and Loged in the morning maj'r Rogers and one of the Reglers Capts got into a banter a bout shouting marks shot a bout five or six guns. there being a party of french and Indians on there march to waylay the Rods (roads) between fort Edward and the half way brook thay sed there was mager Rogers a killing pegings. thay went and waylaid him. mager putman led the party of marcht a bout a mile. the enemy enemy haveing plast themselves in an ambush fired upon them. they Rusht on the frunt of our men and kild sum. they took mager putman and sum more and carred them to ticontoro (Ticonderoga) for mager putman Rote a leter and sent it by a flag of truce that came in from the french our men got 50 skelps and two presners and brot them to fort Edward

the 16d. I was ordered on gard_________

the 27 Day a bout midnight Leut. Joseph farvel Departed this Life. ye next morning he was buried. I went and borrod sum bords to make a Corfing for him. promised to pay them a gain

the 28th day in the morning A post Cam in to the genral with a packet that Cap briton was taken the whole army was Drawed up on the Lines 21 cannon fired at a time 3 times going and the small arms 3 times Rond a peace

September the 9d. Campt at Lake George A skout a going to the half way broock to gard teams up got a bout four miles Down the commanding officer of the party sent one sarg't and four Privets as a front gard they being sum ways a head Not less than half a mile from the party the party Consisted of a bout 300 men the Indians way Laid the Rodes and Shot at these five men and Kield the sargt ded on the spot and wounded one more he mad his skept [escape] and all but the sargt They skelped him and got of I had the command of the Quarter gard

the 10d. I came of the Quarter gard

the 12d. Joshuay fletcher Died at the Half way broock with the Camp feaver

the 15th Leut Joseph fasset Departed this Life he died a bout 12 or 1 oclock at Night I bought Ninety one pound of Cheas and gave seven pound and seven shilling Lawfull, money for it and I Let the men belonging to the company have it at one shilling and six pence A pound.

Sept the 29 Leonard parker Departed this Life a bout 4 A clock in the morning - John Read Departed this Life a bout the same time

"Oct. ye 1, 1758." Under this date the journal contains several items charged in acct. against the following persons

Capt powers, mr David powers, Timothy Northan and Mr Dennes.

Oct. the 2d I Reced five Letters from westford (Conn.) one from my Best friend which Plesed me the Best of any thing for a Long time one for Benj'm Nutting one for farmer one for hartwell one for Joseph Boyton

Oct. the 3d. I went on the main gard with forty men of the prevenshels & one capt from the Reglers and thirty men with him one sarg't and one Corp'l each

Oct. 7d. I went Down to the Lake in a whale bote with Leut whitney to the Narrows to the sloop Halifax and tarred al Night and fine doings we had A good super of biled Bass and buter and Venneger with it the Nex morning went ashore and got Red Seder and went on a Island to splet it out we on loded and Leut whitney and I was en vited to go a Bord to Bruxfast which we went and had Kofee and tee in the morning we went to the Island and shot at marks A bout 12 oclock we set of for hom the wend being very high against is we toock on shore and so got in Day lite it is a bout Eghttee (80) miles Down to the Narrows

Oct the 12 then took a true Copy of the orders given at olbony (Albany) the 14 (th) general orders. Dated at olbony May 14d 1758 Rec'd at fort Edward May 19 - all officers what ever from the time of there taken the field untill the Day of there Entring into winter quarters are to have only one Ration of Provisions pr Day for which they are to draw for them selves and servents and the orders of November 26, 1757 or the Allowance 4 day Ration. Rations in Lieu of provisions to be suspended

Oct. 14th Regimental Rader lays centers

It is ordered that Leonard Spaulding Be first Leut. in the Company of Capt Ephram weson and Henery woods second Leut. and Oliver Parker Ensign and .Jonas Stratton to be first Leut. and John Dunlap 2d Leut. & David fletcher Ensign in the Companey under the Command of Capt John Clapham and Thos. hovey to be ensign under the command of Capt. Asa foster & thay are to be obaid as such al so ordered that each capt or Commanding officers of Each cumpany in my Regt Emeadiately send in to me an a count of all the arms that are lost or Damnifide in there Respective Companeys making a Distinshon Between there own & those which thay Rec'd out of the kings Stores in order to be Laid Before his Excelency the genral. Ebenezer Nickols Coll'o

Oct. 16. there came en 104 ox teams and the Next morning thay all Loded Cannon and carved of all the cannon and morters and Sum shels at Night there came en a bout one Hundred wagons thay was all fext and Loded by morning with Battoos a bout 90 battoos in all

the 17d the teams Returned from fort Edward

the 19 thay went a way Loeded with ball and shels also one Hundred and forty wagons with Battoos Came en at Night a gain the sloop being at Anker she was ordered to on Rig herself

the 20d She was Brought a long side the wharf and her cannon all on Loded hir Sals taken of in order to be Sonk in the Lake

Lake George _________ 1758 there Came orders that all the Coll'os (colonels) should met and thay Did and Consulted sum time and found many sick in the Camps and the Next was to see the Likelest way to help the Lord a way out of the world with them sum thought (one way) and Sum A nother but on the whole thay thought it Best to put out all the fires and so give them a freas. I think it is as Damnable an Action as they have Don since I came from home At night there came in a bout 100 ox teams Loded with Powder and Cattreges

Oct. 23 con'll Nicholls was ordered to take 11 battoos and march to fort Edward take them to olbony wher on we tok five in the Regment foure got Down


Sept. 12, 1758 Samuel Keep came up to see his brother Jabe Keep he went a way and I sent one Ruffled shirt and one shirt not Ruffled and one pare of Nue brown gloves and two holon caps and old silk handkerchief I delevered these things to him to carray home to his home so I mite have them when we went home so my pack mite be sum Liter

Oct. 14, 1758 I had of Mr. Northon one pint of clone water Stephen Kemp Departed this Life about Eight o clock in the morning.

Oct. 17 I had five mugs of flip and two Cabeges heeds and one pound of Coffe.

Nearly one half the journal was used to keep accounts with the soldiers and from the kind of articles sold to them it is inferred that Lt. Spaulding sold sutler's stores. From these pages the following names of soldiers have been selected and may be valuable for reference:

Joseph Hartwell, Daniel Duglas, Jonathan Sheple, Leonard Parker, Oliver Parker, Silas Kent, Natha'n Lakin, Joseph Page, Nathaniel Parker, Thomas Scott, John Chamberlen, Benj. Nuttlng, Daniel Gllson, Moses Goold, David Shattuck, Stephen Foster, Zachariah Willis.

"Sept. 7d. 1758. Benjamin Farmer bought one powder horn one Inkhorn and one tump line belonging to Leut. Farvel that Died."

Many charges are made for "muton" "chas" and "Rumb".

The "tump line" was used during the time of battle by the Indians and the white men for the purpose of hauling dead bodies, or helpless wounded men from the scene of carnage. When officers or soldiers were seen to fall in battle, some soldier friend would creep up to the wounded or dead person, attach the "tump line" and by adroit movements haul the body away unobserved by the enemy. From June 17, 1758, to Sept. 9, many words used for "Parole" are recorded among which are Gage, Nichols, Whitehall, Monmouth, and Catarockquea.


An Inventory of the Effects of Samuel Spaulding Deceased Late Soldier in Capt. Butterfield's Companey in Col'o. Ruggles Regt. Lawfull money.


1 gun 0£-18s-0d.

1 Pare of Indians stockens 0 - 3 -0

2 Pare of Stockins 0 - 4 -0

1 Pare of Bretches 0 - 1 -6

2 Haversacks 0 - 1 -6

1 Pare shoues 0 - 2 -0

1 Powder Horn & Bullet Pouch 0 - 0 -6

1 Tump line & Bottel 0 - 1 -0

1 Shirt 0 - 4 -0


1 - 15 -6


Leonard Whitney

Joseph Boynton

John Darnham


Aug. 10, 1760. then Rec'd a Leter from my wife whetch Plesed me well and al is well but no date to the Leter.



Words of command for the exercise of foot (soldiers ) armed with fire Locks

1. Joyn your right hand to your firelock

2 Poise your firelocks

3 Rest " "

4 Cock " "

5- Present.

6 fire.

7 Recover your arms.

8 Half cock " "

9 Handel your primers.

10 Prime

11 Shut your pans.

12 Cast about to Charge.

13 Handel your Carthridge

14 Open " "

15 Charge with "

16 Draw your rammers.

17 Shorten " "

18 Put them in the barrels.

19 Ram down your Carthrdge.

20 Hithdraw your rammer.

21 Shorten " "

22 Return

23 Cast off your firelocks.

24 Your right hand under the locks.

25 Poise your firelocks.

26 Shoulder " "

27 Rest " "

28 Order " "

29 Ground " "

30 Take up " " "

31 Rest " "

32 Club " "

33 Rest " "

34 Secure " "

35 Shoulder " "


1. A call 2. A Troop. 3. A March. 4. A preparative. 5. A Battail. 3 A Retreat.

Lt. Spaulding omits the bayonet exercise but gives the following exercise: To the Right, Close your files. March. Halt.


Rear half files, to the Right. Double your front. March. Half files to the Left. As you were. March. Halt. Rear halt files. to the left. Double your front. March. Halt. Half files. to the Right. As you were. March. Halt. Front half files to the Right. About. Double your rear. March. Halt. Front half files. As you were. March.

Front half files. to the left. Double your rear. March. Halt. Front half files. As you were. March. Files to the right Double. March. Halt. To the left. As you were. March. Files to the left. Double. March, Halt. To the right: As you were. March. Halt. Half ranks, to the right. Double your files. March. Halt. To the left. As you were. March. Halt. Half ranks to the left. Double your files. March. Halt. To the right As you were. March. Halt.

Lt. Spaulding's old account book, that has been preserved with his journal, contains many accounts with citizens in Putney and Dummerston. The charges in Putney begin in Mar. 1766, and end in 1771. In 1770, he makes the following entry:

"To serving and returning a ret (writ) on Ben Hutchens before Judge Lord, and to service on said Hutchens before Judg Wells."

The book shows that he did business a part of the year, 1772, in Westmoreland, N.H., on a farm which he bought of Abner Howe. The earliest date for this town, then called Fullam, Jan. 6, 1773. The name does not change until 1775, to Dummerston.

"Dummerston, June 27, 1776. For my time and Expenses a going to old hadle (Hadley) for a minister, time and expenses and hors 15 shillings."

"To bringing the powder from Westminster £.. 0 - 4 -6

" To bringing the Lead from Capt. Clays 190 wait £.. 0- 3 - 6

"Sept. 23 1776, an a Count of what time I spent a waiting on the convention for a Nue State I sot out for Dorset ye 23. of Sept. and Returned hom the 2d. of october. my expenses for that journey are as follows viz:

at Westminster £. - 0 .- 0 - 6

at Rockingham £. - 0 - 1 - 10

at Chester £. - 0 - 0 - 3

at Brumle £. - 0 - 2 - 10

at Dorset £. - 0- 10- 4

at Manchester £. - 0 - 1 - 10

at Col. Bronsons £. - 0 -- 0 - 10

at Bennington three nights and two days a

waiting for copies of ye Convention 0 - 4 - 8

on my way hom 0- 3 - 9

and my hors the same time 1 - 6 - 10

my expenses at Westminster the third

wednesday of janery 1777 four days 0 - 9- 3

I went to Guilford to carre the papers to Coll Carpenter that Cam from Dorset in order for rasing money for Con'll warner 0 - 3 - 6

Feb. 17, 1777. to going to Westminster to carre a letter to Dorset by order of the commitee.

Henry Steens Dr. to Leonard Spaulding.

Feb. 1781. To one flat iron in paper Dollars ( continental ) $ 75.00

Mar. 26 To two pound Coton wool at 30 dolers

per, pound $ 60.00

Apr. 16 „ one quart of rum. $ 26.00

" " " one kake chocalet $ 10.00

" " " half a pound of Coffe 5 8. 00

No date " one bushel of rye $ 50

" " one quart rum $ 26 00
Creded febuary 1781, by 1000 Continental dolers with sixpence, old tener, each doller

[Of the papers contributed by Mr. Mansfield we shall next give what biographical account he has been able to gather of the fourteen men who signed the notification calling for the first town meeting, commencing with Ebenezer Haven, and Enoch Cook, the first town clerk, chosen that day, and such other citizens of Dummerston as were named in that report, - the Kathan's and Lieut. Spaulding, having been previously given. ED.]



Ebenezer Haven, lived in Hopkinton, Mass., in 1754, and was at that time 24 years of age. He removed to Oxford with his family in 1757 or '58, thence to Sutton, and in 1770, to Dummerston, and was one of the signers on the first call or a meeting to organize the town in 1771. He reached the age of 79 years and his wife, 70. He was probably a brother of Deacon Moses Haven, of Hopkinton, who was born in 1732, and m. in 1750. He was the son of Joseph, b. in 1689, who was a ruling Elder in Hopkinton, in 1731, and afterwards. The father of Joseph was Moses, a deacon in Hopkinton, but b. in Lynn in 1667, whose father was Richard, who came from England and settled in Lynn, in 1645, where, in 1692, he then living, it was "voted, that Sergeant Haven should sit in the Pulpit." Samuel Haven, son of Moses, b, Dec. 9, 1751, removed from Hopkinton to Shrewsbury, Mass. in 1800, and from the history of that town, we ascertained the information given above.

Ebenezer and Abigail Haven were the ancestors of the Haven families, in this town. He was a blacksmith and was doubtless the first man working at that trade in Dummerston. He bought lot No. 14 of the original proprietors, June 26, 1770, and the farm is now owned by his great grandson, Orrin Haven, having been kept in the family name since it was first settled.

The children of Ebenezer and Abigail Haven were:

Abigail, b. in Hopkinton, Oct. 26, 1754, m. 1st, Thomas Boyden; had two children that died young; 2d, Marshall Miller, Nov. 17, 1778, died Jan. 26, 1829.

Nathaniel, born Nov. 8, 1756, m. Mrs. Eunice Farr, widow of William Farr, of Chesterfield, N.H., May 6, 1779.

Anna, b. Sept. 29, 1758, m. Arad Holton about 1776; d. in Feb. 1787.

Joseph, b. Apr. 3, 1761, m, Pamelia Houghton, Mar. 12, 1789.

Abel, born May 20, 1763, m. Rachel French.

Relief, b. Mar. 26, 1765, m. Elijah Brown.

Sarah, b. May 3, 1769, remained single through life.

David, born Apr. 3. 1770, m., 1st. Abigail Haven, his cousin, from Brooklyn Ct.; 2d, Olive Goodell, of Westminister.

Polly, b. Feb. 1773, the youngest of the family, m. June 5, 1796, Evans Reed, of Putney.

The children of Joseph and Pamelia Haven were Amelia, m. Wilson Bennett, Jan. 1814; Polly, m. Amasa Houghton of Putney, Oct. 31, 1812; Rebecca; Sarah; Lydia, m. Philip Allyn, Feb. 26, 1829.; Tamar and Sylvanus.

Joseph Haven and family removed to Truxton, N.Y.

The children of Abel and Rachel Haven: Fanny, b. Apr. 18, 1783, m. Daniel Kathan, Jr., Oct. 23, 1800;

Lydia m. Rodolphus Scott, of Cheserfield, N.H.; Ira m. Jemima Ward; Jairus m. Arathusa Herrick, of Chesterfield, N.H.; Chester m. Lydia, dau. of Marshall Miller and after his death, Nov. 11, 1814, She m. 2d. Reuben Walker; Louisa m. George Anson Miller; Otis m. Frances Bradbury, of Vergennes; Abel m. Maria Miller, May 18, 1820.

The children of Ira and Jemima Haven;

Dana M. m. Lois Buck, of Lake George. N.Y.;

Nancy died young; Susan m. Asa Lawton;

Eliza m. J. E. Worden; Rachel, unmarried;

Lucy died young; Ira Osman m. Alvira Ford;

Louisa m. George B. Newton, of Royalston Mass.;

Fanny died young; Julia m. Wm. O Miller; Frances married H. Harry Miller.

The children of David and Abigail Haven:

Abigail m. 1st, Thos. Kathan, Sept. 17, 1829, 2d, Benjamin Streeter; 3d, Leonard Maxwell;

Square m. Sophia Carpenter, of Westminster;

Relief B. m. Horace T. Moore, of Putney, Oct. 6. 1825;

William, unmarried.

Square Haven married Sophia Carpenter, of Westminster. Their children were:

Alvira m. Lorenzo Field, of Putney;

Minerva m. J. L. Maxwell;

Orrin, unmarried.

David Haven, a brother of Abel, died in 1865, aged 94 years, 6 months. Jairus born in Dummerston, was the fourth child of a family of whom Deacon Abel Haven was the youngest; Dea. Abel died on the farm now owned by his son, Joel M. Haven of Rutland. This farm was the only one in town on which good corn was raised in the cold summer of 1816. "Uncle" Jairus did the farm work that year and was in his old age quite fond of relating the particulars of his raising corn when so many failed to secure a crop. His life-work was farming, and he used a scythe in haying for nearly 80 years.

Abel Haven, born Jan. 1, 1799, died Apr. 20, 1864. Maria, his wife, dau. of William and Hannah (Worden) Miller and grand-daughter of Capt. Isaac Miller, died Jan. 29, 1873. Dea. Haven - deacon of the Congregational church in this town many years - and his wife were good members of the church and very helpful in society, and were much esteemed. Their portraits were donated for this publication by their son, Dea. Joel M. Haven, of Rutland, who was born in Dummerston on the old Haven farm and was a farmer boy until the time when he became a clerk for Foster Wheeler, of Putney. Afterwards he went to Brattleboro and was clerk for A. E. Dwinell, then bookkeeper and confidential clerk for Calvin Townsley until Townsley's store was burned. He then went West and engaged in farming; but was not successful and returned to Brattleboro where he went into the dry goods trade with his brother-in-law, H. C. Fisher. The firm established a branch store at Rutland, of which he became the manager. Some years afterward he became treasurer of the Rutland R. R. company and has held that position many years. He engaged in various enterprises, chief among them being the purchase of the Bates House, making it one of the best hotels in the State and running it as a temperance house. His wife was Maria Dickerman, of Brattleboro, who became a prominent worker in the temperance cause throughout the State. Maria, his sister, married William Fuller, of Brooklyn, Ohio, and Caroline, the other sister, married Henry C. Fisher.


The earliest ancestor of whom there is any authentic record, is Thomas Davenport, of Dorchester, Mass., whose name first appears on any of its records as member of its church, Nov. 20, 1640; his wife, Mary, joining, Mar. 8, 1644. She died Oct. 4, 1691. He was made freeman, May 18, 1642, and constable, 1670. He probably lived on the eastern slope of Mt. Bowdoin, near the corner of Bowdoin Street and Union Avenue. He bought the house and lands of William Pigrom, Nov. 25, 1653, and William Blake, Feb. 5, 1665. He made his will, July 24, 1683, "being aged," leaving the homestead to his youngest son, John, after his widow's death. He died Nov. 9, 1685. His inventory of property amounted to £332, 16s, 8d. He had nine children. The fourth child was Charles, baptised, Sept. 7, 1652, in Dorchester, where he died, Feb. 1, 1720. He married Waitstill, dau. of Quartermaster John and Katharine Smith of Dorchester, Jan. 11, 1659, who died Aug. 9, 1747.

Charles Davenport was ensign, and held many town offices. He was selectman most of the time from 1700 to 1714. His homestead on Washington Street was on the south side of Mt. Bowdoin. His inventory amounted to £2700. - There were 9 children in his family. The eighth child was Charles, b. in Dorchester, Feb. 15, 1700, m. May 31, 1722, Jemima, dau. of Thomas and Experience Tolman of Dorchester. He inherited the homestead by his father's will. His wife, Jemima, died Feb. 17, 1735. He sold off the homestead and removed to Worcester, Mass., where he had four children by a wife, Joanna. His first five children were born in Dorchester, the others in Worcester. He had 10 children.

The 4th child was Charles, the subject of this sketch, and great grandson of Thomas. He was born Mar. 5, 1730; married Apr. 16, 1755, at Worcester, Mary Hart, born Mar. 7, 1734, who died June 22, 1830, aged 96. He died in Dummerston, Apr. 25, 1805. She married 2d, Alexander Kathan. Descendants of Charles Davenport are now living in this town, Newfane and Chesterfield, N.H.


was one of the first settlers in this town and signed the first call for a meeting of settlers. In 1774 he lived on the "green" as it was called in the town records. The exasperated citizens met at his house, Oct. 29 of that year, and chose a committee who released Lieut. Leonard Spaulding from confinement in the jail at Westminster. He moved a few years after down on to the plain near Isaac Miller's and, for many years since, the home of John Stearns. A large apple-tree is now standing near the house that was set out by Mr. Davenport more than one hundred years ago. The tree measures 12 feet 6 in. in circumference and is probably one of the largest and oldest apple-trees now standing in the county, if not in the State.

The children of Charles and Mary (Hart) Davenport were:

Elizabeth, b. Feb. 5, 1756, m. Fairbanks Moore, residence in Canada;

Mary, b. Oct. 12, 1757, m. John Miller;

Jemima, b. May 16, 1759, m. Joseph Gilbert, a soldier of the Revolution, a resident of Dummerston for a time and later in Hadley, N.Y.;

Charles, b. May 4, 1761; m. Polly Wood;

James Hart, b. Dec. 29, 1763, died Nov. 25, 1780;

Thomas and Catherine, twins, b. July 10, 1766. The son died the day of his birth. Catherine m. Benjamin Alvord of Dummerston, d. in Boston with her daughter, Mrs. Jesse Maynard, May 20, 1856, aged 90 years.

John, b. Feb. 22, 1769; Sally, born July 2, 1771, m. Stephen Cummings;

Susanna, b. Nov. 12, 1774, died Feb. 27, 1796. The first five children were born in Worcester, Mass., and the others in Dummerston.

Halls History of Eastern Vermont, states, Charles Davenport, a skillful carpenter from the patriotic little village of Dummerston, was the man who replied to a threatening speech informing the rioters that they "should be in h-ll before morning," and who said that if the sheriff should offer to take possession of the Court-house, the Whigs would send him and his men to the same place in fifteen minutes." [See previous paper from the town clerk]. The twin children, Thomas and Catherine, were doubtless the first twin children born in town, but evidently, not the first births. According to the family record, Mr. Davenport moved to town between the years 1763 and 1766. He taught the first school in town.


the first Town Clerk, died Feb. 4, 1797, AE 74 yrs. His wife, Lucy, died Aug. 17, 1806, AE 82. His son, Enoch Cook, jr., died Aug. 15, 1838, AE 76. Anna, his wife died, Feb. 12, 1851, AE 83 yrs. Sarah, his sister, wife of Samuel Negus, died Jan. 9, 1834, AE 83. William, his son, died Aug. 26, 1861, AE 60. Anna H. Gates, his wife, died Sept. 26, 1861, AE 57 years.

Mr. Cook was probably born in Worcester, Mass., where his brother, Robert of Newfane, was born in 1730. His sons, so far as known, were Enoch, jr., Nathan and Solomon.

Nathan mar. Levinah Parmenter. Children: Polly, b. Jan. 27, 1789; Caty, b. Aug. 20, 1791. His wife died Apr. 8, 1792, aged 38. He mar. 2d, Susanna Davenport, Oct. 6, 1805.

The children of Enoch, jr., and his wife Anna, were:

Betsey, b. Mar. 2, 1793, m. Royal Miller;

Lucy, b. Mar. 17, 1795,m. Moses Clark, June 10, 1816;

Polly, b. Mar. 9, 1797, m. Densel D. Rand, of Townsend, November 24, 1819;

Katherine, b. Feb. 16, 1799, married Wm. A. Bartlett, of Newfane, June 19, 1826;

William, b. Apr. 18, 1801, m. Anna H. Gates;

John, b. June 19, 1803, died 1805;

Cyrus, b. Oct. 29, 1807; student of languages in Brattleboro academy; d. Sept. 8, 1826.

Children of William and Anna were:

Enoch G., b. born Apr. 13, 1826, m. Jane, dau. of John Clark;

Mary Ann, born Sept. 29, 1828, m. James Miller, May 22, 1848;

Lucy Rosella, b. Oct. 19, 1831, m. Martin W. Gates;

Wm. Wallace, b. Mar. 21. 1834, m. Electa Whitney;

Cyrus, born July 23, 1836; m. __ Pettis;

Martha E., b. Oct. 6, 1838, m. J. R. Nourse.


who signed the settler's call for the first town meeting in 1771, bought land of the proprietors in 1770, and settled on lot No. 23, east of Slab Hollow. He was a resident of Chesterfield, N.H., for a time, but returned to Dummerston before 1787. He married 1st, Zerviah ____; children.

John, b. Mar. 10, 1772, married Hephzibah Pierce, Feb. 14, 1799;

Richard, b. July 2, 1773, m. Bedee Baldwin, Dec. 1, 1796;

Robert, b. Dec. 13, 1774, __ wife's name not recorded. Children

Robert, jr., b. May 9, 1796; Olive, b. Sept. 26, 1799;

Andrew, b. May 2, 1801;

Caty, b. July 1, 1803;

Betsey, b. July 2 1805, died 1807;

Sophia, b. Apr. 26, 1807. No record of John Kilbury Jr.'s children.

Richard and Bedee's children:

Zerviah, b. May 28, 1797; Thomas, b. July 16, 1798; Richard, b. Feb. 3, 1800; Polly, b. Feb. 20, 1802; Dexter, b. July 29, 1804; Asa Gates, b. June 25, 1806; Denison, born Oct. 13, 1808, drowned in childhood; Laura, b. Sept. 2, 1810; Orrevilla, b. Dec. 29, 1813.

John, sen. m. 2d, Dorcas ___, who lived to he very aged



signed the notification for the first town meeting in 1771. A town meeting was held at his house, May 19, 1772. He was chosen, at that time, with Isaac Miller and Cyrus Houghton, commissioners of highways. No further record of him. His name disappears from the records after 1772. I wrote for further information concerning Samuel Wiswall, but did not get it.



was one of the five persons, including Solomon Harvey, John Butler, Daniel Gates, Jonathan Knight, forming a committee, who released Lt. Spaulding from confinement in the jail, Nov. 8, 1774. [See pages 10 and 27].

Josiah Boyden, sen., came from Framingham, Mass., to this town, soon after the close of the Revolutionary war, and settled on the farm where Timothy Brown now lives. His wife died before he came. He had a large family. In a few years he removed from Dummerston with Jonathan, his son, and two or three other children, to the interior of Vermont, leaving here Josiah, jr., Isaac, Thomas, Nathaniel, and three daughters. The sons settled near where their father had lived. Thomas located in the lot west of the Haven farms. Josiah, jr., married Lydia Whitney, of Petersham, Mass., birth-place, Watertown, and settled north of Canoe brook, but afterwards removed to a farm since known as the Henry Cressey place; thence to a place south of the Hollow, on the west side of the road at the top of the hill. He bought the grist-mill, since owned by Joseph Dix, which was probably the first one built in town. He was major in the Revolutionary war.

His father, sometimes called "Col. Si," was in the French and Indian war. Isaac, brother of Josiah, Jr., was born Jan. 1, 1750. His birthplace and his mother's maiden name are unknown. He married Elizabeth Laughton, born Mar. 25, 1750, and settled south of Canoe brook in what has been called the Knight pasture and since owned by Willard Dodge. Red rose bushes are still growing on the old house-spot in the pasture west of Edward Chappell's residence. His brother, Thomas, married Abigail Haven and had two children who died in childhood.

Isaac, who married Elizabeth Laughton, had two sons: Thomas, b. Mar. 6, 1783, and Isaac Jr., b. July 13, 1785.

After Thomas became of age, he spent a few years in a store at Putney. He married Margaret Laughton, and lived on the paternal farm, taking care of his parents and an aged grandmother. During the winter season he taught school. He did much town business and was chosen to the state legislature several times.

Isaac, his brother, studied medicine with Dr. Abel Duncan, and closed his studies with Dr. Alexander Campbell, of Putney. He married, May 7, 1809, Phebe Perry, of Putney, born Feb. 5, 1784, and removed to Windham, where he practiced medicine. Children:

Phebe P., b. Feb. 3, 1810, married 1st, Beman Bemis, 2d, Amasa Clark;

Lurancy, b. Nov. 23, 1814, d, 1815;

Isaac and Mary, twins, b. July 3, 1821; Isaac m. Fanny Wheeler, Mary m. Chester Denison. Both daughters went West and are still living.

Dr. Isaac returned with his family to Dummerston and lived with his uncle, Major Josiah, and caring in part for him, as he was helpless from the effects of palsy. He was thus afflicted 4 years before he died. He and his wife were buried in the yard east of the Hollow, beside the graves of Thomas and Nathaniel Boyden.

Nathaniel, b. Sept. 1730; was never married; died 1801.

Major Josiah, jr., was born Feb. 15, 1744; never had any children; died Jan. 4, 1818, AE 74, and Lydia, his wife Jan. 28, 1839, AE 91 years.


a nephew of Col. Wm. Boyden, born Mar. 4, 1777, and died Oct. 11, 1848, AE 71. Martha Minot, his wife, born Mar. 28, 1785, died Oct. 11, 1856, AE 71. It is a somewhat remarkable incident that each were born in the same month in different years, died on the same day of the same month, in different years; but were each 71 years of age at the time of their death. Asa Boyden when quite young, went to live with his uncle, Col. Wm. Boyden, who had no children. He made Asa his heir, who always lived with his uncle William and took care of him and his wife in their old age.

Jonathan Boyden, jr., married Ruth Jefferson, Mar. 14, 1787.

Capt. Asa had a brother, Alvin, who lived in Newfane.

Jazeb Butler, married Deliverance Whitney. She was sister of Lydia, the wife of Josiah Boyden, ,jr. Butler lived near where James Reed now owns, north of the brook on the west side of the road. He removed thence to the old tavern where Nelson Willard now lives.

The children of Thomas and Margaret (Laughton) Boyden were:

Betsey, b. Aug. 13, 1811, m. Church Miller; Anna, b. Dec. 23, 1812, died Oct. 10, 1823; Electa, b. Oct. 11, 1817, m. Bradley Bemis; Margaret married Arba Spaulding.

In 1814, Thomas Boyden bought of his uncle Josiah, jr., his mill and farm, giving him and his wife a life-lease on the place, as the old gentleman was helpless at that time. After his death, about 1819, his widow, Lydia (Whitney) Boyden, married Cornelius Jones, of Chesterfield, N.H., who died in Nov. 1823. She died at her nephew's, Henry Whitney, in Putney, Jan. 1839, AE about 92.

Judith, a sister of Josiah, jr., married Sylvanus Ballad. He built what is now, 1883, the west room of the house in which Job Knight lives. About 1792, he sold his place to Isaac Boyden, and removed to Chesterfield, N.H., where his wife, Judith, died July 4, 1806, in her 75th year. They had several sons and a daughter, Elizabeth, who married 1790, John Day of Chesterfield. A sister of Judith Boyden married Mr. Pike and lived in Stratton. She was his second wife and had no children. The Dummerston records state that Lucy Boyden was married to John Butler, Oct. 16, 1788, and that Samuel Atwood married Hanna Boyden, Nov. 17, 1788.


was a soldier in the French and Indian war. On one occasion, he was with a company of soldiers sent to rescue a little village in the eastern part of Mass., from an attack by the Indians, who were burning the dwellings and killing the inhabitants. The soldiers discharged their guns at the Indians, killing several of them. The Indians then, with a savage yell, turned upon the soldiers with their tomahawks. A stalwart Indian with his weapon of death raised above his head, started for Boyden, who was a man of superior strength, above medium size, quick and bold in the presence of danger. He turned his gun, struck the Indian a blow that knocked him down, snatched the tomahawk from his hand, and sunk it deep into his head, thus dispatching his enemy in an instant.

His son, Isaac Boyden, served in the Revolutionary war, a little more than one year. Josiah, Sen., was a blacksmith; and in the fall after he settled in Dummerston, he built a log-shop, burned a coal pit, and began work at his trade.

One of his arms was somewhat stiff from the effects of a wound in or near the shoulder, made by the tomahawk of an Indian. His shop stood on the west side of the brook that runs west of Timothy Brown's buildings. The site of the shop and old coal-pit near it may be seen at the present day.

The house in which Major Boyden lived when he bought the grist-mill at the Hollow, was afterward sold to Joseph Crosby and removed to its present location where Franklin Crosby now lives.

During the first year that Isaac and Elizabeth Boyden lived on their place south of Canoe brook, about 1782, Mrs. Boyden, one day, went to the spring, a few rods from the house, for a pail of water. When she returned in a few minutes, she found a large black bear in her room looking about to see what he could find. The bear had pushed open the door, which Mrs. Boyden had carelessly left unlatched, and entered the house. It was startled by her sudden appearance at the door; but she turned quickly and hurried around the outside of the house, thinking that the bear would follow her tracks. She judged rightly, for on making the circuit and reaching the door, she found the room vacated, dodged in and fastened the door against bruin. Looking out the window in a few minutes, she saw the bear going into the woods, and was happily relieved by her stratagem. Some of the clothing spun, wove, and made for her first child, Thomas, born Mar. 6, 1783, is in possession of her granddaughter, Mrs. Electa Boyden Bemis, having been kept one hundred years.

Thomas Boyden took the job of raising up the old meeting house in 1817, and putting beneath granite under-pinning. He hired Henry Houghton of this town, who married Sally Perry, sister of Dr. Isaac Boyden's wife to help him. Houghton was an excellent mechanic and had served 7 years in Montreal to learn his trade. He made the pulpit and some of the pews in front, in the old church. Mr. Boyden learned the art of surveying land and was a surveyor many years. After his death the compass and chain which he used were sold to Samuel Knight.


and wife, not having any children, took several orphan children to care for as their own. The first was his brother, Thomas's little girl, Lydia, a namesake of his wife. She died at the age of 3 years. Another child whom they took, was Jason Duncan, son of Daniel and Zurvilla Duncan. His father died in the Revolutionary war, leaving a wife and three young children. The boy was honest and faithful, and when he died at the age of 12 or 13 years, Mr. Boyden and wife mourned for him as for their own child. His mother died Oct. 30,

1812 aged 65. Her daughter, Zurvilla, m. Levi Goddard. The other daughter, Beulah, married her cousin, Jason Duncan and lived in Newfane. Mrs. Duncan was left without a home at the time of her husband's death. Isaac Boyden, Joseph Temple Jr., and others in that neighborhood, built for her, at their own expense, a small house which stood on the west side of the road south of the Isaac Reed place. She was aided by them still more in harvest time, each year, as long as she lived. Zurvilla, her daughter, learned to weave many different patterns of table-linen and bedspreads. Beulah, her sister, taught school several terms in that district.

Dorcas Haile was another child taken into the family of Major Boyden. Her mother died and left two little girls.

Her father lived west of the road not far from where Mrs. Joel Wheeler's buildings now stand. She m. Samuel Adams, Nov. 7, 1805, and several years afterward removed to Brookline.


"Arlington, 30th of Dec'r 1784.


In pursuance to an act of Assembly past Last october, ordering that all the property of Charles Phelps, which had been taken from him on account of his opposing the authority of this State and Not disposed of for the Benefit of the State, should be returned to him on Sartin Conditions, Which Conditions has been Complyed with on his Part, you, are therefore directed to Deliver to the s'd Charles Phelps His Sword, if you have the Same in your Hands, and the Same has not been sold or disposed of by authority for the Benefit of this State."

I am s'r your H'bl Serv't.



CHARLES PHELPS of Marlborough in the Co. of Windham.

He was highly esteemed for his integrity and judgment, in all business transactions. He was often chosen as the guardian of orphan children and to settle the estates of the deceased, which he did to the satisfaction of all concerned. The widow and the fatherless always found him the judicious adviser and the faithful friend.

For a man in the ordinary walks of life, he had also acquired an uncommon knowledge of the condition of the world and took a deep interest both in its political and moral state, and was especially interested in the African race, for which he thought others felt far too little, and his sympathies were decidedly in favor of the colonization movement.


was chosen overseer of the poor at the first town meeting in 1772, died Sept. 19, 1822, aged 76. Joanna, his wife, died Feb. 5, 1847, aged 92 years. His brother, Isaac, died June 9, 1813, aged 63. Elizabeth, his wife, died Feb. 8, 1834, aged 84. Thomas, son of Isaac was the husband of Margaret Boyden, who died Jan. 6. 1879, aged 91 years.


one of the fourteen signers for a settlers meeting, 1771, was chosen 2d constable at the first town meeting, in 1772. His wife's name was Silence. No record of their deaths. Their children were: Oliver, b. Nov. 1765; Hannah, born Dec. 1, 1767; Barzillai, born Mar. 8, 1770; Lydia, b. Mar. 14, 1772; Jezaniah, b. June 1, 1774; Reuben, b. Sept. 3, 1776; John, b. Dec. 8, 1778; Josiah, b. Sept, 23, 1781; It will be seen that Oliver Rice was born before the twin children of Charles Davenport; also Levi Robinson, son of Ezra and Sarah Robinson, was born Oct. 21, 1765. Hall, in his history relates two or three incidents of Barzillai Rice's experience as deputy sheriff in 1782.



One of the fourteen signers for a settlers' meeting in 1771, was chosen 1st. constable in 1772. He died Nov. 23, 1826, aged 86. His wife, Susanna, died June 1774, aged 37 years.

Their children's names on record are: John, b. Dec. 8, 1776: Sally, b. Sept. 1779; Rufus, b. Jan. 9, 1782; Susanna, b. Apr. 26, 1784. [see John Sargeant family papers, page 21]


was the son of Samuel Dutton, and married Rebecca French, sister of William French killed in the Westminster massacre, and Nathaniel. Asa and Joel were her brothers. He died Nov. 21, 1829, aged 87. Rebecca, his wife, died July 25, 1809, aged 60 years. Their children were:

Rhoda, b. Mar. 21, 1771, m. Peleg Winslow Feb. 16, 1794;

Samuel, b. Oct. 28, 1772, married Abigail Hodgskins of Dover, died Feb. 18, 1835;

David, b. July 25, 1774, died Oct. 1774;

William, b. Aug. 27,1775, d. Apr. 1791;

Betsey, b. Aug. 26, 1777, m. Stephen Woodbury Feb. 17, 1798, d. July 1837

Lucy, b. Jan. 29, 1781, married John Woodbury, died Dec. 25, 1825;

Rebecca, b. July 22, 1783, married Ithamar Chamberlain, June 15, 1863;

Sally, b. Sept. 26, 1785, m. Silas Whitcomb

Philinda, b. Nov. 9, 1791, m. Dr. Isaac N. Knapp, d. Jan. 15, 1835.

The ancestors of


a first settler in Dummerston, were residents of Billerica, Mass., where he was born, Oct. 15, 1718. He descended from Samuel Dutton 3, John 2, and Thomas 1. His parents were Samuel and Hannah (Hill) Dutton, married about 1713. Their eldest child, John, was born Oct. 18, 1715. She was a widow when married to Mr. Dutton. Her father was Joseph Walker.

Samuel of Dummerston, married in Bedford, Aug. 19, 1740, Martha Lane, b. in Billerica, Mar. 17, 1721. Their children, born in Bedford (formerly a part of Billerica), were Pattee, b. Apr. 10, 1742; Samuel, b. July 11, 1743; Hannah, b. Apr. 21, 1745; Seth, born Apr. 9, 1747; David; Stephen; and Asa, born 1759. No record of others.

The family came to Dummerston with four sons before 1770. David m. Polly Higgins, 1782; Stephen's wife is not named in the record; Asa m. Polly Tarble about 1783. He died Feb. 11, 1836, aged 76; Polly, his wife, died Apr. 22, 1827, aged 68. Their children were Polly, b. Oct. 23, 1785; Patty, b. Aug. 3, 1787; Susan, born June 8, 1789; Asa, b. May 13, 1791; Sibyl, b. Jan. 4, 1793: Sally, born Mar. 2, 1796; Lucy, b. Dec. 17, 1797; Stephen, b. June 24, 1801. Asa Dutton 2d died Mar. 23, 1868, aged 76 yrs. the same age as his father when he died. Mary, his wife, died Dee. 4, 1864.

Samuel and Martha Dutton settled on lot No. 74, now the well-known Rice farm, which he sold in 1777, with improvements, to Ephraim Rice for $500, and in the same year, bought of Jonathan Knight lot No. 49, where he remained, during life. He was living in 1802, and his wife, Martha, in 1786 when the farm was deeded in equal shares to Asa and Stephen.

Samuel Jr. bought of proprietors in 1770, lot No. 122 (in the Hague). He sold it in 1782, and purchased lot No. 51, the farm where Daniel W. Gates now lives. It was his home the rest of life. He married, late in life, Anna (Nancy) Chamberlain of Chesterfield, N.H., for his second wife, who survived him 33 years, and died Oct. 20, 1862, aged 87. He left considerable property for his family.

Samuel, lived half a mile north of his father's residence, where no buildings are now standing, but an orchard of young apple trees surrounds the locality.


whose portrait is here given was born Aug. 20, 1803.

Winslow, b. 1805; Mary, b. 1808, m. Oct. 7, 1833, Daniel P. Kingsley, of Brattleboro, died July 18, 1851;

Cylinda, b. Feb. 27, 1812, m. Mar. 27, 1830, Manor Smith; Mannasseh, b. Aug, 1823, died Sept. 14. 1850;

Mr. Dutton bought Sept. 6, 1819, the farm near Connecticut river which Alonzo, his son, has owned many years.

He married Oct. 25, 1827, Harriet, daughter of Enos Goss, who died June 9, 1872, AE 65. Children:

Adin A., b. Oct. 28, 1828, and Sarah F., b. July 17, 1837, d. Dec. 12, 1859.

He married 2d, Mary, widow of George Hildreth, June 12, 1873.

Adin A. married Jan. 1, 1850, Fanny M., daughter of John Kathan, and lives with his family, in the two-story house on the parental farm which he and his son, Myron F., have managed several years. Children: Mary E. died young; Myron F.; Hattie A., married Adin F. Miller; and Jennie F.

They make the ninth generation, of the Dutton family, as here recorded, - the whole record covering a period of nearly 250 years.

Alonzo Dutton was town representative in 1854, and has been selectman 7 years. He and his wife are pleasantly situated near his son's residence, and, being past hard labor, he takes pride in the cultivation of the finest garden in town, in which are grown several varieties of choice grapes. He has been prospered as a farmer and gained a competence for old age by a life of hard work and habits of economy. His son and grand-son have made many improvements on the farm. The well-built slate stone walls along the roadside, the well cultivated and productive fields, the neat-looking buildings, shaded in part by rows of stately maples, are evidences of good management by progressive and diligent farmers.


died Feb. 11, 1836, AE 76; Polly, his wife, died Apr. 22, 1827, AE 68. Their children were:

Polly, b. Oct. 23, 1785; Patty, born Aug. 3, 1787; Susan, b. June 8, 1 789;

Asa, b. May 13, 1791; Sibyl, born Jan. 4, 1793; Sally, b. Mar. 2, 1796;

Lucy, b. Dec. 17, 1797; Stephen, born June 24, 1801. Asa Dutton 2d. died Mar. 23, 1868, AE 76 [see page 40] ,Mary, his wife d. Dec. 4, 1864, aged 68.


settled in Dummerston, on what is called the "Luke Norcross" place, in 1768. He was brother of William French, killed at the Westminster massacre, also of Asa, who married Mary Rice Apr. 17, 1783, Rebecca, who married Sam'l Dutton. Joel, who married Polly Bailey Oct, 29, 1794. Asa and Mercy French were the parents of Jonathan French, who died in this town, Jan. 18, 1864 aged 73.


the father of William, killed at Westminster, and Nathaniel Jr., died June 8, 1801, aged 81 years. He was born in Billerica., Mass., Feb. 2, 1720, and descended from William 3., John 2., William 1. His mother, Elizabeth Frost, was horn in the same town, Aug. 31, 1723, dau. of William 3., James 2., James 1. They were married Sept. 28, 1744. Elizabeth (or Betsey), his wife, died Sept. 20, 1777. One Joanna French died Sept. 9, 1800, aged 72. One Jonathan French with two other boys, Frost and Richardson from Billerica, were killed by the Indians June 16, 1748, while on their way from Hinsdale east of the Connecticut river, to Fort Dummer.

Nathaniel French Sen. was a resident of Brattleboro at the time his son was killed. In 1784, his house was the most north-eastern dwelling in that town and was very near the southern line of Dummerston. The name Nathaniel French appears in the census of 1771, in the list of both towns, and Hall, in his History of Eastern Vermont, makes the mistake of supposing there was only one Nathaniel French whose name was twice recorded, being claimed by both towns. The fact, is, that father and son had the same name, the former residing in Brattleboro, the latter in Dummerston, when the census was taken. The French family in 1769, resided in Fort Dummer, but afterward, removed to the home in which they lived in 1784. The site of the French house formed a part of the farm known in 1857 as "the old Willington place," since owned by Church Miller and now owned in 1881 by Milton Miller.

The son came to this town when 21 years of age, marked out and cleared up the land which made him a good farm near West river. The large button-wood tree now standing in front of the house was set out by him. Betty, his wife was a widow Duncan. Mrs. Norcross, the grand-daughter, lived and died on the old homestead. The blood of William French, shed at Westminster, was the first blood shed in the Revolutionary war. Frank Moor, Esq., the genial editor of the Songs and Ballads of the American Revolution "had in his possession a ballad published in 1779, in which reference is made to the death of William French, as follows

"But Vengeance let us Wreak my Boys

For Matron, Maid, and Spinster;

Whose joys are fled whose Homes are sad.

For the Youth of Red Westminster."

The children of Nathaniel Sen. and Betsey French were Betsey, b. March 13, 1776, d. May 16, 1776; Samuel. b. Mar. 13, 1777; William, b. Oct. 9, 1778; Ephraim, b. June 24, 1780; Betsey, b. Oct. 27. 1782; Lydia, b. July 9, 1784; Ollie, b. Mar. 10, 1786; Nathaniel, b. Nov. 17, 1789.

Nath'l French Sen. died June 10, 1811, aged 64; his wife died Mar. 10, 1828, aged 72 years. Samuel, son of Nathaniel Sen. m. Sarah Gates, June 15, 1800; William m. Lydia Estabrook, Oct. 4, 1801; Ephraim married Priscilla Duncan Oct. 14, 1804;

Betsey m. Jesse Manley Sept. 27, 1810; Lydia m. Amasa Manley Jan. 26, 1806; Ollie m. Moses Roel, Nov. 22, 1807; Nathaniel m. Sally Walker - 1811.

Louisa French, widow of Luke Norcross, died of typhoid fever, Nov. 17, 1881, aged nearly 74 years. She was a daughter of Ephraim French, and grand-daughter of Nathaniel French.


The original survey parchment of the town of Dummerston, made in 1767, is signed by Ebenezer Waters. Nearly all the parchment is much faded. Probably Isaac Miller was one of the company who made the survey, as he was employed that year by the heirs of the late Gov. Dummer to lay out the township called Dummerston. If Isaac Miller had any claim or right to the township of Walpole, N.H., as stated in a biographical sketch of Major Charles Dana Miller of Newark, Ohio, and it must have been long before "1763," for John Kilburn purchased "the whole" township and was a settler there in 1749, according to the history of Walpole, published in 1880.

The history of Northfield, Mass., records the event that "John Kilburn started from Weathersfield, in 1740, stopped at Northfield with his, family where he was taxed 1741, and then moved on to No. 3 (Walpole). The town was chartered and organized in 1752. from which time officers for the town have been chosen annually, and so late as 1763, about 15 families resided in the place.

Col. Benjamin Bellows, who it is claimed, got the land away from Miller after he had rightfully obtained it. had trouble with Kilburn; but he bravely replied. "No! I bought the whole and paid for it, and it is all mine, and I will have all or none." May it not be that the following letter, written by Isaac Miller, explains the whole trouble he had about the ownership of land? The letter was taken from the papers of Col. Israel Williams, now in the Mass. Historical Society at Boston. The writer is indebted to Hon. George Sheldon of Deerfield, Mass. for a copy of the letter for this publication, and he wrote:

"I give you the paper just as I copied it, some part an abstract, some verbatim, only I did not follow the spelling, as I should, were I to publish it."

Sept. 4, 1772, Isaac Miller writes to Col. Israel Williams as the last survivor of 16 to whom was granted the Equivalent Lands above Fort Dummer. He has a copy of the deed from Connecticut and has been informed there was a deed from the natives of the same land to 16 gentleman, but of larger extent that both deeds had been continued by the Board of Trade & Plantation.

I was employed some years agone by Gov. Dummer to take care of the above farm to see that the timber was not destroyed & the owners had agreed with me to lay out one part of the above said farm into a township but the wars with the French & Indians prevented any further proceedings at that time So all things lay dormant untell the death of Gov. Dummer & the wars ceased. the heirs of Gov. Dummer employed me again to lay out a part of said farm into a township in the year 1767 & my having a large family caused me to remove from Worcester to the Equivalent farm and settled a town in said farm called Dummerston, not thinking but our title was as good as any in the British Dominions. But Col [Samuel] Wells agent from New York came and demanded $1440 for a new Patent with a quit rent of 2s 6d each 100 acres. I told our people I should do no such thing. We had a good title from Conn., the natives, and it charter from New Hampshire, I shall not go to York for a Patent, but Wells and his Yorkers try all that lies in their power to disturb us and make dissenters among us." Begs advice, information & assistance from him & Col. Patridge. "Our lines have fallen in arbitrary places (Gennings Patent) these Jacobites are pleased to call our lauds." &c.

The Equivalent Lands were sold at Hartford, 24th and 25th of Apr. 1716 in 16 shares to 21 persons among whom were Anthony Stoddard, Esq., Boston, William Brattle, Cambridge, clerk, - I share each; William Dummer, Boston, merchant, his brother, Dr. Jeremiah Dummer, one half share each. The shares were allotted in June 1716. The whole of the land alluded to as Dummer was known by the name of Dummerston previous to 1753, when the Equivalent Lands together with a "considerable quantity of other lands," surveyed by Joseph Blanchard of Amherst, N.H., in the year 1750, were divided into three townships one of which was called Fullum. The name was changed back to Dummerston to commemorate the name of Wm. Dummer, the oldest proprietor who died 1761, aged 74 yrs. The town was called by both names about 25 years, the time of the charter. The large family of Isaac Miller refered to in his letter, when he removed to Mass. in 1770, numbered 12 children.


MILLER: MAJOR CHARLES DANA, was born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio, September 3, 1836, and moved to Newark in the spring of 1857. His family has an ancient and honorable lineage, dating back over two hundred years in America, and antedating from its emigration to America into traditional genealogy another century in Scotland.

The Millers, of Scotland, were of Saxon origin, and followed the leadership of Edward, who conqnered the Picts and founded Edinburgh, A. D. 449. The history of the family is rather obscure, until about the year 1600, when the country was distracted by civil war, assuming a religious character between Protestantism and Catholicism. The Millers took sides with the Protestants, and later with the Presbyterians or Covenanters, when persecuted by .James the First, in his efforts to establish Episcopacy. The laws against Presbyterianism were so abitrary that it led to great disorder and opposition by the inhabitance, and many personal encounters passed between the liberty-loving Scots and the minions of the king, in the enforcement of obnoxious laws. The name of James Miller is found twice recorded in a list of those who paid fines for transgressing the laws in the city of Edinburgh, and is recorded in this quaint style:

"The compt of mony resauit in fra sick persone as hes transgrest aganest the statutis and ordenances of the guid toun, the namis of the persones that pay it, and soum that evrie man pay it, begining at Mychelmas. 1608 yiers, till Mychelmas the yier of God, 1609 yiers, the time of thair offices of baill yiers, as follows: James Miller, for being found be the gaird, at twelve hours at even, with one sword drawin at James Havrie, £4. James Miller, for the bluid wyte of Patryk Chalmers, £9 18d."

The oppression of the Covenanters led many to seek the shores of America where they could worship God without restraint, and one Senior Miller and his son James (who are the direct proginitors of this family in America) , emigrated from Edinburgh about the year 1660. They settled in Charlestown, near Boston, and joined the established Presbyterian church at that place. We find recorded in the Genealogical dictionary of the first settlers of New England. "James Miller, the Scotsman, Charlestown, admitted to First church, Decemder 17, 1676, and made freeman, May 23, 1677, and died July 14, 1690. His wife, Mary, joined the church August 5, 1677, being baptised that day with her eight children - James, Mary, Robert, Job, Abraham, Isaac, Mercy and Jane.

The record of his father's death, Aug 1, 1688, calls him 'Sen,' an aged Scotsman about seventy."

Isaac Miller, the son of James, removed to Concord, Massachusetts, and afterwards to Worcester about the year 1718. His son Isaac, born in Concord, May 7, 1708, married in Worcester one Sarah Crosby, and reared a large family. In 1770, the year of the Boston massacre, he removed to Dummerston, Vermont, which town he surveyed and settled. John, the son of Isaac, was born in Worcester, December 20, 1756, and lived and died a farmer in Dummerston. His son, James, who was born in Dummerston, December 16, 1783, emigrated to Ohio in 1814, and settled in Knox county, what is now Miller township, named in his honor. His son, James Warner, born in Dummerston, Vermont, July 8, 1807, settled first in Newark, about the year 1826, afterwards in Mt. Vernon, where he married in 1833, and raised a large family, the second son of which, Charles D. Miller, is the subject of this sketch.

The genealogical order of the eight generations as far as authenticated, will then stand as follows: First, Sen. Miller, born in Edinburgh, Scotland, about 1613; second, James Miller, born in Edinburgh, Scotland, about 1640; third, Isaac Miller, born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, about 1670; fourth, Isaac Miller, jr., born in Concord, Massachusetts, in 1708; fifth, John Miller, born in Dummerston, Vermont, in 1783; seventh, James Warner Miller, born in Dummerston, Vermont, in 1807; eighth, Charles Dana Miller, born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio, in 1836.

In order to present the history of this family more in detail we must return to the Scotish ancestors.

Many of the Scotch Millers attained eminence in literature and science. The ancestors of Hugh Miller, the great geologist, were a seafaring race. Among the great writers were John Miller, of Lanarkshire, professor of law in the university of Glasgow; James Miller, of Ayr, physician and chemist, and editor of the fourth edition of the Encyclopedia Britanica; James Miller, professor of surgery in the university at Edinburgh; Thomas Miller, of Glenlee, baron and lord justice clerk of court of sessions.

The ancient coat of arms of this family, adopted by the various Scotch branches, bears a similarity in the chief points of the field; the only variations appearing in minor objects in the divisions according to the fancy of the bearer, or as conferred by heraldic law. The chief points, as borne by all the Scotch families, are: first, the color of the shield (white); second, the Moline cross, which represents the figure of the iron that supports the upper mill stone; third the wavy bar in the base, and last. the mullet,or rowel of a spur. A description of the arms borne by the American branch of the family, as near as can be authenticated, and as expressed in heraldic terms, is as follows: Argent, a cross moline, azure. In chief, second, bordure of three cinquefoils, gules, lozenge between two mullets; sinster chief lozenge between two mulett. In fessee, hand with first and second fingers extended, two arms with hands clasped, moline cross, sable, between four hearts; in base wavy bands of vert; crest, lion rampant with moline cross, sable, between paws motto. Optima Coelo. Unione Augetur.

A very complete record has been preserved of the family of Isaac Miller, jr., the grandson and great-grandson of the Scotish emigrants. He was a staunch Republican in the troublesome times preceding the outbreak of the Revolution. Being a surveyor by profession, he became useful in the settlement of the then new country north of Massachusetts, but his enterprises met with disaster through the machinations of the tools of the king, who had set a mark upon all Republicans. In 1763, he, with others, were granted a township of land in New Hampshire, which they settled and payed for, but by a subterfuge the British court, then in session in Worcester. re-granted it to General Bellows, a tory. He moved his family in 1770, to Dummerston, Vermont, which town he surveyed and settled. Isaac Miller, jr., had twelve children. Vespatian was a soldier in the old French war, and afterwards followed the sea. Hosea was a farmer. Rosanna married Major .Joseph Negus, of Petersham. Among her descendants are Mrs. Gen'l R. B. Marcy, Mrs. General George B. McClellan, Mrs. Major W. B. Rossell, of the United States army. Sarah married Silas Wheeler of Petersham. Tillotson emigrated to New York State. Patience married Dr. Thomas Amsden, of Petersham. Joseph was a soldier of the war of the Revolution, and served seven years with distinction, being promoted to the rank of major, and merited the friendship and confidence of Gen'l Washington, Isaac was a captain in the Revolution, and was badly wounded early in the war near Boston. Marshall was a farmer and left many descendants.

John, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a Revolutionary soldier, and subsequently became very prominent as a citizen of Vermont. Catharine married a Mr. Knapp and reared a large family. William, the youngest, was a soldier in the latter part of the Revolution and rose to the rank of major.

John Miller, who was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, December 20, 1756, had eight children - Lewis, James, Levi, Sally, Polly, Rosanna, Susan, and John B. Rosanna and Susan are still living - the former eighty-six and the latter eighty-four years of age.

James Miller, who was born in Dummerston, Vermont, Dec. 16, 1783, was educated at Williams college. In the war of 1812 he was a member of the company of Captain Hayes -- the father of President Hayes. He emigrated to Ohio in 1814, and was six weeks making the journey in wagons. He bought of the government a section of land in what is now Miller township, Knox county, which was then a howling wilderness. James Miller was a gentleman of culture and highly esteemed by his neighbors for his sterling worth, industry, and enterprise. He married Sarah Warner, the eldest sister of Luke K. Warner, of Newark. They were married in 1806, near Wardsborough, Vermont, eight years before their departure for the West. She was an accomplished and educated young lady, of rare personal beauty, and seemingly too tender for the hardships of pioneer life, but she lived to see the primeval forest on her husband's land replaced by smiling and fruitful fields. They reared a family of eleven children - James Warner, Madison, Volney, Henry H., Mary M., Rosanna W., John F., Harriet M., Sarah Warner, Dana, and Lucinda A. Of this family now residing in Newark may be mentioned James Warner, his sons, Charles D. and Philip D.; two daughters, Elizabeth V. and Susan R.; John F. Miller and one son, Edwin S.; also, Mrs. H. C. Bostwick, daughter of Madison Miller.

James Warner, the eldest, was born in Vermont, July 8, 1807, and emigrated to Ohio with his father. In 1826 he went to Newark and engaged with his uncle, Willard Warner, who kept the old "Green House," on the present site of the Park hotel. In 1830, he moved to Mt. Vernon and engaged in business. In 1833, he married Mary G. Bryant, daughter of Gilman Bryant, Esq., one of the pioneers of Knox county. He reared a family of ten children - James Bryant, Charles Dana, Elizabeth V., Edward Stanley, Sarah Warner, Philip Dennis, Mary Gilman, Francis Warner, Jennie Ella, and Susan R. James Warner Miller engaged in business in Mt. Vernon for over forty years, and was widely known as one of the most industrious and enterprising merchants. He removed to Newark in the spring of 1879, where he now resides.

This closes the succession of the paternal ancestors of Charles Dana Miller.

His maternal ancestors were also of old revolutionary stock. His mother, Mary Gilman Bryant, was the daughter of Gilman Bryant, a pioneer of Knox county, whose father, David Bryant, was an officer in the Revolution, and a cousin of William Cullen Bryant, the poet. David Bryant married Mary Gilman, the daughter of Colonel Jeremiah Gilman, in whose regiment (the New Hampshire line) he served. The genealogy of the New Hampshire Gilman's is thus narrated:

In May, 1638, Edward Gilman, with his wife, three sons, two daughters and three servants, came from Norfolk county, England, in the ship called the "Delight," of Ipswich, and settled in Hingham, Massachusetts. Moses, the third son of Edward Gilman, lived in New Market, New Hampshire, and had six sons Captain Jeremiah, born in 1660, had Thomas, Andrew, Joseph and others. The last two sons were captured by the Indians, in 1709, and taken to Canada. At a war-dance, Joseph was burnt. Andrew was sold to the French, and imprisoned, but obtained favor of the governor and was permitted to work for wages until he earned a sum sufficient to purchase his freedom. He returned to his old home, married. and had one son - Jeremiah - and three daughters. Jeremiah was born about the year 1721. When the Revolutionary war broke out, he was commissioned a colonel and commanded a regiment in the New Hampshire line. His daughter, Mary Gilman, married Lieutenant David Bryant, who served in his father-in-law's regiment during the war. Lieutenant Bryant was the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch.

The genealogical successions of the nine generations in this line, therefore, stand as follows: First, Edward Gilman, born in Norfolk, England, about 1600; second, Moses Gilman, born in Norfolk. England, about 1630; third Jeremiah Gilman, born in New Market, N.H., in 1660; fourth, Andrew Gilman, born in New Market, New Hampshire, 1690; fifth, Jeremiah Gilman (second), born in New Market, New Hampshire, about 1720; sixth. Mary Gilman, born in Vermont, about 1760; seventh, Gilman Bryant, born in Vermont, 1784; eighth. Mary Gilman Bryant, born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio. 1814; ninth, Charles D. Miller, born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio, 1836.

Nicholas Gilman, who was a delegate to the convention in 1787, and signed the constitution of the United States, and the Hon. John Taylor Gilman, governor of New Hampshire, were descendants of Edward Gilman. Covernor Lewis Cass was a descendant of Moses Gilman.

Charles Dana Miller received a good academic education, which he greatly improved in after life by much reading and travel. He moved to Newark in 1857, and engaged in business with Luke K. Warner, doing a large and successful trade in the grain products of the county. When the war broke out in 1861, he enlisted as a private in Captain Coman's company C. Seventy-sixth Ohio regiment, and was successively promoted for meritorious services to first sergeant, sergeant major, first lieutenant and adjutant captain and major by brevet. The latter rank was conferred by the President of the United States. He was of light frame and delicate and nervous temperament and seemingly ill adapted to endure the privations of a soldier's life, but in his case, as well as in many others, actual service proved that physical proportions and strength were counterbalanced by spirit and energy. During his whole term of service of three years and a month he never permitted himself to be excused from duty, although suffering physical disability, contracted by his devotion to the service. He was twice slightly wounded, at Vicksburg and Resaca, but continued on duty without reporting his wounds. He was engaged in the battles of Fort Donelson and Shiloh with credit, and during the Siege of Corinth, when the adjutant of the regiment and adjutant general of the brigade succumbed to disease, he was detailed to perform their duties, at the same time he performed the arduous work as orderly of his company. It was here that his qualifications pointed the road to promotion, and his commanding officer, without solicitation, obtained a commission for him as adjutant of the regiment, to fill the vacancy of the late adjutant, who had resigned. He continued to perform the duties of adjutant for nearly two years, never missing a dress parade while with the regiment. In 1864, when his regiment re-enlisted as veterans he was promoted to a captaincy, and placed in command of his old company C. He commanded this company through the active, glorious Atlanta campaign, and in Aug. 1864, was appointed acting assistant inspector general, performing the laborious service pertaining to that office in a large brigade of nine regiments.

Major Miller commanded the highest esteem and confidence of the colonel of his regiment. He was conspicuous for his devotion to the cause of the Union arms in battle and in camp, At Arkansas Post he was mentioned in special orders for his gallantry. At Atlanta, on the twenty second of July, 1864, he led his company in advance of the regiment, bearing the colors, and in the, face of a scorching fire, drove the enemy from earthworks and re-captured a fine battery of parrot guns.

He presented a conspicuous target in this engagement, but escaped the missiles aimed at him. His first lieutenant (Arnold) was shot three times by his side. At Ships Gap, while on the staff of Colonel Milo Smith, he directed the flank movement which resulted in the capture of two South Carolina companies.

On the twenty-eighth of July, near Atlanta, be stood for four hours encouraging his men while breasting a fearful storm of musketry to which the regiment was subjected. The lists of engagements he participated in numbers forty or fifty, but the principle battles and sieges which will be prominent. in history, may be mentioned:

Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Siege of Corinth, Chickasaw Bayou, Arkansas Post, Siege of Vicksburg, Jackson, Dallas, Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain, Atlanta, July 22d and Jonesborough.

After the expiration of his term of service he received an honorable discharge, November 18, 1864. The war practically ended in the West at that time. He returned to Newark and again engaged in his former business.

In May, 1865, he married Lucy Gilman Jewett, daughter of David D. and Lucy Jewett, of Newark. She was a noble woman, a devoted Christian, a fond wife and mother. This union, so promising of long happiness, terminated in her early death, which occurred Jan. 2, 1869, leaving two infant children - daughter and son- Lucy Jewett, born March 4, 1866, and Charles Dion, born November 17, 1867.

In 1875-76, he engaged in the commission business in Chicago, retaining, however, a branch business at Newark. In 1877, he returned to Newark and continued in the grain trade, under the firm name of Miller & Root, and is at the present time transacting a large business in the products of the county. Major Miller has always been an out-spoken adherent to the principles he fought for during the war, and although he has never aspired to civil office, he has been somewhat conspicuous in his advocacy of "stalwart Republicanism." He has taken a lively interest in the organizations and re-unions of ex-soldiers, being one of the first projectors of the Soldier's society of Licking county, through whose instrumentality the great re-union was held in 1878.

He has been continuously elected the secretary of the society, and he prepared, and had published, the admirable report of the great re-union which gives a very complete record of Licking county's participation in the war for the Union.

Major Miller's early inclinations were decidedly toward the study of a profession instead of mercantile pursuits. He inherited a taste for drawing and painting, and has followed the natural bent, more or less in an amateur way during his leisure moments. His eye is almost perfect in its comprehension of forms, distances and colors with rare taste for landscape gardening and rural adornment. He has been an industrious student of science and history, his mind favoring geological research more than any other. He has written many able articles for the press upon subjects in harmony with his tastes.

In religion he was brought up in the doctrines and faith of the Protestant Episcopal church, and became a member of that denomination before entering the army, but his general religious views: are of the most liberal character, free from bigotry and disposed to reconcile and harmonize religion with science in its broadest sense.


The motto of the Miller family page 46, may be translated, the best thing under Heaven is increased by union.


was born June 2, 1740, m. Abigail Church, born Jan. 28, 1744. She died Feb. 3, 1802, of consumption, AE 58. He died July 9, 1812. Children:

Anna m. Elijah Rice; Abigail, m. Calvin Sargeant; Sarah married John Laughton; Lovinna m. Solomon Wilder, of Brattleboro; George m. Nov. 30, 1801, Dolly, dau. of Elias Wilder; Joseph, b. Mar. 21, 1780, m. Elizabeth Wilson, Feb. 2, 1806; Edward, born Aug. 1785, m. Beulah Burnham, His son, Joel Miller lives on the parental farm. Mrs. Vespasian Miller was of Swedish origin.

The children of Joseph and Elizabeth were David, b. 1806, d. 1811. Vespasian Church, b. Nov. 26,1808, m. Betsey Boyden.

Elizabeth, b. Nov. 27, 1811, m. Ira Ormsbee.

Temperance, b. 1814, d. young; Joseph, b. Mar. 3, 1817, m. 1st Eliza Reed, 2d Sophia Arms.

Lavinna, b. May 21, 1819, married William Knapp; Harriet b. 1821, d. AE 6.

Joseph Miller now lives on the old homestead of Capt. Vespasian, which is also the parental farm. He is the present town clerk and has been chosen for 33 consecutive years. In his possession is an old Log-Book called the English Pilot, which his grandfather used when he followed the sea. It was printed by Thomas Page and William Mount at the Postern on Tower Hill, London, and is dated, 1st part 1731, 2d, 1732. The size of the book is 18 inches by 12, and two inches in thickness.

Isaac Miller, father of Vespasian, removed his family from Worcester, Mass., to Dummerston, Mar. 5, 1770. The following sketch of him is in Ward's History of Shrewsbury, Mass. Isaac Miller, whose wife was Sarah, had Vespasian, born June, 1740. Isaac Miller above the pond was highway surveyor in 1760, and living on house lot No. 27, in 1728.


son of Isaac Miller, married Lydia West, June 3, 1766; moved from Richmond, Mass., to Dummerston in 1770; died May 7, 1796, AE 54. His wife died Sept. 23, 1800, aged 54 years. Their children were: Vespasian, b. Mar. 12, 1767; Martin, b. April 12, 1769; Sylvanus, b. Dec. 4, 1771; Hosea, b. May 21, 1774; Lydia, b. Sept. 15, 1776, died Sept. 30, 1777.

Lydia 2d, b. Nov. 8, 1778, married Dr. Abel. Duncan, died in Shelburne, Mass., May 1, 1869, AE 90 yrs. 6 mos., and was buried in Dummerston; John Chamberlain, b. May 4, 1781; Polly, b. June 22, 1784; Electa, b. Jan. 15, 1787; Louis, b. Mar. 18, 1790.

Lydia, who married Dr. Duncan, remembered distinctly a circumstance that took place on her father's farm in 1787, or soon after Shay's Rebellion. Two men, who were refugees of that rebellion, boarded at her father's a few weeks, and, in making themselves useful, set out a number of young apple trees in the orchard near the house. Six of those trees are now standing. One was recently, May, 1879, cut down and measured 34 inches in diameter and 9 feet around it.


was one of the officers chosen at the first town meeting in 1772. His age and date of death are not known. Obedience, his wife, died Dec. 5, 1791. Benjamin Jones, jr. married Mrs. Susanna Baldwin Apr. 8, 1774. She was the mother of 12 children, three by her first marriage, and nine by her second.


was one of the delegates chosen Apr. 6, 1775, to go with three others to Westminster "to consult on the best method for dealing with the inhuman and unprovoked murderers of William French and Daniel Houghton." His wife's name was Mary.

The names of the three children are recorded:

Polly, b. Aug. 31, 1779; Sarah, b. May 18, 1783; Clarissa, d. Feb. 19, 1785.


(son of Joseph Hildreth, sen.,) one of the first town officers chosen in 1772, died July 4, 1796 aged 72. Lydia, his wife, died May 26, 1799, aged 68; children: Hannah, b. July 4, 1776; Lydia, b. Feb. 16, 1778, d. April 26, 1780; Phebe, b. Sept. 7, 1781; Joseph, b. Sept. 29, 1783, d. Sept. 28, 1829 aged 46. Abigail Bemis, his wife, died Sept. 9, 1870 aged 88 years. Their son Joseph, died Oct. 9, 1822, aged 10 years. Hannah m. James Johnson, Sept. 13, 1792; Phebe m. Alpheus Higgins, Sept. 21, 1797; Joseph, b. Sept. 29, 1783, m. Abigail Bemis, May 1, 1806.

The children of Joseph and Abigail were, Aurilla, b. 1806; Arozina, b. Nov. 14, 1809, m. Humphrey Barrett.

Joseph Jr., b. Apr. 20, 1812, died 1821; John; George m. Mary Clark.


at whose house a town meeting was held Dec. 28, 1772, was chosen first constable in 1774. No family record. Benoni Thompson, b. Apr. 19, 1797, m Susanna____, may have been his son. Olive, Jonathan, Michal and Dolly were children of Benoni and Susanna.

For the brave


who was present at the first town meeting, page 8, who left his soles on the field at Westminster, see page 12, and any further items hereafter.


of those who signed the notification for the first town meeting of Dummerston.

The town of Dummerston numbered among its early inhabitants men who were unfriendly to the jurisdiction of New York, and who regarded the order of the King in Council, by which Connecticut river was declared the eastern boundary of that province, as especially tyrannical. Such were pre-eminently the views of


the physician and clerk of this patriotic village, and the records which he kept, in virtue of the latter office, exhibit on almost every page traces of his peculiar disposition. He was chosen town clerk May 18, 1773. The dislike which he in common with others entertained towards the government of New York, had no doubt been increased by the aristocratic bearing of some of the county officials who held their appointments from the Colonial Legislature; and the abuse of power which these men sometimes exhibited in their functionary character, was used as an argument against those from whom they had received their authority. At a town meeting held May 17, 1774, the people omitted to choose town trustees. The zeal of the eloquent clerk in stirring up the recollection of his readers upon this occasion may be seen on pages 4-8, record history.

The next meeting was called June 10, 1774, at 4 o'clock, p.m., at the house of Enoch Cook, and Joseph Hildreth, Enoch Cook and Solomon Harvey were chosen trustees to fill the places left vacant at the regular election.

Fully on their guard, and ready to treat as tyrants those who should endeavor to deprive them of any of their privileges, they afterwards sent delegates to the Westminster convention, and were among the foremost in advancing the objects for which it had been convoked. Nor was it long before they had an opportunity to carry into action the spirit which they had evinced in that rock-ribbed village, which allowed full scope to their patriotism, and ended in confirming the jealous watchfulness with which they hail resolved to guard their rights, which the warm-blooded Doctor Harvey, the "village Hampden" of Dummerston, who, judged by his zeal and courage, seems to have possessed. Doctor Harvey was the leader on this occasion. He has shown in his narrative records, how the insolence of Britain was checked by the valor of himself and of his compeers, and it is but right that he should tell the story in his own quaint and energetic mode:

[see paper for town record page 9 to 12]

Such is the graphic and impartial narrative of one who was the chronicler of events in which he bore an important part, Mar. 15, 1775, when about 300 soldiers assembled at Westminster in order to punish the murderers of William French etc., the beating of a drum, heralded the approach of Solomon Harvey, Practitioner of Physic, at the head of a body of 300 men. In the centre walked four of the sheriff"s posse, who had been intercepted on their way home. The whole party halted in front of the Court house. An investigation was had, which ended more favorably than the poor prisoners had expected. The stern old docter disarmed them, and dismissed them with a pass signed with his own name, to which was prefixed the title of Colonel. The courts were broken up at Westminster at that time. In an account of the meeting of the inhabitants of Dummerston held Aug. 22, 1775, occurs an entry which shows that the people were engaged in preparing an elaborate account of the disturbances which had happened in the month of March previous. The entry was made by Jonathan Knight, town clerk, in these words:

Voted that it is the Sence of this town that the Letters that are in the hand of' Dr. Harvey are Not any Evidance in the Case which the Commite is Collecting; for the Evidance which tha are to Colect is the Bad Conduct, of the Cort from its fast Setting up the Cort, Down to the fust of March Last; and that these Letters only Shoe that the Peple ware Displeaised at the Earbitary of offiseirs of the Cort and ware Raday to Rise and Stop the Cort before that time; and we think those Letters Show Like wise the unity of the People and purfix the time; and we think it Best not to have these Letors goe to Westminster."

At a town meeting held Dec. 21, 1775, it was voted;

That Jonathan Knight, Enoch Cook, Joseph Hildreth secure the town records that are in the hands of Dr. Solomon Harvey and transcribe it into a town book."

This is the latest account we can find of Dr Harvey. He probably moved from this town before the close of the Revolutionary war. His farewell letter as town clerk is recorded on the town records, for which see town records.

A part of this sketch is from "Hall's History of Eastern Vermont."

Dr. Solomon Harvey, the efficient town clerk in Dummerston, was also, a practitioner of physic, "and when Dr. Jones rode bareheaded from Westminster at the time of the courthouse fight, to Dummerston, for re-inforcements, Col. Solomon Harvey led a company of 300 men from this town and Putney to the scene of action, Capt. Leonard Spaulding inspected the men." The Doctor removed from Dummerston in 1776, to Chesterfield, N.H., where he died about 1820. He took an active part in the affairs of the town during the Revolution. In 1788, he was chosen to represent Chesterfield in the convention that adopted the Federal Constitution. Selectman, 1789, ‘92; town clerk from 1800 to 1817. His wife was Mary ___. Only one child's name is recorded, Mary, b. in Dummerston, Apr. 22, 1773.


who was mortally wounded during the massacre at Westminster, came originally from Petersham, Mass., and previous to his death was a resident of Dummerston. The idea was general for a time, that he would recover from his injuries, and it is for this reason that his name is not often found in connection with that of William French. But in the records of this town the "murthering of William French and Daniel Houghton" is spoken of as an article of history, which was then received without doubt and in the account at the meeting that held in this town on the 6th of April, less than a month after the event, is a memorandum of a committee who were appointed to "go to Westminster there to meet other committees, to consult on the methods for dealing with the inhuman and unprovoked murtherers of William French and Daniel Houghton." Houghton was wounded in the body and survived only 9 days. He died at Westminster in a house situated a little northwest of the Court-house, and but a short distance from it. It was then occupied by Eleazer Harlow. Most of those who were wounded were taken to the house of Azariah Wright. He was buried in the old grave-yard at that place, not far from the last resting-place of French. For many years there was a stone, shapeless and unhewn, which marked the spot where he lay; but even this slight memorial has at length disappeared from its place, and no one can now mark with accuracy the locality of his grave.

Doctor Thomas Amsden, whom we have mentioned elsewhere as one of the physicians of this town was one of the 17 coroner's jury, who were assembled Mar. 15, 1775, to inquire into the cause of the death of French. The original report of the investigation is still preserved and Dr. Amsden's name is first on the list of jurymen.


On a gravestone in the cemetery at Dummerston Centre, is the inscription; "Capt John Wyman, an officer of the Revolution, Died July, 23d, 1823, aged 80 years." Captain Wyman was born in Cambridge, Mass., in 1743. His rank in the Revolutionary army was lieutenant, and his service was in the Rhode Island Continental Line. He was placed on the pension roll Apr. 15, 1818. Annual allowance $240. Sums received $1276.07. This information the writer obtained from an old pension roll printed about 1835, which also contains the names of all persons who were or had been pensioners belonging to Windham county When writing for Miss Hemenway's publication ten years ago, we obtained the information that Capt. Wyman was one of the number who dressed in the costume of Mohawk Indians, went on board of the British vessel in Boston harbor in 1773, and

"Took the old tea and done as they oughter,

And tipped it all out right into the water."

Capt. Wyman's home in this town was where Henry French now lives. He was a tanner by trade, and marks of the old tan-vats are now visible on the flat south of the barn near Salmon brook. His disposition and character were of a belligerent nature. He was all military, and was fond of relating his exploits and deeds in Revolutionary times. Bunker Hill was his favorite theme. He selected the spot on his farm where he wished to be buried and called it Bunker Hill. It was on high land west of the house, back of which extends a beautiful plain. He was buried under military honors, a company of soldiers, or military men, being present on the occasion, from out of town. A liberty pole was erected near his grave. After a few years his remains were removed to the cemetery where they now rest, and over which a marble slab was raised by his relatives, bearing the inscription we have quoted.

Of the many songs about Capt. Wyman that he or some one else used to sing in his day, the following verse is a sample:

Beleive me Sirs, now if you please,

A ball took of my breeches' knees;

From a loud cannon it was sent,

As I against the Britons went.

A little episode of a war-like character occurred in this town, in which Capt. Wyman figured prominently. He got into a dispute with a prominent man of the town. Bela Shaw, we believe was his name. From words they came to blows, the Captain got knocked down to the floor by Shaw. The Captain indignant threatened prosecution; what resulted the doggerel tells,

In Mr. Shaw, he picked a flaw.

Who then to have some fun, Sir,

The other night did not do right

And knocked John Wyman down Sir,

He knocked him down upon the floor, Sir

Where he did long remain;

At length he rose with head so sore

That loud he did complain.

"Bela Shaw," said he, you, me, have hit

And now for what you've done

I'll go and get a justice' writ

As fast as I can run."

But Shaw was wise and did advise

With him he'd arbitrate

Two mugs of tod, they did award

As the price of Wyman's pate.

Capt. Wyman was one of the number who took offence at hearing what they called a "tory sermon preached by Rev. Hosea Beckley during the war of 1812. His text was in Rev. XII, 7. "And there was war in heaven." "England," he said, "loved us, and we declared war against her. France hated us and we loved France." Capt. Wyman would not hear Mr. Beckley preach afterward for a long time. On one occasion, when Mr. Beckley was to exchange with another minister, he called and notified the Captain of the event, and that it would afford him an opportunity to attend meeting in his absence. This act restored him to favor and he again attended Mr. Beckley's meeting.


married Sarah Moore and their children were: Daniel, born Apr. 3, 1777, m. Polly Newton, Apr. 1, 1805;

Sarah, b. Jan. 5, 1779, m. Samuel French June 15, 1800; Persis, born Sept. 17, 1780, m. Christopher Ormsbee, May 1, 1803;

Ira, b. May 12, 1783, died Mar. 5, 1812; Eli, b. Mar. 22. 1786, d. Dec. 15, 1792;

Joel, b. May 9, 1788, m. Susan Dutton, Mar. 6, 1828; Martin, born Feb. 25, 1791, m. Rebecca Winslow, May 3, 1826.

Lieutenant Gates bought the land on which he settled in this town in 1774. His native place was probably Worcester, Mass., from which town Jonathan Gates came in 1777. Their relation to each other, if any, is not known. Lieut. Gates was a successful farmer and also prominent in the business affairs of the town. He was prompt and efficient in all his dealings. His ability as an officer in the Revolutionary army was seen and acknowledged at the capture of General Burgoyne and secured to him the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens, who held him in grateful remembrance. He died very suddenly Nov. 6, 1807 aged 56, when absent from home on business. He went to Worcester, Mass., with a neighbor of his, and a Mr. Joy of Putney. They returned Nov. 5, as far as Oakham, Mass. He retired at night in good health but awoke about 20 minutes to three in the morning; and complained of great distress at his heart. Stimulants were administered, and he was relieved for a time. He died in a few minutes on retiring again to his room. He was an ardent lover of his country and an early advocate for its freedom and independence. Sarah, his wife, died Mar. 9, 1829, aged 81.

Daniel Gates, who married Polly Newton, removed with his family to Truxton, N.Y.; Children: Asa, born Feb. 11, 1806; Sally Moore, b. July 14, 1807;

Salona and Sirena, (twins), b. Mar. 30, 1809; Justin, born Jan. 3, 1811; Joel; Martin.

Joel and Susan (Dutton) Gates had two daughters, Sarah and Mary. The younger sister married Hiram Knapp: she died and he married, 2d, the elder sister, Sarah.

Martin and Rebecca Gates were the parents of Martin W., born Feb. 19. 1727, m. Rosella Cook; Sarah M., b. June 6, 1828, m. Fred A. Fish; Daniel, born Nov. 24, 1831, m. Emily Ormsbee,; Emma m. Lewis H. Lynde.

Martin Gates died Dec. 21, 1859, aged 68; Rebecca, his wife, is now living at the age of 83.

Martin W. with his family, removed to Seward, Kansas, in 1877, where he died Jan. 21, 1882. He was chosen selectman in 1862, and served very acceptably during four years and at a time when more than usual responsibility rested with the officers of the town in connection with the war of the Rebellion.

Lieut. John S. Gates married Hannah ____, and was a brother of Lieut. Daniel Gates, and settled on the river and in the northeast part of the town in 1770. It is recorded that John Gates settled on an adjoining lot the same year. It is possible that John S. and John Gates may be one and the same person. His name is also written J. Shephard Gates, and in 1784, is recorded as Shephard Gates. In 1793, John Shephard Gates is the only name recorded as the head of a family in that part of the town. Hence the conclusion that Lt. Daniel Gates had only one brother living in Dummerston. He probably had a sister who married Reuben Spaulding, for when Spaulding died he was not buried in the family lot of his father, Lieut. Leonard Spaulding, but was buried in the lot belonging to Lieut. Daniel Gates. It is said that Reuben Spaulding married a Gates, and after his death in 1794. She remarried and left town.

Lieut. John S. Gates was chosen selectman in 1782, '83, '84, '85, and at other times up to 1806, in all, 12 years, making the longest term of service as selectman, in this town, except that of Jason Duncan, who served 17 years.

The children of Lieut. Gates and Hannah, his first wife, were John, born Apr. 11, 1776, m. Polly Goodwin, Aug. 23, 1803;

Asa, b. Feb, 14, 1777; Lucy, born Jan. 25, 1779; Shephard, b. Oct. 1, 1780, m. Polly Dutton, Dec. 27, 1807, died Apr. 1861, AE: 88;

William, b. Oct. 8, 1782, d. Nov. 18, 1821; James. b. Mar. 21, 1785, d. Dec. 26, 1816;

Hannah, b. Mar. 12, 1787; Polly. b. Apr. 3, 1789, m. 1st Stearns Wilder, Sept. 4, 1814, 2d, Artemas Knight.

Hannah, the wife of Lt. Gates, died Feb. 15, 1813, AE 62, and he married, 2d Lucy Witt, Oct. 16, 1814, and died Feb. 28, 1827, aged 81.

Minor Knight m. Lavilla Gates, June 13, 1836. She had a sister, Maria. They were nieces of John S. Gates.

The children of Shepard and Polly Gates: Alanson, b. Oct. 5, 1808, and John S., b. June 24, 1811, d. May 22, 1849.

Alanson, now living, married Julia Turner, and their children are Horatio, Asa D. and John T.

Shepard Gates died Apr. 8, 1869, aged 88, and Polly, his wife, June 23, 1863, aged 77.

Phineas Gates was a. resident of this town 10 years. It is not certain that he was related to any one of that name in Dummerston. He married Rebecca, dau. of Elder Woods, of Putney West Hill, and they were residents of Worcester, Mass., in 1788. They lived in Petersham, Mass., in 1791, came to this town in 1798, and occupied the red building east of the common for a few years. Their children were Nancy and Polly (twins), b. June 3, 1788. Sophia, b. Jan. 11, 1791;Henry, b. June 17, 1792; Lucy, b. Nov. 19, 1793; Oran, b. Feb. 19, 1797; John, b. Dec. 3, 1798; George, b. Oct. 16, 1800; Fanny, b. Sept. 9, 1802; Eliza, b. June 9, 1804; Emelia, b. Feb. 8, 1806.


AT GUILFORD JAN. 30, 1784.

Among the 300 militia gathered for the purpose of driving the Yorkers out of Guilford, was a company of 20 men from Dummerston, led by Lieut. Daniel Gates. The ordnance department was composed of one old cannon, almost useless, from Dummerston, and was superintended by Ebenezer Haven and Isaac Miller.

During the affray near Massachusetts line, one man was mortally wounded and Joel Knight of this town was slightly wounded in the arm by a bullet.


The ancestor of the Laughtons in this town was John, sen., who married Mary Crawford. He resided in Taunton, Mass., before removing to Dummerston. John, jr., Samuel, sen., Thomas, sen., who was born 1730, Mary who married Joseph Temple, and a daughter who married a Huntington and lived in Warwick, Mass.

John Laughton, sen. was a shoemaker and also made fish seines. He built what is now the old part of James Reed's house.

Thomas, son of John, married Rebecca Derby, lived with his parents and built on two additional rooms to the house south of the rooms first occupied. They had 7 children.

Nathaniel, the eldest, was in the Revolutionary war and was killed in the service.

Bebecca m. Abel Butler about 1786, lived in Dummerston till 1809; removed to St. Johnsbury and at the time of her death, was 100 yrs. 8 mo. 4 days old.

Susanna m. Samuel Gates Dec. 4, 1782; removed to Hancock, and lived to the age of 98 years.

Esther m. Benjamin Hadley, removed to Hancock, and died at the age of 97.

Betsey m. Peter Butler, Apr. 30, 1795, went to New York state and lived to be 80 years old.

Lydia m. Asa Davis, of Hancock, and was 76 when she died.

John m. Jan. 1, 1795, Sally, dau. of Capt. Vespasian Miller, and they were the parents of Thomas, Sally and Harriet D.

Samuel, sen. married Susanna Melvin, of Rutland, Mass., where he resided before coming to Dummerston. He settled on lot No. 63, deeded to him by the original proprietors of the township, June 26, 1770.

Thomas, brother of Samuel, sen., also from Rutland, bought half of Samuel's lot, Nov. 29, 1779, and a part of the adjoining lot, No. 57, in 1784. Deacon Thomas, as he is called, was a shoemaker, or cordwainer, as the record reads.

1788, Samuel deeded his farm in equal shares to his sons, Samuel, jr. and Jacob. The children of Samuel and Susanna were Samuel, jr., David, Amos, Jacob, James, Mary, Susanna, Esther, and Sarah who died in childhood.

David married Mary, dau. of Capt. Leonard Spaulding.

James m. 1st, Ruth Melvin, his cousin, from Northfield, Mass., 2d, Hannah Cook, of Newfane.

Amos m. Lucy Melvin, of Northfield.

Jacob m. Lydia Crosby in 1787, and lived on the parental farm, now owned by Austin Laughton, and which has been kept in the family name 113 years.

Mary m. Silas Gates Dec. 4, 1781.

Susanna m. 1st, Thomas Davenport; 2d, Oct. 6, 1805, Nathan Cook.

Esther married Jan. 31, 1788, Jacob Laughton ("deaf Jake"), her second cousin, and lived in a house south of the Joseph Temple place.

John, jr., son of John, sen. and Mary Crawford, was born Aug. 11, 1714. He m. Esther, dau. of Mr. and Esther (Alley) .Davis, of Concord, Mass. She was b. Sept. 9, 1717, and died at the residence of Thomas Boyden, Apr. 27, 1813, in her 96th year. Her husband d. Feb. 26, 1799, and they were buried near the graves of Isaac and Elizabeth Boyden. Her grave is unmarked, but Thomas Boyden made and erected the stone now standing at the grave of her husband. He was a shoemaker and made fish seins. Their children were James, Jacob, John, jr. called the 3d, Elizabeth, Ann. Esther, Sally and Solomon.

James m. a Gates.

Elizabeth, b. Mar. 25, 1750, m. Isaac Boyden.

Anna m. 1st, about 1777, Parmenas Temple, had two children, Anna and Parmenas, jr. She m. 2d, March 25, 1788, Lemuel Presson, half brother of Samuel Presson, and with her two children, removed to Northfield, Mass.

Sally m. Solomon Cook, a brother of Enoch Cook, sen.

Esther m. Ezekiel Hagar. They and her brother James and wife removed to the south-eastern part of Maine.

Jacob married and lived near Boston. He responded to the first call for soldiers to meet the British and was mortally wounded in one of the early battles of the Revolution. He fell in the ranks, rose again, and started for a thicket. He did not reach it, as his strength failed from the loss of blood, which flowed fast from a wound near his knee. His body was not recovered and it was devoured by wolves.

His son, Jacob, wanted to revenge his father's death, and enlisted at the age of 16 years, a mere stripling youth. When he was ready to march the neighbors proposed to have his gun and equipments weighed, and then weigh the boy. The result was that the boy weighed one pound less than the burden he had to carry. He could not endure long marches and carry so much weight. His gun was exchanged for a drum and he did good service for four years as a drummer. His deafness was caused by standing too near the discharge of cannon in a hard fought battle. He was known as "deaf Jake." His brothers also, were soldiers from the commencement in the same war. John, sen. and John, jr. were in the French and Indian War. Samuel, sen. was in the Revolutionary war and was present with Col. Ethan Allen at the capture of Fort Ticonderoga.

Huntington, who married a daughter of John Laughton, sen., was a cruel tory. The family of his wife's brother, Samuel, sen., who was then a soldier, were short of grain. They heard that Huntington, who was living in Warwick, Mass., had grain to sell, and sent Samuel, jr., a boy of 16 or 17 years of age, to that town, a two days journey on horseback, to buy rye of him. The boy was instructed to stop over night at some place near his uncle's for fear that he might not he kindly received. Next morning he started early and arrived at Huntington's just after breakfast and found there six British officers, who had been his guests over night and were preparing to leave. Huntington was giving them information which he had gathered about the rebels in the army and at their homes, saying that his wife's folks were all rebels and some of her brothers were then in the rebel army. The officers mounted their steeds and rode away. When he went into the house, his wife reproved him for speaking to the officers, as, he did, about her relatives. Her reproof added fuel to his hot temper, and he cursed and swore that he would give the British all the information he could gather, telling his wife that, if any of her brother Sam's boys should come into his house, he would take his gun and blow his brains out. Young Laughton heard his threat and thought it time to do his errand with the tory and be off. He bought two bushels of rye, paid him the money and left without being recognized by the family. They were too much excited to ask his name, and his morning visit did not raise a suspicion that he had come any great distance.

Huntington never allowed his wife to visit any of her relatives after the war. Her parents once made her a visit, but he was so much displeased about it that they never had an opportunity to see their daughter again.

Susanna Laughton, who married Thomas Davenport for her first husband, had by this marriage two children, Lucy and Pardon. When Lucy was about 6 years of age, her father went to New York to get work and never returned. His daughter lived in the family of Isaac and Elizabeth Boyden until she was 18 years old, and afterwards married Clark Knight. Pardon, her brother, went to Newfane to live, married, and had a large family. One of his sons, Alonzo C. Davenport, is now (1883), a merchant in Brattleboro.

Capt. Samuel Laughton, jr., once the boy who went to Warwick for rye, was born Jan. 5, 1758, and m. Anna, dau. of Capt. Leonard Spaulding, born in Putney, Apr 7, 1767. Of their children, Margaret m. Thomas Boyden; Anna m. 1st, Jonathan Tenney, 2d, Nathaniel Herrick; Roswell died in childhood; Wealthy did not marry; Electa m. Rodney Laughton; Susanna m. Wm. Chase; Betsey m. Benj. Butterfield; Persis m. Nathaniel Bixby; Samuel and Sally never married.

Mrs. Isaac Boyden, the daughter of John Laughton, jr., often told her grandchildren and others, the following Revolutionary story:

Her father and family then lived near Boston, and when the British troops were landing in that city, a man rode past their dwelling at full speed, on horseback, just as they were rising early in the morning, calling, "To arms! To arms! The British are landing in the harbor. Be ready to march immediately." All was excitement. Her father put the guns in order, and told his two sons to get what lead they could find and run it into bullets. The number of balls were not sufficient, and Mrs. Laughton took from the table a pewter basin and had it made into bullets. The girls cut patches for wads, while the mother got breakfast. Very little was eaten and the father and two sons were soon on the march for conflict. Instructions had been given for the mother and daughters to get sheets ready for bandages and scrape what lint they could. It was a wise precaution, for bandages and lint were needed before sunset. This event was June 17, 1775, and the battle scene was on Bunker Hill. On that day, Mr. Laughton and his two sons saw the brave Dr. Joseph Warren fall mortally wounded.

John, 3d, son of John, jr., married Lucy Chase, of Newfane, where he went to live, and had several children. Solomon and John were two of his sons. John was born about 1760, and married about 1791, Sally Black. The parents lived with their son, Solomon, during the decline of life. The father died and was buried in Newfane; the mother, who survived, was brought on a bed, she being quite sick, to Dummerston, and lived with her son, John, until her death. She was buried in Newfane. "Aunt" Margaret Boyden worked for the family when she was a girl and took care of Mrs. Laughton during her last sickness. John and Sally (Black) Laughton (or Lawton as they spell the name) were the parents of Solomon, b. Sept. 3, 1793, Asa, John, Sally, Franklin, and Mary Jane.

The wife of Samuel Laughton, sen., was often called on to visit the sick, as there were few physicians in those days. She responded to all the calls for aid in sickness, and often went in winter time on snowshoes across the lots to visit families 2 or 3 miles away. On one occasion she visited a sick woman whose husband had not got reconciled to the destruction of the tea in Boston harbor. Having brought some tea with her for the sick woman, she watched her opportunity to steep it while the man was out at work, gave it to her patient and then drank some herself. Before she had finished her cup, the man came in, smelt the tea and stormed furiously, saying it cost too much human blood, to drink it, it was like drinking human blood and he would not have tea used in his house. Mrs. Laughton could not be frightened and deliberately finished drinking her tea in the presence of the enraged man.


was a soldier in the French and Indian war, which begun in 1754 and lasted 6 years. On one occasion he was pursued by Indians, and in endeavoring to escape, was obliged to cross a swamp. The passage was difficult, as the mud and water were quite deep in many places. One of the worst places, he crossed on a log. When he was near the opposite side of the swamp, he discovered the Indians were ahead of him and, in fact, had surrounded him. He retraced his steps immediately to the log on which he had crossed a few minutes before, and secreted himself beneath it in the water. He remained there a long time, and in order to breathe, he kept his nose just out of the water close behind the log, so that he escaped the notice of the passing Indians. They crossed and recrossed the log under which he was secreted without discovering him although they had a little dog that crossed on the log with them. Mr. Laughton enlisted in the Revolutionary war, but his son,


took his father's place and served as a substitute for his father. He was killed at the battle of White Plains, Oct. 28, 1776. It was only a partial engagement, but the Americans were obliged to retreat. In endeavoring to escape across the fields, he jumped over a fence and, by accident dropped his gun. He thought it not safe to go on without his gun and returned to secure it. He was not seen, after that, by his fellow soldiers, and they concluded he was killed by the enemy.

Dea. Laughton moved to this town from "Old Rutland," Mass., near the close of the Revolutionary war. He died Nov. 12, 1814, aged 83. Rebecca his wife died Jan. 12, 1818, aged 82.

John Laughton, his son, m. Sally Miller, Jan. 1, 1795, d. Apr. 27, 1823, aged 82. His wife d. Jan. 24, 1853, aged 81.

His son, Thomas Laughton, was born Jan. 3, 1796, and died Aug. 25, 1863, aged 67 years.


were married Aug. 14, 1787, he died Aug. 29, 1852, aged 91, she died Apr. 15, 1837, aged 79 years. Children: Ephraim, b. Feb. 15, 1788; Joel and Jonathan, b. May 22, 1789. Jonathan d. Oct. 22, 1876, aged 87. Rodney, b. Apr. 25, 1791; Lydia b. Jan. 10, 1793; Almira, b. Jan. 10, 1796; Laura, b. June 29, 1797; Jacob, b. July 1, 1798, d. March 13, 1870, aged 70. Lydia Bosworth, his wife, died March 31, 1877, aged 75 years.


a Revolutionary soldier, one of the early settlers in this town who enlisted at Deerfield, Jan. 1776, was promoted to sergeant in Co. of Capt. Wilkinson, Regt. of Col. James Reed, of Mass. line, was in Canada and the northern department, and was discharged at Old Ticonderoga Nov. 3, 1776, in consequence of a rupture resulting from a wound.

He married Lydia Hildreth, probably a sister of Joseph Hildreth, jr., who d. May 22, 1812, aged 65; children:

Samuel, b. May 24, 1779, m. Phoebe Warner of Brattleboro, June 5, 1800 - as recorded on town register. Mr. Sheldon reports Susan Thomas as his wife.

Lemuel, b. Mar. 8, 1785, m. Betsey Burnham, Sept. 22, 1811. He d. Mar. 30, 1859. John Presson now living in town was his son.

Submit b. Feb. 20, 1787, m. probably, Jacob Estey.

The late Presson Stearns' mother, of Chesterfield, N.H. was a daughter of Lemuel Presson. Lydia, his wife, died Mar. 1, 1787. He m. 2d, March 25, 1788, widow Anna (Lawton) Temple, and their children were:

John and Esther, twins, b. Jan 20, 1789;

Aaron and Hannah, twins, b. June 26 and 27. 1791.

William Emerson and Betsey, twins, b. Aug. 7, 1793.

John m. Eliza, dau. of John M. Field and removed to Warwick. Esther m. Benjamin Dennis. Aaron m. Achsah, dau. of John French, of Hollis, N.H. Hannah m. July 5, 1813, Otis French. Wm. Emerson m. Polly Brooks. Betsey m. _______ Greenwood.

Mary, b. 1795, m. Leonard Smith.

Joseph, b. Nov. 27, 1798, became a clergyman and settled in New York.

Sally, b. Dec. 31, 1800, m. George Smith. Philana, b. Aug. 30, 1803, m. Ebenezer Dennis.

Lemuel Presson died Dec. 12, 1820, aged 67. His second wife, Anna, died about 1855 aged 97.


Joseph Bemis, born in 1619, was in Watertown, Mass., in 1640; d. Aug. 7, 1684. By Sarah, his wife, he had 9 children.

Philip Bemis, probably a grandson of Joseph, who settled in Watertown, was in Cambridge in 1723, m. Elizabeth Lawrence, Nov. 21, 1723; removed to Westminster, Mass., 1738, was the third settler in that township. His children, born in Cambridge, were baptised: Philip and William, Nov. 13, 1726; David, July 30, 1727; Abigail, July 25, 1731; Edmond, Oct. 22, 1732; Zacheus, July 25, 1736:

David m. Mary, great-grand-daughter of Henry Dunster, first president of Harvard College. He became a Baptist minister, known as Elder Bemis, who died 1813, aged 86. His children were John, Joseph, Benjamin, Elias, Abner, Levi, Asa, Samuel, and Sarah, most of whom, if not all, settled in Dummerston.

John, b. June 13, 1753, m. 1st, Abigail, sister of Henry Stevens of this town, who d. 1782 AE 27; 2d, Jemima, dau. of Elder Daniel Whipple, the first Baptist minister in Vermont, who died 1789, AE 97, and was buried at Brattleboro. Children by the first marriage: Benjamin, m. Rebecca Dickinson, resided at Bath, enlisted and died in the regular army; Abigail, m. May 1, 1806, Joseph Hildreth, jr., had children, George, John, and Arazina; Lucy m. John Streeter and settled in Lisbon, N.H.; by 2d marriage, John, jr., Daniel W., David, Stephen, William, Emeline, Melinda, and Catherine.

John, jr., m. 1st, Rhoda Bebee, July 5, 1807. Children: Roxana, married Charles Butler, who was drowned in the Connecticut river in 1838; John Bradley m. Electa Boyden; 2d, Dolly Pettis; 3d, Patience Wright.

Daniel W. m. Melindy Goddard; children: Melinda, Anna, Orpha, and Sumner. A few years before his death he removed to Hinsdale, N.H.; died 1867.

David m. Rhoda Sargeant, Feb 13, 1817. Children: Erastus, Daniel G., Samuel N., and Horace. Erastus was a physician, and m. Ruth McCullough, and settled in Pennsylvania. Daniel G. m. 1st, Amanda M. Bemis, 2d, her sister Melvina A. He was killed instantly by the falling of a tree in 1864.

Samuel Newell, physician; graduate of Vt. Medical College in 1848, married Louisa R. Miller in 1851; settled in Stanford, 1852; representative in legislature 1854, '55, '65, again in 1874; removed to Dummerston, 1869; resident 12 years, with extensive practice; removed to Brattleboro in 1881.

Horace, lawyer; studied with Asa Keyes of Brattleboro; m. 1st, Caroline S. Bruce; removed to N.Y.; m. 2d, Sarah Washburn. Stephen married Sophia Daniels.

William m. 1st, Isabella Houghton, 2d, Marinda Willard; 3d, Dolly Sargeant. He died 1868. William H., his son, soldier, died in late war of Rebellion.

Emeline m. Nathan Applebee, Aug. 31, 1812; settled in Littleton, N.H.

Melinda m. David Daily; lived in Newbury.

Catherine m. Dr. Sewall Walker; d. in 1872.

John Bemis, son, was a Revolutionary soldier; came from Brattleboro to this town before 1792; died in 1835, aged 83; Jemima, his wife, d. in 1830,


was in the Continental service at the age of 17. He wintered at Valley Forge with Washington's army in 1777. One night he stood on guard over a house in which Gen. Washington was an inmate. At drybreak, the General came out and said, "Pretty cold morning isn't it, soldier? Do you suppose a little peach brandy would hurt you? "I think not," replied Bemis. The General sent him the brandy. On another occasion Washington wished to pass into camp where Bemis was on guard. He halted the General, presented his gun and called for the countersign. "You can let me pass," said Washington, "I am one of the officers." "You must give the password first" said the soldier. You have a fine gun there soldier." "Yes," replied Bemis, "Guess I can kill an Indian six or eight rods off. Stand out there; you can tell." The General held out his hat, showing the countersign inside, and was allowed to pass on. As he went by, he slapped Bemis on the shoulder and said, "I wish I had a whole regiment of soldiers like you."

Joseph Bemis, born in 1759: married Jemima Stoddard - Children: Polly, b. June 29, 1781, m. Nathaniel Attridge, Jan. 24, 1802; Cyntha, b. Dec. 20, 1783, m. Joel Chandler, Dec. 6, 1804; Joseph Jr., b. Aug. 5, 1786, m. Abigail Hadley, Dec. 3, 1807;

Sibyl, b. Nov. 26. 1789, m. Ebenezer Hadley, Oct. 6, 1814; Asa, born 1795, d. 1799;

Joanna, b. Apr. 8, 1797, m. Rufus Hadley. Mr. Bemis settled on the farm now owned by Luke T. Bond. He died Aug. 16, 1837, aged 78; Jemima, his wife, d. June 15, 1842, aged 89.

Joseph Jr. lived on the parental farm many years; removed to New York, and now living in his 98th year. Ch:

Priscilla, b. 1808, m. George Dickinson;

Edwin B. m. 1st Eliza Ann, dau. of Joseph Duncan Esq., 2d Ann Crossfield;

Louisa E. m. Alexander Dickinson; Lewis m. Naomi Cushman; Jesse m. Parmelia Cole; Abigail died young. Mary Ann m. John Emerson; Jane E. m. James Peabody; Harriet S.; Sarah m. Dennison Wilson.

Joshua Bemis, a Revolutionary soldier with Joseph Sen., probably a cousin, m. Joanna ____, about 1783. Ch Joanna and Abigail (twins), b. 1785, Polly, Bezina, Ira, Stephen, Olive, Sibyl, Ira 2d., Betsey and Beman.

Benjamin, brother of Joseph Sen. m. Olive Baldwin Mar. 14, 1793. She was born Aug. 23, 1769, and after her father's death, her mother m. Benjamin Jones Jr. Apr. 8, 1774.

Elias Bemis, b. July 15, 1767, m. Experience Kendrick, Jan. 12, 1789. He died June 2, 1806, from exposure after having the measles. The grief of his wife for him, made her partially insane. She married 2d Samuel Willington, July 14, 1808.

The children of Elias were Lemuel K., b. Oct. 22, 1790; Abner, b. 1792, m. Bolivia Tracy; Clarissa, born Mar. 28, 1794, m. Jonathan French; ,Sally, m. Asa Miller; Lavina, m. Edward Whitney; Eliza m. Loran Smith.;

Lemuel K. m. Feb. 23, 1813, Betsey, dau. of Elijah Buck, a Revolutionary soldier. Children: Mandana, Betsey, Maria, Cyrene, Willie, and Lemuel.

Abner Bemis. a Baptist minister, m. Katie Freeman and settled in Halifax, Levi m. and removed to New York. Asa went West, but returned to Dummerston. Samuel m. Betsey Bemis, his cousin, Oct. 29, 1794. She was a dau. of Samuel, who m. Elizabeth Robinson of Lexington, Mass. Sarah m. Paul Dickinson, Dec. 13, 1796.


Dr. Samuel Stearns became a resident of Dummerston about 1796, and practiced medicine in this town several years. He was of a roving character and, previous to his residing in Vermont, had traveled in nine of the American states; and in England, Scotland, Ireland, and France. He was born in Lancaster, Mass., in 1747, and was, as expressed in his own language: "early taught by parents and ministers to fear God and honor the king was also instructed in the various branches of grammar, arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, navigation, surveying, astronomy, music and medicine. I always had a natural inclination to do good; to walk in the paths of righteousness, and to shun vice and immorality." When quite young, he removed with his parents to Paxton, an adjoining town, where, at the age of 26, he engaged in the practice of medicine and compiling and publishing almanacs. His medical practice was fair, and his fame as an astromomer led many of the inhabitants to consult him on the turn of future events. Nothing had occurred to change the current of his existence till after the Revolutionary war. He was suspected of being disloyal to the American cause and it became evident that he was a tory. For that reason his practice fell off and his friends deserted him, except those who were loyal to the king. He did not flee from the royal lines, but chose to remain and endure the sneers and insults, which were freely bestowed upon him, until 1780, when he was arrested. His experience for the next seven years is given in his own words in a petition dated, Brattleboro, July 18, 1799, and addressed to his Excellency Robert Liston, Philadelphia, Penn., which was the seat of U. S. government at that time, and by him to be transmitted to the king:

"To the King's Most Excellent Majesty:-

The petition of Samuel Stearns most humbly, - That when the unhappy dissensions commenced between Great Britain and your Majesty's American colonies, he was an inhabitant of Paxton, in the county of Worcester, in the province of the Massachusetts Bay, where he followed the practice of physic and the making of astronomical calculations. That a number of years he suffered persecution in consequence of his loyalty to Your Majesty, and attachment to the British government, was made a prisoner on the twenty-third day of September, A. D. 1780, accused of holding a traitorous correspondence with and affording aid and comfort to the enemy, supposed to be Your Majesty's armies, but was liberated by giving bonds for his appearance before the Supreme Judicial court in April following. That on the third day after he was thus recognized he received information that his adversaries had issued a second warrant with the design to put him in close confinement, and finding that his life was in great danger, fled for protection to Your Majesty's army, then at New York. That he resided within the British lines, during the remainder of the war, and Congress having ratified the treaty of peace between Great Britain and America, he returned to said Paxton in the year 1784, with a design to collect sundry debts due to him and ascertain the value of the property he had left and remove his family to Nova Scotia. That although it had been in the 6th article of said treaty, that no prosecutions would be commenced against any person, etc., for, or by reason of the part he had taken in the war; and that no person would on that account, suffer any future loss or damage, either in person, liberty or property, yet in less than two days after his return he was seized and imprisoned in the goal in said county of Worcester, under the pretence of being brought to trial, in consequence of the accusations already mentioned. That, without any trial, without the finding of any bill against him, and without his being allowed anything to eat, drink or wear, at the expense of the county or state (water excepted) he suffered two years and eleven months confinement in a very disagreeable prison, although it had been customary to allow states' prisoners something for their subsistence even if they had been theives, highway robbers and murderers, and although he frequently petitioned the general court or assembly of the commonwealth of Massachusetts praying for liberation and the enjoyments of those rights which were granted to him as one of Your Majestys' subjects in the definitive treaty of peace between Great Britain and America. That, for a long time be was treated with neglect and contempt, but was at last discharged from confinement on the 28th day of July, 1787, by order of said General Assembly, Then he was liberated in a very distressed condition, being destitute of house and the common necessaries of life, but went with his claims for the loss of his houses, lands, etc.. to Montreal, in the Province of Quebec, in hopes it was in the power of the commissioners appointed by Your Majesty to inquire into the losses, services and sufferings of the American loyalists, to grant compensation. That he found that it was not in the power of the commissioners to receive his claims because they had not been delivered to them previous to the begining of May, 1786, at which time he was in prison. He, therefore, went to Great Britain, petitioned for relief and had some compensation granted for what he had suffered the time of the war, but not anything that he knows of, for his sufferings since the establishment of peace.

That he returns his sincere thanks to Your Majesty for those favors, and further begs leave to mention that he returned to America in the year 1791; and having been informed that the commonwealth of Massachusetts had paid for his board whilst he had been a states, prisoner, went into that government to visit his friends in the year 1793, when he was unexpectedly seized and imprisoned in the goal in the county of Bristol, for not paying said board. That he suffered four days, eighteen hours and fifteen minutes close confinement in said county of Bristol, and lost by this prosecution 141 pounds, 16 shillings and 6 pence, sterling. He also lost, when imprisoned in Worcester, 273 pounds, 19 shillings and 9 pence, sterling, in consequence of his non-appearance before the Supreme Judicial Court, when he resided within the British lines in the time of war, the greatest part of which sum was paid to the said commonwealth by his bondsmen, who were also imprisoned. That said imprisonment also prevented his collecting the debts that were due to him in said state, which amount to 368 pounds, 6 shillings and 6 pence, sterling, including the principal, which, joined to, amount to 784 pounds, 2 shillings and 9 pence. besides the two years, eleven months, four days, eighteen hours and fifteen minutes imprisonment which he has suffered repugnant to the requisitions of the articles of peace. That he has petitioned to Your Majesty's commissioners in Philadelphia, and these appointed by the President and Senate of the United States of America, for the purpose of ascertaining the amount of all loses and damages as divers merchants and others. Your Majesty's subjects have sustained in consequence of their being debarred by sundry lawful impediments from collecting their debts in said states, praying that they the said commissioners, would aid and assist him in obtaining compensation, but they esteem themselves as not empowered to act upon the subject because his imprisonment is considered not as lawful but as an unlawful impediment to his collecting his debts. That he understands that a number of Your Majesty's subjects in Nova Scotia and elsewhere, who formerly belonged to Massachusetts, are debarred from receiving compensation for their debts in the same manner, although it does not appear by the records that the General Assembly of Massachusetts ever repeated the laws they made in the time of war for the purpose of protecting the American loyalist, and which were repugnant to the definitive treaty of peace between Great Britain and America, till the year 1787. That it appears by an article of Congress passed in the year 1794, that no foreigner is allowed to sue any state within the limits of the United States of America. Therefore, he sees no way to obtain compensation for the injuries and abuses that he has received than that of imploring Your Majesty's most gracious aid and assistance. He there-fore prays that Your Majesty will be pleased to aid and assist your petitioner, and all others, Your Majesty's loyal subjects, who have been injured by violations of the treaty aforesaid, "for whom no provisions appear to be made at present for their relief" in obtaining compensation of the United States in such a way and manner as Your Majesty in your wisdom may see fit.

Sworn before me this 23d of July, 1799,

Luke Knowlton,

Member of the Honorable Council for the State of Vermont in America and Justice of the Peace throughout the State."

The five or six years succeeding his release from imprisonment, in 1787, were spent in various parts of the United States and Europe. In 1789, he was for a short time engaged in editing the Philadelphia Magazine. He published an almanac which was printed in Bennington. In 1790, he published a work entitled "A Tour in Holland, by an American." It was printed in Worcester, Mass., though he was then in Europe. In 1791, he had published in Dublin a work entitled "Dr. Stearns's Tour from London to Paris." His "American Oracle" was published in New York, in 1791. It was printed for, and sold by Hodge & Campbell, & Co.

In this book, he states that he is the author of a treatise entitled "The, Mystery of Animal Magnetism Revealed to the World." In 1801, he published by subscription "The American Herbal." It contains the names of subscribers, mostly in Vermont and New Hampshire. In the "American Oracle," under the head of chronology, is the following item:

"Dec. 29, 1782, Dr. Stearns, having made the calculations, publishes the first Nautical Almanack that ever was printed in America."

That credit is accorded to him at the present time. His "New Hypothesis Concerning the Cause of the Aurora Borealis" was formed while he was in Vermont, as thus recorded in the Oracle.

In the evening of the 26th of January 1788, as I was sitting in a large room in the state of Vermont, the weather being very severe, a cat jumped into, my lap, whose hairs were stiffened with the cold; and, as I stroked them I observed that they emitted coruscations,, and I began to conclude that they were the electrical fluid."

In a few minutes afterwards, he noticed the Northern Lights and reasoned that the atmosphere might likewise emit sparks, or electrical light, if it is properly stiffened with the cold, and agitated by the different currents of air. When in London, Jan. 27, 1791, he wrote a poem to commemorate his new theory of the Northern Lights.

The Oracle comprehends an account of recent discoveries in the arts and sciences. In it he records:

"Jan. 26, 1790, Dr. Stearns receives a letter from Dr. Herschel, informing that Mrs. Herschel, sister to the Doctor discovered a comet on the 7th instant." Thus it is known that William Herschel LL.D., F.R.S., the celebrated astronomer, married a sister of Doctor Stearns.

In the Boston Athenaeum Catalogue, Samuel Stearns is credited with his degree M. D. and LL.D. It has been stated that he obtained his degree in England, but it is not known that he was a graduate from college. He says in his preface to the American Oracle, dated New York, Sept. 12, 1791, that philosophy, the liberal arts and sciences have been the objects of his early and unremitting study. The practice of physic, and the making of astronomical calculations engaged his attention for upwards of twenty years. He had a familiar acquaintance with the latest and most approved author upon the liberal and mechanical arts and sciences, attended lectures upon physiology, chemistry, magnetism, electricity, optics, astronomy, and other branches of natural and experimental philosophy.

He invented a Tide-table for the Sea Ports of' the North American continent. "was astronomer for the Provinces of Quebec and New Brunswick: also, for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the State of Vermont.

Dr. Stearns was married before 1780, and his wife was not living at the time of his first imprisonment, for, while in jail, he wrote a poem, dated July 15, 1786, advertising himself for sale as a widower. He married twice while living in Dummerston. The second wife, Sarah, died in this town and was buried near the grave of Capt. John Metcalf. The following inscription was copied from the slate stone erected to her memory:

"The Honorable Mrs. Sarah Stearns, the amiable Consort of the Hon. Samuel Stearns, One of the Senators of the University of Aberdeen in Scotland, Physician and Master of the Canon and Civil Laws, died in this Town, Oct. 14, 1801, aged 54 years 10 months and 22 days."

The same inscription is recorded on the town book. His third marriage is recorded in the same book. The lady was the widow of Alexander Kelly, Sen. he died Jan. 15, 1803. She was the widow Albee when married to Mr. Kelley, Mar. 13. 1797, and her former residence was Bellingham, Mass.

Dr. Stearns was married to Mrs.. Elizabeth Kelley, of Dummerston, Nov. 10, 1803. by Samuel Mead, Rector of the Church in Alstead, N.H., in the presence of the following witnesses, - Jason Duncan, Sarah Duncan, Jabez Butler, Experience Butler, Delia Butler, Thomas Lewis, Mehitable Lewis, Thankful Grover, Polly Town, Mary Grinnell and Philenda Smith. In the marriage certificate, he states that he was "one of the Royal Pensioners of the Kingdom of Great Britain." Thus it appears that he was successful in petitioning the king for aid.

Dr. Stearns while a resident of Dummerston, lived in the east part of the town. In 1804, he occupied what has since been called the "Birchard place." He owned one-half acre of land and one-third of the store. Jabez Butler and Asa Houghton owned the remaining two-thirds. He sold the land and his share in the store, the same year. to Butler and Houghton. The store was 40 by 60 ft. and was the first one burned on that site, when occupied by Roger Birchard. Asa Houghton, born in Bolton, Mass., Feb. 3, 1775, was a nephew of Dr. Stearns. He was in trade in this town but died in Putney, Sept. 10, 1829, where he has a daughter now living. He was an uncle of Simon W. Houghton, Esq. of Putney.

Dr. Stearns had a sister, Martha Stearns, who married Simon Houghton grandfather of Simon W. Houghton, Esq. now living in Putney. She was born in Lancaster, Mass., May 30, 1750, died Apr. 3, 1823. Her husband was born Oct. 15. 1737. Both died in Bolton, Mass., a town taken from Lancaster.

A lady now living in Dummerston, nearly 88 years old remembers the Doctor quite well. He was called to see her mother, who was sick of a fever, and she describes him as a nice looking man. His hair was white and combed straight back from his forehead and worn in a queue. During his visit to the sick woman, the doctor looked in the mirror two or three times to see whether his hair was all right.

Just how long he was a resident in this town is uncertain. His home was in Brattleboro at the time of his death. In the northwest corner of the cemetery south of Brattleboro village is a slate-stone bearing the following inscription:

Sacred to the Memory of

Samuel Stearns, LL.D., who

Died Aug. 8, 1810 aged 63 years.


Nature was his preceptor, philosophy

His mistress, and astronomy his prompter.

Disappointment ever succeeded his best

Endeavors; he deserved better.

Ingratitude was the reward of his labors.

Peace to his ashes.

Note: Dr. James Conland of Brattleboro is entitled to much credit for looking up the history of Sam'l Stearns. The writer of this sketch is much indebted to him for valuable information taken from a paper read by him before the Brattleboro Professional club and published in the Vermont Phoenix, June 8, 1883.

Dr. Samuel Stearns was an inhabitant of this town many years. His toryism made it unpleasant for him to remain with the patriotic citizens of this town and he left for Canada and remained till peace was declared, after which he again returned. Before his return he spent a few years in England where he had the degree of LL.D. conferred on him. He was born at Lancaster in 1736.




Ye ladies all who have a mind

In Matrimony to Engage

With me that's honest good and kind

That is nigh to fifty years of Age.

I am but of a middling Size [Sound]

My Limbs are strait, ther'e good and

I have a pair of bluish Eyes,

And with good health I do abound.

I have myself once married been;

It happened in my younger Age;

More than a thousand Days I've seen

Since My companion left the Stage.

My children, they all married be

And all alone I must Remain

Unless that I should chance to

See One that will Marry me again.

Hence, tho' in Prison I'm Confined

I do expose myself to Sale

And Advertise that it is my mind

To Marry tho' I am in Jail

I want a wife that is clean and neat,

That is neither Bashfull nor too cold,

Whose shape, Deportment, all complete,

That is not stingy, nor a Scold.

Let such an one now visit me

Whilst in the Prison I'm Confined

And if with me, She can agree

Ourselves, in marriage we will bind.

Some Ladies often almost Cry

Because Confined in jail I be

And whils't they're even passing by

They dare not stop to Visit me;

Because they think that in these Days

Some people of them would make sport.

If they in such Religions ways

Should once begin the men to court.

The Ladies wish me out of Jail,

Are sorry for my Dismal fate

But as I'm now exposed to sale

I hope they will no longer wait;

But Visit me without delay

That so a Husband they may find

Who to a wife both Night and Day

Will always be exceeding kind.

Let our Great Men soon make a Law

That the Kind Ladies shall not fail

To often Visit men that Draw

Their fancies, tho' they be In Jail.


Composed by a Prisoner, July 15, 1786.

Note: these verses, written by Samuel Stearns wore copied by the writer from the original unpublished poem, long in the possession of J. F. Stearns of Dummerston and given by him sometime before his death, to Dea. Simon W. Houghton. John F. Steams died Nov. 25, 1872, aged 82, and is supposed to have been a relative of the doctor. The value of these verses is chiefly of a historical character, giving as they do, a description of the doctor in his own language, stating his age and circumstances in life. He was "nigh to fifty" in 1786, and must have been born in 1736, as Dea. Houghton, his sister's grandson, claims. Therefore his age should have been 73 and not 63, as engraved on the slate-stone. Mrs. Houghton always said that "Poor Samuel," as she was wont to call her brother, was much older than herself, who was born in 1750. Dea. Houghton claims also that Dr. Stearns came to Dummerston several years before 1796, and the claim is made good by the Doctor himself, who says in his book that he was in Vermont in Jan. 1788.



"The Hon. Samuel Stearns, LL.D. one of the Royal Pensioners of the Kingdom of Great Britain, after being lawfully published three Sundays, was on the 10th day of Nov. 1803, legally married by me according to the method practiced by the church of England, to Mrs. Elizabeth Kelley of Dummerston.




was among the first settlers in this town. His wife was Patience Hilliard, and their children were Polly, b. Feb. 17, 1778, m. John Barnes Dec. 22, 1796; Patience, b. 1781, d. infant; Persis, b. Sept. 10, 1782, m. Oct. 7, 1810, Daniel Newton of Newfane; Joseph, b. 1784, d. infant; Samuel, b. Dec. 7, 1788. Sally, probably a daughter of William Negus, m. Asa Houghton, Aug. 10, 1804.

Three daughters of John and Polly (Negus) Barnes married as follows: Mary Barnes, June 19, 1820, Cornelius Tuttle; Persis, Jan. 23, 1821, Benjamin Tuttle; Martha, Oct. 7, 1821, Joel Tuttle.

John Negus married Lydia ____, and their children were Elizabeth, b. Oct. 21, 1787; William, b. Aug. 22, 1789; Lydia, b. Sept. 24, 1791.; John, jr., b. Aug. 22, 1793; Sarah, b. Oct. 2, 1795; Polly, b. 1797, d. infant; Patience, b. Sept. 14, 1798; Zeruiah, b. Jan. 20, 1801; Samuel, b. Apr. 5, 1803; Benjamin, b. May 13, 1805; Joseph, b. Apr. 13, 1807; Abigail, b. Oct. 1, 1809, John Negus, the father of these children, died Sept. 30, 1809.

Elizabeth Negus m. Nathan Davis May 10, 1781. His first wife was Sarah Jones, whom he m. May 26, 1774.

Samuel Negus m. Jan. 30, 1783, Sarah, sister of Enoch Cook. Diraxy Negus m. Thomas Barnes, Dec. 26, 1787.


one of the first five selectmen chosen Apr. 15, 1776, died Dec. 22, 1800, about 75 years of age. His son, Arad Holton, died Oct. 8, 1841, aged 88 yrs. 11 mo. Arad married Anna Haven for his first wife. She died Feb. 1, 1787, aged 28 yrs. 4 mo. Children: Reuben, b. Nov. 9, 1778; Ira, b. Apr. 26, 1780; Arad, b. Sept. 9, 1781; Ariel, b. July 26, 1783; Experience, b. Mar. 20, 1785.

He married his second wife, Rebecca Houghton, May 13, 1787, who died Dec. 17, 1800, aged 35 years. Children: Wranslow, b. Jan. 11, 1788, now living at the age of 91 years; Louden, b. June 23, 1789; Rebecca and Ira, twins, b. Dec. 23, 1795; Abel, b. Sept. 7, 1800.

He married, 3d, Mrs. Eunice Spaulding, widow of Josiah Spaulding, whose maiden name was Skinner. She died Jan. 21, 1856, aged 85 yrs. 6 mo. Children: Joel, b. May 14, 1803; Eunice, b. Aug. 3, 1808; Denslow, born Aug. 29, 1810.


a citizen of the town in Revolutionary times, resided in school district No. 4 in the N. E. corner of the town. He was born May 22, 1750, and died Jan. 20, 1823, aged 72. Jail Johnson, his wife was born Mar. 6, 1755. Children:

William, b. Apr. 16, 1773; David, b. Feb. 6, 1775, d. Feb. 22, 1780; Ebenezer, b. Feb. 14, 1777; Lucy, b. Dec. 6, 1778; Martha, born Mar. 29, 1780; Ashbel, b. Jan. 30, 1782; Tabatha, b. Jan. 12, 1784; Ezekiel Porter, born Nov. 20, 1785; Abigail, b. Mar. 2, 1788; Samuel, born Dec. 29, 1789; Mary, b. Mar. 4, 1792; David Ward, b. Nov. 20, 1793; Stephen, b. Feb. 13, 1796.





Col. Josiah Willard of Winchester, N.H., bought Jan. 9, 1754, a share of land in Dummerston belonging to Jonathan Hubbard, Esq., of Townshend, Mass., for £2 Old Tenor Bills. Hubbard was an original grantee. Jan. 23, 1754, John Pierce, a farmer of Winchester, whose name is on the charter, sold a share of land in this town to Col. Willard. John Summers, farmer, of Winchester, sold him the same year his right to a share, as an original grantee. In 1759, Col. Willard bought a share of Elijah Alexander of Winchester.


Capt. John Kathan bought a whole share of Capt. Samuel Hunt, gentleman, of Northfield, Mass., for £60.

Hunt was a original grantee. At this time Mr. Kathan had occupied the land 12 years. He sold the farm to his son, John, jr., for £400, June 12. 1786.

In the deed the farm is described as a certain tract of land in the N. E. corner of Dummerston, containing 300 acres, "on which I now live, and is one whole right of land deeded to me, the said John Kathan, by Samuel Hunt and surveyed to me by Elisha Root." John Griffin and Willard Moore were witnesses to the deed and were sworn, after the death of Capt. Kathan, by Judge Benjamin Burt of Windham County Court, when the deed was recorded Nov. 26, 1787.

The proprietors of the township at this time were the heirs of Lieut. William Dummer and Hon. Anthony Stoddard of Massachusetts.

Governor Dummer died in 1761, and Stoddard had died before the granting of deeds in 1770, to the settlers. John, Jeremiah, William, and Susanna Powell were the heirs of Governor Dummer, and Martha, Anthony, and Simeon Stoddard were the heirs of Anthony, deceased. Martha had married John Stevens, and Simeon, not of age, had a guardian named Joseph Jackson. Most of the heirs resided in Boston, but Stevens was, in 1773, a resident of Ashford, Conn. Each lot contained 100 acres, size 160x100 rods.

They were numbered from one to 148 in what is now Dummerston. Each settler paid 5 shillings, as a recording fee, and the consideration for each lot was that certain work had been done on the land, and each purchaser should clear and fence four acres fit for the plough or scythe, also erect and finish a dwelling-house thereon, not less than 20 feet square; also that a house for public worship be built in Dummerston and a minister of the gospel be settled therein within 4 years from the date of the deed, June 26, 1770.

Thomas Clark from Worcester, Mass., bought lot No. 52, that year, but afterwards purchased, June 12, 1783, for 100 "Spanish Milled Dollars," the adjoining lot No. 53, on the north, and lived many years on the place now owned and occupied by J. E. Worden.

Isaac Beard bought lot No. 113, near the present location of West river bridge.

Ezra Robinson's lot, No. 49, was in the south part of the town, east of the "Rice place." He sold a part of his land to Nathan Davis, Feb, .19, 1777, reserving a bridle-path through it to Benjamin Jones's house. Robinson sold, Oct. 22, 1779, another portion of land to John Rice for $300.

John Friswell's lot, No. 61 was sold by him to Col. William Boyden, June 26, 1771. It is now Willard Dodge's farm.

John Killbury purchased lot, No. 23, east of Slab Hollow.

John Wilder from Sturbridge, Mass. located on lot No. 97, the east part of which is the old Alvord place. Wilder sold 60 acres of the west part to Jonas Walker from Rutland, Mass., Jan. 8, 1778 for £160.

Hosea Miller settled on lot, No. 54, east of the meeting-house, June 5, 1782, he bought of the proprietors lot, No. 55, north of his homestead, for £60. Wm. O. Miller, postmaster, now owns the farm.

Ebenezer Haven located on lot, No. 14, where Orren Haven now lives. June 5, 1782, he bought of the proprietors lot, No. 24 for £50, the farm has ever since been kept in the family name. Mr. Haven owned one half of lot, No. 29 near Putney on the Connecticut river.

Capt. Isaac Miller, who helped Ebenezer Waters survey the town in 1767, selected lot, No. 11, now known as the Abial Walker farm, where he lived many years. He sold the farm to his son, William Miller, Apr. 29, 1758, for £500.

Samuel Dutton Jr., bought lot, No. 122, up in the Hague, and sold the same to Joshua Walton, March 10, 1783, he, performing the work required of Dutton. June 5, 1782, Mr. Dutton bought of the proprietors, lot, No. 51, one mile south of the meeting-house, where he lived many years.

Alexander Kathan, Esq. settled on lot, No. 15, the well known Kathan farm. At the date of his deed, he had been a resident of the town 9 years. He owned a part of lot, No. 18, near where Samuel Wheeler now lives. It was bought of Isaac and Asa Sharpe, the Connecticut proprietors, Feb. 18, 1784.

Charles Davenport located on lot, No. 12, known as the John F. Stearns place. Rufus Sargeant bought lot, No. 1, in the S. E. corner of the town and in 1783, bought lot, No. 7, in the next range.

Joseph Miller bought lot, No. 148, in the N.W. corner of the town; owned by Ichabod Knapp in 1782.

John Shepherd Gates bought lot No. 29, near Putney. He sold a part to Ebenezer Haven, Apr. 10, 1780.

John Gates located on lot, No, 32, one half mile from Putney line on the road leading to Brattleboro.

Enoch Cook lived on lot, No. 67, Levi M. Walker now owns the farm, kept in the Cook family four generations now. Mr. Cook sold to his son, Enoch Jr., Apr. 3, 1789. Joseph Temple settled on lot, No. 36, where the Temple family lived many years.

Samuel Laughton located on lot, No. 63, where Austin Laughton now lives. Oct. 9, 1787, he deeded the farm to his sons, Samuel Jr. and Jacob in equal shares.

Benjamin Jones resided on lot No. 44, in the south part of the town, near the Rice place.

Elias Wilder bought lot, No. 47, of Benjamin Gould of Brattleboro, June 27, 1770. The other deeds of that year were dated June 26. Some of the early settlers neglected to have their deeds recorded in the Dummerston books, and deeds granted in 1770, were not recorded for ten and even 14 years after that date.

May 29, 1772, Dr. Stephen Little of Portsmouth, N H., bought of Meshech Weare of Hampden Falls, N.H., three whole shares of land situated in the following township, Viz: Dummerston, Halifax, and Bridgewater, and the same year sold the shares to John McKesson, a lawyer, of New York City. In 1785, McKesson appointed Jacob Bagley his attorney to sell all his lands in Vermont.

June 5, 1773, Charles Leonard from Worcester, Mass., bought lot, No. 146, in the Hague, of Abraham Taylor of Worcester, and settled on the same, He sold one half the farm to his son, William, in 1776.

June 5, 1774, Joseph Negus of Petersham, Mass., sold lot, No. 81 to William Negus of Granby, Mass., for £25. In 1783, William bought a part of lot, No. 68, east of where he lived. William and John Negus may have been sons of Joseph. [page 69]

January 3, 1774, John Scott and Susanna, his wife, sold a part of lot, No. 22, east of Slab Hollow, to Aaron Brooks. He sold a part of lot, No. 4, to Brooks in 1773. The land in lot, No. 4, is near Connecticut river, east of Alonzo Dutton's farm. Dr. Solomon Harvey and Mary, his wife, who lived on the adjoining lot, south from Brook's, witnessed the deed.

Dec. 26, 1774, Daniel Gates bought lot, No. 65 of the proprietors in Connecticut for £23. The firm is now owned by John Miller. Gates sold a piece of land in 1791, to Cotton Skinner, a shoemaker, who sold the same in 1792, to Nathan Cook. Capt. John Metcalf, gentleman, who married Sarah Taylor of Hinsdale; lived just south of Gates' house, on land which he bought in 1789, he sold his place to Wm. Moore of Greenfield, Mass., also the store near the meeting-house in which Benjamin Estabrook lived many years.

Dec. 19, 1775. Elijah Town sold part of lot No. 89 to his son, Elijah Jr. He had bought of J. Shepherd Gates and Adam Whitney. It is now the farm of Howard Jones. Gates bought in 1782, lot, No. 28, and the farm is probably where Alanson Gates now lives. He owned lot, No. 32 and sold in 1781, 42 acres to Smith Butler.

May 26, 1776. Joshua Walton sold to Lt. Josiah Allen a part of lot, No. 122, south side of Fall Brook with the benefit of a mill spot for $176. Walton was a resident of the town in 1770, and had probably bought land of the original proprietors before that date.


Martha Stephens of Boston, widow of John Stephens, daughter and only heir at that time of Hon. Anthony Stoddard; gave Dec. 9, a deed and release of certain undivided land in Dummerston, reserving sales previously made by her husband, to Jonathan Amory, a merchant of that city for £2600.

Benjamin Estabrook from Rutland, Mass., bought of Wm. Negus, carpenter, one half of lot, No. 81 for £70; located near Black mountain and recently owned by Josiah Dodge.

Samuel Dutton sold Jan. 9, to Ephraim Rice from Petersham, Mass., lot, No. 74 for $500. Now called the Rice farm, Mr. Dutton probably lived on that farm before buying of Jonathan Knight in June, following. John Rice sold Oct. 23, to Amos Rice from Petersham, Mass., lot, No. 52 for $700. This farm may have been the Samuel Duncan place. John, also, sold Ephraim Rice 30 acres in 1783.

John Scott sold, Mar. 17, to John French, miller, the eastern half of lot, No. 38 in Slab Hollow for £20. The boundary line began at the "L6g Bridge" below, "and running as the road runs till you get eight rods above the grist-mill dam, then westerly a straight line, so as to take half of said lot." French sold in 1784, to his son, John Jr., 23 1/2 acres "with one half of the grist-mill and mill-spot, one half of the dwelling-house on Joseph Hayward, my son-in-laws' land."

A part of the boundary was "the southeast-east corner of my Log House." Joseph Hayward was a shoemaker. In 1783, French sold Hayward one half his farm-house, grist-mill and mill-privileges. The deed was signed by John French and Mary, his wife. Hayward was married to their daughter, Sarah, Jan. 15, 1784, by Rev. Mr. Goodhue of Putney.

April 7. Jonathan Knight, Esq., bought lot, No. 58 for $655, with buildings thereon, of Cyrus and Experience Houghton. This is the Simeon Reed farm, and the old buildings were a few rods south of the present dwelling-house on the place. Artemas Knight of Worcester, Mass., sold, Apr. 19, lot, No. 49 to Jonathan Knight, and he sold the same to Samuel Dutton June 9, "for $600 Bay Currency, or silver at five shillings & eight pence the ounce." In 1780, Jonathan purchased a whole share of land in the township of Cornwall, Vt. of Nathan Foot. Cyrus Houghton, who sold his farm to Mr. Knight, was doubtless the father of "Daniel Houghton, killed at Westminster March ye 13, 1775"

March 20. Joshua Walton sold a part of lot, No. 113 to John Crawford, near West river bridge. Mr. Crawford, on account of sickness in 1782, delivered up his property to the selectmen and they were to provide him with "such Necessaries as shall be comfortable for my support." He died in 1785, and William Boyden, Admr. sold his remaining estate to Micah French Jr. for $144.

Sept. 22. Lt. John Wyman from Cambridge, Mass., bought a part of lot, No. 38 of John Sargeant of Brattleboro. He also purchased the same year a part of lot, No. 39 of Asa Sharpe, a proprietor in Connecticut. This farm is now owned by Henry French. Oct. 13, he bought a part of lot, No, 63 of Thomas Clark.

Jonathan Gates of Worcester, Mass., sold June 19, one half of lot, No. 22 to Isaac Miller.

Dec. 9, John Manley sold land to his son, John Jr., near to Jonas Livermore. John Jr., sold a part of the same lot, No. 115 to Seth Hudson, housewright.

Jan. 3, Joseph Hildreth Jr., sold lot, No. 119 to Joseph Covey and Hazael Hooker.

Aug. 16, Thomas Murry sold Capt Ebenezer Merrick a part of lot, No. 126, on West river road near the land of Oliver Evans.

Sept. 13, Tillotson Miller of Deerfield, Mass., sold lot, No. 34 to Josiah Boyden.


May 19, John Florida from Shrewsbury, Mass., bought of James Nichols a part of lot, No. 27 on the river road to Putney, for £420.

Nov. 29, Samuel Laughton sold a part of lot, No. 63 to Thomas Laughton, a shoemaker, from Rutland, Mass. Deacon Thomas, as he is called, lived east of Jacob Laughton's, probably where J. Arms Miller now resides.


Dec. 16, Samuel Dutton sold to his son, David, one half his farm, including half the house, north end. and barn, one half the stock, farming-tools &c. In 1786, he sold Asa Dutton one half of the farm, and signed an acquittance to Stephen Dutton for one-half the barn in 1789. Asa's half of the farm included one half of the first division of lot, No. 49. "west of the road which runs between the house and barn, as then trod," and the southern half of the second division of the lot. One half the house was deeded to Asa in 1789.


Benjamin Whitney bought Nov. 1, lot, No. 10, of Daniel Taylor Esq., of Newfane, for "500 Spanish Milled Dollars" This is probably the farm south of where Alonzo Dutton now lives. Mr. Whitney sold a part of his lot, 15 acres, the same year, to William Boyden.

Apr 14, Wm. Kelley sold lot, No 93 to Jesse Manley for $200 - near the Gardner Knapp place.

Apr. 27, Samuel Duncan, from Guildford, bought 43 acres of Ezra Robinson, near Brattleboro line Mr. Duncan is reported in 1786, as a miller from Northfield, Mass., when he sold land to Ephraim Rice.


Jan. 18, Jack Freeman sold to John Fuller a farm for $400, near Isaac Miller's on the Connecticut river road.

Aug. 20, Samuel Norcross, cordwainer, from Putney, bought lot, No. 90, near Putney line, of Samuel Childs and Leicester Grosvenor, the Connecticut proprietors.

June 5, Thomas Holton settled on lot, No. 62, which he purchased of the original proprietors. He sold one half the farm to Arad, his son, and it has been occupied by the Holton family 100 years.

May 13. The proprietors in Boston, of land in Dummerston, gave a power of attorney to Jonathan Mason Jr., and Rufus Green Amory and their names as agents' for the proprietors appear on deeds after this date.

Samuel Childs Jr., was a resident of Woodstock, Conn., and Leicester Grosvenor, of Windsor, Mass. They sold several lots to the early settlers.

Daniel Taylor Esq., of Newfane, sold most of the farms in the west part of the town to the first settlers in that locality. He bought several lots in the east part of the town and resold them to settlers.

Dec. 14, Thomas Burnham sold to Oliver Hale from Marlboro, Mass., "the whole of the labor and possession that's done on lot, No. 35 except a small piece that's cleared on the south part of said lot by Parmenas Temple, and a house and about one acre of land on the south west corner of said lot."

Oct. 25, Nathaniel French, son of Nathaniel French of Brattleboro, settled on lot, No. 113, near West river, "it being part of the right of Mr. John White, who was one of the original purchasers of the commisioners appointed by the Province of Connecticut, as by the Antient Deed appears." Mr. French had probably been on the lot some time before the purchase was made.

June 5, Aaron Brooks bought of the proprietors, lot, No. 21, and sold one half the same Aug. 20, to John Fuller. Dea. Adin A. Dutton now resides on the farm. Dan Brooks married Polly Presson of Gilsum, N.H., Aug. 6, 1783, and in 1787, Aaron Brooks deeded him 12 acres in lot, No. 4 east, near the river.

June 5, Joseph Hildreth bought of the proprietors lot, No. 91 near Spauldings' hill.

June 5, Barzillai Rice purchased lot, No. 56 east of Jacob Laughton's.

Oct. 25, John Miller bought of the Connecticut heirs lot, No. 84, near the Prospect hill.

June 5, Jason Duncan bought of the original proprietors, lot, No. 80, where he settled and lived many years, near the William Negus place.

Mar. 29, Rev. Joseph Farrar bought of Barzillai Rice a part of lot, No. 65, north of the meeting-house. The place was afterward owned by Dr. Sewall Walker and was where he resided at the time of his death.

June 5, Marshall Miller bought of the proprietors, lot, No. 85 where he settled near his brother, John. In 1783, he purchased of Asa Sharpe 40 acres in the adjoining lot, No. 64.

June 5, Beniah Putnam purchased lot, No. 95 and sold one half the same in 1784, to Jonas Livermore.

June 5, Elijah Cook located on lot, No. 87 and sold one half the same to Solomon Cook. Elijah's wife was named Elefe. This farm is located where Asa Laughton lived many years.

June 5, Richard Kelley bought lot, No. 41 one mile southwest from the Hollow.

Nov. 12, Ichabod Knapp sold lot, No. 148 in the northwest corner of the town to Joshua Bemis. In 1787, Bemis bought a part of lot, No. 126 of Capt. Merrick. Knapp sold in 1783, a part of lot, 119, to Thomas Turner of Putney. John Turner bought of Bemis, a part of lot, No. 148 in 1786.


Apr. 24, Moses Taylor bought of Asa Sharpe lot, No. 68 south of Enoch Cook's lot. The east end of this lot, 30 acres was sold in 1784, to Dan Hibbard by Hosea Miller.

Apr. 28, Dea. Nathaniel Holmes, cordwainer, bought 40 acres taken from the west end of lot, No 116. Josiah Packard purchased on the same day the remaining 60 acres in lot, 116. The farm was afterwards owned by Deacon Daniel Walker.

Apr. 22, Asa Sharpe of Pomfret, Conn., sold Lemuel Davenport 60 acres in lot, No. 64, one-half mile north of the meeting-house. He also sold Apr. 24, 50 acres in lot, No. 60. next to Putney line, to Jabez Butler, now probably, Howard Jones' farm. Sharpe sold Jesse Hildreth, April 21, lot No. 3 near the Slate Quarry.

Capt. Ebenezer Merrick bought Apr. 16, of Josiah Willard of Winchester. N.H., one whole share of land originally granted to John Pierce, a charter proprietor; located near West river. Apr. 21, Sharpe sold Cornelius Jones lot, No. 50, about 1 1-2 miles south of Hosea Miller's.

Mar. 19, Richard Kelley sold Wm. Kelley one half of lot, No. 41, and Apr. 22. Sharpe sold William Kelley 1-2 of lot, No. 42, in vicinity of William Knapps' place.

Mar. 7, Lieutenant Daniel Kathan, housewright, bought one-half of lot. No. 12. This land is east of where Roger Birchard's store was burned.

Apr. 29, Nathaniel French of Brattleboro bought lot, No. 5, probably now a part of Samuel Wheeler's farm.

May 14, Parmenas Temple sold John Bennett his lot, No. 35. Oliver Hale had made considerable improvements on this lot and Bennett paid him £95 for his "labor and possession " A clearing made by Temple, also, a house and one acre of land in the southwest corner of the lot were not sold.

Apr. 21, Sharpe sold Aaron Jones lot, No. 48, south of Samuel Dutton. He also sold Elias Wilder, Nov. 10, one-half of lot, No. 72, a part now of the Stephen Dutton place.

Sept. 19, Ephraim Rice bought lot, No. 76, now Leroy Wilder's farm.

Nov. 12, Ebenezer Hadley bought one-half the adjoining lot, No. 75.

Apr. 26, Ashbel Johnson, carpenter, bought one-half of lot, No. 31, near Putney .

Apr. 22, Sharpe sold Wm. Middleditch, one-half of lot, No. 42, east of Samuel Dutton.

Apr. 21, Oliver Hartwell bought 32 acres in lot, No. 50, north of Samuel Dutton.

Apr. 21, Sharpe sold Cornelius Jones lot, No. 6, near Rufus Sargeant.

Apr. 26, Jonas Stockwell from Newfane bought on Dummerston Hill a whole share of land of Colonel Josiah Willard of Winchester, N.H., originally granted in the charter to Elijah Alexander.

May 14, Josiah Temple sold a part of lot, No. 36, to Parmenas Temple.


Feb. 4, Daniel Sargeant bought of David Bond a part of lot, No. 2, near Rufus Sargeant.

Mar. 5, Dr. Thomas Baker bought of John Scott, 35 acres in lot, No. 38 and lived where Joel Miller now resides.

May 7. Joseph Nourse bought lot, No. 118, near Putney line and West river.

Aug. 11, Rev. Joseph Farrar sold for £140 to the town of Dummerston, his share of land known as the Public lot on which the meeting-house stands, with buildings and improvements thereon, which he claimed by virtue of his being the first settled minister of the gospel in town.

Mar. 9, Ebenezer Wait, blacksmith, from South Hadley, Mass., bought of Rev. Joseph Farrar five acres in lot, No. 65, on which he built a blacksmith's shop, and in May 1785, he bought a house opposite the shop of Sarah Cutler, wife of Seth Cutler, for $22; location near the road east of Clark Bacon's house.

Oct. 19, Capt. David Barton and his son, David Jr., bought 50 acres in lot, No. 68, south from Enoch Cook.

Asa French, the same year sold Abraham Rice lot, No. 135, near Wickopee Hill.

Oct. 15, David Bixby from Leyden, Mass., bought 40 acres in lot, No. 97, west of Jonas Walker.

May 2, Isaac Childe bought a share of land on Dummerston Hill, of Col. Josiah Willard. He sold the same day a part of the land to Stephen Bennett from Brattleboro, for $200. His son, Orren Bennett, was born and is still living at the ago of 90 years, on this place.

Sept. 26, Wm. Sargeant bought land near Capt. John Kathan.

May 20, Dea. Thomas Laughton bought of Barzillia Rice a part of lot, No. 57.

May 17. Capt. Ellis Griffeth bought a lot on Dummerston Hill of Daniel Taylor, and he also sold a lot, May 18, to Seth Briggs in the same locality.


June 22, Paul W. Hazen and Edward Hazen Jr., from Swansey, N.H., bought of George Atkinson of Portsmouth, N. H,, lot, No. 105, on West river road next to Brattleboro line.

July 30, Lieut. Leonard Spaulding bought of Joseph Hildreth, lot, No. 91, in consideration of work performed; near Putney line. In 1786, Spaulding bought of Joseph Minot of Concord, N.H., his share of land in Dummerston, owned by virtue of James Minott's right as a charter member.

Dec. 24, Capt. Ebenezer Merrick made his "Pitch of land," 200 acres bought of Colonel Willard of Winchester; location on West river road, north of the village. Merrick also made several other purchases of land in that locality and resold to first settlers.

Apr. 14, Samuel Howe bought land near Fall Brook, of Josiah Packard. Zachariah Cutler owned land near the same brook. Abraham Fitts, who lived in that locality bought his land in lot, No. 116, of Packard in 1787. Packard bought land of Isaiah Stone of Townshend. Seth Smith and Hannah, his wife, sold Packard a part of lot, No. 115.


May 2, Silas Taft sold Solomon Willard of Winchester, N.H., "the gristmill and houses and barns and every building and Fence on 20 acres" for £135; location, West Dummerston village.

Mar. 14. Benjamin and Samuel Presson from Chesterfield, N.H., bought of Micah French Jr. a part of lot. No. 122, up in the Hague.

June 13, Seth Hudson bought of the proprietors lot, No. 94, now the Reuben Walker place, and Reuben Spaulding bought 32 acres of James Manley, west of the same lot.

Aug. 31, Henry Cressy from Chesterfield, N.H., bought 61 acres in lot. No. 34, of Josiah Boyden, joined on Canoe brook.

May 4, John Whipple bought lot, No. 56, south of Jacob Laughton's place. No. 6, Jonathan Page, trader, at West village, sold his store to Dan Taylor.

Oct. 5, Benjamin Whitney bought 100 acres of John Penhallow, Esq., of Portsmouth, N.H. It was a part of the original right of Richard Wibird, Esq., late of Portsmouth, of whom Penhallow was an heir. Robert Fletcher of Dunstable, N.H., one of the original grantees and Daniel Warner of Amherst N.H., an original grantee, sold each, a share of land in Dummerston to Daniel Taylor.

Dec. 17, Robert Usher of Merrimac, N.H., an original grantee sold his share to James Minott of Concord, N.H.

Mar. 20, Stephen Woodbury, trader, bought of Charles Davenport & Son, one-half the saw-mill on Salmon brook, near the grist-mill of Maj. Josiah Boyden.


Jan. 10, Isaac Burnett bought lot, No. 129 and a part of 109.

Rufus Green Amory, agent for the proprietors in Boston made the following sales November 5, to Isaac and Electa Bigelow, lot, No. 17; Sylvanus and Dorces Ballad a part of No. 35; Asa and Polly Dutton a part of No. 71; Isaac and Elizabeth Boyden, a part of No. 55; Samuel and Jemima Nichols, No. 20; Adam and Lucy Whitney, No. 141; Thomas and Rebecca Laughton, a part of No. 57; Calvin Butler No. 33; Jos. and Jemima Bemis, No. 70; Lycas and Hannah Symonds, No. 140; Jonas and Sarah Livermore, No. 121; Abel and Rebecca Butler, No. 88; Jesse and Bethany Knight, a part of No. 57; Seth and Sarah Duncan, No. 112; Jabez Butler, a part of No. 57; Hosea Miller, No, 145, near Newfane; Lemuel Graham for work done by his father, Andrew Graham, No. 40, about 3/4 of a mile south of Slab Hollow.

Jan. 4, Timothy Underwood from Srewsbury, Mass., bought land next to Putney line, Samuel Wakefield and Isaac Taylor bought lot, No. 125, in the Hague. Nov. 25, Jason Duncan bought lot 79, of Amory, where he lived and kept the town clerk's office many years.


Asa Caryl limit Marlboro bought what is now called the Caryl place. July 7, Samuel Porter of Putney-bought lot, No. 140, on Dummerston Hill.

July 28, David Pollard, shoemaker, sold all his goods, tools, stock &c. to Timothy Church of Brattleboro.



The first committee to lay out roads in this town were chosen in Mar. 1771; Samuel Wiswall, Alexander Kathan, and Enoch Cook. At the same meeting, Benjamin Jones and Alexander Kathan were chosen surveyors of highways.

Nov. 23, 1772, the town voted to accept all the roads, as then laid out except the one leading from the meeting-house to Daniel Kathan's. After an adjournment of two hours during which time all difficulties were adjusted so that when business was again resumed, the town voted "by a grait majority" that the road be accepted as it then run from the meeting-house, past Hosea Miller's down across Salmon brook, by the "Corn Mill" (in the Hollow) out to Daniel Kathan's and the "grate road" leading from Putney to Brattleboro. In 1773, there were only three highway districts in town. For that year, John Shepherd Gates was chosen surveyor for Dist. No. 1 in the eastern part of the town, Hosea Miller for No. 2 in the central part, and Samuel Dutton for No. 3 in the southern. June 15, 1773, John Shepherd Gates surveyor in No. 1, was instructed to have the inhabitants, living on the road leading to Putney by John Kathan's, work out their share of taxes on that road, exclusive of the road lately laid by J. Shepherd Gates to Putney. No further record of roads was made on the town books, as now existing, till 1780, when the selectmen laid out a road from William Boyden's, past Thomas Holton's, Samuel Laughton's, down across Salmon brook and up to Lt. Daniel Gates' house where John Miller now lives. That part of the road from the brook to John Miller's is not travelled at the present day. The same year, the road was turned a few rods north of Daniel Gates' and made to run "as strate a course as the land will admit of to the meeting-house."

Before the road it was straightened, the course was further to the eastward. The road extending north to Lt. Spaulding's was probably laid out and accepted in 1772.

In May 1781, the selectmen laid out a road beginning near where Dea. Leroy Wilder now lives, running northeasterly, northernly, then northwesterly, "to the road that leads from West river to the meeting-house." A part of this road is the one now leading past Luke T. Bond's place. The road was turned in 1780, from where Stephen L. Dutton now lives, and laid out down to the road now leading past Hiram Knapp's residence, to Brattleboro.

June 1782, a road was laid out from the house of Nathaniel Haven to Paul Wilson's land, then on his lot, to the road "that goes to Shepherd Gates'. In 1783, Josiah Boyden had a road laid out from his house to the road leading past the Temple farm.

The old road from the meeting-house to West river, went south, past Enoch Cook's, where it turned southwest, and then westerly, to the top of the hill, extending down by the Benjamin Estabrook place, straight west, past Benjamin Alvord's and Jonas Walker's place, then northwesterly to the river.

The old road leading east from the meeting-house was changed in 1782, and instead of running on the north side of Thomas Clark's house, where J. E. Worden now lives, was made to run south of his dwelling-house and was several rods farther south than the present road, leading from the common to the top of the hill on the west side of the Salmon brook.

In 1781, the selectmen laid out a road from Rufus Sargeant's place west by Elihu Sargeant's northwesterly to Josiah Kelley's, then north to Richard Kelley's: which is the road now travelled from Parker Morse's, where Rufus Sargeant lived, west by the George Hildreth place, round past the Joseph Nourse farm, even to the Hollow. The river road to Brattleboro, in those times, went from the place now owned by John Presson, over the hill by the Stephen French place, past Samuel Wheeler's, then southerly, coining out at the Willington place now owned by Milton Miller.

The road now running west, above George Knapp's place to West river, was laid out Jan. 16, 1781. The western part, ending near Addison Knapp's house, was laid out in 1783.

The road laid out across Dea. Jesse Manley's land to Putney line, was accepted in 1797. Josiah Spaulding gave a bridle-road through his land to Abraham Farr's house, and it was established in 1797. Abraham Farr lived south from the Simeon Reed place on Putney west-hill.

In 1797, the town established a bridle-road from Mr. Haven's, to Elijah Brown's also, turned the road from the Rice place to Stephen Dutton's, and accepted one from Daniel Zwears to the "great road" over West river. No other roads are on record up to 1797, but several more must have been laid out previous to that year.


WHAT THEY ATE: -- In all the New England settlements, one common article of food was bean-porridge. It was eaten for breakfast and, oftentimes, for supper. Dinner, usually, consisted of boiled meat and some kind of vegetables, most frequently turnip. These were boiled in a large iron-pot or kettle.

To make bean porridge, a sufficient quantity of beans were boiled with meat and turnip. When these were removed, the residue with the beans, was made into porridge. In cold weather enough was made at once to last several days. It is said in the old rhyme that it was "best when it's nine days old." However that may be, it was customary every morning, to "hang the kettle on" and serve the porridge smoking hot. After milk became plenty, that, with brown bread was eaten usually, by families, for their evening meal. The brown bread was baked in a stone or brick oven often built separate from the house. On baking days, when the oven was sufficiently heated, the coals were removed with the "fireslice," and the oven swept clean with the "oven broom." The "bread-peel," a kind of wooden-shovel, was used to place the bread in the oven where it was baked on the bare heated stone or brick. The grandfathers and grandmothers claimed that no bread baked in a pan or dish ever tasted so sweet as it did when baked as they were accustomed to have it done.

Pumpkins were baked in the same way as bread, and also furnished a common article of food. A ripe pumpkin, having a very hard shell was taken, and a hole was cut in the stem-end some five or six inches in diameter, the piece being kept whole which was taken out. The seeds and all the stringy substance were then scraped out clean. Thus prepared, it was partly filled with new milk and covered with the piece taken out, placed in a well-heated oven and left to bake six or eight hours. It was allowed to cool in the oven, and, when served, was eaten with milk. Some scraped out the pumpkin and ate it in bowls -- others turned the milk into the pumpkins and ate from the pumpkins.

Govenor Chittenden in his youth often made a hearty meal in this way. Pumpkins were very much preferred to squashes by the early settlers and few of the latter were raised.

Turnips and parsnips were raised in large quantities and were the most common vegetables. Very few potatoes were grown and scarcely a barrel would be disposed of by a large family in a year. Sweet corn, which is so extensively used at the present day, was unknown, and when corn was wanted to boil or roast in the green state, yellow corn was used. Considerable quantities of wheat were raised, but it was not much used in everyday life. Wheaten cakes were a luxury to be enjoyed when company was present, Barley cakes were eaten, and buckwheat was not much relished except as hoe-cakes and "flapjacks." Boiled and baked Indian puddings were a common diet, and Judd says in the history of Old Hadley that some families had 365 of these hard boiled puddings in a year. The style of living in "ye olden time" has been celebrated in song.

"Pottage and puddings without custards and pies,

With turnips and parsnips are common supplies;

We have pumpkins at morning and pumpkins at night,

'Twas not for pumpkins, we should be in a plight."

.Great quantities of meats were eaten. These consisted of beef and pork and the wild meats obtained in the forests, such as bear, deer, moose, wild turkeys and smaller game. The streams and rivers abounded in fish of which large quantities were caught and eaten by many families.


It is granted that cold water was used when nothing stronger could be obtained; but strong drinks were much used, and the grandfathers were full of expedients to make them. Malt beer was a common beverage.

"If barley be wanting to make into malt,

We must then be contented, and think it no fault;

For we can make liquor, to sweeten our lips,

Of pumpkins, and parsnips, and walnut tree chips."

From the settlings in beer-barrels, our grandmothers made "Emptyings," a kind of yeast, so called because the barrels were emptied for the settlings.

Flip, a strong drink, was usually made of beer heated foaming hot with a red hot "loggerhead," and then pouring in a glass of rum. Punch was also a common drink and was passed round to the company in bowls. This kind of drink was so called because it originally contained five ingredients - water, sugar, tea, lemons, and arrack, a kind of spirit. The word means five. Later, rum was the kind of spirit used, and milk was added to make milk-punch.

Black-strap was a cheap kind of drink and was drank when nothing better could be afforded. It was made of rum sweetened with molasses. Toddy and egg-nogg furnished other varieties of drink. As soon as the people obtained orchards, cider was drank in large quantities by all classes, rich and poor. Hop-beer was also brewed and drank in large quantities. All drinking of the common people was social, all drinking from the same mug or bowl.


Garments for summer were made of tow-cloth or linen spun from flax. Wool was raised in considerable quantities and furnished the materials for winter garments. Carding, spinning, weaving, and coloring were done by the industrious females, and the cloth manufactured into garments and bed-clothing. Flax was raised in large quantities.

Instead of being mown or reaped, it was pulled and the dirt shaken very carefully from the roots. This was by general consent, the work of women and girls. The flax after it was pulled was laid out and rotted for several weeks to make the fibre suitable for breaking and preparing for spinning. The young women of nearly every family could spin and and most of them could weave. The male members of a house-hold usually went barefoot in summer time, and females in some cases went without shoes. The women were very careful of their shoes, and in some instances they would in going to church, carry their shoes, and at some convenient place before arriving, put them on.

Shoemakers or cordwainers, as they were called, were accustomed to go about from house to house, and make for each family in a neighborhood, a year's stock of boots and shoes, which was called ''whipping the cat."


The style of living was necessarily simple. Their first houses were rude structures made of unhewn logs. The open spaces between the logs were filled with clay and mud, and the roof was shingled with bark or rived splints.

The interior, usually consisted of one room lighted with one or two small prison-like windows. A rough stone chimney was built at one end of the room, having a fireplace capable of receiving wood 4-feet in length and children might sit in the corners and look up at the stars. More light was often conveyed into the room from the large chimney than from the dim little windows. One room was made to serve the purpose of kitchen, dining-room, dormitory, and parlor. Later, when boards could be procured, a more comfortable and convenient house was built, generally with two rooms, a board floor and brick chimney, on one side of which was a brick-oven. The most important apartment was the kitchen with its capacious fire-place, andirons and bellows, the crane and pot, suspended from it, showed that the day of stoves had not arrived. The commodious high-backed settle made a comfortable seat protected from the wind, whistling through the crevices. There would be found the spinning-wheel, plied by the good housewife as she found leisure; and the trusty firelock and powder-horn hung over the fireplace ever ready for any emergency.

For dishes, wooden plates were first used, then pewter, and later, "Queen's ware," which were kept in a sort of cupboard called a "dresser."


was the tallow-candle or tallow-dip as it was often called. Later, the oil-lamp came into use, and lastly, kerosene and gas. Matches had not been invented, and the utmost precaution had to be taken lest their fires should go out. Fire was kept by burying a brand deep in the ashes. When the fire was out, it was necessary to obtain it from some neighbor or strike a light with the aid of flint and steel. The invention of "locofoco" matches was hailed with delight.

The line of distinction between the rich and poor, the cultivated and uncultivated, was more distinctly drawn in the early days than at the present time. They were very careful to give no titles where they were not due, and, also, as careful to write the titles of persons in affairs that were passing. Mister and Mistress were respectful forms of address for persons of rank, or ministers and their wives. In a list of 100 freemen of olden times, you will not find above four or five distinguished by Mr., although they were men of some substance. "Good man" and "good woman," often abbreviated to "goody," were the common titles.


were few but exceedingly social. Husking and quilting-bees were frequent in the farming communities. House-warmings, house and barn-raisings, the old fashioned muster, and the fourth of July nearly completed the list of entertainments.


was performed on foot or on horseback. At every house was the horse-block or convenient place to mount the horse. A man, his wife and two children could ride conveniently on the back of a strong horse. The husband held one child in front, and the wife rode behind him on a pillion, holding another, and with one hand clinging to her husband.

Before fields were fenced, cattle were kept in one drove and guarded by a man who from the nature of his employment was called a hayward.

Swine were guarded or looked after by a committee of nine persons chosen annually called "Hog-Haywards." Isaac Miller Jr., had the honor of being elected to that office in this town in 1780.


were peace officers, and were so called because they originally had charge over ten families in a neighborhood.


were officers to inform against persons who killed deer out of season, which according to law, was between January 1st and Aug. 1st.





THE OLD MEETING HOUSE: - The history of building the old meeting-house began with the first town meeting of the settlers, Mar. 4, 1771. Action was taken to secure a lot on which to build. Isaac Miller and Benjamin Jones were the committee to choose the lot. Nov. 23, 1772, the settlers accepted the lot chosen by the committee, and appointed Joseph Hildreth and Enoch Cook to forward the building. Charles Davenport and Lieut. Spaulding drew the plan of the house, 50x40. May, 1774, the town took action in regard to hiring preaching the year ensuing. The building of the house had so progressed that the town-meeting was held there on May 16, 1775.

It is inferrrd that the committees, Cyrus Houghton and Joseph Hildreth, did not succeed in hiring a preacher for that year, as, Aug. 22, 1775, it was voted in town-meeting that John Hooker, one of the heroes from Dummerston in the fight at the court-house at Westminster, 1775, "should carry on public worship on the Lord's day." We conclude that no person was hired to preach till 1776, when it was voted Apr. 25, "to hire preaching this year," Lieut. Leonard Spaulding, Jonathan Knight and William Boyden were chosen a committee for hiring preaching.

Nov. 19, 1776, Jonathan Knight was chosen to get, of the proprietors a lot of land to settle a minister on; Barzilla Rice, Lieut. Leonard Spaulding and Joseph Hildreth were chosen a committee to give instructions to Mr. Knight about getting the lot of land; and, as it had been previously voted to hire preaching, it is inferred that


that year, as the same committee were instructed "to treat with him about the tax due him, and how much he must have before he goes away."

The committee were paid for their trouble and the interest on the money was paid to Mr. Dudley, which they had borrowed. At the same meeting the town voted to set apart, Nov, 1776, for a day of public thanksgiving in this town. There are no further town records till February 1780. The records for the intervening time have been lost.

When Rev. Joseph Farrar was hired to preach, the house was in a very uncomfortable condition. There were but few, if any, pews built till 9 years after the church was organized, in 1779. In 1788, a committee was chosen for building pews, and a porch over the front door. Gallery-pews were sold that year to furnish money to build other pews and finish more pews in the gallery. Windows, having glass, were not furnished for the house till 1790, at which time $60 was raised for that purpose. These windows were finished in 1791, and the committee drew orders on the town for making the sashes, glazing and putting them in, July, 1783; and voted for finishing the porch 60x60, and yet after it was finished, it was not considered of much service to the town, for Aug. 15, 1786, it was voted to sell the "present porch to build a pound." Dan Hibbard and Moses Taylor agreed to build the pound 30 feet square of round poles for the porch. At the same meeting the town voted to build "stocks, and to have the post of the stocks be the whipping post." At the time the pews were built in 1788, the town voted to build another porch over the front door, 14 feet square in order to save room for four pews. The amount realised for the sale, of pews, 37 in number, was 700. In 1794, the house was plastered for the first time at an expense of $150; furthermore, Charles Davenport Jr. was hired by the town, that year, to sweep the meeting-house, once per quarter for the sum of 75 cents.

[Information received since the above was in type.]

John Hooker should, also, be included in the committee for building the church, chosen, Dec. 28, 1772.

The pews were sold Nov. 20, 1786, for $479, and were built in 1788, with money thus received: 36 were sold and one reserved for the town, making 37 in all. In the first paragraph, May 1774 should be April 25, 1776.


in Dummerston was organized Aug. 18, 1779, with 16 members:


members: Joseph Farrar, Thomas Holton, Joseph Temple, Aaron Brooks, John Crawford, John French, Joseph Temple Jr., Amos Rice, Mary French, Sarah Holton, Sarah Town, and Hannah Brooks, The Ecclesiastical Council which organized the church, represented the churches in Putney, Brattleboro, and Chesterfield, N.H.; Jonah Goodhue was moderator.

It is not stated in either church or town records, at what time Mr. Farrar began preaching in this town. He was probably installed in Aug. 1779. The first two children were baptised August 29, 1779, daughters of Samuel and Susanna Laughton, Esther and Susanna. The church records were first kept on loose pieces of paper and some of them being lost, the account is imperfect.

When Mr. Farrar was first settled, the town gave him a deed of the farm on which he resided during his ministry. The town acted in concert with the church in the management of its affairs, so far as respects the settlement and dismission of ministers, and payment of their salaries. During his pastorate, about 5 years, 129 children were baptised - a large number compared with the infant baptisms in more modern times. It may in part be accounted for by the fact persons not in full communion, were allowed to present their children in this ordinance. Frequent records are made to this effect. Certain persons renewed their covenant and became entitled to baptism for their children. Besides 32 persons were received into full communion; a few by letter, the rest by profession, and a large proportion were heads of families. These additions were scattered along, equally over the time of his pastorate. There was no special ingathering at any one time, and this constant increase would indicate faithfulness on the part of the pastor and a healthful growth of the church; and it is probable that others were received into the church besides those who appear on the record.

The church chose its first deacons in 1783: Amos Rice, Thomas Laughton, and Nathaniel Holmes. Mr. Farrar was dismissed May 12, 1784, by an ecclesiastical council in which were represented the churches in Westminster, and Hinsdale, and Chesterfield, N.H.

May 31st. the town voted to accept the referees: John Sessions, Luke Knowlton, and John Bridgman, mutually chosen on the 13th Inst. by Mr. Farrar on one part, and the church and town committee on the other. July 22d., the town voted to have the selectmen and their investors take the deed of Rev. Joseph Farrar, in behalf of the town. Also, voted unanimously to secure John Shepherd Gates, William Boyden, and Thomas Clark, the present selectmen, who have taken the deed of Mr. Farrar in behalf of the town, and make good all cost and damtages that may accrue to them by reason of any suit or suits brought against them on account of their obligations given as aforesaid. In September the committee settled with Mr. Farrar and paid him the amount due on his salary.

Some information concerning


and family. Neither the church records, nor the town records of Dummerston, furnish any information in regard to Rev. Joseph Farrar's place of residence before he was settled here in the ministry or where he went after his dismission. During the summer of 1882, we chanced to see a copy of the "History of Marlboro, N.H." and learned several families, having the same name, Farrar, resided in that town.

This history and a correspondence with the author, Charles A. Bemis, furnished this information. The name Farrar signifies iron, and was, doubtless, first used to designate a locality where that metal was found. As a family name it was first known in England from Walkeline de Farrars, a Norman of distinction attached to William, Duke of Normandy, before the invasion of 1066. From him, all of the name, in England and America, are descended. His son, Henry de Farrars, was the first of the family to settle in England, soon after the Conquest. The family became very numerous in England. Among the original proprietors of Lancaster, Mass., were two brothers, John and Jacob, as early as 1653. Tradition says they came from Lancashire, England.

Jacob, left his wife and children in England till a new residence was prepared for them in Lancaster, 1658. He died in Woburn, Mass., 1677. His eldest son, Jacob, b. in England, probably about 1642, m. 1668, Hannah, dau. of George Hayward. He was killed by the Indians, Aug. 22, 1675. George, second son of Jacob Jr., b. Aug. 16, 1670, m. Sept. 9, 1692, Mary Howe, and settled in that part of Concord, now Lincoln. He died May 15, 1760. His wife d. Apr. 12, 1761. Daniel, the second son of George and Mary (Howe) Farrar, b. Nov. 30, 1696; m. Hannah Fletcher; settled in Sudbury, and died about 1755. Josiah, the eldest son of Daniel, b. Sept. 1722; m. 1745, Hannah Taylor of Northboro. Her father, John Taylor, was a man of considerable note and a tory of the Revolution, whose name was borne by a former govenor of New Hampshire, John Taylor Gilman. Daniel, a brother of Josiah was born in 1724; m. 1748, Mary ____.

Phineas, a son of Josiah, was the father of Calvin, whose eldest daughter, Caroline Eliza, married Levi Brown of Waterford, Maine, and became the mother of Charles Farrar Brown whose nom de plume was "Artemas Ward."

Rev. Joseph Farrar was the third and youngest son of George Farrar of Lincoln, Mass., and was born probably in that town, June 30, 1744. He was doubtless, a great-grandchild of George Farrar, b. 1670, and whose death occurred in 1760. He graduated at Harvard college, 1767, and married July 28, 1779, Mary Brooks of Grafton, Mass., b. Feb. 4, 1755, and who lived to be over one hundred years old and celebrated her one-hundreth birthday by attending church. Rev. John J. Putman preached, on the occasion, from Prov. XVI. 3. "The hoary head is a crown of glory, if it be found in the way of righteousness."

The history of Dublin, N.H., states that Rev. Joseph Farrar was the first settled gospel minister in that town, ordained June 10, 1772; dismissed June 4, 1776, and enlisted in the Revolutionary army, serving for a time as chaplain and leaving the army became the first settled minister in Dummerston.

After leaving Dummerston he became the first settled pastor in Eden, 1811; (Vol. II. Vt. His. Gaz.); 1815, removed to Petersham, Mass., where he died Apr. 3, 1816, aged 72 years. Children of Rev. Joseph and Mary Brooks Farrar:

Joseph, b. Apr. 4, 1780; resided in Petersham, Mass.

Mary, b. Oct. 18, 1781, died Apr. 13, 1786;

Joel, b. July 28, 1784. died April 13, 1786;

Reuel, born Nov. 5, 1786; settled in Petersham, Mass;

Anna, b. Feb. 10, 1789. Sally, b. Jan. 20, 1794;

Humphrey, b. Aug. 13, 1798; settled in Petersham, Mass.

The salary of Rev. Mr. Farrar was 40 pounds or $133 2-3 a year. A part of his salary was paid in hard money, the rest in produce and wood. June 15, 1782, the town

"Voted to except Wm. Negus Lieut. Leonard Spaulding, to provide wood (24 cords) for Mr. Farrar one year from this Day for Ten Dollars or three Pounds."


Elijah Town and Mary Reed, June 29, 1780.

Samuel Kelley, Margaret Howe, July 6, 1780.

Ichabod Knapp, Caty Miller, Dec. 10, 1780.

Smith Butler, Thankful Houghton, Dec. 20 1780.

Samuel Knight, Susanna Burge, Jan. 4, 1780.

John Miller, Polly Davenport, Apr. 1, 1781.

Nathan Davis, Betty Negus May 10, 1781,

Jabez Butler, Deliverance Whitney, May, 1781.

Isaac Boyden, Elisabeth Laughton, .Jan, 1781.

Jonas Livermore, Sarah Woodbury, June, 1781.

John French, Rebecca Hayward, Nov. 22, 1781.

David Laughton, Mary Spaulding, Nov. 20, 1781.

Silas Gates, Mary Laughton, Dec. 4, 1781.

David Dutton, Polly Higgins, Jan. 3, 1782.

Thos. Burnham Deliverance Graham, Jan. 1782

Ezekiel Rice, Judith Willard, May, 22, 1782.

John Burnham, Rhoda Wilson, .July, 3, 1782.

Cha's. Wilder, Sarah Spaulding, Oct. 27, 1782.

Wm. Miller, Hannah Worden, Nov. 10, 1782.

Abel Haven, Rachel French, Nov. 24, 1782.

David Bond, Patty Sargeant, Dec. 1782.

Samuel Gates, Susannah Laughton, Dec. 4, 1782.

Samuel Negus, Sarah Cook, Jan. 30, 1783.

Asa French, Mercy Rice, Apr. 17, 1783.

Chas. Davenport Jr., Polly Wood, May 8, 1783.

Eijah Brown, Relief Haven, Oct. 8, 1783.

Jesse Knight, Bethany Perry, Nov. 6, 1783.


Marshall Miller, Wid. Abigail Boyden, Nov 1778.

Natha. Haven, Wid. Eunice Farr, May, 1779.

John Hasey, Mary Pratt, May 15, 1782.

John Hill, Meribah, Perry, June 3, 1784.

Lemuel Graham, Eunice Burnam, Aug. 19, 1784,

Lemuel Stoddard, Polly Thomas, Oct. 21, 1784.

Benj. Alvord, Katherine, Davenport, Nov. 1784.

Asa Wilder, Wid. Joanna Crawford, Dec. 1784.

Abraham Rice, Lucy Nurse, Feb, 17, 1785.

Ebenezer Brooks, Sarah Bliss, Apr. 1785.

Samuel Kelley, Rebecca Choat, May 17, 1785.

John Hill, Molly Graham, Mar. 8, 1786.


Joseph Shaw, Elisabeth Thomas, June 30, 1785

Samuel Laughton, Anna. Spaulding Dec. 11, 1786.

John Wyman Jr. , Susannah Cole, Nov. 22, 1786

Jacob Laughton, Lydia Crosby, Aug. 14, 1787.

Arad Holton, Rebecca Houghton, May 13, 1787

Thos. B. Barnes, Duaxy Negus, Dec. 26. 1787.

Daniel Davenport, Hannah Rice, Jan. 21, 1787

Andrew Willard, Caty Rice, Mar. 6, 1787.

Sam'l Nichols, Dolly Blodget, Dec. 20, 1787.

Jona Boyden, Ruth Jefferson, Mar. 13, 1787.

Jesse Hildreth, Lucy Severy, Sept. 10, 1787.

Ebenz. Barber, Rebecca Alvord, Oct. 3, 1787.

After the dismission of Mr. Farrar,


was employed in the ministry. The records of the church during his ministry, as well as previous to it, are very defective. Mr. Crosby commenced his ministry in 1784, and preached about 3 years without settlement. His salary was raised from year to year by the town. In December 1786. a call was given to him to settle and a salary offerered to him, .£66 per year, to be paid in grain. One third part in wheat at 4s. 8d. per bushel; one third in Indian corn at 2s. 8d.

Mr. Crosby accepted the call and the salary giving any individual tax payer liberty to pay his share of it, in either kind of grain that would be most convenient for him to spare. This privilege was given on condition that it be paid within three or four months when it became due. During Mr. Crosby's ministry there were 180 baptisms and about 50 admissions to the church.

Difficulties arose in the town in those days: and an unhappy contest was coninued for a long time, relating to the "ministerial lot of land." Some person engaged in this contest, destroyed the town-records, extending over eight pages; and as no church records were kept, no particulars can be given.

All that is to be found on the church book is the record of baptisms and admissions. By those who remember Mr. Crosby, he is said to have been "a good man;" but in the latter part of his ministry, "an abused man."

There was a meeting of the church May 8, 1804, for the purpose of dismissing of the pastor. The reason given for asking a dismission was "want of health." The church voted to comply with his request. Four churches were represented in the council: Brattleboro, Newfane, Marlboro, and Westminster. The council met May 16, 1804. Rev. Hezekiah Taylor, pastor of the church in Newfane, was chosen moderator, and Rev. Sylvester Sage of Westminster was appointed scribe. After Mr. Crosby made a statement of the condition of his health and of his desire not to be a hinderance to the stated ministrations of the word and ordinances of the gospel, the council expressed the unanimous opinion that it was expedient that his request should be granted. The church appears to have been in a harmonious state, were attached to their minister, and parted reluctantly with him, as also did the council.

Mr. Crosby removed to Newfane and resided during the remainder of his life with a son who owned a farm there, --

[As recorded in the history of Newfane, as also an account of his death.-ED.]

Children of Rev. Aaron Crosby and Mary, his wife, were: Mary, born Nov. 25, 1776, at Cherry Valley, New York; Eli, b. Nov. 7, 1778, at Blanford, Mass.

After Rev. Joseph Farrar, the first settled minister in town was dismissed, the town voted, a sum of money to supply the pulpit, and in 1785, the Rev. Aaron Crosby was paid for that service, and became afterward, the second settled minister for this town.

Oct. 17. 1785, the town "voted to raise money or Produce to pay the Rev'd Aaron Crosby for the Half year which is to come."

John Miller, a grandson of the collector, has in his possession the original bill of which the following copy is made:

"To John Miller one of the collectors for the town of Dummesrton for the Present year 1785. You are hereby Commanded to Collect the Three following Rates as they are Respectively set against each mans Name of each Man and in the Articles as they are Written over the Head of each Rate. The first is to pay the Rev.'d Aaron Crosby for his Years Preaching to be collected forthwith and paid into the Town Treasurer. The Second Namely the Stock Rate, they are to have the Stock ready by the first Day of May Next to answer a Note which Mr. Levi Baker has against the Selectmen. The third Rate Namely the Hard Money Rate to be paid by the first Day of March Next to the Town Treasurer which you are to collect & pay as aforesaid and is to Answer a note which said Baker has against the Selectmen. N. B. For the Rev'd Aaron Crosby The Wheat at 4-8d. Rye at 3-4d and Indian Corn at 2-8d pr Bushel.

Given under our Hands in Dummerston this 19th of Dec'br 1785.


Th's Clark

Wm. Boyden


This first Rate to be paid in Grain;

This second Rate to be paid in Neat Stock;

This third rate Rate to be paid in Hard


Archebel Woods, 0 3 2 1; 0 1 7 1; 0 0 8 2;

Nathiel Homes, 0 14 7 2; 0 7 3 3; 0 3 3 0;

Joshua Bemus, 0 2 5 1; 0 1 2 3; 0 0 7 0;

Zachriah Cutler, 0 2 3 0; 0 1 1 2; 0 0 6 0;

Samuel How, 0 3 1 0; 0 1 8 1; 0 0 9 0;

William T. morel, 0 6 9 0; 0 3 1 2; 0 1 6 0;

William Craford, 0 2 3 0; 0 1 1 2; 0 0 6 0;

Boz'th franch, 0 4 6 0; 0 2 3 0; 0 1 0 0;

Leon'd Spaulding, Ju. 0 3 4 2; 0 1 8 1; 0 0 9 0;

Seth Hudson, 0 7 2 10; 0 311 1; 0 1 9 0;

Jonas Livermore Ju. 0 5 3 0, 0 2 7 2; 0 1 2 0;

Moses Civers, 0 7 8 0; 0 310 0; 0 1 8 2;

Jonas Livermore, 0 10 10 2; 0 5 5 1; 0 2 5 0;

Biniah Putman. 0 6 9 0: 0 3 4 2; 0 1 0 0;

Jonas Warker, 012 11 1; 0 6 5 0; 0 2 10 2;

Ashbil Johnson, 0 9 9 0; 0 4 10 2; 0 2 2 0;

Shephard Gats, 0 18 9 0; 0 9 4 2; 0 4 2 0;

Capt. John Kathan, 0 0 0 0; 0 7 5 0; 0 3 3 2;

John Kathan Ju. 0 0 0 0; 0 7 10 2; 0 3 6 0;

John flatey (Florida) 0 11 7 2; 0 5 9 2; 0 2 7 0;

Elexander Kathan 1 2 1 2; 0 1 0 3; 0 41 11 0;

John Kathan 3d 0 3 4 2; 0 1 8 1; 0 0 9 0;

Daniel Kathan Ju. 0 2 3 0; 0 1 12; 0 0 6 0;

Ebenezer Haven, 0 10 10 2; 0 0 11 1; 0 4 5 0;

Abel Haven, 0 5 7 2; 0 2 9 3; 0 1 3 0;

Joseph Haven, 0 5 3 0; 0 2 7 2; 0 1 2 0;

Jonathan Knight, 1 1 9 0, 0 10 10 2, 0 4 10 0,

Solomon Cook, 0 5 3 0; 0 2 7 2; 0 1 2 0;

Vespachent Miller, 0 13 10 2; 0 6 11 1; 0 3 1 0;

Samuel Knight, 0 4 6 0; 0 2 3 0; 0 1 0 0;

Wm. Boyden, 1 1 9 0; 0 10 10 2; 0 4 10 0;

David Laughton, 0 2 3 0; 0 1 1 2; 0 0 6 0;

Marchel Miller, 0 11 3 0; 0 5 7 2; 0 2 6 0;

John Miller, 0 11 3 0; 0 5 7 2; 0 2 6 0;

Lenard Spalding, 0 16 1 2; 0 8 0:3; 0 3 7 0;

Berziler Rice, 0 7 6 0; 0 3 9 0; 0 1 8 0;

Hose Miller, 1 5 10 2; 0 12 11 1; 0 5 9 0;

Daniel Kathan 2d, 1 5 10 2; 0 12 11 1; 0 5 9 0;

John Killibry, 012 11 1; 0 6 5 3; 0 2 10 2;

Gideen Barnam, 0 2 3 0; 0 1 1 2; 0 0 6 0;

Jabez Butler, 0 3 4 2; 0 8 0 1; 0 0 9 0;

Elijah Town Ju; 0 13 1 2; 0 6 6 3; 0 5 11 0:

Thomas Holton, 0 15 0 0; 0 7 6 0; 0 3 4 0;

Sam'l Laughton Ju. 0 16 10 2; 0 8 5 1; 0 3 9 0:

Joseph Temple Jr. 0 12 6 3; 0 6 3 1; 0 2 5 2:

Lem'l Davenport, 010 6 0; 0 5 3 0: 0 2 4 0:

Joseph Nurse. 09 0 0: 0 4 6 0: 0 2 0 0:

Henry Stephens' 0 6 4 2: 0 3 2 1: 0 1 5 0:

John Butler, 0 10 1 2: 0 5 5 1: 0 2 3 0:

Arad Holton, 01010 3: 0 5 5 1: 0 2 5 0:

Asa Houghton, 0 4 6 0: 0 2 3 0: 0 1 0 0:

Thomas turner, 0 5 0 3: 0 2 6 2: 0 1 1 2:

Wm. Wiman, 0 9 0 0: 0 4 6, 0: 0 2 0 0.

Abel Butler 0300: 0 1 6 0: 0 0 8 0:

Isaac Boyden, 0 7 6 0: 0 3 9 0: 0 1 8 0:

Ephriam Hawl 0 0 0 0: 0 3 0 0: 0 1 4 0:

Wm Sergent, 013 1 2: 0 6 6 3: 0 2 11 0:

Joel Knight, 0 2 3 0; 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

Thomas, Baker, 0 6 4 2: 0 3 2 1: 0 1 5 0:

John Bennit, 0 4 6 0; 0 2 3 0; 0 1 0 0:

Oliver Hale, 0 2 3 0: 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

John Wyman, 0 9 0 0: 0 4 6 0: 0 2 0 0:

Calvin Butler, 0 2 3 0: 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

Daniel Gats, 0 18 9 0: 0 9 4 2: 0 4 2 0:

Nathan Cook, 0 2 7 0: 0 1 3 3: 0 6 7 0:

Daniel Davenport, 0 3 0 0: 0 1 6 0: 0 0 8 0:

Jesse Knight, 0 3 4 2: 0 1 8 1: 0 09 0:

Ichob Knap, 0 8 5 1: 0 4 2 3: 0 1 11 0:

Ebenezer Waight, 0 5 3 0: 0 2 7 2: 0 1 2 0:

Jacob Laughton, 0 2 3 0: 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

Paul Willson, 0 3 4 2: 0 1 8 1: 0 0 9 0:

Eliger Brown, 0 3 4 2: 0 1 8 1: 0 0 9 0:

Ebenezer How, 0 3 4 2: 0 1 9 1: 0 0 9 0:1

Charls Wilder, 0 3 4 2: 0 1 8 1: 0 0 9 0:

Nathiel Haven. 0 8 9 3: 0 4 4 0: 0 1 11 2:

Selvenus Ballard, 0 2 3 0: 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

Thomas Gleson, 0 2 3 0: 0 1 1 2: 0 0 6 0:

Thomas Laughton, 0 7 4 0: 0 3 8 0: 0 1 7 0

Total 31 15 6 2; 16 12 9 2: 7 6 10 0:

The Rev. Aaron Crosby's salary was 69 pounds or $220 a year. It is seen by the bill that he was paid in produce at the rate of 80 cents a bushel for wheat and 55 cts. for rye, and 47 cents for Indian corn. Sept. 20, 1785, the town

"Voted to raise a Penny on the Pound Valuation List to pay the Rev'd Aaron Crosby for Preaching." According to that Vote the "Valuation List" must have been £7626 in order to raise the £31 15s. 6d. as made out in the tax bill, nearly the half year's salary as the vote was intended to raise. Samuel Williams History of Vermont, printed in 1794. revised in 1809, states that the Property Valuation of Dummerston in 1781, was £2970 ($9900); in 1791, £4978 ($16.593); and in 1806, it was $21,129. According to the vote and tax bill for 1785, the "Valuation List," including the polls for that year, would be $25,420. This would make a grand list for the year, 1880, of' $254,20."

After Mr. Crosby's dismission, the church was without a stated pastor till Mar. 20, 1808; when


was settled. He received his call Jan. 26th. and was ordained Mar. 2, 1808, by a council of which Rev. Gessham Lyman was moderator and Rev. E. D. Andrew, scribe. Nothing further was recorded about the ordination, nor were there any records of the church kept by Mr. Beckley, during his ministry of 23 years. After preaching a few years, he was dismissed and was absent for a short time, when he again received a call from the church; was installed and remained till 1836. There have subsequently been recorded, 150 names of persons, who joined the church during his ministry. Forty were admitted at one time. He was the author of a History of Vermont which he had nearly prepared for the press, when he was suddenly arrested by death - leaving no other patrimony to his bereaved family, but the work in manuscript, upon which he had bestowed much labor, and which was published in 1846, for the benefit of his widow. He died Oct. 15, 1843, AE, 64 years. Rev. Amos. Foster of Putney preached the funeral sermon, taking for his text, Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints. Ps. 116:15.

Lydia Pierson, wife of Mr. Beckley died May 9, 1857, AE 71 years 10 mos. 20 d.

"The History of Chesterfield," N.H., by Oran Randall, pub. 1882, informs us Lydia Pierson, wife of Rev. Hosea Beckley, was a direct descendant of Rector Pierson, the first president of Yale College. Their daughter, Jane Louisa, m. 1st, Oct. 5, 1840, Nelson W., son of Mason Herrick; 2d, June, 1861, Alonzo C. Wood. David Webster, son of Rev. Hosea Beckley, m. May 9, 1849, Mary H., dau. of Bela Chase, and lived in Chesterfield, where he engaged in trade for a time. He removed to Keene, where he died, April 15, 1879. -- Con.




SAMUEL ORVIS was from Framingham, Ct., and came to Northfield, Mass., Jan. 30, 1718, where he was offered 30 acres of land, on condition that he would come with his family and stay 4 years. In 1720, he sold land to Rev. Benjamin Doolittle and his home-lot to Stephen Belding.

William Orvis was probably a son of Samuel, and born in Shrewsbury, Ct., 1709. He was in Winchester in 1743; Northfield, 1749, and died June 14, 1774. His first wife, Anna, died Aug. 19, 1746. He married 2d, Martha, in 1750, who died Sept. 30, 1754, and in 1755, Elizabeth Severance for his third wife. His son, William, born May 8, 1740, removed to Leyden about 1785. He married about 1764, Mindwell, a sister of Thomas Holton who afterwards was a resident of Dummerston, to which place William removed, and died Jan. 11, 1801, aged 61 years.

William Orvis, sen. was in the old French and Indian wars. His name was on the roll of Lt. John Catlin's men from Dec. 10, 1747, to June 10, 1748. Lt. Catlin, with 39 men, was posted at Fort Shirley in the winter of 1747. The name of William Orvis also appears in the list of proprietors of Northfield, Mass., in 1751. He owned and paid taxes on 100 acres, lot No. 16, 4th division. He was in the last French and Indian war, 1756, and his name appears on Capt. John Catlin's muster roll, 2d Co., "in service at the westward," Oct. 13 to Dec. 11. "History of Northfield by Temple and Sheldon."


JABEZ BUTLER was a Revolutionary soldier. He died and was buried in the cemetery east of the Hollow. During his last sickness he requested that he might be buried with military honors. He was laid out, in his uniform, having on a military hat, boots and spurs.

His sword was sheathed and fastened to a belt-buckle around his body. Thus uniformed he was laid in the coffin and buried with his head to the northwest and feet to southeast. Two graves, one each side of his, are made in the same way. No stone marks his resting place. In accordance with his request, a certain number of bricks was laid in mortar on his grave and on that foundation was built a fence three rails high, made of 3-inch scantling, set diamonding in the posts and painted white. The fence has long since gone to decay and the brick foundation broken up and much scattered.

ABEL BUTLER married Rebecca, dau. of Thomas Laughton, sen. Children: Rebecca, b. Apr. 24, 1788; Abel, born Jan. 5, 1790; Lucy, b. Apr. 4, 1792; Sally, b. 1794, d. 1795; Sally (2d), b. Jan. 7, 1796; Candace, b. Apr. 12, 1798.

JABEZ BUTLER, brother of Abel, m. Deliverance Whitney, May 12, 1781, a sister of Maj. Josiah Boyden's wife.

SILAS BUTLER, brother of Abel, m. 1st, Mercy Orvis, May 15, 1796, 2d, Sally McFarland, Jan. 25, 1816. The children by the first marriage were Hiram, b. Apr. 14, 1799, Mercy, born June 14, 1802; Maria, born Sept. 27, 1804.

JOHN BUTLER, another brother of Abel, married Lucy Boyden, Oct. 16, 1788. She was a sister of Col. Wm. Boyden.

Polly Butler was a sister of Abel, Silas, Jabez, Calvin and John. She married Pairla (Perley) Town, Sept. 5, 1803, and they lived at the "upper mill" near the George Knapp place. Her parents died when she was young.

Abigail, wife of John Butler, died May 10, 1785, aged 50, and they, John and Abigail, may have been the parents of these Butlers, though not certain. Possibly Paul Butler was their father.

Abel and Rebecca Butler lived several years on the place now owned by Milton Knapp. They removed from town many years ago.

PETER BUTLER married Betsey Laughton, Apr. 30, 1795. She was an aunt of Asa Laughton, who died 1883. After the marriage of Peter, he lived for a time in the same house with Jabez Butler. The house stood on the north side of a little brook which runs through the farm of James Reed north of his buildings. A son of Peter, six or eight years of age, was drowned while fishing with older children in the brook where it enters the land now owned by Sylvanus Kelley.

Calvin Butler married Obedience Holton and the name of one child, Ira, is recorded, born Nov. 11, 1787.

JOHN BUTLER, who married Phebe Chase of Brattleboro, Aug. 7, 1791, lived where Lemuel Dickinson now resides. Their children were Whitney, b. May 12, 1792; Philinda, b. Mar. 19, 1796; Ora, b. Oct. 15, 1798. John was a cousin of Abel Butler.

SMITH BUTLER m. Thankful Houghton, Dec. 20, 1780, who died Dec. 27, 1783, aged 27.

SIMEON BUTLER married Nabby Rice, June 10, 1789.

LUTHER BUTLER married Hannah Wilson of Putney, Aug. 25, 1790.


MOSES TEMPLE was the ancestor of the Temples who settled in Dummerston before 1770. According to the usual difference in time from generation to generation, he was born 1665. His son, Richard, was the father of


who was born about 1718. Joseph sen. was a native of Massachusetts and a cooper by trade. He married Mary, sister of Samuel Laughton. Children:

Joseph, b. in Worcester, Mass., Dec. 23, 1743; Parmenas m. Anna, dau. of John Laughton jr. about 1777.

Amos, unmarried; Samuel m. widow Wing; Daniel, unmarried; Joanna married 1st. John Crawford, 2d. Aaron Wilder Dec. 26, 1784;

Phebe "died of nervous headache."

Joseph Sen., Joseph Jr. and John Crawford were among the members of the Congregational church when first organized in 1779.

Joseph Sen. set out seven small elms near his son's house, now occupied by Alonzo Bradley. Only one of these trees is left standing. It measures 18 feet around, is nearly 100 feet in height and estimated to contain 8 cords of wood. It stands in the roadside a few rods north of tin house and a statelier looking tree, the passer-by will seldom find.

It is also related of Mr. Temple that on one occasion, when he was returning on horse-back from a visit to Worcester, a violent storm of wind arose. While passing through the woods, he saw trees falling in every direction and hurried on to escape the impending danger. Soon after leaving the woods, he looked back and saw that the hurricane had swept down the whole forest through which he had just passed. The same storm did much damage in Dummerston. On the Miller farm joining the Temple place, a wood lot was blown down, in which the cows out at pasture, had taken refuge, and it was supposed that all the cattle were killed by falling trees. On making search for the cows, the men took knives with them for the purpose of removing the hides. As they approached the woods, they heard the cow-bell sounding, and very soon found all the cattle safe in an enclosure, made by the fallen trees, from which they could not escape till a passage was cut.

JOSEPH TEMPLE, JR., settled on lot, No. 36, in the town survey, made in 1767. He walked from Worcester, bringing what few things he had in a pack on his shoulders. His first work on the new farm was in cutting a large hollow bass-wood and fitting it for a place in which to sleep. He was obliged to build fires near his sleeping place at night in order to keep away wild animals. His log-house was built about 70 rods S. W. from the present buildings on the farm and its site may still be seen whenever the land is ploughed. That portion of the farm on which it stood, including several acres of land was sold many years ago, and it is now a part of Joseph Miller's farm. Mr. Temples parents came from Worcester to live with him on his new homestead. His father was in poor health and died of consumption some years afterward.

Joseph Jr., married 1st, Elizabeth Wilder and had two children that died in infancy. He married 2d, Lois Hubbard of Chesterfield, N.H. She and her parents were residents of Rutland, Mass., and her brother, Ephraim, came to Chesterfield before 1770. Her father married 1st., Ruth Gates, 2d. Sarah Billings. Lois, Ruth, and Ephraim Hubbard were children by the first marriage. Ruth m. Francis Maynard. Ephraim m. 1st. Lucy Willard, 2d. Thankful Butler, wid. of Josiah Butler. The children by the 2d marriage were Amos, who m. Leah Farr; Oliver m. Lois Baker; James m. ____ Browning; Jonathan; Joel m. Phebe ____; Molly m. Jason Reed

The children of Joseph and Lois Temple were:

Elizabeth, b. Oct. 27, 1772, m. Anthony Mason of Putney, Jan. 20, 1793;

Lois, b. Jan. 1, 1775, m. Samuel Murdock.

Sarah, b. June 21, 1778, m. Lewis Fisher of Putney, Feb. 19, 1806;

Joseph, b. Jan. 18, 1781.

The father of these children was in the skirmish at Westminster, Mar. 13, 1775. He was knocked down and, for a time, supposed to be dead. His skull was fractured on the left side of the forehead, and the scar remained during life. He had a pewter basin, which he carried, with a blanket, in his knapsack. It was hit by one or two bullets which did not penetrate, but left depressions. The marks were so plainly to be seen that the basin was kept, as a relic, in the family many years. At last a tin peddler secured the trophy for old pewter, but not by fair means. He took advantage of Joseph Temple's (3d) good nature, crushed the basin with his hands, spoiling it for a relic, and then paid the price which Mr. Temple asked for the spoiled dish.

Joseph Jr., deeded the farm to his son, Joseph, Mar. 16, 1802, who m., Dec. 29, 1803, Amy, dau. of William Perry of Putney, a sea captain. Their children were:

Amos, b. Sept. 9, 1804, m. Marilla Bennett.

Amy, b. Jan. 24, 1807, m. Alfred Bennett, Nov. 12. 1829;

Sally, b. 1809, married Calvin Bradley Nov. 12, 1829;

Emeline, b. Dec. 12, 1814; Zilpha, b. Mar. 19, 1819, m. Willa d Dodge, Sept. 5, 1837.

When Mr. Temple and wife became aged, he deeded the farm, Apr. 9, 1859, to Alfred Bennett and continued to live with him on the old homestead.

Mr. Bennett had four children: two died young. Harriet, his daughter, m. Alonzo Bradley; Joseph F., his son, m. Augusta Bradley, and his father, Alfred, deeded the farm to him Jan. 8, 1872. He died May 23, 1872, aged 69.

Joseph F. Bennett died Oct. 15, 1875, leaving a widow and one daughter.

The three Joseph Temples and their wives died on the old homestead. Joseph Jr., died Mar. 23, 1832, aged 88; Lois, his wife, d. June 23, 1829, aged 88; Joseph (3d) died Mar. 16, 1870, aged 89; Amy, his wife, d. Aug. 31, 1861, aged nearly 82.


and Rachel, his with, were residents also in this town as far back as Revolutionary times. Their children were

Sarah, b. July 10, 1780; William Todd, Sept. 1, 1782; Mary, Sept. 23, 1781; James, Aug. 28, 1786; Jonathan, July 10, 1788; Benjamin, Dec. 21, 1790; George, Dec 12, 1792; Charles, Oct. 9, 1791; and Lucretia, Mar. 28, 1797.


Assistant judge of the county court 4 years and town clerk 29 years, d. Dec. 15 1839, aged 90. Sarah Gates, his wife, died Sept. 13, 1842, aged 86 yrs. Their children were Joseph, born Aug. 24, 1776, m. Miranda Taylor d. in Chester, 1863, aged 87; Jonas. b. Aug. 15, 1778, d. Mar. 13, 1813; Jason, b. Sept. 18. 1780, d. in Newfane; Silas, b. Mar. 12, 1783, d. Feb. 15, 1784; Priscilla, b. Feb. 15, 1785; Samuel, b. Feb. 15, 1788; Alvan, b. Nov, 19, 1791, d in Leicester, Mass., Aug 2, 1813; Tyler, b. Aug. 8, 1794; Sarah, b. Mar. 19, 1797.

Jason Duncan was the first school teacher in town. When a young man, he taught a small school in a dwelling-house on the river road in the eastern part of the town. [It is, also stated on page 36, that Charles Davenport taught the first school]

Samuel Duncan was a distant relative of Dr. Abel and first cousin to Judge Duncan. Samuel lived and died on the place where Clark Rice once lived. No buildings are now standing in the place He had a family of 11 children. Samuel, his son, died on the same place where his father had lived.

The earliest record we have of the Duncan family is that of


and Sarah Dutton, who were born in Massachusetts, probably, about 1690. Their children were: Sarah, who m. Uriah Parmeter of Sudbury, Mass.

John m. Sarah Rogers of Billerica; Samuel m. 1st. Mehitable Barton of Sutton, 2d. Hannah Livingston;

Daniel m. Sarah Rice of Conway; Simeon m. Bridget Richardson of Billerica; Abigail m. Samuel Stone, of Ireland.

Billerica was first settled about the year 1653, and among the names of the first principal settlers are John Rogers and Thomas Richardson, probably, ancestors of the wives of John and Simeon Duncan.

"During the French and Indian war, Aug. 5, 1695, the Indians made an attack on the inhabitants of this place. In the northerly part of the town, on the east of Concord river, lived several families, who, though without garrisons and in time of war, felt no apprehensions of danger. Their remoteness from the frontiers might have contributed to their apparent security. The Indians came suddenly upon them in the day time. They entered the house of John Rogers while he was sleeping, and discharged an arrow at him, which entered his neck and pierced the jugular vein. Awakened by this sudden attack, he started up, seized the arrow, which he forcibly withdrew, and expired with the instrument of death in his hand. A woman being in the chamber, threw herself out of the window, and, though severely wounded, made her escape concealing herself among the flags.

A young woman was scalped and left for dead but survived the painful operation, and lived many years afterwards. A son and daughter of Mr. Rogers were made prisoners. Thomas Rogers and his son were killed."

The children of Daniel and Sarah (Rice) Duncan were: Sally m. James Jackson of Petersham. Mass.

John m. Rebecca Meacham of New Salem; Daniel m. Zurvilla Rice of Worcester, Mass.

Lovina m. John Rice of Petersham; Abel m. Lydia Mills of Petersham, about 1770; children: Abel Jr., b. in Petersham, Feb 22, 1772; Nathan m. Betsey Winn of Chester; Rufus m. Lucy Kimbel of Chester; Anna m. Amos Heald of Chester;

Lucy m. Jason Duncan Jr. of Dummerston; Charles m. Patty Carter of Weathersfield; John m. Caroline Hastings of Charlestown, N.H.;

Arad; George; Lydia m. Daniel Church of Chester.


was town clerk 37 years. He represented the town in 1828, '29, '36, '37. He lived on the paternal farm many years and was much respected as a citizen of the town. He was a consistent member of' the Congregational church and a leader of the choir in singing for a long time. His father, Judge Duncan, had been leader of the choir after the church was organized in 1779.

Joseph Duncan married Miranda Taylor, who died in Chester. Children b. in Dummerston: Miranda, b. July 7, 1797; Joseph, b. Dec. 14, 1798, m. 1st. Maria Blake, 2d. Loretta S. Pratt, Dec. 2, 1820; Silas, b. 1801, d. 1803; Orsamus, b. May 2, 1804; Sophia, born Mar. 23, 1810, m. Linus Williams Aug. 5, 1834; Samuel, G., b. Sept. 27, 1812, m.____; Hoyt, Eliza A., b. Jan. 20, 1815, m. Edwin Bemis.


married Lydia Miller dau. of Hosea and Lydia (West) Miller, born in Dummerston Nov. 8, 1778; married Aug. 28, 1805; -

Children: Charles Morris, born July 1, 1808, married Lucinda Estabrook of Brattleboro, dau. of John Estabrook and Lucinda Stockwell, his wife, Aug. 1833. Fanny Maria, b. June 22, 1810, m, Joel Knight Jr. Jan. 1, 1829;

Lydia Eveline, b. Aug. 1, 1813, m. Marshall Newton, Apr. 4, 1833.

Mrs. Duncan died in 1869, aged 90.

The spotted fever, a violent epidemic, raged in town in the winter of 1812-13, and many died, Dr. Abel Duncan was very active and successful, but at length was attacked with the fever, himself, and died Mar. 5, 1813, aged 42 years. Dr. C. M. Duncan was a son of Dr. Abel Duncan and was in practice for a time. He removed to Sherburne, Mass.

Simeon Duncan, who married Bridget Richardson, was the father of Judge Jason Duncan, who died in Dummerston, Dec. 15, 1839, aged 90 years. Jason Duncan and Dr. Abel Duncan's father were cousins. The Judge married Sarah Gates about 1774.


an early physician of Dummerston, was the seventh son of Jonas and Sarah (Davis) Walker, born March 10, 1796. He m. 1st. Lucretia, daughter of Marshall Miller. Children: Lucretia, b. Aug. 6, 1825, married Pliny F. Walker; Esther, b. Mar. 26, 1828, m. Lorenzo D. Thayer; Alexander C., b. Sept. 26, 1829, m. and lives in Farley, Iowa.

Dr. Walker, m. 2d. Catharine Bemis, Oct. 21, 1838.

The children of Jonas and Polly (Miller) Walker were Laura, b. Nov. 28. 1814, m. Mason Bennett; Levi M. b. May 25, 1816, m. 1st. Mrs. Adaline Winslow, 2d., Priscilla Sampson;

Jonas b. 1818, d. 1826; George W. b. Sept. 25, 1822, m. Susan Dutton; Emily, b. May 30, 1726, m. James Brown;

Eliza, b. Sept. 1, 1827, m. S. J. Smith; Jane b. Aug. 4, 1831, m. Anthony Huntley; Caroline, b. Aug. 7, 1819, died 1820.

The children of Daniel and Mary (Stockwell) Walker were: Dana, born Apr. 30, 1809, m. Joel, b. Sept. 9, 1810, m. ____; Sally, b. 1812, d. 1834;

Edson, b. Oct. 27, 1813, m. ____ ____; Harriet N. b. Apr. 24, 1815, m. 1st. Wm. Bennett, 2d. Marcus Perry;

Relief, b. Sept. 15, 1817, m. Granville French;

Mary, b. Dec. 14, 1819, m. ____ Eaton of New Salem, Mass.;

Daniel 2d. b. 1822, d. 1854; Samuel N., b. Apr. 1824, married Julia A. Miller;

Pliny F., b. June 4, 1826, m. Lucretia Walker.

The children of Reuben and Lydia (Miller) Walker were:

Lucretia, b. Sept. 26, 1822, m. Samuel Martin;

Chester H., b. Jan. 5, 1824, m. Sarah Martin;

Julia and Jane, Feb. 23, 1828; Jane d. young, Julia m. Charles E. Taft.

Horatio N., b. Jan. 17, 1830, m. Carrie French;

Marshall, b. Dec. 12, 1831, m. Nellie Fairbanks;

Sarah R., b. Jan. 31, 1839, m. Dr. Clark.

Phineas the eldest brother of Dr. Sewall Walker married Anna Newton. Their children were: Louisa, born Dec. 17, 1810; Lyman P., b. June 19, 1812; Elvira, b. Apr. 11, 1814.

Dr. Walker prosecuted his professional studies with Doctor Alexander Campbell, then of Putney, and received the degree of M. D. from the Academy of Medicine at Castleton, Dec. 2, 1823. He was elected a member of the Medical Society of Middlebury, Vt. June 19, 1822, at a meeting of the Society held at Middlebury at that time. He had previously been elected a member of the Dartmouth Medical Society at Hanover, Nov. 2, 1820. He was elected a member of the Vermont Second Medical Society, established in the County of Windham, June 14, 1824. He commenced the practice of medicine in his native town where the whole of his professional life was spent. He was twice married. His second wife survived him several years. He lived with his first wife, Lucretia Miller, 13 years. She was the mother of three children, now living. The death of Dr. Walker was a severe public loss, having fulfilled the duties of his profession for about 40 years. He attended faithfully upon the sick ones committed to his care, never neglecting his patients, and his success was equal to his fidelity. The disease which terminated his life was an attack of the lungs. He died Aug. 14, 1863, aged 66 years.

Mary, second daughter of Jonas Walker (overlooked in the foregoing record) b. Apr. 1824, m. first, Loyal Smith, 2d, Benj. F. Willard.

For Portrait see frontisplate.


was a resident in 1778. (Of whom we have no further particulars.)


was a contemporary of Dr. Walker; both were physicians in 1831, and both had a long and extensive practice. Dr. Knapp died Aug. 23, 1856, aged 67.


[The candid Doctor,]

Came to this town from Oxford, Mass., 1783. It is said, on one occasion in his practice, he was called to see a sick person in the evening, but not being in a condition to deal out medicine, intelligently, at the time, as members of the family noticed, his prescription was not used. Very early, next morning, the Doctor came in haste and asked excitedly about the patient and the medicine. After learning that the medicine had not been given as he ordered, he said, after looking at it, "You did well not to give it to the woman, for if you had it would have killed her dead as the devil." "The fact is," said he, "people wait till they are almost dead, then send for drunken Dr. Baker.


died Feb. 13, 1817, aged 67; Sarah Davis, his wife, d. 1831, aged 76. Their children were: Phineas, b. Oct. 11, 1779; Jonas, b. June 25, 1781; Daniel, b. July 11, 1783; Lyman, b. June 25, 1785; William, b. May 22, 1787; Sally, b. March 15, 1790; John, b. Jan. 29, 1793; Sewall, b. March 10, 1796, and Reuben, b. Mar. 29, 1798.


THOMAS CLARK, a resident of this town in 1770, came from Worcester, Mass. That portion of Worcester in which he lived, together with parts of Sutton, Leicester, and Oxford, was incorporated a town by the name of Ward in 1778, and was so named in honor of Artemus Ward, the first Major-General in the Revolutionary war, who died at Shrewsbury, Oct. 28, 1800. It received the name of Auburn, in 1837. Mr. Clark married Catherine Ward, about 1772; children:

Thaddeus, b. May 13, 1775, d. Sept. 17, 1777;

Thomas, b. July 20, 1777, m. Mrs. Martha (Tenney) Bond, Dec. 27, 1818;

Thaddeus, b. Mar. 2, 1779, married Chatherine Ryan of Putney, died ____;

Jonas, b. July 29, 1781, m. Betsey Florida, Jan. 16, 1803;

Amasa, b. Oct. 24, 1783, m. 1st, Arathusa Whitcomb, 1813; 2d, Phebe (Boyden) Bemis;

Gardner, b. Nov. 28, 1785, d. July 12, 1825;

Catherine, b. May 8, 1788, m. Ezra Florida, Nov. 26, 1811;

Polly, b. Aug. 24, 1790, m. 1st, John Robertson, Mar. 28, 1814; 2d, Samuel Knight, 1844;

John, b. Mar. 31, 1795, m. Sarah Stockwell, June 10, 1818, died ____.

Thomas and Catherine Clark lived to be quite aged. He died Jan. 26, 1837, aged 91; she died May 3, 1834, aged 84.

Children of Thomas and Martha Clark: Martha, b. Oct. 30, 1819, married William E. Ryther of Bernardston, Mass. Mary, b. July 25, 1823, m. 1st, George Hildreth, 2d, Alonzo Dutton; Thomas, b. Apr. 19, 1825, m. Julia A. Adams of Marlboro;

Eli, b. May 4, 1828, m. Cornelia Hubbard of Royalston, Massachusetts. Thomas died Nov. 24, 1865, aged 88; Martha, his wife, died, 1840, aged 55.

Jonas and Betsey Clark had a daughter, Catherine, who m. Orrin Heath of Corinth, also a son, John.

Jonas d. Dec. 22, 1866, aged 85.

Children of Amasa and Arathusa Clark: Catherine T., b. Oct. 3, 1814, m. John Woodbury;

Caroline A. m. Alvin D. French. She died and he married, 2d, Mrs. Phebe (Boyden) Bemis, and had one son, Charles A., who married Ellen Farr of Chesterfield, N.H.

Amasa died Nov. 30, 1866, aged 83. Catherine, who married Ezra Florida, died Sept. 27, 1827. Mary (Polly), her sister, died Jan. 2,1883, aged 92.

When her first husband, Mr. Robertson, died, and his property was settled she offered to take, as her share, a piece of land worth $1500, but the heirs preferred to give her $100 a year instead so long as she lived. The amt. paid to her by the heirs was $4,300.

John married Sarah Stockwell, Mar. 31, 1818; their children: John S. m. Louisa, an adopted daughter of Thaddeus Clark.

George W. married Mary Ann Boyden, Sept. 2, 1844;

Laura m. Dr. A. F. Tuttle of Clinton, Mich.;

Charles F.; Jane m. Enoch G. Cook; Fletcher M. James Clark married Betsey Duncan, Oct. 14, 1800.

Nathaniel and Lydia Clark were the parents of Warren, b. 1809, and Ferdinand, b. 1810.

Moses Clark married Lucy Cook, June 10, 1810.

Arba Clark m. 1st, Laura Knight, Jan. 18, 1820; had one son, Osman; married 2d, Catherine Black, July 26, 1835.



who tended the first grist-mill built in town, at Slab Hollow, was born July 2, 1735; Mary Wilcox, his wife, June 22, 1740, m. Dec. 10, 1759. Children:

John, b. Oct. 10, 1760, d. Mar. 17, 1847, aged 87; Sarah, born Mar. 28 1762;

Rachel, b. Mar. 28, 1764. m. Abel Haven; Ichabod, b. Nov. 26, 1767;

Abel, b. Mar. 3, 1769; Mary, born Nov. 24, 1770;

Reuben, b. July 11, 1772; Jemima, b. June 24, 1774; Silence, born June 13, 1776;

Joel, b. Dec. 10. 1773, died 1779: Joel 2d., b. Mar. 31, 1780;

Rebecca, b. June, 1783; Solomon, b. Apr. 9, 1785. Sarah married Ichabod Onion, and when she died, he married Jemima for his second wife. Their children had the name, Onion changed to Deming.


married widow Abigail Boyden, Nov. 17, 1778. Their children were: Abigail, b. July 30, 1779, died Oct. 13, 1801; Marshall, b. Oct. 21, 1780, m. 1st. Betsey Campbell, she died Apr. 26, 1813, aged 26 years, 2d. Sophia Charlotte Porter, daughter if Hon. Samuel Porter July 9, 1815, who died July 12, 1860, aged 79 years 9 mos.

Luther, b. Mar, 7, 1782, m. Lurane Knapp, died Apr. 2, 1832; Thomas, b. Apr. 21, 1783, married Harriet Moore, May 9, 1810, died Mar. 25, 1865, AE 82;

Ebenezer, b. May 10, 1785, married Ama Farr; Dana, born Aug. 5, 1786,m. Sally Keyes; Polly, born Dec. 13, 1787, married Jonas Walker Dec. 2, 1813, who died April 16, 1873, aged 91 years. His wife died Feb. 26, 1847.

William, b. July 3, 1789, married Esther Knight, Sept. ____ 1814, who d. Apr. 14, 1862, aged 66; he died Feb. 18, 1877, aged 87 years; Royal, born Feb, 15, 1891, m. Betsey Cook Nov. 13, 1813; Lydia, b. June 5, 1793, m. Chester Haven Sept. 21, 1814, after his death, m. Reuben Walker, who was killed by being thrown from a wagon, Apr. 21, 1860; Levi, b. Feb. 3, 1797; Lucretia, b. Sept. 13, 1798, m. Doctor Sewall Walker. She died May 22, 1838.

Marshall Miller died June 10, 1807, aged 53. His death was caused by jumping from a window in the fifth story of a house which was then on fire. Abigail, his wife, died Jan. 26, 1829, aged 73 years.


EPHRAIM RICE married .Joanna ____. He came from Petersham, Mass., where all his children were born, to Dummerston, and was a resident of the town in 1779.

Children; Ezekiel, b. Mar. 27, 1761, m. Judith Willard May 23, 1782;

Elijah, b. Oct. 14, 1764, m. Anna Miller, dau. of Capt. Vespasian Miller.

Wilder, b. Sept. 3, 1766; Caty, b. Oct. 27, 1768; Molly, born Mar 15, 1771, m. Jacob Hadley, Nov. 27, 1788;

Joanna, b. June 17, 1775. [See sketch of Ephraim Rice, from "Hall's History."]

Abraham Rice married Lucy Nourse Feb. 17, 1785, and were residents of the town at that time. Had one child, Joshua, b. Aug. 28, 1785.

Deacon Amos Rice died May 31, 1807. Martha ____, his wife, died Apr. 10, 1808.

One, Amos Rice m. Susan Davenport, Feb. 22, 1816. John Rice, also from Petersham, m. Levinah [Lovina] ____. Children: Sarah, b. June 29, 1767; John, 1769, died, infant.

David, b. Dec. 29, 1770: John Jr., 1774, d. 1777; Joel, b. 1776, d. 1777;

Samuel, b. Sept. 24, 1778; Polly, born in Dummerston. Aug. 9, 1782; Lydia, b. June 13, 1789.

Gardner Rice married Lydia ____. Children: Dolly, born June 9, 1809 Amos, 1792; Lydia, 1794; Patty, 1796; Nabby, 1798; Roxanna, 1800; Simeon, 1802; Gardner Jr., 1804; Nelson, 1806; Phylinda, 1808; Ezekiel, 1810; Francis, 1812,

Clark Rice, son of Elijah, once owned the large farm, "Rice place," in the south part of the town.


Elijah was born Oct. 14, 1764; Anna Miller, born July 22, 1766. They were married Nov. 29, 1787. Children: Arathusa, b. Oct. 12, 1788; Abigail, b. Oct. 17, 1790, m. Jacob Hadley a Methodist minister;

Abel. b. Aug. 27, 1792, m. Polly Hadley and removed West; Elias, b. Dec. 12, died young;

Clark, b. July 8, 1797; Lovina and Lewis, [twins], b. Jan. 17, 1800, and Lovina, m Ephraim Hadley;

William M. b. June 5, 1802, married Dolly Whitney;

Almira, b. Mar. 9, 1807, m. Lewis Holton; Daniel, b. July 28, 1809, m. Maria Munn.

Elijah Rice and wife were Congregationalists, and were very constant in their attendance on public worship. He was a farmer, and a much respected citizen. The family were very helpful in society.


was born in Dummerston, July 8, 1797, and married Mar. 3, 1828, Clarissa, dau. of Jonas Rice, a cousin of Elijah. She was born March 15, 1804, and is still living. Her husband died March 22, 1872, aged 74.

Their children were: Helen C. died in childhood; Fanny E., unmarried;

Henry C.; Clark F., both d. when young; Helen C. 2d, m. Walter Gibbs, died 1858;

Clarissa J., died young; Julia A., m. Milton M. Miller; Maria J. married Charles Sargent; Frederic C., d. in childhood;


born June 23, 1846, died Jan. 28, 1862, a soldier and musician in the service of the U. S. in the late war for the Union. His mother receives a pension from the government on account of her son's death.

The farm on which Mr. Rice lived many years was first settled by Samuel Dutton before 1770. He sold it to Ephraim Rice Jan. 9, 1779, who, with Joanna, his wife, and six children, came from Petersham, Mass., where their children were born. Elijah, his son, bought the farm in 1787, which in time came into the possession of his son, Clark Rice, who greatly improved the place. He was an excellent farmer, read many books and newspapers on the subject of agriculture, and was aided by the judgment of his friends, who were alike interested in "book-farming."

The value of the farm was more than doubled during his management. On account of his declining health, he sold his farm to R. D. Bradley, Esq. of Brattleboro, for the sum of $9000.

Like his parents, Elijah, and Anna Rice, he and his family were Congregationalists and very constant in their attendance at church. He was not only a very enterprising farmer; but was much interested and helpful in the affairs of the church and society and in 1838, was chosen to represent the town in the state legislature. He set out many fruit-trees on his farm, which at the present time are very productive.

The orchards have in some years produced 500 barrels of apples.


was major in the 1st. Regt. in the 1st. Brigade and 1st. division of infantry in the state of Vermont. He married Hannah Worden Nov. 10. 1782. Their children were: Fanny. born March 31, 1813; Isaac. b. Nov. 15, 1784;

Charles, b. July 25, 1786; Dolly, b. Apr. 6, 1788; George Anson, b. Dec. 6, 1789;

William, b. Dec. 16, 1791; Joel, b. Nov. 21, 1793; Nathan, b. Aug. 13, 1795;

Asa, b. June 12, 1797; Catherine, b. July 24, 1799; Maria, b. Sept. 18, 1807;

Major William died Apr. 16, 1802, aged 40. His wife died July 7, 1823, aged 62 years.

An incident remembered in the town:


and Hannah, his wife, lived in the eastern part of the town on the Connecticut river road, and owned good lands. They were the parents of eleven children. Mrs. Miller was always kind to the poor and ever willing to relieve the wants of the suffering. About the year 1786, there was in this section an alarming scarcity of grain for family food.

The Millers parted with all they that they could to the needy, and the last bushel of wheat, except a baking of flour for their own family was ground and eaten before the new grain had been cut. The destitution was much greater on the newly cleared and rougher hill-land of Halifax.

Joseph Worden came one night, at a late hour, from that town, and stopped at Miller's. Mrs. Miller rose from her bed, baked the last flour she had by the fire, and gave him a part of the loaf for his supper. He said that he had never tasted anything so good in his life, for he was weak and weary, and had tasted no bread for several days. The next day the men went into the wheat-field, picked off the ripest ears, threshed out a bushel or more, and had it ground. Mrs. Miller was sifting some flour for baking, when Mr. Borden, her brother, came to her, the tears standing in his eyes, "Sister," said he, "wont you put the bran into my bag?" This proof of his family's want so affected her that she gave him more than half of all the flour she had, and the happy man started for home, knowing that he could now relieve the necessities of his family."


one of the early settlers in town, was from Shrewsbury, Mass. He bought a farm in Dummerston, of Parmenas Temple, in 1783. He married Lucretia Rice, of Lancaster, 1778, who died in this town Jan. 26, 1811, AE 51. His death is not recorded. He was a son of Josiah Bennett Jr., who married Abigail Graves, of Sudbury, Aug. 13. 1751.

Children: Elizabeth, born Feb. 10. 1753. m., it is supposed, Luther Rice, of Lancaster, 1780;

John, b. June 23, 1755; Dorcas, b. Apr. 1758, m. Oliver Hale of Marlboro in 1778;

Josiah Sen. m. Hannah Ross, of Lancaster, Nov. 27, 1728, and was admitted to the church. 1731, and died before 1751.

Children: Josiah Jr., born Dec. 8, 1730.

Miriam, Dec. 23, 1732, m. Ebenezer Cutter Jr., of Grafton, Nov. 28, 1764;

Asa, b. Apr. 26, 1735, m. Sibyl Barnes, of Marlboro, June 1784;

Experience, b. Mar. 26, 1739;

Jonas, b. Mar. 11, 1741, died young;

Lydia, b. Oct. 9, 1747;

Jonas, born Feb. 11, 1749, m. Mary Williams, July 10, 1773.

Jonathan, a brother of Josiah Sen. had a son, David, born Oct. 21, 1749, who died before 1779, as in that year his widow, Persis [Cutting] Bennett, m. Philip Branscom.

Deacon David Bennett of Dummerston, died June 9, 1848, AE 87.

Rev, Jonas Bennett, his son, m. Adaline, dau. of Edward Miller.

Josiah and Jonathan were supposed to be the sons of Samuel Bennett, probably from Lancaster, born, 1690, died Dec. 5, 1762, aged 72.

The children of John and Lucretia Bennett, of this town, were Judah, b. 1778; Nancy, b. 1780; Lucy, born 1781; John D., born in Dummerston, 1784; Dorcas, born, 1787, married Ezekiel L. Chapman;

Henry L.,. Allyn O., Franklin W., Almyra, 1801. He married 2d, Polly Codding, Oct. 25, 1812. Children: Lockhart W and Melinda.


THOMAS NORCROSS, a London merchant, born about 1550, is of the first generation of the Norcross family so far as the name has been traced. Jeremiah of the second gen. b. about 1595, came to America in 1638, and settled in Watertown, Mass. Richard of the 3d. gen. was born in 1621; resided in Watertown, died in 1709. Richard of the 4th. gen., born 1660; resided in Western, Mass., died 1745; Joseph of the 5th gen., b. 1701; resided in Weston and Princeton, Mass., died 1789.

SAMUEL of the 6th gen., born 1745; resided in Marlboro, and was the first Norcross, who settled in this state. He died 1812. His wife was Rachel Harvey, who died 1811. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and belonged to an artillery company at a fort in Boston Harbor at the time the British evacuated Boston in 1775. He had eleven children:

Candace, b. Dec. 5, 1776, died 1778;

Samuel, born Jan. 9, 1769, died young;

Nahum, born May 9, 1771, d. Jan. 26, 1851;

Eber, b. May 23, 1772; resided in No. Easton, N. J., died 1861, aged 89.

Rachel, b. Sept. 13, 1774, d. 1836;

Benaiah, b. Dec. 20, 1776; resided in Chesterfield, N.H., d. 1860, aged 85;

Zebrina, b. Apr. 18, 1779, res. in Chesterfield, N.H.;

Darius, b. Oct. 9, 1781, res. Lockport, N. J., died 1838;

Lucy, born Aug. 2, 1784;

Shepard, b. Mar. 9, 1788, res. in No. Easton, N. J.;

Annis, born Oct. 7, 1790,

NAHUM came to Dummerston; married Zeruiah Roel, Jan. 17, 1796. She was born Sept. 7, 1778, died Apr. 8, 1840. Their children were: Betsey, born Nov. 24, 1797, married Aaron Grimes

Luke, born July 15, 1799, died in infancy;

Luke 2d., born June 9, 1801; married Louisa French;

Mary, b. Oct. 9, 1803, m. William Woodard;

Moses, born May 29, 1806;

Sarah, born Dec. 7, 1808, married Anson Woodard;

Charlotte, born Nov. 24, 1809, m. first Ebenezer Wiswall, 2d, Warren Stearns

Orison, born Nov. 22, 1812, married Sophia Howe, Nov. 1833;

Blucher, born May 15, 1815, m. Betsey, dau. of Lyman Huntley.

None of the children of Nahum Norcross are now living. Orison d. Aug. 21, 1873, and Sophia, his wife, died July 19, 1871. Luke died June 22, 1876, and Louisa, his wife, d. Nov. 17, 1881. Blucher, the youngest, d. in 1880.



William and Patty Pierce were the parents of Josiah, Sally, Moses and Henry.

Henry married Philadelphia Thomas; children: Sophia, b. about 1792, m. Isaac Libby of Boston, Mass.; Sally m. Harlow Williams of Milford, Mass. Joseph, b. 1797, died young; Martha, b. 1800, m. Doton Smith, Middleboro, Mass.; Joseph (2d.), m. Melinda ____; Betsey, b. 1804, m. Allen Knight, of Brattleboro; John m. Althea Springer, Maine; Polly married Luther Thayer, Apr. 19, 1837, died 1859 , Lucy m. Benjamin Newton of Shrewsbury, Mass.; George; Lydia married Amasa McFarland of Hopkinton, Mass.; Phila married Josephus Cutler of Holliston, Mass.


came from Upton, Mass., to Dummerston, in 1793. Upton was not an original grant, but was taken from the townships of Mendon, Sutton, and Hopkinton, a locality from which several of the early settlers removed to this town. The children of Josiah and Sarah Pierce were: William. b, in Upton, Mar. 12, 1792; Jacob; Hollis, born May 7, 1796; Anson, in 1798; Hannah, b. Dec. 18, 1803; Joel, b. Jan. 22, 1806; Susanna, born Jan. 19, 1809. William was drowned in West river Apr. 11, 1825, while crossing it in a skiff about a mile north of the old bridge-place. Henry and Moses Pierce were brothers of Josiah and came from Hopkinton. Their sister, Sally, was the wife of Philip Bemis. Moses Pierce m. Patty Barnes children: Asa, Eli, Ruhama, and Ira.


became a resident of this town about the time of his marriage to Abigail Mcwain, Sept. 2, 1790. Their ch. were:

Lucy, b. July 27, 1791, died 1823;

Sally married Ephraim Brown, Aug. 1814;

David m. Betsey Fairbanks, 1824; Leavitt, his twin brother, m. 1st. Emeline Hubbard, May 27, 1830, 2d. Clarissa F. Miller;

Isaac, m. Catherine B. Alexander, Dec. 3, 1829;

Eliza, m. Joseph Miller, March 3, 1841.

The children of Ephraim and Sally Brown were Charles. b. Feb. 12, 1813; Nancy, b. Nov. 30, 1815; James, m. Emily Walker.

Children of David and Betsey Reed: Adin Thayer, b. Dec. 28, 1826; Lucy M. born Apr. 23. 1828; Fanny E. b. Dec. 8, 1829; George F., born Oct. 2, 1831; Louisa P., born Feb. 28, 1836; Mary C., born Feb. 26, 1838: David Henry, b. Oct. 3, 1840.

Isaac Jr., had James A., Maria, Charlotte, and Ellen, of whom James only is living. Leavitt had Romanzo and Eliza by 1st. marriage and Marshall I. by the second.


The traditions of this very ancient family claim their descent from Ericke, a Danish chief, who invaded Britain about the year 911, during the reign of Alfred, the Great, and, having been vanquished by that prince, was compelled, with his followers, to re-people the waste districts of East Anglia, the government of which he held as a fief of the English crown. He was afterwards defeated in battle by Edward, the son and successer of Alfred, and was subsequently slain by his own subjects for alleged cruelty in his government. The Norman invasion found this name represented by Eric, the Forester, who resided in Leicestershire, and was an extensive land-holder. Henry Eyryk, a lineal descendant from Eric, the Forester, was seated at Great Stratton, in the county of Leicester, England, at a very remote period. His grand-son, Robert Eyryk of Stratton, by his wife, Joanna, had William, who bore the title of Sir William Eyryk, Knight of Stratton. He was commisioned to attend the Prince of Wales on his expedition into Gascony, 1355. From him descended Robert Eyrick of Houghton, who was living in 1450.

Thomas Eyrick of Houghton, settled in Leicester, and died in 1517. His second son, John Eyryk, or Herrick, born 1513, m. Mary, daughter of John Bond, Esq., of Ward End in Warwickshire. He died Apr. 2, 1589, leaving a large family, among whom was William, b. 1557, He was a member of Parliament from 1601, to 1630, knighted in 1605, and was known as Sir William Herrick of Leicester, London, and Beau Manor Park. He married 1596, Joan, daughter of Richard May, Esq., London, died Mar. 2, 1652-53, aged 96.

Henry, the fifth son of Sir William, was born at Beau Manor in 1604, and was named by command of the unfortunate Prince Henry, the eldest son of James I. His sponsors were Sir David Murry, Sir John Spillman, and Lady Aston. He came to this country and settled in Salem, Mass., June 24. 1629. He married Edith, daughter of Mr. Hugh Laskin of Salem, and became the ancestor of the numerous race by that name in this country. He and his wife were among the thirty who founded the first church in Salem, in 1629. He died in 1671, leaving seven sons and a daughter, who are named in his will. Of these, Thomas and Benjamin, the eldest and youngest, and the daughter, Elizabeth, died childless. The other five sons are regarded as the patriarchs of their respective branches of the posterity of Henry and Editha Herrick. They are known as Zacharie of Beverly, Ephraim of Beverly, Henry of Beverly, Joseph of Salem, and John of Beverly.

George Herrick of Salem, another ancestor of the family, was an emigrant from England, and came to Salem in 1684 or 5. He was marshal and deputy sheriff in 1691, 2, & 3; & 1695. His wife's name was Martha.

James Herrick of Southampton, N. settled at Southampton, Long Island, then within the jurisdiction of Connecticut, prior to 1657; died 1687, His wife, Martha, survived him.

Henry Herrick of Beverly, d. June 1702; inherited the paternal farm, a part of which was possessed by a lineal descendant, Mrs. Anna Meacom, dau. of Col. Henry Herrick, aged 92 in 1845. Henry Herrick's first wife was Lydia Woodbury, and their fifth child, Jonathan, was baptized in 1672. He removed from Beverly to Concord, Mass., where he possessed considerable property in mills &c.; died 1724; married 1st. Elizabeth, dau. of William Dodge of Beverly, Oct. 28, 1696, who was born 1672, died Mar. 13, 1712, aged 39: had five children: married 2d. Bethiah Conant, Beverly, Sept. 13, 1713, by whom there were five more children.

Joseph, youngest son of Henry, was born in 1720. He removed from Concord to Groton in 1744, where he purchased a farm which he sold to Josiah Conant, 1746; lived a while in Townshend, and finally settled in Brattleboro, died Mar. 16, 1795. He married Lois Cutler of Chelmsford, 1742, who died Aug. 5, 1812, aged 92. Their children were Jonathan, born Sept. 26, 1743; Joseph died about 1835, at Rumney, N.H.; Shadrack married Abigail Stoddard, Chesterfield, N.H.; Lois, born in Chelmsford, Mass., 1749;Amos married widow Miles; Abner, Bethiah, and Mary.

Jonathan Herrick of Brattleboro, m. Mehitabel French, 1770, related to Nathaniel French of Dummerston. Their children were Jonathan, born April 1, 1771 married Lucinda Dickerman, 1779; settled in Farnham, Canada. John died 1779; Lydia, born June 4, 1773; married Grafton Luce of Stowe, Vt. died 1821; Mehitabel born April 20, 1775, married John Page, Clayton, N.Y., 1803; Elisabeth, born 1777, died 1780; Edith, born Feb. 2, 1780 , married Calvin Sartle, Lowell, Vt. in 1799; Nathaniel, born Mar. 1, 1782; Joseph, born Mar. 1, 1784, married Eunice Coughlan. 1807; Seth, born Apr 16, 1786, m. Melinda Coughlan, 1815; Elisabeth 2d, born Apr, 9, 1788; Lucinda, born August 13, 1790, married Lincoln Bixby of Dummerston;; Asa died, 1792.

Seth Herrick of Brattleboro had 7 children: Seth N. Herrick Esq., of that town, John N., Melinda C., Susan E., Mary L., Sarah A., and Ellen C,


removed from Brattleboro to Dummerston; married Lydia Eastman Nov. 30, 1806. Children: Esther m. Stephen Mann, 1834: Harriet, born Mar. 22, 1808, died 1840; Nancy, born July 4, 1811, married Nathaniel Roel. 1836; James, born Mar. 19, 1814, married Elizabeth, dau. of Thomas Crosby, Nov. 2. 1845; embarked Dec. 1845, for the Madura Mission, in southern India; still in missionary work, 1882; John, b. July 27, 1815, m. Fidelia Stiles. The mother of these children died Feb. 19, 1825, and the father married 2d. Widow Jonathan Tenney, Jan. 11, 1826. Children: .Jonathan T., Lydia E., and Nathaniel.

Jonathan Tenney was married Jan. 1810, and Mrs. Tenney's maiden name was Anna Laughton; Children: Mary Ann, m. Merrit Coughlan; Willard m. Mary A. Stevens; Ephraim, a college student; Lucinda m. Charles Baggs; Anna m. George Everleth; Oliver m. Nan Farmer; and Arvilla m. Frederic H. Elmore.


Amasa Lincoln came to Dummerston, from Walpole, N.H., and Allen Lincoln, his cousin, came from Westminster. They bought, Sept. 2, 1811, of Dr. Abel Duncan, one acre of land for $100. It was taken from the southwest corner of his farm, lot, No. 54. The Lincolns built on this land a large tannery and a dwelling-house. The tannery stood a few rods west of the house at the foot of the hill east of the common. It fronted to the south and the upper part of the building was entered from the old road, leading past the tannery. Several of the tan-vats were in the basement of the building. Amasa Lincoln sold his half of the property to Allen Lincoln, Mar. 11, 1817, and removed to Newfane. Allen continued the business till Nov. 21, 1821, when he sold out to Adin Thayer, who on the same day sold to Asa Knight.

The Lincolns came from Massachusetts. Amasa was born in Norton, Mass., July 10, 1787. He married, 1st. Lucy Richardson, Apr. 14, 1814, and boarded for a time with the family of Doctor Duncan. He married, second, Mary Hastings, Jan. 26, 1730. He had four children by the first marriage.

Allen Lincoln married in 1810, Fanny, dau. of Ezra and Amy (Snow) Davis of Chesterfield, N.H. Their children were: Fanny D., Stella S., Allen M., and William R. He, with his family, removed to Fort Covington, or French Mills, N.Y.

Jacob Amsden, a tanner, bought of Asa Knight and soon after sold to Luther Thayer, who put into the tannery, a steam apparatus for heating the vats. About 1830, the tannery was burned, and a much smaller building immediately built on the spot. The business however, soon declined, and the new building was removed, attached to the dwelling-house on the place and converted into a shoe-shop.

Henry L. Porter rented the place for a time and worked at shoe-making. After two or three more changes, Adin Thayer bought the property and sold the same to Lewis Holton, who did an extensive business in making fancy morocco shoes. Mr. Holton, his wife, and two children, died of erysipelas in Jan. 1844, and the place was sold at auction to Wm. O. Miller. William Luck, an Englishman, rented the shop for a time. He served a regular apprenticeship in England and was an excellent shoemaker. No workman could make a more handsome boot or shoe than Mr. Luck. He served for a time in the British army, but deserted and came to this country. What was once the tannery, then a shoe-shop, is now the building joined to the west side of Wm. O. Miller's residence. His sisters, Mrs. Mary M. Rust and Lucretia Miller, own and occupy the Lincoln place.


CALEB HIGGINS married Lucy Hildreth May 5, 1796. She died in 1797, and he married, 2d, Mary Hildreth, June 17, 1798. Alpheus Higgins, probably a brother of Caleb, married Phebe Hildreth Sept. 21, 1797. The children of Caleb and Lucy (Hildreth) Higgins were Caleb and Joshua, twins, b. Feb. 16, 1697; and by his second marriage, Lucy H., born Dec. 6, 1798, who m. Nathan Adams Jr., Oct. 4, 1821.

Caleb, brother of Joshua, married 1st. Almeda Sawyer, July 9, 1820; 2d. name unknown; 3d. Lucy Johnson, of Jamaica, Dec. 8, 1844. He was a shoe-maker by trade and with his third wife lived several years in the Hollow where Maner Smith now resides. He d. May 25, 1863, aged 66, and Lucy, his wife, died Mar. 31, 1865, aged 67. During the summer of 1883, a benevolent friend who knew them well in former years, placed at the head of their graves a marble slab bearing the inscription, in addition to their ages and time of death, "Humble and unassuming in life they did what they could." He never learned to read or write. On one occasion he had a sign painted for his shop. His name and occupation, in lettering, required two lines; but when the painter showed him the sign, he refused to take it, saying, "what man can read twice across that board while riding past my shop?"

Uriah Higgins was one of the heads of families in school district No. 3, in 1793, and lived near Rufus Sargent. Polly Higgins married David Dutton, in 1782. Joseph Higgins was a resident of school district No. 5, in 1793. Joseph Higgins married "Widow Kathan Aug. 26, 77-."

July 2, 1797. From the church record. Two children of Caleb Higgins, twins, were baptized, - one named Joshua, given by its grandfather, Uriah Higgins, the other named Caleb, given by its grandmother, Lydia Hildreth." Therefore, Uriah was father of Caleb and Alpheus.



This locality comprised 26 families in 1793, and was No. 7, of the school-districts. The school-house then stood between John Whitney's and Elder Jonathan Huntley's. In 1820, the number of scholars attending school was 28, as returned by Lyman Walker. Religious services were held in the school-house for many years, regularly every Sunday. Elder Huntley preached there for a long time.


was one of the earliest residents in the Hague. Abraham Fitts Jr., married a Barnes and lived where B. F. Willard now owns. He removed to Newfane where he died about 1863, aged nearly 90. His wife died in 1833.


married Amy, and was from Claremont, N.H., where two children, Timothy, 1784, and Amy, 1785, were born. The children born in this town were Levi, Nabby, Lydia, Rhoda, Lucy, and Hezekiah. Mrs. Crosby died Apr. 7, 1800. He married 2d, Amita Hale, May 15, 1803.


was from Royalston, Mass., and purchased land here in 1789. He owned land in lot. No. 121, on which he had a saw-mill in 1797, and the same year, sold it to Dyer Remington, who in turn sold, it to Joseph Poole of Brookline. The saw-mill was probably built by Micah French, and in the sale, one acre of land was included with the saw-mill which stood on Fall brook. Micah French Jr., married Sarah Howe, Jan. 28, 1787. John French Jr., married Rebecca Haywood, of Walpole, N.H., Nov. 22,1781. Children: Hayward, born Aug. 18, 1783.


and Eunice, his with, were married in 1776. Children: Jesse Jr., born Jan. 26, 1778, married Betsey French, Sept. 27, 1801.

Amasa, born 1780, married Lydia French, Jan. 26, 1806. She was sister of Jesse's wife and both were daughters of' Nathaniel French.

Eunice, born 1782, married Reuben Newton, Mar. 11, 1804.

The other children were Nathaniel, Hannah, Betsey, William, Sally, Polly, John, and Luke, the youngest, born Oct. 17, 1800.

John Manley, son of Jesse Jr., married first Irena Goss, sister of' Harriet Goss, wife of Daniel Taylor, 2d, Abigail Wilson, daughter of Joseph Wilson. Her sister, Sarah C. married John Whitney, and her brothers were Shepard and Elihu Wilson,


a brother of Jesse, removed from Killingsley, Ct., where he married Hannah ____, and where Samuel, their first child was born Jan. 13, 1774. Molly, the second child was born in Royalston, Mass., July 30, 1776. From that place the family came to Dummerston, where Marcy was born June 1, 1778; Hannah born Apr. 12, 1780, married Fairring Wilson, whose daughter, Hannah, married Gideon, son of Charles Cudworth, a first settler on Putney West Hill. James Jr., born July 8, 1782: Lucy, born July 9, 1784, married Stewart Black; Ebenezer, born Oct. 20, 1786, married Patty Black. The children of Ebenezer were Philisia, Syrene, Mary, George and Eliza. Syrene married Shepard Wilson, who now lives on the Manley homestead.


a native of Portugal, came with his wife, Jemima, and one child, Mary, from Smithfield, R.I., to Putney where Hannah was born Aug. 3, 1779. Joseph, Jr., Betsey, Jesse, and Simeon were all born in Putney. Hannah m. Timothy Crosby, and Mary married on the same day, Sept. 29, 1802, Daniel Woods of Townshend. Betsey married Jonas Barrus, Mar. 30, 1806. Mr. Enos was a miller and owned the grist-mill on Fall brook. He bought the land, about 25 acres, and the mill, of Joseph Poole in 1797, who probably built the mill that year. Enos sold the same to Nahum Norcross Jan. 16, 1801, "and the said Norcross is to have liberty to draw water at the saw-mill for the use of the grist-mill as he shall want or need." James Newton had a shop and furnace on the same land with rights reserved to him in the same deed.


married Matilda Livermore and lived on the Abram Dewy place He came from Barre, Mass., where his sister, Martha was born Aug. 5, 1785. Her first husband was Samuel Bond, born in Winchester, N.H., Aug. 28, 1783. They were married Nov. 16, 1806. Children: Luke Taylor, born Jan. 3, 1807; Samuel Jr., born Apr. 28, 1809. Samuel Bond died in Walpole, N.H., March 9, 1809. His widow married second Thomas Clark,


married Sarah Woodbury, June 20, 1781. He was from Sutton, Mass., where his first child, Benjamin, was b. Oct. 23, 1781. The other children were Sally, b. May 12, 1784, David, Parks, Calvin, and Matilda, who married Josiah Tenney. David died 1876, aged 89; Olive, his wife, died 1875, aged 86. Jonas Jr., died Apr. 6, 1812, aged 58.


was probably from Westboro, Mass., where many persons of that name lived when he came to Dummerston. Daniel Nurse and Sarah Ball were the parents of 11 children born in Westboro. Joseph and Joel, his sons, removed to Shrewsbury about 1800. Wm. Nurse married Rebecca Fay and was a resident of Shrewsbury in 1729; but was set off with his farm to Westboro, in 1741.

Francis Nourse of Salem Village, had children, John, Sarah, Rebecca, Samuel, Francis, Mary, Elizabeth, and Benjamin. Their mother was hung in the witchcraft delusion, July 19, 1692. The name originally Nourse, is still so written by many families.

Solomon, of this town, married Mehitible ____, and had children, Asa, b. 1779; Hannah, Mehitible, Sampson, Persis, Caty, Samuel Duncan, and Benjamin, the youngest, b. Jan. 27, 1801.

Betty, wife of Nathaniel French, was probably a sister of Solomon Nourse. Her first husband was Samuel Duncan, and a child of her brother is named Samuel Duncan.

Joseph Nourse, who lived in the east part of the town, was a cousin of Solomon. He m. Hannah Holton; Children Hannah, b. 1781. m. 1st. ____ Wright, 2d. John Wellman of Amherst, 1838; Joseph, b. 1783, m. Sally Glynn, 1822; Asenath b. 1785, m. 1st. Eli S. Davis of Brattleboro, 1817, 2d. ____ Abbot; Thomas H., b. 1787, married Betsey Kingsley of Utica, N.Y.; Abel, b. 1789; Elijah, b. 1791; Elisha, b. 1793; m. 1st. Sally Murdock of Townshend, 2d. Lucy ____; Reuben, b 1794; John, b. 1797.


was a Revolutionary soldier and pensioner, and was from Petersham, Mass. where he married Abigail ____ and where their first child, Polly, was born Jan. 10, 1779. Betsey born in Dummerston May 27, 1781; Rebecca, Susanna, Joel, and Esther.

Seth Hudson died Nov. 28, 1828.

Enos, probably, a brother of Seth, married Patty ____, and had a son, Seth, born July 12, 1792. Betsey Hudson m. John Grout of N.Y. Samuel S. Hudson married Sally Field, of Brattleboro.


was born in Brattleboro, Sept. 5, 1773, and first settled on the Roel place. He married Betsey Plummer and lived many years on the Reuben Walker farm. He cleared much of the land where he first settled at the rate of 10 acres a year for 6 years.

His children were: Sally, b. May 14, 1795, married Dr. Sewall Foster; Betsey, b. 1796, died 1798; Cyrus, born Apr, 8, 1798, m. Sally, dau. of John Lawton; Asa, b. Mar. 8, 1801, married Ruth Greenwood;

Willard, b. June 20, 1803, married Amanda Kingsbury;

Betsey, b. Aug. 18, 1805, m. John Greenwood, brother of Asa's wife; John P., b. 1807, m. Harriet French, dau of Nathaniel French; Sewall married Juliette French, sister of John's wife; Lucy m. Wm. Goss; Harriet married George Willard, and Daniel, Jr. died unmarried.

Daniel Belknap died Aug. 23, 1862, aged 89.

Calvin Belknap, probably a relative of Daniel m. Bathusa ____, and had Bathusa, born Nov. 1787; Asa, b. 1790; Daniel, b. 1792; Lucy, b 1794; Polly, b. 1797: Charles Belknap married Sarah Duncan, Aug. 10, 1795.



No grand lists can be found at the clerk's office of an earlier date than about 1820. What became of them before that date, no one knows. The following rate bill will show what the grand list was for the year 1801


State Tax of one cent on the Dollar on the Grand List granted at the October Session of 1801.

Also Town Tax of one cent on the Dollar on the Grand List granted Dec. 7 1801.



$ cts. $ cts.

Adams Nathan 1 17 1 17

Allyn Charles 86 1 86

Arnold Gamaliel 67 1 13

Alvord Benjamin 1 28 l 28

Ash Ebenz. 24 44

Atridge Nathaniel 20

Allyn Josiah 11 77

Adams Samuel 38 38

Bennett Samuel Jr. 20 40

Bemis David 41 41

Bemis Benjamin 69 44

Boyden William 2 27 2 27

Bends Elias 92 1 12

Bigelow Isaac 88 1 O8

Bemis Joseph 2 20 2 20

Butler Silas 39 67

Boyden Isaac 94 94

Brown Elijah 39 27

Butler Abel 1 84 1 84

Barrus Jonathan. 31 31

Butler ? John 1 17 1 17

Boyden Josiah 82 82

Burritt Isaac 1 14 1 44

Burnham John 13 33

Barrus John 19 19

Boyden Asa 47 80

Baldwin John 47 47

Bennet Samuel 59 76

Butler Thomas 25 25

Bennet Joseph 99 99

Bemis Philip 74 94

Belknap Charles 46 66

Butterfield Luke 1 26 1 26

Belknap Daniel 80 1 00

Black Steward 40 40

Butterfield Ezra 2 58 2 58

Belknap Calvin 61 81

Bennet Stephen 1 58 1 58

Boook Aaron Jr. 36 39

Briggs Seth 1 63 1 63

Buck Elijah 21 21

Bemis Benjamin 2d, 20

Butterfield Ezra Jr.

Emmett Wilkins 29 49

Bailey Dudley 61 61

Bixby Nathaniel 70 70

Barret Benjamin Jr. 10 10

Barrus Moses 20

Bebee John 35 32

Bennet John, 26 26

Bond Aaron 61 61

Clark Thomas 3 03 3 03

Clark Thomas Jr. 00

Colbey Simeon 63 29

Caryl Levi 20 46

Cossett Boswell 46 06

Chamberlain Sela 21 21

Cook Enoch 1 59 1 59

Cressy Henry 51 71

Caryl Asa 35 35

Caryl Abijah 26 29

Cook Nathan 33 33

Crosby Timothy 33 33

Cresey William 20

Collins Sylvanus

Cutting Joel 13 33

Clark Thadeus 21

Cobleigh Jonathan Jr. 20

Cambridge John 61

Crosby Eli 50

Clap Ichobod 24 1 24

Dean Richard 69 89

Dutton David 67 87

Duncan Jason Esq. and Sons 2 08 2 48

Duncan Abel 77 77

Davenport Charles 34 34

Davenport Charles Jr. 95 95

Dutton Asa 3 23 3 22

Dutton Samuel 4 27 4 27

Dutton Samuel Jr. 33 33

Duncan Samuel 12 1 1 12

Dickenson Paul 54 54

Estabrook Benjamin 1 22 1 22

Ellis Benjamin and Sons 33 33

Enos Joseph 66 66

Farr William 14 34

Fisher Ebenezer 17 17

Frith Abraham Jr. 99 99

Fairchild Silas 26 26

French Joel 6 26

Flarity (Florida) James 1 30 1 30

French Nathan 2 49 2 40

French John 14 14

French Samuel 51 71

Foster Skelton 57 57

French William 33 33

Foster Barnard 38 38

Frost Benjamin 25 20

Guernsey Samuel 39 39

Goss Zebulon 49 69

Goss Henry 90 1 10

Gleason Joseph 26 26

Gowing Samuel 53 73

Goss Daniel 1 47 1 67

Griffeth Ellis 92 92

Gibbs Elijah 13 33

Gates Daniel Jr. 13 33

Graham Caleb 98 1 18

Gates Daniel Lt. 2 13 2 31

Gates J. Shephard 2 02 2 02'

Grout Ebenezer 24 44

Graham Lemuel 1 32 1 31

Goddard Levi 22 42

Gibbs Samuel 7 27

Gates Phineas 39 59

Graves Reuben 26 26

Hunt Jona. -Hinsdale 10 10

Hopkins Jeremiah 72 72'

Hildreth Jesse 65 65

Hildreth Joseph 95 95

Hildreth Ezekiel 51 21

Higgins Alpheus 39 39

Hildreth Wilson 13 33

Haven Joseph 15 35

Hartwell Oliver 1 57 1 57

Hadley Benjamin 1 27 1 47

Haven Abel 1 32 1 65

Healey James 10 30

Hudson Enos 24 24

Hudson Seth 1 72 1 72

Hillyard Joseph 6 6

Holton Arad 1 25 1 25

Haven David 55 73

Hadley Jesse 21 21

Herrick Jonathan 1 24 1 24

Hadley Ebenezer 10 10

Holton Reuben 44 44

Jenks Obediah 31 31

Jillson Sylvester 15 35

Johnson James 57 77

Johnson Simeon 66 86

Johnson F. Edward 1 20 1 40

Johnson Ashbel 2 02 2 02

Johnson William

Jacobs Joseph 40 40

Kathan John 56 56

Kathan Gardner 41 61

Knight Joel 1 11 1 31

Knight Jesse 1 23 1 23

Knight Samuel 1 11 1 31

Nathan John 2d. 75 75

Kelley Alexander 1 51 1 51

Nathan Daniel 1 88 1 88

Kendall Luke 1 80 2 00

Kendall Isaac 6 6

Knight Jonathan Jr. 1 40 1 60

Nathan Alex. & Thomas 2 35 2 55

Kathan Daniel 2,

Knapp Ichabod 3 03 3 03

Kilbury Richard & John 1 42 1 75

Kelley Richard Jr. 51 51

Nathan David 45 65

Knapp John 26 46

Kneeland Abner 31 31

Kathan Daniel Jr. 38 71

Kathan Prentice 66 65

Kelley William 5 25

Laughton Jacob 1 59 1 79

Leonard William 06 96

Larrabee J. Widow 37 37

Laughton Samuel Jr. 65 65

Laughton 2, & Thomas 1 13 1 33

Laughton David 6 26

Lamb Peter 1 11 1 11

Laughton John Lt. 1 19 1 19

Larrabee John 33 33

Miller Vespacian 2d. 33 53

Morse John & Samuel 1 62 1 62

Mann James 77 77

Miller John 69 2 69 2

Miller Vespacian Capt. 1 31 1 31

Miller Hosea 65 85

Manley James 1 53 1 53

Miller William 1 17 1 17

Miller Marshal 1 67 1 67

Miller Sylvanus 1 48 1 48

Manley Jesse 2 09 2 09

Merrick Ebenezer 64 64

Miller George 40 60

Mann Nath'l 63 83

Mann Stephen 16 36

Manley Jesse Lt, 42 62

Moore Jona. do. 85 85

Miller Joseph 33 33

Merrick Moses 20

Negus William 91 91

Negus John 56 56

Norcross Nahum 18 38

Newton James 33 33

Nurse Joseph 1 42 1 42

Orvis Widow Wm. 13 13

Prouty Abel 18 38

Pierce Benjamin 73 73

Presson Benja. & Stephen 56 76

Porter Samuel Esq. 2 07 2 27

Parish Asa 1 74 1 74

Prentiss Elkanah 29 23

Potter Reuben 35 35

Pratt Asa 52 52

Pierce William 22 22

Parker Elijah 20 20

Presson Samuel 6 26

Pratt Jesse 20

Randall EliSha 33 33

Rider David 6 6

Rich Elijah 26 46

Bend Isaac 97 1 17

Rice Nathan, Eph’m. & Elijah 1 84 1 84

Rice Amos & Gardner 1 53 1 75

Streeter Samuel 20 20

Sabin Elisha 20 20

Sargeant Caleb 20 20

Sargeant Rufus 1 63 1 63

Sargeant Thomas 1 18 1 18

Stockwell Joel 81 1 01

Stimpson Amos 20 20

Stoddard Samuel 37 57

Sargeant Calvin 17 17

Stockwell, Jonas 1 73 1 73

Stevens Henry 1 10 1 10

Stimpson Simeon 1 20

Sargeant John 20

Stearns Daniel 26 26

Shaw Bela 2 21 2 21

Stickney Peter 68 98

Sweetser William 50 83

Stone Nathaniel 56 58

Stimpson Charles 20 20

Taylor Isaac 56 56

Tart Silas 2 2

Taft Asahel 69 69

Thompson Benoni 98 98

Town Parka 28 62

Taylor Daniel & Luke 1 50 50

Thayer Thadeus 74 74

Temple Joseph 1 17 1 17

Twitchell Joshua 30 30

Thompson Uriah 20

Turner John 1 17 1 17

Turner Thomas 63 63

Turner Elias 20 20

Taylor Israel 38 38

Viol Mason 38 58

Wyman George 13

Williams Asa 1 42 1 42

Walker Jonas 1 79 1 79

Wilder Joshua 95 1 23

Wood Seth 33 53

Whitney Benjamin 26 26

Woodbury Stephen 1 16 1 16

Wait Widow Ebenezer 23 1 23

Wilder Elias 2 03 2 03

Willard Henry 2 36 2 69

Webster Asahel 51 51

Wilson Joseph 6 26

Wyman John Lieut. 75 75

Wyman John Jr. 58 58

Wakefield Samuel 1 04 1 04

Wilson Ezekiel 20 26

Warner Daniel 1 04 1 01

Willard Peter 13 1 33

Welch Silas 29 29

Winslow Joseph 35 35

Wooley Asa 39 39

Wilder Atholiab Jr. 46 46

Wood Jonas 42 42

White Asa 6 26

Whitney Henry 39 39

Whipple John 69 69

Ward Nahum 93 93

Zwear Daniel 93 93


$209. 51 $2233.79



Dummerston, January 16, 1802

NOTE.-This Tax Bill was found among the papers of John Miller, Collector, 1802.


In connection with the old tax bill for 1802, it will be interesting to know in what part of the town most of the families lived near the close of the last century. From the report of a committee for dividing the town into school districts, Dec. 10, 1793, of whom Jonathan Knight was chairman, the following information is obtained: The Centre School plot for the Town of Dummerston was


Samuel Dutton Jr., Joseph Hillyard, John Wyman Jr., Vespacian Miller, Hosea Miller, Stephen Woodbury, David Leavitt, Thomas Clark, Simeon Colby, Ebenezer Wait, Samuel Porter, David Gates, Marshall & John Miller, Ichabod Knapp, Abner Town, Jona. Barrus, Lemuel & Dan'l Davenport, Asa & Levi Caryl, Nathan Cook, Elkanah Prentiss, Benj. Estabrook, Benja. Alvord, William & John Negus Jason Duncan, Josiah Kellogg, Solomon Cool;


John Baldwin, John Nathan 2d., Caleb Graham, Henry Stearns, Richard Kelly, Samuel Wilder, Aaron Jones, Mr. Taylor, Oliver Hartwell, Alexander Kelley, Benjamin Jones Jr., Amos Rice, Samuel Duncan, Dr. Haven, Elias Wilder, David & Asa Dutton, Joseph Bemis, Philip Bemis, Ephraim Rice, Elias Burbank, Jotham Houghton, James Healey, Henry Willard, Andrew Willard, Nathan Ball.


John Fuller, James Nichols, Elihu Sargeant, Daniel Kathan 2d. Uriah Higgens, Rufus Sargeant, Jonathan Willard, Stephen Beal, Benjamin Pierce, Mr. Bond, Bela Shaw, Benjamin Whitney, Levi Goddard, Jesse Hildreth, Jos. Hildreth, Jr., Capt. Jones, Jos. & Wilson Hildreth, William Miller, Charles Davenport, Jr., Mr. Webster, Charles Davenport, Jabez Butler, Aaron Brooks, John Kneeland, Wm. Middleditch, Benjamin, David, & Elias Bemis, Isaac Bigelow and Samuel Nichols.


John Kilbury, Daniel Kathan, Ebenezer Haven, Abel Haven, Alexander Kathan, John & Eleazer Rhoades, Elijah Brown, Gideon Burnham, Abel .Johnson, Joseph Haven, Widow Flarty (Florida), .John Shephard Gates, Ashbel Johnson, William Sargeant, John Kathan, Gardner Kathan, Ephraim ____.


Joseph Temple, Isaac Boyden, John Mcwain, Isaac Reed, Jesse Knight, Thomas Laughton, Joel Knight, John Butler, Joseph Higgens, Elijah Town, Samuel & Jona. Knight, Calvin Butler, Wm. Boyden, William Wyman, Samuel & Jacob Laughton, Abel Butler, Benjamin Witt, Arad Holton, Henry Cressey, Simeon Johnson, Anthony Mason, John Burnham, Asa White.


Josiah Taft, Enos Phillips, Jonas Livermore 2, Seth & Enos Hudson, Asahel Taft, Jonas Walker, Josiah Pierce, Sam'l Norcross, Nath'l French, Solomon Nourse, Seth Duncan , John Larrabee. Silas Taft, Jonathan Child.


Abraham Fitts, John Laughton, Jonathan, Jonas & Thomas Farr, Josiah Spaulding, John Marsh, Mr. Cobleigh, Mr. Parmeter, Nathaniel Holmes, Micah French, John Turner, Elijah Remington, Luther Butler, Mrs. Twitchell, Andrew Crowl, Patrick Mcmanis, Timothy Crosby, John Smith, Samuel Gowen, Benj. Presson, Archibald Woods, Rufus Freeman, Seth Smith James and Jesse Manley.

The oldest tax bill we have examined in this town was for the year 1806. It contains a list of 205 tax-payers who were to pay a tax of one cent on the "general list" of said Dummerston, and is signed by Samuel Porter and Seth Hudson, selectmen of the town. At that time there were eight tax-payers in town, by the name of Kathan, and twelve named Miller. The most singular name on the list is Zwears. Asa Dutton was the largest tax-payer, his tax being $4.65. The only man now living (1871) whose name is on this bill, is Jonas Walker who still resides in town at the venerable age of 90 years. The tax bill for 1807, shows that Henry Willard was the largest land holder at that time, and owned 418 acres. Thomas Clark stands next having 416 acres. The tax is an assessment of one cent on each acre of land for the purpose of building a State Prison. The tax for 1808, was one cent on it dollar of the grand list, and it appears from the examination of other bills, that it was the general rate of taxation in those days. It was the custom also to make a new bill for each kind of tax assessed for the year; and this plan was followed until sometime after Wm. O. Miller received the office of constable and collector. Mr. Miller was chosen in 1844, and has collected the taxes each year since, except two, making a service at the present time (1879) of 33 years. The tax-book now in use, of which Joseph Steen of Brattleboro has a copyright or claim of some kind, and which Mr. Miller himself used for sometime previous to the year 1867, at which time he suggested to Mr. Steen the method now used, has the names and grand list written on the left hand page and exhibits on the right the different kinds of taxes, including town, state, school and county. The tax-book for 1871, when this article was first written contains 380 names, and of this number fourteen are Millers and but two Kathans. Among old deeds we mention two that are ancient; one is dated 1739, the other 1751.


May 16th, 1775, the town "Votid that the Selectmen Be the men to take Cair of theves. Votide that Elexander Kathon Should have his gun. meeting Disolved By a grate meJority of votes."

Mundy the twenty-second of may Enoch Cook & thomas Clark Chosen Daligates to Set at westminester."

"thursday, the twenty-second of June at won of the Clock in the after noon. Votid that the town Act a Cording to the County Congras in thaer Resolves. Votid in By the melisha of the town Jonathan Knight Capt. Josiah Boyden Lieutenant and that william Neagos Be the insien for the melisha of said town"

"At a town meetin Held the 22 of Angust At the meeting hous at fore of the Clock in the after Noon to act on the foloing artickles Viz. Meeting openid. Enoch kook chosen moderator. Votid that tis the SenCe of this town that the Letters that are in the hand of Doctr Solomon Harvy are Not any Evidance in the Case which the Commite is Collectin for the Evidance which tha are to Colect is the Bad Conduct of the Cort from its fast Setting up the Cort Down to the fust of march Last and that those Letters only Shue that the Peple ware Displeaised at the Earbitary Conduct of the offiseirs of the Cort and ware Rady to Rise and stop the Cort before that time; and those Lettors Show Like wise the unity of the People and pur fix the time; and we think it Best not to have those Letors goe to westminester;"


P. C. Votid that John Hooker Cari on the Publick worship on the Lord's Day."

September 11th, " Votide in to the Cumpini of me Lisha of the town Daniel Kathan second Lieut. William Negos Axed a Dissmi shon from said Compini as an in sine and it was grainted. Votid in to said Compini of me Lisha as an insian John Shepord gaits in the Room of william Negos."

November 23d, " At a town meeting held to act on the foloing artickils, viz: maid Choyce of John Hooker modarator. Votide not to Send Daligats to nue york - Votide that Enoch Cook Shuld not Serve nor Stand as a Commity man for the town nor for the County of Cumberland (Windham) Nor act in this town in a publick Station."

November 28 " Voted to Reconsider the former Votid Not to Send Daligates to Nue yorke and Votide to Send two Daligates to New york, By being informid that it was Nedfull to send them Votid that John Hooker Shall Represent this town to set at westminister in the Room of Enoch Cook and that said hooker Shall Cary the town Votes to westminister."

Desember 14. The voters met according to adjournment and " a Joured to the 21st of Desember instant at one of the Clock in the after noon to mr Enoch Cooks and all so is a Jorned to Said time." ''Met at the hows of mr Enoch Cook the 21d a Cording to a Jourment meeting oppenid and proseedid to Bisniss

Votid to Rase the Sum of ten Dolors for to Surport Daligats to Go to new york if nede be and for the Colecttors to pay the sum of ten Dolors in to the hands of Jonathau Knight for to Ceep til furdor ordeas as the towu chose him trashueri for that End.

Votid that Jonathan Knight and Enoch Cook Joseph hildrith secuer the towns Records that are in Drt. Solomon harvys hand and transCribe it into a town Book."

Febuary 26, 1776, " after moshon maid and secondid maid choise of mr. John Hooker Clark protemporara - Votid to send a man to Jine the County Comitte on the twelfth of march at the hows of mr. John Saagants at Brattleborough at Nine of the Clock in the fore Noon to Draw up a Remonstrance to Send to the Contauatshall Congras at PhileDalpha Consarning those that perpatrated the Blody Masscaree on the thurteeinth of march Last. Secondly maid Choise of Decon Jonathan Cole of Westmoreland in the State of hampshier to Be a member to Joine the other members at time and plase Entor on the sd Bisness. Voted that tha woold not Except of the plan the Countys Committy Gave out as a Gineral Rule to go By for a Valiations of a States. Votid to Chuse a Comitty of thre men to make a mending on the Countys Comittys Ginaral Ruele as tha Shall think fit. maid Choise of mr. Enoch Coock and mr. thomas Clark and mr. William Neegos to Be a Comitty for the a Bove sd porposs. John Hooker Clark protemp Feburawary ye 26, 1776."

April 15, " Voted that hoggs Shall not Run at large. Voted to have a comity to take Care of hoggs - william Boyden mr. Haven mr. Hoseah miller Be the Committy to take Care of hooggs. Votid that if any man Sustain Damage By the Comittys hoogs that two of that Committy has Libbarty to Chuse the thurd man to prise the Dammegs that his hoogs has Dun. Votid that the Comitty for the year in Suing to take the Care of hoogs uppone Complaint Being maid to them of Damige Being Dun, they shall Go Immediately and prize the sd Damige according to thare judgment with in fore Days from thare Being Notified and if Not Settelled the hogs Shall Be posted twenty-fore owers and then sele at publiek Vendue to the highest bider and if the Sale of sd hogs Excedt the a Bove sd Damige Be Returned to the onor of sd hogs and if he Refuse to take this Said overplus it shall Rest in sd Committys hands until furdor orders the man who surstains the Damige shall first Notifie the oner of the hogs. Votid with a grait meJority in ye afarmitive

June 18, " Voted that Lut. Lenord Spolding Be a Commitey man in the Roome of Ebenezer haven to go to westminister & set thar. Voted that the town will Bair thare Equil purporshon to send to the Contananshal Congras."

[We have a few more leaves of this old ms. we may use for another gap.]


is a new name for a very beautiful fall near West river, in The Hague, on a stream called Fall brook, because the descent from its source is so precipitous. What is now called Staubbach Falls has long been known as "Fall Brook Falls." It is a charming retreat in the forest, and exceedingly romantic. A winding path, shaded by evergreen trees, leads up from the highway beside the brook, along the southern bank to the waterfall. The steep, rugged banks, prostrate, decaying old trees, projecting rocks, moss-grown and covered with ferns, give a primitive look to the locality. The ravine is deep and its northern bank just below the falls rises to a height of more than a hundred feet. The brook runs over a ledge nearly perpendicular and 60 feet in height. Years ago the fall was 10 or l5 feet more than it now is, as freshets have washed in a quantity of large stones at the foot of the ledge. The brook is three miles in length and has its source on Putney West Hill.

*Conclusion, of Paper on the Hague. A leaf of the Ms. overlooked on page 107.


The custom of warning persons out of town, who, in the opinion of the selectmen, were liable to become a "Town charge," went into practice here soon after the organization of the township. The following warrant, copied from the old records, shows the kind of instructions then issued to the constables by the selectmen:

"State of Vermont Windham County Dummerston Apr. ye 2d, 1781 To Either of the Constables in the Town of Dummerston Greeting: In the Name & behalf of the freemen and by the Authority of the same we command you forthwith to Warn all the tranchent Persons that is not Inhabitants in this Town that have not been in the Town one year from this Date that is liable to be a Town Charge to Depart forthwith out of the Town with their Families if any they have."

The order does not state what constitutes a freeman, or an inhabitant beyond one year's residence. In order to be exempt from being warned out, it was probably necessary to be "native born," or the owner of some real estate. To the authorities there must be some visible means of support, something external in the appearance of the new comer, or he must leave within a year from his time of advent. If he had "but a thousand a year," known only to himself, he must go according to the warning. Good habits, honesty, uprightness, and educational accomplishments, would not qualify a man for citizenship.

According to the order issued Apr. 2, 1781, the families warned out, were John and Susanna Fuller; heirs, Lyman and Raymand Fuller; Woods and family; Nancy Woods; Ebenezer How and Lucy, Patty, and Charity How; James Coats; Israel Rich and family; Adam Fleeman; Margaret, Solomon, Adam Jr., Mary Magdalene, and Eunice Fleeman; John Day; Anna and Margaret Day; David Russell; Caty Morse; Abner Bemis; Catherine Bemis: Joseph and Jemima Bemis. Date of warnings Apr. 14, and 18, 1781.

Very little is now remembered in regard to the condition of these families, warned out of town that year, except that of Joseph and Jemima (Stoddard) Bemis. Mr. Bemis was about 24 years old. had one child at that time and had served through the Revolutionary war, He must have been all right physically. He did not "depart immediately," but remained to earn a living without " Town charge," bring up a family of six children, buy and pay for a good farm, inherited by his children, and died at the advanced age of' 79 years, a respected, worthy citizen. His son, Joseph Jr., born in Dummerston, Aug. 5, 1786, is now living (1884) in New York State, in his 98th year.


The year 1816, well remembered by the oldest citizens, as the cold season or "Poverty-year." It was known in New England as eighteen-froze-to-death. There was frost every month in the year, though August was exempt from frost in some localities. The mean mercurial temperature that year was about 43. Snow fell in June and frost cut down the growing corn. The early frosts of September destroyed the unripe corn, which some farmers vainly tried to save by early husking and spreading. Famine stared every one in the face and it was a hard year for all, though some of the river farmers had fair crops when all others failed. The crop of English grain was heavy and this saved the inhabitants from partial famine. The only field of corn that ripened in this town, that year, was on the "Haven farm," and the crop was raised by "uncle" Jairus Haven, a man now [1881] living at the age of 92 years. He is very deaf, but when he is made to understand that something is desired from him about 1816, he is pleased to relate his success in raising corn that year. About 15 miles up the river on the New Hampshire side in Walpole was a wealthy farmer, Thomas Bellows Esq., who had a good crop of corn. He had more than he needed for his own use, and what he had to spare was sold in small quantities at the price in years of plenty to such men as needed it for their families and could pay for it only in day's labor, and were obliged to carry it home in a bag on their backs. Speculators were hard hearted in those days, as now, and took advantage of the situation of affairs to speculate in corn. One such man called on the. "Squire" to purchase corn and inquired his price. He was much surprised to learn that it was no more than in years of plenty, and said he would take the corn, "How much would you like," inquired Mr. Bellows? "I will take all you have to spare," said the speculator. "You cannot have it," stammered the Squire, for he had an impediment in his speech. "If you want a bushel for your family, you can have it at my price, but no man can buy of me to speculate in this year of scarcity." The story was told to George B. Bartlett, a. visitor in Walpole some years since, and it so impressed him that he embodied it in a little poem, we chrisen:


In the time of the sorrowful famine year

When crops were scanty and bread was dear;

The good Squire's fertile and sheltered farm

In the valley nestled secure from harm;

For the Walpole hills, in their rugged might

Softened the chill winds deathly blight,

So the sweet Connecticut peaceful stream

Reflected the harvests golden gleam;

And the buyers gathered with eager greed

To speculate on the poor man's need;

But the good squire said "It is all in vain;

No one with money can buy my grain;

But he who is hungry may come and take

An ample store for the giver's sake.

The good old man to his rest has gone,

But his fame still shines in the golden corn,

For every year in its ripening grain,

The grand old story was told again.

Of him whose treasure was laid away

In the banks that seven-fold interest pay;

For to feed the hungry and clothe the poor

Is a speculation that's always sure.





The early records of this town furnish but little information of a military character. The first warlike event in which the inhabitants manifested much excitement, was the fight at Westminster in 1775, when William French was killed, and Daniel Houghton mortally wounded. The company from Brattleboro, including French, stopped on their way to the court-house, at Ebenezer Haven's in this town, and were quite merry and boisterous. They laughed and joked about the grand time they should have in preventing the court party from taking their seats. Mrs. Haven thought they had cause to feel sober, and told them, their joy would be changed to sadness before they returned, a prophecy that was indeed, verified.


Alexander Kathan, was in the fight on the side of the court party, or "tories," as they were called; and so indignant were the citizens towards him, that he was arrested and sentenced to remain on his farm one year, and not step off from it under penalty of death. A neighbor on the farm joining his, watched him daily during the whole year, and always kept a loaded gun with him, while at work in the field, for the purpose of shooting him the moment that he should step over the boundary. "It was lucky for him," said the man, ''that he strictly kept within his limit, for I should have shot him as quick as I would an Indian." In July, 1777, as soon as the news of the battle of Hubbardton reached here, a company of militia was sent from this town to Castleton where the main body of the army under Gen. St. Clair, was stationed, and remained in the service till after the battle of Bennington was fought in August.


About the year 1780, the inhabitants in the northwestern part of this town, and a few families living near them, in Brookline, became alarmed at sounds which they heard in the woods. They had, occasionally, heard the firing of a gun in the morning and during the forenoon; but they quieted their fears for a time. Towards night the sounds became more frequent, and a smoke having been seen in the forest, they felt sure that Indians were coming to murder them and destroy their property. They hastily gathered what few valuables they could carry, and with their families and teams fled to the older settlements a few miles farther to the southeast. All the inhabitants on the way were alarmed and joined in the flight. When they reached the dwellings of those families living on the hills in the central part of the town, some were persuaded to stop there, as it would be a good place for defence; but several of the more timid ones, went farther on towards Brattleboro where there would be greater safety, for they declared the Indians would come beyond the top of the hills. A guard was stationed by those who remained on the hill, and every thing in readiness for an attack. The hours passed slowly during the night; and to while away the time and keep awake, potatoes were roasted and eaten, the guard frequently visited and every precaution taken against surprise. Morning dawned at last, and still no signs of the approaching enemy. Two brave men, well armed, were sent back towards the scenes of depredation to ascertain what damage had been done by the Indians. On their approach to the place, they saw the door of one house standing open and also heard a noise inside -- "There! there!" exclaimed one "the Indians are here, they are plundering my house !" They went cautiously to the door, guns in hand, ready for an encounter, when suddenly a loud grunt was heard and out rushed an old porker, the only occupant of the building. The men laughed heartily, went farther on, learned the causes of their alarm, and returned to the company.

A heavy snow had fallen the day previous to the alarm and continued to fall the next day.

The weather being a little warm, the snow had lodged on the trees in large quantities, causing the limbs of some to break and fall. The inhabitants had mistaken these sounds for the report of guns. The smoke which was seen in the distance, was caused by a party of surveyors, who had stopped in the woods and built a fire; and the hog had got access to the house after the wind had blown open the door. No lives were lost, and the inhabitants returned to their homes unmolested.



who died about 1817, nearly 90 years of age, a soldier in the French and Indian War, lived on a farm about one mile S. W. of where the old meeting-house stood. His orchard of apple-trees bore fruit first of any in that section. He owned the first cider-mill in town. The apparatus for the pressing consisted of a large heavy timber fastened loosely at one end, between two posts, and free at the other, under which was the floor of the press; above this was a windlass used for raising the end of the heavy timber. At first the timber was sufficiently heavy to press out the cider; afterwards, weights were added to finish the work. The pomace was generally ground a second time, and water sometimes hot, poured on, so that the last pressing would he sure to squeeze out all the cider. Whenever cider was made in the mill, Mr. Negus helped to do it, and the boys were not allowed to eat apples or drink cider, while he was present, for the reason that they were scarce in those times.

He was muscular in form, quite tall, and much stronger than men in general. His chest and shoulders were very broad and his hands uncommonly large. He used to say very little about his fight with the Indians; but many stories have been told of his great feats of strength.

On one occasion, when he was hauling timber to build a house, the hired man was obliged to drive the team along the brow of a hill. There was danger of the log's rolling downward and injuring the team; so Mr. Negus took a large lever, stepped over on the lower side, placed one end on the ground near the log, and the other on his shoulder. "Drive on," said he to the hired man; but the log which was 20 feet long and large enough to make a stick of timber 8 inches square, instead of going as he expected, rolled up on the lever close to his head. He stood firm, meanwhile, and straight up like a goose in a shower, till the driver could stop the team and roll the log back again. "Did it hurt you" inquired the driver? "No," said he, "but it pressed my bones pretty close together." [See Negus, page 69.]


was in the provincial army that formed a part of the British forces in the war against the French and Indians. He was in service from 1759, till the treaty of peace in 1763, and served most of the time in the state of New York. He moved into this town in 1768, and settled on the farm where his grand-son now lives, -- the nearest house being at that time, one mile distant. He was obliged to go three miles to get an axe ground; and went to mill in Northfield, Mass. At the time of his death in 1814, he was 93 years old. His son, Jacob Laughton, died in this town, Aug. 29, 1852, aged 91.


a French and Indian war soldier, died in 1816, aged 85 years. When he was in service in Franconia, N.H., both his feet were frozen, and amputation near the instep was necessary. Ever afterwards his walk was peculiar; and from the circumstance that his footsteps seemed to imitate the sound of the voice in speaking the words, he received the title of "Four-pound-ten." He was a man of medium size and height, very fond of story-telling, and a great hand to carry the news. A neighbor once told him that the minister, Mr. Beckley, had a negro working for him, - he saw him chopping wood near the house, as he came along that morning. "Has he," inquired the old man, and soon after he started off, and was gone all day, telling the news that some benevolent man in Connecticut had sent Mr. Beckley a negro, that he had arrived, and somebody saw him at work there. When he returned home that night, the folks told him that the story was an imposition, and the next day, he again, went over the route, and corrected it.



one of the early settlers in town, was in the army of the Revolution. He died before the government granted pensions to the soldiers, except those who were invalids. He was 82 years old at the time of his death in 1815.

He was a man of eccentric habits, rather witty in his sayings, and a sociable and agreeable citizen. He acquired no property, and depended upon charity and the labor of his hands for support in his declining years.

He was a member of the Congregational church, was very constant in attendance upon the Sabbath, always watched the minister closely, and could make good criticisms of the sermons. Those persons who remember the old man like to tell the story of his writing texts on a post in the meeting-house. He occupied a seat in the gallery at the right of the pulpit and quite near to the minister. At the head of his pew was a column which supported that end of the gallery and extended to the upper part of the building. Whenever the minister read his text, he was always ready with a pin to scratch it down on the "post," and so many times had he done so, that it was all written over with texts as high as he could reach. Often when he was in the act of writing, the young folks would whisper to each other saying, "See there! grandpa Hilliard is treeing the text!"


a pensioner, served in the army 7 years, He was born in 1745, lived in this town many years, and died Oct. 23, 1823, aged 78. Nothing can be ascertained about his long experience in war; but we met with one old gentleman, who told us the following story of his killing an Indian:

The Indians had come down the Connecticut valley, from Canada for the purpose of destroying the property of the whites and taking them prisoners. Gleason was an object of their search; but he was vigilant, and managed to escape into the forest, on the approach of the savages. His place of retreat was soon discovered; and with the intention of capturing him alive, an Indian came towards him looking very good natured, and for the purpose of deception, pretended that he was going to shake hands, saying, as he walked along, "Sagah?" "Sagah?" in English, how are you? how are you? "I'll Sagah you," said Ben, and instantly shot him dead. The Indians were greatly enraged, on finding their comrade dead; but Gleason was too cunning for the red men, and was never made their prisoner.


an Irishman, and, a long time, resident of this town, was in the American army, during the Revolution. In 1781, the town authorities deemed it necessary to look after his interests and, "According to an Act of the General Assembly of the State of Vermont made and Provided for Idle and Impotent Persons, appointed Lieut. John Wyman to be his Overseer and take care of him and his Affects."

This provision was essential to prevent his family from coming to want. His army experience made him a brave soldier, but not an industrious and temperate citizen. He died before the government granted pensions, and was at the time of his death 80 years old.

Hanley hated the "Yorkers" and never spoke of them in very respectful terms. Whenever they caused any disturbances in the community, he was always ready with his old musket, to help keep the peace.

In those times, a home guard was appointed to assist the inhabitants, in any emergency, and protect persons and property. Provision was made for the guard, whenever they should be called into the service; and for that purpose, the town owned two or three cows which were kept for a time, on the farm of Hosea. Miller, and, for safe keeping, were always put into an inclosure during the night. Hanley got information one evening that some Yorkers had come into the neighborhood to drive off the cows; and to frustrate their plan, he took his gun, hastened to the farm of Mr. Miller, roused him up, said that the Yorkers were coining to steal the cows, and he must help defend them. Miler thought he was more alarmed than need be, -- there was no danger of their stealing the cows. Yes, there was, he was sure of it, and he must help, or let his hired man. They both refused to go out and help him; and no choice remained, but to let the cows be stolen or defend them himself. Hanley's courage was up; he shouldered his musket and marched off to the yard to guard them alone. He was not long in waiting, when he heard the Yorkers tearing down the fence on the side opposite to him. Creeping cautiously up the yard, he suddenly, jumped upon the brush and rails, making a tremendous crash, fired his gun, and shouted "Surround them, brave boys! we'll have them ! Hurrah, brave boys!" The Yorkers fled instantly, - thinking, no doubt, they were greatly outnumbered. Hanley remained master of the situation and guarded the, cows till morning.


a son of William Negus, went into the army at the age of twenty, and served through the war. He died in 1810, aged 60 years. He often related stories of hardship and exposure that were endured by soldiers of the Revolution. Many a time had he lain, in a cold winter night, on fir-boughs, placed on the snow, and slept soundly.

When they were discharged from service, the government paid no money; and not being furnished with transportation free, as the soldiers were in the late war, they were obliged to "foot it" home and beg their living on the way. At one place, where they called for food and lodgings, the man told them he had nothing but bean-porridge for them to eat, if they liked that, he could furnish them a supper. "It is just what we want" said Negus, "we don't ask for anything better" They ate a hearty meal, and, before retiring for the night, informed their host that they wanted to start on their journey before light; "very well," said he, "help yourselves to the porridge again before leaving," which they did, and went on their way, feeling very grateful for their good entertainment.


a Revolutionary pensioner, died April 30, 1838, in the 77th year of his age. The government at first granted pensions only to those who were in poor circumstances; and Mr. Cummings, being in much need of assistence, received aid from the government for a considerable time before the law granting pensions to all the soldiers, that served in the Revolution, was established.

He was a man of medium height, rather slim yet strong and very athletic. At the age of seventy, he was the champion wrestler in this town, or as an old gentleman expressed it, "No one in town could handle him." Of the numerous stories that he told, only one, that of his narrow escape from being taken prisoner, is remembered.

During a skirmish with the British, our forces were overpowered and sought safety in flight. The enemy were anxious to secure all the prisoners they could, and followed our soldiers a long distance. Cummings, having run until he was quite exhausted, supposed that he was clear of the enemy; but on looking back, he saw a British soldier climbing over the wall not far behind him. He quickly raised his gun, fired, and the soldier fell from sight. He never ascertained whether he was killed or only wounded, but was sure that he did not capture him.


one of the early settlers, in this town and a soldier, during the first year of the Revolution, moved his family here, in the spring of 1778. The summer previous, he had spent in clearing up a piece of land and building a frame house on his new farm, which was situated in the central part of the town, about one-half mile east of Black Mountain. He brought with him, from home, four panes of glass which were put into the new house for windows to furnish what light it was necessary to admit.

On account of bad roads and swollen streams without bridges, it occupied one week to perform the journey in moving his family and goods from Rutland, Mass., to his new home in the forest, distant 60 miles.

In a few years he had cleared up several acres of woodland, and reserved a large lot for wood and timber. During the summer of 1788, his fine wood-lot was destroyed by


When the storm arose, dense black clouds rolled up from the north-west; the tempest winds roared with fearful sounds of gathering power; lightnings flashed vividly through the moist atmosphere; the thunder deepening and crashing as if it would rend a world; then came the violent rain and the rushing hurricane with one full blast that swept whole forests to the ground. No swaying of trees, back and forth, but one continued rush of the mighty wind prostrated every tree in its range for miles up the West River valley, and along the west side of the high range of hills in the central part of the town. Black Mountain was left bare of its vast forest of large trees. Many cattle were killed, buildings unroofed, and one little child lost its life. The house in which the parents lived was not considered safe; Mr. Jones, the father, was absent from home; and the mother thought best to take her two children and go to some other place for better protection. She had not gone far from the house, when a tree fell and killed one of the children. After the storm, some one went in search of her husband and informed him that he had bad news to tell. "What is it," said he, "are all my family killed?" "Not so bad as that," replied the man, "but your little child is dead."

People were greatly frightened during the tempest, and many went into the cellars for fear their houses would be blown down. Several men, the next day, took their axes and butcher-knives and went over the fields, and killed what cattle were living that were injured beyond recovery. Mr. Estabrook was much surprised at having his woodland cleared up so suddenly, and was anxious about his future supply of wood and timber. Mr. Negus, a neighbor, offered to exchange lots and let him have an equal number of acres covered with woods, which proposition was gladly accepted. He lived in town many years; reared a family of six children, and all lived to be over fifty years old.

During the year, 1775, he served 8 months in the army, and was on duty near Boston, Mass. He received no pension; for the act, Mar. 18, 1818, excluded persons worth over $700.

In 1781, he was "elected Ensign of the 4th Company in the 7th Regiment of the Militia of this State." The commission is in possession of his son, Benjamin Estabrook, now living in this town, and was signed by Thomas Chittenden, Govenor of Vermont.

He died May 24, 1834, aged 86 yrs. Abigail, his wife, died Aug. 26, 1834, aged 82.


PAPERS - transcribed on the town records in 1791.

"Ticonderoga Oct. 10th. 1776. These certify that Ebenezer Brooks, soldier in Captain Hind's Company of Col. Reed's Regiment, is rendered unfit for future service this Campaign, by the loss of his right eye, and is hereby reccommended for a discharge.

TO LT. COL. GILMAN Of 2d Regt.

E. GREEN Surg'n to 2d Regt."

In consequence of the above certificate and averment that the complaint of Ebenezer Brooks is not fictitious, I do reccommend the said Ebenezer Brooks. soldier in Capt. Hind's Company of the Regiment under my command; aged 20 years, five feet three inches high, light hair, blue eyes, light complexion; belonging to the town of Fullam (now Dummerston) as a proper person to be discharged from the army of United States of America.



Commander at Ticonderoga. Ebenezer Brooks in Capt. Hind's Company Col. Reed's Regt. is for the reason above mentioned, discharged from the service of the United States of America. Given at Head Quarters the __ of Oct. 1776, by the General's command.

JOHN TRUMBULL Dy. Adjutant General.


was a private and drummer in the Vermont militia; enlisted at the age of 18, and was in service near Lake Champlain. His name was placed on the pension roll Sept. 21, 1833. under the act of Congress passed June 7, 1832. He died in 1841, aged 79 years.

He enlisted in 1780. The following winter, the cold was more intense than it had ever before been known to be in this climate, within the memory of the oldest inhabitant. The winter, to this day, bears the distinctive epithet of the "hard winter." The army in encampment as far south as Morristown, N. J., suffered extremely, and often had Washington the prospect before him of being obliged to disband his soldiers.

In the early part of the winter. Mr. Knight with a company of soldiers marched over the Green Mountains, from Bennington to some town in southeastern Vermont. The snow was "knee deep" and the weather freezing cold. They made slow progress, had scanty rations, and not finding any habitations where they could stop and warm themselves or obtain food, on the journey through the forests, their provisions, having become exhausted, were soon weary and suffering from hunger and cold. One man finally gave out, refused to go farther, and lay down to rest and sleep on the snow. The men roused him up, annimated his flagging spirits, and coaxed him again to march on in the hopes of soon finding relief. With much difficulty he travelled a few miles further through the snow, and then said it was of no use, his strength was gone and he must stop. His comrades were impatient; their urging and importunity did no good, and, at last they left him behind, to slumber in his lonely bed of snow but a knowledge of his impending fate, that his slumber would end in the sleep of death, and feelings of regard for their lost companion in arms, caused them to return again and make him realize his dangerous situation; and this time they used no flattering words, but cuffed his ears, kicked and rolled him about till his temper was roused and a promise given that he would march on with the company.

They soon afterwards met a farmer returning from mill with bags of meal. Being in a starving condition, they asked him for food and he told them they might have all the meal they could eat. They built a fire of dried sticks, bent their hats concave, and carried water on them to make dough which they baked on the coals, -- some, meanwhile eating handfuls of dry meal and wet dough, so impatient were they to wait till the bread was baked. Having satisfied their craving hunger with the farmer's generous treat, they marched on with renewed vigor and firmer pace. They had escaped starvation for a time, had saved the life of one comrade in rescuing him from a grave of freezing snow, only to meet with another still more perilous adventure, the crossing of West River. The river was full of floating anchor ice; the bottom was icy and slippery, and there was no means of crossing, other, than to ford the stream. The swift running water made it a difficult task; but the Green Mountain boys, who had braved so many dangers, were not stopped by a stream of water, not waist deep. Reversing their guns and sticking the sharp bayonets into the icy bottom, as they walked cautiously along, they managed to reach the other side without accident; but, "after that," said Knight, "we had plenty of music from our rattling, icy pantaloons, the rest of the way, till we reached a house in Townshend where we found comfortable quarters for the night, and a good fire by which to dry our clothing, and the family prepared us a good supper of boiled meat and vegetables such as we had not enjoyed for many a day."


was a private in the Massachusetts continental line troops. He served in Capt. James Farnivall's Company, drafted from General Warner's Brigade, as a matross, a sort of soldier in the artillery, in the year 1777. His name was placed on the pension roll, July 16, 1818, under the act of Congress passed Mar. 18, 1818; was dropped from the roll under act passed May 1, 1820, and pensioned again under act passed June 7, 1832. He died Oct. 5, 1846, aged 87 years.

A little story, illustrative of army life, is still remembered. They had been sent out in advance of the army, among the skirmishers, previous to a battle. The British soon began firing briskly; the bullets flew thick and fast; and the soldiers were ordered to shield themselves behind rocks, stumps, or anything that afforded protection. Some of the men who were over anxious to see where the "red coats" were concealed, frequently looked out from their hiding places. Brown thought that was sheer recklessness. He scolded them severely for needlessly exposing their lives, and told them what the result would be. They heeded his warning for a time; but one of the men again looked over a stump, when a bullet quickly pierced his brain, and he rolled back on the ground, dead. "There," said Brown, "I told you, you would get your d--d head shot off."


an Englishman, an inhabitant of the town nearly 25 years, was a soldier in Burgoyne's army, and was taken prisoner in the battle of Bennington in 1777. The prisoners, for a while, were kept in a stockade guarded by soldiers, in a town not far south of the battlefield. Hill with 12 others managed to escape one night, and was not exchanged with the rest who were afterwards sent to Boston for that purpose.

Several years before his death, he was obliged to call on the town for support. Mr. John Miller was selectman at the time, and said to him, when asked for assistance, "Hill, you're a British soldier. Yon fought against this country and would now take my heart's blood, if you had a chance to do it. I will not give you one cent." "Mr. Miller, you are mistaken," replied Hill, with a look of disappointment. "I never entered the British service willingly. I was pressed into it, and got away the first chance I had. When I was in England, we were at a dance one night and on a sudden, the officers rushed into the room and shouted, Soldiers, to your arms! and hurried us to the vessels. Where we were going, and what for, I never knew until we landed at Quebec. So quickly were we hurried off that I left my girl standing on the floor, -- and she may be there now for aught I know." Mr. Miller was satisfied that the man was sincere; and he was supported by the town, during the remaining years of his life.


born in 1760; enlisted from Concord, N.H., as a private and drummer in the continental line troops, and remained 3 years in service. His name was placed on the pension roll, Nov. 24, 1818. He lived in this town several years, where he has relatives now living. On training days, he was sometimes employed as drummer for the occasion, and being somewhat deaf, it was necessary that the fifer should march quite close to him, so that "deaf Jake," as he was often called, could hear the tune. (see pages 58-59) He removed to Oneida county N.Y., where he died in 1860, aged 100 years.


son of Isaac Miller, [see page 43] enlisted from Worcester, and was in service in the State of New Jersey. About 1000 Hessians were captured at the battle of Trenton, and he was one of the soldiers that guarded the prisoners, during the winter of 1776 '77. Among the prisoners was a little drummer boy about twelve years of age, whose smiling face, sprightly manner and evident appearance of contentment, attracted the notice of the soldiers. When taken prisoner, all the food he had with him, was a small piece of raw pork in a little bag strapped to his shoulder. All the rest of his companions bore sad countenances, were low spirited and seldom engaged in conversation. The soldiers asked him why he could be so happy when among strangers, and far away from his home. "O," said he "father and mother are not far behind," - meaning, probably, that they were already on their way to this country to make it their home.

Mr. Miller married Mary Davenport, dau. of Charles Davenport, one of the first settlers. [See page 35] He died Dec. 19, 1834, aged 78 years.


who died in 1814, aged 63, entered the army at the beginning of the Revolution in 1775, and served till the close of the war in 1782. He assisted his father, Isaac Miller, in the survey of roads in this town. After peace was declared, he returned to Dummerston, where he made it his home whenever he was out of employment. He was never married, and spent a large share if his time in travelling about the country. For a few years, he was out in the Western territory, now Ohio, surveying land. He was in New Orleans, La., in 1792, and received a passport from the Spanish authorities, which is now in possession of a relative, in this town. It is 8x12 inches; dated June 19, 1792; printed, and part written, in the Spanish language, and signed by "The Baron of Carondelet, Defender of the Religion of S. Juan, Colonel of the Real Armies, Govenor, "Intendete general," Vice-Patron of the provinces of Louisiana, Florida occidental, and Inspector of their troops.

When he was residing in this town, his brother, Hosea, built a new barn on his farm. At the raising, it was discovered, before the frame was all up, that there would not be rum enough to go round. People drank spirits in those days; even the minister sipped the cup that Bacchus crowned; therefore, it was decided, with no reproachful feeling of conscience, that Joseph Miller should go to Putney a distance of 4 miles, for more rum. He was soon on his way with orders to "whip up the horse and go quick. " Having purchased the liquor and tested its quality, he sat down quietly to enjoy its effects and forgot to return home till next day. Of course the raising was over and the men gone. His brother was not pleased with such management, and told him plainly what he thought about his being absent so long. He bore it patiently for a while, but, at length, getting restless under the keen reproofs, he spoke out sharply, "Do you think a man can go to Putney and back in a minute?"

Another story is told about his preventing on one occasion, Rev. Mr. Farrar, the first settled minister, from getting a flogging. Moses Joy an old sea captain, a rough, quick-tempered, savage old fellow, who cursed and swore about everything as sailors are notoriously capable of doing, not a sentence escaping his lips without being tainted with profanity, was not on friendly terms with Mr. Farrar and did not reverence his profession, and, because he was lame, called him the three-legged minister. He was one day going to the Hollow for a load of boards, and when passing Mr. Farrar's house, on his way to the mill, he swore terribly at his team. He cursed the bad roads, and in some way managed to roll out a string of frightful oaths all the time he was within sight of the minister's residence.

Mr. Farrar resented the insult, and to punish his aggressor "felled" a tree across the road while he was absent at the mill. When the captain returned, the passage was effectually blocked up. Not knowing for a certainty who had cut down the tree, he went back to Miller's and made enquiry. He was informed that Mr. Farrar had felled the tree, but not that it was done intentionally.

Joy, full of rage, swore he would make Mr. Farrar cut that tree away from the road or he would thrash him soundly.

Miller knew the old sea-dog's temper and nature too well to allow him the management of the affair alone, and so said he would take an axe and cut the tree away, and that the Captain had better not have any trouble with the minister.

Joy was so greatly enraged, he could not rest easy while Miller was cutting the tree, and went straight into the parsonage, took Mr. Farrar by the collar and led him out to the tree, and, said Joy, "I made that infernal three-legged old cuss jump back and forth over that log till Joe Miller got it cut off."


an Englishman, deserted the British and, under an assumed name, joined the American army. He was in several important battles of the Revolution, and in one engagement was severely wounded and left for dead, on the battlefield. He revived sufficiently during the following night, to crawl away from the field of carnage and avoid capture by the British and death for desertion. He was a resident of this town many years. When the pension act was passed by Congress, Mar 18, 1818, he applied for a pension; but the destruction of the papers of the War Office in 1801, and '14, left no record of his service, and he had no friend that could prove his identity and enlistment.


was a private in the Vermont militia and received a pension for services in the Revolutionary war. His name was inscribed on the pension roll Aug. 15, 1833, under act passed June 7, 1832. He died Oct. 8, 1841, aged 89 years.. He was one of the first settlers in town. In person, he was tall and commanding wore a broad-brimmed hat, in summer a white linen frock, running down to his boots and spurs, his hair tied back in a cue wound with eel-skin, and a tin trumpet belted to his side, which he sounded loud and long, when he travelled through villages and towns, as a farrier, in this and neighboring states.

Rev. Hosea Beckley and wife once visited the family by invitation of Mrs. Holton and were treated hospitably. At the supper table, without waiting for the customary blessing to be asked or requesting it done, he took his seat with his head covered and persisted to wear his low crowned rimmer. His mortified wife reminded him of the impropriety, but the only answer or relief obtained by her was, "Madam, my hat is paid for."


son of George Farrar, born in Lincoln, Mass., June 30, 1744; graduated at Harvard University ,1767. After preaching 12 sabbaths in Dublin, N.H., as a candidate for settlement; received a call from Stowe, Oct. 17, 1771; was ordained pastor of the Congregational church June 10, 1775, the same day on which the church was organized. His usefulness became impaired by disease, and still more by morbid fancies in which he indulged, and so much dissatisfaction arose that a council was called to investigate the matter. The council advised that he should be suspended from the ministry for 6 months, and that, if his health was not then restored, he should ask a dismission. He was dismissed June 7, 1773, and became a Chaplain in the Revolutionary army. "(P. H. W. in the Vermont Record.)"


At a town meeting legally warned and held Dec. 10, 1783, the town took into consideration the request of Mr. Farrar relative to his being dismissed from his pastoral relation to the church and congregation and "voted to dismiss the second article in the notification, which was to see if the town would give the Rev, Mr. Farrar a dismission or give him liberty to be absent two or three months for the recovery of his health."

Voted to choose a committee to hold a conference with Mr. Farrar and make a report at the annual meeting in March next. Accordingly chose Deacon Amos Rice, Deacon Nathaniel Holmes, and Alexander Kathan, Esq. for said committee."

"Mar. 15, 1784. A true copy of the report of the committee chosen in Dec. 1783, to confer with the Rev. Mr. Farrar relative to his uneasiness. We, your committee appointed to hold a conference with the Rev. Mr. Farrar, on his letter dated November 23, 1783, and on his supplement to said letter dated Dec. 9, 1783, beg leave to report that on the 12th of December did begin said conference; and from time to time have discoursed with him, and received the following answers. First with regard to his wood, we find Mr. Farrar to be mistaken, as there is no record to be found setting forth any length of wood whatever. With regard to the second complaint, Mr. Farrar declined calling the names of any persons that asked more for any articles than was agreed for in the settlement. With regard to the complaint of his being distracted, he says he was informed of it by two persons whose names he mentioned, viz.,: Lieut. Daniel Gates and Mr. Lemuel Davenport. They informed him the people had got such a notion; and with regard to the cruelty or barbarity he is afflicted with, or complains of, he lays to the charge of the female sex, that they gave him Spanish flies and love powder, with other things not by him mentioned, which he says is the main cause of his asking a dismission , and with regard to the scanty measure, he says that he received some grain of one or two persons, that was so damp that when it was dried, it fell short four quarts in one bushel and a half; and further, the Rev. Mr. Farrar still insists on being dismissed."


Mr. Farrar was dismissed May 12, 1784, and for nearly 30 years after leaving this town, nothing is known of him. [See Church History, page 85.] He was a faithful minister, and a man of more than ordinary ability, but eccentric to a degree sometimes bordering upon absolute insanity. He was almost the only minister in the State who was known to be a Democrat of the old school."


(See biographical sketch page 54.)

In 1772, was a citizen of Boston, when an important measure was adopted by an assembly of its inhabitants to appoint committees of correspondence and inquiry for the purpose of ascertaining the sentiments and confidential opinions of prominent persons living in other parts of the country, on all affairs of mutual interest. During these movements, a plan was devised by the British Parliament to introduce tea into the colonies but the Americans would not pay the small duty upon it, of only three pence.

Several cargoes of tea arrived at Boston. The captain of a vessel was despatched to the Govenor to request a passport, but he refused to grant it and a secret plan was formed to destroy the tea. Three different parties, Lieut. John Wymen being one of the men, sallied out, in the costume of Mohawk Indians, precipitately made their way to the wharves, and without noise and without tumult, the tea was taken from the vessels by the conspirators, and speedily emptied into the sea as an offering to the watery god.

He was in the engagement at Bunker Hill, June 17, 1775, where 3000 British under the command of General Howe were twice repulsed by the Americans till their ammunition failed, and on the third charge of the British, they were obliged to retire. Having served as a private in the early part of the war, he was soon afterwards promoted Lieutenant, for meritorious conduct in several battles, and was in service with the Rhode Island troops, during the last part of the Revolution.

When living in this town, during the troublesome times with the "Yorkers," he was very active in maintaining the rights of inhabitants to claims of land purchased from the Govenor of New Hampshire. The government of New York declared the titles of the land-grants good for nothing, and required the occupants to purchase the lands a second time. Many refused to do this; their lands were sold to other persons and the holders were sued and ordered to leave. They would not do it and roughly handled the sheriffs and others, who attempted to force them away. The people at length became so enraged that they would not allow any person who sympathized with the Yorkers to remain at liberty, but arrested all such persons and put them in jail at Westminster. Colonel Church, who lived in the edge of Brattleboro on the West river road was a "Yorker" in political sentiment. and to punish him for entertaining such provocative opinions, the "committee of safety" were determined to "jug him." Lieut. Wyman and Charles Davenport were the leaders of the party that proceeded to the house of the Colonel for the purpose of taking him prisoner. On their arrival, Wyman knocked loudly for admittance; but no one answered the call, and the door was found to be securely fastened. He shook, pounded and kicked at the door making a tremendous noise, when it opened suddenly and a dish of hot porridge was thrown into his face. This unexpected calamity did not hinder the proceedings, -- the men rushed in and searched the house thoroughly but could find nothing of the Colonel inside the building. Mr. Davenport in the mean time had searched the barn and sheds; but not finding him there; looked around the outside of the house. He soon found a small opening through the underpinning and crawled in to reconnoitre the grounds. It was a difficult passage; but he pushed on through the gloomy labyrinth of cobwebs till at last he spied the Colonel snugly tucked away in the remotest corner. Fearing he might have a gun with him, he ventured no farther, but crawled back, went into the house and, going directly over the place, he jumped violently on the floor, "There!" said he, "the Colonel is right under here." All rushed to the hole, and Davenport again crawled through, and crept cautiously towards him till he was satisfied he had no gun then venturing quite near said, "Come. Colonel Church, come out, come - come out." He was finally persuaded, and came out. The party immediately started with him towards Westminster. Just as they were going out of sight, the Colonel's boys, who were hid behind the hill, fired a parting shot into the company; but no one was injured, and the Colonel was safely lodge in jail.


was employed by a Commissary in the Revolutionary war, volunteered, with several laborers in the department, to perform guard duty and relieve a company of soldiers, who has been detached for that purpose, but whose service was then much needed in the army. He performed the duty 3 years, and for that service the government granted him a pension in 1833. Mr. Wilder moved into town in 1795, bringing with him a family of 9 children. He occupied a house, or rather a frame with one room loosely boarded up, the cracks left between the boards being "wide enough to stick your fingers through; and the cellar contained millions of fleas." The room was soon made comfortable and in a few days, a new comer increased the family of children one.

In the summer of 1848, Mr. Wilder, being then in his 87th year, concluded to have a family "mowing bee." On the day appointed, all things being in readiness, they commenced mowing in the following order: Father, son, grandson, and great grandson; namely, Joshua Wilder, Dan Wilder, Leroy Wilder, and Wallace Wilder; four generations; and there was a boy for the 5th generation, not present, large enough to spread the swaths. One of the spectators remarked, that the old man stood up the straightest of the lot. Only a fortnight before his death, he was strong enough to spring from the ground into a saddle on the back of a horse, and rode several miles. He died Mar. 4, 1849, aged 89 years 10 months.


was a private in the 13th Regiment of infantry, and died in the service Feb. 9, 1815. His heirs obtained a pension under act of Congress, passed April 16, 1816.


belonging to this town, on the pension list under act passed Mar. 14, 1818:

Joshua Bemis; John Burnham, died Dec. 25, 1829, aged 81; Elijah Gibbs, died 1838, aged 90; Seth Hudson, died Nov. 28, 1828, aged 76; Josiah Kellogg, Elkanah Prentice.

Isaac Taylor, transferred from Warren Co. N.Y., Mar. 4, 1823; died Feb. 27, 1828, aged 77.

Names inscribed under act, June 7, 1832.

Nathan Adams, died June 5, 1835, Elijah Buck; David Bennett; Joseph Bemis, died August 16, 1837, aged 79; James Chase; John Goold; Asa Dutton, died Feb. 11, 1836, aged 76; Jonathan Huntly; Benjamin Pierce; Calvin Mann, pensioned first under act, March 18, 1817, relinquished for benefit of act June 7, 1832; Joseph Gilbert and Stewart Black were pensioners, but were not paid at the agency in Burlington.


one of the first settlers, was appointed "First Lieutenant of Captain Allen's Company of Militia in the County of Cumberland, in the Regiment whereof Eleazer Patterson. Esq., is Colonel." His commission

was dated Aug. 18, 1778, and signed by Geo. Clinton, Governor of New York. It is now in possession of Joel Knight of this town. It is valuable as a curious and ancient document.


[Another version of the old story, page 115, or another alarm.]

Soon after the close of the Revolutionary war, some men were surveying land near Lieut. Spaulding's house, one day, about noon, when they heard the Indian war-whoop on the distant hills in a northwesterly direction and supposed that Indians were approaching. The neighbors of Lt. Spaulding also heard the alarming sound and hastened to his house for consultation in regard to making preparations for defence. As he had served in the French and Indian war, his neighbors thought best to choose him to reconnoiter the situation, and ascertain, if possible, the number and whereabouts of the enemy. He was soon equipped and mounted on the old black horse, which he rode in the Revolution, hastened on his mission.

During his absence, the people were so much alarmed that all the men, women, and children took refuge in a log building, suited in some respects for a place of defence, and located in the valley east of Spaulding's house. Provisions, clothing, household utensils, valuables and keepsakes, which the children could well carry, were removed to the extemporized fort; Pewter plates and basins were brought to be run into bullets. Those persons, who had no guns, were armed with clubs and stones, and all was in readiness for the emergency.

Just at sundown, a gun and two pistol shots were heard at Spaulding's house, a signal of his safe return. No trace of Indians was found. It was ascertained that, probably, some hunters in the vicinity had given the false alarm and sounded the Indian war-whoop contrary to the laws of those times. This news relieved the fears of the inhabitants, and the little warlike company disbanded their forces and returned to the peaceful occupation of farming again.


We have seen an old "Gin-Case" that was once the property of an officer who was one of the number on board the vessel from which the tea was thrown into Boston harbor in 1773. It was taken from the vessel by one of the party of Americans who, dressed in the costume of Mohawk Indians, went on board and destroyed the tea. The gin-case and its contents became the heir-loom of a Massachusetts family of wealth, and was handed down from its original possessor to son and grandson who died in Westfield of that state, a few years ago, and at his decease it became the property of a person who now resides in Dummerston. In form and size it is like a small trunk. Only for the name "gin-case," we should call it a trunk. Everything about it indicates the age of a century. The red velvet lining is much faded. The lock is not like any of American manufacture. The inside of the gin-case has several partitions each holding a square cornered bottle striped with gilt. The bottles contain several kinds of liquor affirmed to be the same that was in them when the case was taken from the British vessel in 1773. There were in the case two glass goblets and a little taster-glass that was made in the style of a hundred years ago. One of our friends has a similar glass-goblet that has been in the family service more than a hundred years. We were informed that $500 was once offered for this old gin-ease, and refused. The people have not been as careful to preserve old relics as it is now wished.



[Continued from page 51.]




Capt. Isaac Miller, the fifth son of the Isaac Miller who settled in Dummerston; after he had moved to the West, and about the years, 1811 to 1815, wrote a history of his father's family, giving a detailed account of the lives of each member of the family. The following history of Isaac Miller, who settled in Dummerston, is taken verbatim from the old manuscript, written by Capt. Isaac Miller, Jr.

"A copy of the record of Isaac Miller, who died in Dummerston in Vermont June 18, A. D. 1787, aged 79 years, 5 months and 18 days, and his wife, Sarah, who died Oct. 11, 1797, aged, 97 years, 9 months and 11 days.

Few parents have a greater offspring. They had 12 children; all lived to have families; ten of them not small families.

This by his son, Isaac, now at Willink, Erie County, New York, August, 18th.- ( Another date on the manuscript is May 24, 1814).

Isaac Miller was born on Saturday, May, 7th, 1708, at Concord in Massachusetts and died in Dummerston in Vermont June 18th, 1787; where he had moved with his family in 1770, at the time of the massacre in Boston.

No woman can boast of a more loving and tender husband than my mother can; and no children of a more affectionate father than can his.

His grandfather came from Scotland and was a baker in Charleston near Boston where he lived and died. My mother was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, was daughter of Joseph Crosby of Worcester. They were married July 12, 1739. She was born May 5th, 1719, [We omit date of Mrs. Miller's death, 2dly, here.-Ed.]

She lived and died a Presbyterian. A better house wife and a more perserving mother, children don't often have to educate them. They had to wade through all troubles that attend giving a good education to so large a family under Kingly Government. Notwithstanding , they accomplished it to a considerable degree.

Neither my Father nor my Mother did not give over the care they had so long endured in bringing up the family that was committed to their charge, but extended it to their grandchildren. Indeed, there was nothing that put an end to their usefulness to those that came after them but death: and if they had followed their counsels it would have been much better for them.

For my own part I must say that the greatest part of the evils that ever befell me came from disobediance to them, and leaves the most lasting repentance; but the poignant guilt says they are gone, and it is not in my power now to humble myself before them and as I would give much for an opportunity to do. But I was choleric and addicted to pleasure and disobedience.

It is my oppinion had my Father been brought up where there had been Quakers he would have been one of that denomination.

His neighborly conduct among his accquaintance and always enjoining it on his children, always to do as they would be done to. He was always unwilling to acknowledge any as his Superior by any flattery or bows, which always to him appeared unnecessary. He was scrupulous in taking away the life of any creature to support our own life. He was a great friend to Republican government, and in this differed from the Quakers. He was willing his sons should be soldiers and officers in the Revolutionary war that separated America from Great Britain; and ever was as long as he retained his reason a good Republican and friend to his country, and was greatly beloved therefor by his acquaintance, and had the satisfaction to know that all his sons in that particular were obedient to a punctillio. His age lessened his usefulness in that war but we all supposed that our prosperity in that war lengthened his days.

He lost an interest in Worcester by adhering strictly to his political principles, but regained a good one in Dummerston, not only for himself but for all his sons, which he lived to enjoy many years, and many of the inhabitants have to thank him for their interest, as he settled that town by a contract he made with the proprietors thereof,, in which it was agreed that he should build a, meetinghouse, settle a Minister and bring 50 settlers and continue the settlement for 5000 acres, which he performed;but soon after his death the settlers began quarreling which lasts to this day and has been the means of reducing many of them to poverty. And what is stranger than all the rest is that notwithstanding all the care he took not to have any that were friendly to Kingly or British Government as settlers; at this day more than one half of the town are in the interests of Great Britain.

In 1763, when I was 11 years old, Father was ruined by the Tories in Worcester, Mass., and some in New Hampshire in manner following. He and others got a grant of the town of Walpole in New Hampshire for 1440 Dollars. Certain duties were to be performed in three years after the circumstances if the then French war would permit.

The same town was petitioned for by Gen. Bellows's Father who represented it to that General Court that the conditions of the former charter was not complyed with according to the ten - or thereof, prayed that it might be regranted to him: and the Gen. court of that then Province being much in favor of Kingly Government and hearing of the political principles of my Father were opposite, and they willing to get another fee of 1440 Dollors, gave it to Bellows; which circumstance of wickedness and fraud with many others, I have to accuse the British government with; and hope that all the prosterity of Father will fight them both by sea and land till they have obtained a compensation for that fine town and all the other property they have robbed the Americans of. His property all to a trifle was sold at vendue; and I with most of the family that were able to earn our living were put to such places where we could be well dealt with and educated.''

It will be seen by the above that my authority, for the statement that Isaac Miller owned and lost an interest in the town of Walpole, N.H., in the original manuscript ( which I have seen and coppied) written by his son Capt. Isaac Miller about the time of the war of 1812. Capt. Isaac Miller would certainly know of the financial misfortunes of his father as he states that he was then 11 years old and he with others of the family had to be put out to service owing to the impoverishment of his Father. It certainly did not refer to the trouble in the title of the Dummerston lands, for that occurred years afterward.

Capt. Isaac Miller does not state that the grant of Walpole was made in 1763, but that was the date the court decided against his Father's claim. It may have been granted as early as 1753, as it was then the French war commenced, and the settlement was contingent upon circumstances connected with said war. The war lasted until about 1763. I do not know the authority, in the history of Walpole, on which is based the statement that John Kilburn purchased the township and was a settler there in 1749, but it seems to conflict with strong evidence from other sources; and yet, he might have been a settler there in 1749, but not a purchaser until later; and he may have been a joint partner with Miller, as Miller says that " he and others were granted, etc." This last suggestion may account for the trouble with Bellows as both sides spoke of a contention with Bellows.

As that part of the history written by Capt. Isaac Miller which part aims to those of the family who resided at Dummerston properly belongs to a history of the, town I will give you extracts from the manuscript. He states that


the oldest son, went into the French war in 1759, and afterwards became master of a vessel at -Boston and followed the sea until 1775, when he came to Dummerston. His Father gave him 100 acres of land and in 1778, he moved his family upon it. He died in Dummerston, July 6. 1812. [See page 50.]

Hosea, the second son, was given by his Father the best lot in Dummerston, where he lived until he died May 7, 1796. He had collected the most property during his life of any of the settlers.

TILLOTSON, the third son, did not come to Dummerston until about 1779, at which time there was a meeting held by the brothers, at the request of the Father, to nominate one of their number to take care of the old people during their declining days. Tillotson was selected, and Hosea went his security, but he carried out his trust so badly that the brothers deposed him and placed the youngest, William, in charge about the year 1785. He left Dummerston soon after this and never returned to stay. He died in New York State in 1804.

PATIENCE, the third daughter, came to Dummerston with her Father and soon after married Dr. Thomas Amsden, of Petersham, Mass. by whom she had 13 children, (another record says twelve). She lived out of the town, however, during her husband's life; but about the year 1814, she was living at Dummerston with her daughter, Patty. She died Jan. 22, 1822, at Chesterfield.

JOSEPH, the fourth son, went to sea with his brother Vespasian in 1764, when he was only 13 years old. He went to Dummerston with his Father in 1770. He went to sea again in 1773, for his health, and continued in that life until 1775.

The Revolution at this time was breaking out over the land and Joseph joined the Patriot forces and continued through until the end of the war. He won the confidence of Gen. Washington and with it the rank of Brigade Major. Soon after the close of the war, he went on a whaling voyage to South America. In 1790, he went to Ohio and took land near Marietta, but gave it up and returned to Dummerston in 1794. He went to New York State a few years after where he remained until he died at Genoa, Sept. 26, 1814.


the fifth son says of himself, among other things:

"In the same year 1767 in Sept., I went to Dummerston, now in Vermont, by Father's order, where I saw and went through several scenes that were of consequence to none but myself."

"Father met with many troubles and disappointments in getting the town of Dummerston settled with such settlers. and on such conditions as were stipulated between him and the proprietors."

In 1769 I continued there nearly eight months and part of the time alone, and. suffered much many ways; hard labor, hunger, some sickness, gnats, mosquitoes and fleas in abundance." "I finally left the place in Nov. much against Father's will, but as we had sold all we could, I was so desirous to get to Worcester and eat apples and milk, and drink cider, it was impossible to keep me longer; and in March 1770 at the time of the massacre by the British in Boston we moved to Dummerston." "I underwent much in that journey, and had it been undertaken by persons less persevering than brother Joseph and I were, we should have failed at last but having the assistance of brothers Negus and Wheeler (after we arrived at Petersham) we got through."

"The summer that followed was a severe one to me as well as the rest of the family." "I had to work for Daniel Kathern where I fared hard and worked hard; but blessed be God! I had my health and in the fall I went to Petersham."

"In 1771, I returned in March to Dummerston where brother Joseph and I made a large quantity of sugar."

"It was this year that the title of our land was like to fall through or become void." "It was firstly purchased of the Indians by Massachusetts; sold by them at vendue to the then proprietor, or their ancestor; granted to them (by their prayer) by New Hampshire; and now was ceded by the King's Proclamation to New York; and they granted it to Willard, Kathern and others, and they knew unwilling the occupants should have any; as they knew they were unwilling as well as unable to pay the exorbitant price they demanded." "Many persons quit that had done but little labor."

Capt. Isaac Miller left Dummerston in 1772 for Massachusetts. He had considerable military knowledge and kept a military school just before the war. In April 1775, he went into the army at Cambridge. In May, he returned home and married Lucretia Knapp. After settling his property affairs he returned to the army and joined his command the day after Bunker Hill battle.

On the 9th of November, he was in the Leachmore's Point battle where he received a wound which was considered slight at the time, but in after life crippled him very much.

At the end of the campaign of 1775, and in Oct. 1776, he moved his wife to Dummerston, where he had purchased a farm with the proceeds of the sale of one in Massachusetts. At one time he was one of the proprietors and clerk of a grant of the Township of Jamiaca, Vt.

Capt. Isaac Miller left Dummerston for the west in 1795; first going to New York State, then to Ashtabula County Ohio, where he died Feb. 14th, 1826.

MARSHALL, the sixth son, was born in Worcester, Mass., Sept. 20, 1754, (one record says Sept. 4th.) He also came to Dummerston in 1770, with his Father. He was in the war, in 1775, and in a few years after married Mrs. Abigial Boyden. They acquired a large property and gave two of their sons a liberal education.




At Dummerston.

"Here lies the remains of Marshall Miller,

The Husband, The Parent, &. The Friend.

He exercised virtues, in this age,

sufficient to have distinguished him in the best.

Kind &. tender by Nature,

Industrious by Habit,

Professing Religion;

He departed this life, June 10th. 1807.

Aged 53 years.

He died at Saratoga in the

State of N. York.

His death was occasioned by jumping

from a Window in the 5th. story of a

House which was on fire."



Was the youngest of 12 children. His father, Isaac Miller, was one of the first settlers in Dummerston; and from his prudent deportment in life, obtained the confidence of all who knew him. He was a very worthy and respectable citizen; a man of ability, probity and sincerity, by which he became introduced to public characters, and frequently promoted to places of public trust. He was for a long season an agent for the original proprietors of the town of Dummerston, and as such conducted himself with promptitude and fidelity. After his age had rendered him incapable of performing public services he retired to more private concerns. At length his bodily infirmity increased to that degree, that he was utterly unable to attend to the ordinary concerns of life, and he finally surrendered them together with a considerable estate, to his son, the Major, with whom he lived, and by whom he was kindly supported through the residue of his days. Early in life, removing into this new country, Major Miller, by the fatigues and hardships incident to new settlers, contracted habits of prudence, frugality, sobriety, and courage; And in the late unhappy contest, for liberty and independence, between the United States and Great Britain, in which the State of Vermont, from its exposed situation, was obliged to take a vigorous and conspicuous part, the Major while very young voluntarily engaged in several expeditions to the northward and westward, always expressing and manifesting the most undaunted courage and unbounded zeal in the service of his country. Being early educated in the art of war, he became prepared to discharge, with accuracy and fidelity, the duties belonging to the several offices to which he has since been promoted and intrusted. At the age of 27, he was chosen and commissioned a subaltern in a company of light infantry, which office he held with distinguished reputation for several years. From his military conduct while a subaltern, he attracted the attention of those who were acquainted with military operations and warlike improvements. He was elected captain of the third company of the regiment to which he belonged; and was afterwards unanimously elected second major in the regiment. In this office, he continued till, by a vacancy, he was elected Lieut. Colonel Commander of said regiment, but saw fit to signify his non-acceptance of the appointment. He was then chosen First Major of said regiment; which office he accepted and held with honor during his life. He died Apr. 16, 1802, in the 41st year of his age.


The Procession formed at the house of Mr. Sylvanus Miller where the honored remains had been previously, carried;-from whence they moved to the meeting-house in the following order:

Colonel Banister on horseback, - Maj. Jay and Col. Boyden on foot, - Capt. Leavitt with his troops of horse, Carriers, - Hearse, - Mourners, Military Officers of the First Regiment, Civil Officers, Non-commissioned Officers. Capt. Knight's and Capt. Shaw's companies, - spectators.

When they arrived at the meeting-house, the Colonel, alighting, was received by the Rev. H. Taylor of Newfane, who after the large procession had taken their seats, introduced the funeral worship. The text was Ps. 15, 5.

The services concluded by a funeral anthem, suited to the occasion. The procession then moved in regular order from the meeting-house to the grave, where the Last Remains of the noble Major, so affable and benevolent in life were interred with suitable religious and military ceremonial; when the whole procession retired in beautiful and solemn order. The whole scene was conducted, by every person present, with that degree of order solemnity and propriety as most express an unfeigned respect for the deceased.

("Federal Galaxy, printed at Brattleboro, May 3, 1802.")


was born in Dummerston, June 12, 1797, son of William and Hannah (Worden) Miller who were married Nov. 10, 1782. His mother was a daughter of John Worden of Washington County, Rhode Island. Mr. Miller's father was a son of Capt. Isaac Miller from Worcester, Mass., who settled in Dummerston in 1770. He had a family of 12 children, William, the youngest, was born Oct. 2, 1761. He resided on the parental farm which had been well improved when he purchased it of his father, Apr. 20, 1785, for $1700.

The children of William and Hannah Miller were Fanny, Isaac, Charles, Dolly, George Anson, William, Joel, Nathan, Asa, Catharine, and Maria. Fanny married Henry Whitney, Isaac married Polly Adams, Charles, Lucy Bruce, Dolly, Adin Hubbard, George Anson, Louisa Haven, William, Polly Willard, Nathan, Philinda, daughter of Elijah Buck. Asa m., October, 1819, Sally Bemis, dau. of Elias and granddaughter of David and Mary (Dunster) Bemis. Catharine m. John Wheeler, and Maria m. Dea. Abel Haven.

Sally, the wife of Asa, was born Mar. 18, 1796, married Sept. 1820, died Feb. 14, 1870. They had two children:

Catharine, m. 1st Orrin Slate, a merchant, who lost his life by a fall from a window in a public house at Winstead, Ct. Four years after his death, she m. 2d, Rev. Alfred Stevens, D. D., - of Westminister West, a Congregationalist minister in that parish for 40 years.

Sidney A. m. 1st, Emily, dau. of Asahel Dickinson, 2d, a daughter of Rev. W. S. Balch, a Universalist minister.

Early in life, Mr. Miller learned the carriage-maker's trade and was engaged in that business in Dummerston until his removal to Brattleboro in 1834. For several years in that place, his son, Sidney A. Miller, was associated with him in the manufacture of carriages. The last six years of his life were spent in Westminster West, in the family of Dr. Stevens, enjoying the tender care of his only daughter. He died Apr. 9, 1883, aged 85 yrs. 10 mos.

His last visit to Dummerston was about six months before his death. He was greatly pleased to learn that a portrait of his grandfather, Capt. Isaac Miller, would appear in the history of the town. His leisure hours were generally spent in reading the daily news and very largely, for one of his age, the recent publications. He was a member of the Congregational church for more than 40 years. His Christian spirit was manifested by sympathy for and efforts to relieve the poor and suffering.

Mr. Miller expressed great affection for his mother, who was a very excellent woman and always kind to the poor. She was loved and esteemed by all who knew her, and many were her deeds of kindness. She always fed the stranger who called at her door for food, and never refused when asked to keep even the poorest beggar over night. She was told by her friends that by so doing she would doubtless aid many who were not worthy. Her reply was that those whom she thus befriended were unknown to her, and she would rather feed ten unworthy persons than turn one who was worthy away. During the last sickness and shortly before her death, Mrs. Davenport, a near neighbor, called to express gratitude for the many acts of kindness she had received from Mrs. Miller - but in relating the incident, "Uncle Asa" paused in the narration. His voice trembled, his eyes filled with tears, and turning his face away from the listener, he was silent for a moment, and the conversation was changed to some less affecting incident of his recollection. It was his last interview with the writer of this sketch, which is but a simple record of a few events in the long life of a worthy man.

The portrait which accompanies this sketch was contributed by his children.



son of Joseph, Sen., and grandson of Capt. Vespasian, eldest son of Capt. Isaac Miller, married, 1st, Eliza A., dau. of Isaac and Abigail (McWayne) Reed, Mar. 3, 1841. Her parents were married in Dummerston, Sep. 2, 1790. She died Nov. 26, 1813, and he mar. 2d, Sophia, dau. of William and Polly (Frost) Arms, Dec. 25. 1841. They have three children. J. Arms, the eldest, married Sarah M. Reed of Wardsboro, and lives on a farm near his father's place. Adin F. married Hattie A. Duton; resides with his parents and helps manage the home farm.

Ansel I., having a scholarly turn of mind, prepared for college at West Brattleboro and graduated from Williams college in the class of 1881. He is at present, (1883,) studying medicine in New York city. Mr. Miller was town representative in 1862 and 63, has been justice of the peace many years and town clerk since 1849. He holds other offices of trust for the town, and his long experience in town business makes him a valuable officer and legal counsellor in matters pertaining to town affairs. His advice and help are often sought by his townsmen in the making of wills and the settlement of estates of deceased persons. With one exception from 1804 to 1807, the town has been very fortunate in the choice of town clerks and has made few changes in the office. Mr. Miller, the present incumbent, is a very efficient clerk, and keeps the records in a neat, legible, hand-writing. He was born and has always lived on the farm that he now owns. It has been in the Miller name more than a hundred years, and was the birthplace of his father in 1780. It is pleasantly located in the eastern part of the town, produces excellent crops, and has a large orchard of maple trees from which the owner makes the best quality of sugar. The yearly product averages nearly 2800 lbs. The largest quantity made in any single year, was 3300 lbs. A large share of what he makes is sold yearly to merchants in the Western states. His maple sugar on exhibition at the Centennial in Philadelphia, 1876, was specially noticed by the French Commissioners, who, on their return to France, wrote to Miller for a sample of maple sugar and a package of seed from the trees for planting.

In return he received the Commissioners report containing a very complimentary notice of the sugar.


His parents were William and Esther (Knight) Miller, whose children were William O. , Dana; Esther, who m. Winslow Dutton; Mary, who married Sumner Rust, and Lucretia. The grand-parents were Marshal and Abigail (Haven) Miller. At the time of their marriage, Nov. 17, 1778, she was the widow of Thomas Boyden.

William O. was born Jan. 31, 1816. His parents then resided in the north part of the town near Putney West hill. In 1835, they removed to the Hosea Miller farm, which his father bought of Marshal Newton, who was owner at that time. It was previously owned by Dr. Abel Duncan, who died in 1813, and his widow, a daughter of Hosea Miller. held a claim on the estate during her life time. The farm has been kept in the Miller name or some relative of the family, since it was purchased of the original proprietors in 1770. The present dwelling house on the place was once used for a tavern. Refugees from Shay's Rebellion in 1787 boarded there for a time, and some of the apple trees now standing in the old orchard were set out by them to pay their expenses for board.

William O., when not otherwise employed, worked on the farm with his father, who deeded the place to him several years before his death. Mr. Miller's school days began in the old brick school-house near the Simeon Reed place on Putney West hill, and were concluded at West Brattleboro in the academy under the instruction of Boswell Harris. He taught school several winters in Dummerston and surrounding towns. A few years were spent in trade at the store of his uncle, Asa Knight.

In 1846, and '47, he was representative of the town at the state capital. He was chosen constable and collector in 1844, and with only two exceptions, has been annually chosen to that office for 48 years. He has been high bailiff of Windham county two years; was appointed postmaster in 1862, and stills holds that office. He is a Congregationalist, and has been clerk of the religious society 43 years - being chosen first in 1840. He has been clerk of school district No. 1. east, since 1842. In all the offices which he has held and still holds, he has discharged his duties with fidelity and thoroughness. He is a prosperous farmer, and very helpful member of society, and a valuable citizen of the town.

Nov. 26, 1856, he married Julia, dau. of Ira and Jemima (Ward) Haven, and their children are William D., a graduate from Williams College in the class of '82; Mary L. and Freddie O., died in childhood; and Edwin H. brother of Wm. O., graduated from Dartmouth college in the class of '43. His ante-collegiate was in Townshend, in West Brattleboro and Dummerston. As a scholar, he stood in the front rank of his class. After receiving his degree, he remained at home until the following December, when he went to Washington, D.C., and was soon invited by Rev. Mr. Bulfinch to take charge of the classical department of his school, which he did for two years. From the summer of 1816, to 1850, he traveled for increase of knowledge in the West and South West taking agencies to pay expenses. In the spring of 1850, he returned to Washington and was employed as a clerk in the Land Office. He soon received an appointment in the Census Bureau, and at the time of his death held an appointment in the Treasury Department. He died Nov. 23, 1851. He was much respected by all who knew him, for his manly bearing, self-discipline, frank and candid friendship, and unsullied life.


was a soldier in the war of 1812, in the 13th regiment of infantry. He died Feb. 9, 1815, on board of a vessel at sea from the effects of a gun-shot wound in his hand which produced lock-jaw. He was born in Westmoreland, N.H., Mar. 19, 1778, married, 1st. Ruth Plummer. had one child, Jared, married. 2d, Phebe, dau. of Lt. Daniel Kathan and formerly the wife of William Wilder.

Children: Josiah, b. Nov. 15, 1808, m., 1st, Hannah C., who died Feb. 20, 1848, aged 33; 2d, Eliza Jane Hews, who died Jan. 7, 1883, aged 60. He died Aug. 10, 1873.

Thankful, b. about 1810, m. Lanson Stone of Chesterfield, N.H., d. Feb. 1875 in her 65th year.

Willard, b. Feb. 25, 1813, m. Sept 5, 1837, Zilpha Temple. Has six children living.



The earliest representative of this family in town was


who was resident in 1774, and came from Worcester, Mass. He was born Jan. 3, 1732, d. Mar. 13, 1819, aged 87 years.

His wife's name was Tamar Russel. He first settled on the farm since owned by Asa Dutton, which he bought of Artemas Knight in 1777, and sold not long afterwards to Samuel Dutton. He then bought land and settled where Simeon Reed lived many years. Tamar, his wife, died suddenly of apoplexy, June 27, 1803, aged 72. Their children were Samuel, Joel, Jesse, Betsey, Seth, Levi and Jonathan, Jr.

Jonathan Knight was chosen one of the three selectmen, May 16, 1775, - Enoch Cook and Joseph Hildreth were the other two selectmen. They were the first selectmen chosen in town and took the place of trustees and commissioners of highways, reported in the list of selectmen for the 3 years previous to 1775. He was in the court-house fight at Westminster, and received a charge in the right shoulder, and carried the buck shot in his body for more than 30 years. He died Mar. 13, 1819, aged 87.


first son of Jonathan, settled on an adjoining farm, where Hoyt Spaulding now lives. He was a prominent justice of the peace several years.

He married Susanna Burge, Jan. 4, 1781. He died July 2, 1817 aged 59; his wife, d. Feb. 4, 1837, aged 80. Their children were Tamar, b. Jan. 10, 1783, did not marry; Artemas, b. Mar. 27, 1785, m. Oilve Bowen; Asa. born July 25, 1787, d. June 1792; Eber, b. Jan. 23, 1790, d. June 1792; Samuel - see separate sketch -; Luke, b. May 21, 1796, unmarried; Salley, b. Sept. 5, 1799, m. ____ Briggs.


second son of Jonathan, b. Nov. 11. 1761, settled east from his brother, Samuel's farm. He married Esther Farr, Nov. 13, 1786; d. May 5, 1841, aged 79. His wife d. May 20, 1851, aged 83 years.

Children: Rachel, b. Dec. 16, 1787, m. June 4, 1809, David Dickinson Joel, b. Dec. 12, 1789, d. May 18, 1790; Polly, b. Mar. 4, 1791; m. John Palmer of Williamstown; Asa b. Feb. 28, 1793, died July 20, 1851; Esther, b. Apr. 22, 1795, m. William Miller; Joel, b. July 18, 1799, died Sept. 15, 1874, aged 75.


third son of Jonathan, b. in 1763, m. Bethany Perry, Nov. 6, 1783, and settled south from Joel's farm on which he built, in 1802, the house now standing and owned by Sylvanus Kelley.

Of Jesse's children, Jesse, m. Betsey Dickinson; Thany, m. Ashbel Johnson, son of Capt. Ashbel; Betsey, m. July 24, 1809, Benjamin Ware; Abel, m. Betsey Kathan; Lyman, m. Polly Johnson; Perry, m. Eliza Fairbanks; Laura, m. Arba Clark, whose 2d wife was Catharine Black; Phila, m. John B. Miller; Job, m. Sally Bemis; David, m. Betsey Briggs; Jonathan Russel, m. Fanny, sister of Joel Miller; Louisa, m. Daniel Taylor; Wilder, m. Louisa Kathan; Octavia, m. Josiah Holton; Jesse, m. 2d. Polly Fairbanks, mother of the last three children. Fourteen children in this family grew to adult age.

Betsey married Jesse Butterfield; Seth, m. Betsey Whitney, Aug. 30, 1789. Levi, m. Anna Haskel, Oct. 11, 1790, Seth and Levi removed to Thetford.


lived on the parental farm with his father. The site of the old buildings is several rods farther south than the present location of the buildings on the farm, he married Amy Perry of Putney, Sept. 7, 1794. Mrs. Ama (sometimes written Amy) Perry Knight died in Chicago, Ill. Aug. 23, 1835.

Of Jonathan's children, Clark, m. Lucy Davenport; Mount Vernon, no record; Emily, m. a Shrigley of Putney; Minor, m. Lavilla Gates.


From an obituary in the Brattleboro paper.

The death of Samuel Knight, at the venerable age of 84 years; born in Dummerston, August, 21, 1793.

He was the son of Samuel and Sussanna Knight, of whose family he was the last surviving member. In early life, he served for a considerable period as clerk and book-keeper in a Putney store, and for a time was a resident of Newfane, where, in 1842, he married Eliza Merrifield, by whom he had one son, Henry Samuel, who died in 1871. His first wife having died, he married, in 1844, the widow of John Robinson, a well known hotel proprietor of Bellows Falls, who survived him at the age of 88.

In 1833, he was a contributor to the columns of the "Independent Inquirer," a short-lived, semi-religious newspaper, published in Brattleboro under the management of the now venerable Wm. E. Ryther, of Bernardston, Mass. While in Newfane, he furnished articles for the Green Mountain Democrat, published in that town, and when the Vermont Phoenix was started in 1834, he became a contributor to that paper and served more or less, as editorial assistant. He removed to Brattleboro in the spring of 1845.

He was a member of the old board of road commissioners for Windham county. which were appointed by the Legislature under the law passed in 1827, and was a clerk of the board until the repeal of the law in 1831, having for his associates such men as Hon. Phineas White of Putney and Gen. Barney of Guilford. He was a deligate of the State Constitutional Convention in 1843; and during his residence in Brattleboro was entrusted very extensively with the town affairs, in which his skill as a practical surveyor added greatly to his usefulness.

He joined "The Blazing Star Lodge" of Masons at Townshend, at an early period, and was one of the charter members of Columbian Lodge in Brattleboro.

As a writer, he was noted for his wit and sarcasm. He was a great lover of fun, whether in the shape of a witty anecdote or a practical joke; but his wit was never tinged with malice. He was always tender-hearted, good natured, kind and obliging; and however situated, was the same quiet, unassuming man, of kindly face and genial presence, such was "Uncle Sam Knight." To the foregoing, condensed from the "Vermont Phoenix," 1877, the writer of Dummerston history makes additional particulars: The widow of Mr. Knight is now living, (1882) at the age of 92. Her maiden name was Mary Clark, a daughter of Thomas Clark, one of the early settlers in Dummerston. She was born in this town in 1789. Her father died at the age of 91, her mother at 84, her brother Thomas at 88, and others in the family lived past 80.


Mr. Knight resided in this town till nearly or quite 50 years old. It is true that he was a "great lover of fun" and witty; but some of his very intimate friends often overreached him in the playing of practical jokes. Many stories are told illustrating his eccentric habits. One such was in public print many years ago, and was written for a Boston newspaper by Rollin Keyes, a resident of Putney and well known throughout the county as a man of fine ability and very scholarly attainments. The printed story is not at hand. and the facts are given in the writer's own language.

Mr. Knight, it appears, was at Putney, one day, in a store, when several persons were present with whom he was well acquainted. The conversation turned upon cleaning stove-pipes, how troublesome it was to do and how everybody disliked to do it. He remarked that he wished there was some better way of cleaning stove-pipes than the common method.

One of the men said he knew a plan that was very effectual and required little time. It was simply to put a quantity of powder on some paper, place it inside the stove just under the pipe: then light the paper with a match when the powder would soon flush all the soot and ashes out of the pipe into the chimney.

No one present cast any doubts on the feasibility of the new method, and Mr. Knight, accordingly, purchased some powder with which to clear some pipe after he returned home. When he had made ready for the trial, he followed the directions of the Putney man implicitly, and awaited the result. Instead of a "flush" and exit of soot and ashes as he expected, there was an explosion. The top of the stove was blown off. Stove-lids, soot and ashes, and other things were scattered promiscuously about. A section of pipe smashed through the window, and through the opening, leaped the terrified dog and cat, and disappeared for several days. Mr. Knight, himself, was perfectly astounded. After recovering somewhat from his astonishment, he was heard to say, "Any d--d fool might have known better than that."

By request of his most intimate friends, two papers, "Obituary Extraordinary" and " Thanksgiving disappointments" have been selected to illustrate Samuel Knight's sharp style of writing for the public prints. In the use of language he was as keen, witty and sarcastic as any man in the State. His genius for condensing was also, very remarkable.

The editor of the Free Press, noticed in the obituary, was Zebina Eastman. He died at Chicago in June 1883. He was one of the foremost abolitionists, and an associate of Benjamin Lundy in publishing "The Genius of Universal Emancipation." He was preparing a History of "The Black Code of Illinois when he died."


"Time cuts down all

Both great and small."

Died of starvation at Fayettville, Vt. Feb. 14, 1835,

"The Vermont Free Press," aged 37 weeks.

Its death was occasioned by the neglect of its guardians to supply it with proper nourishment. Its exit from this mundane sphere was probably hastened by an unlucky leap, Sam Patch like, made, some weeks ago, plump into the bowels of Anti-masonry from which, like its living prototype, it never recovered. In the death of the Free Press, the craft has lost a staunch champion for the "supremacy of the laws, a patriotic dabbler in other people's affairs, and a noble stickler for the truth. It was never known to utter an untruth but that it stuck to it with the greatest pertinacity even to its dying hour, literally fulfilling the maxim "that a lie well stuck to is as good as the truth." It is said that its paternal guardian shed "hogsheads of tears" on the solemn occasion, and that the mourners, as is customary when great characters become defunct, will wear crape for the space of thirty days. The loss of the Free Press will be sensibly felt throughout the state. We join in the lamentations and erect this tablet to its memory;

From nothing sprung,

To nothing rose;

On nothing hung,

To nothing goes;

And nothing all its life it sought,

And nothing now returns to naught.


Disappointments are said to be the lot of all men and women kind. The old saying was verified in small degree on the morning of Thanksgiving day by sundry persons on looking for their slaughtered gobblers and roosters, which they had hung up in a cool place preparatory for a good Thanksgiving dinner. But lo! the fowls were minus - gone clean, smack, smooth! By whose hands they had been spirited away was not quite so certain; but, although a mystery, suspicions were rife as to the whereabouts some of them had skedaddled. One man having his "eye peeled," found by "prospecting" where one of his gobblers rested. He took a "bee line" to one of his neighbors - rang the bell -- very politely met by the man of the house, and ushered into his domocil. The loser of the turkey walked straight into the kitchen, and lo ! there it lay on the table, gutted, gizzarded and stuffed ready for the spit. " You have a very fine turkey here," said the gentleman, " it will make a capital roast for dinner;" and turning it over, he stepped back and viewing it through his half shut hand, exclaimed --"Ho ho! that is an old acquaintance of mine - where did you get it? The man of the house was dumbfounded. He stammered and tried hard to say something; but it was no go - he couldn't get it out.

Shame gave his face a kind of thievish hue,

His cheeks turned pale his nose turned blue.

" Now neighbor," said the loser, " this is my turkey, and you, or some of your trade hooked it;" anti deliberately putting the dead fowl under his arm, walked to the door, and turning around, said very blandly-" Now Mr. , we wont have any hard feelings about this business-please call at the dinner hour and dine with me; be punctual. Good day, sir." But he didn't go. It is said the "man of the house" on the morning of Thanksgiving day, feeling very thankful for the blessings received and to be received, and a little pious withal, scratched his head and scratched out the following, to be by him delivered after eating, with other fixings, the stolen turkey, and here it is:--

For turkeys young and turkeys old,

For turkeys hot and turkeys cold,

For turkeys tender, turkeys tough,

We thank the Lord, we've had enough!

Alas! for his disappointments. He, however, can keep the thanks, the next time he is more fortunate, when he obtains a turkey under similar circumstances.



whose portrait has been contributed to this history, died Sept. 15, 1874. He spent his three score years and more on the old homestead, a slice from the paternal acres. He was an industrious farmer, an upright man, a worthy citizen. In early manhood, he spent his winters in teaching school. Six of his eight children were teachers.

Sophia, the eldest, married Rev. S. H. McCollester, D. D., at one time president of a college in Akron, Ohio. Charles M. Knight, the youngest son, now [1882] is a professor in the same College.

In 1829, Mr. Knight married Fanny daughter of Dr. Abel Duncan who died of spotted fever in 1813. Rev. Hosea Beckley, the resident minister of this town at that time, wrote the epitaph on his gravestone:

He was sound in knowledge and in judgment, clear,

With conduct open, and with heart sincere,

Of purpose firm; but mild to reason's sway,

In public good was prompt to lead the way;

Pure in friendship, and faithful to her laws,

He died in humanity's sacred cause.


son of Joel and Esther and, grand-son of Jonathan, Sen., was born in Dummerston, Feb. 28, 1793, and died July 20, 1851. Me. Knight was a prominent and leading citizen of this town. He acquired an extensive knowledge of the laws both of the state and nation; and, as a counsellor, though not a lawyer by profession, his judgement was excellent in all business of a legal character.

In 1821, he was appointed deputy sheriff and retained the office 7 years. He removed to Newfane in 1824, and was keeper of the county jail 2 years; and then returned to Dummerston, in 1828, and began business as a merchant.

In 1830, he was chosen representative to the legislature of Vermont, and was re-elected the following year; also, chosen again in 1834 and 1835. He was elected Judge of Probate for the District of Marlboro in 1834, 1835 and 1836, and performed the duties of the various offices, which he held at different times, with marked ability and promptness.

When living in Newfane, he received a large sum of money, late one afternoon, with the express command that it must be deposited in the bank at Brattleboro, that night without failure. To perform a journey of 12 miles down the West River valley, through thickly wooded forests and narrow defiles where robbers would have excellent chances to waylay the unsuspecting traveller in the hours of darkness, did not appear a pleasant undertaking. Thinking it would be prudent, therefore, to prepare for this emergency, he obtained the necessary means for self-defence; and with a swift horse and light sulky, started on his journey, trusting that in case his weapons should fail of doing execution, his swift steed would bear him out of danger. The road in many places was narrow and dangerous, and the night dark as Erebus.

He rode cautiously along, thinking that perhaps the darkness only, had excited his fear, till at length he came to a narrow defile, made by the river on the north, and an almost inaccessible hill on the south, leaving only a narrow passway which, by one of the leaders in the early difficulties of this state, was called, "the valley of the shadow of death;" when, suddenly, a man sprung from a dense thicket and grabbed at the bridle of the horse. Luckily, the horse threw up his head, and the robber missed his object; at the same time, being propelled across the road by the force gained in springing down the steep bank, he did not recover himself in season to try the experiment again, before Mr. Knight had whipped up the horse and was out of his reach. The spirited horse took his master swiftly over the remaining route, and rescued him from the robber and. perhaps a violent death.




Gen. Martin Field a lawyer in Newfane came to Mr. Knight when he was sheriff, and requested him to take a writ and serve it upon Thomas Parks of West Brattleboro, for the purpose of collecting a debt of about $500.

"It will be of no use," said Knight, " for me to take that execution, as you well know that Parks is a slippery fellow and has evaded the officers for the past year; even Chase, the high sheriff, has failed to arrest him."

"I know that," replied Field, " but I want that you should make a trial. Parks has caused trouble enough, and you are the man to settle with him. I will give you $50, if you will collect the debt."

"I cannot do it, General. If I take that execution, you will oblige me either to collect the debt, or pay it myself; therefore, I'll have nothing to do about it."

"Well, now," said Field, "I will make you this promise. You may take the writ, and if you cannot serve it upon Parks, I will take it back again, and cause you no further trouble."

Knight accepted the proposal, took the writ, and at the earliest opportunity called one afternoon to see Parks. He knocked for admission, but no one answered the call; and, on his trying to open the door, he found it securely fastened. Parks was soon discovered standing near the window, and laughing at Knight's inability to gain admittance.

"Let me in," said Knight, "I want to see you on business."

"No I won't," replied Parks, "you shall not come into my house."

"You had better," said Knight. "If you do not let me in now, I shall get into the house somehow, before morning."

"You can't do it," replied Parks. "Smarter men than you have tried that before and failed."

"We will see what can be done," responded Knight, as he got into his wagon and drove off a few miles to the residence of Paul Chase, the high sheriff. He told him his business and requested his aid in the work.

"You can't do anything with the fellow, Knight," said Chase, "for I have tried times enough to satisfy anybody. Parks has been secluded for months, and will let no one into his house."

"I do not dispute it, Chase, but you must go with me, this time, and help arrest him."

"Well," replied Chase, "I will not refuse to go where any of my deputies are willing; but, if you will arrest Parks. I will give you $25 and the half of my fees, for I have several writs that I would like to serve upon him."

Knight informed Chase of his plan which was to reach the house just before the time it would begin to grow light. Parks, by that time, would be tired of watching and conclude that he had given up the attempt to arrest him.

At the appointed hour, they arrived on the premises and found everything quiet. Knight had, at his first visit, got sight of a ladder under the shed, which he now took and set up near a back window in the second story of the building, and having ascertained the sash could be raised, "now," said he to Chase, "when there is light enough so that I can find my way out of the chamber, do you go round to the front door and make all the noise you can. Parks will soon be there; and don't you stop rattling the door till you hear from me."

When the first streak of dawn appeared, Knight pulled off his shoes, ascended the ladder, and at the same time, Chase hastened to the door and began a tremendous racket by pounding and shaking and calling for admittance. Knight, in the meanwhile, had got access to the chamber, and found a stairway which, he concluded, led in the right direction; he descended, and, as luck would have it, entered the room right behind where Parks was standing and swearing at Chase for pounding the door Knight tip-toed softly across the room and instantly grabbed him on both shoulders. Parks jumped as though he had been shot."

"How came you here," he exclaimed.

"None of your business," replied Knight," I told you I should get in; you are my prisoner." The door was quickly unfastened; Chase stepped in, and Parks surrendered without a fight. He settled the accounts before they left the house. For a long time after that, whenever he saw Knight, he would say "Ah, had it not been for you, I might have been out West now, and owning a good farm, but you got all my money and I had to go to work again."

D. L. M.

[We hold to read, a letter we will print, as it gives, beside, some additional information, a pleasant retrospective glance at a very honorable and well-known group of Mr. Knight's intimate friends - Ed.]



Brattleboro, May 13, 1882.

Dr. Sir:

The Records show Hon. Asa Knight, Judge of this Probate District for 3 years successively, 1835-6 and 7. Asa Keyes was his Register.

It is a pity you had not begun seeking information sooner. Within a few years have died Wm. C. Bradley, J. Dorr Bradley, Judge Kellogg, Judge Keyes, Chas. K. Field, Joe Steen, any one of whom was full of information about Judge Knight.

You might get on the track of something in Putney - in old times, Dummerston, for this, had more to do with Putney than with Brattleboro - perhaps they do still - I don't know. The Millers, Joe and W. O. ought to put you on the track of something, perhaps also Sam P. of Newfane, his father and yours were intimate. Austin Birchard, too, has lately died, he would have known all about him. I can think of nobody, now living. Should any one occur to me, I will write again.

Truly yours,


[We shall next introduce two ladies of the Knight Family whose portraits have been contributed to the history of this town, and a sister to one. We give Mrs. Esther Knight as the senior Mrs. Knight, first, and also, that the two sisters be side by side; these portraits, being the first of sisters in the history of any town thus far in the work. -Ed. ]


From information obtained in the History of Chesterfield, N.H., published in 1882 by O. E. Randall, we learn that the ancestors of Mrs. Knight came from Stowe, Mass. Samuel and Hannah Farr of that town had, at least three children: Lydia, b. Mar. 29, 1714, Elizabeth, b. Nov. 25, 1725, Abraham, b. Oct. 1, 1730. Samuel, the father, d. June 7, 1754, Abraham Farr m. Rachel Foskett and settled in Chesterfield, N.H., between 1770 and '75. He d. Jan. 18, 1810, in his 80th year. His widow married William Crook who died in Westminister, Vt. She died in Chesterfield at a great age. Children Susannah, b. Apr. 14, 1755, d. 1756; Abigail, b. Nov. 29, 1756, m. 1777, Amos Smith, d. July 17, 1830; Abraham married, 1784, Polly Harris and settled in Windham; Polly was sister of Mrs. Sally (Harris) Stockwell now living, 1883, in West Brattleboro at the great age of 104 years. [Deceased Nov. 1883.-Ed.] Tabitha married, 1782, Eleazer Cobleigh; Thomas married and had children; Abel married Polly, dau. of Aaron Smith; Hannah, b. about 1774, m. 1st, 1790, Isaac, son of Samuel Hildreth, 2d,1821, Samuel Stearns Elenor, b. Nov. 3, 1777, m. - Gibbs Esther, whose portrait appears iu this history, married Joel Knight. [p. 137]




wife of Hon. Asa Knight, whose maiden name was Susan Miller, daughter of John and Polly Davenport Miller, and grand-daughter of Capt. Isaac Miller, that sturdy pioneer, and settler of the town of Dummerston, was born in this town, October 22, 1796, and married Asa Knight, May 1, 1822. Their children were:

Susan H. b. May 19, 1823, married Lyman G. Bliss of Brattleboro.

Mary Esther, born, July 26, 1826.

Rose W. b. Oct. 31, 1828, married Lambert M. Maynard of Boston, Feb. 17, 1852, lives in Somerville, Mass.

Randolph A. b. Apr. 19, 1831, merchant, m. Ursula Longfellow a distant relative of the poet, H. W. Longfellow.

L...a L. b. Oct. 15, 1833, married Oliver Sprowl; and is now a widow and a teacher in the graded schools of Chico, Cal.

John M., b. Aug. 28, 1836, merchant in Des Moines, Iowa, m. Frances, dau. of Dr. W. B. Rice, Niagara Falls.

Fanny D., b. June 13, 1840, m. Richard L. Ogle of Callington, Co. of Prince George, Md., Sept. 10, 1863.

Her portrait was copied from an oil painting by Belknap and represents her as the age of thirty-six. In her youth, she was noted for her fair Saxon type of beauty, blue eyes, fair complexion, light golden hair and fine-cut features. Bright and cheerful in conversation, her peculiarly pleasant voice and Scotch wit impressed one as a lady of refinement and culture.

In childhood, she was trained in the strict discipline of her Puritan furthers and practised economy and industry; had a sacred regard for truth, which became ever after prominent in her character; and she was distinguished for her excellent judgment, good sense and her regard for the rights of others. Patient and positive in her opinion, she has been known as a true friend to the poor and friendless.

She has been a great reader and long took a lively interest in all the events concerning the welfare of our country, the proceedings of Congress and news from abroad.

The extensive acquaintance of her husband brought within her doors a large number of prominent people in the county and state who remember, agreeably, her sweet face, pleasant ways and generous hospitality.

The death of her husband in 1851, left her alone with a large family and a large estate to settle.

Three old-time friends, Judge Newton, the Hon. C. K. Field and Win. L. Williams, Esq., came to her assistance in settling the estate, and took from her much of the care and trouble.

Her husband was for many years, prior to his death, a merchant, and lived where she now lives on the hill - her home for upward of fifty years. The grand old house and the store have many interesting associations with prominent families and times long since passed away.

My mother was generous and noble hearted. She has passed through life with that degree of fortitude seldom equalled. For nearly three years past, she has been a great sufferer, occasioned by an accident that has rendered her almost helpless and speechless. But possessing a vigorous constitution and from a long lived race, she still lives and greets her friends and children with the same cordiality and smile of recognition, and to wish them blessings and prosperity.


is a sister of Mrs. Asa Knight; was born in Dummerston, May 19, 1794; married Feb. 22, 1826, William H. Williams, of Newfane, a wealthy and prominent citizen of that town. Her portrait represents her at the age of 65. She wrote the signature when 88 years old, and is now living in Williamsville in her 90th year. She is a grand-daughter of Capt. Isaac Miller.


PETER STICKNEY, ancestor of the family in Dummerston, was a descendant of William Stickney, the first settler in this country, and the ancestor of nearly all who have since borne that name in America. It is inferred from records procured in England, that he was the William who is mentioned as baptised in St. Mary's Church, Frampton Lincolnshire, England, Sept. 6, 1592, and the son of William Stickney of Frampton, who was baptised Dec. 30, 1558, and married June 16, 1585, Margaret Pierson, and the grandson of Robert Stickney of Frampton, who made his will Oct. and was buried Oct. 18, 1582.

William, the first settler in America, m. Elizabeth ____, and had ten children. Amos, their second son, was born in England about 1635, m. in Newbury, Mass., June 24, 1663, Sarah Morse. After his death, she m. 2d, in Newbury, Dec. 17, 1684, Stephen Acreman. She died there, Dec. 7, 1711. Amos Stickney had 9 children.

Benjamin, 6th child, was b. Apr. 1673. He m. in Rowley, Mass., Jan., 1700, 1st, Mary Palmer. She died 1747, aged 74, and was buried in Byfield. He m. 2d, widow Mary Morrison, Oct. 2, 1750, who survived him, and m. Nov. 1757, Samuel Doty of Rowley. He had 11 children. Jonathan, his 4th son, was born in Rowley, Mar. 7, 1706, published there Jan. 13, 1730-1; and m. Mary Fisk. They had 6 children. Moses, the 5th son, b. in Rowley, bapt. in Byfield, May 31, 1738; m. in Harvard, Nov. 20, 1760, (when of Leominster), to Sybel Farnsworth of Harvard. He enlisted as a soldier in the expedition to Crown Point, 1756, and his death occurred in October, 1761.

His only child was born Apr. 7, 1761; m. in 1782, widow Eunice (Willard) Carlton, who was sister of Henry Willard of Dummerston. He enlisted, Apr. 1, 1778, in Col. Jonathan Reed's Reg., Capt. Isaac Wood's Company; and afterwards in David Moore's Co., Aug. 3, 1780, to reinforce the Continental army in Rhode Island. [Mass. Archives.]

Two of his four children were probably born in Harvard. He removed afterwards to Dummerston, where he died in March, 1815, aged 52. His widow died in 1832.

Sibyl, the eldest child of Peter, was born Feb. 13, 1783; m. Jan. 12, 1802. Joseph Gleason, jr., had 11 children; Sally, b. ____; m. Jan. 16, 1800, Benj. Zwears; had 11 children.

Benjamin, b. Mar. 15, 1785; m. Oct, 25, 1807, Sally Betterley.

Lois, b. Feb. 22, 1789; m. Caleb Burbank.


was born in Leomister, Massachusetts, and his wife was the sister of Samuel Betterley of Newfane, Vt. She was born, June 15, 1786, in Newfane, and died there, Jan. 30, 1862, in the same room in which she was born. Benjamin came from Massachusetts to Dummerston about 1800, and died in this town, May 25, 1853. He had 9 children. Benjamin, the eldest, b. Sept. 4, 1808; m. Betsey Tenny, b. September 10, 1807. Both are now living, 1882; had five children; reside in West Dummerston.

Sarah, b. Oct. 3, 1810; m. Reuben M. Call.

William, b. Sept. 16, 1812; m. Emily L. Lanfair, who died, May 16, 1854. He m. 2d, Judith W. Wait, Nov. 20, 1856. They reside in Greenfield, Mass.

Eunice N., b. Oct. 19, 1815; m. Ira Barrett, Nov. 12, 1863.

Lucy, b. Aug. 21, 1817; m. Seth B. Hudson, Sept. 23, 1838.

Peter, b. July 21, 1820; m. Abigail Wellman of Brookline; had five children.

Samuel, b. Jan. 10, 1823; m. Sibyl Hudson of Dummerston.

Thomas, b, Nov. 18, 1824; d. Nov. 8, 1842.

Lydia W., b. Nov. 17, 1828; d. Nov. 7, 1842.


We give the family record beginning with his great grand father, Captain Daniel Estabrook of Sudbury, Mass., who was born Feb. 10, 1676, and married to Abigail Flint, Nov. 21, 1701.

She was born Jan. 11, 1675, dau. of John and Mary (Oakes) Flint.

The Flints came over from England in 1635. His father Thomas Flint came that year from Mattock in Derbyshire by the river Darran, where he lived and his predecessors had dwelt for 800 years without any entailment. The children of Capt. Daniel Estabrook and his wife Abigail were:

Abigail, b. Sept. 25, 1702; Daniel, b. June 14, 1705; Benjamin, b. May 7, 1708, died Sept. 12, 1787; Samuel, b. Aug. 18, 1710, d. Sept. 1, 1793; Mary, b. Nov. 2, 1712; Anna, b. Nov. 13, 1714. Capt. Daniel Estabrook, d. Jan. 7, 1735; his wife d, Nov. 1770, aged 95 years.

Samuel Estabrook and Abigail, his wife's children, were Lucy, b. Feb. 1739; Jedediah, b. Sept. 16, 1740; Samuel, b. Feb. 3, 1742, d. Apr, 28, 1744; Benjamin, the subject of our sketch, was b. May 21, 1744.

The remaining children were seven in number; Samuel, father of Benjamin, d. 1793, in Massachusetts. Abigail, his mother, d. Aug. 1804, aged 86, and was buried near the grave of Hannah Estabrook, her grand-daughter.

Benjamin Estabrook married Abigail Gates, about 1776, and moved to this town from Old Rutland, Mass.

He died, May 21, 1830, aged 86, his wife, Aug. 26, 1824, aged 86.

Their children were: Lydia, b. Nov.

1778, m. William French, Oct. 4, 1801, d. May 21, 1849, aged 70.

Abigail, b. Oct. 1, 1780, d. Nov. 8, 1848, aged 68.

Joel, b. Jan. 25, 1782, m. 1st Mary Sargeant, 2d. Anna Sargeant, d. Jan. 6, 1872, aged nearly 90.

Jeddiah, b. May 22, 1784, m. Persis Cutter, widow of Erastus Babcock; d. Aug. 15, 1853.

Hannah, b. Dec. 20, 1788, d. Oct. 14, 1843.

Benjamin, b. Nov. 1790, m. 1st, Clarissa, dau. of Abram. Farr of Windham, Jan. 8, 1817 , 2d, Lydia Pratt of Newfane, Mar. 30, 1840, d. Mar. 14, 1770. His children by the first marriage were:

Emeline, b. Dec. 4, 1817, m. Arba Spaulding, great-grandson of Lt. Leonard Spaulding, d. Sept. 29, 1843.

Alvin, b. Apr. 21, 1820, d. Nov. 22, 1821.

James M., b. Aug. 31, 1822, d. infant.

Clarissa Amy, b. Nov. 6, 1823, m. Mar. 11, 1873, David L. Mansfield. - [The writer of this History, whose interest in Dummerston, led him to furnish so much historical information. Ed]

BENJAMIN ESTABROOK, blacksmith, was born and always lived in Dummerston. He learned his trade of Ebenezer Miller, who married Ama Farr, sister of Mrs. Estabrook. After serving a few years as an apprentice, he engaged in business for himself on the parental farm and took care of his parents through life. In 1835, he purchased the blacksmith-shop and dwelling-house of Royal Miller, where he lived at the time of his death. He worked at the blacksmith business 63 years: was a man universally respected for his upright Christian character was always active in every good work, a kindhearted and obliging neighbor, and one of the oldest members of the Congregational church at the time of his death. The writer is much indebted to him for many interesting incidents connected with the early history of the town.



removed from Gerry (now Phillipston) Mass., in 1795, and settled on a farm in this town, now owned by Leroy Wilder, his grandson. On account of ill health, his son Frank has the management, making four generations, of the family that have lived on the place and cultivated the farm, which is one of the largest in town. The grave-yard adjoins the farm and in it are buried in one lot five generations of the Wilder family. We have not ascertained who the ancestors of Joshua Wilder were, but the family name is found among the inhabitants of Lancester, a town in the same county as Gerry, and settled more than a century before the latter town, which was incorporated in 1786. Lieut. Nathaniel Wilder was killed by the Indians in Lancester, July 31, 1704. Joshua was a Revolutionary soldier, and his service is reported elsewhere. He related an exploit of his grandfather which has been handed down to the present time.

It appears that his grandfather was fond of a good horse and rode much on horseback. One time he called at an inn to stay over night and requested that his horse might be turned out to pasture instead of being fed in the barn. When morning came and he was ready to start on his journey, he informed the landlord that he would go and catch his horse himself, as it was a young and spirited animal, and it was very difficult for a stranger to catch him. The landlord objected, because he had a cross bull in the pasture and he was afraid he would endanger the life of Mr. Wilder. Nothing, however, would deter him from catching his own horse. Before venturing into the pasture, he used the precaution, however, to fasten on his feet a pair of large, heavy spurs which he was accustomed to wear sometimes, when riding horseback. The landlord watched his proceedings with considerable anxiety. The horse and the bull were feeding near together, and Mr. Wilder could not catch his horse without attracting the attention of the bull. He fed quietly till he noticed a stranger approaching, when he suddenly turned and made a furious attack. Mr. Wilder equal to the emergency, dodging his enemy, caught him in such a manner as to land astride his back. He now had the advantage, and plunging the spurs deep into the sides of the bull, compelled him to run the course like a racehorse. The bull was conquered, and stopping shortly, bellowed for mercy. Mr. Wilder dismounted, patted him gently and said, "you are a good fellow, I have had a nice ride." The landlord was so much pleased with the brave exploit of Mr. Wilder that he would accept no pay for his night's lodging, nor would he take any pay thereafter for his staying over night, though he stopped on several occasions.

Joshua Wilder married Lois Hawes.

Their children were:

Anna, b. 1782, m. Luke Kendal; Betsey, b. 1783, m. Samuel Hadley; Natt, b. 1784, m. Polly Warner; Dan, b. 1786, m. Joanna Bemis; Nabby, b. 1788, m. Simon Halley of Williamstown, N.Y. Clarissa, born, 1789, m. Stephen Hadley; Nixon, b. 1791, m.; Lindal, b. 1792, m. Betsey Hadley; Ruth, b. 1795, m. Ransom Covey; Samuel, b. 1796, m. Olive Bemis; Daniel, b. 1798, unmarried; Columbia, b. 1800; Jefferson, b. 1802. All lived to be adult persons, and none died younger than 25 years.

Dan Wilder married, May 3, 1803, Joanna, dau. of Joshua Bemis. Their children were: Alfred, Leroy, Eliza, William, Lindall, Edmond, Betsey, Elvira, Horace, Jason H.

Dan was a deacon of the Congregational church, many years. His father, Joshua, united with the church in 1842, when he was 84 years old.

Leroy Wilder is deacon of the church at the present time.

Dea. Dan Wilder now living in his 84th year, (1869) on one occasion, when a young man, cut from a Lombardy poplar, a small sprout to use as a riding-whip, and on returning from his ride, stuck it into the ground. The soil being moist, that sprout grew to be a tall tree. It was cut down a few years since, and measured across the stump, nearly 4 feet.



ICHABOD KNAPP who married Catharine Miller, Dec. 10, 1780, is the ancestor of this family name now living in town. Alvine, his eldest child, b. Feb. 21, 1781, m. Mar. 24, 1808, Rinda Fuller; had one child, Ichabod Milton, who m. Sarah Wheeler, Mar. 20, 1843.

Gardner, b. Apr. 23, 1783, m. Fanny, b. Jan. 14, 1801, dau. of Asahel Taft. Their children were Hiram, b. Mar. 30, 1825; Addison, b. July 30, 1827; Ichabod Leroy; Joel Dexter; Emily S.; Mary E.; John N.

Catherine, b. Mar. 18, 1785, m. 1st. Giles Alexander, May 14, 1809, 2d, John F. Stearns;

Lurana, b. Aug. 3, 1787, m., 1808, Luther Miller; Isaac N. (Dr.) b. Aug. 7, 1789, m. 1st, Philinda Dutton; Children:

Isaac, (Dr.) b. Mar. 22. 1815; Philinda D., b. Dec. 10, 1817; George H., b. Mar. 21, 1819, d. 1880; Samuel D., b. 1822, d. 1846; Caroline, b. 1825, d. 1827: Lucy, b. June 27, 1827; Ellen J., b. May 2, 1832. The mother d. Jan. 15, 1835, and Dr. Knapp m. 2d, Mrs. Maria [Nutting] Benham. Three children by 2d marriage;

Lovicy and Polly, twins, b. Feb. 20, 1792, Polly, d. infant, and Lovicy, m. July 25, 1813, Ephraim Laughton;

Ichabod, b. 1794, d. 1799;

Rosanna, b. July 12, 1796, m. Thomas Laughton;

George W. b. Dec. 19, 1799, m. Mrs. Eliza Williams;

William, b. Mar. 10, 1804, m. Lovinna Miller;


a brother of Ichabod, came from Orange, Mass. to Dummerston about 1803.

The children of Jonah and Ann, his wife were, John, b. in Orange, Mass., Aug. 1, 1793, m. Jan. 31, 1822, Hannah Adams; Lucretia, b. July 31, 1795, m. Justin Sargeant; Orrin, b. Mar. 18, 1798; Caleb L., b. July 15, 1801, m. Sept. 12, 1831, Linda Sargeant; Sally, b. in Dummerston, 1801, d. 1806; Horace, b. Mar. 12, 1808.

Polly Knapp, a sister of Jonah, m. Benjamin Rider, Jan. 30, 1806.


died May 9, 1883, in Fort Wayne, Ind. His parents were Dr. Isaac N. and Philinda (Dutton) Knapp. His early education was obtained in the common schools of this town and at the academy in Brattleboro. At about 20, he went West, and supporting himself by teaching at intervals, completed a full course at Marietta college, O., graduating in 1839. After teaching a year or two in the South and West, he returned to Vermont. He studied for the ministry, but gave it up on account of a throat disease, which prevented his speaking in public, and studied medicine with his father, Dr. Isaac N. Knapp, a successful physician in Dummerston, and afterwards attended and graduated at the medical department of the University of Vermont. He again went West, and practiced medicine several years, but his health proving inadequate, he turned his attention to dentistry, and took high rank in that profession, was thrice chosen president of the Indiana State Dental Association and a prominent officer in other dential societies, in the West. He contributed much to dental literature, corresponded with eminent men in the profession and delivered pubic addresses, one series of which was before the Fort Wayne Medical College. His views were pronounced and his influence positive, also, on all political, religious and social questions. He took an active part in the church and Sunday school work. He leaves a wife, Mrs. Rowena L. Knapp, one son, Wm. B., and a sister, Mrs. Lucy Safford, of Windsor, Conn. (The writer is indebted to the Fort Wayne Gazette for many of the facts pertaining to the life of Dr. Knapp in the West.


William Holton, Houlton, was born in England, 1611; came from Ipswich to America in ship "Francis," 1634; original proprietor of Hartford, Ct.; removed thence to Northhampton, Mass. where he was ordained deacon, 1663 representative to the general court 5 years from Northampton and 1 year from Hadley; on committee for Northfield at the second settlement, 1672 died Aug. 12, 1691. His wife, Mary ____, died Nov. 16, 1691.

Their children were John, Samuel, William, Mary, Sarah, Ruth, Rachel and Thomas, killed in the attack on Northampton, Mar. 14, 1676. Mary married David Burt, Nov. 18, 1656; Sarah married John King, Nov. 18, 1656,-the first two marriages in Northampton. Ruth married Joseph Baker, who was killed by the Indians, Oct. 29, 1675. Rachel married Thomas Strong.

John, son of William, died April 16, 1712. Abigail ____, his wife, was living in 1718. Their children were Mary, Eleazer, Sarah, Abigail, Joshua, William and Thomas.

Thomas, son of John, was born Oct. 23, 1081; was in Northfield, 1718; killed by the Indians Aug. 23, 1723. He married Mindwell, daughter of Samuel Allen of Northampton. After her husband was killed she married Daniel Chapin. She died Oct. 21, 1758. Children: Joshua, born 1703; Thomas, 1705; Hannah, 1707; Mindwell, about 1712: Ithamer, who died Dec. 4, .713.


son of Thomas (1681) was born about 1705; carpenter by trade; " dismissed from church in Northfield 1799, with wife and daughter Sarah, to be joined with others in a church in Fulham." now Dummerston, where he settled after 1771. He married Sarah ____; died in this town Dec. 22. 1800, aged about 95 years.

Their children ware Thomas Allen, born in Northfield, 1 744; Sarah, Arad, Nov. 1752; Mindwell, Hannah, Olive and Obedience, who were baptized Apr. 29, 1761; Sarah married Elijah Town, jr., about 1776. Arad married Anna Haven, (1); Rebecca Houghton, (2); Mrs. Eunice Spaulding. (3). Mindwell married William Orvis, who died Jan. 11, 1801, aged 41 years. A slate stone marks his resting-place in the cemetery, near the meeting-house.

Hannah married Joseph Nurse; Olive married Henry Cressy; Obedience married Calvin Butler. Five of these families resided in school district No. 5 in 1793. Calvin Butler lived on the farm now owned by I. M. Knapp. Wm. Orvis lived in a house that stood in the northwest corner of the "Orvis lot," near the place where some twenty old apple trees are now standing west of the school-house. Elijah Town, jr., built the house and lived on the farm now owned by Howard Jones.

Wranslow Holton remembers well, a little incident that occurred at his Uncle Elijah's when he was a small boy. He went there one day to visit his cousins. Young Elijah, his cousin, who was older than he, showed him the bees that were working busily about the hives. Mr. Holton says that the "little devil" gave him a piece of board and told him to go and scrape off the bees from the hive. Instead of scraping off the bees he got himself into a scrape that he has never forgotten.

Arad Holton was a farrier and some-what peculiar in his manner. When he was a young man he broke his leg be-low the knee, and wishing to lime it set by a surgeon in Northfield, rode on horseback to that town, had the bone set, and returned on horseback next day. He always rode on horseback when traveling about the country. On one occasion he told some men that $300 had been offered him for the horse which he was riding. They looked much surprised. After a pause he added that it was the amount of four or five offers.

His Northfield friends told him, one time, that he was unwise to live up in Vermont on land not so productive as they had in Northfield. His reply was, "You boast of your productive lands, but I raised a pumpkin on my farm that you could not turn over with a handspike. They did not believe it till he added that it grew under a large root.

He claimed that he once hauled the heaviest load with a single horse of any man in Vermont. He explained that it was himself and five children, which made six whole tons, (Hol-tons) the large load of which he boasted.


Henry Cressey lived on a farm east of the "Lyman Knight place," since divided up and sold in separate lots. He is known as the man who made the Cressey, jump." The story goes that he was walking alone across a field and coming to a brook that was wide and deep, he said to himself: "Cressy, I will bet you a dollar that you can't jump across the brook." "Done," said he, and back he went a few paces to get a good start. When at full speed he bounded like a deer across the brook. Elated by his success, he said, "Now, Cressey, I will bet you another dollar that you can't jump back again." - "Agreed," said he, and, starting as before, he bounded, and missing a firm foothold, fell backwards, splash into the brook. Scrambling out of the water, he said: "It is a Cressey jump; nothing gained, nothing lost," and went on his way a wetter if not a wiser man.


that is now living in Dummerston, - in 1882 - is Mr. Wranslow Holton, aged 94 years. He was born in this town, Jan. 11th, 1788. At that time there were only thirteen states in the Union, and not as many people as now live in the state of New York. George Washington had not then been chosen President of the United States, and did not begin his first term of office as President till April 30, 1789, when Mr. Holton was more than a year old.

Thomas Holton, his grandfather, came from Northfield, Mass., with his family, and settled in this town previous to the beginning of the Revolutionary war.

His journey in quest of a new home was made by following up the Connecticut river till he reached "Canoe brook," now called "'Murder Hollow brook;" and thence westerly about 2 miles from the river, where he selected 100 acres of good land for a farm which he purchased of the original proprietors. The site of the first house built on the farm is N.E. of the present buildings, east of the brook at the foot of the hill. The land is now owned by Willard Dodge.

Arad, married about 1777, and settled west of the brook, taking one-half the farm and his father keeping the other half of 50 acres, now called the "Orvis lot," owned by Mr. Dodge. Arad Holton lived on the farm from the time of settlement till his death in the 89th year of his age.

Wranslow, his son, was born in the old house that stood a short distance north of the dwelling in which he now lives, and which was built since his remembrance. Four generations of the Holton family now live in the same house, father, son, grand-daughter, and five great grand-children. There was 13 children in his father's family. Two of his half-brothers, Reuben and Arial, lived to be about 94 years of age. Others in the family died much younger.



Anna Spaulding, wife of Samuel Laughton, d. Jan. 31, 1849, aged, 81 years.

Mrs. Sarah Negus died, Jan. 9, 1834, aged, 83.

Hannah Holton, wife of Joseph Nourse, died, Jan. 12, 1842, aged, 86 years.

Sally Glynn Nourse, died. Sep. 11, 1877, aged, 82 years and 11 months.

Dea. Daniel Walker, died, June 24, 1873, aged, 89 years, 11 months.

Nathan Cook died, Jan. 11, 1837, aged, 82 years.

John Kilbury d. about 1820, over 90 years old.

Rinda (Fuller) Knapp d. Jan. 18, 1873, ae. 86 yrs.

Joseph Dix died, Jan. 24, 1873, aged, 84 years.

Isaac Reed died, June 23, 1854, aged, 87 years.

Lucy Miller died. Aug. 16, 1875, aged, 89, years.

Joseph Crosby, died Nov. 7, 1861, aged 97 years.

Rhoda Crosby died, Dec. 24, 1850, aged, 84 yrs.

John F. Stearns, died, Nov. 25, 1872, aged, 82 yrs.

Polly Miller died, Feb. 28, 1834, aged, 85 years.

Abel Knight, died, Oct. 4, 1871, aged, 80 years.

Lucinda Joy, died, Feb. 21, 1853, aged, 80 years.

Sally Caryl died, May 8, 1861, aged 85 years.

Reuben Jones died, Apr. 17, 1875, aged, 92 yrs.

Dea. David Bennett, d. June, 9, 1847, aged, 87.

Beulah (Burnham) Miller, d. Aug. 28,1871, ae. 90.

John Laughton, died, Feb. 26, 1799, ae. 84 years.

Betsy Hill died, Jan. 1, 1871, aged, 84 years.

Mary, wf. of Luther Allyn, d. Dec. 27, 1876, ae. 82.

Hadassah Winn, died, Oct. 27, 1855, aged, 87.

Shepherd Gates died, Apr. 8, 1869, aged, 88 yrs.

Molly Kathan, wife of Elihue Sargeant, died, Dec. 18, 1850, aged, 94 years.


Capt. James Chase died, Jan. 30, 1871, ae. 84 yrs.

James Chase died, May 28, 1844, aged, 93 yrs.

Polly Chase died Sep. 4, 1860, aged, 83 years.

Enos Leonard died Aug. 10, 1866, aged, 82 years.

Matilda Leonard died, Oct. 15, 1877, aged, 83 yrs.

Samuel Miller died, Nov. 29, 1855, aged, 83. yrs.

Sylvia Miller died. May 8, 1866, aged, 88 years.

John Greenwood died, Jan. 29, 1843, ae. 80 yrs.

Ruth Greenwood died, Apr. 5, 1856, aged, 89 yrs.

Benja. Willard died, Aug. 5, 1874, aged, 86 yrs.

Lydia Willard died, May 6, 1874, aged, 85 years.

Betsy Huntley died, Nov. 12, 1835, aged, 85. yrs.

Dan'l Belknap died, Aug. 23, 1862, aged, 89 yrs.

Wm. Robertson died, Oct. 17, 1841, aged, 91 yrs.

Mary Robertson died, Mar. 15, 1842, aged, 88 yrs.

Zeraviah Stoddard died, Jan, 22, 1863, ae. 92 yrs.

Rachel Wilson died, Jan. 1, 1861, aged 82 years.

David Livermore d. Jan. 28, 1879, aged, 81 yrs.

Olive Livermore d. Aug. 31, 1875, aged, 84 years.

Jacob Prescott, d. July 4, 1876, aged, 93 years.

Wheaton Wilson, d. Jan. 31 1874, aged, 87 years.

David Baily d. Mar. 19, 1867, aged, 86 years.

John Whitney died, Oct. 13,1849, aged, 89 yrs.

Mary, w. of Tilly Wilder, d. Apr, 15, 1832, a. 80.

Tirzah, w. of Dan'l Goss, d. Apr. 21, 1843, a. 84.

Sally Wood w. of Enos Goss, Mar. 4, 1863, a. 83.

Henry Willard died, Aug. 16, 1850, aged, 84 yrs.

Sarah Gleason died, Oct. 21, 1840, aged, 92 yrs.

Lydia, w. of Capt. Isaac Burnett, Jan. 1847, a. 88.

Abigail, w. of Seth Hudson, Nov. 10, 1821, a. 81.

Phineas Pratt, died, June 9, 1831, aged, 90 yrs.

L. Wm. Leonard, died, Oct. 13, 1828, aged, 93.

Mrs. Thomas Betterly d., Nov. 26, 1839, aged, 88.

Thomas Betterly died, June 25, 1836, aged, 85.

Sebra Knight died, Nov. 8, 1847, aged, 81 years.

Mrs. Samuel Betterly d., Jan. 15, 1875, aged, 84.

Capt. Samuel Betterly d., Apr. 1, 1870, aged, 77.

Lincoln Bixby died, Oct. 17, 1869 aged, 82 years.

Mrs. Lincoln Bixby d. Mar. 11, 1869, aged, 78.



Orrin L. Bennett, age, 87;

Polly Bemis, 80;

Sylvester G. Dewey, 81;

Mrs. Lydia Estabrook, 81;

Mary Gleason, 81;

Mrs. Rebecca Gates, 80.

Wranslow Holton, 92;

Mrs. Sophia Haven, 85.

Jairus Haven, 90;

Mrs. Susan Knight, 83;

Mrs. Rosanna Langhton, 84;

Asa Laughton, 83;

Mrs. Phila Miller, 80;

George Nichols, 83;

Jacob Pierce, 87;

Mrs. Elanor B. Perry, 81;

Mrs. Anna Stockwell, 85.

Mrs. Betsey J., wife of Simeon Reed, died, Mar. 3, 1881, aged 84.

Simeon Reed died in 1875, aged, 78 years.


Simeon Reed was the son of Mr. John Reed one of the first settlers in Putney. He removed to that town from Dighton, Mass., settled on "West Hill," where there was good rocky soil, lived there many years, and died, 1840, aged 83. Simeon Reed bought the Reuben Smead place in this town in 1852, where he lived when he died. Mrs. Reed. his wife, was the daughter of Capt. Amos Joy, of Putney. She was born in that town in 1795, and belonged to a large family of children, only two of whom are now living --- Rev. Amariah Joy of Joyfield, Mich. and Thomas Joy of Woodstock, Vt. Before her marriage, Mrs. Reed was a school teacher. She taught the school in Dis. No. 1, Dummerston Centre, in the cold summer of 1816, and has often said in reference to the coldness of that season, that at times she was obliged to wear a shawl in the school-room and get into the sunshine to make herself comfortable.




[Continued from page 89. ]


After the dismission of Mr. Beckley, Rev. Eber Child supplied the pulpit most of the time until May 19, 1840, when


was installed. The council for Mr. Barbour's installation consisted of Rev. Mr. Walker, pastor of the church in East Brattleboro, Rev. C. Kidder in West Brattleboro, Rev. Calvin R. Bacheldor in Westminster East, Rev. Jubilee Wellman in Westminster West, Rev. Horatio N. Graves in Townshend, Rev. L. S. Colburn in Fayetteville, and Rev. Amos Foster in Putney; Rev. Seth S. Arnold moderator; Rev. C. Kidder, scribe; invocation and reading the Scriptures, by Rev. C. R. Bacheldor; introductory prayer, Rev. H. N. Graves; sermon, Rev. Charles Walker; installing prayer, Rev. C. Kidder; charge to the pastor, Rev. S. S. Arnold; right hand of fel-ship, Rev. Amos Foster; address to the people, Rev. J. Wellman; concluding prayer, Rev. L. S. Colburn.

Mr. Barbour's salary was $450, paid semi-annually. The amount was raised by a tax made on the grand list of each member of the church, excepting what was obtained from others connected with the society. In 1842, a new meeting-house was built and the old church was taken down. The first church was built about the year 1777. At the raising, the frame was so heavy that the carpenters were obliged to suspend operations few hours until more men could be obtained from Putney to assist in raising the building. The church was not finished for several years. At first, it was shingled and the frame covered with rough boards; planks were used for seats. Meetings were held about 2 years before the church was organized. Mr. Farrar may have preached that length of time previous to his installation in 1779.

During Mr. Barbour's ministry, 22 persons joined the church by profession and 15 by letter. He was dismissed Apr. 6, 1846. The council for that purpose consisted of Rev. H. N. Graves of Townshend, Rev. Alfred Stevens of Westminster West, Rev. Darwin Adam of Fayetteville, and Rev. Amos Foster of Putney. He died in Georgia, Vt. July 31, 1867, aged 60 years, 9 months, 23 days. He was born in Bridport, Vt., Oct. 8, 1805, son of James and Dorcas D. Barbour; graduated at Middlebury, 1831, at Andover 1834; for a year, he was agent of the American Sunday School Union; but near the close of 1835, commenced preaching in Saxton's River village, and was ordained pastor of the Congregational church in that place Dec. 15, 1836. Rev. Henry B. Homer of Springfield preached the sermon. His pastorate at Saxton's River was quite successful. A house of worship was built, a great revival took place, and the membership of the church was nearly doubled. He was dismissed Sept. 26, 1839.

He was installed pastor of the church in Dummerston, May 10, 1840. Rev. Charles Walker of Brattleboro preached the sermon. A house of worship was built during his pastorate and fifteen or more conversions took place.

He was dismissed Apr. 6, 1846.

After leaving Dummerston in 1846, he became agent of the Protestant Society, in which service he continued 3 years. From March 1849 to March 1852, he was acting pastor in Langdon, N.H.; installed in Wolfboro, June 16, '52, Rev. B. P. Stone, D. D., preaching the sermon; dismissed Nov. 27, '54 from Mar. 1856 to Dec. 1858, acting pastor in Cummington, Mass.; for a year or more, preached in Jamaica, V t. early in 1861, became acting pastor in Sullivan, N.H., for nearly 3 years 1st, Sabbath Oct. 1866, preached at West Fairlee, Vt.; Nov. 1866, began preaching in Georgia, and there continued till his death, preceded by a sickness of only a few days, after 33 years of ministerial service. He was a sound, earnest, self-denying home missionary, sometimes blunt, yet gentle to all. He loved music, loved Christ, and all good men. He married, 1st, Aug. 24, 1835, Laura Ripley of Middlebury, who died May 8, 1846, aged 41 years; 2d, Apr. 25, 1849, Ruth Dunklee of Brattleboro, who died Oct. 29, 1854, aged 38 years 3d, Oct. 15, 1855, Mary Willard of Rockingham.


was the fifth settled minister of this church; was born in Hanover, N.H., June 16, 1803, and was the son of Richard and Esther (Jewell) Foster. He was early consecrated to God by his pious parents, and his youth was marked by a conscientious regard for everything of good report. One who knew him from childhood, says: " He was an honest child, and an honest youth." Those who knew him in manhood can say he was an honest man. He learned the trade of a tanner which occupation he felt it his duty to leave after his conversion, at the age of seventeen and entered upon a course of study with the ministry in view.

He united the same year with the Congregational church in Hanover, N.H., under the pastorate of Rev. Josiah Towne.

He fitted for college at Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, N.H., and was graduated at Amherst in the class of 1829; after which he studied theology with the Rev. Silas McKeen, D. D., of Bradford, and was licensed at Post Mills, Vt., Aug. 2, 1831, by the Orange Association.

For a few months, he preached in Waterford afterwards in Amoskeag, (now Manchester) N.H., and was ordained there as an evangelist in Mar. 1832. The Rev. Edward L. Parker of Londonderry preached the sermon.

He was installed Nov. 13, 1833, pastor of the Congregational church in Salisbury. The Rev. N. Bouton, D. D., of Concord preached the sermon. During his ministry at Salisbury there occurred several seasons of special religious interest, the most marked in the winter of 1842-43, when he admitted to the church forty by profession and forty by letter. He was dismissed July 23, 1846, on account of ill health, and installed at Dummerston Sept. 30, 1846. The Rev. Amos Foster, his brother, preached the sermon.

After a pastorate of more than 21 years, he was dismissed Dec. 18, 1867, by the same council that installed his successor, he having been unable to preach only occasionally for more than a year, previous. During his ministry fifty four joined the church by profession and twenty-three by letter.

Mr. Foster was a hard-working, earnest, faithful preacher and pastor. His sermons were plain, direct and instructive; and it was evident to his hearers that he sought only to do them good by his preaching.

He was interested in all movements for the good of the community, and especially in schools. He was for many years superintendent of schools in Dummerston, and when suffering much was faithful to that trust. His health was always poor; rarely was he free from pain. Hence he was often greatly depressed under the cares of the ministry. Yet there was a vein of cheerfulness in his constitution that made him always companionable, his presence desirable, and his home a welcome place to friends. He was, however, constitutionally desponding, and always thought little of himself and his attainments, while esteemed by his brethren in the ministry as an able divine and good critic.

He loved revivals, and labored earnestly to promote them, and mourned that he had not been able to win more souls to Christ. He died Nov. 2, 1868, aged 65 years, trusting in the Saviour he had preached, as he had preached him for 37 years. Rev. A. Stevens of Westminster West, preached the funeral sermon, taking for his text Eph. 2: 8.

Mr. Foster married Apr. 19, 1832, Ruth Hovey Kimball, of Hopkinton, N.H., who died June 3, 1845, aged 38 years; by whom he had 5 children.

Edward Cornelius. b. Jan. 17, 1834, d. Mar. 31. 1876.

Benjamin, b, Sept. 11. 1836, d. Sept. 28, 1836.

Frederick Webster. b. Sept. 10.1837, d. July 16, 1838.

William Henry, b. July 13, 1839;


being connected at different times with three Wisconsin regiments, and the latter, William H. being for three years a member of Co. C. 3d Vt. Regiment.


was installed pastor, Dec. 18, 1867; sermon by the Rev. Nathaniel Mighill of Brattleboro, Vt. He was the sixth pastor, of this church and was installed the same day that his predecessor, Rev. Mr. Foster, was dismissed, Aug. 24, 1870. He was born in Woodstock, Ct., Dec. 1, 1830, and was the youngest of nine brothers, all of whom grew to manhood and assumed prominent places in life. Two others are clergymen. He took his collegiate course at Williams college and was graduated at Andover Theo. Sem., 1859; ordained and pastor at Saxton's River 1 year; m. Lucy I. Lord, 1860; from 1860, about three years preached in Lempster, N.H.; often at Strafford. Vt., about 3 years, and was settled over the church in Dummerston in 1867, but after a year and a half was obliged by failing health to discontinue the ministry but followed the occupation of book-agent until, in the spring of 1875, when he became proprietor of the Record and Farmer, where his rare working powers, and ability as a writer, gave his journal a reputation not often achieved by country journals. Mr. Chandler was an energetic promoter of temperance principles, and gave many of his best efforts in favor of stringent liquor laws and their enforcement, even to the sacrifice of that business gain which all men seek. In private life, he was a good citizen, a kind husband and indulgent father; a wife and three children survive him."

We are indebted to "The Vermont Record" for this account of the Rev. Mr. Chandler, condensed, mostly, from an obituary in that paper soon after his death.

He resigned his charge in this town July 10, 1869, and


preached during the remainder of the year. He completed his studies at Andover during the winter and spring and received a call to become the pastor of this church June 21, 1870; was ordained Aug. 24, same year. He was a faithful minister, a good preacher, and labored zealously for the welfare of the church during the 7 years, till failing health compelled him to resign the pastorate, Sept. 10, 1877; much to the regret of his people. The acceptance of his resignation was delayed more than a year, his congregation hoping by rest he might regain his health, but their expectation failing, he was dismissed Mar. 5, 1879.


of New Boston, N.H., became acting pastor during the winter of 1877 '78. He had been a missionaray at Aintab, Turkey about 6 years, for the. Missions, till the death of his wife in Aaintab, when he returned to New Boston with his two small children. While preaching in Dummerston, he was again requested by the Board to resume his work in Turkey, and with his family, sailed from New York, Oct. 19, 1878, arrived at Marden, Turkey, Dec. 7th. His present field of labor is in Turkey.


succeeded Rev. Mr. Marden as acting pastor, Jan. 24, 1880. He was born in Otisfield, Me., Jan. 13, 1819, son of Rev. Josiah G. Merrill, then pastor of the Congregational church in that place. He united with the church at Cape Elizabeth, Me.; fitted for college partly at the academy at North Bridgton, partly at Gorham academy, Me.; graduated at Dartmouth in 1841; studied theology at Andover and Bangor; graduated in 1844; preached about 8 mos. at Rockville, Ct., abt. 18 mos. at Eastport, Me., ordained over White River church, Vt.., Mar. 1, 1848, Rev. Dr. Haddock, Dartmouth college, preaching the sermon. He was settled over the church at Wiscasset, Me., in July 1857; sermon by Rev. Henry D. Moore of Portland. From the autumn of 1867 to the spring of 1877, he resided at Cambridge, Mass. and supplied during all that time a church at South Franklin, Mass. He was pastor of the church in Dummerston nearly 4 years and became pastor of the church in Troy, N.H., Nov. 1, 1883. He was a very acceptable pastor during his stay in Dummerston, and the people regretted very much that he should deem it necessary to resign and accept a new field of labor. Mr. Merrill had no family while here, his wife having died some years ago. He married Miss Philomedia Henrietta Converse, of Portland, Me., Aug. 23 , 1818; children Henrietta A., b. July 2, 1849, d. aged 6 years; Caroline Adelaide, b. Mar. 9, 1851, m. Rev. Fred Lyman Allen, of Walpole, N.H.; Henry F., b. June 15, 1853, now in the revenue service at Shanghai, China; James C., b. Jan. 15, 1856, now in business at Chicago; Frederick J., b. Feb 22, 1859, now in Kansas; Helen Isadore, b. Apr. 5,1860, m. Lawrence Mayo, of Boston; Ida A.

b. Jan. 5, 1865, a graduate in 1883 from the Framingham State Normal school


Rev. Joseph Farrar occupied the house, during his residence in town, where the Rev. Aaron Crosby lived on the Dr. Walker place. The house belonging or standing on the minister's lot. In 1789, the town voted to have a well dug on the town lot within 3 rods of the house in the most convenient place, and Abel Butler dug the well for $50 hard money. Rev. Mr. Crosby built in 1796, a well-curb, or more properly, a well-house with windows in it, for which he asked the town to pay; but the town refused to pay for it. This well is on the place now owned by Dea. R. P. Pratt. Rev. Hosea Beckley had for a residence the house now called the ''Randall place," which then stood a few rods north of its present site. It was moved to its present location by Asa Dutton and used for a time as a store. Its former site was used for a situation on which to build a new house for Rev. Nelson Barbour, and which Rev. B. F. Foster afterwards purchased for a homestead. The Randall house first stood on the hill near Clark Bacon's, and a blacksmith, Ebenezer Wait, lived there.

The buildings are on the south side of the common. In 1793, Enoch Cook was hired by the town to remove the fence on the old burying-ground south side of the common, and lay out the land into house lots and sell the same at "Public Vendue." Probably the buildings thereon were built not long after they were sold at auction.


In 1796, David Leavitt got a vote of the town to let him "set up his pot-house on the east side of the common on the same conditions that Simeon Colby built his pearl ash and shed works in 1791.


" Rev. Alvin Duncan French died in Denmark, Iowa, Oct. 25, 1866, aged 52. He was born in Dummerston, a son of Ephraim and Priscilla (Duncan) French, and was nearly self-educated though he spent several terms at Brattleboro Academy, and during a part of the year 1836, was a student in the Teachers Seminary at Andover, Mass. in the fall of 1837, he went to Bordentown, N. J., opened a select school and conducted it very successfully nearly 4 years; then a similar school in Jackson, Miss., for 18 months. While a teacher he pursued classical and theological studies, and in June 1842, was licensed to preach by the Susquehanna River, (Pa.) Association, thence to August 1843, was acting pastor of the Congregational churches in Jackson and New Milford, Pa and in connection with his labors, an interesting revival occurred in Milford: Receiving a call to Centre Lisle, N.Y., he commenced preaching there Apr. 1, 1843; was ordained pastor, June 4, 1844, and during his ministry there, a church was built and several revivals took place; at his own request he was dismissed Dec. 1, 1855, to go West in the service of the American Home Missionary society; he went to Eddyville, Iowa, early in January, 1856; was installed pastor, Oct. 8, 1858; two powerful revivals occurred during his ministry. He remained till failing health compelled him to discontinue preaching. He married Sept. 25, 1837, Caroline A. Clark, a native of Dummerston, ", daughter of Amasa Clark.

"P. H. W." in "The Vermont Record," Dec. 19, 1866.


The old well in the north-east corner of the common that supplies four families with water constantly, also, the church-going people once a week with clear, cold, sparkling water fresh from "the moss-covered, iron-bound bucket that rose from the well," is the one dug by Eben Ash in 1801.


The old pound wall near the ledges, west of the common, a part of which is now standing, was built for the town by Benjamin Alvord in the fall of 1796, for $36. The size of the wall was 4 feet at the base, 2 feet at the top, 6 ft. high, perpendicular inside, and 2 rods clear inside. Mr. Alvord was " not to go, for the stones, over 4 rods west from the top of the ledge, west of the pound spot, and as far north as the old pound." The old pound built of round poles was located at the foot of the ledge west of the meeting-house.


occupied by the firm of Noyes & Hayes, afterwards by Noyes & Birchard, and now used for a dwelling-house and shoemaker's shop, was built by Simeon Colby for a store, and stood on the north side of the old meeting-house, west of the road. The town gave him permission to build the store and where to locate it, Sept. 6, 1791. Mar. 16, 1795, the town voted to have Jason Duncan move the store to its present site, and the town was to receive $5 a year, rent for the ground on which it stands so long as the building was used for a store.

We have seen a few notes and receipts that were connected with the business here between the years 1812 and 1817. A promissory note given to the firm of Noyes & Mann, dated "Brattleborough July 23, 1813." Two other notes, each given to the firm of Noyes & Hayes dated in Dummerston, one June 26, 1816, the other March 6, 1817. A receipt for goods purchased at the store of "Noyes & Birchard" in Dummerston, dated April 29, 1818. These papers help confirm the statement, about the time when these parties were in trade here in Dummerston, and that John Noyes remained in town for awhile after the dissolution of the firm, Noyes & Hayes, in 1817. The receipt given by Noyes & Birchard reads as follows:

2 qts St. Rum (Saint Croix.) - .75

1-4 lb. Tobacco. - - - - .19

1-4 lb. H. T. [Hyson Skin] Tea, .23



Noyes &Birchard.

By R. Birchard.

"Sir: we shall have Bohea Tea, N.E. Rum and fish in a week."

The statement has been made that Noyes, Mann & Hayes were in trade in this town in 1812. To confirm the statement, we copy a note.

"Dummerston, Mar. 9, 1812.

For value Rec'd. of Noyes, Mann & Hayes We jointly and severally promise to pay them or their order fifty-six Dollars upon demand with interest.

Witness our hands, Samuel Dutton, Asa Dutton."

For 1817, we find the following receipts:

Dummerston, Aug. 20. 1817.

Mr. Sargeant Bot of Noyes & Birchard,

1 1-2 gal. W. I. Ruin, a 8 cts., $2.00

1 lb. Brown Sugar, a 17 cts.. - .17

1-2 lb. Loaf Sugar, - .16



Charged to Mr. Samuel Dutton, Jr.



In all these old receipts the expense for rum generally exceeds that for groceries.



[Written during the presidential campaign 1876, by the Dummerston correspondent of the "Vermont Phoenix."]

William Miller, a life long resident of Dummerston, now living (1876) at the age of 87 years, was well acquainted with Rutherford Hayes, father of Governor Hayes, who became and now is (1879) president of the United States. Mr. Hayes was a member of the firm, Noyes & Hayes, and Mr. Miller often traded at their store in this town. He now uses a very good razor which he bought of Mr. Hayes in 1814.

During the autumn of 1812, or about a year before the marriage of Mr. Hayes to Miss Birchard of Wilmington, a pleasing incident happened to him, it may not be amiss here to relate. Jacob Laughton, grandfather of Austin Laughton who now lives on the same farm owned by his grandfather, then lived in the old house which was burned to the ground some twenty years ago, near the site of the new house. His family had a quilting party at which the ladies were invited to be present in the afternoon and the gentlemen in the evening. Among the latter was Rutherford Hayes.

When the evening's amusement had ended, the gentlemen were expected to escort the ladies home. Mr. Hayes being a young man of good character and position, was a very desirable escort for the ladies. But the most expectant ones for his company home, were doomed to be disappointed; for he made no choice among the anxious ones, but selected a very respectable, quiet appearing young lady, who had not the least thought of receiving an invitation from him. The night was very dark. It was about one mile to the lady's home.

When Mr. Hayes and his lady left the company amidst the frowning of the disappointed, they passed through the east door, supposing they could walk directly to the road. Much to their surprise, after walking a few feet, they stepped directly off a wharfing, three or four feet high, and fell plump into a mud-hole where the family were accustomed to throw waste-water. Neither of them were much hurt, but the lady's white dress was very much soiled. Mr. Hayes was exceedingly embarassed for fear that Miss Farr, [for that was the young lady's name] would think he had blundered on purpose; but he apologized for their mishap and assured Miss Farr that he was entirely ignorant of the situation and supposed the path led directly to the road. Fortunately no one observed them and they reached home without further misfortune."

When Mr. Hayes was married to Miss Birchard, he first lived for a short time in the red house, afterwards owned and occupied many years by Benjamin Estabrook, whose first wife was the Miss Farr mentioned. From that house he moved into the large two-story residence now occupied by Mrs. Asa Knight, south of the common and very near to the store where the firm, Noyes, Mann & Hayes were doing business. When the firm dissolved partnership, the profits of the last year in trade were $3000, which was shared equally among the partners.

John Noyes, a member of the firm, m. Polly Hayes, a sister of Rutherford Hayes. Names of children recorded:

Harriet Hayes, born July 5, 1817;

Charlotte Augusta, born March 2, 1819.

Mr. Noyes was called at that time one of the richest men in Windham county. He moved to Putney from this town, about 1819, where he died in 1841, October 26, aged 78 years. A daughter of his was married to Larken G. Mead, Esq., of Brattleboro, and thus his son, Larkin G. Mead, the sculptor, is a distant relative of President Hayes.

When the father of President Hayes left Dummerston in 1817, and went to Ohio to seek a home there for himself and family, he left his wife and children with the family of Mr. Noyes in whose residence Mr. Hayes and family lived.

Mrs. Hayes was very much opposed to her husband's going West and could not be persuaded to remain long in the family of Mr. Noyes, but moved into a small building which then stood just east of the store where she and her children remained till her husband returned and took them to their Western home in Deleware, Ohio. The building which she occupied for a time, was afterwards removed to a site opposite William Miller's, and used for many years as a work-shop by J. E. Worden.

Sardis Birchard, the wealthy uncle of President Hayes, was once a clerk in the store for Noyes & Hayes; and while visiting his relations in Fayetteville in 1871, he called with his brother, Hon. Austin Birchard, and examined the long two-story red building where he began his career as a clerk. The other brother, Roger Birchard, was also, at one time a clerk for the same firm.

When President Hayes and his family came to Vermont and visited his uncle at Fayetteville, Aug. 17, 1877, the following interesting reminiscences were printed in the Boston Journal of Aug. 18, 1877:

"In the town of Dummerston upon a plateau which commands a charming view of the fertile valley, are several interesting mementoes of the Birchard and Hayes families.

On the south side of the common, connected with a large, modern wooden structure, stands the little store in which Rutherford Hayes, father of the President, first embarked in business as a member of the firm of Noyes, Mann and Hayes. The partners came from West Brattleboro and set up a country store, where they continued to do business for several years. The firm dissolved, and John Noyes and Rutherford Hayes united their fortunes and opened a store in a large two-story building, painted red, which still stands on the east side of the green, and is now occupied by a venerable cordwainer. A portion of the second story was fitted up as a ballroom, and here in ye olden time the rustic belles and beaus were wont to tip a light fantastic toe to the music of the violin. The ceiling, from which great patches of plaster have fallen, is arched, and along the sides of the hall are permanent seats, innocent of paint, which have grown brown with age. The place is destitute of ornament or furniture, contains a spinning-wheel and several old chests and trunks. In this building Mr. Hayes carried on business between the years 1812 and 1817. The kitchen and porch of the house, now owned and occupied by Mrs. Asa Knight, were built by Mr. Hayes and are still in a good degree of preservation. One of his children, a son, born in this house, was drowned while skating on the Ohio river a few years after the family emigrated to Ohio."

It was a little singular that while these facts were being obtained at the house of Mrs. Knight, the photograph of Miss Mary Birchard, the cousin of President Hayes, who fell a victim to the Ashtabula disaster, should be presented. Traditions illustrative of the character of the father of the President who is pronounced a very "set" man, who had to be convinced that a thing was right before he would do it, are rife among the older residents, and to these the visit of the son, with honor crowned, has an added interest.


who was in town with Noyes and Hayes, married Mary Negus, daughter of Joseph Negus, who married Rosanna Miller, sister of John B. Miller's father. A daughter of Gen. Mann's married Col. Wm. L. Marcy of New York, secretary of war under Polk's administration. Secretary Marcy's daughter was married to Gen. George B. McClellan, making him a distant connection of the Miller family in this town.







[Continued from page 95.]

The following information, showing Dr. Amsden's line of ancestry from the first emigrant ancestor down to his own family, has been furnished to the writer by W. U. Amsden, of Lebanon, N.H., while this history was in press:

Isaac Amsden came from England to America about 1654. He married Frances Perriman at Cambridge, Mass., June 8, 1654. They had two children, Isaac and Jacob. Isaac married Jane Rutter of Sudbury, at Cambridge, May 17, 1677. They had six children. Abraham, the youngest, born Oct. 15, 1692, married Hannah Newton of Marlboro, Mass., Nov. 29, 1722. They had six children. Jacob, the third child, was born May 28, 1728, and married Mary ____, who died at Dummerston (?) in 1797. Their children were Thomas, the subject of this sketch, born in Petersham, June 12, 1752, married Patience, dau. of Capt. Isaac Miller, in 1773; Bezaleel, Jacob, and Joel.

Dr. Thomas Amsden was a resident of Dummerston during Revolutionary times. He removed with his family to Dana, Mass., where he died in 1811.

He was chosen with Capt. Leonard Spaulding to represent the town at the Legislature in 1778.

His children were: Jacob, born June 1, 1774, married Lydia Rice; Polly, m. Joseph Smith; Louisa, m. Mr. Elliot; Martha, m. Reuben Holton of Dummerston; Justin; Lewis M , m. Sophia D. Wellington; Lyman fell overboard from the frigate Constitution; Roxanna, called Rosina, m. Benjamin Chamberlin of Dummerston; Amory, m. Mary Ormsby; Fanny, m. " a Boston man;" Azubah, m. Dea. Wood, of Brattleboro; Ira; Reuben and Martha Holton lived for a time in the old toll bridge house at West Dummerston, where she died. His daughter, Fanny, married Luther Thayer, and Martha, her sister, married Alvin Alexander.

Benjamin and Roxanna (Amsden) Chamberlin lived where. Fred Crosby now resides, and their daughter, Rosina, taught school in this town.

Jacob Amsden, who married Lydia Rice, had three sons, Jacob, William H., and Thomas.

Lewis M. Amsden had 8 children, one of whom, Thomas O., now resides in Brattleboro.

Amory Amsden had six children. His son, Ira, is now living at Buffalo, N.Y.


removed from Newfane to this town in 1784. He married Olive ____, and was a resident of Guilford in 1776, where Samuel, jr., was born, Oct. 25, 1776, and m. Feb. 11, 1798, Sibyl Belknap of Dummerston.

Thomas, son of Samuel, b. in 1779, Obediah, 1781, and Polly, b. 1783, were natives of Newfane.

Olive was born in Dummerston, in 1785, Benoni, in 1788, and by a 2d wife, Joseph, in 1790, Elizabeth, in 1792, and Lyman, in 1798.

Olive, the wife of Samuel Wakefield, died 1788.

Mr. Wakefield was a resident in The Hague, and first bought land of Daniel Taylor, and afterward made sales of land to Seth Briggs, Jesse Manley, and John Whitney.

Mr. Whitney was a neighbor to Mr. Wakefield, and his son, John Whitney, jr., married Sarah Content Wilson, May 28, 1839.


married Rhobee Titus [?] of Chesterfield, N.H., and had a family of 12 children. Adin, the eldest, born Jan. 29, 1785, m. Mary Ball; Otis, Rhobee, no record of marriage; Lewis married Lucine, dau. of Vespasian Miller, 2d; Thaddeus; Jonathan m. Sally, dau. of Asa Dutton, Oct. 1816; Ebenezer; Luther, married 1st, Fanny Holton, 2d, Polly Pierce; Martha; Lydia, married Frazier Campbell, of Westminster, Jan. 4, 1827; Hannah, m. Frederic Porter; Betsey.

Rhobee, wife of Dea. Thayer, died Oct. 24, 1817, aged 58.

The children of Jonathan and Sally Thayer were Asa, Stephen, Otis, Lorenzo D., Jonathan, Sarah A., Samuel C., Martha A., Sarah C., 2d.

The children of Luther and Fanny were Henry W., Charles H., and Fanny E.


and family. The name is now written Florida. John Flarida, sen. died Nov. 11, 1785, aged 55. His widow, Silence Flarida, married William Winn. She died Oct. 3, 1817, aged 63.

John and Silence Flarida came to this town from Shrewsbury, Mass. It is not known how long he had been a resident when he bought a farm in the northeast part of the town, containing 58 acres for $1400.

Their children were: John, jr., b. Dec. 5, 1775, d. Mar. 11, 1811; James m. Arathusa Moore, Apr. 2, 1803; Sarah; Persis; Betsey, m. Jonas Clark; Ezra, m. Catharine Clark; Joel.

The children of Ezra and Catharine Flarida were: Henrietta, Joel, Catharine, George, Augusta, and Adaline, who married, 1st, George Norcross, of Chesterfield, N.H., 2d, Alexander Rockwell. Henrietta married Warren Bingham; Catharine m. Reed Paine; Augusta m. E. W. Hildreth.


was in town before 1781. His daughter Eshter, married Washington Burnham, Apr. 21, 1799. Their daughter, Polly, married, 1st, James Sargeant, Jan. 18, 1817, who lived several years on the farm now owned by Lewis H. Lynde, and 2d, William Bemis.

Washington Burnham was drowned and his widow married a second time and removed from town. She had two sisters, Sally and Polly. Sally m. 1st, Wm. Kelley, Feb. 14, 1802; 2d, Wm. Crosby, Feb. 9, 1810. Polly m. 1st, Elijah W. Stearns, May 1, 1807; 2d, Nathan Adams.

Henry Whitney, who married Fanny Miller, was a nephew of Benjamin. Of their children, Betsey, born about 1802, m. Noble Holton, Jan. 24, 1821. Their children were Betsey, b. Feb. 6, 1822, Noble, b. May 22, 1823, Marion, b. Nov. 10, 1824, Sarah, b. Apr. 21, 1835; Lydia m. Jerry Perry of Putney, Oct. 23, 1828; Fanny married Worden Babcock, June 15, 1829; Mary (Dolly) m. Wm. Rice; Hannah mar. a Plympton. The other children of Henry Whitney were Maria, Catharine Freedom, Lucy, William, Henry, and Charles. A daughter of Mr. Worden Babcock married Porter Spencer of Brattleboro.


Resided in the south part of the town near Joshua Wilder's and bought his farm of Wilder Rice, his deed being dated Feb. 12, 1791. He married Abigail Spaulding of Brattleboro. Their children were;

Rufus b. Feb. 9, 1797 m. Joanna, dau. of Joseph Bemis.

Lucinda, b. Apr. 21, 1798, married Daniel Attridge;

Benjamin, Jr., b. Mar. 3, 1800, m. Betsey, dau. of Joshua Bemis;

Sybil, b. July 31, 1802, died unmarried, aged 25 years.

Elvira, b. Jan. 14, 1807, m. William Barrett.

Wilson, b. Sept. 19, 1809, m. Olive Bryant;

Lewis, b. Jan. 1816, m. Maria T. Whipple.

Benjamin Hadley, sen., died in 1833, aged 64.

The children of Rufus were Laurilla J., Edward, Charles, Laura Ann, Horace, Warren, and Evaline. Lewis Hadley resides on the parental farm.

Ebenezer Hadley, brother to Benjamin, m. Jemima. He bought a farm of Joshua Bemis in 1787; children: Ebenezer, Jr., b. in Brattleboro, Mar. 2, 1782, m. Sibyl Bemis, Oct. 6, 1814.

Jonathan b. in Dummerston, June 3, 1784; Levi, 1786; Benjamin, 1788.

Jacob Hadley, m. Molly Rice. Nov. 20, 1788.

Samuel Hadley, m. Betsey Wilder, Feb. 19, 1801,


lived near the Joseph Temple place. He married Nov. 27, 1791, Martha How, and both came from Wardsboro. Their children were Annis, Joanna, Ebenezer, Asa, John, and Isaac. Annis married Justus Scott, of Westmoreland, N.H., and removed to that town where her husband tended for several years what is now called Putney lower ferry.

The parents of Mrs. White were Benjamin and Zerviah How. Their children were Sarah, b. May 16, 1766; Lydia, Zerviah, Alice, James, Molly, Patty (Martha), Daniel, and Betty.


married Lucy Alvord, May 26, 1791.

Children; Betty, C. Dec. 9, 1791; Levi, 1794 d. infant; Levi, Aug. 8, 1798, m. Betsey Bemis, Aug. 17, 1817, had Charles, Lucy Jane, Horace and Mary; Eli, b. June 17, 1800; Asa, 1802; Syrene, 1803; Rebecca, 1805. Lucy Jane, m. Benjamin Ripley, Nov. 6, 1825.


married Anna Warriner, Aug. 27 1792. Children: Polly, born Nov. 6. 1793. Moses, Apr. 20, 1795; Lydia, Jan. 24, 1797; Sally, May 4, 1799; Charlotte, June 13, 1801; Orin, 1803; Willard, 1807; Melvina, 1811. Sally, m. Ammi Fletcher of Westford, Mass., Mar. 5, 1818.


brother of Abijah, had Asa, Jr., who m. Submit Pierce, Jan. 4, 1816. He d. Jan. 22, 1830. Asa Sen. d. Jan. 9, 1820. Lydia Caryl m. Nov. 3, 1795, Nathaniel Mastick. Sally Caryl, sister of Asa senior, died May 8, 1861, aged 85. Her sister, Polly, married Moses Cutter of New Braintree, Mass., Oct. 30, 1784; children: Ephraim, b. in White Creek July 22, 1785; Persis, b. in Marlboro, Mar. 8, 1787, m. 1st, Mr. Babcock, 2d, Jedediah Estabrook, Sept. 16, 1810; Polly, b. in Rockingham, Nov. 13, 1789; Patty, b. in Dummerston, Feb. 3, 1791; Lovice, b. Sept. 30, 1792, married Dec. 7, 1812, Lyman Walker. Moses Cutter died about 1802 and his widow m. 2d, Jacob Town, May 19, 1803.


and Mehetabel, his wife; children: Samuel Wadsworth, b. Nov. 4, 1792: Henry Lee, Dec. 28, 1794; Frederick Augustus, Sept. 5, 1796; Sophia Charlotte, Aug. 26. 1798; George Washington, July 23, 1800; Serena Stella June 8, 1802; Aurelia Philinda, July 25, 1804; Charles Edward, Sept. 2, 1806. Samuel Porter, Esq., died Feb. 19, 1810, aged 46 years.

The wife of Hon. Samuel Porter was Mehetabel Fletcher, eldest daughter of Maj. Gen. Samuel Fletcher, and she was living in Springfield, about 1850 aged 90 years.


Samuel W. Porter, the eldest son of Judge Samuel Porter, removed from Dummerston to Springfield about the year, 1822. He died in that town Aug. 1882, in his 90th year.

He had lived in Springfield 60 years, was in the Legislature in 1827-8, was County Judge from 1828 to 1838, and was a member of the Council of Censors and of the first Senate in 1836--7. He was Town Clerk 33 consecutive years, declining a re-election 18 months before his death.

[A more complete. history of Hon. Samuel W. Porter may be expected to appear with the history of Springfield when published.]



In looking up the post-office history for this town, we supposed that a post-office record was kept by each post-master and handed down from one to another who succeeded to that office; but upon inquiry we found no such continuous record was kept. Previous to 1811 or '12, the people of Dummerston and many other towns surrounding Brattleboro, got their mail at that post-office. Charles Miller was the first postmaster here and held the office at the time of his death, Apr. 2, 1820. Edwin Sargeant next held the office for a short time and was succeeded by Lewis Henry who held the place till 1832, when Luther Allyn was appointed who held the office 21 years. In 1853, the post-office was removed from the tavern kept by Mr. Allyn near the Birchard place on the road from Brattleboro to Putney, to Slab Hollow, and was kept by Willard C. Wilkins two or three years until Randolph A. Knight was appointed. He remained in the office till Sept. 1st, 1861, at which time Wm. O. Miller received the place and is the present postmaster in 1879. At the time, Mr. Knight was appointed the post-office was removed to Dummerston Centre.


was first kept by Elder Ziba Howard, and he had the following successors to that office: Dea. John Greenwood, Nelson W. Willard, David Aiken, Charles Taft, Elihu M. Wilson, John K. Leonard, and Noah B. Samson, who is the present postmaster.

A record of the post-office business has to be kept and sent to Washington every month, or, quarter, and a copy ought, in every town, to be filed with the Town Clerk.



"DUMMERSTON, May 1, 1802"

District of Vermont - To wit: (L.S.) Be it remembered, that on the third day of April, in the twenty-sixth year of the Independence of the United States of America, Abner Kneeland, of said District, hath deposited in this Office the Title of a book, the right whereof he claims as Author; in the words following, to wit: 'The Child's Spelling Book, containing Easy Words from one to four Syllables, intermixed with Lessons of Easy Words to teach Children to read and to know their duty. By Abner Kneeland, School Master. - Learn this book and you shall have one bigger.'

Cephas Smith, Clerk.

The above Work will be published immediately. Price 12 1-2 cts. Also, The American Definition Spelling Book. Price 37 1-2 cts."

Probably these are the only books that have ever been published by a Dummerston author.


so far as the writer has been able to obtain it, from their desendants, of the families in Dummerston, except, those in West Dummerston, that will be given together in another chapter.


PETER WORDEN was the emigrant ancestor of the Wordens in this country and from him have descended at the present time 11 generations in America. He came, probably, from Clayton, Lancashire, in England, and after a short residence in Lynn, was among the early, if not the first settlers in Yarmouth, Mass, His will dated Feb. 9, 1638, is on record at Plymouth, Mass. It was proved, Mar. 5, 1638. He is called "Peter ye elder" in the record. It is supposed he was born about 1568 and died at the age of 75.

Peter Worden, 2d, was his only son and was made executor of the will. He inherited all his father's estate in America. In 1676, he was one of the largest tax-payers in Yarmouth. His will is dated Jan. 9, 1680 and was proved Mar. 3, 1681. He was born probably in England in 1609 and died at the age of 72 years. His wife, Mary Sears (?) or Winslow (?) died, 1687.

Samuel, a son of Peter, 2d, was a physician; was born 1646; m. Hopestill Holley, 1665; removed to Stonington, Ct., before 1715 and died 1716, aged 71. Peter, 3d, son of Samuel, was born in Yarmouth 1668, m. Mary Holley 1693; d. Nov. 18, 1732, aged 64. One of his two sons named in his will was Peter Worden, Jr., 4th, a blacksmith. He married Rebecca Richmond, lived in Westerly, R. I., and had 10 children. His son, John, born 1724 (?) m. Dorothy Satterly, and they were the parents of John, 2d, Nathan, Joseph, and Hannah, born 1761, who married Maj. William Miller, of Dummerston, the father of "Uncle Asa."


was a Baptist preacher and moved to Westmoreland, N.H., 1778, thence to Chesterfield, 1786, where he preached several years, extending his labors to Keene, Dummerston and adjoining towns. Sylvester, another son of Peter, 4th, b. 1735 (?) m. Rebecca, daughter of Ichabod Eccleston. In May 1780, he came with his family to Halifax, where he died before 1818.

Peter, son of Sylvester, born Feb. 20, 1766, m. Sep. 17, 1788, Rachel Hale who lived to be 100 years old. He died in Halifax, aged 48; J. Edson, his son. b. 1808 attended the common and high schools of that town, and, for a time, the academy in West Brattleboro; taught school, successfully, for 13 winters, in Halifax, Leydon, Mass., Guilford, Putney, and Dummerston.

He became a resident of this town in 1830, and married, May 27, 1834, Eliza B., dau. of Ira and Jemima (Ward) Haven. They had three children of whom Gertrude E. and Gertrude L. E. died in childhood and Eddie R. d. Aug. 14, 1861, aged, 13 years. Mrs. Worden died Feb. 21, 1882, aged 67, and Mr. Worden is the only one left of a family of 12 children most of whom lived to be quite aged.

His occupation has been farming, and the place which he now owns and cultivates was settled by Thomas Clark in 1770. He has been prominent in town business many years; was selectman in 1860 and '61, has served as deputy sheriff, constable and collector, and has been chosen many times moderator of the annual town meetings; and has been many years, and still is, a justice of the peace.


[Continued from page 148.]

Additional information in regard to Joshua Wilder is that probably an ancestor of his lived in Shrewsbury in 1732. Ward in his history of Shrewsbury. Mass., says Joshua Wilder (probably from Lancester), m. Sarah, dau. of Maj. John Keyes, Dec. 21, 1731, and was then called of Shrewsbury. She was added to the church in 1728. The children were Rosinah, b. July 1, 1732, the only one whose birth is on record here; John, baptized Dec. 4, 1748. As there is no other record of John than that he was baptized here, it is not probable that he was born in town. Joshua Wilder was one of the first settlers in Princeton, Mass. This town joins Rutland from which several families removed to Dummerston.

Some writer in a Brattleboro paper in 1848, reports having seen "four generations in the field;" and writes of the mowing-bee, briefly mentioned in the notice of Mr. Wilder in the chapter of the old military men of Dummerston.

Says the writer in the paper named, we witnessed a scene a few days since on the farm of Messrs. Wilder in Dummerston, which illustrates in a marked degree, the health-giving, and life pro-longing tendency of the farming occupation in New England when pursued with industry, frugality and temperate habits. It was a mowing match participated in by four distinct generations. The mowers took their places in the field, and Joshua Wilder, a patriarch of ninety summers, after examining with a practiced eye the hanging and the edge of his scythe, led off with his usual quick and easy stroke, followed in succession by his son, Dea. Dan Wilder, his grandson, Leroy Wilder, Esq. and his great-grandson, Wallace Wilder. If his great-great-grandson, living in another part of the country had been on the ground to spread the swathes, as he could have done, it would have added to the novelty and interest of the scene. A distance of twenty-five rods and back was mowed, the venerable leader keeping his place in front with little or no apparent fatigue. All reside on the same farm and cultivate it in common. They carry on the tanning business and perform other mechanical labor, also produce all the necessaries of life. At 88 years of age, Joshua Wilder built a covered wagon in which representatives of the four generations on pleasant Sabbath mornings may be seen wending their way to church."


lived on the Stephen Dutton place not far from Joshua Wilder's, but was not related to him as far as we are informed. His eldest daughter, Dolly, b. 1773, m. George Miller. The youngest of his ten children; Abigail, b. 1796, married Solomon Lawton, brother of Asa Lawton, now 87 years old and the only person living in town who remembered Elias Wilder, who died Jan. 14, 1808, aged 56.


and Huldah his wife were the parents of Joel, b. 1779, Ephraim, Calvin. Joel, m. Roxany Prior, Feb. 19, 1801.

Aaron Wilder, m. widow Joanna Crawford, Dec. 26, 1784.

Charles Wilder, m. Sarah Spaulding, Oct. 27, 1782.


lived sixty years ago near the old bridge place just east of the school house now standing in Dis. No. 6. He married, probably, Mary Livermore, who died Apr. 15, 1832, aged 80. They had three daughters: Mary, m. an Allen and had three children, Ebenezer, Amos and Fanny; Lucinda, unmarried; Rebecca, m. Ebenezer Sparks, whose first wife was a Hodgkins. Tilly Wilder died Nov. 3, 1824, aged 74.

His name does not appear in the tax list of 1810, but Lucinda is taxed that year, probably for the house in which they lived. She and Rebecca were tailoresses, and are remembered by aged persons as occupying a room in which the windows were oiled paper instead of glass and required to be changed or renewed several times a year.


Mr. Willis was a clothier and lived in the house which stood near the bridge that crosses Salmon brook east of the house now owned by William Wheeler. His wife was Dorcas Peterson (?) and they had two children, Samuel P., b. 1810, and Dorcas S., 1818, both of whom died young.

Chinery Puffer boarded with Mr. Willis and studied medicine with Dr. Isaac Knapp, Joseph Duncan, Jr. m. Mariah Blake, an adopted daughter of Mr. Willis.


Mr. Dutton was born Sept 12, 1805, in Newfane, to which place his parents, Samuel and Abigail (Hodgkins) Dutton removed from Dummerston in 1804 and returned in 1820. He worked on a farm until he was of age, and spent the following winter lumbering in the forests of Hinsdale, N.H. Failing health required a change of employment. He returned to Dummerston and decided to be a wheelwright, and became an apprentice to Asa Miller, Dec. 19 1827, whose shop and dwelling home were located at Slab Hollow, a small village on Salmon brook.

In 1829, he bought the carding-machine and carded wool in connection with other work for 9 years. He began business for himself at carriage-making Jan. 1, 1830, and during the following summer, built the carriage-shop in which he has worked at his trade 52 years. The old sign on the shop was painted by John Woodbury, and exhibits in addition to Mr. Dutton's name an antique, high-back sleigh, an old-fashioned wagon in use before the thorough-brace, and a wheel that reminds the observer of a velocipede without a rider.

In 1835, he bought Asa Miller's carriage-shop which was pulled down and on the site built the dwelling-house in which he now resides. In 1841, he built the house now owned and occupied by Manor Smith, who married Mr. Dutton's sister, Linda. The house now occupied by Charles Dutton, his son, was built by Mr. Dutton in 1842, and is within a few rods of the parental homestead.

Mr. Dutton was representative for the town at the State capital in 1848 and in 1849; he was a good citizen, and a good mechanic and an industrious man. When customers called at his shop, they always found him busy at the workbench, and ever ready to welcome his many friends.

He was twice married, 1st to Lavilla Holton, Jan. 27, 1830, 2d to Esther Miller, dau of Wm. and Esther Knight Miller, with whom he is now living. He had 7 children, all by the first marriage - Amandarin, Barney, Charles, Daniel K., Eunice L., Helen Maria, Henry Marshall. The mother of these children died Jan. 22, 1854. Only two of them are now living, Charles, who married Sophia Sargeant, Oct. 3, 1860, and Helen M, who married Henry H. Miller, June 5, 1861.


son of Asa and Polly (Tarble) Dutton b. June 24, 1801, m. Electa, dau. of Calvin Sargent of Brattleboro, Apr. 16, 1826, died Oct. 29, 1876; children: Stephen L., b. June 8, 1827; Carolina b. Nov. 24, 1837; Emeline, b. Aug. 10, 1843, m. H. E. Taylor, d. Feb. 8 1877.


married Hephzibah, dau. of Capt. John Wyman.


Sally, b. Dec. 24, 1791, m. and removed to Windham.

Sophronia, born Apr. 22, 1797, m. Lyman French, Jan. 1, 1821;

Larkin, b. Aug. 23, 1805, m. Laura Wellman of Brookline, Oct. 14, 1827.

The children of Larkin and Laura Gibbs were Alanson, who married Lucy Bingham; Loisa, m. Anson S. Spencer; Walter, m. Helen Rice; Don Carlos, married Eliza Bugbee; Frank; Henri; Hester, m. George S. Cook; Lucy, m. Frank Knight; Helen; Sarah.


probably a brother of Elijah, m. Lucy Cutter, Nov. 25, 1790; children: Samuel Jr. b. 1791, d. 1792; James; b. Nov. 9, 1792; Samuel; Joseph; Hannah; Benjamin; Lucy; Elijah; Mary The mother of whom died July 5, 1805.


married Sarah Smith. Their children were:

Francis D., b. Feb. 19. 1811, married Abigail, dau. of Luther Miller;

William, b. Mar. 5, 1813, married Philinda, dau. of Dr Isaac Knapp;

Sarah, b. May 27, 1816, m. I. Milton Knapp;

Joel S., b. Apr. 22, 1818, m. Phila, dau. of John Miller.


came to this town from West Brattleboro and was, for a time, a clerk in the store of Noyes and Hayes He married Widow Catharine [Knapp] Alexander.


Susan, b. Oct. 24, 1820, m. Hon. George Sheldon of Deerfield, Mass.

Frances W., b. Nov. 11. 1822, m. 1st, Jonathan R. Childs of Springfield, Mass. Jan. 1, 1846, 2d, Geo. A. Arms;

Sarah, b. Aug. 9, 1824, m. Luther Dustin of Brattleboro, Jan. 31, 1865.


married, 1st, Nov. 13, 1827, Nancy Pierce; 2d, Mary, dau. of Jonas and Polly Walker, Jan. 15, 1844.


Clementia, b. Feb. 22, 1831, married George Cook;

Nancy L. b. Sept. 11, 1834; Ceylon, b. Mar. 6, 1838; Loyal, b. July 27, 1840; Sidney, b. May 1, 1843.

Dwight T., b. Feb. 14, 1845, m. Emogene Boyce of Fayston and resides in Dubuque, Iowa. He holds a colonel's commission and is (1883) a member of the Governor's staff.


[Continued from page 136.]


son of Marshal and Abigail (Haven) Miller, was born Apr. 12, 1783. All his life, except the last few years, was spent in Dummerston. He was a laborious and successful citizen, a prominent actor in matters pertaining to the welfare of his native town, as lister, selectman and town agent. He was chosen associate judge of the Windham County Court in 1847 and 1848.

He was among the first of his townsmen to advocate temperance and was a firm friend of the temperance cause as long as he lived, -- his oft repeated counsel to his boys, being, "Touch not, taste not, handle not." He died in Brattleboro, Mar. 25, 1865, aged nearly 82. His widow is still living (1884) in the 94th year of her age. She was Harriet Moore and married Mr. Miller in the spring of 1810.

Their children were Chester, a teacher, m. 1st, Caroline Eaton, 2d, Mary Cune; Lydia L., died young; Harriet Marcia, m. Chamberlin Wilder; Lucy L., m. Horace Cate James Monroe, a teacher, went south and married a lady in Tennessee; Lovinia, a teacher, married John Dwinell; Lestina, a teacher, m. James Reed of Brattleboro; Robert Dexter; Ozro, a soldier. m. Ellen, dau. of Jacob Laughton; Walter m. 1st, a lady in California, 2d, a widow in Halifax, Vt.; Julia, m. Newell Walker; Electa, a teacher, m. 1st, Rev. C. D. Jefferds, 2d, a Mr. Woodburn; Celia died about the age of 14 years.


son of Hon. Thomas Miller was born in Dummerston, September 23, 1824; prepared for college at the Ellington High School, Ct., and Brattleboro Academy; graduated from Amherst College in 1848, and from the Theological Institute of Connecticut in 1852. He was principal of Purdy Academy in Tennessee, in 1849 and 1850; was ordained to the ministry at North Wardsboro in 1856. His work in the ministry has been chiefly in Vermont, one year in New Hampshire, and a few years in Massachusetts. He is now, 1884, preaching in West Hartford, Vt. The writer heard Mr. Miller preach in Dummerston when visiting his relatives and the old homestead, and can say that his sermons were ably written, well delivered, sound in doctrine, instructive and interesting to his hearers. Mr. Miller published a book several years ago, containing a life sketch of his brother-in-law, Rev. C. D. Jefferds with many selections from his sermons, and essays written while in college. He also published a sermon, written by himself, on The Great Rebellion.

Mr. Miller has been twice married. His 1st wife was Sarah Lucretia Dutton of Brattleboro, the 2d, Eliza Chamberlain Cook of Gill, Mass. He has had six children, only two living.

A son of his prepared for college at Kimball Union Academy, N.H., and was graduated from Middlebury College in 1882.


a brother of Rev. R. D. Miller, was born Dec. 7, 1826; enlisted in the army against the Great Rebellion and was chosen captain of the Shelburne Falls, Mass. Co. He was a resident of Shelburne Falls at that time, and had a wife and three small children. His partners in business presented him a rifle which he used with good effect while commanding his men in the battle of Fair Oaks before Richmond. For gallantry in that battle, he received a major's commission. While in command of his regiment, the Mass. 10th, soon afterward, he received a mortal wound through the lungs, was left on the field, taken prisoner and carried to Libby Prison in Richmond. He was wounded, July 2, 1862, and died in the prison, July 15, 1862. One of the men in his company, imprisoned with him, ministered to his relief, and aware that his life would soon close, inquired whether he had any word to leave for his friends. He replied:

"Tell them I died like a true soldier, for my country."

He once wrote to his brother, while in camp:

"My country called for able-bodied men of whom I was one. It was doubtless my duty to enlist, and if I may but be assured of leaving my children as good an inheritance as I have received, I shall be satisfied whatever my lot may be."


a son of Wm. and (Esther) Knight Miller, was a college graduate. His name should appear on page 135 immediately after the name of Edwin H., son of Wm. O. Miller, not brother as there printed. Dana Miller graduated from Dartmouth College in 1843. His ante-collegiate studies were in Townshend and what follows this statement in that sketch is descriptive of him. Wm. O. was constable and collector 40 not 48 years. His parents were married Sept. 11, 1814.


a son of Wm. O., graduated from Williams college in 1882, and is now, 1884, principal of the graded school in West Stockbridge, Mass.


son of Joseph and Sophia (Arms) Miller, graduated from Williams college in the class of 1881 and chose medicine as his profession. He entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City, from which he graduated, May 1, 1884.

Following the advice of his instructors, he sought and obtained a situation in a large hospital on Blackwell's Island near the city. Among the 19 applicants for the eight vacancies at the time, he ranked No. 2 in the competitive examination.


John Miller mar. Polly Davenport, Apr. 1, 1781. Children: Lewis, b. Nov. 19, 1781, m. Jerusha Farr; James, b. Dec. 16, 1780, m. Sarah Warner; Levi, b. July 18, 1786, died young; Sally, b. Oct. 17, 1788, m. Mar. 22, 1810, Cromwell Joy; Polly, b. Mar. 15, 1792, m. Jan. 16, 1814, Waterman Joy; Rosanna, b. May 19, 1794, m. William H. Williams; Susan, b. Oct. 22, 1796, m. Asa Knight; John B., b. Nov. 12, 1798, m. Sept. 12, 1821, Phila Knight, died Mar. 13, 1876. She died ____. Their children were James, Phila N., Rose M., Ellen J., Henry C., Mary M., John, Jane, H. Harry, Delia A.

Royal and Betsey (Cook) Miller had children: Norman, Catherine, Seneca and Sarah, Lorenzo, Elizabeth, Ransom, Cyrus, Webster, Caroline.

Marshall and Elizabeth (Campbell) Miller had one child, Eliza C., born Oct. 9, 1811. His wife died, 1813, and he m. 2d, Sophia C. Porter, July 9, 1815. Children: Charles, Sophia, Samuel P., Morris, Maria, Frederick, Henry, Mary.



was a resident of Dummerston in 1797. He married Waitstill ____. One child, Waitstill, recorded, born Nov. 26, 1797. Mr. Kneeland was married four times and had ten children. He became a minister and was the author of several volumes. He was born in Gardiner, Mass., Apr. 7, 1774, and died in Farmington, Van Buren Co. Iowa, Aug. 27, 1844.

He began his ministerial career, as a Baptist in 1801, after his removing from this town.


a brother of the Colonel, married Anna Stebbins and their children were Elihu, born May 3, 1758; Anna, born June 18, 1760; Calvin, born Nov. 9, 1763; Electa, born Oct. 31, 1765; Luther, born May 15, 1768; Susanna, born Jan. 5, 1770; Erastus, born Nov. 16, 1771; Roxana; Roswell, born Nov. 27, 1776; Henry.


married Mary Kathan and their children were Elihu, b. Nov. 13, 1780; Molly; Clarissa; Thomas; Alexander; Chester; George. The father died Dec. 1, 1833.

Charles C. Frost, the owner of the old Bible, printed in 1731, containing the Kathan and Sargeant family record, mentioned on page 13, died Mar. 16, 1880. Since his death, no trace of the old Bible can be found.



In the plan of survey made in 1767, page 4, the western boundary line, as then surveyed, was a straight line running north by east 26 degrees. At the present day the line runs northerly about 1 ½ miles, easterly 1 ½ miles, then northeasterly to Putney line. When was the change of western boundary made? The town records are silent on this point. May 25, 1885, Judge H. H. Wheeler of Brattleboro, sent the writer the following information on the subject: A certain witness testified in Windham County Court about 1860, that he was born in "No town." He explained that the place was not in any town, but was a gore next to Newfane and Marlboro. Judging from his age then, he was born about 1790. I understood from others at the time that there was a gore there not in any town for a while. The original west line of Dummerston was in the west line of the "Equivalent lands," which would leave a gore next to Marlboro. The equivalent lands were laid out Nov. 10, 1715, long before there were any other grants in the neighborhood on the west or north. The south line of Brattleboro and the north line of Putney are now almost, if not exactly identical with the north and south lines of the equivalent lands. The west line of the equivalent lands joined the western extremities of those lines. It was called 12 miles long, but overran, as most all old lines did. The equivalent lands were laid out for Connecticut under the authority of Massachusetts, which granted Westminster on the north, and whose grants were respected by New Hampshire when the lands were found to lie within that Province. I have no doubt that it was intended to have Newfane and Townshend join the equivalent lands on the west, but the north and south lines of those lands were 6 ½ miles long, extending W. N. W. from the river, and the west line would be parallel to the direction of the river between the lines. They were probably deceived by that direction and made the east and west lines of those towns too nearly north and south, which left a gore at the north end which became Brookline. The direction of the east line of Marlboro left a gore there which was put on to Brattleboro and Dummerston.

The equivalent lands here were laid out by Matthew Allyn, Ebenezer Pumry, and Roger Walcott, commissioners appointed for that purpose. Judge Wheeler further states that he has seen the original document signed by them, laying out the land, at the office of the Secretary of State at Hartford.







[Continued from page 157, concluded.]


The earliest history of the Sunday school in this town dates back to about 1820. Soon after that date Miss Hannah Wells of Brattleboro held meetings in several of the school-houses in the east part of the town, changing about in the different districts as required for the accommodation of the pupils, who were formed into classes to study the catechism, recite verses from the Bible, memorize hymns, and learn the morning and evening prayer.

These meetings, or schools, led to the organization of a Sunday school at the church during the ministry of Rev. Hosea Beckley. Dea. Abel Haven was probably the first Sunday school superintendent. Dea. Asa Burnap, Rev. Nelson Barbour, Asa Lawton, Rev. Augustus Chandler and Leavitt E. Bond have held the same position in the order named. Mr. Bond is the superintendent for 1884 and has served since May 1872. The number of teachers and officers, June 1, 1884, was 13; scholars over 20 years of age, 33; under 20 years, 28; total 61; total membership 74; average attendance about 50.


contains about 400 volumes. Jonathan French was the first librarian and had charge of a small collection of books kept in a trunk and located in the deacon's seat. J. Edson Worden succeeded Mr. French and served forty years -Myron F. Dutton is the present librarian and was chosen in 1883.


The average attendance on public worship is about 80, - the maximum, 130. The number of male members in the church is 23, female 66, total 89. The deacons at the present time are Leroy Wilder, Adin A. Dutton and Richard P. Pratt.


It is said that Judge Jason Duncan was the first leader of the choir. He was succeeded by his son, Joseph Duncan, Esq. The principal leaders since his time are William Knapp, Chinery Puffer, Jonas Bennett, and Joseph Miller, Esq., who is the present leader and has served many years. During the leadership of Joseph Duncan, the key was sounded with a wooden pitch-pipe. The first instrumental music was furnished by four musicians, Asa and Sylvester Dutton, violinists, Franklin Dix, cornet or post-horn, and Joseph Miller, bass-viol. The seraphine was first used in the choir about 1850. An Estey organ was bought a few years ago, and in the spring of 1884, a new Estey organ of superior tone and quality took its place. Mrs. William O. Miller is the organist for the present year, 1884, and has served very acceptably as organist for 28 years. Others have rendered good service at times when she could not be present. All the members of the choir, whether of long or short service, are entitled to much credit for the important part they perform in public worship.

Previous to the use of the violin and cornet in the choir, the following persons at different times played the bass viol, Oscar Cooledge, who was a merchant in Slab Hollow about 55 years ago, Joel Knight, Jr. Samuel G. Duncan, and Nelson French.


Put a period in place of the comma after in, 6th line, 2d column, and let July, 1783, be the date for finishing the porch.

Omit 60x60, as no size is stated except for the second porch. The house was plastered in 1794 at an expense of $100. Apr. 25, 1676, should read 1776. When the pews were built, the board-seats were hung on hinges so as to turn up against the side of the pew for convenience in standing during prayer-time; and as the congregation resumed their seats, these were let down with a zeal that betokened some interest in this part of the ceremony.

The following stanza from a poem read by Samuel Burnham at the centennial celebration of the town of Rindge, N.H., will describe the scene:

"And when at last the loud Amen

Fell from aloft, how quickly then

The seats came down with heavy rattle,

Like musketry in fiercest battle. "


came from Claremont, N.H. to Dummerston and began to supply the church, April 1, 1884 and is the active pastor. He was born in Deerfield, N.H., Aug. 27, 1814 fitted for college at Pembroke, N.H., and graduated at Dartmouth College in 1839. He graduated at the Theological seminary at Andover, Mass., in 1845; was ordained at Pittsfield, N.H., Nov. 19, 1845 and dismissed Dec. 1853. He taught in the academy at South Berwick, Me., 2 years; became pastor of the church in Hinsdale, N.H. in Oct. 1855 where he was a successful pastor for 10 years. He supplied the church at Lyndon, Vt. for 5 years from Apr. 1, 1866; began his pastoral care of the church at Waterford, Vt., July 1, 1871, and remained 7 years. Beginning Mar. 1, 1880, he preached three years at Ascutneyville, Vt.

Rev. Alfred Stevens, D. D., a classmate of Mr. Wells, recommended him to the church in Dummerston, that had been without a pastor from the time Rev. Mr. Merrill left till the time when Mr. Wells came and preached a few Sabbaths before accepting a call to become the resident pastor of the church.

The people were very fortunate in securing the services of so able and excellent a minister as Mr. Wells. He and his family will add much to all the influences that work for good in every community.

Mr. Wells married 1st, Miss Ann R. Votee, of New York City; 2d, Miss Emily M. Taylor, of Hinsdale, N.H., His children are Annie M., Charles V., and Julia Ellen.

Annie graduated from Mt. Holyoke Seminary; taught in the Seminary 4 years, and is now a teacher in the Hugnenot Female Seminary at Wellington, South Africa, where she has taught 9 years.

Charles is a farmer and manages the farm which his father purchased in Dummerston for himself and family.

Julia Ellen graduated from the Stevens High School at Claremont, N.H., and is now a pupil in Mt. Holyoke Seminary for 1883 and 84.


DR. ____ DEAN

who came here about 1809, had an extensive practice for some years, but broke down at length and left, for his native place in Massachusetts.


who was here in 1817 and remained one or two years.


believed by many to be Captain Thunderbolt, who died in Brattleboro, 1847. He came to Dummerston in 1819, and lived in what is now called the Samuel Wheeler district. He was a teacher in the school there for one or two terms, and also taught one term in district No. 1. He was a peculiar school-master and used the rod of correction" rather than the ferule. It was not a short stick, as many teachers used in those days rather than let school children be spoiled, but a long sweeping rod with which he could reach from his desk and switch the unruly urchins into obedience without leaving his seat.


will be remembered for a time, at least, on account of his "Essence of Life" which he made by the barrel. Ebenezer Miller who, oftentimes, had serious attacks of asthma, sent for medicine, on one occasion, to Dr. Moore, who sent to him a bottle full of the Essence of Life, which, on being handed to him, he drank the contents off at one dose and felt no bad effects afterwards.


also, should be remembered here, who died Nov. 25, 1837, aged 52 years. - See Boyden family papers, pp. 37-40.


also who died at Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, Mar. 6, 1877, aged 73.

Dr. Cyrus Butterfield and Dr. W. R. Woodard were resident physicians here for a time.

Dr. S. N. Bemis was the only resident physicsain in 1879.


The practice of choosing a committee of several persons to visit the schools, began here in 1828, and the first chosen were Rev. Hosea Beckley, Marshall Miller, Asa Boyden, Josiah Taft, and Jotham Burnett. It continued 6 years, when it came into disrepute, because the towns were not always careful to choose suitable persons. In most towns in the state it was easier to find one competent person for school supervision than to find so many as the law in force required.

Rev. B. F. Foster was chosen in 1849 and served 16 years and a few months in 1868, when he resigned on account of ill health and Rev. Augustus Chandler was appointed by the selectmen to fill the vacancy that, year.

No superintendent was chosen in 1852, '53, '54.

Joseph Miller. Esq., served one year, being chosen in 1857.

David L. Mansfield was chosen in 1869; continued in service 15 years, and still (1884) holds the office of town superintendent.


now stands near the old bridge-place across West river, Districts No. 2 West and No. 7 East, united with No. 6 and a new school-house was built about 1850. The school-house for No. 6 formerly stood near the Reuben Walker place at the foot of the hill near where the roads unite. The first school-house built in the district stood on the rocks in the southeast corner of a pasture near Jonas Walker's farm. north of the road leading to West Dummerston.


Henry Stevens. son of Henry and Relief, aged 5 years, was killed by the fall of a fence., July 20. 1796.

Denison, son of Richard and Beda Kilbury, about two years old, drowned June 24, 1810.

W. H. Pierce, age 33 years, was drowned in West river April 11, 1825.

Nathaniel French, born 1789, was killed by the fall of a tree, aged about 60 years.

Ebenezer Randall was so injured, while at work with a team, as to cause his death.

Dorcas Bemis, 7 years old, dau. of Alanson Bemis, was burned to death by her clothes taking fire while standing near a stove one morning in the school house in Dis. No. 1 East, about 1842.

Mrs. Lydia Walker, wife of Reuben Walker, was killed in 1860. She was riding in a wagon, and by the breaking of the king-bolt, was thrown out, causing instant death; aged 66 years.

Daniel Bemis was instantly killed by the fall of a tree, Jan. 18, 1864, aged 44 years.

Alfred Roel, 14 years old, son of Charles G. Roel, was killed Mar. 20, 1896, by the fall of a tree. He was not hit by the tree, but it fell so near to him, while he was lying on the ground, as to cause his death.

Oscar J Herrick, aged about 2 years, son of J. T. Herrick, was drowned May 3, 1868. This child was one of a family of ten children, all boys. Nine are now living. They have been the main stay in school Dis. No. 3 west, for several years. Such a family of children reminds us of the good old days of the forefathers when a few families furnished many children for the schools, instead of many families furnishing only a few children, as at the present day.

Mrs. Mary M. Leonard, widow of the late John K. Leonard, Esq., was instantly killed Aug. 19, 1881, by being thrown from a wagon; age 47 years.

James McMullen died Mar. 28, 1861, from his neck being broken by the falling limb of a tree, while chopping in the woods.


For many years, Mr. Birchard owned and occupied store situated about 6 miles north of Brattleboro on the road leading from that place up the Connecticut valley to Dummerston. It was on the main line of travel to Bellows Falls. His store was a large two-story building, painted white, nearly square, with a roof of fore sides, meeting at the ridge. There were several rooms in the store; and the whole building was filled from cellar to garret with all kinds of goods, ancient and modern, old style and new style, that any merchant could conceive of making not only a place for business with but what may be called a curiosity store. In fact many persons called there more to see what Mr. Birchard had in his store more than for purposes of trade.

Here was Mr. Birchard's home. He lived a frugal life. Sometimes he got his meals for a season away from his store; but for many years he boarded himself. He lived a single life, and seldom did more business than what he could manage himself. At times, he may have had some help in his store. When he became old and somewhat infirm, his niece, Miss Mary Birchard, of Fayetteville, would sometimes come over to Dummerston and help her uncle a few days about making out his accounts with customers. She was there only a short time before his death. He was unwilling that she should remain long; but she had so much anxiety about him on account of the dangers to which he was exposed, that she remained in town visiting with friends nearly two weeks.

All were afraid that he would be burned in his store, as all the rooms were much crowded with boxes, barrels and goods, so much so that it was very difficult to get about, even, to get around the little stove which the customers tried to approach that they might warm themselves when the weather was cold. Wood and kindlings were piled high under and around the stove. Customers had called his attention to smoking wood under the stove, but he was not pleased with their meddling with his affairs. A lady customer only a day or two before the store was burned, snatched some wood from under the stove that was all a-blaze. Others had done the same thing.

On Sunday, Feb. 13, 1870, about 2 o'clock in the night, his store was discovered on fire, and the fire had made such progress all efforts to save even Mr. Birchard were unavailing.

A large number of persons soon gathered to fight the flames. Their objective point was the room where he slept, which was just over the one in which the little stove stood surrounded by its inflammable material. Their utmost endeavor was made to secure even his body from the devouring element. Not until the morning dawned, did they succeed in raking the charred remains from the deep bed of burning embers and red hot coals. It was carried into a little shop near by where we saw it that morning. Nothing but a blackened, charred trunk and bare skull remained of the unfortunate man. All his limbs were burned off close to the body.

He was born at Wilmington, Aug. 2, 1797, and at the time of his death was in his 73d year.

He had many peculiarities, but was honest in all his dealings. We have heard him say that he would give a poor man a debt rather than make him pay it when it would oppress him or his family.

The funeral services of Mr. Birchard were held in the Congregational church the following Sunday afternoon. A large number of persons, including many from Putney, Newfane and Brattleboro were in attendance. Rev. J. C. Houghton of Burlington, who was supplying the pulpit a few Sabbaths in this place, preached the funeral sermon. He mentioned the circumstance of his calling to see Mr. Birchard for the first time a few days before his death; that Mr. Birchard received him kindly, opened the way for him to speak of religious matters, and informed him that he read the Bible and worshipped God daily in his chamber. He thanked the minister for his visit, and invited him to call again; "and I should have done so," he remarked, "had I known that his spirit would have been called home in a chariot of fire within six days from that time."

During Mr. Birchard's career as a merchant, his store and goods were burned three times, once at Westminster West, and twice in Dummerston. On each occasion the fire was discovered on Sunday morning. The first store that was burned stood just south of the buildings which he last occupied. Very little property was saved. A large quantity of cheese was destroyed and men now living, who were boys then, and present at the conflagration, remember of getting a good square meal of toasted cheese.

The third store was once a large dwelling-house. After Mr. Birchard bought it, he purchased the old store that stood, up in town, on the old Dr. Moore place, and had it moved down and set up as an ell part on the south side of the main building. Both buildings were filled to their utmost capacity at the time of their destruction.

Of the few goods saved from the fire were 36 1-2 barrels of flour. In United States bonds, $7,000, with some railroad bonds, passed through the flames, but not unharmed. It was a mere accident that they were saved for redemption. A short time before the fire, Mr. Birchard had some railroad bonds which he kept in an old earthen jar covered with tea lead and secreted in an old brick oven, destroyed by mice. The railroad company promised to give him new bonds in place of the ones destroyed, provided he would get some person to sign a paper with him to the effect that said bonds should never be paid for but once. He asked a near neighbor, Alonzo Dutton, to sign the paper. He refused to do so, knowing that Mr. Birchard was oftentimes quite careless about his affairs and that goods were frequently stolen from his store. At the time of the fire, as soon as Mr. Birchard's body was secured from the flames, Mr. Dutton, remembering about the bonds which the mice destroyed and where they were kept, planned a means of getting to the old brick oven across a bed of burning coals and flaming brands. A quantity of snow was thrown upon the coals, a ladder quickly put across to the oven, some planks laid on for greater safety, and a resolute man walked the burning track, wrenched off the iron-door, shoveled out the old treasure-vault-jar and returned without injury. The large jar had inside two flower-pots. One turned over on to the other, forming a place, within which was a glass candy-jar, wrapped about with matting. Inside the glass jar were the bonds which the fire had burned so that they began to fall in pieces on being exposed to the air. Discovering this, Mr. Dutton quickly wrapped them in cloth. Next day, Austin Birchard requested them to be left at Waite's bank in Brattleboro, and in a few months they were redeemed in Washington.


whose record begins on page 24 was commissioned captain during the Revolutionary war, as we have learned since the printing of his record, and he was not a citizen of the town as stated on p. 26, when it was organized. His old account book dates back to 1766 not 1779.


"A happy face with cheerful look,

An influence round it throws,

That acts upon us as the sun

Does on the blooming rose.

It wakes to life those happy smiles

That coldness ne'er can bring.

And casts a hallowed beauty on

The plainest, simplest thing.

Be prudent in affairs of life,

Be kind to every friend;

So live that you will never fear

The trial of life's end.

Then wear the happy, cheerful face

The influence round it throws.

That acts upon us as the sun

Does on the blooming rose.

J. C. Mansfield, a soldier of Dummerston.

In Waverley Magazine.

Robert Liston, mentioned on page 64, was British Minister from England to the United States, hence the title, his Excellency.

The Samuel Duncan mentioned on page 92 as a distant relative of Dr. Abel Duncan, had the following children: Lucretia, born in Worcester, Mass., ____ , 1773; Jonas; Betsey, born in Guilford in 1781; Simeon, b. in Dummerston, July 26, 1782; Arathusa; Fanny; Azubah; Electa; Samuel; Rebecca and Nancy.

Samuel G., son of Joseph Duncan, Esq., married Sophia Hoyt - see page 93.

On page 94 read Dr. Sewall Walker not Sewell, and Emily, dau. of Jonas Walker, was born 1826. Samuel Newell Walker, born Apr. 15, 1824, died in Feb. 1884. Marshall, son of Reuben, was born in 1833, and Sarah R. in 1836, not 1839. Lyman Walker married Lovice Cutter; William. Juliet Parish.

In the old tax bill, page 107, read Aaron Brooks, Jr., for Aaron Brook, Jr., and Samuel Duncan s state tax should read $1.12, John Miller's $2.69; for Moore Jona. do read Dr. Include Asa French in the list; tax 14 state, 14 town.

Page 110, in Dis. No. 1, for David Gates read Daniel; in No. 2, for Henry Stearns read Stevens; for Dr. Haven read Hazen; in No. 5, for Calvin Buter read Butler.

In the Stickney family record, Samuel Doty should read Duty.

Simeon Reed, mentioned on page 152, was born Jan. 25, 1791, died Oct. 24, 1875, aged 84. His wife died Mar. 3, 1881, aged 85. They were married Dec. 12, 1819. Children: Betsey, b. Apr. 9, 1821, m. Ezekiel B. Campbell, died June 23, 1864; Simeon H., born July 23, 1823, died very suddenly May 26, 1849; Martha Ann, b. July 16, 1826, m, Mason Higgins, died Oct 1, 1865; Thomas N., b. Aug. 21, 1828, m. Ellen Miller; Mary, b. Oct. 5, 1831, died 1833.

Winslow Holden died December 10, 1882, aged 94 years, 11 months. Benjamin Estabrook's house, page 72, was not the old store sold by Capt. John Metcalf. That store was removed and formed the north part of the old red store, east side of the common, once owned by Rutherford Hayes. The Hayes store was pulled down Dec. 26, 1888.


April 17, 1771, there were 44 heads of families in town, as follows:

Asa Holgate, Capt. John Cathan, John Kathan, Jr., Samuel Allen, Alexanders Kathan, Daniel Kathan, Charles Davenport, Isaac Miller, Hosea Miller, Ebenezer Haven, Josiah Boyden, John Scott, Joseph Hildreth, Aaron Brooks, Rufus Sargeant, Daniel Sargent, Jacob Thompson, Joseph Temple, John Friswell, Barzilia Rice, Samuel Laughton, Enoch Cook, Samuel Wiswell, Samuel Dutton, Jr., Ezra Robinson, Samuel Dutton, Emery Robinson, Benjamin Gould, Thomas Boyden, Charles Hart, Cyrus Houghton, Shepard Gates, John Killbury, William Miller, Thomas Clark, Joseph Hildreth, Jr., Aaron Brooks, Jr., Jonas Duncan, Seth Dutton, Nathaniel French, Joshua Walton, Joseph Herrick, Benjamin Jones, Silas Rogers, Cornelius Jones.



West Dummerston includes all that part of the town lying west of West river. Not until the summer of 1882, did we find record of families as they were divided into school districts in 1810 by a committee composed of Rufus Moore, Ezra Butterfield and Jotham Burnett.


comprised 31 families in 1810 and were located, beginning at Brattleboro line: Henry Willard, David Bailey, Voranus Larrabee, Charles Bennett, James A. Chase, Wilkins Burnett, Joel French, Dudley Bailey, Roswell Beebee, Samuel Bennett, Jesse Bennett, Joseph Blye, Joseph Gleason, Samuel Bennett, Jr., David Darling, Skelton Foster, Isaac Burnett, Aaron Bond, Lemuel Barrett, Ezra Butterfield, Zenas Butterfield, James Chase, Henry Zwears, Peter Stickney, Daniel Zwears, Benjamin Zwears, Samuel Guernsey, Timothy Lewis, Benjamin Willard, Jotham Burnett, Benjamin Stickney.


married Ruhamah Dunster, daughter of David Dunster, who was son of Jonathan, whose father was Henry Dunster, the first president of Harvard College. Mr. Bailey removed from Westminster, Mass., to Brattleboro about the year 1786. In 1798, he came to Dummerston and bought a farm of Jonathan Barrus near West River, where his grandson, Silas A. Bailey now lives.

Dudley and Ruhamah Bailey had five children. Polly, the eldest, m. Joel French, Oct. 29, 1794, and both lived and died in this town.

Levi, unmarried, died Mar. 13,1851; was insane over 50 years and supported by his brother David, who was born Sept. 9, 1780, m. Lydia, dau. of Solomon Allen of Marlboro.

Ephriam died young, and Henry removed to New York.

Dudley Bailey died Mar. 8, 1812 and Ruhamah his wife, Mar. 8, 1835, just 23 years from the date of her husband's death.

David and Lydia (Allen) Bailey lived and died on the old homestead of Dudley Bailey. Their children were: Electa m. Wm. H. Merriam and removed to Peterborough, N.H.; Anna, m. Daniel Baldwin of Wardsboro; Levi, married Elizabeth Bryant of Brattleboro; Jason R., m. Emily Bryant of Brattleboro; removed to Stokely, C. E.; Silas A., married Arvilla Jackson of Newfane; Chester W., m. Benleth Gove of Strafford; lives in Brattleboro; Abner A., m. Caroline A. Huntley, clan of Lyman Huntley.

John L. and Wm. D., twins. John was killed, at the age of 20 years, by falling on a pitch-fork. William, m. 1st, Lois Gould, of Dover, 2d, Katherine Smith of Wilmington.

Lawson died aged 5 years.

Orra, m. Julia M. Pattee removed to Massachusetts.

David Bailey died Mar. 19, 186 7 aged 86.


The earliest settler in Dummerston by the name of Willard, was


from Ashburnham, Massachusetts. In 1785, he lived where Lewis Hadley now lives in the south part of the town, and remained on that farm till he sold it to Benjamin Hadley, father of Lewis. He married about 1785. Sarah Wilder, sister of Solomon Wilder of Brattleboro, father of Marshall, Anson, and Joseph Marshall now lives on the old homestead where Henry Willard courted Miss Wilder. People in those days often went barefoot as long as the ground was not covered with snow, and Mr. Willard was not an exception to the custom. He used to go courting barefoot, and late in the fall of the year, the neighbors often tracked him home, when he returned late in the night, from such visits, by his foot-prints left on the frosty ground. When he sold his farm, he bought again in West Dummerston where four generations of the family have lived, the place being now in the possession of Nelson W. Willard.

He was a man of property and bought and sold other farms in town. He kept a large stock of cattle, raised considerable grain, but was careful to keep his granaries locked. A friend once inquired of him why he kept his grain under lock and key. "Your neighbors," said he, " are all honest." " I know it," replied Mr. Willard, " but I want to keep them so."

In our study of New England history, we often find the name Willard associated with the early settlers, especially, that of Col. Josiah Willard as an original proprietor of several townships. For instance, the names of the proprietors of Westminster, Vt., on the 11th of June 1760, when the time for fulfilling the charter was extended, included twelve Willards, viz: Josiah, William, Nathan, Oliver, Wilder, William, Jr., Prentice, Nathan, Jr., Solomon, Billey, Josiah, Jr., and Jonathan. Eight of these names appear on the charter of July 26, 1753. Nearly all the families of New England by this name, are descended from Major Simon Willard, who emigrated to this country from the county of Kent in England. He is first mentioned as residing at Newton (now Cambridge, Mass.) in 1634, where he became acquainted with the situation of Concord, Mass., by trading with the Indians. He was one of the original purchasers of Concord and removed to that place as early as 1635, and became by his influence and the offices to which he was elected, the chief citizen of the town. In 1654, he received the commission of Major and was commander in-chief of the forces of Massachusetts in Ninigret and Philip's wars. In 1660, he removed to Lancester and was at Groton in 1672. He died in Charlestown, Mass., April 24, 1676. He was a brave commander, a wise statesman, and a trustworthy man, retaining the confidence of his fellow citizens undiminished till the close of life.

Major Willard had three wives, 1st, Mary Sharp, 2d, Elizabeth, sister of President Dunster, of Harvard college, 3d, Mary Dunster, a relative of the second wife. By the first and third marriages, he had 17 children, 9 sons and 8 daughters, most of whom lived to marry and have families.

Henry, the 4th son, born at Concord, Mass., June 4, 1655; married Mary Laken of Groton, Mass., July 18, 1674; settled in Lancaster; after the death of his wife in 1688, married, about 1689, Dorcas Cutler, who survived her husband and afterwards became the wife of Benjamin Bellows, of Lancester, and ancestor of the Bellows family in Walpole, N.H.- by these two wives had children: Henry, Simon, born Oct. 8, 1678, Mary, John, Hezekiah, Joseph, Samuel, James, Josiah, Jonathan, Sarah, Abigail, Susanna, and Tabitha.

Josiah son of Henry, born about 1693, is known as Col. Josiah Willard, commander of Fort Dummer from 1740 to 1750. He married Hannah Wilder, of Lancaster, where he was born, and was among the first settlers of Lunenburgh, founded in 1719. His uncle, the Rev. Samuel Willard, was for a time Vice President of Harvard College. Col. Josiah died Dec. 8, 1750. He bore the character of a faithful and intelligent public officer, and was without reproach in the relations of private and domestic life.

JOSIAH, JR., his son, was born in January 1716, and married Hannah Hubbard of Groton. For several years he was intrusted with the charge of a garrison at Ashuelot (now Keene,) N.H. and in 1749 removed to Winchester in that Province. On the death of his father he was promoted to the station he had held. Notice of this appointment was conveyed by another Josiah Willard, a cousin, who for 39 years was secretary of the Province of Massachusetts by a royal commission. "I heartily join with you and your family," wrote the secretary in his letter, dated Dec. 18, 1750: in your mourning for the death of' your father, esteeming it a great publick loss." Josiah, Jr., died in Winchester, Nov. 19, 1786, in the 72d year of his age.

Henry Willard of Dummerston was a descendant of the Willards about whom we have written. He had two sons and six daughters, Benjamin, b. 1787, m. Lydia Bennett; Sally, b. 1789, m. Wm. Barnes; Mary, b. 1792, married Isaac Cutler; Margaret, b. 1794, m. John Whipple; Eunice, b. 1794, m. Josiah Goddard; Olive, m. Nathaniel Taft; Nancy, married Davis Rand; Lewis, unmarried.

Mr. Willard was heard to say that most parents married off their daughters, but he married them on, as he furnished a home for some of them much of the time after marriage. His sons-in-law did not particularly please him, and in remarking about it, sometimes he would say that he believed the devil owed him a spite and paid him off in son-in-laws."

The children of Benjamin and Lydia Willard were: Louisa, b. 1807, Emily, Lydia, George, Nelson W., Benjamin F., Henry, Mary A., Harriet V., and Marshall, ten in number.

Peter Willard of this town was a cousin to Benjamin, born 1787. Hem. Olive Frost, of Brattleboro, Jan. 11, 1802. Their children were: Jesse, Marinda, Ephraim, Nelson.


was father of Capt. James A. Chase. They removed from Dis. No. 1 to No. 3 on West Hill, and the farm they owned many years is still called the Jim Chase place." James Chase died May 28, 1844, aged 93. Capt. James died Jan 30, 1871, aged 83. Samuel Chase m. Cloe Dunklee, Apr. 3, 1808. Polly Chase died Sept. 4, 1860, aged 83.


was the father of Wilkins and Jotham, and by a 2d wife, Lydia ____ who died Jan. 2, 1847, aged 88, had Mary, b. May 1, 1801, now living; married 1st, Caleb Taft, son of Josiah; 2d, Asa Dutton.

Wilkins, m. Abigail Mirriam, Sept. 10, 1799.

Jotham married Abigail Pratt. Their children were: Isaac, b. Nov 23, 1805, married Hannah Fisher, of Newfane. Stephen P., b. Mar. 27, 1808, married Emily, dau. of Samuel French; Phebe Philena, 1811, m. Daniel Taylor; Lysander, 1814, m. Esther Fisher, of Newfane; Mary, b. 1816, m. Geo. Rodney Miller; Forris b. 1819, a photographer, in New York, died unmarried, aged about 30 years.



married Sarah Ball: children Deborah, b. Aug. 15, 1786; Patty, 1789; Jacob, 1791, died young; Susanna, 1793; Jacob, 2d, 1796; Mary, Feb. 8, 1799.

One Joseph Gleason, Jr., married Sibyl Stickney, Jan. 12, 1802; Children: Sally, b. 1802; Louis, 1803; Lydia, 1805; Deborah, 1807; Jacob, 1809.



This is a distinct family from Isaac Miller, resident in the east part of the town. The progenitor of this family was Samuel, son of Robert Miller one of the first settlers of Londonderry, N.H. His name appears on a tax-list of that town of Nov. 9, 1750. He probably continued his residence in Londonderry and died there. His wife died in New Boston, N.H., with her daughter Mrs. Patterson. Their children were:

Matthew, b. June 15, 1730; m. Mary Morrison, and died in Pomfret, Vt., May 30, 1824, aged 94 years. James and William, twins, b. 1738; Samuel, John, and Susanna who m. Dea. Patterson.; William, married Jane Todd, dau. of Col. Andrew Todd;

James, married Catherine Gregg, who d. May 23, 1833, aged 89 years. He died Nov. 21, 1825, aged 87 years. They resided in Peterborough, N.H., and reared up a large and important family. Their children were: Hugh, b. Oct. 1768; m. Anna Templeton; d. Dec. 10, 1847, aged 79 years.

Samuel, b. 1772; m. Sylvia Keep; removed to Dummerston.

Jenny, born 1774; married Samuel Templeton.

James, b. April 25, 1776; m. 1st wife, Martha Ferguson; 2d, wife Ruth Flint, Lincoln, Mass.

Polly, b. 1777, d. Dec. 28, 1796.

Catherine, b. ____; m. Daniel McFarland, d. in Antrim, N.H.;

Jacob, b. ____ ; m. Jane Popkins; d. in Arkansas, 1822.

William, b. ____.


has a distinguished record. He became a lawyer; was Major, of the 4th. United States Infantry, 1808; Lt. Colonel, 5th Infantry, 1810; Brevet Col. 1812; Col., 21st Infantry 1814; Brevet Brigadier-General, 1814, when Congress presented him a gold medal for gallantry on the Canadian frontier; was governor of Arkansas Territory 1819--25; Collector of Salem, Mass., 1825--49; died at Temple, N.H., July 7, 1851. He was father of Commodore James F. Miller, U. S. N. 1803-68.

It is stated in the history of Peterborough N.H., that Gen. James Miller was of Scotch-Irish descent. This would make the connection that Robert Miller, born about 1664, was brother to Isaac Miller, b. about 1670, and father of Isaac Miller. .Jr., b. 1708. a first settler in Dummerston. Therefore the children of John Miller, b. 1756 were third cousins to Samuel Miller, b. 1772.

GEN. JAMES MILLER immortalized his name, however, in the Battle of Niagara, or Lundy's Lane, in 1814. When, in the course of the battle, it was necessary that a certain British battery should be carried, Gen. Brown, addressing Colonel Miller said, " Colonel, take your regiment, storm that work and take it." "I'11 try sir," responded the brave Miller promptly and immediately moved forward to the perilous task. A letter of his written to his wife gives a graphic description of this adventure. It was dated Fort Erie, July 28, 1814, the battle having been fought on the 25th, inst. The letter is published in full in the history of Peterborough. When the order was given him to take the battery, he says:

"I had short of three hundred men with me, I, however, immediately obeyed the order. The enemy had got their artillery posted on a height in a very commanding position, where they could rake our columns in every part of the field, and prevented their advancing. We could see their slow matches and port fires burning and ready. I did not know what side of the work was most favorable to approach, but happened to hit upon a very favorable place, notwithstanding we advanced upon the mouths of their cannon. It appeared that there was an old rail-fence on the side where we approached, with a small growth of shrubbery by the fence and within less than two rods of the cannon's mouth, undiscovered by the enemy. I then very cautiously ordered my men to rest across the fence, take good aim, fire, and rush, which was done in style. Not one man at the cannon was left to put fire to them. We got into the centre of their park before they had time to oppose us. A British line was formed, and lying in a strong position to protect their artillery. The moment we got to the centre, they opened a most destructive flank fire on us, killed a great many, and attempted to charge with the bayonets. We returned the fire so warmly they were compelled to stand; we fought hand to hand for some time, so close that the blaze of our guns crossed each other; but we compelled them to abandoned their whole artillery, ammunition-wagons and all, amounting to seven pieces of elegant brass cannon, one of which was a 24 pounder, with eight horses and harness, though some of them were killed. The British made two more attempts to charge us at close quarters, both of which I repulsed before I was reinforced, after which the 1st and 23d Regs. came to my relief. And even after that, the British charged with their whole line there several times, and after getting within half pistol-shot of us were compelled to give way. I took, with my regiment, between thirty and forty prisoners, while taking and defending the artillery. After Generals Brown, Scott, and others were wounded, we were ordered to return back to our camp, about three miles, and preparations had not been made for taking off the cannon, as it was impossible for me to defend them and make preparations for that too, and they were all left on the ground except one beautiful six-pounder, which was presented to my regiment in testimony of their distinguished gallantry. The officers of this army all say, who saw it, that it was one of the most desperate things they ever saw or heard of, Gen. Brown told me, the moment he saw me, that I had immortalized myself. 'But,' said he, 'my dear fellow, my heart ached for you when I gave you the order, but I knew it was the only thing that would save us.


came from Dover in this County, to Dummerston in 1813, and bought the farm owned by James Munn for $2600. He resided there till the time of his death in 1855. The buildings on the farm were all burned by an incendiary Feb. 14, 1877. It is an excellent hill farm, but is located so far back, on West hill that no one has cared to purchase and rebuild.

Mr. Miller had two sons and five daughters. James m. Elvira Whipple, and was the father of Mary Miller, wife of John K. Leonard, Esq., killed instantly Aug. 19, 1881.

Geo. Rodney, represented the town in the legislature in 1850.

The other children were Mary, Charlotte, Catherine, Jane, and Sophia The wife of Enos Leonard and mother of John K. was Matilda Keep, sister to Sylvia Keep, wife of Samuel Miller.

Sophia Miller married John W. Cook and they are living in West Brattleboro. Jane died aged 16 years. Catherine, unmarried. Charlotte married Austin Wheeler, Mary m. Nathaniel Parish. Geo. Rodney married Mary Burnett, daughter of Jotham Burnett.


one of the first settlers in this section of the town, cleared up the land, which Asa Whitney now owns, and on the place, built and lived in a small house long since gone. He lived to be quite aged, and died suddenly of heart disease about 1820, while out in the forest gathering the honey of wild bees. Old lady Darling, his wife, was known as an excellent cook in those days, and a favorite dish, which she prepared, so as to make it very palatable, was fish and potatoe. "Fish," she said to her guests, "had to swim three times - once in water, once in butter and once in cider. "This was quite evident, as she poured in a large quantity of melted butter while cooking and furnished plenty of cider for the table.

Abigail Darling, m. Jonathan Bump, April 7, 1805.


was, probably, a brother of John Foster who lived across the river in Dis. No. 6. John, m. Abigail Sanderson, Jan. 25, 1804, and their children were Joel S., b. Oct. 31, 1805; Samuel W., Maria, and Spencer.


married Hannah Dunklee, Sept. 20, 1801. Their children were Humphrey. born in Brattleboro, married Arozina, dau. of Joseph Hildreth; Linda, born in Dummerston, 1803, Lysia, Pardon, Michajah.

Sidney H. Barrett, son of Humphrey lives on the parental farm.


was one of the first settlers in this section of the town. His wife was a sister of Henry Willard. Their children were: Hannah, b. Aug. 8, 1779; Lois, born Sept. 15, 1774; Daniel, 1777; Benjamin, 1779; Peter, 1783; Henry, 1785. Benjamin, m. Sally Stickney, Jan. 16, 1800. Lois, m. Darius Mann, Jan. 12, 1792. Hannah, married Thomas Betterley, Jr., of Newfane.


and Jerusha Darling his wife, were from "Betcher," Mass., as recorded, and their first child, Samuel, Jr., was born June 1, 1784, in that town. John, Joseph, Levi, Darling, Jerusha and Lydia were born in Brattleboro. Esther, m. 1801, and David 1805, were born in this town. Mr. Guernsey lived near neighbor to Humphrey Barrett, across the brook south from his residence, in buildings long since gone to decay.


contained in 1810, nine families, "all the inhabitants from Newfane line to the Baptist meeting-house on West river road, and west from said road so as to include Elisha Randall and Moses Rowell (Roel)." The other families were Willard Foster, Joseph Dunklee, Seth Briggs, Daniel Peters, Moody Tenney, Luke Taylor and Joel Cutting.


married Lydia Merrick, daughter of Capt. Ebenezer Merrick, Dec. 25 1799. The family lived near Moses Roel on the road leading to the Emerson place.

Children: Lewis, Ebenezer, Leonard, Emily, Eveline. Harriet, and Elizabeth. Ebenezer m. Sally Brown; Leonard mar. Lois Bird, and removed to Granville, Mass.; Emily married 1st, Sam. Dike, 2d,____ Roland; Harriet married a Mr. Woodcock.


was born in Oxford, Mass. His parents died when he was quite young. Soon after their death, he went to live with Dr. Baker of Guilford, who was an uncle of his. His sister, Zurviah, also went there to live. When he was about 8 years of age, he came to Dummerston and lived during his minority with Samuel Gowen, who owned what is now called the Huntley place. He had no brother, and his only sister, Zurviah, was a resident of this town at the time she married Nahum Norcross, Jan. 17. 1796. Moses married Olly, dau. of Nathaniel French, Nov. 22, 1807. He bought a farm of Nathaniel Mann, formerly owned by Daniel Belknapp, and occupied it the same year he was married. They had a family of 10 children: Almira m. Almond Butterfield; removed to Mexico, N.Y.; died in June 1854, leaving a family of 11 children.

Nathaniel F., m. Nancy Herrick and removed to Randolph, Mass.; died in July 1878.

Orrilla m. Harvey Greenwood; died in 1835.

Alfred removed to Randolph, Mass., m. Mary Ann Hollis; died June 1860, leaving 4 children.

Austin, m. in Randolph, 1st, Joanna White, 2d, Abby Bigelow; died Jan. 27, 1878, leaving 2 children.

Edson M., unmarried and resides in Randolph.

Charles G., m. 1st. Julia Ward; had four children; m. 2d, Maria Wellman, mother of one child.

Betsey B., d. suddenly, in Randolph, Oct. 1845.

Sylvanus B. was a graduate of Amherst College, in 1852, and at the time of his death was a member of the senior class at Andover Seminary. He died of typhoid fever, in Holden, Mass. Sept. 1854, aged 26 years, and was at that time in charge of a select school. His pupils erected a monument over his remains.

Mary E. died in Randolph in 1849. Charles G. Roel now lives on the parental farm.


born Nov. 7, 1760; m. Hannah, dau. of Capt. Ebenezer Merrick who was b. in 1722 and died 1819. Capt. Briggs died Mar. 21, 1824. Hannah, his wife, born Nov. 25, 1762, died Dec. 6, 1838. - children:

Hannah, b. Dec. 22, 1785, married Willard Foster and lived near Branch Bridge.

Sarah, born Nov. 10, 1788, m. Joel Hudson, d. Mar. 5, 1878;

Mary, b. Dec. 4, 1790, married Wm. Spaulding;

Patty, b. 1793, m. Henry Goddard. d. 1819.

Lucinda, b. Mar. 9, 1795, married Thompson Kingsbury, d. July 11, 1865.

Elizabeth, b. Mar. 27, 1797, married Cornelus Hadley.

Eleanor, b. May 16, 1799, married Samuel Perry.

Abigail, b. 1802, d. 1811;

Harriet, b. Apr. 29. 1804, m. Robert Lyndsey, d. Feb. 1, 1881;

Fanny, b. May 26, 1806, unmarried, d. 1882.

Laura, born May 27, 1809, m. Silas Ashley, d. June 11, 1843. It is somewhat remarkable that in this family there were 11 daughters and no sons.


m. Ruth Field, Nov. 22, 1801, lived at one time in the West village and tended the grist mill. Joseph Dunklee, Sen., supposed to be the father of Joseph Jr., married the mother of Hannah, sister to Jacob Pierce and wife of Ormsbee Butterfield. Benjamin, son probably of Joseph. Jr., m. Ruth Sargeant; was a blacksmith and had a shop many years ago, just below the Josiah Dodge place, where Benjamin Estabrook worked as an apprentice about 1806.


a half brother of Josiah, m. Arathusa Underwood; children: Reuben, born 1809, Daniel and Bennett. The youngest son was killed in Massachusetts by a large rock which fell on him. Mr. Tenney lived in the old toll-house, tended the bridge and worked at the trade of making saddle-tacks.


deacon of the Baptist church in the West village, m. Mary ____ , and their children were John, b. 1795, Daniel, b. 1797, Elizabeth L., born 1800, Polly, 1802, Luke, Jr., 1804, Charles W., 1806, Rachel, 1809, and Elhanan, 1812. Daniel, married 1st, Harriet, dau. of Zebulon Goss, 2d, Philena Burnett, dau. of Jotham. George, a son of Daniel lives in the Hague.

Moses Taylor, one of the first settlers in this part of the town, m. Sarah ____ , whose children were: Terzah, b. Aug. 7, 1777, Rebecca, b. May 26, 1779, Job, b. Sept. 20, 1788, Martha, b. Feb. 7, 1787. Isaac Taylor, who married Elizabeth ____, had Sarah, b. Nov. 27, 1786, m. Joseph Bruce 1807.

There was an Isaac Taylor also, who used to make potash some 60 years ago, near the old bridge-place. Israel Taylor and Betsey, his wife, had twins, Huldah and Sally, b. Nov. 11, 1800.

No school-house was built for the use of the school in this district. At first the district rented a part of Zebulon Goss's house, wherein a school was kept a few years. Afterwards, a part of the store, then standing just south of Taft's tavern, was fitted up and used for the school a long time. In 1820, the number of scholars was 52, as officially reported by Elder Levi Dunham. Joel Chandler was a teacher in that district several years, and also Rufus Hadley. Hannah Estabrook, a sister of Benjamin, taught there in the summer of 1822. Anthony Jones was the store-keeper in 1820. Josiah Taft, the tavern-keeper. Taft married Anna Rice, of Uxbridge, Mass., children: Nancy, b. 1798, Caleb, 1795, Nathaniel, 1797, Reuben. The old tavern is now a dwelling house, and a part of the old store forms an addition to it.


on the hill comprised in 1810, nine families, James Mann, Josiah Ward, Nathaniel Bixby, Stephen Munn, Samuel Stoddard, Jonathan Tenney, Amasa Child, Jonathan Tenney, Jr., Samuel Laughton.


known as Elder James Munn, though he was not a licensed preacher, yet, as he preached several years. Elder Mann m. Anna Rogers, Sept. 8, 1789. Their children were: James, b. 1790, Abijah, 1792, George, 1793, Betsey, 1796, Sally, 1798, Hosea, 1801, William R., 1806.

Stephen Munn, who married Naomi Perham, Oct. 4, 1798, had a family of 10 children.

Darius Munn, m. Lois Zwears had Daniel, Jr. b. 1795.


David, the father of Samuel, was from Massachusetts and settled in Chesterfield, N.H. He married Joanna Kingsly and they had 9 children, -

Thomas, David, Eleazer, Lemuel, Asa, Samuel, Joseph, Jemima, and Abigail. He was a commissioned officer, Lieutenant? in the Revolutionary army, and died in the service.

Samuel was born in Chesterfield, May 11, 1767; came to Dummerston about 1795 and purchased land on what is now called Stoddard Hill. When he had made a clearing and was ready to burn his first piece, he notified friends in Chesterfield, and they witnessed the conflagration 10 miles away in plain sight of the old homestead. He m. Zurviah Richmond, Mar 7, 1798; their children were: Samuel, Jr., b. 1798, Anna, b. 1801, Lydia, b. 1803, Levi, b. June 30, 1806. William, b. 1808, Sibyl.

The children of Levi, who m. Ermine, granddaughter of Capt. John Wyman, a Revolutionary soldier, are Alonzo D., Horace R., Ephraim S., Eliza L., Rose A., and Anna C. Horace resides on the parental farm.


had ten families in 1810, as follows: Stephen Bennett, Daniel Goss, Richard Dean, Joseph Bennett, Asa Parish, Luke Butterfield, Zebulon Goss, Jonathan Child, John Whipple, Pain P. Brown.


was the son of Stephen Bennett who m. Hannah Turner. His parents came from Mansfield, Ct. He died Apr. 19, 1807 aged 70, and was buried in the graveyard near the old church on West hill. The children were: John, Urial, who was a physician; Eunice, married Nathaniel Munn; Senia, m. Eleazer Church; Mehitable, m. Horace Turner; Polly, who m. "Capt." Wm. Holton.

Stephen Bennett removed with his family from Mansfield, Ct., to a farm in Brattleboro near the Samuel Martin place, formerly owned by Mr. Munn. His son, Lt. Stephen, bought a farm in Dummerston in 1786, made a clearing and built a house near where the sugar-house now stands and not far from the site of the present buildings on the place. He m. Ruth Fellows and their children were:

Senia, b. Mar. 9, 1791, unmarried and now living in Brattleboro at the age of 91 in the enjoyment of good health and strength and a competence for her declining years.

Orren L., now living, b. Sept. 15, 1792, lives on the parental farm where he has resided 90 years; Olive, b. Aug. 4, 1794, m. Reuben Thayer and removed to New York; Lucinda, b. May 23, 1796, m. David Merrick, half brother to Reuben Thayer and removed to New York; Almira, b. July 31, 1800, unmarried, lived with her sister, Senia, in Brattleboro, and died in 1880.

Lt. Stephen sold his farm to his son, Orren, and went back to the old homestead in Brattleboro where he died and was buried in that town. Orren m. Sarah, daughter of Stephen Bowker, of Walpole, N.H. She was born in Westmoreland, N.H., in 1800, and is now living. Her father was uncle to the late S. Wright Bowker, of Newfane. The children of Orren were: Stephen B., Oscar L. F., Henry C., George R. and Sarah Jane.

Samuel Bennett, Sen., was uncle to Lt. Stephen, and his children were: Samuel, Jr., Emery, Charles, Jesse, Lydia and Lucy, who m lanes Larrabee. Samuel, Jr., m. Hephzibah Foster, Mar. 16, 1800. Charles, m. Sally Graves, Dec. 6, 1805. Jesse, m. Tryphenia Black of Putney, July 14, 1805. Julia Bennett, married Voranus Larrabee, Mar. 20, 1808, probably sister to Lydia who m. Benjamin Willard. Joseph Bennett, a brother of Samuel, married a Whipple and settled where Lyman Dean has since lived.


was born in Mendon, Mass. Nov. 23, 1764. His parents were Zebulon and Mary Goss, whose children were: Daniel, Henry, Zebulon, William, Enos, Hannah, Clarissa, Sally and Priscilla.

Daniel, m. Tirzah Prouty, born in Mendon, Mass, Feb. 15. 1769, died 1843, aged 84; children: Clarissa, b. in Dummerston, Mar. 8, 1793, married James Eastman, of Newfane;

Zebulon, b. Sept. 12, 1794, married Betsey Chamberlain;

Amanda, b. Dec. 9, 1795; Polly, b. Sept. 27, 1797, mar. Samuel Morse; Cynthia, b. July 13, 1799, m. a Prouty. Nancy, 1807; William, 1809, m. Lucy Belknap; Lovinia, m. Edson Whipple. Henry Goss, m. Polly Wood of Mendon. Zebulon, m. Delany Prouty, sister of Daniel's wife. William, married Eunice Wood. Enos, m. Sally Wood. Hannah, m. Richard Dean. Clarrisa, married Henry Walker, of Rutland. Pricilla, m. John Saddler of Upton. Mass.

Zebulon and Delana Goss's children were: Irena, b. Feb. 17. 1801, m. John Manley; Orra, Aug. 25, 1802, married Frances, dau. of Col. Rawson of Mendon; Harriet, May 25, 1804, married Daniel, son of Dea. Luke Taylor, of Newfane; Henry, Jan. 20, 1806, m. Betsey, dau. of Luke Kendall; Mary, Dec. 19, 1807; Roswell, Oct 17, 1809, d. unmarried; Chester, Aug. 27, 1811. died a sea-faring man; Emery, March 28, 1813, m. Mary Wood of Boston; Melinda, Jan. 8, 1815, married Joseph Tilden of Boston; Daniel, Jan. 25, 1817, lived in Boston; Hannah, Aug. 12, 1819, and Lydia, July 17, 1821, d. young.

The children of Enos and Sally Goss were: Austin who m. Deborah Newton, of Newfane; Mary, m. David Murphy, of Boston; Harriet, m. Alonzo Dutton; Charlotte, m. Sumner Ballou, of Mendon; Elizabeth and Adelia, not married; Sarah, married Ebenezer Taft, of Mendon; George W., m. Mehitable Hitchcock, of Westminster; Laura Ann remained single; Charles E., married Melvina, dau. of Dr. Cyrus Butterfield. Sally, wife of Enos Goss, d. Mar. 4, 1865, aged 83.


and Hannah Goss, his wife, were the parents of Henry, b. Aug. 17. 1800, married in Boston and became wealthy; Dolly, b. 1803, married Martin, son of Rufus Moore; Lyman, born 1807, m. Olive Salisbury; Mary, married Orra Johnson; Austin married a Thayer and had a family of 13 children.


married Lovina Cary, Apr. 29, 1791; children: Anson, C., b. July 18, 1792, m. Sarah Chamberlain, 1816; Juliaetta, b. Jan. 20, 1795, m. Capt. William Walker, a brother of Dr. Sewall Walker; Nathaniel, m. Mary, daughter of Samuel Miller. Asa Parish died Feb. 1, 1830, aged 61. He built the two story brick house in which he lived many years. The school was kept in his house before the first school-house in the district was built. Orren L. Bennett went to school there when he was a small boy. Five dwelling houses in this neighborhood were built of brick, made in that vicinity. The brick-yard was located about 100 rods south from the James Chase place, and was owned by Lt. Stephen Bennett and Zebulon Goss. Mr. Goss had charge of the work in the brick-yard.



lived near where the school-house now stands and which first stood at the top of the hill south from its present situation. He married, 1st, Polly Farr, of Chesterfield, N.H., had one son Alpha, lame, and a tailor by trade; 2d wife, Mercy Field; children: Mary, married James Lamb, of Halifax; Susanna died aged 18; Luke, Jr., married Sophronia Kellogg, of Mexico, N.Y.; Zenas, m. Mercy Ware, sister of Dr. Cyrus Butterfield's wife; Fanny, m. Obed, son of Capt. Ellis Griffith; Sophia, m. Wm. Huntley of Mexico, N.Y.; Almond, m. Almyra, dau. of Moses Roel and removed to Mexico, N.Y.; Emily, m. Thomas, son of Gamaliel Arnold; Franklin, married Mary, dau. of Lot Holland, and lived during his life on the old homestead, which is owned and occupied by John F. Butterfield, his son.


a brother of Luke, resided in Dis. No. 1, West. on the road leading south to Wickopee Hill. He was born Oct. 21, 1749, m. Martha Hadley, b. Jan. 29, 1760. She was, probably, a sister of Benjamin Hadley; children: Ezra, Jr. b. Apr. 19, 1778; Ebenezer, Feb. 1, 1780; Zenas, Feb. 22, 1782, m. Sally Turner, of Putney, Dec. 1, 1803; Susanna, Aug. 2, 1785, m. Seth Woods. 1805; Samuel, July 17, 1787, married Polly Miller, May 8, 1805; Martha, May 22, 1790; Cyrus, Mar. 15, 1791; Nabby, 1793; Levi, 1794; Benjamin, 1797; Ebenezer, m. Martha Thompson, Dec. 4, 1803; children: Almyra and Jesse. The children of Zenas and Sally were: Alanson, born Oct. 20, 1804, Diantha, Zenas, Hannah, Sarah, Ezra, Betsey and Lucy. Polly Butterfield, m. James Lamb, Jan. 16, 1811.


was not a physician in the regular practice, having made no special preparation for his profession. He married Lucy Ware and their children were: Diana who m. Alfred Prouty, of Brattleboro; Harriet. m. Charles Harris; Sylvia, m. Wilder Hudson; Philena, m. Elijah Reed; Melvina, m. 1st, Charles E. Goss, 2d, Henry Aldrich.


married Abiah LarraBee, Feb 11 , 1788, both of Dummerston; children: Jonathan, Jr., b. Oct. 30, 1788; Abiah, Dec. 28, 1790.


He married, it is supposed, Bathusa Eleanor Hutchins; children: Betsey, b. 1790, married Daniel Aldrich; John, 1791, m. Margaret Willard; Dimmus, 1792, m. George Betterley of Newfane; Polly, 1794, married a Howe; Samuel, Alfred, Laura, Edson, Elvira, Maria.


A new school-house was built in this district, on the site of the old one, in 1880. The first school-house stood some 40 rods farther south than the new one, and opposite where the road leading from the Moore place joins the main road to Brattleboro. Calvin Halladay reported, officially, 32 scholars in the district in 1820. The following families resided here in 1810: John Morse, Samuel Morse, Ellis Griffith, Asaph Pettingill, Gamaliel Arnold, Lemuel Graham, Joel Stockwell, Jonas Stockwell and Rufus Moore.


married Elizabeth ____ , about 1787; children: Betsey, b. Sept. 7, 1789, m. Albert Burgess of Providence, R. I.; Waitstill, Nov. 2, 1791; Obed, Jan. 5, 1793, married Fanny Butterfield and removed to Mexico, N.Y.; Mary, Nov. 12, 1794, m. Calvin Halladay; Lydia, Sept 19, 1798, unmarried; Ruby H., Nov. 3, 1807, m. Abel Moore.


married Catherine, daughter of John Wheeler, of Newfane. She was born in 1771; children: Mary, b. 1792 Darius, 1793,d. 1795; Catherine, 1796 Gamaliel, Jr., 1797; Thomas, 1798, m. Emily Butterfield, Feb. 28, 1827; Clark, 1801; Betty, 1802; Serena, 1804; George, 1808; Wheeler, 1810. Sally Arnold m. Henry Holland, Jan. 28, 1827.


married Susanna Wheeler, dau. of John Wheeler, of Newfane. She was born in 1762, and her sister Mary, b. 1767, m. Joel Stockwell, brother of Jonas. The children of Jonas and Susanna were: Anson, b. Aug. 26, 1783;

Rufus, b. Nov. 3, 1785, m. Anna Halladay, of Marlboro;

Lucinda, born Mar. 21, 1788, married April 20, 1815, John Estabrook of Brattleboro;

Luke, b. Dec. 11, 1789, lived on the parental farm after the death of his father, m. Anna Nichols still living at the ago of 87;

Susanna, b. 1793, d. 1796;

Sarah Jedidah, b. Sept. 23, 1794,m. John Clark, son of Thomas Clark, Mar. 31, 1818;

Susanna, 2d, b. Sept. 29, 1799, m. George Nichols still, living at 85 years and son of James who died Mar. 30, 1863 aged 98.

John W. b. Sept. 29, 1799;

Melinda, b. Oct. 26, 1801, unmarried. She was a school teacher many years, taught in the summer of 1835 in district No. 1, East near the home of her brother-in-law, John Clark, where she was sick several months and died Dec. 16, 1837, aged 36. Elder Wm. H. Hodges, a Methodist preacher for 20 years on Dummerston West Hill, preached her funeral sermon.

The children of Rufus and Anna Stockwell were: Jonas F. b. 1812, m. Lucinda Jillson of Newfane; Caroline, b. 1814, m. Charles Tracy, of Vernon, Ct.; Adaline, b. 1817, m. Hiram Rowe of New Haven, Ct.; Rufus, D. born 1821, d. 1828; Lucy, b. 1823. unmarried. Denslow M. Stockwell, son of Jonas F., lives on the parental farm.


married Eunice Burnham, Aug. 12, 1784; children: Luke, b. Feb. 10, 1785, m. Mary ? Lamb; Eunice, b. April 29, 1788, m. Joseph Coughlin, who resided near the central part of the town where B. F. Willard now lives; Caleb, b. Sept. 16, 1789, m. Mercy Burnham, Nov 18, 1813; Anna, b. Sept. 6, 1791; Samuel, b. Oct. 1793; Lemuel, Jr., July 16, 1795; Betsey, b. April 1, 1800; Sophia, b. Feb. 11, 1802, m. Wm. Rockwood; Theda, b. April 11, 1804, m. a Comstock; Alanson and Lyman, twins, born Mar. 31, 1806; Carter, b. July 8, 1808; Andrew born 1811.

Andrew Graham, brother of Lemuel, died Mar. 26, 1807. His wife, Submit, died Feb. 13, 1803. Molly Graham, m. John Hill, Mar. 8, 1786. Lieut. Richard Coughlin, the father of Joseph, was a resident of Chesterfield. N.H., where his children were born. His wife was Sarah ____. He was a Revolutionary soldier and died in the service. His children were: Thomas, Joseph, George, Richard, Sally, Melinda, Susan and Eunice.

George married a Wait; Melinda, m. Seth Herrick of Brattleboro; Sally, m. Henry Potter, Mar. 10, 1807; Susan, m. a Judson; Eunice, married Joseph Herrick of Brattleboro.

The children of Joseph Coughlin were: Merritt, who married Mary Ann Tenney; Obed G., Mary Ann, Lemuel G., Julia Ann, and Charles H.


married Rachel Moore and their children were: Martin, b. Feb. 11, 1804 Abel, b. Jan. 24, 1806; Emily, Jan. 26, 1808.

Martin married Dolly Dean and had Martin H., Rufus A., Laura and George D. Abel. m. Ruby H., daughter of Capt. Ellis Griffith.

Abel Moore, a resident of the town, m. Lois ____, and their children were Mary Ann, b. Aug. 6 1809; Betsey P., Lucy W., John W., Abel H., Gardner M., and Dana R., b. 1820.


married Abigail Hudson. Children Joel S., b Oct. 31, 1805; Samuel W., b. June 26, 1806; Maria, b. Feb. 12, 1808; Spencer F., b. Mar. 30, 1810; Mary, b.____, m. Chester French.

Skelton Foster may have been a brother of John Foster.

Willard Foster married Hannah, dau. of Capt. Seth Briggs. She was born Dec. 22, 1785.

Dr. Stephen Sewall Foster married Sally, dau. of Daniel Belknap. She was born, May 14, 1795. No record of children.



whose sudden death, at Montreal, has so shocked his numerous friends, was born in Dummerston, in 1817, but removed with his father, the late Dr. Stephen Sewell Foster, to Frostvillage, 2 miles from Waterloo, P. Q., when he was 4 years old. He was educated in Canada, until twenty, when he joined his uncle, S. F. Belknap, the celebrated railroad contractor, with whom he was extensively engaged in constructing railroads in Massachusetts, Maine, and Vermont. After fifteen successful years, he returned from the United States to Canada, and launched into railway enterprises of magnitude. His first contract was on the Grand Trunk from Richmond to Quebec. This was followed by the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly, connecting St. Johns with Waterloo. He next built the Southeastern, from West Farnham to Newport, and made the extension of the Canada Central from Sand Point to Pembroke. He also received the contract from the Canada Central from Nipissing. He was elected in 1858 member for Shefford in the Canada Assembly. After 2 years, he resigned and was returned by acclamation to the Legislative Council for the district of Bedford. On the accomplishment of confederation he was appointed to the Senate of the Dominion, from which he retired 2 years since on receiving it contract for the construction of the Georgian Bay Branch of the Pacific Rail way. He has lately been actively engaged in making arrangements to complete his contract. Financial troubles overtook him sometime ago, but he was hoping and laboring with energy to relieve himself. He had long been afflicted with heart disease, which is hereditary in his family. Last June, in Saratoga, he suffered severely, and after his incarceration, two weeks ago, in Irasburgh jail, he had another attack. His physicians prescribed rest for him, and counselled him to beware of excitement. The recent trouble which he has had, no doubt, hastened his death. Mr. Foster had a mania for building roads, and he not only invested all his own money in them, but induced his friends likewise to embark in such speculations. The result of his almost herculean labors has been to serve the Dominion rather than to bring any substantial reward to his own family. His remains were removed to Waterloo for interment.




According to the minutes of the general convention of Baptist churches in Vermont, this church was organized in 1783. The earliest record of the church, recently found, begins Apr. 12, 1789. On that day the church voted to adopt the new articles of faith and covenant. They had no place for public worship other than to meet at private dwellings. The locality where the meetings were then held, is now school district No. 6, instead of No. 1 West, where the meeting-house now stands. At that time meetings were held mostly at the houses of Samuel Wakefield and Jesse. Manley. Elder Joel Butler was invited to assist in one of those meetings, but it is not certain that he had previously been their pastor. John Manly, Jr., and Jesse Manley had been serving the church as deacons, but were released Aug. 9, 1789. At that time the church assessed and collected "sums to support the gospel."


had the pastoral care of the church for a short time, but asked a dismission that year. No record for 1790. The church in Jamaica sent a letter Mar. 13, 1791, asking that Isaiah Stone be dismissed to their church. May be this is Elder Stone who resigned in 1789, because his mind was much troubled about the "perplexing necessities" of life. When the record closes for that year, the church was unwilling to accept Elder Stone's resignation.

Jesse Manley was church clerk in 1791 and held the position, Sept. 17, 1794, when the old record closes, which is a book of 75 pages.

Feb. 18, 1792. The church voted that it was the deacons' work to take care of the poor of the church and provide for the communion.

June 4, 1792. Eleven persons were admitted to the church. On the same day it was voted that "our brethren in the south part of Marlboro should be a branch of our church with full power to receive members." John Manley, Jr., was chosen clerk of that branch.

Nine persons were admitted to the church, July 22, 1792, and the same number, Aug. 26, 1792.

It was voted that Brother Wakefield should improve his gift steady for further satisfaction; and it was the opinion of the church that Br. Beriah Willis "has a gift that may be proftebell in Zion."

Sept. 13, 1792, the church met at the house of Abel Bugbee in Putney and admitted to the church 13 persons, who were residents of that locality. Jesse Manly was chosen deacon that year. Elder Isaac Kenney, of Richmond, N.H., preached several times during the year, for which he received $10 from individuals.

Dec. 8, 1792. The church voted to act on a request from a society on the west side of West river, which is the first evidence on record that a society existed in that locality. The request was that Br. Samuel Wakefield should be permitted to preach to them. He had recently been urged to improve his gift with a view to preaching; also the church had asked him to serve them as deacon. Br. Wakefield received "liberty to improve his gift where he should judge duty." Micah French, Jr., was chosen deacon.

Aug. 20, 1792. The church voted that Bro. Micah French, Jr., Samuel Manley, James Mann, Enos Philips, and Luke Taylor should take the lead of singing in public meeting.


was requested to come and see the church. May 3, 1793, he received "a call to take the pastoral care of this church."

Jan. 26, 1793. The church met at Putney West Hill and admitted to the church nine persons. Bro. Stebbens was chosen to take the lead on the Sabbath of the brethren in Putney.

Rufus Freeman and Phebe, his wife were admitted by letter from the church in Fitzwilliam, N.H. He was ordained over the church in West Dummerston, Sept. 4, 1793. The ordination took place at the house of James Manley. The churches invited were Richmond, N.H., Marlboro, Royalston, Mass., Guilford [west part under Elder Jacobs], Fitzwilliam, and Putney.

The place where Jesse Manley lived in 1793, was bought by the church for L58 [$193 1 3] as a home for Elder Freeman. For a time he preached every third Sabbath at Grassy Brook in Putney.

Oct. 20, 1793. The church voted to assist the brethren in Putney to ordain them an elder. Elder Freeman, Jesse Manley, Micah French, Jr., Ezekiel Wilson, Seth Hudson and Samuel Wakefield were sent for that purpose.

Apr. 24, 1794. The brethren at Marlboro sent a letter requesting to be set off, and Elder Freeman, Samuel Wakefield, Micah French, Seth Hudson were sent by the church to aid in the exercises.

Aug. 2, 1794. Dea. Jesse Manley, who was in trouble with the church about a trade with a brother member, was called on and requested "to take his place and travel with the church.

No other record of the early church has been found at the time of this writing.

In 1811, Seth Hudson and Jotham Burnett were a committee to revise the names on the church record. They reported 103 resident members. The whole number recorded at that time was 215. It is not certain when the first meeting-house was built in West Dummerston. The first building occupied by the church was purchased in Guilford, taken down and erected on the site of the church now occupied by the society. When it became unserviceable, it was removed a few rods south from its old foundation and converted into a store and dwelling-house. The post-office is now kept in this store which is owned and occupied by John E. Townsend as merchant and postmaster.


of the church begin Nov. 29, 1827, when the First and Second Baptist Church were united. A division in the church had existed for a long time; but it does not appear expedient to write up the causes of separation. At the time of the union, Elder Jonathan Huntley was pastor, and Jesse Manley, Luke Taylor, and Oliver Carpenter, Jr., were deacons.

Elder Jerome Packer was pastor, and Oliver Carpenter and Daniel Jones were deacons in 1840. Joel Chandler was church clerk many years. S. W. Wilson held the place a long time, and for the last few years George Everleth has been clerk of' the church.


That have been furnished to the writer since the above was written:

In 1818 and 1819, Elder Mansfield Bruce was pastor of one division of the church and Elder Huntley of the other.

Elder Ziba Howard was pastor in 1834, and remained with the church till 1840.

After Elder Jerome Packer's pastorate ended, Elder Phineas Howe became preacher, Aug. 27, 1842.

In 1859, H. B. Streeter was their minister.

F. M. Mace was resident pastor in 1863.

Rev. Mark Carpenter, of Townshend preached for the church in 1866 and again in 1879 when he was 78 years of age.

Rev. Jonas G. Bennett was pastor in 1869.

Rev. A. N. Woodruff had the pastoral care in 1875, and Rev. C. J. Wilson in 1881.

Rev. C. R. Powers is pastor for 1884.

The oldest deacons of the church now living, are Dea. John Greenwood and Dea. J. Bartlett Estey.

John K. Leonard was deacon in 1867 and served till his death in 1875.

Sidney H. Barrett was chosen deacon, Apr. 5, 1884.

The church now occupied by the society, was built in 1859. James A. Chase was chosen clerk in 1843, Benjamin Stickney in 1858, S. W. Wilson in 1864, and George Everleth in 1879.


to the town treasurer of Dummerston for the year 1820:

(This report was found among the old papers of John B. Miller. )

School Districts; By whom returned Number of scholars.

District 1 returned by Austin Birchard, 80 scholars and $21,20.

District 2 returned by Joseph Bemis 54 scholars and $14,31.

District 3 returned by John Sargeant; 45 scholars and $11,93.

District 4 returned by Elder Allen; 33 scholars and $8,74.

District 5 returned by Asa Boyden; 41 scholars and $10,865.

District 6 returned by Samuel French 63 scholars and $16,695.

District 7 returned by Lyman Walker; 28 scholars and $7,42.

District 8 returned by Doctor Boyden 75 scholars and $19,875.

William Wheeler and others, 9 scholars and $2, 385.


District 1 returned by Jotham Burnet; 89 scholars and $23,585.

District 2 returned by Elder Levi Dunham; 52 scholars and $13,78.

District 3 returned by James A. Chase; 35 scholars and $9,275.

District 4 returned by Richard Dean; 20 scholars and $5, 30.

District 5 returned by Calvin Holiday; 32 scholars and $8,48.

Total No. of scholars 656 and $173,84.





Dummerston, April 3d, A. D. 1820.

The population of the town in 1820 was 1658. In 1880, the population was 816. The number of scholars attending school was 183; between the ages of 5 and 20 years, 177. The public money divided in 1880 was $360,52.


OUR SOLDIERS: 1861-1865.


Credited previous to the call for Three Hundred Thousand Volunteers, Oct. 17, 1863.


the first soldier from this town in the late war, enlisted May 1, 1861, in Co. C. 2d. Regiment; He was promoted Sergeant, and mustered out of service June 29, 1864.


enlisted Oct. 24, 1861, in Co. F, 1st Reg. Cav.; discharged Dec. 28, 1863; re-enlisted Jan. 2, 1864; promoted corporal, Sept. 11, sergeant, May 1, and mustered out of service July 31st, 1865.


enlisted, Sept. 4. 1861, as a musician, Co. F, 4th Reg.; sick in hospital near Washington; died Jan. 29, 1862, aged 19 years.


enlisted Aug. 27, 1861, Co. F, 4th Reg.; discharged Mar. 5, 1862; re-enlisted May 27; promoted sergeant, July 9; wounded severely at the battle of Chapin's Farm. Sept. 29. 1864 , promoted 2d Lieut., Dec. 30; mustered out June 13. 1865.


enlisted May 28. 1862, Co. K, 9th. Reg.; taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry, Sept. 15; soon after paroled; sent to Chicago, afterwards exchanged; returned to Newbern, N. C.; sick in hospital at Morehead City; sent to the hospital at Brattleboro, Vt., Jan. 1861; returned to his Reg. at Newbern, Apr. 22; died in the hospital Apr. 29, 1864, in his 18th year.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862 in Company E 11th. Regiment, while in Fort Slocum, near Washington, he was taken sick with typhoid fever which terminated fatally, Oct. 11th., 1863. He was in the 25th year of his age at the time of his death.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862, in Company E, 11th. Regiment, promoted corporal, Sept. 1st, discharged on account of sickness, July 30, 1863, and died Mar. 11. 1867, aged 26 years.


enlisted, Aug. 11th. 1863, in Company E, 11th Regiment, was promoted corporal, Dec. 28, 1863, and died at Alexandria, Va., June 11th 1864, of wounds received in battle at Cold Harbor June 1, 1864, aged 23 years.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862 in Company E 11th Regiment and was discharged Jan. 20, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862; was wounded in battle; had one of his feet amputated; was discharged, Aug. 11, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 11. 1862. in Company E 11th Regiment; wounded in action and mustered out of service. June 21, 1865.


enlisted July 21, 1862, in Company E 11th. Regiment, and was mustered out of service, June 20, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862, in Company E 11th Regiment. He was discharged, Dec. 31, 1862, and died in 1863, aged 19 years.


enlisted in Company E 11th Regiment, Aug. 11th, 1862; was promoted corporal, Oct. 11th 1864 and mustered out of service, June 4, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 23, 1861 in Co. F, 4th Reg., disch'd, Apr. 3, 1862, aged 19.


enlisted, May 28, 1862, in Company K, 9th Regiment, and was in the service three years.


enlisted Aug. 11, 1862, in Company, E 11th., Regiment, and died, Feb. 17, 1863, aged 19 years.


enlisted Sept. 6, 1861, was musician in Co. F, 4th Reg.; re-enlisted, Dec. 15, 1863; transferred from Co. F, to Co. B, Feb. 25, 1865; mustered out July 13, 1865.


Loyal Smith, Jr., enlisted Aug. 20. 1861, Co. G, 4th Reg.; died at Hagerstown, Md., Nov. 25, 1862, aged 22.


enlisted, in Co. F, Sept. 28, 1861, 1st. Cavalry Regiment. and mustered out Nov. 18, 1864.


enlisted in Company F Sept. 12, 1861, 1st. Cavalry Regiment; mustered out Nov. 18, 1864.


enlisted, Aug. 24, 1861, in Co. F, 4th. Reg.; promoted corporal; mustered out Sept. 30, 1864.


enlisted, Nov. 23, 1861, in Co. H, 2d. Reg. U. S. Sharp Shooters; died Oct. 7, 1862, aged 43 years.


enlisted, Dec. 5, 1861, in Co. H, 2d. Reg. U. S. S. S.; discharged in 1862.


enlisted, Aug. 11, 1862, in Co. E, 11th. Reg.; promoted corporal, July 1, 1863, sergeant, Oct. 2, 1864; and mustered out of service, June, 24, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 16, 1862, in Co. C. 2d. Reg.; wounded in action; discharged, May 3d, 1863.


enlisted, in Company F, First Cavalry Regiment.


enlisted, Nov. 19, 1861, in 2d. Reg. Co. H, U. S. S. S.; discharged March 24, 1863; died in 1863, aged 20.

Anson Buxton and Hosea Stone enlisted from other towns and are credited to Dummerston.

The following names are credits under the call of Oct. 17, 1863, for 300,000 volunteers, and subsequent calls.



enlisted, Jan. 2, 1864, in Co. K, 9th. Reg.; transferred to Co. C, June 13, 1864; promoted corporal, July 22d., 1865; mustered out Dec. 1, 1865.


enlisted Jan. 2, 1864, in Co. K, 7th. Regiment; wounded at Chapin's Farm, Sept. 29, 1864; transferred to Co. C, by reason of consolidation of regiment June 1, 1865; promoted corporal June 15; 2d. Lieut. Co. C, July 3; 1st Lieut. Nov. 17; mustered out, Dec. 1, 1865; died July 22, 1866, aged 24.


enlisted Dec. 4, 1863, in Co. K, 9th, Reg.; died at Brattleboro, Vt., Dec. 5, 1864; aged 17.


enlisted Dec. 24, 1863, First Vt. Battery Light Artillery transferred to 2d Vt. Battery, July 13, 1864 to First Vt. Heavy Artillery, March 1, 1865; mustered out July 28, 1865.


enlisted Jan. 2, 1864, Co. K, 9th Regiment; transferred to Co. C, June 13, 1865; promoted corporal, Aug. 24th died at Norfolk, Va., Nov. 13, 1865, aged 20 years.


enlisted, Jan. 2, 1864, in Co. K, 9th. Regiment; transferred to Co. C, June 13, 1865; promoted corporal July 22; sergeant, Sept. 21st. and mustered out, Dec. 1, 1865.


enlisted, Dec. 17, 1863, in Co. K, 9th. Regiment; transferred to Co. C, June 13, 1865; mustered out, Dec. 1, 1865.


enlisted, Aug. 28, 1862, Co. B, 16th, Reg.; mustered out with the regiment, Aug. 10, 1863; re-enlisted for 9 mos. Dec. 14, 1863; sick in Gen. Hospital; died, Dec. 11, 1864, aged 21.


enlisted, Jan. 2, 1864, in Co. K, 9th. Regiment; transferred to Co. C, June 13, 1865; mustered out Dec. 1, 1865.

Lyman J. Brown, David Crocker, David H. Davis, Edward S. Gilman, Michael Kelly, Bradbury A. Hunt, John Hawley, Austin Loverin, Eli M. Quimby, Frank King, James Thompson, John M. Welch, and Harris B. Mitchell enlisted from other towns in Vt. and credited to Dummerston.



enlisted, Aug. 23, 1864; was not assigned to any regiment; and discharged Oct. 11, 1864.


enlisted, Sept. 2, 1864; Co. K. 9th. Reg.; sick in Gen. Hospital, Dec. 1, 1864; died during the same month, aged 23 years.


enlisted, Aug. 23, 1864, Co. K, 9th. Reg.; mustered out May 22, 1865.


Asa Dutton, William H. Frost, Jerome W Knight, Henry H. Miller, and Joseph R. Nourse.


Herbert G. Bond, Leroy L. Bond, Mansel H. Bush, George A. Ellis, Fredrick G. Smith, Wallace W. Wilson enlisted, Sept. 20, 1862, in Company I, 16th. Regiment, and were mustered out of service, Aug. 10 1863.


enlisted Sept. 20, 1862, in Company I, 16th. Reg.; died at Union Mills, Va., Apr. 9, 1863. aged 20.


enlisted, Sep. 20, 1862, in Co. I, 16th Reg.; promoted 1st Sergt., Oct. 23, 2d Lieut. Co. B, Mar. 17, '63; died Aug. 6, 1863, aged 29 years.

ORMANDO E. NORCROSS, ASA D. GATES, promoted Sergt.; ORNAN PRESCOTT JR., FRED'K S. STEWART, EDWIN R. WILLARD enlisted, Aug. 28, 1862, in Company B 16th Regiment, and were mustered out of service, Aug 10, 1863.



Ripley C. Bennett, John F. Butterfield. Stephen L. Dutton, Lucian A. Elmer, Harlan W. Holton, Anthony L. Huntley, Leroy I. Knapp, Morris E Lawton, and Atherton Prescott.


George R. Bennett. Hardin W. Bennett, Alonzo Bradley. Daniel W. Gates. Jason C. Knight, Charles Ormsbee, and James H. Sargeant.


was drafted July 13, 1863; assigned to Co. K, 6th Reg.; mustered out June 26, 1865.


IRA O. HAVEN, promoted Com. Sergt. and DAVID M. ESTEY enlisted, .January 30, 1865, in Company F, 1st Regiment Frontier Cavalry; mustered out of service, June 27, 1865.

AUSTIN LAUGHTON, furnished a substitute , and JOHN M. MONTGOMERY and JOHN CASHIER entered the United States Navy.


Three sons of Jesse J. Mansfield, of Dummerston, were in the army during the late war for the Union. All enlisted for three years. Charles W. Mansfield enlisted in May 1862, and was at that time not quite 16 years of age. He was a member of Company K, 9th Vt. Vols. About the middle of July the regiment was sent to Washington. From that place they marched to Winchester, Va., where they remained till a few days before the battle of Antietam, where they were ordered to march in quick time to Harper's Ferry. Sept. 15th they were made prisoners of war by the enemy immediately paroled, and soon after, marched to Baltimore. From that place they were sent to Camp Douglas, Chicago, where they remained several months. Charles was sick at this place for the first time after leaving Vermont. While on duty with the regiment at Suffolk, Va., in the fall of 1863, he was again sick. He was considered able to go with his regiment when it left this place for Newbern N.C.; but it proved otherwise, and he was sent to the hospital in Morehead City. Having regained sufficient strength, he received a furlough, came home Dec. 5th, and was in the hospital at Brattleboro, when, with a few other soldiers, he was sent back to his regiment, Apr. 12, 1864. He arrived at Newbern on the 22d, and died Apr. 29, in the 18th year of his age.

Joseph C. and William H. Mansfield joined the army in August, 1862, and both were members of Battery E, 1st Artillery, 11th Vt. Regt. This battery was stationed at Fort Slocum, near Washington, during the memorable battle at Gettysburg. While in this fort, Joseph was sick with typhoid fever, which terminated fatally Oct. 11, 1863. He was in his 25th year and left a wife and one child, who survived her father's death only one year, dying Oct. 30, 1863, age, 3 years.

William was in the army about one year. On account of ill health, he received a discharge from service, and returned to Vermont. When he was again able to labor, he went to Boston, Mass., where he worked as a mechanic nearly two years. During that time he had much sickness, finally gave up business, and came back to Dummerston, where he died of consumption, March 11, 1867, aged 26 years.

Mrs. Hannah Mansfield, the mother of these soldiers, died Feb. 14, 1875, aged 65 years. She was the youngest of a family of 11 children, eight sons and three daughters. Her father, Benjamin Lufkin, was one of the first settlers in the town of Rumford, Me., where she was born in 1809. Her brother Joseph, the eldest of the family, was a minister for nearly 60 years and preached his last sermon only a few Sabbaths before his death, which occurred in 1872 in the 86 year of his age. Two other brothers were also ministers.




During the last years of his life, the home of Col. Greenwood was in Dummerston. Here also was the birth-place of his wife, Eva Duncan Knight, dau. of Joel and Fannie (Duncan) Knight. Mrs. Knight was the dau. of Dr. Abel Duncan, second cousin of Judge Jason Duncan. Col. Greenwood purchased in 1873, the farm, which has been the homestead of the Joel Knight family for three generations, but his profession as a civil and mining engineer, called him from home nearly the whole time after the purchase was made. Nevertheless, he counted that it would afford him a place of rest from the hardships of his professional life whenever opportunity should favor; but rest came not as anticipated. The man who seemed to have a charmed life, escaping the bullets of the enemy on many hard-fought battle-fields of the late war for the Union, passing unharmed numerous attacks of Indians which he encountered during his surveys on the plains of the West in 1867-68 and 69, enduring hardships from cold and hunger which few men have ever experienced, was killed by a fatal shot from a gang of robbers and murderers in ambush, and the career of a busy life instantly terminated. The sad event occurred in Aug. 1880, and in the spring of 1882, his remains were brought from Mexico to their final resting place in the cemetery at Dummerston.

William Greenwood, his great-grandfather, came from Sherborn, Mass., and settled in Dublin, N.H., in 1765. He was a carpenter by trade and was killed at the raising of a barn, June 28, 1782, aged 61. He married Abigail Death of Sherborn, who d. Oct 1, 1814 aged 91.

Joshua Greenwood, grandfather of the Colonel, married Hannah Twitchell of Dublin, Aug. 22, 1779.

Asa, his father, was born in Dublin, July 1, 1797, married Dec. 31, 1821, Mrs. Lucy Evens, who died in Marlboro, N.H., Feb. 20, 1852. He married 2d, Mary Minot, and removed to Illinois in 1853; returning East in the summer of 1877, to visit friends, he died at the house of his son in Dummerston, July 16, 1877.

Col. Greenwood was born in Dublin, N.H. March, 27, 1832, and married Miss Knight, May 19, 1857. He was the youngest son of the family and spent his early years, for the most part in the public schools of Marlboro, N.H., where his parents removed in 1834. Mathematics were his favorite studies and came easily to him. It was his ambition in youth to become a thorough and accomplished engineer, told that object was fulfilled. He remained in Marlboro until 1850, when he entered Norwich University, (Vt.,) graduating in 1852. From a report of the Twelfth Reunion of the Society of the Army of the Cumberland, "we subjoin:


"In 1852, he went to Illinois and engaged in the survey of railroads till the war of the rebellion broke out. He enlisted in the 51st Reg. Ill. Vols., Jan. 17, 1862, and was commissioned afterwards 1st Lieut. Co. H, of that regiment. His commission as captain of the same company is dated May 9, 1863. Soon after the battle of Stone River, Gen. Rosecrans selected Greenwood for a competent engineer to organize a topographical service, and he was directed to report to Gen. Stanley, at that time chief of cavalry for the Army of the Cumberland with whom he remained till the fall of 1865, when the 4th Corps of that division was mustered out in Texas. No officer served in the Army of the Cumberland who was present at and participated in more battles, actions, affairs, skirmishes, than Col. Greenwood. Always strong and well, though slender of form, he was always ready for duty, day and night. The great battles in which he was a most active participant embrace such names as Perryville, Stone River, Hoover's Gap, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, three mouths of Atlanta campaign, an almost continuous fight, including Peach Tree Creek, the assault on Kenesaw; finally, in the last great service of the 4th Corps, the action at Spring Hill, next day the battle of Franklin, and very soon the battle of Nashville, which ended the mission of the Army of the Cumberland, in the destruction of Hood's army. In only, 1864, when Gen. Stanley was appointed to the command of the 4th. Corps, Greenwood was commissioned by the President, Lt. Col. and Inspector, to date July 28, 1864. In July, 1865, the 4th Corps landed in Texas, and was posted at Victoria, Lavacca, and San Antonio. Col. Greenwood was put in charge of the Gulf and San Antonio Railroad which had been completely destroyed, by the rebel general, John Magruder. With the burned and bended railroad iron, and such timber as could be gathered out of the Guadaloupe lowlands, he soon had the cars running to Victoria. Having finished his work in Texas, he returned to Vermont and soon afterwards went west where he was employed upon the Kansas Pacific Rail road. He was appointed chief engineer of this road, and whilst holding this position, he made surveys on the 32d and 35th parallels, through to San Francisco. During his service for the company, he contructed 150 miles of railroad in 100 working days and the last day laid ten and one-quarter miles in ten hours, a feat, perhaps, never equalled in railroad construction. In 1870, he made the first general report in favor of three feet narrow gauge rail roads, and was appointed general manager of construction of the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad. Upon completion of the first division of this road, he was appointed General Supentendent, and remained till the road was finished to Canon City . He next went to Mexico in company with Gen. W. S. Rosecrans and Gen. W. J. Palmer with a view to constructing a national railroad in that country. Whilst engaged in this service, he visited England and the continent, in the interest of his road, but failing to get the concessions asked for from the Mexican government, he returned to New York and established himself as a civil engineer. In May, 1878, he took charge of the construction of the Pueblo and Arkansas Valley Railroad for the Atchison, Topeka and Santo Fe Company; and March, 1879, took charge of the Marion and McPerson Railroad. This is the last public work with which he was connected until he went to Mexico upon his last and fatal engagement. As an engineer, he had few peers in the profession. No obstacle that nature had interposed, as it were, in frolicsome mood, in the canons and mountains of the West, deterred this engineer of science, of skill, and daring, and railroad trains now run securely, where before the wild mountain sheep feared to climb. The skillful capitalists who built these wonderful railroads of Colorado, well appreciated the worth of Col. Greenwood, and when the Sullivan and Palmer Companies undertook the International and Inter-oceanic railroads from the city of Mexico to the Pacific coast, Greenwood was called, as he had been before, as the most reliable man to locate the work. Whilst so employed, he was murdered near Rio Hondo 18 miles from the city of Mexico, Aug. 29, 1880. He was on his way from Hondo to the city of Mexico, accompanied by Mr. Miller, an assistant engineer, and a servant, where, as was his custom, he expected to spend the Sabbath with his family. When within some 9 miles of the city, he stopped at a wayside inn for the purpose of taking refreshments. Here there were a number of men, who, seeing his horse, laid a plot by which they were to obtain possession of it. They accordingly rode ahead some distance, where they remained ambushed. Col. Greenwood upon arriving at a barranca, or ravine, separated from his companions and proceeded ahead of them at an increased pace, with the object of examining the locality. His companions saw him as he came from the barranca and descended upon the opposite side of the hill. They hastened in a gallop to join him, when, in a short time, they came upon his dead body lying in the road, perforated by two bullets, one through the breast and left hand, another through the right hand. A letter from P. H. Morgan dated United States Legation, Mexico, Nov. 23, 1880, to Gen. D. S. Stanley, states that when Col. Greenwood approached where the robbers were in ambush, they rushed out upon. him, hoping that the frightened horse would throw his rider, and in that way they might obtain possession of him, and, as in this, they failed, they to make sure of the horse, murdered Col. Greenwood. His horse, carbine, and revolver were taken, but his watch, papers, and money were untouched. It is believed that the assassins were disturbed and only had time to make off with the articles mentioned. His body was brought to the capital and buried in the American Cemetery Sept. 1. 1880. The unfortunate occurrence created a sensation in the capital and the loss of Col. Greenwood was deeply felt. The funeral procession was attended by the whole of the Americans and Englishmen, Germans and Frenchmen and many of the representative Mexicans. Over 60 coaches formed the funeral cortege, and 150 persons followed in the sad possession. Before Mrs. Greenwood left on her return to this country, she was presented with a memorial signed by forty leading Mexicans, residents of the City of Mexico. The memorial closes as follows . 'When you return to your lonely home, tell those who will come to mourn with you that if Mexico, as all the other nations of the earth, unfortunately has her criminals, she has also, honest hearts that repel them, and authorities to prosecute them; tell your friends that if there are vile men in our society, as there are in all human societies, there are also thousands of souls that worship the good and see a brother in every worthy man. And tell them, too, that amongst us not a single tear of the widow or the orphan fails to find a friendly hand extended to wipe it away.' "


During the years that have passed since the close of the war in 1865, the graves of soldiers in this town have not been visited by any considerable number of persons at one time, except on one occasion, May 30, 1879; yet, we do not feel that the graves of the honored dead are neglected in our cemeteries. Marble tablets have been erected to their memory and flowers are yearly scattered upon the green hillocks raised over their remains by kindred friends and others who cherish their memory. Perhaps some grave, or graves may not receive the floral tribute yearly, but in the absence of cut flowers, the coldness and silence of the graves are relieved by the shades and blooming plants that adorn them. Nineteen soldiers of the late war, who were citizens of Dummerston lie buried in the cemeteries of this town. How long the memory of their names and deeds will last we can-not tell, but the Grand Army of the Republic of which they were a constituent part, made an honorable record which the world cannot forget. These are their names: Fred H. Rice, Daniel G. Ormsbee, Lieut. Paschal S. Laughton, Lieut. Harrison K. Bacon, Loyal Smith, Asahel E. Ellis, Charles L. Dodge, Frank L. Gibbs, William Bemis, Henry D. Everleth, Zenas Butterfield, Waitstill Pettee, Wm. L. G. Whitney, George S. Whitney, Marshal B. Holton, Edward C. Foster, Joseph C. Mansfield, William H. Mansfield and Charles W. Mansfield who died and was buried in Newbern, N. C., but a record of his death is on the gravestone of his brother Wm. H. Mansfield.






The only church of this denomination was located on West Dummerston hill, about three miles from the valley of West River and one-4th.-mile from Marlboro boundary line. According to the best information obtained, the meeting-house was built about 1812. Mrs. Orrin L Bennett, a resident in that part of the town, now living, came there in 1820 and the meeting-house was built some years before that time.

The society was small but the attendance at church was very good for many years.

The society near the closing years of its existence found it quite difficult to sustain public worship and keep the house in repair, and therefore it was left a few years unoccupied, and was pulled down in 1866. The timber was sold to Edwin and Fayette Miller.


of Dover, appears to have been the first pastor of the society. He was their minister so early as 1823 and 24, Other ministers, remembered at the present day, are Elders Harris, House, John Prouty, Spencer, and Houghton.


This society had stated preaching as early as 1833, and possibly before that date. A library of moral and religious books had been organized by this society sometime previous, but the time of organization is not stated, though books were drawn in 1833. Preaching for the society was supplied occasionally by different ministers.

The first resident minister was Rev. Freeman Loring. After him came Rev. J. Britton. The non-resident. Ministers, who preached at stated times, were Rev. Charles Woodhouse, Rev. Aurin Bugbee and Rev. Otis Warren.

After the Union Church was built in 1842, this society settled Rev. Wm. N. Barber, that year, and his pastorate over them continued 5 years. The church was organized with about 25 members, Dec. 25, 1842, and Joel Knight was chosen deacon. That Christmas day was a notable time, it being not only the date of organizing the Universalist church, but the first time that Christmas was publicly observed in this town. After Mr. Barber's removal in 1847, the society languished, and no society of that denomination now exists in town.


The earliest record of this society reads as follows:

"We the subscribers hereby associate ourselves together for the purpose of building a Union Meeting house for religious worship, to be erected on the common near the east Meeting house in Dummerston for all religious denominations, to be used for religions purposes as long as a majority of said association shall direct, and each religious denomination shall have the use of said house in proportion to what interest they may own in said house.

The first meeting of said association shall be holden on the 16th day of March, 1842, and said Association to be known and called the Union Meeting house association."

At the first meeting, Mar. 16, 1842, Amasa Clark was chosen moderator, and Asa Knight, clerk. Roswell Sargeant, Stephen Dutton, Joel Knight and Wm. Bemis were chosen a committee to superintend the building of a meeting house and locate the same. Epa Cone, Stephen Dutton and Roswell Sargeant were chosen to draft a plan of the building. The committee recommended a plan presented by Lewis Holton and Winslow Dutton, who made with the committee a contract to build the meeting-house for $20 for each pew, or slip. Number of pews 38; cost $760. The piazza in front cost $81, additional.

The meeting house was finished according to contract in June and accepted by the committee, July 2, 1842, and the society voted to dedicate the house, July 1st, the same year. No record was made of the dedication on the record book. Samuel Knight made a present of a Bible to the society.

It does not appear on the record at what time Rev. William N. Barber, a Universalist minister from Alstead, N.H., became pastor of the society, but it was probably soon after the house was dedicated. He was pastor as late as 1846, at which time he was superintendent of schools. The annual meeting of the association was Aug. 28, 1846, as shown by the record. Mr. Barber probably removed from town the following year. Since that time the society has had no regular preacher and meetings were not long continued after that date.

In 1858 a meeting was called to see if the society would sell their meeting-house; but no sale of the building was made till 1872, when it was sold and removed to its present site. It was converted into a dwelling-house which is now, 1884, owned and occupied by Thomas N. Reed.


So far as can be ascertained, the following persons born in Dummerston have had the advantage of a collegiate course of education: Eli French, Ozro French, James Herrick. Ephriam Tenney, R. Dexter Miller, Sylvanus Baker Roel, Norman Miller, Isaac Knapp, Charles Miller, William Boyden, Dana Miller and Charles M. Knight. Ansel Irwin Miller graduated at Williams College 1881. William Dana Miller graduated in the class of 1882.

Laura Belle Haven graduated at Smith College, Northampton, Mass., in June 1881.


On page 148 add to the family of Gardner Knapp, Fanny M., b. Feb. 10, 1830, married 1st, Elisha W. Field, 2d, Morris E. Laughton.


[Continued from page 61.]

Ephraim Laughton married Lovicy Knapp, July 25, 1813. Children: Eveline; Rosanna; Morris E.; Lestina; Warren; Francis; Mary.

Thomas Laughton, married Rosanna Knapp, Jan. 81, 1810. Children: Chas. J.; Aurilla; I. Agostine; Catherine; Sarah; Diantha; William; Paschal; Fred H. Mrs. Laughton is living (1884), in her 80th year.

Jacob Laughton m. Lydia Bosworth about 1824. Children: Maria, married Leavitt Sargeant; Ellen, married Ozro Miller; Ransom; Austin, m. Fausta M. Wheeler.


Asa Laughton m. Lucy Dutton, Dec. 24, 1818. He was twice married and by the first marriage had a family of nine children that lived to adult age. He died in March, 1883, aged 87, having outlived all his large family. No family record could be found after his death, but the dates of his children's birth have been ascertained as nearly as can be from reliable sources and are given in parentheses. Children: George H. (1819); Lucy L. (1821); Asa E. (1823); Charles D. (1826); Mary T. (1828); Sarah J. (1831); John W. (1833); Martha M. (1836); Ellen (1840).


[Continued from page 122.]

John Miller m. Polly Davenport, Apr. 1, 1781. Children: Lewis, b. Nov. 19, 1782, m. Jerusha Farr; James m. Sarah Warner; Levi; Sally, b. Oct. 17, 1788, m. Cromwell Joy; Polly, b. Mar. 15, 1792, m. Waterman Joy; Rosanna, see page 145; Susan, see page 144; John B., b. Nov. 12, 1798, m. Phila Knight, Sept. 12, 1821. Children: James; Phila N.; Rose M.; Ellen J.; Henry C. d. 1833; Mary M.; John; Jane; H. Harry; Delia A. John B. died Mar. 13, 1876, aged 76. His widow is living (1884) in her 85th year. She has had 34 grand children of whom 29 are living. Her great-grand children are 12 in number. A large number of friends and relatives attended the golden wedding of Mr. and Mrs. Miller, Sept. 12, 1871. Royal, son of Marshal Miller, page 97, had children: Norman; Catherine; Seneca and Sarah; Lorenzo; Elizabeth; Ransom; Cyrus; Webster; Caroline.

Catherine, daughter of Charles Davenport, who married Benjamin Alvord, died in 1856.

Asa French married Mercy Rice.

Dolly Rice was born 1790. Simeon Rice, 1802.

Candace Norcross was born 1797.

Lieut. John Wyman, not Wymen, helped tip the tea into Boston harbor.

Josiah Dodge, the pensioner, died Feb. 9, 1815.

Rev. Josiah Merrill settled at Wiscasset, Me., in 1857.

Rev. Henry Marden returned to Marash, Turkey, in 1878.

The parsonage buildings were on the east side of the common, except the house of Rev. Joseph Farrar.



Leonard Spaulding, Mar. 12, 1778, 1781, '84, '86, '87.

Thomas Amsben, Mar. 12, 1778.

Jonathan Knight, October, 1778, '79, '80, '83.

Alexander Kathan, 1782, '83.

Hosea Miller, 1785.

William Sargeant, 1788.

Thomas Clark, 1789, '90.

Jason Duncan, 1791, '92, '93, '98, '99, 1806, '7, '8, '9, '10, '11.

Daniel Taylor, 1791, '95, '96, '97, 1801.

Jonas Walker 1800.

Samuel Porter, 1802, '3, '4, '5

Jonathan Huntley, 1812, '13, '14, '15, '16, '17, '22, '23.

Thomas Boyden, 1818 to 1822.

Marshall Miller, 1824, '25.

Josiah Taft, 1826, '27.

Joseph Duncan, 1828, '29, '36, '37.

Asa Knight, 1830, '31, '34, '35.

Enos Leonard, 1832, '33.

Samuel French, 1830, '40, '41.

Reuben Smead, 1842, '43.

None in 1844 and in 1845.

Wm. O. Miller, 1846, '47.

Winslow Dutton, 1848, '49.

George R. Miller, 1850.

Asa Dutton, 1851.

Not represented in 1852, '53.

Alonzo Dutton, 1854.

Not represented in 1855.

Asa Lawton, 1856, '57.

Not represented in 1858, '59.

Simeon Reed. 1860, '61.

Joseph Miller, 1862, '63.

Leroy Wilder, 1864.

George W. Walker, 1865, '66.

John K. Leonard, 1867, '68.

Stephen L. Dutton, 1869, '70, '72, '80.

Samuel N. Bemis, 1874.

Thomas N. Reed, 1870.

Horace R. Stoddard, 1878.


Stephen L. Dutton, 1880.

Lewis H. Lynde, 1882.

S. W. Estey, 1884.

J. C. Newton, 1886.

Adin F. Miller, 1888.

J. Arms Miller, 1890.

Joseph Miller is town clerk for 1890, and has served since 1849, or nearly 42 years.


The incident about the Spaulding family, page 27, was done by the advice of a physician. The sick daughter was Anna Spaulding. She recovered and became the wife of Samuel Laughton.

Nathan Cook, page 36, married Levinah Parmeter. Children: Polly, b. Jan. 27, 1789; Caty, b. Aug. 20, 1791. His wife died Apr. 8, 1792, aged. 38. He married, 2d, Susanna Davenport, Oct. 6, 1805.

Sylvanus Ballad, page 38, built the west room of the old house, not the one now standing, which was built in 1852 by John Bradley Bemis.

Col. Wm. Boyden and Thomas Boyden, page 40, were cousins and not brothers as stated.


Jesse Hildreth lived near the ferry in 1783, then known as Hildreth's ferry. His parents were Joseph and Lydia Hildreth, page 51, who lived on what is called the Morris Lawton place, half a mile west from the ferry. They were residents of the town before 1772, when Mr. Hildreth was one of the committee to locate the first burial ground and forward the building of the first meeting house. He settled near Putney West Hill, on land since owned by Wm. Wheeler and once the home of Lieut. Spaulding. He was born in 1724 and was son of Joseph Hildreth, from Petersham, Mass. He died July 4, 1796, aged 72. Lydia, his wife, died May 26, 1799, aged 68. Their children were Joseph, Anna, D. Stephens, Sally, Ezekiel, Jesse, Wilson, Lucy, Polly.

.Joseph m. Submit ____ about 1775. He died May 22, 1812, aged 64, and his wife died Aug. 6, 1829, aged 72. They had 16 children -- one boy and 15 girls. Hannah, the eldest, married James Johnson in 1792; Phoebe married Alpheus Higgins in 1797; Joseph married Abigail Bemis. No record of the other children. Joseph and Abigail's children were: Joseph, John, and George who married Mary Clark.

Jesse Hildreth married Lucy Severy, Sept. 10, 1787, and his brother Wilson married Lucy Hudson, Sept. 28, 1790. His sister Lucy married Caleb Higgins in 1796, and after her death in 1797 he married her sister Polly the following year.

Lt. Daniel Gates, page 56, died at the house of James Piper in Oakham, Mass.



The first meeting to organize resistance to the King's authority, took place on the 29th of October, 1774, when a majority of the inhabitants of Dummerston met near the house of Charles Davenport on the "green." The first shot of the Revolution, "heard around the world," was fired April 19, 1775, at Lexington. The blood of William French and Daniel Houghton was shed at Westminster, Mar. 13, 1775; but organized and effective defiance was not anywhere used previous to the release of Lieut. Spaulding who was committed to the common goal Oct. 28, 1774.


The name of Samuel Porter should appear on page 209 among the county officers, as chief judge of the County Court. His ancestors are in the following line: John Porter (b. 1596); Joseph ( b. 1638); Dea. Wiliam (b. 1674 ); Jabez (b 1723 ) was a graduate of Harvard in 1743.

Samuel, son of Jabez, was born April 10, 1763 and became a resident of Dummerston about 1794. He prepared for college at his father's Latin school in Braintree, Mass., and graduated from Dartmouth in 1790. He studied law with Stephen R. Bradley of Westminster, Vt., and was admitted to the practice of law in Windham county, Aug. 7, 1797; was commissioned captain of the 1st Co. 1st Reg. 1st Division of militia of this State, June 1, 1802; was elected chief judge of Windham County court for 1803-4-5; was judge of Probate for 1804-5. All his eight children were born in Dummerston, except the oldest, who was born in Townshend, Vt. Samuel W. m. Fanny, dau. of Hon. Mark and Ann (Ruggles) Richards of Westminster; Henry L. m. 1st, Betsey, dau. of Martin and Rebecca (Jacobs) Miller, 2d, Ann, dau. of Vespasian and Nabby Miller; Frederick A. m. Hannah, dau. of Dea. Thaddeus Thayer of Dummerston; Sophia C. m. Hon. Marshall Miller; George W. Lucretia II. Budurtha of Ware, Mass.; Serena S. m. Philip Goss of Amherst, Mass.; Amelia P. m. David Goss, a brother of Philip; Chas. E. m. Lydia Ann Emerson of Newburyport, Mass.


His ancestors prior to John Duncan, page 93, were as follows: John, son of Samuel Duncan of Newbury, Mass. He was granted laud in Billerica, Mass., 1670, and was married Feb. 23, 1674-5, to Joanna, dau. of Henry Jefts. He died of small pox, Dec. 19, 1690, and his widow, Joanna Duncan, married Benjamin Dutton, and on Aug. 1, 1692, was killed with two of her children by the Indians. At the time she was killed, her age was 36, her daughter, Mary, 16, and son, Benoni, less than two years.

The children of John and Joanna Duncan were: Mary, b. Mar. 25, 1676, killed by the Indians in 1692; John, jr., b. Oct. 28, 1678; Johanna, b. Apr. 9, 1681; Hannah, b. Nov. 21, 1683; Samuel, b. Jan. 4, 1686; Deliverance, b. Aug. 21, 1688; Benoni, b. Feb. 1, 1690-1, killed by the Indians in 1692. John, jr., ( b. 1678) m. June 16, 1701, Sarah Dutton. His son Simeon was born in Worcester Mass. in 1725 and married Aug. 22, 1743, Bridget Richardson of Billerica, Mass. Their children were, Jonah, b. Jan. 13, 1744, died Aug. 3, 1773; Samuel, b. Jan. 9, 1747, d. July 28, 1820; Jason, b. Jan. 10, 1750, d. Dec. 15, 1839, Rebekah, b. Apr. 23, 1753, d. 1795; Simeon, b. Oct. 23, 1755, d. 1836; Joanna, b. Feb. 6, 1758, d. Mar. 29, 1832; Persis, b. Nov 8, 1760; Sarah, b. Oct. 4, 1763; Azubah, b. May 20, 1766.

Jason (b. 1750 ) married Oct. 16, 1775, Sarah Gates of Rutland, Mass. Their children were, Joseph; Jonas m. Feb, 27, 1799, Clarissa Howe; Jason m. 1st, Lucy, sister of Dr. Abel Duncan; 2d, Beulah Duncan, a sister of Zurvilla who m. Levi Goddard; Priscilla m. Oct. 14,1804, Ephraim French; Samuel m. Anna Sargeant; Tyler m. Polly Bentley; Sarah m. Elias Hadley. Jonas died, and Clarissa, his widow, m. Feb. 7, 1816, Elias Wilder of Ellisburgh, N.Y.

Samuel Duncan ( b. 1747) m. 1st, Betsey Stevens, and their children were: Lucretia, b. in Worcester, Mass., Aug. 3, 1773, m. Dec. 2, 1802, Noah Hill of Stratton, Vt.; Jonas, b. Sept. 6, 1775, in Worcester. Samuel m. 2d, in 1780, Patience, dau. of Stephen Choate. Children: Betsey, b. in Guilford, Vt., m. Oct. 14, 1800, James Clark of Dummerston; Simeon, b. in Dummerston, July 26, 1782; Arathusa m. Aug. 3, 1806, Barnard Salisbury of Dummerston; Fanny m. 1810, James Salisbury. jr., of Guilford; Azubah m. Nathan Salisbury; Electa m. Jan. 20, 1814, Anson Maltby of Richland, N.Y.; Samuel m. Betsey Marsh; Rebecca, unmarried; Nancy.


Miranda, dau. of Joseph Duncan, esq., page 93, m. about 1816 Benjamin Hadley.

Simeon, the father of Judge Jason, died Jan. 19, 1781. Bridget, his wife, died Oct. 4, 1807. Samuel, ( b. 1747 ) died in Townshend, Vt.; Patience, his wife, d. Nov. 9, 1825, in Dummerston.

Jason Duncan came to this town soon after his marriage in the fall of 1775. His father was a farmer and he followed the same occupation, learning in addition the cooper’s trade. He taught school in Dummerston and was known as a strict disciplinarian. Whether he or Chas. Davenport was the first school teacher in town, page 92, must be decided in favor of Davenport, for the reason that Mr. Davenport was an inhabitant of the town ten years before Mr. Duncan.

He was a Revolutionary soldier and enlisted in 1777 in the war against Great Britain; was with a detachment of the American army at Manchester, Vt.; became lieutenant; was in the campaign against General Burgoyne; was with the army at Bennington till within a few days of the battle when he was sent home on account of sickness.





From a paper read before the Vermont Historical Society at Montpelier, Oct. 15, 1878, we obtain the information that Lieut. Leonard Spaulding was representative front this town to the first General Assembly which met at Windsor, Mar. 19, 1778.

The first legislature resulted from the constitution of July, 1777; and the constitution was the result of the general conventions, to which, from 1771 until 1777, the care of the most important interests of the people had been committed.

The first record of delegates from this town was in 1774, Nov. 28, when Solomon Harvey, Ebenezer Haven and Hosea Miller were chosen "to set as delegates in the County Congress at Westminster on the 30th inst." Jan. 3, 1775, Solomon Harvey, Jonathan Knight, William Boyden, Enoch Cook, Leonard Spaulding, Josiah Boyden and Ebenezer Haven were chosen as a committee of inspection or safety to inspect the conduct of the inhabitants agreeable to an order of the Rt. Hon. Continental Congress. Feb. 3, and May 22, 1776, Enoch Cook, Richard Kelly at the former date, Enoch Cook and Thomas Clark at the latter date, were chosen delegates to "set" at Westminster.

John Hooker was chosen delegate, Nov. 28, 1775, also again chosen with Josiah Boyden, Dec. 21. 1775. Dea. Jonathan Cole of Westmoreland, N.H., was chosen Feb. 26, 1776, to meet with the county committee to meet at John Sargent's in Brattleboro, to draw up a remonstrance to send to the Continental Congress at Philadelphia, concerning the bloody massacre on the 13th of March last. June 8, 1776, Joseph Hildreth and Leonard Spaulding were chosen delegates to "set" at Westminster, and on Aug. 15, 1776, the same persons were chosen to "set" at Dorset. They were instructed by a committee chosen for that purpose to appear at Dorset, Sept. 25th, 1776, and what course to follow in the convention.

Hon. E. P. Walton says in an address given before the Vt. His. Soc., that on "Mar. 26, 1778, Doct. Thomas Amsden was appointed on a committee with two known members, to copy acts of the legislature for the information of the people. Thomas Amsden rendered an account for that service, dated at Dummerston, which was allowed by the governor to 'Doct. Amsden,' Dummerston was probably entitled to two members in March, 1778, and had but one in Deming's list."



Jason Duncan, 1791; Alexander Kathan, 1793; Jonathan Huntley, 1814 '18, '28; Marshall Miller, 1822; Samuel Knight, 1836; John Clark, 1843; Asa Dutton, 1850.


The following persons from Dummerston have served in County offices

ASSISTANT JUDGES: Jason Duncan, in 1801. '02, '06. `08; Thomas Miller in 1847.

JUDGES OF PRORATE: Dana Miller, 1823; Marshall Miller, 1831, '32, '40, '41, '42; Asa Knight, 1834, '35, '36.

CLERK OF THE COUNTY COURT, Marshall Miller, 1841, '42, '43, 44, '45. 46, 47, '48, '49, '50.


chosen at the organization of the town, were: Joseph Hildreth, moderator, Enoch Cook, town clerk; Ebenezer Haven, supervisor; Alexander Kathan and Benjamin Jones assessors; Rufus Sargeant and Cyrus Houghton collectors; Joseph Hildreth, Benjamin Jones and Charles Davenport, surveyors of highways; Isaac Miller, Samuel Wiswell and Cyrus Houghton commissioners to lay out highways; Shepard Gates and Barzillai Rice, fence-viewers; Rufus Sargeant, Barzillai Rice, Ebenezer Haven and Daniel Kathan constables; Alexander Kathan and William Boyden overseers of the poor.


The settlers' first meeting was March 4, 1771, at which time Enoch Cook was chosen "settlers' clerk." The town was organized May 19, 1772, and he was chosen at that time, "Town clerk" and remained in office till May 18, 1773, when Solomon Harvey was chosen as his successor. He resigned in April 1775, and on May 16th, the same year, Jonathan Knight was chosen in his place, and was clerk till 1780. Jason Duncan, from 1780 to 1804, and from 1807 to 1812, in all 29 years. Samuel Porter, from 1804 to 1807; Joseph Duncan, son of the former town clerk, "Judge Duncan," served from 1812 to 1849, 37 years; Joseph Miller, from 1849, and is still in office, 1879.


There were 19 heads of families in 1761, and a population of about 75. The number of white males under 16, in 1771, was 54; above 16 and under 60 years, 54; 60 and upwards 3; Females under 16 years, 37; above 16 years, 40; black males, 1; total population in 1771 was 189; heads of families, 44. The population in 1791, was 1501; in 1800, 1692; in 1810, 1704; in 1820, 1658; in 1830. 1592; in 1840, 1263; in 1850, 1645; in 1860, 1022; 1870, 916. The rank in population of the towns in Windham County in 1791, makes this town fifth in number. In 1850, the rank was three. The value of ratable property in 1781 was $2970; in 1791, $4978.


These little landscapes of the dead in Dummerston are six in number, three in the west part and three in the east part of the town. All of' them are simply old-fashioned grave-yards. There is very little about them like what we see in the village cemeteries of large places. They are not so neat and beautiful as many would like to have them, and yet when the visitor calls there, it will be seen that evergreen trees and shrubbery shade the graves of departed generations, that the grass is left to grow green, then to wither and die on these hillocks, that the leaves fall just as autumn scatters them and lie close-folded over the uplifted turf; and he will not fail to notice that a sacredness is present in the still air-present in the sod as his foot gently touches it, that is in holy unison with death and the grave. The whispers of watching angels are these for the seal of God's acre is not overlaid by the devices of man's hand.

The settlers at their first meeting in 1771, not only chose a committee to select a spot for the meeting-house, but chose "Daniel Kathan, Charles Davenport and Joseph Hildreth to look out a burying place." A spot on the common south of the meeting-house was selected for that purpose.

In 1792, the town voted to "remove the burying-ground, and a new lot was selected on the land of Hosea Miller. Daniel Gates, Seth Hudson and Col. Wm. Boyden were chosen a committee to receive subscriptions for fencing the new lot, superintending the building of the fence and to contract with Hosea Miller for the land. They were not successful in obtaining subscriptions; and the town voted Dec. 10, 1793, to raise the money, $105, "for fencing the new burying ground. The remains of the dead in the old lot were probably moved to the new ground that year.

We are not certain when the other burial-lots were located. The first person, buried in the grave-yard east of the Hollow, was a negro, and said to be buried on the brow of the hill on the east side. At the time the yard was fenced, the wall was laid over the foot of the grave.

The oldest gravestone in that yard is one erected:

"In memory of Sally daughter of Tilotson Miller and Mrs. Hannah his wife, died Sept. 25, 1785, aged 3 years."

In the graveyard near the Centre, the oldest gravestone has the following inscription:

Mary daughter of David and Mary Laughton died Oct. 10, 1782, aged 8 mos. 6 days. These at the cost of Mrs. Margaret Spaulding.

Mrs. Spaulding was the mother of Mrs. Mary Laughton and grandmother of the child.

The first white marble grave-stone erected in this yard, is that of Mrs. Hannah Knowles who died Mar. 9, 1805, aged 59, "Erected by John Knowles as it tribute of respect to a kind mother. This memorial was erected by her son."


Was the ancestor of the Wilson families that settled in Dummerston. He was one of the first settlers on Putney West Hill, but living very near to Dummerston line, was much associated with the affairs in the west part of this town in early times. When the Baptist church was organized in West Dummerston, 1783, he was, one of the original members He was born in Rehoboth, Mass., and settled on Putney West Hill probably about 1780. In early life, he was a sailor on board of whaling vessels, mostly in northern seas. During the Revolutionary war, he enlisted in the expedition to Montreal and Quebec under General Montgomery in December 1775, and suffered extreme hardship from cold and hunger, being at one time without food for three days. He was a volunteer soldier in the battle of' Bennington and fought with distinction. He joined in the raid under Eathan Allen against the "Yorkers" in Guilford. His title of captain came from the circumstance of his being chosen commander of a militia company in Putney. Captain Wilson was a man of strong mind and had a good faculty for settling neighborhood troubles without recourse to law. He died in 1830, and must have been 85 or more years of age. His wife was Sarah Turner, of Rehoboth, Mass. They were married about 1766 or '67. Children: Hannah, m. Luther Butler, Aug. 25, 1790;

Fairing, b. 1770, married 1st, Molly (Polly) Manley, and by this marriage had Abel, Rufus, Hannah, who married Gideon Cudworth, Thomas, 2d, Rachel Joy, who died Jan. 1861, aged 82; and had two more children ---- Sanford W. and Adaline who m. Levi M. Walker;

Abel b. 1772, m. Betsey Taft.

Reuben, b, 1774, m. Mercy Manley. Children: Sally, Mercy, Mary, Lucy, Seneca R. Chloe, James M., Marshall R., and Abram B.

Joseph, born 1777, m. Abigail Cudworth; children: Gideon H., Abigail, Shepard S., Sarah C., George F., and Elihu M.

Abram, the schoolmaster and quaker, b. 1780, went to New York state.

Sally, m. a minister by the name of Smith and removed to Sherbrooke in Canada.

Betsey, m. Benj. Campbell, father of E. B. Campbell, Esq., of Brattleboro.

Wheaton, b. 1788, m. 1st, Rachel Taft, 2d, Sally Taft, Mar. 5, 1818, a sister of the first wife.

Chloe m. John Turner.

Fairing Wilson and his brothers, Reuben, Joseph and Wheaton, settled in Dummerston. Fairing died in 1842, aged 72. Reuben removed in 1835 with his family to Cattaraugus Co., N.Y., where he died in 1863, aged about 90. His daughter, Lucy, married Chas. Black, and Chloe married Zenas Butterfield, brother of Hon. E. T. Butterfield, of Wilmington.

Abram married his wife, Abigail, in Rochester, N.Y., and had two children, Isaac and Sarah. He died in 1866, aged 86.

Joseph Wilson died in 1864, aged 87. His son, Gideon H., m. Lydia, dau. of Dea. Jesse and Betsey (French) Manley and removed to Weston, New York.

Abigail Wilson, m. John Manley. Sarah C. m. John Witney.

Abel and Betsey Wilson's children were: Angeline, John, Ezekiel, Waitstill, Harriet, Mary, George, Abel, Sarah, Daniel and Sophia.

Wheaton Wilson's children by the 1st marriage were: Albert and Wheaton; by the 2d, Laura J., Mary, Mraia F., Alonzo, Emily, Sophia, Caroline L., John, William Walter and Wallace W.


Andrew Mansfield, with his wife Elizabeth, dau. of Rev. Wm. Walton, came to America from Exeter, in Devonshire, England, and was in Boston in 1636 and Lynn in 1639. John, probably a brother of Andrew, came in the ship Susan and Ellen from London in 1635, aged 34, and was freeman in 1643. Robert Mansfield, who died in Lynn, Dec. 16, 1666, was, doubtless, the father of Andrew and John. He came to Lynn about a year after his sons settled in that town. Andrew's children, order uncertain, were John, Joseph, Elizabeth, Andrew, Robert, who died young, and Samuel, all born in England. Andrew, son of Andrew, was born in 1630, was town clerk in Lynn several years and a prominent man in town affairs. He married 1st, Bethiah ____; 2d Mrs. Mary Neale, widow of John Neale and daughter of Francis Lawes; 3d, Mrs. Elizabeth Conant. Joseph, son of Andrew, had wife Eliza and had son Joseph, born Mar. 20, 1661, and may have had other children.

His wife died in 1662, and his son married, Apr. 1, 1768, Eliza, daughter of Isaac Williams of Salem, and had Eliza, Joseph and Sarah. Samuel, son of Andrew, married Mar. 3, 1674, Sarah Barshaw, and had Andrew, Sarah and Bethiah. Andrew, born in 1630, had by the first marriage, Andrew, Samuel, Hannah, Bethiah, Mary, Lydia, Deborah, Daniel and Rebecca. Daniel was born June 9, 1669; married, 1st, Hannah ____; 2d, Mrs. Margaret Burrill; had children Samuel, Daniel, Andrew, Bethiah, and Hannah. He was a deacon of Lynn church. His son Andrew was born Apr. 24, 1692, married Dec. 13, 1712, Sarah Breed and lived in Lynnfield. He was killed, Aug. 28, 1730, by a stone falling on him in a well. He had children, Andrew and Daniel. Daniel was born Nov. 24, 1717, married, 1st, Lydia Newhall, who died May 18, 1776; 2d, Ruth ____. He was a farmer and a deacon of Lynnfield church, and died in Lynnfield, Apr. 2, 1797. He had children, Lydia, b. Sept. 16, 1739, m. Allen Breed and resided in New Ipswick, N.H.; Daniel, b. Dec. 27, 1741, m. Nov. 5, 1765, Lydia Norwood; Ezra, b. June 11, 1745, m. Feb. 21, 1769, Rebecca, dau. of Samuel Kinney; Elijah, b. June 22, 1747, m. in Chelmsford, Mass., May 18, 1769, died May 18, 1778; William, b. May 20, 1749, m. Aug 31, 1790, Betty Townsend; Love, b. Apr. 25, 1751, m. in Lynn, Jan. 15, 1767, Ezekiel Newhall, and she died May 12, 1775; Susannah, b. Apr. 28, 1753, m. a Walton; Levi, b. Mar, 31, 1755, m. Jan. 29, 1781; Andrew, b. Sept. 21, 1757, m. Jane Breed, who died July 25, 1778; Jacob; and Sarah. This brings the record on pages 211 and 212 down to Dea. Ezra Mansfield.


For which ourselves and others asked. -Ed.

D. L. Mansfield was born in Salisbury, N.H., Sept. 17, 1837, and is the eldest and only one living of six children, sons of Jesse J. and Hannah (Lufkin) Mansfield, viz: David L., Joseph C., William H., Charles W. 2d, and Hollis C. Three were soldiers in the late war for the Union. The youngest died of fever at the age of 20. His mother died Feb. 14, 1875, aged 65. His father is still living and receives a pension from the U. S. government.

His grand-parents were Aaron and Betsey (Jaquith) Mansfield, married, in Alstead, N.H., in 1805, and whose children were: Aaron, Jesse J., Hollis, Emery, Keziah B., and Lewis H.

The great-grand-parents were: Deacon Ezra and Rebecca (Kenney) Mansfield, married in New Ipswich, N.H., Feb. 21, 1769, whose children were: Ezra, jr., Rebecca, Azuba, Aaron, Elijah, Barach and Asa.

Deacon Ezra Mansfield was a resident of Lynn, Mass., in 1766, where two of his brothers, Daniel and William, and a sister Lydia, were married. He died in Alstead, N.H., Feb. 5, 1838, aged 92 years.

The subject of this sketch had few advantages for schooling until after fourteen years of age. Beginning in 1852, he worked on a farm during the greater portion of each year and attended school for three winters in the village of Walpole, N.H., where he had the advantages of a high school. Six terms of school under the instruction of Prof. L. F. Ward at Westminster, two at Papermill Village, N.H., and one at Power's Institute, Bernardston, Mass., concluded his academical course of study. Money enough was saved from his wages to meet all the expenses of his education and also pay a considerable sum to his parents for time purchased before he was of age. The misfortune of ill health, caused by rheumatism, changed his course of life at the age of 22 years. Instead of being a farmer, as anticipated, he engaged in school teaching, which, thus far in life, has been his principal occupation.

In 1861 he became a resident of Dummerston. March 11, 1873, he married Clarissa Amy, dau. of Benjamin and Clarissa (Farr) Estabrook, Beginning in 1857, he taught district schools four successive winters in Walpole, N.H., where he was a resident from 1852 till he removed to Dummerston. Since that time he has been connected with the schools of this town, 21 years as teacher, and 15 years as town superintendent.


John (1) Dutton came to this country from England, probably, with Governor Winthrop, in 1630. Thomas (2) son of John (1) was born in England, in 1621; came to America with his father. Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2), born Sept. 14, 1648, was a resident of Billerica, Mass., where John (4), son of Thomas (3), was probably born about 1670. Samuel (5), son of John (4), b. about 1691, married about 1713, Hannah Hill. Samuel (6) ( Samuel (5)), born about 1718, married Aug. 19, 1740, Martha Lane. Samuel (7) ( Samuel (6)), born July 11, 1743, married about 1768, Rebecca French, sister of Wm. French, killed in the, Westminster massacre, March 13, 1775. See page 41.


For children's births see page 41. They married as follows: Polly married Dec. 27, 1807, Shepard Gates; Patty married Abraham, son of Rev. Abraham Wood, of Chesterfield, N.H., and brother of Alphonzo Wood, the botanist; Susan married, Mar. 6, 1828, Joel Gates; Asa married, 1819, Mary Day; Sibyl died in 1808; Sally married Jonathan Thayer; Lucy married, Dec. 4, 1818, Asa Lawton; Stephen married Electa Sargeant.

Capt. Timothy Lull came to Dummerston in 1763 from Ipswich, Mass. His wife died and was buried in this town. He afterwards removed to Hartland, Vt.


The census of Dummerston, taken Apr. 17, 1771, contains the name of Samuel Wiswell, page 37, and no trace of him could be found up to 1884, when the history of this town was first published. Since then we learned that he removed to Townshend, Vt. He was known as Ensign Samuel Wiswell, and his sister Mary married Lieut. Asa Austin. They made the first settlement on a farm in Townshend, now owned by Riley H. Austin and A. A. Nason.


Nathaniel French, page 42, descended from William (6), John (5), William (4), born in Halstead, Essex Co., England, Mar. 13, 1603; Thomas (3), Thomas (2), Thomas (1). The name of French has been traced back to its origin in 910, and is of Norman descent.

Joanna French, page 43, who died Sept. 9, 1800, aged 72, was the second wife of Nathaniel French. Her maiden name was Kingsley and she was born Sept. 3, 1729. Her first husband was David Stoddard. See page 186.

Asa French, page 42, m. Mercy Rice. He was born Jan. 31, 1760, d. Oct. 16, 1839. She was born Aug. 11, 1760, d. June 20, 1847. Their children were Jesse, b. Nov. 12, 1783; Asa, jr.; Stephen, b. June 27, 1788, m. Polly Pierce, born Jan. 1, 1790, and is now living in her 102d year; Jonathan, b. Jan. 19, 1791; Mercy; Lyman; Asa 2d; Betsey; Chester.

Ephraim French, page 43, d. Dec. 3, 1848. Priscilla, his wife, b. Feb. 1, 1785, d. Oct. 31, 1844. Their children, born in Dummerston, were Nelson, b. Feb. 16, 1806, m. Mary Kendall; Louisa m. Luke Norcross; Charles m. Eliza Wilder; Sally D. m. Sheldon G. Hendrick; Mary; Alvan m. Caroline A. Clark; Horace m. Lucy Hall; Lucy Priscilla m. Cephus Dwight Corse; Ephraim S. died young.


The practice began in the spring of 1807. Among the prominent families warned out of town in the course of a few years, were Rutherford Hayes, father of Ex-President Rutherford B. Hayes, Oct. 14, 1811; Sardis Birchard, Aug. 31, 1815; Austin Birchard, Aug 9, 1817, both men rich uncles of the Ex-President; also John Noyes who married Polly Hayes, a sister of Rutherford Hayes, was warned out, Aug. 9, 1817.



Lieut. Daniel Gates purchased lot No. 65, Dec. 26, 1774, for $77. At that time he was 23 years of age. How soon he made a clearing and built a house is not known. He was in the Revolutionary war and was an officer under Gen. Horatio Gates at the battle of Saratoga in 1777, when Gen. Burgoyne surrendered his army of 8000 British soldiers to the victorious American general. Lieut. Gates built, at first 2 one-story house on his new land and encouraged others to build near his residence by selling them house lots on his farm. May 19, 1788, he sold Silas Fairchild, joiner and cabinet maker, ¾ acre of land for $24, on which he built a house that is now, with several acres of adjoining land, the property of Rev. M. H. Wells. Fairchild built a house costing $113, and sold his place Dec. 6, 1789 to Capt. John Metcalf for $137. The captain probably fitted up the house for his approaching marriage. Mar. 9, 1791, he married Sally Taylor of Hinsdale, N.H. He bought of Dea. Simeon Colby a store standing on the north side of the common and in the southwest corner of land now belonging to the Benjamin Estabrook place. Dec. 19, 1791, he sold his homestead and store to Col. Wm. Moore of Greenfield; Mass., for $567. He probably disposed of his real estate on account of ill health, as his death occurred in about two months from the time of the sale. A large slate stone marks the place of his burial in the cemetery east of the common. A portion of the stone has been broken into fragments, but the following epitaph on the tombstone has been made out after careful study:

Momento Mori.

Sacred to the Memory of Mr. John Metcalf, Capt. of a Company of light horsemen, in the Militia of this State; whom he served with Reputation; and who honored his Remains by burying them under Arms.

Death, the King of Terrors,

After a long Conflict,

Dismounted and triumphed over

This brave Captain of Dragoons:

Who, in the 29th Year of his age,

Much lamented by his friends,

Fell a victim to this last enemy,

Feb. 13, 1792.

Col. Moore sold the homestead, which he bought of Capt. Metcalf to Samuel Porter, Esq., April 5, 1797. In June, 1791, Mr. Gates sold acre of land just south of his house to Cotton Skinner, a shoe-maker, for $27, on which he erected a small house, and on Nov. 12, 1792, sold out to Nathan Cook for $200. Mr. Cook was a son of Enoch Cook, sen., and married Levina Parmeter of Newfane. He sold to Seth Kellogg. a cabinet maker, from South Hadley, Mass., of whom Samuel Porter purchased the place. The building at one time was used for a store by Mr. Gates a few years before his death in 1807. Nathan Cook lived before 1792 in a house near the top of Prospect hill west of Gates' farm in lot No. 83, It was sold by him to Jonathan Barrus, a bricklayer, who sold it, with 25 acres of land, to Ebenezer Wait in 1796, who sold it to Enoch Cook, from whom Porter bought it in 1798 for $400. At that time a house and barn, a good orchard and well were on the place. The apple orchard, which is a century old, still bears considerable fruit. Mr. Wait was a blacksmith from South Hadley, Mass., and bought five acres of land in 1784 on which he built a shop, the site of which is near a butternut tree just north of the gate on the road leading up to Clark Bacon's house. He bought a house which stood opposite the shop, of Mrs. Sarah Cutler, wife of Seth Cutler. Wait also owned a piece of land south of his dwelling, which once belonged to the minister lot.

He sold the whole of his real estate in 1800 to Stephen Woodbury, who in a few days sold it to Ebenezer Haven for $1000, and shortly transferred by Haven to Porter. These several purchases made by Judge Porter secured to him a farm in one of the pleasantest localities in Dummerston. On this farm he built one of the largest residences in town. Mr. Wait died in 1801, and his widow, Cloe Wait, married Thomas Turner, Aug. 26, 1802.

Lieut. Gates built some years before his death a two-story addition to his house. He died very suddenly in 1807 while absent from home. His estate was sold to John Laughton in 1810. He was the grand father of Augustine Laughton and was sometimes called " Dea." John to distinguish him from John Laughton, the father of Capt. Asa, then living in town. John the father of Asa. was a good mathematician. His name appears on the records as a county surveyor of lands and roads. After 1812 his surname was spelled Lawton. He died in 1817. "Dea." John lived on the Gates farm 43 years.

John Miller, brother of Marshall, both of whom were Revolutionary soldiers, bought one-half of lot No. 84 west of No. 65, in 1782, and Daniel Gates purchased the other half the same year. The northern half was settled by Miller, on which he built a house where the Miller family resided about 100 years.


His children, 12 in number, were all born in Worcester, Mass. They were Vespasian, born June 2, 1740; died July 6. 1812; Hosea, born April 1, 1742, died May 7, 1795; Rosanna, born May 19, 1744, died June 28, 1794; Sarah, born Oct. 22, 1745, died Nov. 27, 1821; Tillotson, born Aug. 25, 1747, died Aug. 9, 1804; Patience, born June 4, 1749, died Jan. 22, 1822; Isaac, born Nov. 12, 1752, died Feb. 14, 1826; Marshall, born Sept. 20, 1754, died June 10, 1807; John, born Dec. 20, 1756, died Dec. 19, 1834; Joseph, born Feb. 21, 1758, died Sept. 26, 1814; Catharine, born June 13, 1759, died Jan. 2, 1838; William, born Oct. 2, 1761, died April 16, 1802.

Add to the family of Gardner Knapp, page 148, Fanny Mariah, b. Feb. 10, 1830, m., 1st, Elisha W. Field, 2d, Morris E. Lawton.

Joel Knights, jr., pages 140 and 141, was the son of Joel and Esther (Farr) Knight. He married Jan. 1, 1829, Fanny M., dau. of Dr. Abel and Lydia Duncan. Children: Fanny Sophia, b. Oct. 12, 1829, m. Rev. S. H. McCollester, D. D., Nov. 23, 1852; Celia Maria, b. Nov. 22, 1831, d. Aug. 31, 1846; Evaline Duncan, b. Apr. 10, 1834, m. May 19, 1857, Col. Wm. H. Greenwood; Esther Lydia, b. Aug. 29, 1836, m. Oct. 12, 1858, Edwin Guild; Mary Lucinda, b. Feb. 1, 1839, m. June 18, 1861, Asa Dutton; Joel Murry, b. April 10, 1842, d. July 22, 1845; Susan Helen, b. Feb. 1, 1848, d. Apr. 9, 1876; Charles Mellen, b. Feb. 1, 1848, m. Aug. 31, 1882, May Acomb.


son of John and Hannah Whitney, resided in Dummerston from 1804, till his death in April, 1861, at the age of about 60.


Abbie G. and Ada E. were the youngest children of David and Betsey Reed.

John French, jr., page 105, was a son of John French on page 96.

The man from whom the town took away his gun, because they suspected it contained a ball more friendly to the King than Congress, was Alexander Kathan, Esq., pages 13, 111, 115. His brother, Daniel Kathan. was the neighbor who watched him during his year of banishment.

Alexander Kelley was born in Hopkinton, Mass., Apr. 21, 1755, m. Elizabeth - about 1773. Children: Mary, 1775; Sarah; Nancy; Elizabeth, Alexander, jr.; Lucinda; Lawson.

William Kelley m. Lucy ___ -about 1772. Children: James; Amos; Samuel; William, jr., John; Lucy.

Nathan Adams m. Ruth Kendrick about 1782. Children: Ethylinda; Polly; Clarissa; Ruth; Hannah; Nathan; Clark; Fanny Sophia; Betsey; Lovinia; Milo K.

Lt. Josiah J. Allen m. Desire Jones (?) about 1777. Children Phebe; Sarah; Johnson; Desire; Josiah, jr.

Charles Allen m. Elizabeth Gilman, Nov. 3, 1786. Children: Charles; William; Eliphlet; Harry, Harriet; Emelia.

Thomas Sargeant, page 23, married Anna Stebbins. Children, Elihu, b. May 3,1758; Anna, b. June 18, 1760; Calvin, b. Nov. 9, 1763; Electa, b. Oct. 31, 1765; Luther, b. May 15, 1786; Susanna, b. Jan. 5, 1770;

Erastus, b Nov. 16, 1771; Roxanna; Roswell, b. Nov. 27, 1776; Henry. Elisha, son of Thomas, married Mary Kathan. Children:: Elihu, b. Nov. 13,1780; Molly; Clarisa; Thomas; Alexander; Chester; George. The father died Dec. 1, 1833.



CAPT. ISAAC MILLER, presented by the artist, Leslie Miller of Philadelphia. JOSEPH DUNCAN, ESQ., JOEL KNIGHT AND MRS. ESTHER FARR KNIGHT, from paintings by Belknapp in 1832, Mrs. EVA D. GREENWOOD.

JOEL KNIGHT JUNIOR, by Mrs. Fanny (Duncan) Knight.

COL. WM. H. GREENWOOD - steel engraving by Mrs. Eva D. Greenwood.

MRS. ROSANNA M. WILLIAMS, by Mrs. Williams and grand-son, J. H. Merrifield.

ELIJAH and ANNA ( MILLER ) RICE and CLARK RICE, by Mrs. Milton Miller, grand-daughter and daughter.

HON. ASA and MRS. SUSAN M. KNIGHT, by their children.

ASA MILLER, by his children.

ALONZO DUTTON, by Myron F. Dutton and Mrs. Adin F. Miller, grand children.

JOSEPH MILLER, by Mrs. Sophia Arms Miller.

J. EDSON WORDEN, by Mr. Worden.

WM. O. MILLER, by Mr. Miller.

DAVID L. MANSFIELD, by his friends.

MILLER FAMILY COAT OF ARMS, by Col. Chas. D. Miller of Newark, O.