For the last 40 years there has been from 20 to 28 weeks’ schooling yearly in nearly all of the districts.  The following were chosen superintending committee of schools, under the statute passed in 1827:
1828, Epaphroditus Ransom, Rev. James Kimball, Rev. Joseph M. Graves, Dr. W. R. Ranney, Oliver Wilkinson, Jr., Samuel Gray, Dana Bailey; 

1829, Charles Phelps, James Kimball, Epaphroditus Ransom, Samuel Gray, Oliver Wilkinson, Jr., Horace Starkweather, W. R. Ranney; 

1830, Charles Phelps, W. R. Ranney, James Kimball, Silas Clark, Horace Starkweather, W. R. Ranney, Simeon Chamberlain; 

1832, Charles Phelps, W. R. Ranney, Dana Bailey, Simeon Chamberlain, Charles Clark; 

1833, Simeon Chamberlain, Charles Phelps, Horatio N. Graves, Epaphroditus Ransom, Oliver Wilkinson, Jr.

      Town superintendents of schools chosen in the following years:
1846-50, 1852-54, Rev. Horace Fletcher; 
1851, Waitstill R. Ranney; 
1855, Rev. John Wood; 
1856-59, Claudius B. Smith; 
1860-63, Rev. Chester L. Cushman, 
1864-66-68, Nelson Winslow; 
1867-71, Lincoln E. Shattuck; 
1869-70, George H. Houghton; 
1872-76, Rev. Franklin W. Olmsted; 
1877-78, Prof. C. C. Boynton.

      On the 9th of January, 1837, the town appointed Clark Wilkinson, Samuel Gray, and Horace Howe, trustees to receive and take charge of such sum of United States deposit money as the town may be entitled to receive from the treasurer of this State, agreeably to an act of the Legislature thereof, approved Nov. 17, 1836.  At the same meeting the town passed the following resolution:

      Resolved,  As the sense of this meeting, that the money to be deposited in the hands of the trustees shall be loaned to individuals of the town with one or more sureties, in sums not less than fifty dollars, nor over one hundred dollars; preference to be given to those who wish it to pay debts, over those who are in easy circumstances.

      The following persons were chosen in the years set against their names, to serve as trustees of the United States deposit money:

Clark Wilkinson, 1837-62, Samuel Gray, 1837-52, Horace Howe, 1837-42, Ralph Brintnall, 1843-45, John Blanchin, 1846-65, Charles D. Bellamy, 1853-58, Charles Clark, 1859-65, Alfred A. Ranney, 1864-65, James H. Phelps, 1866-78.

1847, March 29. The town voted to borrow fifteen hundred dollars of the United States deposit money, for benefit of the town.


Distributed to Townshend on census of 1830  $3,308.67
Distributed to Townshend on census of 1840  $3,083.51
Distributed to Townshend including Acton, on census of 1850  $3,888.08
Distributed to Townshend on census of 1860  $2,921.83
Distributed to Townshend on census of 1870  $2,370.43


      Commencing in 1826 and ending in 1833, during the fall of each year a select school was kept at the West Village.  The terms for 1826 and 1827 were kept by Mr. Fisher; those for 1828 and 1829 by Mr. Cressy; and that for 1830 by Mr. Stuart.  These gentlemen were college graduates; the first two of Amherst and the last of Middlebury college.


      What is now the Leland and Gray Seminary at Townshend, was incorporated by the Legislature of Vermont in 1834, under the name of the Leland Classical and English School.  The name was given in honor of Lieut. Gov. Leland, a prominent clergyman in the Baptist denomination.  The school was organized under the Woodstock Association of Baptist Churches.  In 1886, through the efforts of Mr. E. J. Knapp, a fund of over $11,000 was obtained for this school.  A. F. Tilton, A. B., was the first principal.  Other prominent names appear as instructors.  Among them are Moses Lyford, H. L. Wayland, C. B. Smith, Horace Burchard, Edward Judson, Milon Davidson, and C. C. Boynton.  D. G. Smyth is the present principal.  English and classical studies are taught.  Pupils are fitted for any New England college.