Albemarle Co. Historical and Background Info

Historical and Background Items of Interest


The Hornbook of Virginia History

Albemarle County was named for William Anne Keppel, second earl of Albemarle and governor of the Virginia colony from 1737 to 1754.
Parishes: Fredericksville (also Louisa Co), Saint Anne's, Tillotson (1757-1761)

Virginia, A Guide to the Old Dominion

Charlottesville, the seat of Albemarle Co, is situated among the red clay foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the Rivanna River. In 1762, the general assembly "established a town," which was named for Queen Charlotte, wife of George III. Colonel Banastre Tarleton's raid in 1781 destroyed all the court order books. Court records, dating from 1748, escaped destruction.