Return to Home Page

Return to Early Appointed Officials Page

County Clerks of Trinity County

Compiled by Joseph W. Hensley, 1986, transcribed by Susanne Waller, April 2009.

The first County Clerk of Trinity County was John Johnston, elected August 5, 1850 and served until replaced by William K. Ford August 7, 1854.  Following him were: Bryant S. Mangum 1857; Benjamin F. Harper 1864; Bryant S. Mangum 1866 deceased 1867; W.L. Culbreath appointed by General Buchanan1869 but failed to qualify; G.W. Worthington appointed by General Reynolds 1869; J.T. Evans 1876; J.K. P. Stokes 1878; A.H. Stout 1888; W.O. Evans 1892; C.H. Kenley 1894; J.L. Dawson 1900; G.W. Locke 1910; Joe T. Sellers 1916; J. Ethel Davis 1920; Mrs. W.R. Reese 1924; Mrs. Addie Mangum 1936; Mrs. Addie Hinson 1940; Mrs. Hazel Ross 1944; R.M. Mangum 1946; Doxie Mills 1950; Bettie Mae Ainsworth 1962; Jorene Legg 1978;Elaine Ingram Lockhart 1982.