Home Page |Cemetery List | Table of Contents | E-Mail
The TXGenWeb Project
Crosby County
TXGenWeb Project

History of Cone Methodist Church

The Cone Church was organized Jan. 4, 1899 by Paul Bentley, pastor on the EMMA MISSION. It was begun at Farmer School, four miles west of Cone. A few years later the organization was moved to Cone.
The following were Charter Members:
"Grandpa" English
"Aunt Lucy" Noble
C.W. Mallard
Mr. and Mrs. Mizell
Mr. and Mrs. Joe Worden
Polk and Betty Long
Sam Wright
Mr. and Mrs. E.A. English

Services were held in the school house until 1910 when a church was built. Either A.H. Hulsey or D.D. Pipkin was pastor at that tme. For several years Cone was half time on a charge with Crosbyton, later it was on with Lockney Circuit. From about 1945 to 1953 it was Cone-Cann Chapel; and since that date it has been a station.

The parsonage was built in 1945, and C.A. Hartley was the first pastor to occupt it. Since then have come: P.T. Haynes
Clifford Trotter
Clifford Mayo
Westley Daniels
L.J. Helm
C.A. Norcross
Ray Forbes
L.D. Clevand
S.M. Bean.
D.A. Barnhart was the last Charge Lay Leader.

This history was written in 1960 by Mrs. Roxie Travis and Pastor Ray Forbes. While Forbes was pastor the church had 50 people on the mebership roll and the property was valued at$30,000.

After 1960 the church had two more pastors, L.D. Clevand and S.M. Bean. The church was officially closed in 1965.

Submitted by Tommy Forbes
Methodist Church Methodist church

Home Page | Cemetery List | Table of Contents | Helping with this Project

Crosby County TXGenWeb Project
Webmaster: Linda Fox Hughes

©Crosby County Historical Commission 1997-2017

This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without my consent.
The information on these pages is meant for personal genealogical research only and is not for commercial use of ANY type.