Carter County

On April 9, 1795, the General Assembly divided Washington County, and erected the eastern part into Carter County, which then included all of Johnson and part of Unicoi. This was just before Tennessee became a state on June 1, 1796.  The court of pleas and quarter sessions was organized on the 4th of July, 1796, at the house of Samuel Tipton. The magistrates present were Andrew Greer, Landon Carter, Nathaniel Taylor, David McNabb, Lochonah Campbell, Guttredge Garland, John Vaught, Joseph Lands and Reuben Thornton. They qualified in the following manner: Landon Carter administered the oaths to Andrew Greer, who in turn administered them to Col. Carter, and the remainder of the court, The following officers were then elected: Godfrey Carriger, register; Joseph Lands, ranger; George Williams, clerk; John Macun, trustee Nathaniel Taylor, sheriff, and Charles Colyer, Aaron Cunningham, Samuel Musgrove, Thomas Whilson, Solomon Campbell and John Robertson, constable.

This site is part of these networks:


Walking Tour of Elizabethton


Carter County genweb

Blue Hole Falls

Outside in Carter County

Over Mountain Victory Trail NPS

Sycamore Shoals State Park

Roan Mountain State Park

Elizabethton photographs


Welcome to the Carter County Site  This site is a place to preserve the history of  the schools, churches, cemeteries along with the people and places of Carter County.

My name is Cyndy Cox and I am your county coordinator.  Help me build a great site for Carter County by sharing your information and photos.