An Investigation into the Family of

An Original Charles Town, Carolina Immigrant,

Robert Dews

[born ca. 1684, St. Peters, All Saints Parish, Barbados –

died Sept. 1st 1722,St. Phillips Parish, Charles Town, Carolina,

at about age 38 years,]


Who married Mary Baker

[born ca. 1700, Charles Town, Carolina –

Died ca. 1721, Charles Town, Carolina]


And Associated Families.


Records compiled by Steven W. Due.

Last modified on June, 28th 2011.


Antecedents:  The first Thousand Years, prior to when most facts become lost in the mist of myth.


The ancestry of the Dewe/Dew family cannot be traced any further by surnames that did not actually exist prior to the Doomsday Book in 1084.  But this family descended out of the same line as William, Duke of Normandy, and came to England as Knights of the Hastings Invasion.  A record of this family exists with limited reliability back to Scandanavia as early as about 805 A. D. beginning with an earliest figure who may or may not have been mythical:


House of Dewe (d’Eu)


Eynstein Glumra, the Noisy Jarl (Earl) from Uppsala, Sweden (c. 788 - ?)

And his wife Ascrida Yngling (c. 805, Ragnvaldsdottir - ?)


Ragnvald, I, the Wise Jarl (Earl) (c. 820 - 890)

He married unknown.


Ganger Hrlof Rollon, Duc of Ragnvaldsddottir

(c. 845/6 – 931/2, Normandy, Fr.)

Who married Poppa Bayeux Valois of Senlis (c. 848 -?)


Guillaume, I, Longue Epee Duc of Normandy

(c. 876-942, Picquigny, Somme, Fr.)

Who married Sprota Adela of Senlis (c. b. 918- c. b. 934)


Richard, I, Sanspeur Duc

(c. 933, Fecamp, Normandy, Fr. – c. 996 Fecamp, Normandy, Fr.)

Who married Gonnor of Crepon, Orglandes, Fr., (c. 936, Denmark – c. 1031)



                                |                                                                                              |

Geoffrey, Count d’Eu (c. a. 970 - c. 1015)                                          Robert, Count d’Eu, his brother.


1.                    Geoffrey, Count d’Eu [ aft. 970 – ca. 1015]

Sp: unknown

This line is generally accepted and approved Royal European linage.


2.                    Gilbertus, d’Eu [unknown, genealogy of the Monks of Lockinge, Berks]


3.                    Gilbertus, d’Eu [unknown, genealogy of the Monks of Lockinge, Berks]


Joycelyn le Breton [unknown, of Britain, but returned to the County of Eu, Fr., before 1066 where he became

a Knight of the Norman Invasion at the Battle of Hastings.  Later he became a beneficiary of the Monks of

 Lockinge,Berks, and his genealogy is mentioned in their records. Son: Randolph d’Eu.]


4                      through 35. 

Joycelyn received land in Fief from relatives William I, Henry I, & William d’Eu (a Count of Eu,) after the Invasion.  Joycelyn lived in Berkshire and he can be surmised as the patriarch of the Clan D’Eu that originated the Dewe family of Berkshire & Oxfordshire through the ensuing 25 generations.  They had relatives spread far and wide about England, Scotland, and Ireland, but it appears to be the Berkshire branch from which our line descends.  There is no ironclad proof, but many implications are noticed in historical accounts of Oxford & Berks.



1086:       Jocelyn de Breton held land in Denchworth, and Peteorde, Berkshire County granted him by William de Eu, the same who possessed fiefs all over England from Wales, to Norfolk, and nearly all the southern shires or counties which were granted him by King William, I “the Conqueror,” and his heirs, after the conquest.  Jocelyn was a 3rd cousin of William de Eu.


1095:       William de Eu, one of the foremost barons of the post conquest period, held something in excess of 336 hides in eight counties. William de Eu was caught up in the war of the barons against William Rufus.  He lost the first trial of combat conducted in England at Windsor, Berkshire against his accuser Geoffrey Bainard.  Consequently he was blinded, casterated, then drawn, and quartered at Windsor Castle, Berkshire.  His lands were confiscated. [Anglo Saxon England, Vol. 10, p 151;  A History of Feudalism: British & Continental, p 43, A. D. 1095-6]


1135:       Randolph de Eu, a son of Jocelyn de Breton, held lands in Berkshire, part of an original fief of

William de Eu.


1195:       A William de Eu was recorded in Oxford. 


1195:       A William de Eu was recorded in Oxford. 


1216:       Joldewin de Due (Doe) given lands by Henry III for his “good and faithful services” in the war

with the Barons.


1227:       Joldewin de Doe held lands in Pidinton, and Wrastlingworth, and is given a villa in Petinton.


Patent Rolls Henry III:

Nov. 30th 1234, Kempton:      

Grant to William Huntercumbe of the land which Joldewin de Doe held of the King and which lately belonged to the Count of Boulogne in Wrastingwurth, to hold until the King surrenders it to the right heirs by reason of good will or by a peace, and if it be surrendered he or his heirs shall not be disseized of it until the King make them reasonable compensation in wards or escheats. (Wrastingwurth is about a mile west of Abington, Berkshire.)


June 8th 1235, Windsor, Berkshire:

Grant to Hugh de Patbeahull of custody during the minority of the heir of the land and heir of Richard de Eu, in the King’s hands by reason of his custody of the land, and heir of G. sometimes Earl of Gloucester with marriage of the heir.


1237:       John de Eu was a prominent Oxford Burgess.  Worton Manor had passed to him.


1242:       John de Eu served at term in Oxford public office.


1261:       William de Eu served a term as Oxford Bailiff.


Oxford City Documents, Financial and Judicial 1258-1665, pa. 13:


Anno.                      Maior (Mayor)                         ballivi (Bailiff)

1263                                                                                                            William de Ew

1264                                                                                                            William de Ew

1267                                                                                                            Phillip de Ew

1268                                                                                                            John de Ew

1269                                                                                                            Phillip de Ew

1274                                                                                                            John de Ew

1278                                                                                                            Phillip de Eu

Phillip de Eu

Phillip de Ew


Peter de Eu

1290                        John de Eu                                             sons Nicholas & Roger  were

Oxford graduates.

1296                                                              Ralph Do- parson at Stokrivers.

                                Phillip de Eu

John de Eu

John de Eu

1318                                                                                                            Phillip de Eu

Phillip de Eu led riots Abington.


Early History of Balliol College, p 111:, abstract.

1282:  John de Ew (Will of 1290) was the father of Thomas (eldest), Nicholas, and Roger, who were Oxford graduates.  The father John de Ew was a Burgess of Oxford, and sold “Mary’s Hall” tenement and land to Dervorgoilla, mother of John Balloil, King of Scots.  She established the Balloil College of Scholars at Oxford purchasing buildings and land from, among others, John de Ew, adjacent to Walter Feteplace whose descendant family later intermarried with the Dews of Oxfordshire, and Berkshire.  The names of families had been somewhat altered by time.


History of Exeter College, Oxford:

1330            Chekerhalle at Exeter College belonged to Phillip de Eu.

Note that during the next sixty years the practice of recording and using this family name changed from the usual “de Eu” to “de Ew.” It then came into use just as Dew, and Dewe.  It was also frequently interchangeably used and recorded on documents as Do, Doe, and Dooe which all sounded alike.


East Hendred, a Berkshire Parish Historically Treated, 1823, Arthur  L. Humphreys:


“The old Berkshire family of Doe is found represented in East Hendred.  In the reign of Elizabeth, a messauge and land in East Hendred called “Church Howse land” formerly owned by Donnington Priory, and then in possession of Humphrey Forester were sold by him to William Dooe in 1587.

And in the Patent Rolls (1599-1600, pa. 47) of Queen Elizabeth, there is a grant to John Dooe of a messauge,

& etc. in East Hendred.

The Does had succeeded the Winchcombes in Lockinge, but before that time they were associated with other places in the neighborhood.

A John Do lived at Steventon in the fifteenth century, and in the Church there a brass dated 1476 commemorates Richard Do and his wife.

(A Richard Dewe held tenements in South Morton, Berks during the last of the 14th century in 1391.  It appears that either he, or his son was the Richard Do commemorated at Steventon.)

(By the marriage of John Doe to Johanna, a daughter of John Winchcombe and his wife Elizabeth Hyde, the Manor of Lockinge came to John Doe as his wife’s dower - SD.)

In the Parish Registers of Lockinge are numerous references to the family, one of the earliest being to “Agnes Doe, daughter of John Doe, was baptized ye 7th day of Januarie, 1548.”

(Agnes Doe was married to Robert Shearer of Brinksworth, Wilts.  Her son John Sheared was heir to the estate of Edward Dew 1632, of Harwell - SD.”

[A John Doe, of Lockinge, issued a son Robert Doo who was christened on Jan. 19th 1556 in Blewbury, Berks.

  - IGI]

The Does intermarried with the Keate family, and a monument exists in Lockinge Church to Edward Keat and “Joane his wife, ye eldest daughter of John Doe.”  It was by the marriage of Joan Doe to Edward Keat in 1565 that the Manor of Lockinge passed from being property of John Doe into possession of the Keate family. 

(Joan Doe, Keate was co-heiress with her brother John Doe, in the estate of their father John Doe.)

In the Parish Registers there is also an entry that in “April, 1599, John Doe’s servant, gored by a bull, was


In the Parish Registers of Blewbury and Upton there are numerous items relating to the family.  Among the State Papers of the time of Queen Elizabeth is a record of the examination of John Doe and Richard Buckley, Paptists in 1587, who were taken in the house of “Mr. Yates of Lyfford.”  They confessed to hearing mass, and being reconciled to Rome when Campion was at Lyford, and it is recorded that Popish relics were found in their possession.

The name of Thomas Doe appears in the Diocesan Returns of Recusants in 1577 under “Lamburne Hundred.”

The Wills of Richard Doe, 1576, and John Doe, 1585, of Hendred, are named in the list of Wills.

The Dew family was associated with East Hendred in the 17th century, and is chiefly known from the bequests of three members of this family to the poor of the Parish.  In the Report on East Hendred Charities printed in 1909 they are mentioned as Thomas Dew (no date,) William Dew (no date,) and Elizabeth Dew in 1685 (Will, 1685, East Hendred.)

In the list of Wills there are three; Henry Dew (1601); William Dew (1681); and William Dew (1681.)  A Probate of the Will of William Dew, the elder, dated 1681, was offered for sale some years ago.

A Richard Dew was one of the Commissioners of the Land Tax in Berkshire in 1656.  He is probably the same as the one whose name occurs in the “Terrier” of 1634 as holding land in East Hendred.  The widow “Dewe” is also mentioned in the same document.”   [Note that this could have been the Widow of the London Stationer, Annie Dew, near her brother-in-law Richard Dew who later became a Sheriff of Berkshire. -  SD]


36.                 Richard Dewe [ ? of Lockinge, Berks. – 1476, Lockinge, Berks].  Sp: Margaret


John Dewe [bef. 1523, Lockinge, Berks – ca. 1585 East Lockinge, Berks] Sp: First name unknown Winchcombe. Edward’s mother may have been a alternate wife…


37.           Edward Dewe [ca. 1562, Lockinge, Berks – ca. 1632, Harwell, “Hendred of Moreton” Berks.]  Sp: Agnes Loder [ca. 1567, Harwell, Berks – (1624/34) Harwell, Berks]


38,           Thomas Dewe [ca. 1584, Harwell, Berks – ca. 1625, St. Dunstan’s, Fleet St., Stepney, Middlesex, London] A Stationer of London.  Sp: Annie Helmes [10 March 1581, Clapping, Lancashire – aft. 1627, London.]  There is no direct proof of his linage except a preponderance of evidence that causeGenealogists to conclude that Thomas was a deceased son of Edward at the time of his Will in 1632.  His younger brother Richard Dewe was a one-time Sheriff of Berkshire, married Elizabeth Tesdale, a daughter of Richard Tesdale, the younger Saddler of Abingdon.  Richard Dew made his Will in 1660, and was granted Arms in 1661. Richard Executed Edward’s 1632 Will. 


From him, Thomas Dewe at least 11 more generations have issued, many of them in America.  More work is

needed, but from what is now known, and by this knowledge implicated, a rational genealogical history emerges,

encompassing at least 50 generations of this family.



A preview of one line of descendancy of Thomas, son of Thomas & Annie Helm, Dewe, through his son Capt. Thomas Dewe (s,) through the 18th Century, is shown below.                             


Lt. Col. Thomas Dewes  =  Elizabeth Bennett


                |                               |                               |                      |                        |                               |

Andrew Dewes                       |               Elizabeth Dews      Ann Dewes      Richard Dewes                John Dewes

Ann Duncombe/                    |                                               John Welsh     Ellin _____      Elizabeth Shearer

Duncan                                   |                                                                       Jane Napper



m1: Joan Ward     =     m2: Anne McKenzie     =    Capt. Thomas Dews     =    m3 (1656) : Mary McKenzie

       |                                 |                                                                          |

James Dew                      |_Mary Ann Dews                                             |_Jemima Dews

m: Mary                           |  m1: John Smyth                                            |  m1: Rev. John Kenny

       |                                 |      |                                                                   |

James Dew                      |      Edward Smyth                                           |  m2: Alexander Skene, Esq.

                                         |                                                                          |           |

                                         |   m2: Arthur Middleton, Esq.                         |           |_Jane Skene

                                         |      |                                                                                    |           |

                                         |      |_?                                                                |           |_Lilly Skene

                                         |                                                                          |           |

                                         |   m3:  Ralph Izard                                           |           |_Col. John Skene

                                         |      |                                                                  |                m1: Hannah Palmer

                                         |      |_Ralph Izard                                            |                           |

                                         |        |   m1: Magdalene Eliz. de Chastaigner          |                  |_Alex. Skene

                                         |        |       |                                                          |                m2: Judith Wragg

                                         |        |       |_Martha Izard                                                   |

                                         |        |       |  m: Edward Fenwick                       |

                                         |        |       |                                                          |_Robert Dews

                                         |        |       |_Henry Izard                                                        m: Mary Baker

                                         |        |           m: Margaret Johnson                                              |

                                         |        |           m: Charlotte Broughton                                            |_Bethel Dews

                                         |        |                                                                              |  m: Sarah Croskeys

                                         |        |    m2: Rebecca Lindrey                                      |               |

                                         |      |        |                                                                       |               |_Wm. Dews, b. c. 1743

                                         |        |        |_Rebecca Izard                                           |               |  m: Mary Ann Bell

                                         |      |             m: Colin Campbell                                 |               |

                                         |        |                                                                              |               |_Robert Dews, d. young

                                         |        |_Walter Izard                                                     |               |              

                                         |             m: Mary Frances Turgis                                 |               |_Sarah Louise Dews

                                         |                                                                                      |                   m: Thomas Threadcraft

                                         |_Ensign Thomas Dews                                                                |                               |

                                         |  m: ?                                                                              |                             Bethel Baker

                                         |                                                                                      |                             Threadcraft, b. 1765

                                         |_Ensign David Dews                                                    |                              m1: Margurite Poyas

                                         |                                                                                      |                              |

                                         |_Sarah Dews                                                                                |                              |_Mary Baker

                                         |   m1: Richard Fowell                                                  |                              | Threadcraft,

         |                      |                                                                               |                              |  b. 1794

         |      |                                                                               |                              |  m: John Ralph       

         |      |_Lois Fowell                                                          |                              |  Rogers

         |          m: Capt. Anthony Matthews                                             |                             |

         |              |                                                                       |                              |_ Ann Margaret

         |              |_Anthony Matthews                                     |                                  Threadcraft

         |              |  m: Anne Bradford                                       |                                  m: George

         |              |                                                                       |                                  Thompson

         |              |_Elizabeth Matthews                                   |              

         |              |  m: Francis Holmes                                     |_Capt Wm. Dews

         |              |                                                                           m1: Mary (Haig, d/o Charity Haig?)

         |              |_Benjamin Matthews                                                  |_Mary Dews

         |              |  m: Mary Raven                                                            |  m: Wm. Williamson

         |              |                                                                                       |

         |              |_James Matthews                                                         |_Benjamin Dews

         |              |  m: Elizabeth Wilkins                                    

         |              |                                                                           m2: Lois Wilkins

         |              |_John Matthews                                                           |

         |              |  m: Sarah Gibbs                                                           |_Robert Dews, b. 1745

         |              |                                                                                            m1: Susannah

         |              |_Amy Matthews                                                                        Catherine Emory

         |              |  m: Robert Randall                                                           m2: Elizabeth Emory

         |              |                                                                                            m3: Nancy Augusta

         |              |                                                                                                    Tassell

         |              |                                                                                            m4: Mary (McQueen?)

         |              |_William Matthews                                       

         |              |  m: Mary Loughton                                          m3: Mary Tripp

         |              |                                                                                       |

         |              |                                                                                       |

        |               |_Sarah Matthews                                                         |_James Dew, b. c. 1750     

        |               |   m1: John Croskeys                                                   |  m: Christiana Gordon

        |               |       |                                                                               |

        |               |       |_Elizabeth Croskeys                                            |_Seth Dew, b. c. 1754

        |               |       |  m: Obadiah Wilkins                                          |  m: Lydia Ray

        |               |       |                                                                               |

        |               |       |_Margaret Croskeys                                            |_John Dew

        |               |            m: Bethel Dews (see right f. l.)                          |

        |               |                                                                                       |

        |               |    m2: Samuel Lluellin                                                                |_

        |               |    m3: William Wilkins                                                              |

        |               |       |                                                                               |

        |                 |      |_Elizabeth Wilkins                                                               |_

        |                 |      |                                                                               |

        |                 |      |_Eleanor Wilkins                                                 |

        |               |       |  m: George Sheed                                                                |_

        |               |       |                                                                               |

        |                 |      |_Mary Wilkins                                                     |

        |                 |      |  m: John Sims White                                          |_Eliza. Dew, b. 1770

        |               |       |                                                                               |  m: Thomas Rice

        |               |       |_Amelia Wilkins                                                 |

        |               |       |  m1: Wm Capers                                                  |_

        |               |       |  m2: Peter La Quieu                                           |

        |               |       |                                                                               |

        |               |       |_Lois Wilkins                                                       |_Ann Dew, b. 1774

        |               |       |  m: Capt Wm. Dews                                                                  m: Robert Reeves

        |               |       |     |

        |               |       |     |_Robert Dews  (see right flowline)                 

        |               |       |                                                                              

        |               |       |_Ann Wilkins

        |               |

        |               |_George Matthews


        |  m2: Edward Middleton, Sr.

        |              |

        |              |_Arthur Middleton, Esq.

        |                   m: Sarah Amory

        |                       |

        |                       |_Wm Middleton

        |                       |  m1: Mary Izard

        |                       |  m2: Mary Morton

        |                       |

        |                       |_Hester Middleton, died young

        |                       |

        |                       |_ Henry Middleton

        |                       |   m1: Mary Baker Williams

        |                       |   m2: Maria Henrietta Bull

        |                       |   m3: Mary McKenzie

        |                       |

        |                       |_Thomas Middleton

        |                            m1: Mary Bull

        |                            m2: Anne Barnwell


        |  m3:  Job Howe

        |               |

        |               |_Robert Howe

        |                    m: Mary Moore

        |                       |

        |                       |_Robert Howe

        |                       |  m: Susanna Elizabeth Guerin

        |                       |

        |                       |_Job Howe

        |                           m1: Martha Jones

       |                            m2: Elizabeth Waters

       |                            m3: Jane ----

       |                                |

       |                                |_General Robert Howe



       |_Captain George Dews (He may be the son of Annie’s niece Mary MacKenzie)

       |  m: Anne Welsh

       |        |

       |        |_George Dews

       |        |  m:  Patience ____

       |        |

       |        |_Anne Dews

       |        |  m:

       |        |

       |        |_Mary Dews

       |        |  m:


       |_(Annie/Catherine/Elizabeth?) Dews   (Likewise, she may have been a daughter of Mary MacKenzie.)

                                              m: Edward Fisher



In the ancient dark days of medieval illiteracy, only a few Royal Scribes, Priests, and Monks could read and write in Latin when the Dew family emerged as part of the landed gentry of Britain.

A few of the phonetic variations of this surname arising from the long shadows of antiquity were de Eu, d’Eu, de Ew, de Ewe, d’Ewe, Dewe, Dew, Doe, Do, Du, Due, among other sound-alike mutations, including adding “s” inappropriately as in the plural form.  This was further complicated by the fact that the Celtic population called anyone of dark Romanesque complexion as “Dhu” regardless of family origin.  It also appears that Douse, or Dowse, was a name used a short period by this Dew family

But this surname appears to have originated from the town, river, and county of Eu in Norman inhabited France before the conquest.  It was regionally derived from the expression d’Eu meaning “of Eu,” and many from this region came to England with the Knights of the conquest.   But some of them came to England both earlier, and later.

It has been reported that this family was seated from earliest times in Lancashire where they were granted land by William, Duke of Normandy, their Liege Lord, for distinguished service at the Battle of Hastings in 1066.  This particular Sept may have come from Normandy with the aforesaid invasion forces of William ‘the Conqueror, who by force “took back” his rightfully promised crown from his cousin Harold, but it is possible that a related Sept of the Dew clan may have also occupied the “Emerald Isles” from as early as the Roman occupation period.

Thus seated in fief by William the Conqueror, this Doe (sic) Dewe clan from Eu is implied to have Norman roots (Men from the North,) that extended further back into the Scandinavian Nations from whence the Viking Longboats sailed long ago.


In fact, William the Conqueror mandated the use of surnames in England when he required the first census to be taken in 1084.  It was called “The Doomsday Book.” 

A Walter de Douai also called Walscin, a nickname, was listed in the Doomsday Book, being from Douai, Nord.  He had holdings in Devon, Essex, Somerset, Surrey, Wilts in 1084.  But Walter had only one known son Robert, and Robert had no male heirs known.  He is probably not the source of any of said Dewe clan.

Instead, Jocelyn le Breton, a great grandson of Geoffery, 1st Count of Eu, who returned to Eu, France from England to fight as a Knight for William, Duke of Normandy at Hastings, and his son Randolph d’Eu who received fiefs in Berkshire, and elsewhere, comprise the probable source for the great clan of Dewe in England.  His 3rd Cousin William Count d’Eu gave his Berkshire fiefs to Jocelyn, and Henry d’Eu, younger brother of William was in Sussex, England after the conquest, but if William had male heirs, they have not been noted.  Henry d’Eu, the younger brother of William has not been fully explored.


Dew Family Crest from England



For the next 500 years, the Dewe progeny spread out occupying the girth and breadth of England from Wales to Norfolk, and parts of nearly all the southern Shires, especially along the midlands that served London by the waterway of the Thames River (Iris River.)

A branch of this clan long dwelt in the Shires of Oxford, Berks, and Wilts, probably out of Jocelyn le Breton (born in Britain,) through his son Randolph d’Eu (born in Normandy, County of Eu,,)  One of the descendants was Edward Dewe, a member of a Yeoman class of tenement farmers, that arose to wealth by astute business practice.  This family and their kith, were supportive of schools and colleges, and they issued sons some whom became Physicians, Mercers (Merchants,) Clothiers, and Stationers, and from the latter came the adventurers, and tillers in the colonial “New World” across the Atlantic.




Missouri, and Missourians: Land of Contrasts, and People of Achievement, p. 369:

“The Dew family is one of the oldest in America, and also one of the oldest of whom there is a consecutive record in England… Thomas Dew of St. Dunstans, London, “Citizen, and Stationer” died March 13th 1624.  His wife was Anne, and they were the parents of Col. Thomas Dewe (of Virginia)…”




Col. Thomas Dewe, of Nanesmond, Virginia produced two well-documented descendant lines that came out of his sons Andrew, and John Dewe.  But his other known children Ann, Elizabeth, Richard, and Thomas Dewe have been given little attention by genealogists, and almost no research has been done to discover their respective descendant lines.  This neglect resulted because these children spent much of their time in England, and later in the Caribbean.  Their offspring did not dwell in Virginia, but entered the colonies elsewhere at Charles Town, Carolina, or in Maryland. 


It appears to me that most of these remaining untraced children, with the possible exception of Elizabeth, all perished in the Caribbean, or West Indies, specifically noted in Barbados and Bermuda. 


            Much of the following is well established and proved, but even though I have not been able to prove these additional lines to the point of removing any doubt, I have developed a large body of implicative evidence to support the genealogy of most of these children. It is based on the preponderance of collected evidence. This work can serve as a platform for future genealogical research by those that follow me.  There is room for improving this assemblage of data, and in it's interpretation.  I now present this evidence beginning with an antecedent named Thomas Dewe.  One of them was noticed early in Virginia, in Bermuda, elsewhere in the West Indies, and who lived last in Virginia where he perished in 1691.  I also mention his father, and others.


Was Thomas Dewe, Stationer of London the first colonial immigrant?:

Let me explain that the following historical data is sufficient to persuade me that 23 year-old Thomas Dew, the elder, then an Apprentice at the St. Dunstan’s Bookstore, Fleet Street, London, may have been the very first adventurer of this family in America.


I am convinced that he received a legacy in 1608 given by his father Edward Dew that enabled his subscription and investment in the London Company of Virginia.  The exact form and fashion that this legacy took has not been specifically determined.  It may have been in the form of an endowment of money combined with his father’s assistance in extracting him from his work obligation in London as a Stationer’s Apprentice, his oversight and the support of Thomas Dew’s wife and children in remaining England, and his provision for education of the children of his eldest son while he was away adventuring in Virginia.  Clearly the first six years in Virginia (1608 – 1614) were essentially a profitless period until tobacco became a cash-earning crop.


It appears that Thomas Dew’s fervent desire to adventure to Virginia was so enthusiastic that either he, or his father by some inducement, convinced his brother-in-law John Helme to allow him this adventure, releasing him of his work commitment at the London bookstore. 


But under English law the Indenture was still in effect.   He knew that if Royal or Virginia Company authorities at the Port of London should discover that he was still bound by an Indenture then they would have been obliged to prevent him from sailing to Virginia.


So when Thomas paid the Twelve Pound Passage Fee necessary embark upon the second supply ship “Mary and Margaret” it appears that he falsely submitted his surname as “Dowse” as a precaution against any potential impasse.  Payment of his passage fee made him a subscriber and investor in the London Company of Virginia as an adventurer.  Thomas Dowse came to Virginia classified as a laborer, apparently leaving his wife and children behind in England until several years later. 


Although the observed facts seem to support his adventure to Virginia, I have not yet been able to prove this matter for good reason.  His successful use of an alias apparently left behind a trail of identity confusion that later would even affect his eldest son Thomas, at times.


Narrative of Early Virginia (1606 – 1625): page 160, et al.

In the yeare 1606 Captaine Newport with three ships; the “Susan Constant,” the “Discoverie,” & the Godspeede” discovered the bay of Chessiopeock, and leaving in Virginia a colony of about 100 person of sundery qualities and arts, returned to England.  They named their settlement Jamestown in honor of King James. In the first twenty days these colonists discovered a ten-year old boy with light skin, and blond hair who was living among the Indians, and was likely a remnant of the 1587 lost Roanoke Island colony that disappeared before 1590.


The next ships arriving were the Mary and Margaret, and the Newport.


The ship “Mary and Margaret” sailed from Jamestown to England on June 22nd 1607.


On Jan. 2nd 1608 the First Supply arrived in two ships the “John & Francis,” and the “Phoenix” with 120 new passengers.


In January of 1608 the “Newport” returned to Jamestown.  Aboard her were 100 more settlers.  Only 38 survivors remained at Jamestown when she arrived.


In June 2nd of 1608, The “Phoenix,” Capt. Nelson’s ship, on which Capt. John Smith arrived, left for England.


In Sept. 1608 the ship ‘Mary & John” arrives in Jamestown.


In early October 1608, the ship “Mary & John” left Jamestown for England, and during this same month, the Second Supply ship the “Mary and Margaret”arrived.


Second Supply by the “Mary and Margaret” – departed Sept. 1608:

Capt. Newport being dispatched with tryals of pitch, tarre, glasse, frankincense, and sope ashes, with that clapbord and wainscot [which] could be provided, met with Mr. Scrivener at Point Comfort, and so returned for England, leaving us in all 200, with those he brought us.  The names of those in this supply are these:

            (among them were:)        Thomas Dowse, a labourer.”

[Was he the Stationer’s Apprentice of London, at age 23, arriving under an alias?]

                                                                John Dauxe, Gentleman.


Ancient Planters:

Thomas Dowse of England, paid his passage, and arrived in Virginia as a Labourer on the Second Supply ship “Mary and Margaret” commanded by Capt. Christopher Newport in October of 1608. 


The next year in 1609, Thomas Dowse and Thomas Mallard became privy to a conspiracy with the Indians formulated by two Dutchmen, William Volday, a Switzer, and one Bentley, a fugitive.  It was a plot that Dowse & Mallard chose to reveal to Capt. Smith circumventing damage to the colony.


The Third Supply ships, of which there were nine, which were expected to arrive in Virginia before the winter of 1609, had been badly battered by a hurricane.  One ship sank.  The lead ship “Sea Venture” was shipwrecked on a reef at Somers Island where the survivors began rebuilding two ships.  The remaining ships limped into Jamestown in August with 400 more settlers to feed, some of them sick, having insufficient food on board to maintain them through the winter. 


The severe winter of 1609 was called “The Starving Time” in Virginia.  The fall crop had been scant, and grain soon ran short.  The James River soon froze over.  Icicles hung everywhere.  When victuals began to run out, valuable work tools, and arms were traded for a pittance in food.  Housing was broken up for firewood.  Chief Powhatan renewed his enmity against the settlers, and now they were trapped within the walls of Jamestown where they consumed all the livestock, then all the pets, then the rats and mice, and eventually turned to cannibalism.  Braving death by Indians, they sneaked out at night to excavate graves of settlers and Indians alike to eat the corpses.  Most of the Virginia colonists perished of cold, disease, and starvation during this period.


On May 23rd 1610 the “Deliverance,” and the “Patience,” ships built in Somers Island out of the wreckage of the “Sea Venture” at Somers Island, arrived in Virginia to find Jamestown in ruins.  Only sixty starved survivors remained out of the five hundred, or thereabouts, souls left there in the previous fall.  By June 7th 1610, Jamestown was abandoned, and the surviving settlers started down the river in boats.


On June 8th 1610, the very next day arrived, Thomas West, 3rd Lord de La Warr in the “Godspeede,” with his other ships; the “Mary & James,” the “Mary & Margaret,” the “Noah,” the “Prosperous,” the “Starr,” the “Swann,” and the “Tryall” arrived in Virginia meeting the departing boats abandoning Jamestown less than ten miles down the river at Mulberry Island, and he Ordered the settlers back to Jamestown.


In 1611, the Boroughs of Elizabeth Citty, and Henrico Citty were formed marking the first expansion of the Jamestown settlement in Virginia.


In 1612, John Rolfe grew the first sweet West Indian Tobacco crop, a Spanish variety, in Virginia.  It was a crop that saved the colony.  Sir Thomas Dale, replacing Deputy Governor George Percy, arrives with 280 people, and assumes control.


After Lord de La Warr’s militia dealt with the Powhatan Indians, he set about searching for exploitable minerals in Virginia.  Prior to a Council meeting, John Rolfe, in place of William Strachey, was asked by de La Warr “Have you heard the news of the men who were sent to search for minerals.” Rolfe replied “No my Lord.”  “Well you might as well hear it from me.  They were wiped out except for one man.”   Rolfe:  “How could that happen?”  “The best I can glean from the only survivor, they had made their way up the river as far as Appomatocs.  There they saw a party of Indian women on shore.  The women were naked and beckoned the barge to pull into shore.  With very little deliberation our men decided to stop to disport with these sirens.  They were then lured into the lodge and attacked.”  Rolfe:  “And then?”  “There is little to say.  The one survivor is a man named Thomas Dowse who evidently is quick on his feet, and managed to dodge a shower of arrows on his way to the boat.”  Rolfe:  “What will we do now my Lord?”  “I will discuss that with the Council this evening.  I want to continue our search for minerals.  We must make the colony profitable.  But it will not be easy.  The men who were most knowledgeable about minerals were on that miserable boat.”  This historical account is from:  John Rolfe of Virginia, p. 111


In 1612 the first 60 English settlers from London arrived on Somers Island with its first governor Sir Richard Moore.  [ History of Bermuda


In September of 1612, Lt. Governor, Sir Thomas Dale, with 350 men start building Henricus, Va.


In 1614 the first Virginia grown Tobacco (14 tonnes) was sold in London.


There were no Dewes counted among the 117 adventurers & settlers of Bermuda (Somers Is.,) taken from Letters of Patents of King James of Blessed Memorie in March of 1614 on ships the “Blessing,” and the “Star,” and there appears to exists no other early passenger lists for ships from England to Bermuda after the initial settlement.  I have not been able to identify any of these additional early planters until the Petition of 1628.  There may be some existing early Plantation Deeds, or records that I have not found. - S. Due


History of Exeter College – cxxvii:

“There was a Thomas Dewe, plebe of Oxford who was matriculated on December 13th 1615.”


The First Republic in America:  An Account of the Origin of this Nation:

p. 314: “The Corporation of the City of Henricus was then only one Burrough.  The Planters at Arrahattock, Coxendale, and Henrico, uniting, elected (as their first Burgesses) Thomas Dowse, and John Polentine.”

p. 561: (Testimony about an alleged debt of Mr. Whitaker who died before May 1617:) 

Martha Sizemoure who lived at Mr. Whitaker’s house both before and at the time of his death knew nothing of his owing Martin any corn, and stated that Whitaker had been obliged to buy corn for himself from Thomas Dowse.”


Ancient Planters (1618):

Thomas Dowse (sic) received his first grant of land authorized in 1618 by Sir Thomas Dale located within the bounds of the Corporation of the Citty of Henricus.  Capt. Argall awarded this tract to Thomas Dowse for his personal adventure.  This land was one of the finest tracts found situated within a forty square kilometer area set aside the next year for the first college in Virginia.


John Smith (1580-1631):  The General Historie of Virginia… :

In 1618 eleven ships with 1216 persons arrived in Virginia, and leaving the passengers and inbound cargo, these ships departed with Virginia tobacco.


Proceedings of the Virginia Assembly:  (First Legislature of the Virginia Colony)

p. 249:  “July 30th 1619:  Thomas Dowse elected Burgess for the Citty of Henricus.”

p. 256:   “Names of the Committees for perusing the first and third Books of the Fower:

                (Included among the others was:) 

Thomas Douse, who came to Virginia in 1608.”


Annual Report of the American Historical Association:

p. 307  “Thomas Dowse, and John Polentine represented (as the first Burgesses) the citty of Henricus located in what is now known as Dutch Gap.  (Thomas Dowse) came to Virginia as early as 1608, and was one of the few early settlers that survived.”


John Smith (1580-1631):  The General Historie of Virginia… :

In 1620, twenty-one ships having 400 sailors, and 1300 men, women, and children arrived in Virginia leaving passengers, and inbound cargo, then departed with Virginia tobacco.


[The previous records of Thomas Dowse given above, except the College record of his son, may apply to the Thomas Dew who became a London Stationer in 1621, a man who was an early investor subscriber of the London Company of Virginia, as was his son of the same forename.  -  SD.]


Thomas Dewe (age 18) and Elizabeth Bennett (age 17) are thought to have married in about 1620 in London.  But they could just as likely have been married in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, or by the Captain of one of her uncle Edward Bennett’s ships, at sea.  They were assuredly married long before 1625 whch marks the birth year of their earliest known surviving child Andrew Dew, as the record shows us. 

It appears that young man Thomas Dew may have matriculated from Exeter College at Oxford in 1615 sent there by his grandfather Edward Dew perhaps while his father was adventuring in Virginia.  Afterwards Thomas Dew could have worked for his aunt, the widow Annie Helmes who alone was now the proprietor at her Bookstore in London. 

Elizabeth Bennett and Thomas Dew could have known each other as youngsters since the days of the organization of the London Company of Virginia, when perhaps Edward Dew became involved in the aspirations of Thomas Dew, his eldest son, who had ambitions to adventure in Virginia, and needed his help.

And certainly Thomas Dew may have courted Elizabeth Bennett in London where she resided in the period leading to their marriage.  They may have occasionally attended the “Ancient Church” in Amsterdam influenced by her wealthy uncle Edward Bennett, an elder in this church, who was often there.


Elizabeth Bennett, born about 1602/03 in London, England, may have been a daughter of Robert Bennett [ch: Apr. 27th, 1571, Wiveliscombe, Somerset, Eng. - ca. 1623, Virginia] and his first wife Elizabeth Lee.  There is an IGI record to this effect.  Robert was a brother of Edward Bennett, Merchant of London, an investor in the Virginia Company, and he was also an uncle of Maj. Gen. Richard Bennett of Nanesmond, who became Governor of Virginia.  Elizabeth's mother may have been related to the Cromwells.  But this relationship is by no means certain, however, she was almost certainly related to the Bennett family that occupied the midlands, and southwest England.  


The aforesaid Thomas Dewe was one of the sons of Stationer Thomas Dewe, and his wife Annie Helmes.  At age 41 his father. Thomas Dewe became a freed & licensed Guild Stationer at St. Dunstan’s Churchyard on Fleet Street in London.  He made a nuncupative Will in 1624. Unfortunately, Thomas Dew’s verbal Will did not name the children that he mentioned. He simply left the disbursement of estate to his surviving widow, Anne H. (Helmes,) Dewe.  Therefore, the identities of his children must be determined by careful deduction.


Annie Helmes’ older brother was John Helmes who married Annie Brittaine.

Thomas Dewe (17) and Annie Helmes (?) were married while her brother John

Helmes was himself bound as an Apprentice to Master Nicholas Ling at the

Bookstore located at St. Dunstan’s Churchyard in about 1600. 


John Helmes became a freed & licensed Stationer at this shop about 1607. He bound his brother-in-law Thomas Dew as his Apprentice.  How long his actual labor as an apprentice lasted is actually not known. I am persuaded that Helme verbally released Thomas from the labor required by his bond of servitude in 1608 thus allowing Thomas to adventure in Virginia in that year (He was a subscriber and investor in the London Company of Virginia by virtue of paying his own passage.) Virginia is where he apparently dwelt until about 1620.  The year before (in 1619) Thomas Dowse (sic) Dewe was elected one of the first Burgesses in Virginia representing the Citty of Henricus.


Helme’s widow Annie may have written a letter to Thomas in Virginia asking him to return to London as her full partner in the bookstore, expressing her commitment to assuming a silent roll in the business arrangement she offered him.  The trials and tribulations he experienced in Virginia may have encouraged Thomas to take his family back to London to join in this partnership offer. 


So far his adventure in Virginia had proved a miserable time of suffering starvation, laboring at arduous work, fighting dangerous Indians, and of making little profit.  Yet at the end of his Virginia adventure (1614 – 1620,) Tobacco production was showing great promise.  During the later part of this period Thomas Dowse may have accumulated some minor degree of wealth, and he owned 400 acres of good arable land assets in Virginia since 1618, awarded for his adventure.  He planted with indentured labor gained by paying the passage of inbound passengers, and in 1619 he was elected one of the first Burgesses of the government of Virginia representing the Borough of Henrico Citty.


It is known that Thomas Dewe became a free and licensed London Guild Stationer at the St. Dunstans Bookstore in 1621 just a few years after the death of John Helme.   Business at the bookstore may have previously declined with the widow Annie Helme as the resident Stationer. 


It is known that thenceforth Thomas Dewe worked as a London Stationer with his sister-in-law, Anne Brittaine, Helmes as his silent partner.  This partnership continued until his untimely death in March of 1624.  Even though there are certain unproved speculations about the early activities of the London Stationer Thomas Dew that are made in my above characterization of events, these speculations do conform quite well to the discovered facts now in evidence.


It is of some interest that in 1624, Augustine Matthews printed a book “The English mans doctor, or The Schoole of Salerne, by Johannes, de Mediolano, London, for Thomas Dewe, “and it to bee sold at his shop in Saint Dunstons Church-Yard in Fleet Street.”  It may have been a printing fee due for publishing this last book that required Stationer Thomas Dewe to borrow money from his now wealthy daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth Underwood


It is interesting too that Capt. Anthony Matthews, a mariner of Virginia, Caribbean, & Charles Town, Carolina was said born in London about three decades later.  I have proved no lineal connection between these two Matthews men at this point. 


It may also be of some interest that consecutive Stationers at St. Dunstan’s: Nicholas Ling; John Helmes; & Thomas Dewe held the original copyrights to the printed works of William Shakespear a man that some think was actually Sir. Francis Bacon of Stratford on Avon.


From the beginning the London Stationer’s Apprentice, Thomas Dewe viewed the new “London Company” Charter as an exciting opportunity for potential profit in the new world colonies.  London buzzed with the news among merchants and businessmen, many of whom became investors.  It is my opinion that sometime after this opportunity arose, the wealthy patriarch Edward Dewe, & his wife Agnes Loder, Dewe of Berkshire gave living legacies to their eldest son, and his sons being their descendant grandsons.  These legacies of inheritance developed into their investments, and subscriptions to the “London Company of Virginia,” and fostered their incentives to go forth and plant in the colonies.  Edward Dewe may have also compensated Stationer John Helme for releasing his son Thomas from his Apprentice work at the St. Dunstan’s-in-the-West, bookstore.  These legacies explain why none of his grandsons, sons of the Stationer, were mentioned as his heirs in the 1632 Will of Edward Dewe.  It seems that his grandson Thomas Dewe (age 32) had younger sisters; Elizabeth, Maria, and Margaret “Margery” Dewe, all under the age of 31, were named heirs of their grandfather Edward Dewe.  Other male siblings, children of the deceased Stationer’s family are possible.


It is believed that after his Oxford education and marriage in England, Edward’s grandson, Thomas Doe (sic,) son of the Stationer, came to Virginia with his new family. 


His father, also named Thomas, seems to have recently adventured in Virginia using the alias “Dowse” in order to conceal a binding Indenture as a Stationer’s Apprentice in England, but at the prompting of his sister-in-law, Annie Brittaine, Helmes, a recent widow, he returned to London in 1620 to be freed of his bonds as Apprentice, become a full-fledged Stationer, and run the London Bookstore at St. Dunstan’s-in-the-West.  No doubt the elder Thomas Dew passed hisVirginia assets to his eldest son Thomas who soon left London to continue the Virginia adventure in his father’s place.  After arriving back in London, one of the Stationer’s daughters was mentioned in the Churchwarden’s Accounts at St. Dunstan’s-in-the-West on Jan. 1st 1621/2.  Her given name, and nature of the account is yet unknown.



…daughter of Thomas Dew and Anne his wife' on 1 Jan. 1621/2 (GL MS 10342). 29. GL

MS 3968/2 (churchwardens' accounts, St Dunstan's-in-the-West), fo. ... - Similar pages by P MCCULLOUGH2008



in 1624, Stempe was transferred to the non-printer, Thomas Dewe (himself .... 29 GL MS 3968/2 (churchwardens' accounts, St Dunstan's-in-the-West), fo. ...




            His son Thomas Dew was often confused in Virginia with the name Dowse that his father used there.  His father-in-law Robert Bennett & perhaps some of his family came on the “Sea Flower” along with 125 settlers in November of 1621.  Perhaps Thomas Doe (sic,) son of the Stationer, and his family came on the same, or another ship at about the same time, however the exact arrival date, and name of the ship is yet undetermined. 


            About four months after their arrival an Indian attack made on Good Friday March 22nd 1622 destroyed the plantation called “Bennett’s Welcome,” a Patent of Edward Bennett where 53 settlers were killed in this attack.  Over 347 Virginia settlers in all were estimated killed in this massacre.  Governor Francis Wyatt ordered Capt. Ralph Hamor to bring the survivors to Jamestown Island on April 19th 1622.  [Records of the Virginia Company of London, Book III, part ii, p. 50a] 


On October 7th 1622, Edward Bennett of the plantation of Warascoake requested that his people might be returned thereto.  [Records of the Virginia Company of London, Vol. II, pp 104-105]


While returning to England from Virginia the “Seaflower” was accidentally blown up at Somers Island where she was then moored.  A new ship of that name was soon built.


From Original List of Persons of Quality who went from Great Britain to the American Plantations - submitted to the London Company dated February 16th 1623 (a survey:)


Page 175                  Margery Dawse                     At Champlain’s Choice          Feb. 16th 1623


Page 177                  Mr. Robert Bennett              At James Island                                      ditto     


Page 177                  Thomas Doe, ux Doe            Main River Dist, James Citty                                ditto


Note:  Ux:  Also Uxor.  A legal term in Latin specifically denoting “wife, “

but in a general sense can mean “…and family of.”


The same Dew family may have been counted by a different surveyor at Elizabeth Citty:


Page 183                  Mr. Thomas Dowse              At Elizabeth Citty                                  ditto



Page 183                  Mrs. Dowse, ux:        Bennett, pur:     {                                               ditto


                                                                                At Elizabeth Citty, at Bucke Row


pur: may refer to repatriated, or displaced, or poor people. Therefore, Mr. & Mrs Dowse were

listed separately at Elizabeth City, counted on the same page.  Mrs. Dowse, who may have been

Nee, Bennett, had living with her two displaced persons, probably children, named Bennett.  They

Were likely her younger siblings, her parents being deceased.   Thomas Doe, & Thomas Dowse, as

well as their wives, appear to be identical families.  They appear to be counted twice over two different

surveys by men who confused them from the Stationer’s use of his alias name Dowse.– SD.


On the above mentioned survey of Virginia that was submitted on Feb. 16th 1623, Thomas Doe (sic,) ux Doe (sic,) the eldest son of the Stationer, and his family, were counted on Hotton’s List in the Main River District of James Citty, Virginia. 


Upon this same survey taken by a different counter, the Stationer’s son Thomas Dew was apparently counted again at Elizabeth Citty as “Mr. Thomas Dowse. (His name appears to have been confused, and he was duplicated because the surveyor was made aware that this person was a son of the Mr. Dowse who came in 1608, a man who had returned to England by 1621.  Because of his father’s use of an alias, his son was apparently counted as two separate men, both Doe, and Dowse.) 


Also found dwelling nearby in Elizabeth Citty on this census was “Mrs. Dowse (sic,) ux: Bennett, pur: two other Bennetts, at Bucke Row “ being persons who were apparently some members of the family of Robert Bennett.  The record shows that with Mrs. Dowse were dwelling a Mrs. Bennett, and two other Bennetts, probably children. 


One way of interpreting this particular Elizabeth Citty household is that Elizabeth Bennett, Dowse (sic,) Dew, wife of Thomas Dowse (sic) Dew is staying with her mother, or stepmother, (ux: Bennett) and her siblings, or stepsiblings (pur: Bennett) being the family of Proprietor Robert Bennett.  He was a brother of Edward Bennett appointed to managed his brother’s plantation “Bennett’s Welcome.”  Robert Bennett was counted on this census at James Island, whereas upon this same census Thomas Dowse (sic) Dew seems to be attending planting details of his father’s idled property within the Borough of Elizabeth Citty since his father recently returned to London.  It was now about time to break ground, in preparation for the spring planting.


We know that Robert Bennett, brother of Edward, still survived until after June 9th 1623 when he posted a letter of that date from “Bennett’s Welcome” plantation to his wealthy brother Edward Bennett residing in St. Bartholomew Parish, London.  Robert Bennett appears on the February 16th 1623 census apparently counted at James Island.  His letter to brother Edward was written at “Bennett’s Welcome” after this survey was taken, and it mentions his wife and children that are still living on June 9th of that year.  He mentioned some of his children who were in England.  But before the ship “Ann” sailed to England carrying his letter, Robert Bennett, he, and apparently all those in his Virginia household, perished of a fever.


It appears that it was the earlier presence of Thomas Dew’s father Thomas Dowse, an Ancient Planter, a first Burgess of Henrico, and a former resident at Elizabeth Citty that caused both the unusual alternate use of his name, and therefore his duplication on this list.  [Hotten’s Lists]  To me this record seems to confirm that the eldest son of the abovementioned Burgess, having the same forename, was married to Elizabeth Bennett.  And it may also indicate that a close relative of elder Thomas Dowse (sic) was the current second wife of Robert BennettWas she Elizabeth Bennett, Dew’s aunt by marriage, an older daughter of Stationer Thomas Dew, and his wife Annie Helme, Dew, a daughter that perished in Virginia in 1623 along with her husband Robert Bennett and the young children?  The Bennetts, and Dews of London appear to have had a mutual affiliation with the Ancient Church at Amsterdam, Netherlands. Therefore it is possible that records kept by the fleet of Edward Bennett, an elder in this church, whose ships may have carried them there, as well as the archives in Holland may harbor some records about their families that are not discovered in England.


Reprisals in Virginia against the Indians that were involved in the recent massacre of March 22nd 1623 soon allowed settlers to begin rebuilding burned-out plantations.


On August 7th 1623, the ship “Ann” arrived at James Citty from England.  Before the “Ann” departed, Robert Bennett, manager of Edward Bennett’s plantation, and all of his family who were living in his house there, perished of a fever. 


When the “Ann” departed it is believed that Thomas Doe (sic,) son of the London Stationer, and his family returned to England aboard her because word arrived of his father’s deteriorating condition.


On March 13th 1624, Thomas Dew’s father, the London Stationer was ill and had taken to his bed where he made an oral, or nun-cupative Will, then perished by April 1st that year.  His son Thomas Dew (at age 23) was not mentioned being present when his father’s oral Will was made.  The probate of the Stationer’s estate was not completed until 1625.  The details of this said probate by his wife Anne have not been discovered, but very likely his eldest son Thomas Dew, as primogenitor, would ultimately expect to inherit any of his father’s property in the English midlands of Berks, or Oxon.


The First Republic in America, page 619:

Persons living in Elizabeth City recorded between June 1624, and March 1625: 

Thomas Douse, and Francis Mason.”

It appears that Thomas Douse (sic,) Dew, eldest son of the Stationer, returned to Virginia in August of 1624 on the “George,” or upon a ship that immediately followed her.


The nuncupative Will of Thomas Dew of the Parish of St. Dunstan in the West, Citizen, and Stationer of London, having the intention to declare his Will, uttered these words or the like in effect on the 13th of March 1624:

All that I have I give to you (I E: Annie H. Dew, his wife) &c.”  She then asked

him what he would give to his father & mother, and he said “…He would leave it

to her but if she thought fit, his Will was they should get some of his clothes.”  This was

spoken in the presence of Annie, his wife, Elizabeth Dew, his sister, and Marie

Price his maidservant.  And further on March 14th 1624, being demanded by

Mr. John Beliald if he had made his Will, and what course he had taken for the

payment of certain monies which he owed, he said “I have not made a Will, but as I

had all my estate by my wife, and children, so do I leave all unto them, and I will charge

my wife to deal well with Mrs. Elizabeth Underwood, etc,.” which was spoken in

the presence of the said John Beliald, Elizabeth Dew, and Marie Price.  [Dated

Mar. 13th 1624, proved April 1st 1624 (P. C. C. 43, Clarke)]


Note that a Mr. John Belliald, of Milton, Nottinghamshire, England is noted in a

Grant from King Charles I on Dec. 5th 1631.  Grant being passed from his

grandfather Richard Billiald to his father Thomas Billiald.  [University of

Nottingham, NE D 2411]


Either stated, or implied by his nuncupative Will:

Wife:                      Annie Helmes, Dew

sister:                     Elizabeth Dew, who could have been his sister-in-law, Nee: Teasdale.

daughter:             deceased wife of John Beliald.

daughter:             Mrs. Underwood, found to be Elizabeth Dew, Underwood whose                       

sister                      Margaret Dewe, Underwood came to Isle of Wight, Virginia,                                  and was mentioned in her grandfather's Will.

daughter:             Maria Dewe, Price, maidservant.



Children that not identified in his nuncupative Will:

daughter:             Margaret (“Margery?”) Dewe, married William Underwood.  She was mentioned in her grandfather’s Will.  Went to Virginia.

son:        Thomas Dewe, married Elizabeth Bennett.  He was a Colonial Virginia immigrant.

son:        Joseph Dewe, immigrated to Virginia, and St. Kitts.

son:        Ralph Dewe, immigrated to Virginia.

son:        John Dewe, immigrated to Barbados.


Note that there may have been an unknown older daughter who married Robert Bennett as his second wife, and who may have perished in Virginia.


The John Dewe, who was born about 1617 in Virginia, of London, England, who owned land in Barbados in 1638 was very likely the immigrant Thomas Dew's brother.  It is believed that he married Katherine Kigan, daughter of Karbry Kigan.  This John Dewe was deceased prior to Jan. 12, 1657 when Karby Kigan's Will in Isle of Wight, Virginia named heir a granddaughter Katherine Dew, the surviving daughter of John Dew.  However, this Will of Karby Kigan has also been transcribed showing the name Dew, as it was originally transcribed, to be Tew, instead.  Since I have not seen the original, I accept the first translation.


A John Dewe died ca. Dec. 12th 1678 (age 42) in Isle of Wight, Virginia who left a surviving relict, Elizabeth Shearer, Dewe in Isle of Wight, Virginia.  It is claimed that this particular John Dewe was born ca. Apr. 8th 1636 in Nansemond, Lower Norfork, Va., a son of Lt Col. Thomas & Elizabeth Dewe (But he is not mentioned as a Lt Col in the Virginia Register until 1646, and Deed records of 1643 recorded at a later date.)


After the estate of Stationer Thomas Dew was settled, it appears that his widow Annie Helmes, Dewe, her children, and the family of her son Thomas Doe (sic) all resided in Berkshire at an estate that was probably later inherited by his eldest son Thomas Doe (sic) Dewe.   This estate was probably situated in the “East Hendred” where “ye widow Dewe” is found taxed in 1634.


Thomas Doe (sic,) eldest son of the Stationer became a London Merchant who, for several years afterwards, dispatched shipments to provide the essential requirements of colonial settlements, & plantations.  He often took payment for these supplies in Tobacco.


The First Republic of America: An Account of the Origins of this Nation:

Pages 560-561:  

“As soon as knowledge of the great want in Virginia became known in England steps were at once taken to supply the colonists.  The “George,” a ship of 180 tons, sailed about August 14th 1624 with 241 hogsheads of victuals and other necessary provisions by diverse private adventurers, among others, namely:

            Mr. Thomas Douse, sendeth         2 ¼ Tons        9 hogsheads.


Note that this man above appears to be Thomas Dew, son of the deceased London Stationer, still having his name confused by his father’s use of the name Dowse, or Douse.  It seems that he came back from London to Virginia either upon the George, or a following ship.


A Muster of the Inhabitente of Elizabeth Cittie Beyond the Hampton River Beinge the Companyes Land (circa 1625):

            A List of Dead Beyond Hampton River:

Mr. Dowse, his men, 2  (Two of Thomas Dew’s indentured men were killed.)

Apparently only his unidentified men were dead.  It appears that Mr. Dowse (sic) voyaged to England during the same year, and returned to Virginia on an unidentified ship.


            In c. 1625, Elizabeth Bennett, Dew, wife of Thomas Dew,

gave birth to Andrew Dew in Berkshire England, where she then

resided.  This assures us that Thomas Dew and his wife Elizabeth

were obviously united together thereabouts nine months earlier.


Jan. 10th 1626:  A Court at James Citty:

“It is Ordered ye servant of Capt. Douse shall have two yeares time abated unto him of ye seven yeares to begine to be accounted at ye time of ye said Robert Todd’s arrival here.” Todd came over with Capt. Prince.

Robert Todd came on the 1622 voyage of the “Hopewell” with Capt. Prince Robert Todd was

enumerated on the 1625 muster of Elizabeth City, Virginia, aged 20, a servant to William Tiller.  The

Minutes of the Council and General Court for the 10th day of January 1626 at James Citty  states that

Richard Roper was a witness for a case involving servant Robert Todd, Capt. Douse, Christopher

Windmill, and Capt. PrinceChristopher Windmill came over on the “Bona Nova” in 1619.


[Note that this is essentially the last record found regarding a Douse, or Dowse in early Virginia.  Apparently the name was henceforth recorded as Dew, Dewe or Dewes.  The record above is apparently of Thomas Dewe, eldest son of the Stationer. – SD.]


                On Oct. 8th 1626, Elizabeth Bennett, Dew, wife of Thomas Dew, gave birth to Thomas Dew in Kingston Lisle, Berkshire where she then resided.  Thus it would appear that Thomas and Elizabeth Dew were together thereabouts the month of January, some nine months earlier.


1626 – 1628:  We also note the conspicuous absence of any surviving children of Thomas Dew and wife Elizabeth in the period from about 1626 until 1632.  This seems to testify to a lengthy separation when Thomas and some of his older children were planting on Somers Island (Bermuda,) and in Virginia, while his wife Elizabeth, and the youngest children remained in England.


By 1628, it is likely that Elizabeth Bennett, Dewe wife of Thomas, had already experienced at least four or more pregnancies, and some of these children survived.  It is said that gave birth in 1625, in Berkshire, England, to Andrew Dewe who died ca. 1661 (age 35) in Virginia.  She then gave birth to Thomas Dewe in 1626, he being Christened on Oct. 8th, 1626 in Kingston Lisle, Berkshire, England, and in October of 1634 she gave birth to Ann Dewe, christened on November 21st, 1634 at St. Andrews, Holborn, London, England, the same daughter whom she brought to Virginia when Ann was just nine months old. Elizabeth left her remaining children behind in England attending school or in the care of servants.  It appears that there were at least four unknown children that were born quite early.  It is almost certain that one of them was named Edward Dewe.  By 1632 it appears that Thomas & Elizabeth Dewe had at least six surviving children leaving us with four whose identities have not been established.


Virginia Carolorum:  the Colony Under the Rule of Charles 1st, & Charles 2nd, 1625 A.D., p 247, footnote 1:  “Henry Woodhouse when Governor of Bermuda (Somers Island) [1623 – 1626] wrote to London in 1627 that one third of the settlers there were disposed to go to Virginia.  Among the prominent Planters there (Somers Island) were Thomas Dew, and Ben Harrison.  They were probably the same persons with these names who a few years later are Planters in Virginia.”


            Colonial Records of Bermuda 1616 –1640:

In September of 1626, John Welsh was Council for the Devonshire Tribe, of Somers Island (Bermuda) when Samuel Tatum, and other Inhabitants, signed a complaint against Captain Stokes.


In 1627: “The Corporacon of Charles Citte” shows a Thomas Dowse having 400 acres planted, land granted in 1626.  [Hotton’s Lists, p. 267]   Apparently Thomas Dew was planting in Virginia by 1626, and also operating a plantation on Somers Island.  This is not a far-fetched conclusion, and it doesn’t mean that he had to be in more than one place at the same time.  Planting and harvest times were not the same for each place.  Both slave, and indentured labor existed in both places by then.  Thomas Doe (sic) was also recorded as being a merchant of London.  Apparently Thomas Dew, Dewe, Dowse, and Doe were names sometimes confused, often the same man – apparently a very busy one.


But there was an early man called Thomas Douse, or Dowes, who arrived from England on the ship “Mary & Margaret” commanded by Capt. Newport in 1608.  I now believe he was the same man Thomas Dew who later became a London Guild London Stationer in 1621, but the facts are very difficult to sort out. 

It is observed possible that after apprenticing for a year at the Bookstore in London that Thomas Dew, the elder, subscribed to the Virginia Company of London by paying his passage fee under an alias, and came to Virginia on the “Mary & Margaret” commanded by Capt. Newport.  He may have been recorded there as Thomas Dowse, or Douse until after 1617 when word of the failing health, and death of Stationer John Helme arrived. Later in 1619-20 the urging of Annie Helme may have convinced him to return from Virginia to England as her partner in the bookstore. 

Afterwards it may have been his son Thomas Dew who married to Elizabeth Bennett that made records given the name Dowse, or Douse, or Doe in Virginia.  However my characterization of these events has not yet been proved.

Thomas Dowse was alleged privy to a conspiracy fomented in Virginia in 1609.  He is thought to have been the Thomas Dowse who sold corn to Whitaker before his death, mentioned in testimony of Martha Sizemoure in May of 1617.  He was elected a Burgess to the first legislature of Virginia on July 30th 1619 from the Citty of Henricus.  He was appointed upon a 1619 committee for perusing the first and third books of the fower in Virginia. 

Then there is the Thomas Dowse who in 1627 “the Corporacon of Charles Citty” said had 400 acres planted.  Finally there is the “Thomas Dowse, his men - 2” of no discernable date (about 1624-25) on “a list of the dead beyond Hampton River…” Was Thomas dead, or just his men?  Apparently it was just his two unidentified men who were his indentured servants.  A Thomas Dowse and Mrs. Dowse were among the “Settlers living at Elizabeth Cittye” Feb. 16th 1623/24. (This last entry appears to be the Stationer’s son.)

I maintain that there exists some confusion about Thomas Dowse, Douse, and Dewe, and it is difficult to determine who was actually who in these records. It appears that there were two men involved in this confusion, and just who the first actually was, and if he was related to the son of the London Stationer, is still a matter unsettled. 

Some think that the London Stationer was the man who made the Virginia records up until 1617, but returned to the Bookstore in London, and it was his son that made the Virginia records after this date. -  SD.    Sources:   

Narratives of Early Virginia (1606-1625), p 160

Proceedings of the Virginia Assembly, pp 239, 256

History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia, p. 136

First Republic in America: An Account of the Origin of this Nation, pp 560, 561


Theodore Moyses arrived on the “London Merchant” in March of 1620.  Both Thomas Doe and Theodore Moyses were mentioned at plantation “Archers Hope” and “James Citty (1627-1629.)”


On June 4, 1628 Thomas Dewe, - & children (who were not named,) signed a Petition:

“Petition of the Poor Planters of Somers Island, being above three score, mostly humbly sheweth that whereas the greatest part of your poor petitioners have lived in the said islands ever since the infancy of the plantation there, and imployed all their estate and industry in fortifying the same by the space of six years, without any profit at all.

So it is that your poor petitioners coming late from England with some small means in tobacco to relieve themselves and families, the same hath remained near four months in the customs house under our imposition of nine pence in the pound cleare, although we pay no duties to His Majestie.

May it further please your Lordship, the most part of your petitioners have ever since their coming into England, gone upon the score, for victuals, lodging and clothes, and those worne out yet unpaid for, and some arrested, and the rest of us in daily danger of being arrested; and some of us are turned out from their places where they lay to shift for themselves, amongst which are women and children, and all of us driven to the extremity that wee shall never be able to return to our children and families in the islands without your Lordshipps speedy favor herein, all which their necessities and distressed case, they most humbly present to Your Lordships, beseeching your honors the time for their return being short, that your Lordships will be pleased to vouchsafe your favorable mediation and meanes to His Majesty that his poor miserable subjects, your supplicants may have their Tobacco by Bills of Store for this present yeare; and when any further order shall by His Majesty and your Lordships wisdoms bee taken for regulating of that commodity we will in all dutiful obedience submit unto it; and ever pray for his Majesty and your Lordships long lives and eternal felicity.”


“Robert Staples                      Rev. Wm. Bennett                 Richard Leicroft                      Robert Harrison

William Bullock                      James Wharly                         Abraham Sheeves                   RobertThurlington

Richard Wallet                        Henry Dixon                           Robert Crofts                          Alexander Mare

Samuel Tatum                       Percivall Neale                        John Hall                                 Francis Boulton

Xpofer Crofts                          Robert Burgesse                      Peregoine Brittaine                              Henry Treadwell

Benjamin Harrison                              John Haddon                          George Needham                    Walter Wood

Nicholas Rainton                    Walter Downman                   Giles Marsh                             Tho. Lullett

Thomas Powell                       William Banister                     Christopher Lafield                                Henry Clark

John Parrett                            Edward Plumer                      Henry Johnston                       Charles Overton

John Webb                              Richard Bosse                         Edward Dixe                          Daniel Sares

Simon Barrett                         Matthew Thomas                   Edward Burges                      William Hornwall

Thomas Delamore                  William Baker                      James Teige                            Phillip Freestone

George Vittall                         Ann Heys- & children            Edward Crafts- children        Howell Morris

Abigail Bents                          Daniel Funoz                          Sarah Prosser- children          Thomas Dewe-&  children

Richard Phillips                      Anne Harvard                        John Marsh                             Mary Coates

John Waters                            Anne Woolsay                        John Howell                            Anne Smith

George Tennant                      Elizabeth Bishop                    William Raggedall                  Jane West”


[Sixty-eight parties, and an undisclosed number of unnamed children subscribed to this Petition. (House of Commons, London)]


It appears that the Stationer’s son Thomas Dew (Doe) & his wife were in Virginia as early as 1622, but because of the illness, & subsequent death of his in-laws, he returned to London in about 1623.  His father the London Stationer soon perished in 1624.  The son Thomas became a London merchant supplying the colonial settlements for compensation in Tobacco.  After conditions improved in the plantations Thomas and some of his children adventured as Planters on Somers Island in both the Caribbean, and in Virginia prior to 1628. The language of the above Petition implies that he had been planting on Somers Island for at least one season. It seems from the following records that Thomas Dewe, and Elizabeth his wife planted in "Archer's Hope," in Virginia for at least one season where in 1629 he was recorded as a Burgess.  He was called a London Merchant in 1630 when returning from Virginia with Tobacco.  They removed to Association Island about 1631.  The Providence Company opened "Old Providence Island" to English Planters in 1631, and Thomas Doe of Association Island removed there and planted on this Island for at least two seasons before returning to the mainland of Virginia where he is subsequently found in 1632 or 1633, however, in 1635 he was still being called "a Planter of Providence."  Captain Anthony Hilton was Governor of Tortuga, AKA: Association Island, in 1632, and Old Providence was off the east bank of Central America, while New Providence was in the Bahamas.  His passage via Tortuga, where he had problems with Capt. Hilton in 1632, implies that Old Providence Island might have been his destination. 


Note that his children, mentioned in the above Petition traveling with their father, but without their mother, would likely have been beyond the age of four.  This suggests that his marriage to Elizabeth occurred sometime before 1623 when Thomas Doe & wife were noted living in the "Maine" District of James Citty after the Great Indian massacre, and they were also noted at Elizabeth Citty in an apparent duplication of the Virginia record. 


“Thomas Dew was a signer of many of the old plantation records in Bermuda (Somers Island) in the early days of its settlement.” [Ernestine White]


On October 16th 1629 Thomas Doe and Theodore Moyses were elected Burgesses representing "Archer's Hope," in James Citty, Virginia. [Hening's Statutes at Large]  Both Moyses & Doe are said to have arrived earlier on the “London Merchant,” but Thomas Doe was not among those listed on the March 1620 Manifest of Passengers of the “London Merchant;” however, Thomas Moyses was included on this manifest.  The plantation of "Archer's Hope" was located opposite to the plantation "Bennett's Welcome" just across the James River.


On Oct. 6th 1630, Thomas Doe & Co. [A. S. Lanham], in the “Friendshipp” of London, imported 7,000 Lb. of Virginia Tobacco.  He was a London Merchant.  [Digital Library of Virginia]


On February 6. 1631, “Upon petition of Mrs. Dew that her husband might have leave to remove from Association Island to Providence Island and have six servants allowed to him, and she be permitted to go in the next ship with an advance of twenty Pounds for her outfit.” 


At the time of this record, his destination appears to have been "Old Providence Island" off the coast of Central America, he having earlier planted on Somers Island prior to 1628, at Archer's Hope in Virginia in 1629, thence removing to Association Island about 1630.  The Providence Company had just opened "Old Providence Island" to adventurous English Planters.


Six servants were allowed to Planters without extra passage fee by both the Virginia Company of London, and the Providence Company.  For this reason their children were often listed as servants.  If this practice held true in this instance for Thomas Dew, then he had at least six children by 1631.  Only two of his children of this age group are identified; Andrew Dewe, born ca. 1625; & Thomas Dewe, born ca. 1626.


November 1632: (Brooke House, London, England)  “Planters intending for Providence are allowed to pay for their passage from the proceeds of their labor… Mrs. Dew asks that her husband be permitted to go from Amsterdam to Providence on “The Eagle” with six servants allowed to him, and that she may go on the next ship.”


            On December 2nd 1632, when the “Eagle” arrived at Association Island Capt Anthony Hilton, (governor of said island,) has accused Thomas Dew of mutiny.  Thomas Dew continued the voyage on the “Eagle” to old Providence Island.


Complaints had formerly been lodged against Captain Anthony Hilton for “taking” ship’s cargo, as well as the personal possessions of passengers, whereby allegedly abusing his authority as Governor.  Hilton now claimed that Dew was mutinously running away from his obligation at Association Island.


                Note further that children were often listed as “servants” on such voyages.  If

these were his children, then certainly some of them would lilely need be issued prior to

1625, and they are some of his unidentified offspring that probably perished before

arriving at the age of maturity.


Brooke House, London, Minutes of a Court for Providence Island: (pp 139-140)

On Dec. 6th 1632 “Upon a Petition of Mrs. Dew that her husband might have leave to remove from Association Island to Providence Island, and to have six servants allowed to him, and that she be permitted to go on the next ship with an advance of Twenty Shillings for her outfit.  A Warrant for her husband’s removal was granted, the loan is refused, and her proposition is referred for consideration.”  [Colonial Entry Books, Vol. III, pp 46-48]


                In 1633, a Thomas Doe “settled” in Virginia.


In 1633, Thomas Dewe, John Carter, Daniell Coogan, and William Parker are found representing Upper Norfolk, Virginia at a Grand Assembly of Virginia. 


Brooke House, London:  Minutes of a Court for Providence Island, pa. 173:

On December 2nd 1633:  “Tho. Dew accused by Capt. Hilton of mutiny at Association, directed to prepare his answer against the next meeting.”  [Colonial Entry Book, Vol. III, pp 118-119]


Brooke House, London:  Minutes of a Court for Providence Island, pa. 173:

December 6th 1633, London:  “Tho. Dew denied Capt. Hilton’s accusation of an intention to run away from Association; 500 Pounds of Tobacco brought by him (Thomas Dew) in the “Dainty.  Ordered to be given up to him upon certain circumstances.”  [Colonial Entry Book, Vol. III, pp 119-120]


On January 25, 1634 a Thomas Dewe witnessed a grant concerning four persons transported to Virginia.  [He may have witnessed this grant in London.]


Brooke House, London:  Minutes of a Court for Povidence Island: (pa. 175):

On February 12, 1634, [London, CCSP: Calendar of State Papers ] “License to Thomas Dew to dispose of his tobacco on payment of all disbursements for his accounts.  The accusation charged on him by Captain Hilton remitted.  Dew names persons fit to manage the Government of Association Island.“

Dew suggested “Captain Christopher Wormerly, Governor of Association Island.”  [Colonial Entry Book, Vol. III, pa. 126]


1634: Terrier of East Hendred, Berkshire, England:

“All the tithe corn and haye of the lands of ye widow Dewe containing one yeard land.”

“All the tithe corn and haye of the land of Richard Dewe containing halfe a yeard land.”

[Note that Richard Dew was one of the “Commissioners of the Land Tax in Berkshire” in 1656.]


On Nov. 21st 1634 Ann Dewe, daughter of Thomas Dew, & wife Elizabeth was christened in St. Andrew Holborn, in London England.  It appears that she perished after 1703 on St. Georges Island, Bermuda, and it is suspected that she married John Welch, Jr. who planted on Bermuda while it was still called Somers Island.


1634:  Francis Goodman arrived in Virginia.  Three years later in 1637, Thomas Dewe of Upper Norfolk, Virginia, claimed headrights for land for Goodman’s transportation. [C & P]


Original List of Persons of Quality who went from Great Britain to the American Plantations , p 81:

In May 21st 1635, a Jo(seph). Doe, age 22, to be transported by Warrant of the Earle of Carlisle to St. Christopher’s, (now St. Kitts,) imbarqued in “the Mathew” of London.  “Joe Doe settled in St. Christopher’s in 1635.”


May 1635: “The Expectation,” from London at Providence Island:  “Mr. Dew, Planter of Providence, Island…,” (departing from Providence to Virginia, on the way to London?) was mentioned.   [Thomas Dew is not noticed appearing among the incoming passengers of the Expectation from London; therefore, he is presumed to have been among the outgoing passengers to Virginia, then on to London. - S. Due]


Original List of Persons of Quality who went from Great Britain to the American Plantations, p 109:

July 13th 1635:  Persons to be transported by “The Alice” from London to Virginia.  Captain Richard Orchard:

                        Elizabeth Dew (32) (Elizabeth was born in 1603)

            Ann Dew (9 months (Ann was born in October 1634, her



Notice that in 1632 Elizabeth Dewe had expressed her intention, and made a

Request for herself to go to Providence Island on the next ship after The Eagle, the

ship upon which she requested passage for her husband and six servants allowed

him, this ship embarking from Amsterdam to Providence Island. Records make it is

clear that the Eagle  actually carried her husband to the Caribbean in 1632.


It is also certain that Elizabeth herself returned to England some time before 1635, the year when she is found establishing passage to Virginia with her youngest child, Ann.  But since no later records are found in Virginia, regarding Elizabeth Dew, this seems to indicate that she also returned from Virginia to England soon again after this voyage was made to Virginia.


Original List of Persons of Quality who went from Great Britain to the American Plantations, p 122:

In August of 1635 Thomas Doe, age 33, to be transported to Virginia, imbarqued in “the Safety.”


                In 1635, a Ralph Doe “settled” in Virginia.  He was likely a brother of

                Thomas Dew.


In 1636, a John Doe “settled” in Virginia.  He was likely a brother of Thomas Dew who shortly moved to Barbados.


1637:  Thomas Dewe of Upper Norfolk, Va., claimed head rights on several persons for transporting them to Virginia.  (This transportation would have taken place at least three years prior to the claim, occurring on or before 1634.)


In 1638 a John Dew was included on a list of inhabitants of Barbados who owned more that ten acres of land.  We would expect this John Dew to have been born on or before 1617, an adult.  Both an Edward Bennet, and an Edward Brown appeared on this same list.  Bennet was alleged to be a cousin of Col. Thomas Dew.  We are told that Thomas Dew, of Virginia fame, married Elizabeth Bennett, however we must remember that Colonel Thomas Dewe’s uncle Richard Dewes married Elizabeth Bennett, a daughter of Richard Bennett and Elizabeth Tisdale in Berkshire, England.  Records for this Bennett family are far from complete.


This aforesaid John Dew was likely a brother of Thomas Dewe, immigrant planter.


It interesting that when Thomas Dew returned to the Caribbean in 1632, he was

accused of mutiny at Association Island by Governor (Anthony?) HiltonCaptain Anthony Hilton, the same who died in late 1634, was somewhat of a rogue.  By 1631 the Providence Company had already established the first colonial outpost and settlement on “Old Providence Island.”  Hilton persuaded the Providence Company to protect the Island of Tortuga, AKA: Association Island, and to appoint him as Governor.  Tortuga was an island that was a haven for pirates with whom Hilton was in league for personal gain. There are no records that show that Thomas Dew was actually prosecuted for this alleged mutiny.  These charges were remitted, and dismissed as unfounded.


In 1635 Thomas Dew was called a Planter of Providence: “Old Providence,” an island now

called Isla de Providencia, which lies off the east coast of Nicaragua, as part of an

archipelago now claimed by Columbia, but in dispute by Nicaragua..


By 1633, Thomas Dew had already established himself on the mainland of Virginia, at

Nanesmond, site of an abandoned Indian village in Upper Norfolk County, Virginia, and

after 1635, any of his remaining interests in the Caribbean were those delegated to his

young sons, or brothers.


The aforesaid John Dew was likely a brother of Col. Thomas Dews that married

Elizabeth Bennett.  He may have also been the same John Dew who after planting in

Barbados returned to England to help oversee the affairs of his mother, Annie

Holmes, Dewes, or s-I-l Elizabeth Bennett, Dews, who for the most part were

dwelling in Berkshire, or adjacent Oxfordshire.  The subsequent death of his mother, in addition to danger present in the aftermath of the Cromwell Protectorate may have prompted John Dew to return to the Barbados.  A few years before his death (before 1657) he ventured for a time to Nanesmond, Virginia where his brother’s great plantations lay.


On Aug. 1st 1638, Thomas Dew, granted 400 acres, Upper County of

the New Norfolk, Virginia, lying about one line from the plantation

of Thomas Powell.  Included:

            200 acres by assignment of Thomas Powell.

                200 acres by transportation of four persons (in 1635)  [C&P P B1, p. 95]


On Oct. 10th 1638, Thomas Dew, 300 acres, Upper Norfolk County,

Virginia in Nansamund River, beginning at the Old Indian Town,

SE into the woods a small Island being opposite against said Island. 

Due for transportation of four persons (in 1635.)  [C&P}


In November of 1638 Thomas Dew was a Virginia Counciler.


Maryland State Archives:  Land Office Patent Records, Vol. AB, & H, pp 61, 83, & 101:  (This seems to be either the elder Thomas Dew, or his twelve year old son Thomas Dew was being transported from England to port in Maryland.)

“December 1638:  A Thomas Doe was transported by Thomas Garrard, Gentleman, who demandeth 4,000 acres due him by condition of plantation for transporting into the Province at his own charge himself and twenty able menservants in the years of 1637, 1638, and 1640.”


Thomas Dewe made a trip from Virginia to England on or shortly before April 22, 1640, because three years later (as the law required delaying such claims) he claimed head-rights for land for transportation of "his own person, adventurer George Spivie, and seven others from England to Virginia.” [Book I, page 150]


Note: The wording of this above entry dictates that the passenger Thomas Dewe mentioned was an early immigrant, and it should be equally obvious that he had several children of primary and secondary school age that may have been getting their education in England at this time.  His youngest son John was about two years old, and his daughter Ann was about six years of age.  His wife Elizabeth who was about 37 years of age might have been back in England with these children in about 1640.  There exists no head-right claim indicating that Elizabeth Dew ever returned to Virginia, so she may have perished in England, never having returned to Virginia.   Likewise, there is no record that indicates that Elizabeth Dew ever returned from Virginia to England, and she may have perished in Upper Norfolk, Va.  Her date, and place of death is unknown.  However her return to England, and her death there in about 1666 is suggested.


On Nov. 7th 1640, Thomas Dew, 250 acres, Upper Norfolk County, Virginia “upon his own land running E by S through a reedy Poquoson, etc., included:

50 acres for transportation of one person (in 1636.)

200 acres by assignment of John Wright (C&P, Pat. 1, p 122)


In April of 1642 Thomas Dewe was a member of the Grand Assembly in Virginia. [Hening's Statutes at Large]


On Jan. 8th 1643, Coll. Thomas Dew was granted 750 acres, Upper Norfolk County, Virginia, on Eastward side of the Southern Branch of the Nanzemond River. Southward side of Crany Creek, opposite Crane * Nehokin Islands; and adjacent to Mr. Randall Crew, Oct. 10th 1670.  [C &P, Patent Book 6, page 83]  Included:

300 acres by a former patents, and

450 acres due for transportation of nine persons: including his own person, Adventurer,

George Spivie, and seven others from England to Virginia three years earlier.  [C&P, I, p.



By 1646 the apparent second Virginia immigrant of this family, Thomas Dewe had already been promoted to the rank of Lt. Colonel of the Virginia militia as this record shows:

"Under Orders from Virginia Governor William Berkley, an expedition against the Indians along the Chowan River was led by Major General Richard Bennett, who went by land, and by Lt. Coll. Thomas Dew, who went by water..." [Hening's Statutes at Large]


            In 1649 the English Parliament declared England to be a Commonwealth.  A Protectorate under rule of Lord Protector Oliver Cromwell ensued in 1653 and lasted until 1659 when the Monarchy was established again.  English merchants Andrew Dew, and his brother Thomas Dew immigrated to the safety of the Virginia plantations in 1650.  Andrew remained there and perished in Virginia some 11 years later, but Capt. Thomas Dew returned to England after Oliver Cromwell was named Lord Protector 1n 1653.


In November of 1650, Andrew Dew, eldest surviving son of Lt. Col. Thomas Dew of Virginia came from England to Virginia, this known because land headrights to his passage were claimed on Nov. 22nd 1653, by two different parties; Thomas Liddle, and Major Andrew Gislon. No doubt these two conflicting and erroneous claims were simply confused, as one of them was supposed to have filed on Thomas Dew’s transportation instead.


Andrew’s brother Thomas Dew, and family came about the same time.  Thomas joined the Virginia militia the following year wherein he served as a Captain.  He also served as a Magistrate in 1651, and as a Burgess from Lower Norfolk in 1652.  Captain Thomas Dew apparently bought no land in Virginia, or claimed no headrights, and may have never intended to remain there except for a temporary period.


Shortly after his arrival in Virginia, Andrew Dew bought 200 acres of land in the Northen Neck of Virginia from Col. Moore Fauntleroy whom it appears was married to Andrew’s first cousin Mary Underwood, Fauntleroy.  It was upon this tract of land that Andrew Dew, formerly an English merchant, transformed himself into a Virginia planter, dwelling nearby his relations.  It could have been the land on which is father-in-law Thomas Duncomb, alias Duncan also dwelt upon shortly after his arrival in Virginia City County, Virginia in 1653, the same who died in Lancaster County in 1659.


Recorded on June 17, 1651, Nancimond (sic) Court, Virginia:

"I was in company with Mr John fferinhaugh when he made good***of this debt.  I doe thinke in my conscience that ye debte which Robet Ewens demand is nothing just.  Teste: W. Hancock.  Proved in Court before Capt. Thomas Dewe, Mr. John Cotton, Mr. Lawson."  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


The Capt. Thomas Dewe mentioned above as a magistrate in Nanesmond, Va. was a son of the Lt. Col. Thomas Dewe of the same place, and time.  It is apparent from the record shown above and below that both served as Burgesses in Virginia, but the son & his family apparently removed first to England, and then to Barbados where he perished about 1689.


On April 26, 1652 Captain Thomas Due of Nanesmond, Lower Norfork, Virginia was a member of the assembled Virginia House of Burgesses.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]  He was a son of the concurrent Virginia Lt. Colonel of that same forename.


Henceforth, the Virginia record is mute regarding this particular Capt. Thomas Dewes, a son of the Colonel of the same forename.  For part of this time he may have been working for his father on his estate lands in Virginia. But he either withdrew from public service altogether, and he simply worked for his father in Virginia for a number of years, or he left Virginia entirely, perhaps returning to England.   However, a much younger Thomas Dew also became a Captain in the Virginia militia many years later. He was recorded in the period long after his namesake uncle departed from Virginia. 


Records made in London support a view that the Colonel’s son, Capt. Thomas Dewes returned to England sometime before 1659.  He was 26 years of age when the last record was made regarding his public service in Virginia.  As a legal resident and London Merchant, it appears that he imported his father’s goods and tobacco from Virginia, avoiding the otherwise great expense of a Commission Agent.


We also find the Colonel’s son Capt. Thomas Dewes recorded on the 1680 Census records of Barbados, where he apparently died in 1689.  He was last married to a Scotch wife believed to be Mary McKinzie, by whom he had at least two children, Jemima Dewe, Kenny, Skene, & Robert. Dewes, the latter being orphaned at age two.  And there were also others of his family dwelling on Barbados.

Several older children, perhaps half-siblings were also there, one being Captain George Dews, a mariner, who dwelt on Bermuda.  Eventually, most of these surviving siblings, or half-siblings, removed from Barbados to Carolina, although one of his daughters may have married Edward Fisher, and removed to Dorchester, Maryland.


On November 25th 1652 Coll. Tho. Dew, Speaker, was a Burgess from Nanesmond County, Virginia.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


In 1652, John Dew, who was visiting, or perhaps on his brother’s business, took the Oath of Allegiance to England without a King in Northumberland, Va.   This man is almost certain to be the brother of Col. Thomas Dewe who had been a Planter in Barbados in 1638, and it is likely that he perished before 1657 in Virginia, at about age 40.  


John Dewe, a son of the Colonel, was raised and educated in England.  By some means, it appears that John Dewe acquired the Barbados plantation of his uncle John Dewe who apparently had no male heirs in 1657.  He apprenticed at Bristol in 1658.  Afterward in 1659-60 he planted in Jamaica, and Barbados for the Scot-Irishman John Napper.  After misfortune at his sugar plantation in Barbados John Dewe removed to Virginia about 1667 where he soon married Elizabeth Shearer.  His brothers Richard & Thomas Dewe expunged their brother’s debt at the failed sugar plantation in Barbados, and both took up some enterprise in Barbados, whether in planting, or merchandising.  There is no record discovered of any office or landholdings held in Virginia by John Dew, the son of

Colonel Thomas Dewe.  So his father likely employed John Dew.


On July 5th 1653 Coll. Tho. Dew was a Burgess from Nanesmond County, Virginia.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


On Nov. 22nd 1653, Major Andrew Gilson of Virginia claimed headrights for land for transporting Andrew Dew to Virginia three years earlier.  It is noted that Thomas Liddle also claimed headright for land on Andrew Dew’s transportation to Virginia on the very same date.  No doubt these two conflicting and erroneous claims were simply confused, as one of them was supposed to have filed on Andrew’s brother Thomas Dew instead.


On November 20th 1654 Coll. Tho. Dew was a member of an Assembly held at James Citty representing Nanesmond County, Virginia.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


In 1655, Lord Oliver Cromwell’s naval forces took Jamaica from the Spanish.


On March 31st 1655 Coll. Tho. Dew was a member of the Grand Assembly held at James Citty, Virginia.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


The Old explorer, Coll. Thomas Dew applied to the Virginia Assembly in December 1656 for authority "to make a discoverie of the navigable rivers to the southward between Cape Hatterras, and Cape Fear with such Gentlemen & Planters as would voluntarily and att their owne charge acompanie him." His request was granted...  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


In 1658, John Dew, of Kidlington, Oxfordshire apprenticed at Bristol.  He was learning the methods of Cane production, and of extracting raw sugar from cane for shipping to the refinery at Bristol, however Bristol had an exorbitant import fee on raw sugar unless you were a Bristol Freeholder.  A Commission Agent must be utilized to avoid this fee.  Commission Agents worked directly with planters, and sent chartered ships to collect the produce directly.  London merchants consigned goods to Commission Agents who would sell them to planters.  Planters would sell their produce to the Commission Agent, and immediately exchange produce for commodities.  Commission Agents dominated the sugar trade, and kept many planters in chronic debt.  Lord Protector Oliver Cromwell also perished in 1658.


In March of 1657-8, Coll. Thomas Dew a member of the Virginia Assembly.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]

During this same period, his son Andrew Dew was appointed “Overseer” of the Will of Capt. Francis Slaughter, Sr., husband of Elizabeth Underwood, Slaughter, who was apparently Andrew Dew’s first cousin.  These Underwoods dwelt in Rappahannock County, Virginia.


In March 1658-9, Coll. Thomas Dewe, Coll. William Bernard, and Coll. William Claiborn administered the Oath to the Burgesses.  [Hening's Statutes at Large]


In March 1659-60, Coll. Thomas Dewe was a member of the Council of State for Virginia. [Hening's Statutes at Large]


In 1659, an Edward Dew, of Plymouth, England, was arrested and sent from Wiltshire, England, to Barbados, on the Western Prisoners Circuit.  His crime was probably in supporting the Cromwell Protectorate that collapsed in 1658. 


In the same year, John Dew of Kiddlington, Oxford, England, indentured himself for four years as a Tiller in Jamaica to Bristol Commission Agent John Napper.  Dew arrived in Jamaica on the "Providence."  Voluntary endenturment for a period of 4-7 years, resulted in payment of 10 Pounds Sterling, or a piece of land of equivalent value.


On May 29th 1659, Richard Dew was married to Ellin in London, England.  On that date their son named David Dew was christened at St. Bride, on Fleet Street, in London.  David perished less than a year later on April 21st 1660.  Richard Dew probably removed to Barbados in later years.


In 1660 a Peter Trebbel of London, bound himself for four years in Barbados, to John Dew, tiller


In Oct. 17th 1660, Present: Sir William Berkley, Governor; Col. Thomas Dewe; Col. Obed. (Obedience) Robbins, and others, “sailed from the Port of London in the good ship “Alice” bound for the Virginia Colony.”


William & Mary College Quarterly Magazine, p. 135:

                        “…Andrew Dew, who bought lands in Essex (county, Virginia) in

1660…” and on, or before Dec. 15th 1660, Andrew Dew, planter, sold

200 acres of land on the southeast side of Farnham Creek in the

Northern Neck of Virginia to Thomas Liddle, being a tract that

Andrew Dew originally bought from Col. Moore Fauntleroy.


            Col. Moore Fauntletroy married before 1653 to Mary Underwood.  He died before

1666 in Virginia.  His widow married William Lloyd in old Rappahannock County,



On April 28th 1661, Andrew Dew [b. c. 1625, Berkshire, Eng., - c. 1661, Rapahannock, Va.,] the eldest known son of Col. Thomas Dew, and Elizabeth Bennett, perished in Rappahannock County, Virginia, after having immigrated to Virginia in c. 1650 (at age 25) with his wife Ann Duncan, alias Duncomb, and at least one English born child, Thomas Dew b. 1648, Eng. – d. c. 1709] who married 1st to Elizabeth Barber and 2nd to Jean Baker [He was primogenitor heir of the Colonel’s Virginia estate in 1691.] Andrew bore two other children; Andrew [b. c. 1650 – d. c. 1714] who married Flora Price in Virginia; and Ann [b. ? – d. ?] who married James Toone, Jr., in Virginia.  His relict Ann Duncan/Duncomb, Dew married 2nd James Toone, Sr. [d. 1676], and 3rd Dominick Rice [d. 1684] in Virginia.  Ann’s deceased husband Andrew Dewe was apparently formerly an English Merchant with business adventures in Scotland along with his younger brother Tom.


                                Although it has long been speculated that Andrew Dewe married Ann Duncombe, a

daughter of Thomas Duncombe, and Mary Barber, in England, this is refuted by all English

Authorities that state that, this particular daughter, Mary Barber perished without issue in England.         

Speculation that Andrew Dewe married Ann Whitehead also appear to be without any substantial

basis in records.  It appears that Ann’s mother was actually Mary Phelps, instead.


                        [It appears that Andrew Dew married a woman of ancient Scot heritage, Ann Duncan, alias Duncomb, before

he came to Virginia from England in November of 1650.  Her parents immigrated to Charles City County, Virginia

in 1650 transported by John Westhorpe recorded in 1653, then they moved to Lancaster County.  As a widow in

1659 Andrew Dew’s mother in law, Mary Duncomb/Duncan, married Edward Roe, that was granted Dover

Plantation, Talbot County, Maryland in 1659, after Mary’s husband Thomas Duncomb/Duncan, perished at

Piankatank, Lancaster  County, Virginia prior to Nov. 30th 1659, the date Thomas’s Will was proved.  They moved

to Dover Plantation.


9 Oct. 1669, Edward Roe survey for land in Talbot County, Maryland on Winslows Creek of the Choptank River, a

tract called Dover.  [Annapolis MD Land Office (Rent Rolls) Liber 11: 180]


[When Edward Roe perished 1676 at Dover Plantation, Talbot Co., MD, he left his estate to stepson Thomas

Duncan the son of his wife by Thomas Duncan, alias DuncombeThomas Duncan, this stepson, perished under

age 21, unmarried, and his estate passed to the decedant’s uncle John Duncan, alias Duncombe who had married

Elizabeth Roe, daughter of Edward Roe.]


From the Will of Edward Roe, 4 March 1675/6:

1.        Unto my wife’s son Thomas Duncane that plantation which I purchased of Thomas Phillips in Island Creek

called Batchellsues Plantation. [Thomas Duncan/Duncane died later in 1676 or early in 1677, bequeathing his real estate to his mother, Mary Roe.]

2.        Unto my wife Mary Roe the one half of my real estate during her widowhood or natural life which of them

shall first happen, and other half unto my said daughter Elizabeth Roe & her heirs forever & and after my

said wife Mary Roe her decease or upon her marriage which of the two shall first happen.

3.        To my said daughter Elizabeth Roe the other half of my real estate to be possed with the other aforesaid half

of my real estate by her & her heirs forever.


[No Will, nor Intestate Probate of Andrew Dew’s estate, has ever been discovered in Virginia records.  His children were all minors at the time of Andrew’s death, and Scot women tended to always prearrange for the inheritance of her husband’s entire estate in such cases, unlike English women who by English law were only entitled to a third part of her husband’s estate in the absence of a Will.]


Duncan Excursus:


                                Thomas Duncan, alias Duncombe      Thomas Dewe

                                [?. Scotland, UK.-                                   [1601/02, Harwell, Berkshire, Eng. -

                                > 1659, Pianktank, Lancaster County,  before 1891, York, Va.]

                                Va.]  Mary Phelps = 2nd Edward Roe  Annie Bennett [c. 1603

                                of Dover Plantation.                                                               |

                                                |                                                              |

                                Ann Duncan, alias Duncombe        =  Andrew Dewe

                                                                                         |     [1625, Berkshire, Eng. –

                                                                                         |     Apr. 28, 1661, Rappahannock, Co., Va.]




In 1665 a party of Barbados planters intended to establish a permanent settlement on the Cape Fear River near where the town of Wilmington NC, later developed.  Among them may have been Frederick Haig of the Bermersyde Scot Clan.  The first Cape Fear colony was disrupted by Indian hostilities and was eventually abandoned. 


In 1666 the census of Bermuda by Richard Norwood, a survey of lands shows the following occupants and landowners in St. George’s Island, survey made 1662-1663:

            John Welsh

                        John Bristown Marshall

                                Roger Bayley

                                Hannah Holloway

                        Edward Middleton

Thomas Shaw

John Hurt


These seven together have 2 shares of land on St. George’s Isl.


                                No Dewes,  or variants of that surname, were surveyed.


A Thomas Dewe made a trip from Virginia to England and back again in 1663 or earlier because his neighbor John Davis claimed land for transportation of Thomas Dewes and 19 others, claim made on Feb. 27, 1666. [C&P, Nugent, page 20]  A mandatory delay of at least 3 years was required in order to file such a headright claim, and it was promptly filed as soon as this requirement was met.


In 1667, John Dewe, relieved of his insurmountable financial obligation of debt in Barbados by means of family aid, departed the West Indies for Virginia that year.  Land Headrights for his transportation to Virginia were claimed in 1670 after the mandatory three-year delay required before such claims could be filed. 

C & P Patemt Book 6, p. 100:

“Oct. 27th 1670: James Pope, granted 70 acres, Morthumberland County, Virginia, at the

head of Great Wiccocomocoe River, and adjacent to his own land; for transportation of two

persons; Wm. Herbert, and Jno. Dew.”


However, after consulting his father in Virginia about plans to remit the family financial aid, John made a voyage to England shortly thereafter.  Then two years later, in September of 1672, between the 16th and 20th day, John Dewe departed the Port of London, bound for Virginia on the ship “James” where he remained for the remaining six years of his life, no doubt in some nature of employment by his father.  There is no record that John Dewe ever owned any land in Viginia, nor did he ever hold a public office there.  In 1674, at age 38 thereabouts, John Dewe married his distant kinswoman, Elizabeth Shearer, daughter of John Shearer, mariner of Isle of Wight, Virginia, & wife Elizabeth Parnell.  They issued his only proved son John Dewe, Jr., during the following year.


In early April 1670 the Carolina arrived from Barbados at Kiawah, Ashley River, having first anchored on March 17th at Sewee Bay, AKA: Bull’s Island; and Point Royal about March 21, where they stayed 2 days; then to St. Helena, where five commoners of the Council were elected, being Joseph Dalton, Robert Donne, Ra. Marshall, Paul Smyth, & S. West, before arriving at the first Charles Towne settlement in Carolina.  On board were persons that may be pertinent to this genealogy:

                        John Coming

                                                Robert Donne

                                                Thomas Gourden

                                                Edward Hambelton

                                                Elizabeth Matthews

                                                Thomas Middleton

                                                Joseph Reed

                                                William Roades

                                                Arthur Roper

                                                Matthew Smallwood

                                                Abraham Smith

                                                Elizabeth Smith

                                                Paule Smith

                                                Thomas Smyth

                                                Thomas Summers

                                                Robert Williams

                                                John Williamson

                                                Richard Wright

                                And others…


On August 14, 1671 Edward Doe (sic) Dewe, a seaman, arrived on Stonoe Creek, in Carolina from Barbados on the Blessing, Capt. Mathias Halsted commanding.  Also arriving on this same date and ship were:

                                                John Berringer

                                                Richard Crossland

                                                Maurice Matthews

                                                Henry Hughes

                                                John Neale

                                                Michael Moran

                                                Joseph Pendaris

                                    David Abercromby

                                                Elizabeth Baker

                                                Simon Hughes

                                                Thomas Hurt

                                                Michael Lowell

                                                Edward Matthews

                                                Daniel Ming

                                                John Gardiner

                                                Peter Hearn

                                                William Barry

                                And others…


The land for the passengers of the Blessing was to be laid out on Stonoe Creek (that divided Johns Island and James Island) and a town laid out reserving 5 acres for a church.  The town was never built, and the passengers settled on the Ashley River where the first Charles Town site was located.


Collection of the South Carolina Historical Society, p. 331:

“August 28th 1671:  It is Ordered by the Governor and Council that the said seamen namely:

                                                Thomas Weedland

                                                Daniel Ming

                                                Edward Ottoway

                                                Thomas Bonick

                                Adrian Johnson

                                                Richard Plummer

                                                Edward Doe

                                                William Boe

                                                David Abercromby

                                                Lawrence Chapman,

or their attorney, or attorneys shall have liberty to take their several proportions of land in this province as largely is granted by the Lords Proprietors to other persons coming at the same time.”


If Edward Doe, mentioned above, was a son of Col. Thomas Dewe of Virginia, he died before 1691.


In 1672 Coll. Thomas Dewe, and his relative Maj. Gen. Richard Bennett, were among many persons converted to Quakerism by George Fox, founder of the Society of Friends, at a meeting in Nanesmond, Virginia.  Barbados was said to be the center for Quakerism in colonial America, at that time.


A List of the Eminent Planters of Barbados, made in 1673, did not include landowners whose acreage was less than 200 acres.  This means that many Barbados landowners were not included.  Some included on this list were:

                                Major Saml. Tidcombe                      300 acres

                                Col. Christopher Codrington           600 acres

                                Capt. Jno. Codrington                        300 acres

                                Benja. Middleton                                400 acres

                                And others…

[No John Dewe, nor any other Dewe landowner, was included on this list.  The previous Dewe Plantation there was more than 10 acres, but less than 200 acres, probably less than 100 acres.]


In 1672 Coll. Thomas Dewe, and his relative Maj. Gen. Richard Bennett, were among many persons converted to Quakerism by George Fox, founder of the Society of Friends, at a meeting in Nanesmond, Virginia.  Barbados was said to be the center for Quakerism in colonial America, at that time.


Before 1674, George Dews, Sr. was born very likely in Barbados, or England, being the same who appeared in Bermuda as a mariner in 1691.


As it might be noticed, he could have been a son of the John Dew of

Kiddlington, Oxford.  But George Dews, Sr. could also have been a son of

Richard Dew mentioned below, and therefore probably a grandson of Col. Thomas Dew mentioned as in Virginia when George was born. But his most probable ancestor was Richard’s brother Captain Thomas Dew of England, but lately of Virginia [There is no proof of either relationship, but certain implications exist.  He appears to have been named after George MacKenzie, 2nd Earl of Seaforth, his grandfather.]


John Dewe perished in about 1678 at Isle of Wight, Virginia. (Will.) 


There is no record of any landholdings in Virginia by John Dew, and he probably served as a tiller, manager, or overseer of some part of his father’s vast estate holdings in Virginia.  During the previous decade a series of calamities beset Jamaica, and other islands left John Dew in recent ruin.  No doubt he lost his wealth, and any expected profits as a result of certain tragic events.  This apparently drove him out of the Caribbean to Virginia. 


The Richard Dewe mentioned as an adjacent landowner in the April 20, 1694 Grant of Samuel Knibb, situate in the Bermuda Hundred Neck of Varina Parish, Henrico Co., Va., may have been a son of his brother Richard Dewe of Barbados, who with the aid of another brother Thomas Dewe, came from England and rescued John’s old sugar plantation.  Certainly this Richard Dewe of Henrico County, Virginia was not a son of the Colonel Thomas Dewe, but he may have been a grandson.  [Nothing yet proves the relationship.



1678:               Christ Church Parish Records, Barbados:

                        Baptism: Mary, daughter of Richard Middleton, on Sept. 8th 1678.


                                St. James Parish Records, Barbados (1678):

                                Land:      Richard Middleton had no land but was taxed on 4 Negroes.

                                Burial:     Mary, daughter of Richard Middleton, on Oct. 9th 1678.


                                St. John’s Parish records Barbados (1678):

                                Baptism: John, sonne of Capt. John Leslie, on Oct. 3rd 1678.


The surviving 1678 records of Barbados appear to be far from complete, but the

name Dew rarely appears, and Dewes fails to appear on those records that survived. 

This can be explained because in October of 1778, John Dew, a younger brother of Capt.

Thomas Dew, & Richard Dew of Barbados, perished in Nanesmond, Virginia

leaving a surviving son named John, and perhaps a posthumous born son named

Lewis, as well as his widow Elizabeth Shearer, Dew.  Being in poor health after

his unsuccessful adventure in Barbados that required his brothers to come to his

financial rescue from debt default, John left Barbados for the security of his

father’s plantations in Virginia where he married, and only a decade later, he

made his 1677 Isle of Wight, Virginia LW&T, and he died about 22 months later at

age 42.  After receiving word of the deteriorated condition, and imminent death of

their brother, the families of Capt. Thomas Dew, and Richard Dew very likely

sailed to Virginia for mutual family support and a vigil.  Thus in 1678 the Dewes

were away from Barbados an extended period, and consequently no records of

them are found there.  But by 1679, Mary, wife of Capt. Thomas Dewe is found

dwelling in Bridgetown, Barbados, and by 1680 all the other surviving members of

the Barbadian Dewe family are noted recorded in Barbados Parish records.

However, the existing records of this family that are found in Barbados are often

found erroneously transcribed from the original handwritten script records, or

were incorrectly recorded phonetically.


Northumberland, Va., Court (Head-rights,) pp 132-734:  Feb. 18th 1679-1680:

“Certificate Granted to Mr. Tho. Matthew (lately of Barbados) for 3800 acres of land for transportation

of 76 persons to this colony, vizt:

                (Himself and 10 Negroes from Barbados)

                This list of 76 names included:

                Tho. Dew.”

[Note that this transportation would have occurred in 1676 through 1677, probably when Capt. Thomas Dew

Came to Virginia because his younger brother John Dew was ill, and expected to die soon.]


Wills & Administrations Isle of Wight Virginia, 1647-1700, p. 17


Abstract of the LW&T of John Dew, Isle of Wight, Virginia [Will & Deed Book 2, p 167] filed Jan. 31st 1677, proved Oct. 17th 1678:


                “My father              (Col. Thomas Dewe) - Overseer

                Wife:                       Elizabeth Dew - Executrix

                Friends:                   Alexander Webster

                                                George Bell, Jr.  (Nephew of Alexander Webster.)

                Young son:              John Dew, (under 18.)  He was about aged 3 years, b. 1675.

                Brother-in-law:       John Shearer, Jr.

                Witnesses:               Francis Floid  (sic: Floyd)  He was a Son-in-law of George Bell.

Thomas Williamson


                                                p. 168:  “Inventory of the estate of John Dew presented by Elizabeth Dew, the widow, Oct.

17th 1678.”             


1679:               In 1679, a Richard Dew (age 44,) was said residing on Barbados

island upon land belonging to the estate of Robert Hurt according

to Robert’s Will made that yearMary, doubtless the wife of Thomas Dew

(age 53,) was residing in the Town of St. Michael’s (Bridgetown,) St. Michael’s

Parish while her husband was off island.  It appears that both Robert Hurt, and

Richard Dew both perished that year.  By terms of his Will, Robert Hurt

bequeathed this land to one of his married daughters Elizabeth Hurt, Simpson,

wife of James Simpson

                Will Abstract of Robert Hurt, Barbados, RB6/9, p 479:

                “Son:                      Robert Hurt, b. 1616, aged 63

daughter:               Elizabeth Hurt, Simpson, wife of James Simpson (merchant,)

the plantation where Richard Dew lives, joining land of John

Parker, and Capt. John Merrick.

                daughter:               Mary Hurt, Watts, wife of Charles Watts…


                Signed:                   Robert (X) Hurt

                Witnesses:             Richard Longham

                                                John Redwar (d)

                Proved:                  July 15th 1679”


Capt. John Merrick, Esq., was recorded in 1678 as having 266 acres of land in the Parish of St.

Andrews, Island of Barbados., a probable grandson of Sir John Merrick [c. 1550, Wales] a founding

member of the Virginia Company of London, & wife Lucy Powell.  He was a son of Henry Merrick

[c. 1580, Wales/England,] an Agent of the Virginia Company of London, then residing in Virginia. 

Capt. John Merrick, Esq., of Barbados was also a merchant, as was James Simpson, and he left

Barbados for Virginia sometime after the census of 1680.  Merrick’s wife was also named Elizabeth.


The following year during the 1680 census, two men named Thomas Doo (sic) Dew & an apparent widow named Jane Doo (sic) Dew are found in St. Peters All Saint’s Parish of Barbados all dwelling in separate households.


Richard Dew above is believed to be a son of Col. Thomas Dew, and wife mentioned in Virginia records.  It appears that in 1659 Richard Dew was dwelling in

London where he was married to a woman named Ellin.  They had a son named David

Dew christened May 26th 1659 at St. Bride, Fleet Street, in London, and this son died on April 21st 1660.  It appears that Richard Dew and 2nd wife Jane came to Barbados sometime not long after 1666.


Capt. Thomas Dewe dwelled in Berkshire, or London during his youth, and young

adulthood except for a three-year exile in Virginia during the bloody period between 1649

when the English Parliament declared an English Commonwealth until 1653 when the

Cromwell Protectorate was established.  Admittedly, he and Andrew may have been

among the children that accompanied their father to Old Providence Island, and Virginia

in 1632, but after returning to England with their mother, these boys would have been sent

to English school for their education.  In abour 1649 both Andrew Dew and his brother

Thomas sought safety in the Virginia plantations.  His brother Andrew moved

permanently to Virginia, but Capt. Thomas Dewe returned to England from Virginia

about 1653 when Oliver Cromwell was named Lord Protector of England.  However, 

when Cromwell died in 1658 the Protectorate fell apart in 1659, the monarchy was

restored in England.  This made England a risky place for Cromwell supporters.  After

rescuing their beleagured brother John on that Island Capt. Thomas Dewe and his brother

Richard Dewe spent much of their remaining lives in Barbados.  Capt. Thomas Dewe also

named a son David Dewe who was counted in the Barbados militia about 1680,

a son that was born about the same time as Richard's son named David was born in



Hotten’s Lists, page 139:

Robert Hurt, at age 19, came from London to Barbados in 1635 on the “Expectation,” and

made his Will there in 1679.  Since he was born c. 1616, he died circa age 63, or thereabouts.  With him on the Expectation came Jo: Watts (age 20,) William Watts (age 28,)  & Thomas Palmer (age 19.)  One of these men was probably the father of Charles Watts who married Robert Hurt’s daughter Mary.  It is said that the Hurt family was first found in Oxfordshire, England where they were seated from ancient times.


1679:                      Hotton’s Lists – Barbados Militia 1679-1680:

On October 11, 1679, Ensigne David Dew (Also given as Ensigne David Due) appeared as a soldier in Lt. Col. Samuel O. Tidcomb’s Barbados militia. [Hotten's Lists]  He did not appear on the 1680 census of Barbados as head of household. No further colonial records are found for David Dew, so it is likely that he perished.


Between 1679 and 1680, Ensigne Thomas Dew appears as a soldier in Lt. Col. Samuel O. Tidcombe’s Barbados militia. [Hotten's Lists]  He appeared on the 1680 census of Barbados as a head of household, so perhaps he was married.  No further colonial records are found for this Thomas Dew.   Did he, brother David, and their younger brother George afterward become sailors, and perhaps get involved in the privateering, or the pirate business on the Spanish Main?  Some circumstantial evidence suggests that Thomas Dew, Jr. was the same man as Captain Thomas (alias) Tews, privateer, and pirate who died in 1696, claiming his origin in Rhode Island.


1679:                      Records of St. Michael’s Parish, Barbados, town of St. Michaels (Bridgetown):

                        Name                                      Children                  Hired or Apprent. Bought serv.           Slaves.

                                Mary Doue (sic)  (Dewe?)    (0)                           (0)                           (0)                           (1)

                                John Fisher                            (0)                           (0)                           (0)                           (1)

                                Charles Lee & wf.                 (0)                           (0)                           (0)                           (1)

                                John Hunter                          (2)                           (0)                           (0)                           (1)


Samuel Perry                        4 acres                    0                              0                              7 Negros


Deaths recorded in 1679 at St. Michael’s Parish Barbados, included:

“Sept. 2nd 1679:  Robert Palmer Aged 95 years” (b. 1584)


[Mary Dewe, mentioned above at Bridgetown in St. Michael’s Parish, appears to be Nee: Mary

McKenzie, the last wife of Capt. Thomas Dewe, merchant, who clearly was away from the island on

business in 1679 (perhaps in Virginia concering the illness & death of his brother John Dew, Jr.) as he

reappears in St. Peter’s All Saints Parish during the 1680 census.  Mary McKenzie, a Scotswoman,

would have given herself as head of household during her husband’s absence, in a Scot tradition.]


Ommitted Chapters of Hottons’ Lists:

St. Peter’s Parish, Barbados 15th Dec. 1679

p. 80        William Bregg, Tho. Doo, & Wm. Garland       3 servants               8 negroes                               no land

                Lt. Col. Samuell Tidcombe                                  0                              0                              18

                John Bennett                                                         0                              10                            20

                George Gording                                                    0                              3                              20

                Wm How, Esq.                                                       9                              87                               150

                Isabella Gording                                                   0                              3                              0


Note that a William Garland was sent to Barbados as an indentured servant from an undisclosed location,

beginning his indenture April 8th 1668.  He was a male, and his agent’s name was Richard Granger.  By 1679 he

would have served his indenture.


A List of Soldier’s Names under Command of Lt. Col. Saml. Tidcombe Oct. 11th 1779 in the Barbados militia:

p. 132      Tho. Doo living near Tho. Fisher


p. 173      David Due (I could not view this page.)


Records of St. George’s Parish, Barbados (1679):

Masters & Mistresses, names ye are owners of land in the Parish of St. George’s

in ye Island of Barbados Taxed by the Command of His Excellency Sir Jonathan

Atkins ye 23rd day of Dec. 1679.”

                Name                                      acres        svts.        Negroes   christenings             burials

p. 461      John Wilkins                         41                            8

                Mr. Phillip Fisher                                7                              3

                Mr. Benjamin Middleton    379                          130

                Mr. Samuel Palmer                              70                            35


p. 467      St. George’s Parish burials – 1679:

                William, son of John Palmer, Sept. 7th 1679,


                                Tickets granted at Barbados


                                p. 361      “Thomas Drayton, Junr., in the ship Mary for Carolina, Nicholas Lockwood, Commander,

                                                April 25th 1679.”  His father, of the same forename, remained behind in Barbados.


1680:               Records of St. Andrews Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                Name                                      acres        svts.        Negroes   christenings             burials

p. 471      John Smith                                                            2

                Mr., John Welsh                    19                            1


p. 474      John Barry                             14                            12

                Esias (sic) Elias Baker           5                              1

                Alace Barry                           10                            4


p. 478      Peter Gordon                        8                              1


p. 481      James Lee                              19                            4


p. 487      John Wright                           40            4              7


In 1680, two Thomas Dews, and a Jane Dew are found in the census of St. Peters, All Saint’s Parish of Barbados below.


                The 1680 census of Barbados includes the following households:  


                St Michael Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                                Wm. Embree (sic) Amory, or Emory

                                Thomas Drayton              12 ar.      1 h. svt.   1 b. svt.   7 slaves

                                                                [He appears to be the father of Thomas Drayton, Jr., who recently departed for Carolina

with Stephen Fox, and he died in Aug. 1702 in St. Michael’s Parish, Barbados.  It was

apparently he who accompanied Gov. Yeamans from Barbados to Cape Fear in 1671.]


                St. Lucy Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                                John Dauis (sic) Davis, Junior

                                Patricke Browne

                                John ffisher

                                Edward Lee


                St. George Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                                Mary Middleton, (widow of Henry Middleton?)

                Mr. Benjamin Middleton, (older brother of Edward, and

Arthur Middleton?)

Mr. Samuel Palmer             70 acres,                 25 Negros


St Peters, All Saints, Barbados, 1680:

                                Dauid Dauis (sic) Davis (Capt. David Davis? Bought James Is. SC,

in 1703?)

                                Lt. Col. Samuel O. TidcombeHe has also been confused as Tidcot.

                                Jane Doo (sic) Dew, or Dewe? (Widow of Richard Dewe?)

                                Thomas Doo (sic) Dew, or Dewe? (Capt. Tho. Dewe, m: Mary


                                Thomas Doo (sic) Dew, or Dewe? (Ensign Tho. Dewe, s/o the


                                William Baker (Wm. Baker married Susannah Rowsham?)

                                Richard ffisher

                                Richard ffisher

                                Joseph ffisher

                                William How, Esqr.

                                Robert How, Esqr.

                                Capt. John Merrick

                                [The reason for believing that Jane Dewe, mentioned above, was a widow, is that

her apparent husband Richard Dewe never again appears on records after the

1779 Will of Robert Hurt was made, and proved.]


                Christ Church Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                                John Barry (probably married a Rowsham, or a Baker.  Went to SC?)

                                                14 acres,                                                  4 Negroes

                                Jno. Kenney, a clergyman,  (married last to Jemima Dews?)


                                James Fowell, mariner  (also Fa’well, Farewell)

                                                18 acres,                                  2 Negroes

                                Peter Gordon

                                                8 acres,                                    0 Negroes

                                John Perry

                                                15 acres,                                  0 Negroes

                                Edward Perry

                                                5 acres,                                    0 Negroes

                                James Simpson, merchant

                                                1½ acre,                                                  1 Negro

                                James Lee

                                                19 acres,                                  4 Negroes

                                John Wright

                                                40 acres, 4 Bought Servants  7 Negro slaves


                St. Joseph Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                        Charles Watts

                                Richard Longham


            St. Thomas Parish, Barbados, 1680:

                        Richard Redward


Jemima Dews, a sister of George Dews, Sr. was probably born on Barbados where she married a Scotsman named Kenney.  She may have had kith/kin who lived on Monsarrat in the Windward Islands of the West Indies, considering the names recorded there in later years.  Jemima was widowed of said Kenny Aug. 16th 1687, and she married Alexander Skene on January 26, 1698 in Barbados.  Alexander Skene, a Scotsman, came to Barbados in 1694 from New Jersey, in order to accept an appointment as a Secretary of the Island of Barbados.  He continued in this position until 1715 covering a span of nearly 20 years, with a period 1689 – 1700 when his qualifications were questioned, and he suffered attacks by the various Governors.  He was extensively involved in Plantation production.  Alexander, an apparent brother John, and his younger sister Lelias Skene, Scot Quakers, together came from Burlington, Jersey to Barbados leaving behind their mother and other siblings behind that moved to Philadelphia.   They were children of immigrants the dec’d Deputy Govenor of West Jersey John Skene, and his wife Helena Fullerton of Aberdeen, Scotland.  The immigrant John Skene had been imprisoned at Kelso for Quakerism, and was released in 1677 on condition that he leave the Kingdom.  He came to Peachfield, Burlington, West Jersey with the Quaker followers of William Penn, along with the Haigs, Hunters, and Lowries, and many more Scot Quakers.  Among them were two of the brothers of Helena Fullerton, Robert, and Thomas Fullerton of the Quaker belief, arriving on the Ship “The Thomas and Benjamin” in 1684.  Helena had a sister named Catherine Fullerton that married Dr. John Gordon, (Dr. of Medicine in Montrose, Angus, or Forfarshire) who did not come to America.  The parents of these NJ Fullertons were John Fullartowne (sic), and his first wife Catherine, Lady Kinneber , a daughter of Sir John Allerdice, Allerdes, or Allercyce, and his wife Helen Burnet (d/o Alexander Burnet, & Katherine Gordon.) 


Both John Fullerton of Kinneber, and his wife Catherine Allerdyce were excommunicated in Scotland for adhering to Quakerism.  Dr. John Gordon’s brother Thomas Gordon came also to NJ, in 1685 as an Agent for his absent brother still dwelling in Scotland. 


                        The Fullertons of Kinnaber, Angus descended from Alexander

Fullerton who was slain in 1547 at the Battle of Pinkieclench, whereas his son and heir, John Fullerton obtained a Grant in 1549 of the Ward, and Non-Entry of Kinnaber from Queen Mary in return for the service of his father.  There were at least three successive heirs named John Fullerton.



Clan Skene

“Virtutis Regia Merces"

     A Palace the reward for bravery


John de Skene, 1st Laird of Skene

Found with son Patrick swearing fealty

to Edward I on Ragman Roll in 1296.

He married unknown.


Patrick de Skene, 2nd Laird of Skene

He married unknown.


Robert de Skene, 3rd Laird of Skene

He supported Robert de Bruce, 

& received a Charter Barony

of the lands of Skene in 1318.

He married Marion Mercer.


Gilian de Skene, 4th Laird of Skene

He married unknown.


Adam Skene, 5th Laird of Skene

He married Janet Kieth.

He was killed 1411 at the Battle of Harlaw.


James Skene, 6th Laird of Skene

He married the widow of Fraser of Corntoun.

He died in 1461.


Alexander Skene, 7th Laird of Skene

He married Mariot of Kinarde.

He died in 1470.


Gilbert Skene, 8th Laird of Skene

He narrued 1481 to Cristina Mercer.

He died in 1485.


Alexander Skene, 9th Laird of Skene

He married Agnes Forbes.

He died in 1507.

`                                                               |

Alexander Skene, 10th Laird of Skene.

He married 1516 to Elizabeth Black.

He died in 1517.


|                                                               |

|                                                                               |

|                                                                      |

James Skene (c. 1505-c.1600)                              Alexander Skene, 11th Laird of Skene (c. 1517-c. 1604)

m: 1st (1543) to Janet Burnet, d/o                He married 1st to Elizabeth Forbes.

Alexander, & Jane Hamilton, Burnet                He married 2nd to Katherine Stewart.

m: 2nd to Janet Lumsden, d/o John                               |________________ __________________

Lumsden of Cushnie.                                                              |                                                              |

                                                     Gilbert Skene (c. 1538-c. 1604)             James Skene, 12th Laird of Skene

                                                     He m: Barbara Forbes                      m: 1553 to Johanna Douglas, d/o

                                                                       |                                               Sir Archibald Douglass, & Lady

                                                                       |                                              Agnes Kieth.

                                                                       |                                                                         |

                                                     Robert Skene (c. 1654-c. 1625)        Alexander Skene (        -        )

                                                     He m: Janet Forbes.                          He m: Margaret Johnston, d/o

                                                                       |                                              Sir George Johnston, Baronet of

                                                                 |                                                    Nova Scotia, & wf Elizabeth Forbes.

                                                                       |                                                                        |

                                                     Robert Skene (     - c. 1643)            Alexander Skene, 13th Laird of Skene,

                                                     He m: Marjorie Forbes.                  (c a 1584-c. 1634.)  He m: Janet Burnet.

                                                                      |                                              grandchildren in the American colonies.

                                                                                |                                                                               |

                                                     Alexander Skene (1621-1693)                                        |

                                                     He m: Lilias Gillespie.                                                     |

___________________________________|                                                                         |

 |                                                                                                                                              |

 |                                                                                       __________________________|

 |                                                                                              |

 |                                                                                              |_James Skene, 14th Laird of Skene

 |                                                                                              |   He m: 1637 Elizabeth Forbes, d/o Arthur

 |                                                                                              |   9th Laird of Forbes.

 |                                                                                       |

 |                                                                                              |_Jean Skeen, m: Alexander Innes of Pethenick.

 |                                                                                              |

 |                                                                                              |_Margaret Skene, m:1st to Mr. John Garlock,

 |                                                                                              |  m: 2nd to John Skene in Knowheade.

 |                                                                                              |

 |                                                                                              |_Janet Skene, m: Mr. Adam Barclay of Nigg.

 |                                                                                              | 

 |                                                                                              |_Isobel Skene, m: the Laird of Aswanlie.

 |                                                                                              |              

 |                                                                                              |_Katherine Skene, m: 2nd to Robert Cheyne.

 |                                                                                              |  m: 1st to Sir Alexander Cumming of Culter.

 |                                                                                              |      |

 |                                                                                              |      |_Sir Alexander Cumming, 1st Baronet of Culter.

 |                                                                                              |         He m: Elizabeth, 2nd dau. of 2nd wf of Sir

 |                                                                                              |         Alexander Swinton.

 |                                                                                              |            |_Sir Alexander Cumming, 15th Laird of

 |                                                                                              |               Cumming of Culter, & 2nd Baronet..  He m:

 |                                                                              |               Lady Alison Skene of Halyards, Midlothian,

 |                                                                              |               (d/o John Skene, & Mary Ker,) who after

 |                                                                                              |               a dream, convinced him to go to America

 |                                                                                              |               and visit the Cherokee Indians.

 |                                                                                              |

John Skene (1649-1690)                                                                      |_Mary Skene (b. 1619 -  ) m: Aug. 14, 1656 to George

He m: Helena Fullerton.                                                                    MacKenzie (b. ~1631) of Kincardine, son of George

 |                                                                                 MacKenzie, (b. 1608) 2nd Laird of Seaforth,

 |                                                                                 and wife Barbara Forbes. (father & son married young.       

 |_ Alexander Skene (1670-1740,)                             |                         probably arranged marriages?)

 |   Secretary of Barbados                                               |

 |   He m: widow Jemima Dews, Kenny (1673 -1742.)        |_Kenneth MacKenzie, who went abroad (W. I.

 |                                                                                   |  Barbados?,) and was heard from no more.

 |_Katherine Skene (1671-  ?)                                              |

 |  She m: Samuel Hunter.                                                    |_ (Some daughters) the oldest of them appears to be:

 |                                                                                              Mary MacKenzie (1661 – c a 1689, Barbados, WI)

 |_Lilias Skene (1673-1742)……………………………….   She m: Capt. Thomas Dews (1625-1689) as his 3rd

 |  She m: Obadiah Haig (1674 - 1701)                        .   wife in c. 1673, Barbados.                              

 |                                                                                  .         |

 |_Christian Skene (1675- ?)                                                    .         |_George Dews, m: Ann Welch, Bermuda.

 |                                                                                 .         | (He may have been Annie McKenzie’s son.)

 |                                                                                  .         |

 |_John Skene                                                                            .         |_Jemima Dews, m: 1st Kenny, m: 2nd

 |                                                                                  .         |   Alexander Skene, Secretary of Barbados.

 |_Matthew Skene?                                                                    .         |

                                                                                            .         |_Robert Dews (1687, Barbados – 1722,

    .            SC) m: Mary Baker (1700-1721,) in SC.

                                                                                            .                       |

                                                                                            .                       |_Bethel Dews, m: Margaret       .                                                                                                                         .                     |   Croskeys.


                                                                                                                    |_William Dews

                                                                                                            He m: 1st Mary Haig?

                                                                                                                      He m: 2nd Lois Wilkins

                                                                                                                      He m: 3rd Mary Lee.



Sir John Gordon of Dorno, in Dec. 1683 bought a Propriatary Share of the East Jersey colony.


In 1684 the Scots promoted immigration to settle Jersey Colony. 

“At Edinburgh let them apply themselves to the Lord-Treasurer-Deput, the Lord Register, Sir John Gordon, Sir Patrick

                 Lyon, Mr. George Alexander, Advocates, George Drummond of Blair, John Swintoun, John Drummond, Thomas   

                 Gordon, David Falconer, Andrew Hamilton, Merchants; at Brunt Island to William Robinson, Doctor of Medicine; at 

                 Montrose to John Gordon, Doctor of Medicine, John Fullerton of Kinaber, and Robert and Thomas Fullertons his

                 brothers; in the Shire of Mearns, to Robert Barclay of Urie, and John Barclay his brother; at Aberdeen to Gilbert Moleson,

                 Andrew Galloway, John, and Robert Sandilands, William Gerard, Merchants; in the Shire of Aberdeen to Robert Gordon

                 of Clunie, and Robert Burnet of Lethanty; in the Shire of Perth to David Toshach of Monyvard, and Captain Patrick

McGreiger;  in Merss Shire to James Johnston of Spoteswood; at Kelso to Charles Ormiston, Merchant; in the Lewes to

Kenneth McKenzie, younger of Kildin.” 

“This summer there are several gentlemen going from Scotland, such as David Toshach of Monyvard, with his lady &

Family, James Johnston of Spoteswood, Keneth McKenzie, younger of Kildin, Isle of Lewis, Captain Patrick McGreiger,

Robert and Thomas Fullertons, brothers german to the Laird of Kinaber, and John Barclay, brother german to the Laird of

Urie, William Robison, Doctor of Medicine, and many others…” [Also in the summer of 1684 came George McKenzie,

merchant, Edinburgh, in Elizabethtown, East Jersey.]


April 11th 1685, Sir John Gordon, Knight and Advocate, to George McKenzie of Kildin, for 1-20 of 1-48

share of the Province of East Jersey.  [Kildin, near Dingwall, was within the Earldom of Ross, & Sheriffdom of Inverness. 

George McKenzie, mentioned below, and above at Elizabethtown, was said to be a son of Sir George McKenzie.]


Feb. 26th 1697/8, Satisfaction Piece.  George McKenzie, late of N. Y. City, Merchant, now of Bridgetown,

Island of Barbados, to John Barclay of Plainfield, for the mortgage of Nov. 7th 1688 on 700 acres, called

Plainfield, Middlesex County.  George McKenzie, Merchant, in Barbados, heir to mother Bethia Law, or McKenzie, Nee:

Dickson, widow of George McKenzie, writer in Edinburgh, Reg. April 20th 1704. (see last item)  Biography says he was a

son of Sir Simon M. McKenzke, brother of Robert McKenzie of Seaforth.


July 9th 1700, Confirmation ot George McKenzie of Kildin, Scotland, holding 1-40 of the 1-24 share of the

Province in full of his first and second dividend, of 375 acres in Middlesex County,, on Cranberry Brook,

between Jeremaih Basse and the great road, East Jersey.


August 14th 1701, to Thomas Gordon of Perth Amboy, in right of his brother Charles Gordon, deceased,

George Willcox and George McKenzie of Kildin, Scotland, of 1, a lot in Middlesex County, between

Cheesquacks and South River; 2, a piece of meadow in said county, SW John Melvine, formerly Gawen

Lawrie, SE the main Creek of Cheesquacks, NE another branch of Cheesquacks; 3. a lot in Perth Abmoy,

between George Willows, formerly Samuel Gibson, the intended road and the intended wet dock.


George McKenzie Merchant, petitioned the Council of Barbados in 1701 for payment for bringing several

servants to Barbados.  He was a 2nd ½ cousin to Mary McKenzie, Dews.  See his partial ancestry immediately below>



Kenneth MacKenzie [1573-1611], 12th Chief.                                                    

1st Lord of Kintail.  He m:1st  Anne, daughter of                                                 

of George Ross of Balanagowan. Issue above.

He also married 2nd to Isobel, daughter  of  Oglevie.


Sir Simon M. McKenzie of Lochslin, brother of Lord Seaforth, George McKenzie

m: ____ daughter of Dr. Peter Bruce.


George McKenzie [1636, Worcester – 1890, Oxford], Lawyer, Writer of Edinburgh “Bloody McKenzie”

m: Bethia Dickson, daughter of Dickson, formerly married to Law.


George McKenzie, of Kildin, merchant of Edinburgh, NJ, NY, & Barbados.

“George McKenzie, a merchant of Edinburgh, son of George McKenzie & his wife

Bethia Law, settled in Barbados before 1704, testament confirmed in Edinburgh in 1733.”

[NAS, CC 8.8.95][NAS, SH 20.4.1704]




Estracts from:  Memorials of the Family of Skene of Skene, p. 35 in above outline, & below.


Robert Skeyne, Syldie of Erdiforl, Scotland

M: June 29th 1589, Jonat Forbes


                Robert Skeyne, Painter, & Glasswright, Burgess of Aberdeen, Scotland

                M: 1618, Marjorie Forbes


                                Alexander Skene,

                                M: Aug. 26th 1648 Lilias Gillespie, d/o John Gillespie & Lilias Simpson.


                                                John Skene [1649, Aberdeen, Sc. – 1699, Dep. Gov., W. Jersey]

                                                M: Oct. 23rd 1669, Ilennabea, Scotland, Helena Fullerton, d/o

                                                John Foulertone, (& Catherine Allerdyce.)




House of Burnet:

   “Virescit Vulnere Virtus”

(Courage Flourishes at a Wound)


Alexander Burnet of Leys

m: Janet Gardine


Alexander Burnet of Leys

m: Agnes Lichtoun


m: 1st (1543) Janet Hamilton = Alexander Burnet 9th Laird of Leys = m: 2nd  to Marjory, d/o 6th of Forbes

                |                                                                                              |

                |_John Burnet, of Leys [b. after 1543 -  ]                                            |                                                                                              |  m: Elizabeth Lumsden, d/o John                                   ?

                |  4th of Cushnie                                                    

                |   |

                |   |_Alexander Burnet

                |   |  m: Katherine Arbuthnot

                |   |  d/o Robert Arbuthnot, 1st of Fiddes

                |   |    |

                |   |    |_Alexander Burnet [1584- 1619]

                |   |    |  MP of Kincardine

                |   |    |  m: Katherine Gordon, d/o

                |   |    |  Alexander Gordon of Lesmoir [b. bef. 1562],  s/o George Gordon of Lesmoir.

                |   |    |    |

                                |   |    |    |_Sir Thomas Burnet

                |   |    |    |  m: 1st Margaret Douglas

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Alexander Burnet

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Jean Arbuthnot

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Robert Burnet – Advocate

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Jean (or Jane) Burnet

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Sir William Forbes, 2nd Baronet of Monymusk

                |   |    |    |    

                |   |    |    |   m: 2nd to Jane, widow of Sir Simon Fraser of Inverallochy

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Elizabeth Burnet

                |   |    |    |     |  m: 1st Sir Robert Douglas of Tilliwhilly

                |   |    |    |     |  m: 2nd John Fullerton of Kinnaber

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_James Burnet of Craigmyle

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Elizabeth Burnet, d/o Thomas Burnet of Craigmyle

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Robert Burnet, Baron Crimond

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Beatrix Maule

                |   |    |    |     |

                |   |    |    |     |_Helen Burnet

                |   |    |    |     | m: (1617)  to Sir John Allerdyce_____________________________ 

                |   |    |    |     | m:              to Sir Robert Graham of Morphie                        |

                |   |    |    |     | m:              to John Fullerton of Kinnaber                                               |

                |   |    |    |     |                                                                                                    |

                |   |    |    |     |_Barbara Burnet                                                                        |

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Sir Robert Innes                                                                                |

                |   |    |    |     |                                                                                                    |

                |   |    |    |     |_Janet Burnet                                                                                            |

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Alexander Skene, 13th Laird of Skene [1584-1634]______             |

                |   |    |    |     |  m: Sir Alexander Comyn of Culter                                |    |

                |                                                                                                                        |    |

                |_Janet Burnet [b. after 1543 - ?]                                                                  |    |

                |  m: James Skene [1505-1600] s/o Alexander Skene, & Elizabeth Black      |           |

                          He m: 2nd to Jane Lumsden, d/o John                                                |    |

                ___________________________________________________________________|        |

                |                                                              ___________________________________|

                |                                                              |

                Mary Skene                                           Catherine Allerdyce, Lady Kinnaber

                m 1656: George MacKenzie of Kildun               m: John Fullerton, of Kinnaber

                2nd son of 2nd Earl of Seaforth                                              |

                      |                                                                        Helena Fullerton

                   Mary MacKenzie                                                               m: John Skene

                   m: Capt. Thomas Dews                                          |_ John Skene

                                |                                                                   |  

                                |_Capt. George Dews                               |_Alexander Skene

                                |   m: Ann Welsh                                       |   m: Jemima Dews, Kenny

                                |                                                                   |

                                |_Jemima Dews                                         |_Catherine Skene

                                |  m:  Rev. John Kenny                             |   m: Samuel Hunter

                                |  m: Alexander Skene (right flow)         |

                                |                                                                   |_Lilias Skene

                                |_Robert Dews                                           |  m: Obadiah Haig

                                     m: Mary Baker                                      |

                                     [Lilias Skene, Haig, widow,                                   |_Christian Skene

                                       became the Guardian of                           |

                                       Robert & Mary Dew’s orphans,            |

                                       Bethel, & Wm. Dews in 1722]             |_Matthew Skene



Memorials of Angus and the Mearns, p. 281:

“It is worthy of mention, that John Fullerton of Kinnaber, who was a contemporary of Barclay of

Ury, celebrated author of “Apology for the Quakers” was among the earliest in Scotland to embrace the

principles of Quakerism.  It is certain that in common with Barclay, Fullerton and his household were

persecuted by the Church for adhering to these opinions; for in 1663, some time after Fullerton of

Kinnaber, had been excommunicated by the Presbytery of Brechin, the record bears that the same

sentence was pronounced by that body “against Catherin Allardes (sic) Allerdyce, Lady Kynnaber,

and Sibillia Falconer, a domestic servant, for adhering to the scandalous error of Quakerism.””



Dec. 1st 1693:       SCHM p. 82:

                                Dec. 1st 1693, Major Benjamin Waring…at his own charge and expense imported

                                into the province of Carolina 14 persons, aged above 16 years…

                                                Viz:        Elizabeth, his wife

                                                                Phillip Kneeler

                                                                Saml Goodman

                                                                Hugh Charmichael

                                                                George Smart

                                                                John Aining

                                                                Thomas Brown

                                                                Wm. Chapman

                                                                Christo Sympson

                                                                Joanna Ayers


Haig Excursus:


Obadiah Haig’s parents were William Haig, and his wife Mary Lowrie who were married in 1673 in London where William was a merchant in business with his father-in-law Gawen LowrieWilliam, and his son Obadiah Haig became textile, and clothing merchants of NY Citty, and after his father perished in Jersey about 1688, Obadiah was still in the process of finishing up his father’s affairs in 1698.  It required him to make a voyage to Scotland.  His mother Mary, and sister Rebecca accompanied him from Jersey to the Haig manor in Bermersyde, Berwick, Scotland.  Obadiah spent the Winter of 1699 with his favorite uncle Anthony Haig Laird of Bermersyde recounting family history and anecdotes that he committed to writing, and Obadiah had it publishing in London before departing back to America. 


Clan Haig

         “Virtue alone is Invincable”

                                                “Tyde What May, Haig be Haig of Bermersyde”


Drustkine, “Drust” last King of the Picts (A. D. 839)

[845-847] Was killed in a Battle with the Scots.

He had descendants dwelling in Normandy, and Brittany, Fr.


Hago, his son, was carried in infancy over to Norway.

He married Cuncgunda, niece of Norway’s King Olaus, II.


Hago, (A. D. 916) married Florida, daughter of Arnworth,

a petty King of Norway.


Arsworth, married Antoinietta, daughter of Aubior,

King of Sagan in Norway.


Sueno (A. D. 1038) married unknown 2nd daughter of

the King of Denmark.


Hago (A. D. 1072 – 1103) married Dorathea,

daughter of the Duke of Oldenborough.


Petrus de Hago (A. D. 1150-1200) was shipwrecked on the coast

of Berwickshire.  He is said to have founded the Bermersyde family

of Haig, and was the 1st Laird.  He married Joycelina, daughter of

Cospatric, Earl of March in Berwickshire, Sc.


Petrus de Haga, 2nd Laird, (A. D. 1200 – 1228, buried in Drayton Abby.)

He married Ada, daughter of Sir Henry Saint Clair,

Sheriff of Berwickshire, and he married last to Goda.


Henricus de Haga, 3rd Laird (A. D. 1228 – 1240.) 

His mother was Goda.  He married Adeliya.


Petrus de Haga, 4th Laird (A. D. 1240 – 1280.)  He married

Katherina,  a daughter of Sir William de Bello Campo.


Johannes de Haga, 5th Laird (A. D. 1280 – 1326.)  He married a

daughter of William de Home.


Johannes de Haga, (d. 1333) fought with Wallace against the

English.  He married Emagard, daughter of Sir Adam de Gordon

of the Merse.


Petrus de Haga, 6th Laird (A. D. 1326 – 1333.)  He married

Margaret, a daughter of Allan Purves of Ercildoune.


Henry de Haga, 7th Laird (A. D. 1333 –              1368.) 

He was succeeded by his brother, John.


John de Haga, 8th Laird (A. D. 1368 – 1388.) 

He married Mary, daughter of John Mautland.


Andrew de Haga, 9th Laird (A. D. 1388 – 1414.) 

He married unknown.


John Hage, 10th Laird (A. D. 1414 – 1436, Piperdean.) 

He married Elizabeth, daughter ofHugh Gifford, Lord of Yester. 

He married Elizabeth, daughter of Mere of Rowallan.


Gilbert Haig, 11th Laird (A. D. 1436 – 1448.) 

He married Margaret, daughter of

McDougal, laird of Marestorn.


James Haig, 12th Larid (A. D. 1458 – 1490.)  He married Margaret,

daughter of Sir David Scott of Brankholm.


William Haig, 13th Laird (A. D. 1490 – 1513.)  He married Isabell,

daughter of Mungo Home of Cowchuknowles.


Robert Haig, 14th Laird (A. D. 1413 – 1454.)  He married Barbara,

daughter of William Spottiswood of Spottiswood.




Andrew Haig [1554 – 1583] 12th Baron of Bemersyde, Berwick.

He married Janet, daughter of Nisbet of Nesbit on Teviot Water.

He married Susan, daughter of David Renton of Lamberton.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of William McDougal of Makerstoun.  His issue by Elizabeth:


                Robert Haig [1583 – 1602]

                He married Margaret, daughter of George Kerr of Fadonside.  (Three of his sons, and some

descendants, are mentioned below)


|_____James Haig [1602 – 1631] heir of Bemersyde

                |          He married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas McDougal.

|                                              |

                |                              John Haig [1637 – aft. 1662] Orchard Farm near Alloa.

                |                              He married Mar. 1st 1600, Isobel, daughter of Alexander Ramsey.

                |                                                              |

|                                              George Haig [Aug. 27th 1662 of New Bigging, near Alloa –

|                                              Aft. 1688.]  He married 22 Mar. 1684, Janet Anderson.

|                                                                              |

|                                                              John Haig [1688 – matriculated Arms in 1733,]  a

                |                                                              shipbuilder of Alloa.  He married Elspeth Nuccol.

                |                                                                                              |

                |                                                                   George Haig [1712 – 1748.]  Surv. Gen. SC.

                |                                                                   He married 1738, Sax Gotha, SC, Elizabeth W.

                |                                                                   Seawright.


|_____John Haig, 14th Baron of Bemersyde.

|           He married Elizabeth, daughter of William McDougal of Todderig.

                |                              |

                |              David Haig [of Bemersyde – June 1645], 15th heir of Bemersyde.  He

                |               married on Oct. 27th 1636 to Hybernia [1612, Groningen, Friesland, Holland - ?,]  

                |              a daughter of Senior de Scholes.  They were married in Holland.  

                |                                              |

                |                              William Haig [Mar. 26th 1646, Bemersyde – July 29th 1688, Burlington,

                |                              West Jersey.] He was a London Merchant, Textile and Clothing in NY.

                |                              He married in 1673 to Mary, daughter of Gavin Lowrie, Gov. of East

                |                              Jersey.

                |                                                              |

                |                                              Obadiah Haig [Sept. 1st 1674, London – June 1st 1701

                |                                              Barbados, WI.] He was a Textile and Clothing merchant of

                |                                              NY.  He married Spr. 1701, London, to Lilias, daughter of

                |                                              John Skene.  No known issue.


                |_____Fredrick Haig, went to the West Indies where he perished.  It appears likely that he

                             Sired mixed Cherokee children on the Carolina mainland.


Obadiah Haig met his beau Lilia Skene in London.  She recently came from Barbados for their planned weding, and soon after their betrothal Obadiah, his new bride, mother, & sister departed on a voyage back to Jersey by way of visiting her brother Alexander, & other relations like John Skene in Barbados.


Lelias Skene married Obadiah Haig (Hague) in London in the spring of 1701, but Obadiah Hague (Sept. 1st 1674, London – June 1st 1701, Barbados, WI) died in Barbados after a four-day siege of distemper contacted on the voyage back from Scotland, or after arrival in Barbados.  He had just married Lilia Skene, a dear friend from Burlington, NJ recently dwelling in Barbados.  When Obadiah perished he left the newly wed Lelia a widow.  The Will of Lilias made in 1742, SC, in her Codicil, mentions a Goddaughter named Elizabeth Baker.  Madam Lelias Skene, Haig fell heir to some of her husband’s estate and wealth after his untimely death.  She did not remarry.  Lelias Skeen, Hague was a sister-in-law of Robert Dews by the marriage of her brother Alexander Skeen to Jemima Dews, Kenny, but she was also his distant (5th) cousin


April 23rd 1681:  Col. Thomas Dewe, 450 acres in Nanzemund, at head of Crany Creek, issuing out of the Southard Branch, beginning in line of Hood’s Neck Pattent, now Francis Parker’s; to George Spivey, Sr., crossing the Beavor Dam, into the main Pocoson; &c.  Granted to Randall Crew on Nov. 13th 1640, which after several surrenders, and discent, is in possession of the said Col. Thomas Dewe.  [C & P, Patent Book 7, page 221]


In 1685, a Francis Dew was sent to Barbados on the Western Prisoners Circuit, as a result of the late Monmouth Rebellion.


In 1685 a John Dew indentured himself in Jamaica to Bristol Commission Agent John Napper for four years, and arrived on the "Providence." This John Napper appears to be his uncle, his mother’s brother, being an inheriting son of the John Napper that earlier indentured his uncle John Dewe of Barbados.


“There are records of several Dews, two with the name Thomas, among the planters of this period, who had plantations in Bermuda, and in the Bahamas Islands. (and other Caribbean Islands.)”  [Ernestine White]  It is considered likely that the eldest of the two Thomas Dews recorded there was Richard’s brother, born in England but after an adventure in Virginia he returned to England from whence he later came to Barbados.  The other younger Thomas was a son.


In 1689, a Quaker Edward Fisher of Dorchester, Maryland was named in the Probate of the estate of Thomas Dew.  This probate occurred long before the son of Andrew Dew removed from Virginia to Maryland in the 17th century, and was two years before Col. Thomas Dew of Nansemond, Virginia perished.  Therefore, Edward Fisher must have been married to one of the Barbadian Capt. Thomas Dew's daughters possibly named Anne, Elizabeth, or Catherine.  The place of death and probate of Capt. Thomas Dew is not known, but it was probably in Barbados in 1689 where he was last noted on the 1680 census of St. Peter's all Saints ParishHe died before his father perished in 1691.  He is sometimes confused with his nephew Thomas, the much younger son of Andrew Dew who also attained the rank of Captain in Virginia.  It is unfortunately said that many Barbados Wills & Probate records have been lost.  Thomas Fisher of the Blackwater River in Dorchester County, Maryland was sent to Barbados as a member of the militia in 1679 as noted below. [ The First Fisher Families of the Chesapeake ]


A list of Inhabitants of Barbados in the year of 1638 who possessed more than 10 acres of land, included:

                John Dew

Edward ffisherHis land changed ownership 4 times by May of 1644.  He probably returned to Bristol, England, and made a Will there in 1662.


Vol 1, Barbados Deeds:

                “May 4th 1644, Recorded: May 13th 1645, Barbados, St. Michael’s Parish.

To all Christian people to whom these presents shall come,

I Roger Cattlin of the Island of Barbados, planter send greetings in Our Lord God Everlasting Know yee that the said Roger Cattlin for deserving good causes and valuable considerations in hand received ------- at the sealings-------- doe give, grant, bargain, sell, assign…sell unto John Arnett, Francis Strelton, and John Eggrow of ye same place, planters…that my plantation that which lately bought and purchased of Capt. Jones Holdipp containing by estimation twenty acres of land thereabouts which had formerly been in the tenor and occupation of John Thomas and since in the possession of Edward Fisher and since in the tenor and occupation of Frs Whitfield, and John Peirson situated in the Parish of St. Michaels in the Island bounded by land belonging called the Farme now in possession of Eng Edward Crosts, and with the lands of Josias Harts, and land of Sgnor Fellows, and land of John Davis

To have and to hold, 8th of May 1644

Signed:  Roger Cattlin

In the presence of Owen Baxter, and Tobias Sicklemor.”


Indentured Servants to serve in Barbados:

Elizabeth Anderson, November 8th 1669, Agent: Thomas Fisher (location not given)


Edward Fisher, perhaps of Barbados, apparently came to St. Mary’s County, Maryland in 1675 with his wife Anne, son Edward Fisher, a Cooper, & wife Catherine, and younger son William Fisher.  They were all indentured for seven years to pay for their passage, and it is believed that they were related to the Edward Fisher who left a Will in Bristol, England in 1662 that named sons John, James, Joseph, and Edward.  It is also possible that an eldest son, & primogenitor not named in the Will, may have been Richard Fisher.  Apparently some of these Fisher siblings dwelt in Maryland, and some in Barbados. The Fishers of St. Mary’s county, Maryland removed to Dorchester County on the Nanicoke River by 1685.


Thomas Fisher & Samuel Hardacre, a Quaker, were both in a militia unit sent to Barbados in 1679 from the Blackwater River area of Dorchester County, Maryland.


In June of 1687 both Edward Fisher, planter of St. Mary’s, and Thomas Fisher (possibly of Blackwater River) were mentioned in the Probate of the estate of John Baker.


Barbados Census of 1680:

Richard ffisher: St. Peter All Saints

Richard ffisher: St. Peter All Saints

Joseph ffisher:  St. Peter All Saints

John ffisher:  St. Lucy


Register of St. Peter’s Parish, New Kent County, Va. (formerly York County) pp 1-20:

(p. 7) “Rachel, daughter of Alice Doe baptized ye 15th of March, 1690/91.”


In 1691 the Administration of the Estate of Col. Thomas Due, first colonial immigrant of this family, deceased, was settled in York County, Virginia.  It is said that Col. Thomas Due (sic) Dewe, who perished at about 89 years of age, survived all of his sons.  The bulk of his vast Virginia Estate descended to his Primogenitor, & eldest surviving grandson dwelling in Virginia.  This heir was his grandson Thomas Dew, a son of Andrew Dew an older son that perished in Virginia during the early 1660s, believed about 1661. 


The account of Thomas Dew, deceased, York County Court, October 1691 - an account of what estate doth appear to belong to Thos. Dew, dec'd, as did appear before ye Court, Oct. 16th 1691, to be owing by these several persons hereafter named:

            Account by John Mykill,                            060 lbs. Tobacco

            Account by Jas. Priest,                                030 lbs. Tobacco

            Account by Tho. Jefferson                         125 lbs. Tobacco

            Account by Robert Leightenhouse's bill 250 lbs. Tobacco

            Test.  J. Sedgewick

            "John Mykill is to pay out of this account 100 lbs. Tobacco to

            Jno. Lucas."


            Note that John Mykill was likely a corruption of John Michael.


Robert Lightenhouse perished before July 24th 1701, the date that his estate was

Inventoried and sworn to by his widow, Elizabeth, Administrix, and signed

by William Sedgwick, County Clerk of York County, Virginia.


John Lucas was a former nephew-in-law of the decedent Thomas Dew.  His father Capt. John Lucas, Sr. was once married to Thomas Dew's sister Margaret as her last husband.  The John Lucas of Virginia was said related to the John Lucas of Antigua, and South Carolina.


In 1691, George Dews, Sr., a young man perhaps approaching 21 years of age, a qualified mariner who was familiar with the Caribbean, appeared in Bermuda where he, along with Thomas Tews, supposedly a Rhode Islander, were issued Letters of Marquis from the Governor of Bermuda Isaac Richier, to take to the sea and attack French interests in Gambia.  It was quite likely that in this same year, Capt. George Dews, Sr. married Ann Welsh, a daughter of John Welsh, and wife Anne, who were counted on the 1696 Oath Roll of Association Island in the Town and Parish of St. Georges Is., along with Capt. George Dews, Sr.   It was later that year that their son George Dews, Jr. was born in St. Georges, Is., Bermuda.  This son also became a mariner.  George Dews, Sr., and wife Ann Welsh, had daughters named Anne and Mary Dews before 1702.  Both father and son appear to be named after George MacKenzie, 2nd Earl of Seaforth.


The earliest information about Thomas Tews was a report by a traveler in Newport Rhode Island made in 1694, that he recognized Thomas Tews as a man he had known in Jamaica 12 years earlier (in 1682.)  It was also claimed by a man named Weaver,

                                Councelor for the King during Fletcher’s Decomissioning that during Tew’s stay at

Bermuda (New Providence,) “It was a thing notoriously known to everyone that he (Tews)

had before then been a pirate, and a sailor who had known him well testified that he

(Tews)  “had been a rambling.”


Isaac Richier, Esq., was appointed Governor of Bermuda in 1691.  By fraudulent means Richier seized the ship “Ann & Mary.”  He caused two ships to be outfitted as privateers, and finding difficulty in manning them, he issued warrants and impressed men for this purpose.  The command was given to two men Dew, and Griffin who put to the sea, and off Cape Cod boarded a British ship bound for Virginia with a valuable cargo consisting partly of oil, brimstone, and some Gold and Silver.  Upon the flimsy pretext that she had no clearance, they plundered her of her cargo, and returned to Bermuda.


On the 2nd of May 1693, at Saldanha Bay, west coast of Africa, Capt. George Dew in the Brigantine “Amy” under English Colors, landed in the bay, and was soon arrested by the Dutch ship “Tamboer.”  The “Amy” appeared to have been in an armed engagement, and had lost her main mast.  After finding two conflicting sets of ships papers, the Dutch Officers seized the “Amy” as a pirate vessel, and discovered that her Captain had lied about the number of crewmen aboard. The “Amy” was condemned, and Dews and his crew were sent as prisoners to Europe.  But it proved impossible to prove that Dews was a pirate, and he put in a claim for damage against the Dutch East Indian Company, and caused the Directors much trouble and expense.  From: “History of South Africa under the Administration of the Dutch East India Company: page 174”


In 1695, George Dew of Bermuda, Captain of the “Marigold” at anchor in St. George’s Island, registered a protest: “Enroute from Barbados to Africa, mutiny, and storm damage forced his return.”


                                Calendar of State Papers, Colonial Barbados, p. 176:

                                “Oct. 13th 1696, item 316, Minutes of the Council of Barbados.

                                Order for a proclamation that all small boats be secured at night, and that guards be appointed by the

                                Colonels of the militia each night.

                                Three Colonels took the Oath according to the Articles of War.

                                Order for Captain George Dew to be reimbursed for provisions expended in the country’s service.

                                Order for victualizing a vessel which is going to Governor Codrington.

                        Order for all the field Officers to taken the Oath of Fidelity according to the Articles of War.”


Parish Plantations, 1696, Bermuda als Somers Islands in America:

A few of the inhabitants of the Town & Parish of St. Georges were:

            George Dew                                         Joseph Ming

                James Croskey                                     Jonathan Ming

                William Croskeys                               Matthew Ming

                Nathaniel Mills                                   Experience Fox

                John Welsh                                           Stephen Wright

                John Hurt                                              Phineas Wright

                Edward Middleton, Sen.                    Ephriam Wright

                John Middleton                                    Joseph Wright

                John Hilton                                           James Wright, 1st Sgt

                James Rice                                             John Bellinger, 3rd Sgt

                David Ming


Charles Minors was a member of the Bermuda Assembly, and Clerk of the Council in 1696.


James Croskeys, & William Croskeys were the brothers of mariner Joseph Croskeys. and

Nathaniel Mills was the husband of their sister Elizabeth Croskeys. [Will of Joseph Croskeys, Dec. 2, 1700, Charleston, SC]


John Hurt was probably related to Robert Hurt whose Will was probated in Barbados in 1679.


In 1699, Captain George Dew, of Bermuda, a Privateer, built the “Old Rectory” one of the oldest surviving buildings on St. George’s Island.

In this same year, Pirates landed in Saldanha Bay, Africa, and stripped the “Amy” before

fleeing a Dutch flotilla from the Cape.


On Sept. 29, 1702, Capt. George Dew, member of the Bermuda Assembly, made his Will in Bermuda.  This Will was proved on Feb. 15, 1703.  [Bermuda WB2, pa. 188], which names his heirs:

            “Wife:                                   Ann

                Son:                                        George Dew, Jr., (a minor child)

                Daughters:                           Anne Dew, (a minor child)                                           

                                                                Mary Dew, (a minor child)

                Mother-in-Law:                  Ann Welsh, Executor

                Witnesses:                           James Wright

                                                                John Hilton

                                                                Charles Minors”


In 1703, “Governor Christopher Codrington, Gov., of Bermuda, appointed George Dew as one of the Barons of Exchequer.”


Capt. George Dew’s LW&T was Executed by his mother-in-law Ann WelshSince the Executor or Executrix were always the blood kin of the deceased, unless otherwise stated, this makes me suspicious that Ann Welch, wife of John Welsh was nee, Ann Dews, the daughter of Col. Thomas Dews.  If so, then she was his aunt, at the time being at least 68 years old, and George Dews thus married his first cousin.


A John Welsh, born about 1606, was Council for the Devonshire Tribe in complaints against Capt. Stokes in Bermuda in 1626.  John Welsh, of Devonshire, died on Somers Island about 1640.  He named his wife Eliza, and his Apprentice John Welsh, Junr., the natural son of his brother William Welsh, late of St. Davids Island. His nephew John Welsh was recorded on general levy records of Bermuda in 1660 for work done on Smith’s Fort: 1 Shilling, and for mending the Castle Boat, and for work done about the Court of the Guarde, 8 Shillings.  John Welch , a shipwright of Somers Island given Warrant on June 21st 1661 for inspecting the ship “Ould St. Jacob” of Amsterdam for seaworthiness, and in the same year disbursed 12 Shillings for providing funeral items.  John Welsh was counted on the 1662/3 Survey of Bermuda by Richard Norwood, on the east end of St. George’s Island, 2 shares, and on Nov. 22nd 1663, an Agreement was made between Katherine Gilbert, wife of Richard Gilbert, Sr., of Smith’s Tribe, and John Welsh of St. George’s regarding the purchase of a Negro woman.  John Welsh was also counted on the 1696 Association Oath Rolls also on St. George’s Island.  Ensigne Leonard White was dwelling in St. Georges Island, Bermuda during the 1696 Association Oath Rolls.


        William Wilch (      -    ) Late of St. David’s in 1640.  Mentioned in the 1640 Will of John Welsh, his

        brother deceased, whose wife was Eliza.  Sons of William were:


                William Welch (     -   ) One of the designated Harpooners of a Whaling

                boat, at Somers Island on 21 Mar. 1663/4.


                John Welsh, Junr. (ca. 1626, Barbados -    ) Apprenticed to his uncle John Welsh on Bermuda. 

                He apparently married Ann Dew a daughter of the Virginia Colonel Thomas Dewe.  Children:


Ann Welsh (ca. 1674  -  ) m1: George Dews, m2: William Rowsham, Sr.


Mary Welsh (      -     ) m: John Norman, a mariner of Bermuda

John Norman (      -     ) mariner, apprenticed to Leonard White, mariner of Bermuda for 10 years on April 20th 1694. Ensigne Leonard White, of Smith’s Tribe, and of St. Georges Island, was a son of Capt. Anthony White, and his wife Elizabeth Jennings, a daughter of Richard JenningsJohn Norman’s father also John Norman b. 1616, embarked June 10th 1635 from Gravesand, in the “Truelove of London” under the command of Mr. Robert Dennis, to Somers Island, along with his older uncle George Norman, b. 1610.  John Norman immigrated to Carolina.


John Welsh (     -    ) mariner of Bermuda who plyed the waters from Boston to Savannah.  He came to America & entered the Indian Trade being here before the French - Indian WarHis son John Welsh, brother of Sarah, may be mentioned in the lower note.

m: unknown


Sarah (Welsh?) (ca. 1748, SC -     ) of the 4th generation, married about 1761 in SC to Charles Minors, a Shipwright of Bermuda (formerly Somers Island) as his second wife [marriage unproved.]  Charles moved from Bermuda to South Carolina sometime after 1705, where he built ships on the Little River, and then died in SC sometime before 1769, a very elderly man.  Charles Minors, as a Clerk, and Secretary of the Bermuda Council, witnessed the Will of John Welsh, Junr. in Bermuda, however he also witnessed many other Bermuda Wills as the Clerk of the Island Council.  His much younger widow Sarah Minors, in SC married second before 1769 to Cornelius Dewees, a shipwright of Germantown, PA who also built ships in SC on Dewes/Dewees Island, that then belonged to his partner Plunkett.  It was an Island that was purchased by the wealthy Indian Merchant Capt. William Dewes at the estate sale of George Plunkett, deceased, at Charleston auctioned in 1761 to satisfy the creditors of Plunkett.  This Island had formerly been identified as Timacau Island, but became associated with the names of first William Dewes, and then of Cornelius Dewees who were unrelated persons.  William Dewes thus was apparently related to Sarah Minors.


                                                Note:  From A Historical Digest, p. 191:

                                                “The Boston Newsletter of April 23, 1705 – reports Indwards bound John Welsh from Bermuda.”


                                                From The French and Indian War Notices, page 269:

                                                “Charleston, South Carolina, Nov. 29th 1760,

                                                Fort Prince George, Nov. 6th 1760,

                                                On the 1st Instant John Welsh came in here from the middle settlements, and informed me that Louis

Lautiniac, a Frenchman born who was a Cadet in Capt. Nelson’s Independent Company, thereafter

a trader, and now a French Officer, arrived very lately at Chote with some presents from the French

to these Indians.  He immediately sent down for Sailowe, or the Young Warrior of Estatoe, who

obeyed the summons and delivered to him two letters which were in his hands written by me to

Judd’s Friend, and OucannostataLautiniac being a master of both the English, and Cherokee

tongues, interpreted these letters as best suited his own interests; and having presented Sailowe with

a box of paints which was accepted, he pulled out a bloody hatchet, drove it into a log, and cried out,

“Where is the man that will take that up for the French?”  Sailowe immediately seized the hatchet,

saying “I am not yet tired of war.  I will give them the English more of it.,” and danced the war

dance, after which all the others took up the hatchet, and declared in favor of the French…”


It was during this same year of 1703 George died that part of his surviving family immigrated to Charleston, Carolina, where the Ann, the Widow of Captain George Dew, Sr., married in Carolina to William Rowsham, Sr. who had recently lost his wife.  Her daughter Anne Dew, and her son George Dew, Jr. remained behind in Bermuda, St. Georges Is., likely with grandparents, but it is believed that her youngest Mary Dew, came to Charleston with her mother.

George Dew, Jr. became a mariner like his father, and married a woman named Patience, but apparently he died, perhaps at sea, before they had issue.  His widow Patience Dew married to mariner Joseph Palmer and removed to Carolina 


Descendants of Capt. George Dew (bef. 1670 -  ca. 1703, Bermuda) & Anne Welch, Dew follow.  Anne, widow of George Dew, married William Rowsham in Charleston, SC.


1.             George Dew, a mariner perished before 1714, married Patience

His widow, Patience married second to Joseph Palmer, a mariner of Barbados.  Joseph Palmer 1717 in his sloop, was attacked by Pirate Stede Bonet.

2.             Ann Dew, a spinster of Bermuda in 1714.

3.             Mary Dew, a spinster of South Carolina in 1714.


On April 13th of 1714 the Charles Town  Court records show that:

“I Joseph Palmer and Patience Palmer, his wife, late Patience Dew widow of George Dew of Bermuda, mariner, dec’d, for consideration of sum of 20 Pounds Current money paid, the receipt whereof they do acknowledge, have released quit claim unto Anne Dew, of Bermuda, spinster, and to Mary Dew of South Carolina, spinster, daughters and sole heirs of George Dew, Sr., of Bermuda, mariner, dec’d, and sisters to the former husband of Patience Palmer, all estate which said Joseph Palmer and Patience, his wife, ought to have all lands, tenements on the Island of Bermuda which were the inheritance of George Dew, dec’d…that Joseph Palmer and Patience, his wife, shall not nor at any time hereafter claim, and Anne and Mary Dew shall have lawful possession or inheritance…  Signed: Joseph Palmer, Patience Palmer.  Witnesses: Jno. Croskeys, Jno. Stevenson, Tho. Walker, Jno. Croft.”  [Notice Pub. Date: 14, April 1714]

Three years later, in August of 1717, Captain Joseph Palmer of the Bar, South Carolina, being 28 years of age, was bringing a sloop from Barbados to the South Carolina Port of Charleston when attacked by Pirate Captain Stede Bonnet, formerly a peaceful and prosperous retired Army Major from Barbados himself, and thus Palmer may have been acquainted with Bonnet.  Pirate Bonnet took Palmer’s sloop, plundered Rum, Sugar, and Negroes, used the sloop to careen his own ship, then burnt Palmer’s sloop.  Birth entries noted below seem to indicate that Joseph Palmer survived the attack.


Joseph Palmer was 21 years old in 1709 (b. ca. 1688/89,) a son of Charles Palmer of Barbados.  [Will of Nathaniel Curtis, planter of Barbados, St. Phillips Parish, Nov. 14, 1709, RB 6/7, page 100]  Charles Palmer was surveyed on Barbados in 1717-1722.


Register of Births St. Phillips Parish, Charles Town, Carolina, 1711-1758:

June 29, 1720: Joseph, a son of Joseph Palmer and Patience his wife, was born.

July 15, 1723, Samuel, a son of Joseph Palmer and Patience his wife, was born.

Register of Deaths - ditto:

June 27th 1725, Joseph Palmer, a child, was buried (parents not named.)


John Stevenson & wife Mary had a daughter named Mary on July 17, 1722 in St. Phillips, Charleston, SC]

It is my suspicion that, after the above quit claim conveyance was made, Stevenson married Mary Dews, because on January 26th 1736, Mary Stevenson received a Royal Grant of 600 acres of land adjacent to land laid out in Berkley County for Bethel Dewes on the Edisto River.  Likely Mary Stevenson was a widow of John by then.


John Croskeys [ca. 1701, Charleston, SC - ca. (Will) Mar. 15, 1722, Charleston, SC] a son of Joseph Croskeys, mariner, died as a fairly young man.  Six years after the above conveyance was made, he maried Sarah Matthews [ca. 1700, Charleston, SC -  ?] a daughter of Capt. Anthony Matthews [ca. 1661, London, Eng. - ca. 1735, Charleston, SC], a mariner & merchant, & wife Lois (Fowell/Fa’well/Farewell?)  

Sarah Matthews was probably a granddaughter of Richard Fowell & Sarah (Dewes?), Fowell of Barbados, and was related to the parties mentioned in the conveyance above.


Capt. Thomas Walker, mentioned witness in the above conveyance, was probably of Nassau, a Justice, and a former Governor of the Bahamas.  He had fled to Charleston after Pirates took over rule of the Bahamas by force, but he returned to the northernmost cay of these islands in 1717.

                No doubt Walker was well acquainted with Palmer, and the Dewe family.


Jno. Croft was a Register of Charles Town records, and in this capacity often witnessed legal documents, but a man of this same name did, in 1731, witness a Deed from Captain Anthony Matthews & wife Lois, to John Murrill, and he was not the Register. 

It is possible that this later man was a son of the earlier John Croft.


An Analysis of the Revolt Against the Proprietors of SC in 1719, page 69:

“…into this situation arrived from Barbados one Alexander Skene shortly after March 1st 1715.  There (in Barbados) he had served for a long period as Secretary of the Colony…”


Note that it is believed that Robert Dews was the former Ward of Alexander Skene, and wife, Jemima, a sister of Robert Dews, and that after his education, and Apprentice as a Bricklayer in Barbados, Robert came with them to Charles Town, SC – S.Due.



The specific immigrant, and subject, Robert Dews:


Robert Dews (Dewe, Dewes,) was born ca. 1684, probably in Barbados.  It is shown herein that some of his siblings were possibly George Dews, Sr., & almost certainly Jemima Dews, she and Robert being descendants of an earlier Dew family that came to Barbados.  The linkage between George and Robert Dews is a somewhat weak and tenuous one, being that George’s widow, Ann Welsh, became the much younger stepmother of Robert’s mother-in-law, Susannah Rowsham.  But this linkage is reinforced by the notion that Bermuda and Barbados were original haunts, and where the mainstream Dew family interests of Col. Thomas Dew lay in the Caribbean.  The linkage between Alexander Skene’s wife Jemima, and Robert Dews is much more definitive, and strong.  It seems to leave little doubt that Robert Dews came to Charles Town from Barbados.  George Dew, Sr., had to be born somewhere, but he is not found on any discovered English records.  But about eleven years before George Dews, Sr. first appears on the records of Bermuda, both Ensinge David Dew and Ensinge Thomas Dew appear in the records of the Barbados militia (1679-1680.) 


Sometime about 1715, or thereabouts, a man named Robert Dews, a bricklayer, appeared in Charles Town, Carolina. 


[Robert Dews declared before the Charles Town, Carolina Court that he knew John Wright, a Quondam Indian Agent, whose son Richard Wright married Mary Rhett, daughter of Col. Wm. Rhett.]  (Major John Wright died in 1715 during the Yamassee Indian uprising.) 


John Wright had a warrant for 200 acres of land att Yathawee between Birch Creek & an Indian ffort.  28th September 1704.


John Wright had two warrants for 1,000 acres of land dated “ye 1st of October 1705.”


John Wright had two warrants for land dated “ye 1st of October 1706 which I delivered to Coll. Moore for him.”


There were two lines of Wrights in early Charles Town, Carolina, who may have been related.  Both descended from Thomas Wright of the Norfolk & Suffolk Wrights of Kilverstone manor during the reign of Queen Elizabeth.  One line was that of John Wright who came from Virginia, an early Commissioner of Indians, and at times a member of the Assembly of Carolina, who was slain by the Indians at Pocotaligo, along with fellow Indian Agent, Scotsman Captain Thomas NairneJohn Wright’s sons: John, Richard, & Thomas Wright, all wealthy and prominent citizens succeeded him.  A probable sister of John, Margaret Wright married Thomas Hayward, a powder keeper of Charles Town, SC.  Both lines of these Wrights were related.  The Kilverstone branch originated in Normandy, France, and came to England with the Knights of William the Conqueror in 1066. 

There was another line of this Wright family first seated in Berwickshire, Scotland from ancient times.  They lay claim to an origin with the Boernicians, and admixture of Scot Picts & Angles dating back to 400 AD.  Their haunts included Elgin, and Kincardine.  They were settled early in Ploughland in Holderness, Durham where they were seated in Bradbury, Sedgefield, Northumberland, and Berwick.  They had estates in Yorkshire at Bolton-upon-Swale, Botton Hall, and Sigglesthorn Hall, all being blood related to their Norman cousins.  Others dwelt and acquired Brattleby in Lincoln, Mottram, and Bickley in Cheshire.  After 1000 AD, the blood related Wrights that were separated by the boundary line between Scotland, and England, developed differing loyalties, and alligences.  The unruly border clans of the Wright ilk were dispersed to England, northern Scotland, and Ireland, but some were banished directly to the colonies.


South Carolina Marriages 1688-1799, show:

John Wright married Jane Keays, P License, ____ 1725, St. Phillips Parish.

Richard Wright married Mary Rhett, P License, April 1734, St. Phillips Parish.

Richard Wright married Mary Butler, 25 May 1742, St. Andrews Parish.

Thomas Wright married Ann Hutchinson, P License by Mr. Garden, 27 Feb. 1736, St. Phillips Parish.

Thomas Wright married Elizabeth Bellinger, 17 July 1743, St. Andrews Parish.


The other line was Robert Wright (1696 - 1757), who was Chief Justice of Carolina from 1729 to 1738, husband of his distant cousin, the widow Isabella Pitt, nee Wright.  His father was Sir Robert Wright, and mother was Susan Wren.  His grandfather was Jermyn Wright, and grandmother was ____.  His great grandfather was Sir Thomas Wright, Esq., of Kilverstone, County Norfolk. 

His youngest son issued was Sir James Wright (1716, Sedgefield, Durham –1785.)  He married Sarah Maidman, and was the last provincial Governor of Georgia. 

There is a no doubt that Robert Wright was related to the elder John Wright mentioned above, but the exact relationship has not been established. 

Sir Robert Wright had 5 sons; Robert; Richard; Jermyn; Charles; & Sir. James Wright.


(South) Carolina Marriages 1688-1799, show:

Robert Wright married Gibbon Cawood, the only daughter of John Cawood, dec’d, on 7 June 1728  (they were already married on said date); Benja. Whitacker, Thos. Lamboll, Robert Hume: Witnesses.


Robert Wright married Mary Blamyre; minister Edward Dyson; bondsman              

Robert Wright, jr., of Dorchester Parish, Esq., and James Graeme, Gent., Attorney

of Law, 22 June 1733, MB NY.


April 1715:     Alexander Skene, Secretary of the Island of Barbados,                                                            appeared before the Barbadian Court of the Honourable William

Sharpe, Esq., providing his testimony regarding the Will of

William Hampton, dec’d, bearing the date April 4th 1715.  This

indicates that Alexander Skene, Lilias Skene, Haig, and Robert

Dews were all still in Barbados when Alexander gave his

testimony before the Barbadian Court, on April 6th 1715.


Records suggest that Robert Dews came to Charles Town, Carolina, from Barbados, shortly after the foregoing proceeding, in the spring of 1715 along with his brother-in-law Alexander Skene, and Alex’s sister Madam Lilia (Skene) Hague, widow of Obadiah Haig/AKA: Hague. 


(South) Carolina State Records, Indian Books, Vol. I:

“We find an entry from the Indian Commissioner to one John Wright to call a meeting of the headmen of the Wacsaw, Esau, and Cuttabau Indians, August 1711.”


In 1711Captain John Grant and his wife Katherine sued Mary Martin in Charles Town, Carolina.


In Charles Town, Carolina, 1713, a John Wright sued “Catherine Grant, Executrix of John Grant” the decedent who also owned land in Goose Creek, St. James Parish.  John Grant, and Catherine Grant, children of John Grant, owned land in St. James Parish, Goose Creek.  The son was buried in St. Phillips Parish in 1761. [SC Archives]


Ludovic Grant was born ca. 1690-1696 (christened Apr. 12, 1702 in Irvine, Scotland, a son of John Grant, and wife Catherine Dick.)   Ludovic Grant, who resided in Tyvie Parish, Aberdeenshire, was transported on the ship “Susannah” by Court Order to Charles Town, Carolina on May 7, 1716, after being captured at the famous Battle of Preston, imprisioned at Chester, whereby his title was revoked, his lands confiscated, and he was banished to the American Plantations during the failed “Jacobite rebellions.” Ludovic Grant was the noted Cherokee Trader found mentioned in South Carolina records. [See the Research of Larry Petrisky] 


A Richard Tookerman (sic) of 1718 in Charles Town was a small time pirate in league with Thomas Porter.  Pirate Stede Bonnet was captured in September of 1718 at Topsail Inlet, and was sentenced to death.  Tookerman had the audacity to appear at the trial proceedings and submit a claim for a Negro slave named Ned confiscated on Bonnet’s ship as his own property.  Tookerman aided Bonnet’s escape from confinement in Charles Town after the trial, and was soon jailed as the accomplice in Charles Town. Bonnet was recaptured, and Tookerman (sic) somehow managed to secure his own release before Bonnet was hanged on Dec. 10th 1718. 

Judging from his obvious character, Tookerman may have courted and married the illiterate widow Catherine Grant for purposes of stealing her estate settlement.


By 1719 Catherine Grant, widow, of John, married Richard Tookerman (sic,) Tuckerman and he became Executor of the estate of the late John Grant [SC, Archives.]  They issued two children:


Richard Tuckerman, born May 18th 1719

Elizabeth Tuckerman, born Oct. 25th 1720, married Jacob Axson.


It is not known if Catherine Dick, Grant quit Capt. Richard Tookerman (sic) after soon finding out that he was perhaps a rascal, a thief, and a pirate, but there is a record that a Richard Tookerman (sic) was married on May 18th 1719 to Elizabeth Warnock at Christ Church Parish in Charles Town.  Criminal behavior was grounds for divorce in the white settlements and in the Cherokee culture.


In Sept. 1721 Depositions were taken in the High Court of Admiralty in prosecution against Richard Tookerman (sic.)  Deponents included Woods Rogers, Esq., late governor of the Bahamas, aged 40, and Benjamin Simms of the island of Providence, aged 52.  Richard Tuckerman died after Oct. 29th 1725 when Catherine made her Will, although she does appears to be estranged from him.  She mentioned in regard to the disposition of her young children “…till such time they can be sent to their father Capt. Richard Tuckerman.”


It is alleged that Catherine Dick, Grant was a full-blooded Cherokee, and if so, she was probably not the first wife of John Grant.  Indications are that she was Scotch, however this does not preclude her from also being of the Cherokee Tribe too.  Some Sotch Adventurers took Indian women from America back to Scotland with them in earlier times.


A widow Grant was found in Savannah Georgia before 1740. Children mentioned were Ludovic, Margaret, James, and Daniel. [Coulter & Says, Early Settlers of Georgia, p. 76]  I have not been able to place her otherwise.


Grant Clan


      “Stand Fast”


                                Eochaid, III, of Argyll (King of Scotland) [726-733]

                                He married Urgaria of the Picts.


                                King Alpin [c. 775, Scotland – July 20th 834] (726-728, King of Picts)

(733-736) King of Scots

                                He claimed the Pictish Throne before 834.

                                He was murdered after the defeat of the Scots

                                by the Picts.  He married unknown.


                                Prince Greggor, who became King Donald, I.

                                He married unknown.


                                Dongallas who married Spontana, a daughter

                                Of the High King of Ireland.


                                Richard le Grant, Chancellor of the diocease of

                                Lincoln, who was consecrated Archbishop of

                                Canterbury in 1229.  He married unknown.


                                Thomas Grant, merchant of the King of Scotland

                                Who retired from his Post as Visor of York Castle

                                On Jan. 2nd 1252.  He married unknown.


                                Sir Laurence le Grant, Sheriff of Inverness who

                                “Rendered accounts to the Scottish Exchequer in 1263,

                                and 1266.”  He married unknown.


                                Sir Roy Grant, who married Matilda of Glencarnie.


                                Sir Duncan Grant [1424 – c. 1485] 1st of Freuchie. 

                                He married unknown, probably Matilda Comyn of Glencarnie.


                                John Grant of Freuchie [c. 1445, Scotland – ?]

                                He married Murial MackIntosh.


                                John “The Bard” Roy Grant of Freuchie [c. 1465, Scotland –

                                May 1st 1528, Scotland.]  He married Margaret Murial Ogilvie,

                                a daughter of James Ogilvie, & Margaret Innes.


                                James Grant of Freuchie [c. 1485, Freuchie, Ross, & Cromarty - ?.]

                                He married Elizabeth Forbes, a daughter of John Forbes, 6th Lord of

                                Forbes, & Katherine Stewart.


                                John “The Gentle” Grant [c. 1507, Freuchie, Ross, & Cromarty –

June 3rd 1585, Ballachastel, Scotland.]  He married Marjory Margaret

Stewart a daughter of John Stewart & Grizzel Rattray.   


Duncan Grant [c. 1527, Freuchie, Ross, & Cromarty – Feb. 19th 1580,

Duthill, Scotland.]  He married Margaret MackIntosh, a daughter of

William MackIntosh, & Margaret Ogilvy.


John Grant, 5th of Freuchie [c. 1570, Freuchie, Ross, Cromarty – Sept.

20th 1622, Duthill, Scotland.]  He married Lilias Murray, a daughter of

John Murray, & Katherine Drummond.


John MacOnochir Grant, II, [Aug. 17th 1596, Freuchie, Ross, Cromarty –

April 1st 1637, Hollyrood, Midlothian, Scotland.]  He married Mary

Ogilvy, a daughter of Walter Ogilvy, & Marie Douglas.


James Grant [June 24th 1616, Freuchie, Perthshire, Scotland – c. 1663,

Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland.]  He married Mary Stewart [c. 1608,

Morayshire, Scotland – Dec. 18th 1662, Scotland.]  She was a daughter of

James Stewart, & Anne Gordon.


Ludovic Grant “The Highland King” [Grant, Scotland – Nov. 1716,

Hollyrood, Edinburgh, Scotland.]  He married Janet Brodie [c. 1654,

Lethen, Nairnshire, Scotland – c. 1697.]  She was a daughter of

Alexander Brodie, & Elizabeth Craig.


John Grant [c. 1679, Pluscardine, Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland – c. 1712,

Goose Creek, St. James Parish, SC.]  He married Katherine Dick [c. 1682,

Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland – c. after 1747, SC.]  She was a daughter of

William Grant, and Katherine Dick.


Ludovic Grant [c. 1699, Irvine, Ayreshire, Scotland – c. 1757, Charleston, SC.]

He married a Cherokee Chief’s daughter he called Elizabeth of the Long Hair

Clan.  She was known as Eughioote.


Ludovic Grant, a son of the above Captain John Grant, married a full blood Cherokee woman of the Long Hair Clan, Euguioote (sic) and issued two daughters:


1.       Susannah Catherine Grant (1/2)[ca. 1727, Tellico – Oct. 22nd, 1769, St. Phillips, Carolina] of the Longhair clan who married ca. 1743 to Robert Emory [ca. 1723 – ca. 1790] a son of John Emory & Sarah Wilson.  They issued one daughter below, and she was also perhaps married to Willeneewa resulting in the (step?) relationships mentioned at the end:


Her first daughter Susannah Catherine Emory (1/4th)[ca. 1744, Tomatly, NC – ca. 1765, Cherokee Nation,] cohabitated with John Stuart [ca. 1718, Inverness, Scotland – ca 1779, Florida,] and was the mother of:


Bushyhead (1/8th) (b. 1758) was raised in the Tribe by relatives.


She was separated from John Stuart when he was ordered to Beaufort.


She next cohabitated with Robert Dews [ca. 1745, Charles Town, Carolina – after 1800, Ga.]  They were separated because of the Great Cherokee War.  She issued:


Tahlonteeskee (1/8th) (ca. 1759) was raised in the Tribe by relatives.


She cohabitated with John Jolly. He was a young Virginia soldier who came to Carolina during the Cherokee War, and later assisted the Grant family.  She issued:


John Jolly (1/8th) (b. 1761/3.) was raised in the Tribe by relatives.


She perished about 1765.


Her (step?) half-brothers were Bloody Fellow, Doublehead, Pumpkin Boy, and Old Tassel.  Her (step?) half-sisters were Wurthe, and Oo-uo-st (married John Watts, Sr.) by a marriage of her mother Susannah Catherine Grant  to Willeneewa,the Great Eagle. These relationships were mentioned in many old documents. 


2.      Mary Grant [ca. 1728/9, Tellico –1765/6 in Eastern Tennessee, or Goose Creek, Carolina]of the longhair clan, who married ca. 1746 to William Emory [? of Charles Town, Carolina - ] a brother of Robert Emory, above.  William Emory joined Ludovic Grant earlier in his trade with the Cherokees.  Mary Grant, Emory was the mother of six children:


Will Emory [1744, Tomatly, NC – 1788, Chota, Tennessee.]  His wife is unknown, but he had one son Thomas, also known as Long Tom.


Mary Emory [ca/ 1746, Tomatly, NC – ca. 1800, Cherokee Nation]  She married 1st  ca. 1766 to William Rim Fawling, and issued two children.

She married 2nd ca. 1770 to Ezekiel Buffington, and issued six children.

She married 3rd ca. 1782 to Capt. John Martin, and issued one child.


Elizabeth Emory [ca. 1748, Tomatly, NC – ca. 1781,    Tugaloo, Ga.]

 She married 1st ca. 1767 to Ezekiel Buffington, and issued one daughter Mary Buffington

(b. ca. 1768.) 

She married 2nd ca. 1770 to Robert Dews, and issued one daughter Elizabeth Virginia

“Jennie” Dew (b. ca. 1770/1) 

She married 3rd ca. 1772 to John Rogers, and issued five children.


Susannah Emory [ca/ 1748, Tomatly, NC – 1797, near Tugaloo, Ga.] 

She married 1st ca. 1765 to Richard Fields, and issued seven children.  S

he married 2nd ca. 1781 to Capt. John Martin, and issued four children.


Drury Emory a.k.a. Hembree [Dec. 12th 1755, SC – 1845, Stone Co., Mo.]


Abraham Emory a.k.a. Hembree [May 16th 1757, SC – 1737, Hamilton Co.,



In 1737 the John Amory, mentioned above, with his wife Sarah Wilson and children immigrated from Lincolnshire, England to the Georgia Colony, where he settled on Pipemaker’s Creek, but could not get a Grant for his land.  He then moved to Purrysburg where he got a good Grant issued for 500 acres there in Carolina.  The only surviving son of the deceased Carolina Governor Robert Johnson was leaving Charles Town for England.  He persuaded John Amory and family to become the stewards of the Johnson estate near Charles Town.  For the next 15 years the Amorys often hosted delegations of Indians at the Johnson estate. 


On April 12th 1741, a Bill of Sale was recorded for 20 horses from Ludowick Grant, Indian Trader” to “John Amory, of Charles Town.” [SC, Archives, series roll SR213003, Vol. 2E, p. 307]


On June 3rd 1741, a Bill of Sale was transferred by John Amory to Joseph Wragg, and Richard Lambton, merchants of Charles Town, for “one stallion, ten geldings, nine mares, and one colt” originally from Ludowick Grant to John Amory. [SC Archives, SR213003, Vol. 2E, p. 308]


During the winter of 1742/43, some Cherokees, and traders, including Ludovic Grant came to the Johnson estate and camped out on the Johnson fields of Charleston Neck.  They came to discuss ongoing treaty violations by the upper Creek Indians.  When Ludovic Grant returned to his Cherokee trading town of Tellico (now part of Tennessee) after the meeting, Robert & William Emory (sic) the sons of John & Sara Wilson, Amory returned with him as his employees in the trade business.  It was not long before these sons married the two half-breed daughters of Ludovic Grant at Tellico. 


Other plans emerged from this 1743 meeting at Charleston Neck.  John Amory, Ludovic Grant, James Beamer, Cornelius Daugherty, & Thomas Nightingale, along with some Georgia Cherokee headmen developed a plan to secure the rights to mine Silver ore in north Georgia Cherokee lands.  The plan was to bring the ore by boat down the Savannah River to Purrysburg where John Amory owed land, and from there bring it to Charles Town.  They expected a windfall, but the Silver ore turned out to be low-grade, and they could not obtain rights to the mine from the Crown.  The plan was a bust.


                On May 7th 1743, a Bill of Sale was recorded for six horses from “Ludowick Grant, of Charles Town, Indian trader” to “John Amory, same, Indian trader,” [SC Archives SR213003, Vol. 2E, page 305]


John Amory died in 1746 and was buried at St. Phillips, Charles Town, Carolina.  His widow Sarah Wilson, Amory married consecutively to two other traders, first William Elder, and last Thomas Nightingale.


Robert Emory (sic) a son of John Amory, & wife Sarah Wilson, took up at Tellico about 1743/44 to Susannah Catherine Grant, the oldest half-breed daughter of Ludovic Grant.  They had a daughter named Susannah Catherine Emory, born about 1744 at Tomatly, in North Carolina.  It was their daughter Susannah that as a teenager took up 1st with Capt. John Stewart, 2nd with Robert Dews, and 3rd with John Jolly.  Then Susannah died young in the late 1760s.  Robert Emory’s Cherokee wife, who took up with Cherokee headman Wileneewa during Robert’s absence in the war, also perished not long after the French Indian War.  It was this war in which Robert Emory took part as a British soldier.  Records are obscure about Robert Emory between about 1753 and 1789, but it is known that after the war was over Robert Emory began to trade in Georgia where he took a Creek wife, and issued a son called “Emar-hee.”  Robert Emory made his Last Will and Testament dated Mar. 19th 1790, probated Mar. 30, 1790.  He was buried at St. Phillips, Charleston in March of 1790.


His brother William Emory took up with the youngest of Ludovic Grant’s half-breed Cherokee daughters Mary Grant, and they issued the children of more common genealogy records mentioned above.  William Emory also served during the war, and died about 1766 at Goose Creek, buried in St. Phillips, South Carolina.


Ludovic Grant retired from trade in the Cherokee Nation in 1756, returning to St. Phillips, Charleston where he perished in 1757.  He is probably buried in St. Phillips with his stone having the name “Ludv. Grant,  d. 1757,” which looks like John Grant in cursive.



In about May of 1717, it appears that Robert Dews married Mary Baker, in Charles Town, a daughter of William Baker [1654  - ca. 1718, Charles Town, buried at St. George Parish, Dorchester, Carolina], & Susannah Rowsham, [ca. 1680 - aft. 1725, Carolina] his spouse Mary being a granddaughter of William Rowsham, Sr. & Jordan ProbstWilliam Rowsham Sr. was widowed before 1703, and was, about that time, married to Ann Welch, Dews, widow of Capt George Dews she being the likely sister-in-law of Robert Dews.    Robert Dews was thus perhaps married to his step-niece, by marriage, which was not an uncommon practice in those days. 

Note that Richard Baker [bef. 1634 - 1698, Ashley River, Carolina] received a land grant in 1683 for 200 acres along the Ashley River.  Richard Baker’s spouse was Elizabeth Wilson [Aug. 18th 1630, Shruton, Wiltshire, Eng. – Aug. 13th 1734, near Ashley River, Carolina.]  They were the parents of William Baker.  No Will is found for William Baker, but the “Biography Directory of the (South) Carolina House of Representatives, Vol. 2, pp 46-48” gives his death in ca. 1718 at Charles Town.

William Rowsham, Sr. was undoubtedly born of the Rousham clan of

 Oxfordshire, England.  Elements of this family are on record there in 1616.


William Rowsham, Sr., was reportedly granted some lots in Charles Town

about 1672 [Petition of Bethel Dews in 1743.]  Rousham was not mentioned as a

passenger on the first fleet ships to the Ashley River, and so must have arrived on one of the next ships in 1772.


Although his exact date of Rowsham's birth is unknown, he must have been born

before 1651 because of the approximate time he was granted his earliest Charles                      Town lots (1672.)   He issued a daughter Susannah Rowsham who was

born ca. 1680 in Charles Town, SC, her mother being Jordan Probst, Rowham. 


Susannah Rowsham (sic) was married to William Baker about 1693 in Charles Town, Carolina, but in 1692 his father Richard Baker opposed this marriage. The Bakers were from Barbados, and Richard was a mariner, owning his own sloop.


A Warrant to Mr. William Rowsham for a Towne Lott (by Indenture) dated: ye

22 June 1694 under the hand & Seal of Governor Smith…  [This item was

entered twice on the same day indicating Rowsham got two Lots that day.]


William Rowsham had a Warrant for one Towne Lott in Charles Towne, Dated:

ye 14th June 1695.  Signed by Governor Joseph Blake.


Wm Rousam (sic) Senior had a Warrant for 300 acres of land in Berkley County, dated: 19th August 1697.


William Rousam (sic) had a Warrant for 400 acres of land for which Mr.

Richard Baker formerly had a Warrant for but hath since deserted it.  Dated Jan.

21, 1701


After his wife Jordan Probst, Rowsham perished William Rowsham, Sr., (sic) widower, married about 1703 in Charles Town to Ann (Dew.)


Only one woman named Ann Dew, is known to me dwelling in Charles Town about 1703 who could have wed to William Rowsham, Sr. as his last wife.  She was Ann Dew, nee Welch widow of Capt. George Dews, Sr. of Bermuda.  She came to Charles Town, Carolina after her husband's death in 1703 bringing a minor daughter Mary DewAs we have observed, widow Ann Welch, Dew apparently also descended from the Dew family.  Members of the Dew family already living in Carolina evidently arranged the marriage.  In 1714 her daughter Mary Dew was a spinster in South Carolina.  It is believed that Mary Dew wed to John Stevenson before 1720.  Mary's sister Anne Dew remained behind in Bermuda in 1703, but between 1714 and 1717 it appears that she came to Charles Town, and married an unidentified son of William Rowsham, Sr.   Records proving these marriages have not been foundWilliam Rowsham, Sr., and his unidentified son that married Anne, both perished before June 1717.  When the estate of William Rousham, Sr. was settled, Anne Rousham sued Executor Robert Dews claiming infringement of a verbal agreement she made with her father-in-law before his death.


                Berkley County, Carolina, 1717, Judgement Rolls

                Description:  Ann Rowsham, Admiz. of William Rowsham, Jr., vs. Robert Dews, Exor. of William

Rowsham, Sr., Judgement Roll.


Description:  Robert Dews, Exor. of William Rowsham, Sr. vs Anne Rowsham, Judgement Roll.


Exclusive coincidence suggests that William Rowsham, Sr. married the widow

of George Dews, Sr., by an arrangement of her Dew relations in Carolina, and likewise suggests that Robert Dews, and Capt. George Dews, Sr. may have been brothers. 


Similarly it is suggested that George & Robert Dewes were grandsons of Col. Thomas Dewe, the first of this Dewe clan to plant on the island plantations, but settled in Virginia.  Col. Thomas Dewe had brothers and sons that planted in St. Kitts, the West Indies, Bermuda, and Barbados.


William Rousham, or Rowsham received a grant for 400 acres on the north side

of the Ashley River between the lands of William Baker & John Baker on March

14th 1707.  [William Baker previously married Susannah Rowsham, daughter of

above grantee, in 1693 in Charles Town, Carolina despite his father’s caveat of

objection to this marriage, made in 1692.]


A William Rousham (Jr.) was counted on the 1725 census of Charleston,

Carolina.  He perished leaving a Will filed in Charles Town between 1729 and

1733.   By an unidentified spouse he likely issued a son James Rousham, a

Carpenter, who married on June 10th 1744 in Charles Town to Catherine VanVelson, spinster daughter of Edward Van Velson, Tanner of Dorchester.  James Rousham perished after 1746 in Dorchester leaving property to his surviving wife and daughters.


John “Jean” Postel, a French Huguenot came to Carolina by 1697 with his wife Magdaline Pepin.  He was one of the prominent Frenchmen of Goose Creek, and he perished ca. Oct. 16th 1729 in St. Phillip’s Parish.  It is alleged that one of his daughters married a Rousham.


On November 28, 1717, Robert Dews, was noted as Executor of the Will of William Rowsham, Sr., in Charleston, Carolina, having married William’s granddaughter, Mary Baker.   But William Rowsham, Sr. died before June of 1717 thought to be about 66 years of age.  [See the suit of Anne Rowsham - v. - Robert Dewes, June Term 1717, Chancery Court, Charles Town, Carolina described below.]


“When Anne Rowsham’s father-in-law William Rowsham, Sr. convinced her to sign over to him a Bond for 800 Pounds owed to her late husband (not named. but he was William Rowsham, Jr., deceased) by John Filbren, a former servant, Rowsham assured her that in return he would leave her one third of his real and personal property during her widowhood, and 200 Pounds Carolina currency.  Following his death, Anne learned to her dismay that instead she was to receive only one third of the profits of his estate, and the use of one room in his house while she remained a widow.  Her father-in-law decided not to give her more than a dower because she had gambled away her husband’s estate.  She took his Executor Robert Dewes to Court in an attempt to force Dewes to honor the original agreement.  In June of 1717 she described the deception to the Court of Chancery, complaining that Rowsham & Dewes had tricked her…”  [In the affairs of the World, Patriarchy, & Power in Colonial South Carolina,  page 174], [A Widow’s Might: widowhood and gender in early British America, p. 49-50]


In 1696 John ffilben recieved 150 acres in Berkley county, Carolina.

"John ffhilben had a Warrant for 1000 acres of land dated ye 18th of August 1705." [Carolina]

John ffilben witnessed the Will of Landgrave Thomas Smith, May 6, 1708, South Carolina.

"In 1719 the following people were at Goose Creek:

                The Izards

                Edward Middleton

                Arthur Middleton

                Governor James Moore, a leader of the Goose Creek men.

                Davis (Capt. David Davis)


                Col. John Berringer

                John Gibbs

                Edward Hyrne

                George Chicken, leader of the militia

                Abraham Dupont

                Edward Norman

                John Filben

                Joseph Thorowgood

                Seaman Deas

                & Thomas Monck"



James Moore was born ca. 1640 in Ireland, and died ca. 1706 at Charles Town, South Carolina where he served as Governor.  He married in about 1675 probably in Barbados to Margaret Berringer, a daughter of Lt. Col. Benjamin Berringer and wife Margaret Foster of Barbados.  James & Margaret Moore issued 10 children:


Col. James Moore, one time Gov. of SC.  He married Elizabeth Bersford, & consorted

with Sarah.

                Jehu Moore

                Margaret Moore married Benjamin Schenckkingh

Mary Moore, married Robert Howe, son of Job Howe, and wife Sarah (nee) Dews.

                Col. Maurice Moore married Mary Porter, & Elizabeth Lillington

Anne Moore, married Edward Moseley, & Capt. David Davis of Barbados and SC.

                Rebecca Moore married William Dry, & Thomas Barker

                Roger Moore married Catherine Rhett

                John Moore married Justina Smith

                Nathaniel Moore married Mary Webb, Sarah Granger, and Elizabeth ?


Court of Chancery, case papers, 1700-1720, page 195, regarding the estate settlement of William Rowsham, Sr:

Robert Dews stated that he was aged thirty years or thereabouts, (b. ca. 1684) being duly sworn in the Holy Evangelist & examined to the first interrogatory saith that he knew both Mr. John Wright, dec’d, and Mr. John Brown, that he knew the plantation Mr. Wright, dec’d, let to Mr. Brown, but knows nothing further relating to this interrogatory.”


Such language is suggestive that the land discussed may have been part of the estate of William Rowsham, Sr., and thus that Mr. Wright (Mr. John Wright, Indian Agent) was perhaps married into this Rousham family, and possibly of Mr. John Brown, too.  Records suggest that John Wright was somehow connected to the Grant family that owned land on Goose Creek, as well.  The plantation owned by the Wrights, on the north bank of the Ashley River is now called “The Oaks.”  Upstream on the Ashley River was the old grant, residence, and plantation of Col. Andrew Percival always known as “The Ponds.” Robert Dews had come into possession of 1000 acres of land adjacent to “The Ponds” before he made his Will in 1722.)


South Carolina Historical Magazine:

“…the plantation of the late William Rowsham where Mr. Robert Dews now lives…”


The Journal of the Board of Commissioners of Indian Affairs for April 17, 1711, page 6, refers to Mr. Wright - Agent, as “ye church att Goose Creeke wth materials for finishing same.”  This church, not completed until 1719, was built on 16 acres given by Benjamin Godin.  Note that John Wright, Indian Agent died in 1715, during the Yamesee Indian uprising, and a memorial was made to him in the churchyard.


Historical Account of Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina, p 182:

“Ch. XVIII, St. George’s Parish, Dorchester:

This Parish was separated from St. Andrews by an Act of Dec. 11th 1717, and the boundaries established as follows:  to the southeast by the plantation of Mr. Bedon inclusive, and from thence by a west line to the bounds of Colleton County, and also by another straight line from the said Bedon’s, to the plantation of the late Wiliam Rowsham, deceased, where Mr. Robert Dews now lives, inclusive, and from said plantation of said Rowsham, deceased, by an east line until it touches the bounds of St. James Parish, Goose Creek, and on all other parts by the same bounds of the said Parish of St. Andrews was formerly bounded.”


National Archives, UK:

            (Sometime after 1707,) Robert Dews corresponded with Revd. Doctor Johnson, in Charles Town, Carolina on 30 June --, promising support. 


            A Brief History of St. Phillips Church:

                1707:       Gideon Johnston was sent from England as first Commissary to St. Phillips Church.

                1710:       St. Phillips Church was badly damaged by a hurricane.  A new brick building was authorized

                                for the Church (second site.)

                1713:       The second St. Phillips Church was nearly destroyed by a hurricane during its reconstruction.

                Apr. 1716:  Commissary Johnston was drowned in Charleston Harbor.  Indian wars delayed the



On January 21, 1718, Bethel Dews, the first known son of Robert Dews, & Mary Baker, Dews was christened at St. Andrews, Dorchester, Carolina.  Obviously from the bequests of his grandfather who died before June of 1717, Bethel Dews was born prior to that earlier date.

In 1707 Puritan dissenters from Dorchester, Mass., built a wooden churchouse in St. Andrews Parish,

SC, on land formerly belonging to Robert Dew’s older sister Mary, and her husband John Smith of

Barbados.  It was formerly called “Boo Shoo” plantation, and was rife with malaria in the surrounding

lowlands.  When John Smith perished of Yellow Fever, the property could not be sold, and reverted to

the Proprieters who granted it to the Puritans.  After the first wooden church burned, a new church was

built of brick and white plaster called the Old White Church.  Robert Dews may have been the builder.


                        South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, p. 18:

                        “Anno 1718/19 Christenings of Rev. Mr. Wm. Guy, Rector of the St. Andrews Parish

Church: Bethel, son of Robert and Mary Dews, baptized Jan. 21st 17 18/19.”


Dorchester Parish along the Ashley River, being named for Dorchester,

Massachusetts, was settled January 26, 1696 by a group of New Englanders.

Dorchester Parish was established by the Proprietary Government that was

 instituted by King Charles II in 1665.

The Church of St. Andrews, and Anglican Parish of St. Andrews, was

ordered by the Anglican Church in 1707.  The upper part of St. Andrews

(Anglican Parish,) was the lower part of Dorchester (Proprietary

Parish/County.  An Anglican offspring was St. George’s Parish, Dorchester Dec. 11, 1717)

The overlapping and duplicitous Parishes/Counties are confusing. 


In 1717, after the birth of Bethel Dews, this youngster’s grandfather William Baker died at the age of sixty two, & was buried in St. George’s Parish, Dorchester, South Carolina. 

Court Documents in 1743 show that Bethel’s Dew’s grandfather William Baker left him a legacy of lots # 135 and #136 in Charleston, South Carolina, land granted to said grandfather about 70 years ago (1673.)  It is said that William Baker had been born in about 1654, (in a place that later became St. George’s Parish, Dorchester, SC?) and he died in Charleston, SC in 1718.  His wife was Susannah Rowsham, daughter of Wm. Rowsham & Jordan Probst Susannah Was still living in 1725.

Note that this specified birthplace given for Wm. Baker is unlikely, at that particular time.  The first (South) Carolina settlers sailed in the Albemarle, the Port Royal, and the Carolina from England in 1669.  They were struck by a hurricane near Barbados where the Albemarle was destroyed, and both other ships were damaged.  It was in April of 1670 that the first settlers arrived aboard the Carolina, and another Sloop from Barbados.  They established the first settlement up the Ashley River at Albemarle Point.  Today this area is Charles Town Landing, a state park.  It is said that most of the original settlers were poor people from England and Barbados enticed by the offer of land for ½ cent per annum rent, but that within a year, wealthy Barbadian sugar planters and their slaves arrived in Charles Town to escape the constant threat of slave revolt, hurricanes, and disease epidemics in the Caribbean.  My guess is that William Baker arrived in South Carolina with his parents Richard Baker & Elizabeth Wilson in 1681, being from England, & then Barbados.  Also, we must note that from 1683 until 1707, only three counties existed in SC, Berkley, Colleton, and Craven.  Parishes were formed from the Church Act of 1707.  There were some earlier “residents” of the Ashley River area before the first fleet brought colonial settlers, other than native Indians.  Captain Robert Sanford brought many of the settlers from Cape Fear to Ashley River during his 1666 exploration at the orders of Governor Yeamans of Barbados.  On June 23, 1666 Sanford took formal possession of Carolina for England and the Lords Proprietors.  No earlier settlement is known.


Richard Baker, Esqr., had a Warrant out of the Secretary’s Office dated the 23rd day of November 1694, signed by the Honorable Joseph Blake, Esqr., Landgrave & Governor of Carolina for fowre hundred and Twenty acres of land, on account of arrival rights, being for the arrivall of six persons (Viz) Edward; William; Richard; Jane; Hannah; & Eliza. Baker, all which said persons were imported into the province of Carolina, on the proper Cost & Charge of the said Richard Baker.  Recorded in the Secretary’s Office, the said Baker is to signe the Counterpart of ye Indented Deed within 90 days after the said Land is admeasured else the said Land is free to be run out Surveyed and Granted to any other person use whatsoever.  -  To Stephen Bull, Surveyor.  Apparently they arrived in Carolina from Barbados before 1681.


Richard Baker, Esqr., [bef. 1634 -  (died before July 14th 1698) on July 24, 1698, Will proved] and his wife Elizabeth Wilson came to South Carolina from Barbados, and in 1681 he got a grant (from King Charles II) of 297 acres on the Ashley River April 1, 1683.  He died in Berkley County, Carolina before July 14th 1698.  Abstract of his Will:


“Wife:                    Elizabeth, Executrix

Sons:                       Edward – “this house, & plantation, & other lands.  Ed died and left it to William.”



Daughter:              Elizabeth – cattle numbered, with those my son Richard (dec’d) left her.”

Sons-in-law:          John Palmer

                                Wm. Cantey

Witnesses:             Wm. Cantey

                                James Hulbert

                                Wm. Baker

                                & Edward Baker.

Proved:  July 24th 1898”


“On July 14th 1698 Governor Blake directed Elizabeth Baker to administrate the estate of Richard Baker, deceased.” [SCHM]


His widow, Mrs. Elizabeth Wilson, Baker was mentioned in The Death Notices of the South Carolina Gazette , p 8, on April 17th 1734:


“On Tuesday the 13th Instant died near Ashley River in the 104th year of her age Mrs. Elizabeth Baker.  Her maiden name was Elizabeth Wilson.  She was born in Wiltshire in a town called Shruton on the 18th of August 1630.  She lived in England for 27 years, in Barbados for 23 years, and in Carolina for 54 years.  She had 12 children, two of them being alive yet, 25 grandchildren, & 43 great grandchildren, and the same day she died one of her great-great grandchildren, the spouse of Col. Palmer, was delivered of a child.”

                Elizabeth Wilson, Baker left England for Barbados in 1657, where she lived 23 years.

Elizabeth Wilson, Baker left Barbados for Carolina in 1680 where she lived the next 54 years.


The issue of Richard Baker & Elizabeth Wilson:


                Edward Baker,

He inherited 7 Slaves: Great Jack, wife, & 4 children; Tom, wife, and son.  He also inherited his fathers house & plantation, and other lands.  When he died he left his father’s plantation & estate lands to brother William Baker.


William Baker [1654, England - 1718, Archdale Hall, Ashley River] lived 23 years in Barbados.

                He married, probably in Carolina, to Susannah Rowsham,

                He inherited 4 slaves: Peggy, Andrew, Little Abraham, & Little Frank.


Richard Baker, (Jr.) [?, England -  bef. Jan. 28th 1697/8, Charleston, SC]   He perished before his father.  Said to have married Sarah Archdale. She, of course, was not the same Sarah Archdale that married Richard Baker on December 17th 1618 at Bishopgate, London.  They were his grandparents.


John Baker [   -  Aug. 1736, Charles Town, Carolina] An eminent Merchant, co-partner with Paul Jenys, Esq.  Spouse: name unknown.  [   -  Aug. 24, 1734]

                He inherited 6 Slaves: Mingo, Anabell and 3 children, Cuddeye.


                Elizabeth Baker,

                She married Bebe.

                She Inherited 8 slaves; Will, wife and 5 children, Bek.


                Hannah Baker,

She married John Palmer who arrived in the Province of Carolina on the Royal Jamaican in April 1692, a ship otherwise known as the “Privateer.” She Inherited 7 slaves: Hector, wife & dau., Jammey, Old Robin, Moriah, Old Betty


[Col. John Palmer, a veteran of the Yamessee War, 1715, and the Spanish conflict in Georgia, died in ca. 1739.  His daughter Hannah Palmer married Andrew DeVeaux, and they are found dwelling near Savannah, in Georgia.]


                & Jane Baker,

She married Capt. William Cantey [Aug. 19th 1657, Cork, Ireland -  ca. 1716, Dorchester, Carolina] a son of Tiege Cantey, & wife Elizabeth who came to Ashley River, Carolina from Barbados.

                She inherited slaves: Frank & 2 children, Flower, & children.


There were five other children who were not mentioned in the Will of Richard Baker, Sr., probably deceased.


William Baker had a Warrant for 500 acres of land in Combee Island, dated September 4th, 1707.

(Came from Barbados in 1681?)


William Baker [1654, England, arrived in Barbados at age 3, arrived in Carolina at age 26, and after his brother Edward perished he built a multi-story Gregorian mansion on the Ashley River (called Archdale Hall) near where his fathers house burned.   He perished in ca. 1718, Berkley, SC.]  He was a member of the Grand Provincial Council of Carolina.  William Baker of Dorchester, Carolina was named on a list of men who went to sea On Oct. 3, 1690 under the command of Capt. John Withington.  Of about 75 men who departed, 48 were lost at sea.  William Baker was a lucky survivor.  “On June 15th 1693 William Baker, and Francis Norrimore, both mariners, for 150 Pounds sold to Richard Abram, mariner, and master of the ship he was buying the “Elizabeth,” now called the “Bristoll,” lying in the Ashley River before Charles Town.”[SCHM]   William Baker married in Charles Town in 1693 to Susannah Rowsham, daughter of William Rowsham, Sr. & Jordan Probst.  His father Richard Baker opposed this marriage.  He inherited his father's estate land from his deceased brother Edward, and in 1710 he built the multistory Georgian home Archdale Hall that his own son Richard later inherited after his death in 1718.  William Barker served on the Grand Council.  His widow Susannah Baker was counted on the 1825 census of St. George’s Parish, Berkley Carolina.  They issued at least four children:


1.             Elizabeth Baker,

married Capt. Edmund Bellinger [   - d, Mar. 5th 1739], 2nd Landgrave, a son of the 1st Landgrave, Edmund Bellinger [1658, Westmorland, Eng. – 1706, Charles Town, SC,] & Elizabeth Cartwright. 


2.             Richard Baker [ca. 1703, Carolina –  July 16th 1752, Will proved Dec. 1st 1752, Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley, Carolina,]  He was shot and killed by Joseph Butler (in a duel?).

He married 1st on Dec. 19th 1723 to Mary Bohun [bef. 1710 Carolina – ca. 1736, Carolina,]

2nd on July 25th 1738 to Mary Quarterman,

& 3rd last married to Sarah Fowler.

Abstract of Richard Baker, Jr.’s Will made May 20th 1752:

                “Relict:                    Sarah, alias Fowler – one room in my house on Ashley River.

                1st wife, dec’d:        Mary, alias Bohun

                Sons:                       William, eldest, deceased. [b. Dec. 2nd 1726 – bef. 1752, SC]

                                                Richard, under 21 years – plantation on Ashley River where I now live,

                                                Land at Jack Savannah, all my right & title to land belonging to

                                                My brother Josiah, deceased.

Daus:                      Margaret, Ann, Rebecca, & Esther, all under 21, half my land on Cooper River in St. James Parish, Goose Creek.

Grandsons:             Richard Pendarvis, George Logan, -  one half  land on Cooper River in St. James Parish, Goose Creek.

                Granddaughers:     Mary Pendarvis,

                                                Mary Cater, both under 21 years.

                Mentions:                                William Webb of Asepoo, Colleton County,

                                                Nicholas Bohun, deceased

                To:                           Richard Bedon

                                                Peter May

                                                Thomas Buline, Sr.

                                                Charles Baker

                                                William Maine

                                                John Buline, son of Thomas

                                                John Norman (He married Mary Welsh in Bermuda.)

                                                Josiah Pendarvis

                                                Elihu Baker

                                                James Baker

                                                & Thomas Cater.

In Trust 250 Pounds for perpetual fund for support of the Gospel Ministry among that Christian congregation of people meeting together to worship God on the northeast side of the Ashley River who by profession are Antepedo Baptist… Mr. Straighter.


Executors:               Henry Middleton, Esq.

                                                William Maine

Witnesses:               John Stephens

                                                Elihu Baker

                                                James Baker”


3.             Josiah Baker, deceased before his father’s Will made in 1752.


4.             Mary Baker, [ca.1700, SC -  ca. 1721, St. Phillips, SC],

                married Robert Dewes  ca. 1717 in Charles Town, SC.


Capt. Richard Baker, Jr. born in Carolina, inherited Archdale Hall, from his father William Baker who built it anew in 1710 after his grandfather’s old residence burned.  It was named after his great grandmother Sarah Archdale, who his great grandfather Richard Baker married on Dec. 17, 1618 in St. Helens, Bishopgate, London.  He owned a large rice & indigo plantation on the north bank of the Ashley River, south of Dorchester.  He was a rice planter, and owned his own twin mast river schooner, and pier on the river called Baker's Warf." He owned lots in Dorchester, one with a house and kitchen, and a rice warehouse.  He perished in Charleston, SC in ca. 1752.


Bethel Dews (age 5) had become orphaned in ca. 1722, and later his uncle Richard Baker sold lot #136 to Daniel Cartwright, of Ashley Ferry, and Cartwright re-surveyed it, and sold half with a house to John Moore by 1736.  Eliza Moore, widow of John Moore claimed she had lived in this house on this property that her husband had acquired for 1000 Pound, for the last nine years when Bethel Dews filed suit to reclaim his legacy, as he had just become 21 years of age.


In ca. 1720, a Robert Dews was identified on an early SC Jury List (probably in Berkley County, Carolina.)


Statutes at Large for South Carolina, pp 236-237:

“May 2nd 1720, Deed for all that plantation or land called Dorchester (145 acres) in Berkley County, executed in due form of law by Thomas Graves of Berkley County, in the Province of South Carolina, unto:

                                                Alexander Skene

                                                Walter Izard, Esqrs.

                                                Thomas Waring

                                                John Cantley

                                                Robert Dews”


Alexander Skene, Esq., served on Jury Duty five times during 1720 in Dorchester, St George Parish of Berkley County, Carolina, whereas, in this same place, Robert Dews, and Robert Miller, Senr., served once that year.


The Statutes at Large for South Carolina, p 150:


1721:  “…Mr. Thomas Smith, and Mr. Robert Dews are appointed as Inquirers for the north side of the Ashley River, charged with accounting in writing all the inhabitants of the Parish, lands and slaves, Negroes, Indians, musteos, mulatoes, from the age of 7 to 60, and administering the oath by January next. “  They were compensated 10 Pounds to act as Inquirers.


In ca. 1721, William Dews, the second known son of Robert Dews & Mary Baker was born probably in St. Andrews Parish, Carolina. 


The Statutes at Large for South Carolina, p. 52:

                On September 15th 1721,     Mr. Robert Dews

                                                                Mr. Thomas Waring

                                                                Mr. Edward Ardin

                                                                Mr. William Wallace

                                                                And Col. Joseph Blake

Were appointed Commissioners of roads, bridges and ferries for that part of St. George’s Parish that lies on the north side of the Ashley River. 


Mary Baker, Dews wife of Robert Dews, died shortly after the birth of her son

William DewsMary was deceased at the time her husband made his Will in 1722.


The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, page 58:

                On June 23rd 1722, the Honorable Commissioners:

                                                                Alexander Skeene, Esquire

                                                                Colonel Joseph Blake

                                                                Mr. Thomas Waring

                                                                Mr. William Wallace

                                                                Mr. Robert Dews

                                                                And Mr. Edward Arden

… relating to the aforesaid bridge and road from Dorchester Town to the south side of the Ashley River. 


On August 27, 1722, Robert Dews, at age 35 was ill, and made his Will in Charles Town, Carolina [South Carolina Wills, Vol. I, (1722-1724), page 4, and Will Book (1600-1740) page 78:


            The LW&T of Robert Dews gives:

                        Sons:   Bethel Dews, (500+500 +300 acres) &

William Dews (500+500 acres). Both sons were bequeathed 500 acres of land each on the north side of the Santee River, & 500 acres of land each near Mr. Percivial’s plantation Called “Ponds” (This refers to Col. Andrew Percival who was granted land called “the Ponds” in 1682.  This land was where Colonel George Chicken of the Goose Creek militia inflicted a massive defeat upon the Yamasse Indians in 1715.)  Each son received 11 slaves from Robert’s estate, and two additional slaves were to be sold to pay Robert Dews debts.  It appears that Bethel Dews sold his land located on the north side of the Santee River, inherited from his father, sometime before 1755.


                His Will mentions “eldest son, Bethel Dews (age 5) also to have an

additional 300 acres of land near Point Royal, Beaufort, Carolina, and a lot of land I bought from Mr. Amory.

            [To Bethel Dews, eleven slaves:      












My “youngest son, William Dews (age 3) to have two lots near &

without the walls of Charles City.

            [to William Dews, Eleven slaves:












            The Will also designates Madam Hague to be consulted about the

            education of the sons of Robert Dews when they are six years of

            age.   [Madam Lelia “ Selia” Skene, Haige (Haig) (Hague) was the

widow of Obediah Haig, and a daughter of John Skene, and

his wife Hellena Fullerton.  It appears thatby blood she was a 5th cousin, to Robert Dews.]  She was also a sister-in-law of Robert Dews by the marriage of her brother Alexander Skene & Jemima Dews, Kenny.


Executors:       Arthur Middleton, Esq.,   [spouse: 1.Sarah Amory; 2. (1723) Sarah Ayers, d/o Thomas Ayers & Mary Haig.]

Edward Smith, (came from Barbados to Charleston in 1678 on the  “Susannah”)

                                    Madam Hague, (Guardian of Bethel & William Dews)


Witnesses:       Jos. Barry, Jr., By 1735 removed up the Black River to Williamsburg, SC.

                                    Elizabeth Dennis, Jr.

                                    Elizabeth Barry


This Will was proved on October 18, 1722, indicating that Robert Dews was deceased before this date.


One of Robert Dew’s older sisters Jemima Dews perhaps married Scotsman Rev. John

Kenney, Rector of Christ Church Parish, Barbados.


Sir Robert Dutton, a native of Chester, left the study of law at the age of 17 for service in the Army.  He served as a Royalist Officer throughout the Civil War; and was twice imprisoned in the Tower of London.  He became an Officer in the Duke of York Guards, and was Knighted by Charles II, and was twice thanked by the King for his vigorous administration of the Colony of Barbados, after being appointed Governor of Barbados on Oct. 22nd 1680.  But he eventually made enemies, and returned from Barbados in 1683.  As soon as Governor Dutton arrived in Barbados he appointed as his “surrogate” John Kenney, Rector of Christ Church Parish, a man trained in civil law.


Barbadian Wills and Administrations 1664-1748, p 154:

The LW&T of Rev. John Kenny, made in Barbados, was proved on Aug. 16th 1687.  One

of the five Witnesses to his Will was John Barry.


The LW&T of Henry Harding, Gentleman, of Barbados, dated Aug. 1st, 1687:

[RB6/40, p. 476]  An abstract follows:

Bequests to:           My son Henry Harding, at 21, my wife Isabella Harding, & friend Capt. Edward Claywood (sic?,) appointed guardians of my son.


                                Kinsman: Thomas Odiorne.

Sister: Carolyn Barry, and her son & daughter George Barry, & Mary Barry.

                                Doctor: John Kenny.

                                Thomas Knight.

Executors:              Wife Isabella, and Capt. Edward Claypoole (sic?.)

Witnesses:             Mary Knight

                                John Barry

                                Charles Fenton

                                John Birkett

                                John Gaseley.

Proved:                  Aug. 16th 1687


Note that Robert Dew’s sister Jemima Dews, Kenny, Skene and her last husband Alexander Skene issued only one son that still survived in 1739.  This son John Skene was a minor child when his uncle Robert Dews perished in 1722, thus no Executor from her line was mentioned in Robert Dew’s Will. 


The Huguenots of South Carolina, page 309: 

"Mr. James Douglas is Master of the Public School at Charleston...Mr. Joseph Barry is his Usher..."  (ca. 1714)  


Journal of the House of Commons of South Carolina, p. 37, c. 1731:

“The Petition of Joseph Berry praying to be paid arrears due him as Writing Master was received and referred to Committee of Petition.”


Statutes at Large of South Carolina, p. 336:

“1731: …Joseph Barry – 124 Pounds.”


In 1733 in Charles Town, Carolina Joseph Barry donated money to support of the new Georgia Colony, among a host of donors that were mostly Scotsmen of Charles Town.


By 1735 Joseph Barry is found having land in Williamsburg, SC, along with George Hunter, William Lowry, Peter Hume, and other Scotch Quakers, where Barry received a Grant of 500 acres.

[Most of the Williamsburg, SC land was soon settled by Scots who had been previously enticed by James, I , to settle in a destroyed and vacated region of Northern Ireland, but after relocating there, and making improvements to the land, in time they became disillusioned by the imposition of a heavy Royal Tax.]


Collections of South Carolina, p. 301:

Papers in the State Papers Office, London

“Deposition of Joseph Berry, Gentleman, May 25th 1738, as to his knowledge of the handwriting of Col. Moore.”


Members of the Scot Barry family were Highlanders who came to Barbados from the Tayside Region of northeast Scotland, today known as the Council area of Angus, formerly Forfar, or Forfarshire where they held territories from very ancient times.  They were interrelated with the Scotch side of the Dew family.  The Berry family descended from the de Berri family that came from Normandy during the Hastings invasion of England.  They lived in Wales, Ireland, & Scotland.


The Executors were relations of Robert Dews, and the Witnesses were relations of Mary Baker, n accordance with the legal directives  (precedents) required in the making of a Will.


When Robert Dews perished, he was buried at St. Phillip’s cemetery in Charles Town on Sept. 2nd 1722, next to his previously deceased wife Mary.  [Register of the St. Phillips Parish, Charleston, South Carolina.]

His two young orphan boys, Bethel (age 5,) and William (age 3,) and their estates, came under the Guardianship of their aunt by marriage, being also a distant cousin, Lilias Skene, Haig, widow of Obadiah Haig.  They were likely mentored, raised, and employed by her husband’s Scot kinsman, George Haig, and by his employer George Hunter, who were Carolina Surveyors, and Indian Traders, both fairly young men who at the time were also both unmarried.


1722/23:         SCHGM p. 23:

                        St. Andrews Parish, marriages:

                        Mary Ayre married Samuel Fairead on Mar. 3rd 1722/23, - Rev Mr.



The Middleton family was of Bermuda, and Barbados while elements of the

Barry, and Leslie families were of Barbados in 1679.  Members of the Sotch House of Leslie came to Barbados from Aberdeenshire, or Rosshire, Scotland.  In ancient times the Barrys were Highlanders from Forfarshire, Scotland, now Angus.


Lelia “Selia” Skene, Hague, widow of Obadiah Hague, was born

April 2, 1673 in Scotland, and came to Jersey from Aberdeen, Scotland with her parents John Skene & Hellena Fullerton, Skene with most of the children. They arrived in October 1682 in New Jersey on The Golden Lion when she was nine years of age.  They were Quakers, and they settled on a plantation that he named “Peachfield” near Burlington, NJ.  Their father had been formerly imprisoned for Quakerism in Scotland, being conditionally released on Feb. 9, 1677.  His persecution, and conditions of his release required their removal to America.  Her father, John Skene was appointed Deputy Governor of West New Jersey from 1685 until the time of his death before1690.  His Will was probated August 19, 1690, and he left all his estate to Helena for her to divide among the children.  His Will refers to seven heirs, including his wife, and six children wherein he mentioned Alexander Skeen and five other children.”  Of these heirs, Lilia, Katherine, and Christian were the three daughters making four known children, and now it appears that one of the remaining two sons was the John Skene also found dwelling in Barbados, but this speculation has not been proved.  After the death of the elder John Skene, his widow Helena and several children moved to Philadelphia, PA., but her son Alexander, and daughter Lelia returned to the established Quaker church in Jersey afterwards.  Alexander (20 years of age,) and Lelia Skeen (17 years of age) remained living together in New Jersey.  Four years later, Alexander Skene was appointed Secretary to the Governor of Barbados.  He and his sister Lelia departed to Barbados after1694 where he served in this Office until about 1715. 


On April 28, 1696 Alexander Skene, Secretary of Barbados, proved before the Governor of Barbados, the Last Will and Testament of Thomas Peche, late of New Jersey.  [Documents relating to the Colonial Histrory of the State of New Jersey, Vol. 1; Vol. 23, pp 357-358]  So far, this is the first record I find for Alexander Skene that was made in Barbados.


On January 26, 1698, Alexander Skeen married a widow, Mrs. Jemima Kenny, whom the records imply was actually nee Jemima Dews, a sister of Robert Dews

It appears that her father was Capt. Thomas Dew a son of the Virginia Colonel, and her mother was Mary McKenzie, a daughter of George McKenzie, and his wife Mary Skene.  George McKenzie was a son of George McKenzie, 2nd Earl of Seaforth.


The Honorable Ralph Gray, brother of the Earl of Tinkerfield, was appointed Governor of Barbados and arrived at the Island on July 26th 1698.


During Gray’s Administration, Alexander Skene received H. M. King William III’s Letters of Patent granting Alexander special previlages including a Secretary of his own.  Governor Gray considered this an innovation because all former Governors appointed their own Secretary, and received a percentage of the Fees charged by the Secretary that Skene, having a Royal appointment, now refused to share with the Governor.  Rebuked, the Govenor set out to unseat Skene.  He didn’t like the preferential treatment that Skene received from the Crown, that he was a Scot, or that he was Quaker.  First, Barbadian Officials tried to get rid of Skene by claiming he was not a Subject of England, as a new English Act required.


Calendar of Records in the Office of the Secretary of State 1614-1703, p. 162  & New Jersey Colonial Documents, page 162:

Alexander Skene served as Secretary of Barbados for a period covering about 1695 through 1715. 

However in 1698, a (new) Royal Patent was issued to Alexander Skene to take the influential post of Secretary of the Island of Barbados “provided he could prove his qualifications (as a subject of England,) it being objected that he is not a native born subject of England, Ireland, or the plantations.” 


America and the West Indies, February 1700, 26-29, British History Online:

“Feb. 28th 1700, Barbados:

p. 163: “Governor Gray to the Council of Trade and Barbados.  Mr. Alexander Skene, having obtained H. M. Patent for Secretary of the Island, presented it to me in Council, Jan. 16th. It being

objected that he was born in Scotland. In the end it was plainly proved that without infringing upon the laws, and breaking the Acts of Trade, we could not dispense with him to Act.  Signed: R. Gray. Endorsed, Recorded April 29th, Reat April 30, 1 page Addressed and Sealed.  Enclosed.”


“Certificate that the following papers dealing with the case of Mr. Skene are correct copies.  Signed:

R. Gray, Ed. Beddingfield, Sect. 1page.”


“Copy of minutes of Council of Barbados, Jan. 16th Feb. 27th 1700.  2 pp.”


“Copy of a Summons to George Payne, George McKenzie, Enoch Gretton, and Capt. Benjamin Holt, to give evidence as to the birthplace of Alexander Skene.  1 ¼ pp.”


“Copy of summons to Mrs. Ellinor Skene (Hellena Skene) for same purpose.  1 ½ pp.”


“Copy of summons to Mr. Alexander Skene to give evidence as to his qualifications to act as Secretary.  ½ p.”


“Copies of evidence of Enoch Gretton, G. Payne, G. McKenzie, and B. Holt that Skene was born in Scotland.” 


“Deposition of E. Chilton, and Richard Turner, H. M. Attorney and Solicitor General, as to the refusal of Alexander Skene, and Mrs. Skene, his mother, to give evidence as to his birthplace.” [Board of Trade, 8, Nos. 45, 45i-x, and (without enclosures), 45, pp 50, 51.]


Alexander Skene’s reappointment to the post of Secretary of Barbados was contested until on May 13th 1700 when the Court in Hampton, New Jersey decreed that all Scotsmen were subjects of Britain. Alexander Skene was therefore reinstated as Secretary of the Island of Barbados.


Scotland, the Caribbean, and the Atlantic World 1750-1820, p. 2:

“In 1701 George McKenzie petitioned the Barbados Council for payment for several Scotch Servants he “brought to the Island.” 


Parish Records of Barbados:

Jemima Dews, Kenny, Skene, (relict of Rev. John Kenny, now remarried to Alexander Skene,) was baptized in St. Michaels Parish, Barbados on March 3rd, 1703.


            Alexander & Jemima’s children:                       

1.     Jane Skene, baptized August 17th 1700, St. James Parish, Barbados, WI.

3.        Lila Skene, baptized  March 7th 1701, St. Michaels Parish, Barbados, WI., born March 3rd last.

4.        John Skene, mentioned in Alexander’s Will b. ca. 1709, Barbados, WI.


Children of Alexander’s probable brother John Skene, Jr., & his wife Ann Bowler:


1.        John Skene, baptized Nov 8th 1695, St. James Parish, Barbados, WI.

2.        Mary Skene, baptized Dec. 26th 1696 St. James Parish, Barbados, WI.

3.        Elizabeth Skene, (b. 1706) baptized Sept. 28th, 1722, ditto, aged 16 yr.

4.        Edward Skene, (b. 1710) baptized Sept. 28th 17, 22, ditto, aged 12 yr.

5.        (unreadable) Skene, baptized Dec. 24th 1714, St. James Par., Barbados, WI.


The 1715 census of St. Phillips Parish, Barbados :

John Skeene, age 54, born about 1661.

Mrs Elizabeth Skeene, age 44, born about 1671.

Mary Skeene, spinster, age 19, born about 1696.

Sarah Skeene, spinster, age 17, born about 1698.

Elizabeth Skeene, age 11, born about 1704.

Edward Skeene, age 6, born about 1709.


Note that there appears a John Skene in Barbados, husband of Ann Bowler, during this period along with Alexander, considered likely his brother, and John was the father of the second Skene family of Barbados given above:

Baptismal Records in Barbados:

                                Nov. 8th 1695:         John, son of John Skene, and Ann Bowler.

                                Dec. 26th 1696:        Mary, daughter of John, and Eliza Skene.

                                Dec. 24th 1722:        (unreadable) son of John Skene.

                                Sept. 28th 1722:       Edward, aged 12 years, 

                                                                And Elizabeth, aged 16 years, children of John Skene.


                                April 6th 1777:        Amelia, & Charlotte, muloto daughters of John Skeene.

                                                                I do not yet know how he connects.


In the spring of 1701 Lelia Skene was married to Obadiah Haig (Hague) [Sept. 1st 1673, London – June 1st 1701, Barbados, WI.]  They were married in London where she met him for purpose of the betrothal.   Obadiah was a New York City Merchant that she knew as a friend from Jersey, and they eventually married after a long courtship.  But her husband soon died of distemper contacted on during the voyage from Scotland to New Jersey where he lived.  He apparently became ill after they arrived in Barbados and he perished on June 1st 1701 in St. James Parish, Barbados after a four-day illness of distemper.  There is no doubt that a portion of his estate descended to his widow Lilia Skene, Haig

Obadiah’s uncle Anthony Haig had been persecuted in Scotland for Quakerism, and this same kind of persecution forced his father William Haig to bring his own family from London to New Jersey.  Obadiah’s father was one of the Lords Proprietors appointed Deputy Governor of East Jersey.  Both father and son became merchants of New York Citty.


Alexander Skene originally received a Royal Patent appointing him as Secretary of the Island of Barbados with specific privileges in 1694.  He and his spinster sister Lilia Skene removed from Burlington, NJ to Barbados.

Alexander assumed his Official post at Barbados before 1696.


In 1698, after he married Jemima, Alexander Skene received a new Royal Patent for his Office that expanded his privalages, and evidently the Skenes had special favor with the Monarch.  This placed him at odds with the old guard of Barbadian officials that did not like his preferential treatment by the Crown, and especially that he was a Scot Quaker.


The 1706 Barbados Council recommended that Mr. Skene be replaced in his Office.


Journal Book K, October 1706, British History Online:

“Barbados – Mr. Skene’s answer to complaints against him.

Mr. Tryon, Agent for Mr. Alexander Skene, Secretary of Barbados, presented to their

Lordships an answer from the said Skene to the several complaints exhiited against him

[Folio 318], which was read, and their lordships resolved to take the same into futher consideration at their next meeting [Folio 385].  October 3rd, Present: Mr. Cecil, Sir Philip Meadows, Mr. Pollexfen, Mr. Prior.”


Mr. Skene’s answer to complaints against him considered.

Their Lordships took into consideration Mr. Skene’s amswer to the complaints against him

[Folio 380, 388], with the several papers relating thereto, and made a progress therein.  Oct. 22nd .  Present: Mr. Cecil, Mr. Philip Meadows, Mr. Blathwayt, Mr. Pollexfen, Mr. Prior.”


On April 18th [during or after 1707] The Calendar of State Papers or Great Britian, Item 467 of that date:

Council of Trade & Plantations to the Queen:  Governor Crowe’s treatment of Alexander Skene is an encroachment of H. M. Patent, etc, set out, A. P. C. II, No. 1052, q. v.”


Upon being reproached by the Crown, Governor Gray resigned his authority as Governor of Barbados in September 1707 into the hands of William Sharpe, President of the Barbados Council.


Colonial Office Records; Board of Trade, Barbados, No., 16:


Document dated Jan. 24th 1708/9, Barbados, testimony to the good character of Mr. Skeen, Secretary of the Island of Barbados, who was known personally, or by reputation to those whose signatures were appended, and who all had estates of effects in that island.  Among those who signed were

                William Tyron

                Rowland Tyron

                & Richard Steele

Skeen had been tried by jury in 1704 for several alleged misdemeanors, but was acquitted.



Annual Report of the American Historical Society, Vol. 1, pp 361-368:


p. 360    July 8th 1708: Complaints of A. Skene of the Island of Barbados.

                [C. O. 29, 11, pp 272-280; A. P. C. Col., II, par. 1074; VI Par. 205]


p. 361    Feb. 18th 1709: Petition of Mr. Skene, Secretary of Barbados.

                [C. O. 29, 11, pp 305-409, 444-447 (Apr. 18th) ; A. P. C. Col., II, par. 1082;

                VI, par. 216]


p. 361    Mar. 24th 1709: Petition of George Gordon, Provost Marshal of Barbados,

                Complaining of Acts of Assembly.  [C. O. 29, 11, pp 428-434, 458-459 (June

                3rd); A. P. C. Col., II par. 1093]


p. 263    Nov. 20th 1712:  Dispute between Governor Lowther, and Secretary

Skene of Barbados.  [C. O. 29, 12 pp 444-449; A. P. C. Col., II par. 1164]


                                America and the West Indies, February 1711, 12-20, British History Online:

                                “Feb. 17th 1711, St. James, Barbados, p. 659.

                                H. M. Warrant Granting Alexander Skeen, Secretary of Barbados, Leave of Absense for the

recovery of his health, he appointing a Deputy, approved by the Governor (countersigned),

Dartmouth.”  [C. O. 324, 32, pp 54, 55]


“Oct. 28th 1711, p. 146

Copy of Order in Council Feb. 27th 1709 (C. P. S. 1707, 9, No. 482) restoring Alexander

Skene to the Office of Secretary of Barbados, etc. (v. C. S.P.  Oct. 25th ,  Nov. 15th, etc.) etc.,

endorsed, Recorded Oct. 28th, Read Nov. 15th 1711.”  [C. O. 28, 13 No. 68; and 29, 12, pp 374,



Alexander Skene with his family, and his sister the widow Lilia Haig, and her family were all persuaded by Proprietor John Colleton to remove to Carolina sometime after March 1st 1715.  This is known because Alexander Skene was Secretary of Barbados from the beginning of the tenure of Barbados Governor Mitford Crowe [1707 – 1710] until sometime afterwards before he removed to Carolina.  Alexander Skene found himself in conflict with Gov. Crowe because Skene was authorized a Personal Secretary for his Office, and his personal business use.  This made Crowe jealous.  But Alexander Skene had Letters of Patent from the Crown that described his rights and privileges within his office. 


An older man named Haig apparently explored and traded in the up country of Carolina in the 1680’s, and fathered some Cherokee children Mary Haig, & Charity Haig by a woman of KeoweeIt is noted that this man could have been Frederick Haig who left Scotland for the West Indies, where it is said that he perished.  Frederick Haig was Obadiah’s great uncle.


On April 8th 1717, Alexander Skene was granted Lot # 9 in Point Royal, Beaufort, SC.  His sister Mrs. Lilly Hage was granted a nearby Lot #35 on the same date. [SCHM] 


                        A Digest of the Early Connecticut Probate Records, Vol. 2, p. 395:

                                “Barbados, (date missing,)  By the Honorable William Sharpe, Esq., President of

His Majesty’s Council, and Commander in Chief of this, and other His Majestie’s

Carribbee Islands to winward of Guadaloupe, &c. 


To all to whom these Presents shall come greeting:  Know ye that on the day of the

date hereof (missing) before me personally came Alexander Skene, Esq., His

Majestie’s Secretary of this Island, and upon his solomn Oath, taken on the Holy

Evangelists of Almighty God, did testify and declare that the copy hereunto

annexed of the Last Will and Testament of William Hampton, deceased, bearing

date the 4th Instant, with the probate thereof, is a true and exact copy, and was by

this deponant compared and examined with the record thereof remaining in the

Secretary’s Office of this Island.  In Testimony I have hereunto sett my hand and

caused his Majestie’s Great Seal appointed for this and other His Majestie’s

Carribbee Islands, to be hereunto appended.  Given at Pilgram on the 16th of

April, 1715, the first year of His Majesty’s Reign.


                                                                Signed:  William Sharpe

By his honor’s command

Alexa. Skene

Entered: April 16th 1715”


It appears that on this same day, Alexander Skene, and his sister Lilias Haig, and

others, sailed for Charles Town, Carolina.


SCHGM Vol., 10-11, page 85:

                                “He (Alexander Skene) had originally come (to Carolina) from Barbados, and

was a member of the Council with Samuel Wragg in 1717.”


On 17 June, 1718, Alexander Skene and Jemima his wife conveyed to Francis Yonge 750 acres on Ashley River.  This appears to be land previously granted to Alexander Skene as enticement to come to Carolina.


            Collection of the South Carolina Historical Society, p. 456:

“Ashley River Barony, or St. Giles (the old Kussoe Indian Settlement hence called ‘Cussoe’ or ‘Cussoe House.’) 12,000 acres on the south side of the head of the Ashley River from the second creek above ‘Middleton Place’ to ‘Bacons Ridge’ and west to Edisto, granted March 18th 1674 to Lord Shaftsbury, and by his grandson Lord Ashley conveyed July 20th 1698 to his brother Hon. Maurice Ashley, and by him August 2nd 1717 to Samuel Wragg, Esq., who April 6th 1720 sold to Alexander Skene, Esq., 3,000 acres. [Deed Book D. p. 317]


It is important to try to determine who was the unidentified male dwelling in the 1725 census of St. George’s Parish household of Lilia Skene, Haig in Berkley, Carolina.  This man might have been influential in the early lives of her Wards, the orphans of Robert Dews.  I have supposed that George Hunter, said to be b. 1799 of Ayrshire, possibly a relative of Lilia, might be this man dwelling in the widow’s Lilia Haig’s household in St. George’s Parish, Berkley, SC in 1725.  He was about 26 years of age, perhaps unmarried.  George Hunter was a Professional Surveyor, and a Trader in Carolina before 1730 and was distantly related to Samuel Hunter & Katherine Skene who married in West Jersey in 1696.  I find no later Jersey records regarding Samuel Hunter after 1703.  The following West Jersey Deed proves that Samuel Hunter’s father was William Hunter who it seems, also came from Scotland to West Jersey before 1687 where he perished before 1693.


                                                1693 April 4. Salem, West Jersey Deeds, No., 6, page 613:

William HICKSON of Burlington Co., W. J., yeoman, to Samuel Hunter, son and heir of Wm.

Hunter dec’d, for his half of the 500 acres granted to said Hickson and Wm Hunter jointly by John



But Surveyor George Hunter’s parents have been determined to be the Rev. John Hunter, and first wife Elizabeth Skrivine, of Ayrshire, Scotland where his father was one of two ministers there for his lifetime.  George Hunter was born in 1699 in Ayr, and already trained as a professional Surveyor (at Glasgow?) when he first arrived in Charles Town.  He may have come to live as a man, aged 26 years, unmarried, with his kinswoman Lilia Haig.  No one named Hunter was named in her 1742 Will.  The Will of George Hunter now suggests that he was a son of John Hunter of Ayr, Scotland, now proved, but according to generalizations made in Scot genealogies, was also probably related in some measure to Samuel Hunter of West Jersey.


In 1735-7 a George Hunter was counted among the settlers of Williamsburg, Carolina along with Joseph Barry, William Lowry, and Peter Hume among many other religious non-conformists (Quakers.)  Note that a Joseph Barry was one of the Witnesses to Will of Robert Dews.  Also note that Mary Lowery (Lawrie) Haig was probably related to George Hunter, and it is known that the Humes were among their relations.  But any specific relationship between Lilia and George Hunter is yet unproved.


Also on Sept. 11th 1744, mortgages belonging to Hugh Swinton, Planter, and Samuel Hunter, Clerk, both of Craven County, Pee Dee River, Queensboro Township, Charleston were sold to George Seaman, merchant of Charles Town, Carolina.  Of the mortgages for nine plantations held by Swinton, the names of persons involved included James Abercromby, John Skene, and Alexander Skene among 11 others.

Samuel Hunter held, and sold the mortgages for 21 associated slaves.


On May 7th 1728 John Skene, age 21, married in St. Phillips Parish to Hannah Palmer.  They issued a son Alexander Skene named heir in the Wills of his great aunt Lilias Haig (Will 1742,) and of his grandfather Alexander Skene (Will 1739.)  He was under the age of 21 on both Wills.


Miscalaneous Records of Charleston County, SC, Vol. 76 A:

“Letters of Guardianship to John Palmer Granted to Alexander Skeene, Esqr., &c.  -  South Carolina. 


By the Honorable Arthur Middleton, Esqr.,

President, and Commander in Chief, in and

over his majesties Provinces of South Carolina,

and Ordinary of the same.


                                                To all to whom these presents shall come greetings, whereas John Palmer,

an infant has a considerable interest devised to him by the Will of his Grand Mother,

Isabell Palmer, and whereas the said Isabell Palmer hath by her said Will nominated,

constituted, and appointed the Honerable Alexander Skeene, Esqr., and John Skene,

Esqr., to be Executors of her Will, and Guardians of the body, and estate of the said John

Palmer, Therefore, for the better securing the estate and for the more careful maintenance,

and education of the said infant out of the confidence I repose in the wisdom and

integrity of you the said Alexander Skeene , and John Skeene I do hereby commit the

Tuition Education, and Guardianship of the said John Palmer unto you the said

Alexander Skeene, and John Skeene according to her desire hereby charging you that

you do maintain the said infant in meat, drink, washing, lodging, schooling, cloathing, and

such good education as may be fitting and convenient according to the circumstances and

interest of the said infant during his minority, and you the said Alexander Skeene, and

John Skeene do inquire into and take charge of the estate of the said infant both real and

personal, and do all other things as Guardians by law ought to do, or as such may or can

do, and a true and faithful account thereof and of what estate of the said John Palmer shall

come to you, or another of your hands you are to render when you or either of you shall

be thereunto required by me or by such Guardian, or Guardians as shall be chosen by the

said infant when he shall attain the age of One and Twenty years ______.


                                                                Given under my hand and Seal this Three and

Twentith Day of July in the second year of his

majesty’s reign anno Domini 1728.


Ar: Middleton

                                23rd July 1728

                                Recorded per Char: Hart, Secty.”


1743:  John Skene [1707, Berkley, SC – ca. 1770, St. George’s Parish, SC,] a son of Alexander Skene and wife Jemima, inherited Lot #35 at Point Royal, Beaufort, SC from his deceased aunt Mrs. Lilia Haig, deceased, by her 1742 Will.  It was a Lot that she was granted Aug. 8th 1717. [SCHM]


John Skene served on Grand Jury twice during 1831 in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, Carolina.


John Skene, Esq., of St. Georges Parish, inherited, owned and resided upon a plantation of 3,000 acres in St. Georges Parish on the south side of the Ashley River, and just opposite the town of Dorchester.  This plantation was part of the original 12,000 acre Barony of the Earl of ShaftsburyJohn Skene inherited this plantation from his father Alexander Skene who called it “New Skene.”


John Skene, during 1737, served once on Grand Jury, and once on Petit Jury in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, Carolina.


                        The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, p. 161:

                                “Hannah (Palmer) wife of John Skene, Esq., buried May 10th 1737.”


John Skene, Esq., served once on Grand Jury, and once on Petit Jury during 1740 in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, Carolina.


John Skene, in 1744, served once on Grand Jury, and once on Petit Jury in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, South Carolina.


On March 1st 1747 John Skene was granted Lot # 36 in Point Royal, Beaufort, SC. 


On the 9th & 10th of March 1747, Skene to Purry, lots in Beaufort, mentions 1717 grant by Hon. Col. Robert Daniel, and other trustees.  [Deed Book D]


On August 3rd 1748 George Hunter was granted Lot # 325 in Point Royal, Beaufort, SC.


John Skene, in 1751, served once on Grand Jury, and once on Petit Jury in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, South Carolina.


John Skene, in 1757, served once on Grand Jury, and once on Petit Jury in Dorchester, St. Georges Parish, Berkley County, South Carolina.


On June 11th 1760 the Commons House of Assembly for SC heard the following item #528:  “John Skene for two geldings lost at Kewohee, neither attested, nor appraised, not allowed.” [Col. John Skene served in the Cherokee War.]


The LW&T of Col. John Skene was filed on June 1st 1768 in St. Georges Parish, SC, and proved on June 7th 1768 before Hon. William Bull.  [Will Book 1768 – 1771, p. 235.]  His first wife Hannah Palmer, Skene previously perished, and John was last married to Judith Wragg.  She may have been a daughter of William Wragg [ca. 1714, SC – 1777, drowned at sea,] by his first wife Mary Wood [ca. 1716 – ca. 1767.]  No sons or daughters were mentioned in the Will of John Skene.   But by tradition the surviving children of his first marriage would have had their estates settled when he married a second time, and would not have been included in his final Will.  There may not have been any children surviving at the time of his death.  An Abstract of his LW&T follows:


“…to my dearly beloved friend Mrs. Mary Wragg my pen in Dorchester Church.


…to wife Judith Wragg my Gold Watch, and Seal with my dear mother’s Coat of Arms vizt: a buck’s head, the Motto: ‘Lucio Sed no Uro.’  (It was Jemima Dewe, Kenny, Skene’s family ring, that came to her from her mother, Mary of the Seaforth McKenzie Clan.)


…to the Commissioners of the Fortifications all my great guns for the use of the Magazine and said Fort at Dorchester reserving to the Officers for the time being of the St. George Troup the liberty of using them on any publick day, especially His Majestie’s Birthday, and the 23rd of April.


…to my dear friend Dr. Alexander Frothingham, my brass barrel gun, and pistols…


…to my good and worthy friend John Cattell, of Wampee, a mourning ring.


…to my most worthy and dear friend William Wragg, all my real and personal estate (with one exception)…


…my 1000 acres of land at the PeeDee was given some years ago to my Godson William Blaymyer


It is my desire that the ring for my dear Mrs Wragg be buried with me.


Executor:              William Wragg


Witnesses:           Joseph Strabek

                                John Walton, Junr.

                                Jacob Waltur”


(On the last day of) May of 1768 Col. John Skene perished at his plantation in St. Georges Parish. [SCHM, records kept by Col. Isaac Hayue.]

His Will was apparently composed on the day he died, which was the last day of the month.  His Will was filed on the first day of June 1768, and proved on the 7th day of June.


The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine

“Judith Wragg, aged 71 years, died Dec. 16th 1769.” (born circa 1698)


George Hunter of Charles Town perished in 1755. His Will was made in Aug. 27th 1745, & proved on July 18th 1755.  He was born in circa 1799 in Ayr, Scotland, a lawful son of Rev. John Hunter, minister of Ayr, and Elizabeth Skirvine his first spouse. George Hunter died on July 10th 1755 in Charleston, SC, aged about 56.  Abstract:

George Hunter, Charles Town, Gent.

Sisters:                  Elizabeth Dunlop [married 1735, Argyll, to William Dunlop]

                                Margaret McDermet, residue of estate.

Half-brother:       David Hunter

Mentions:             Hon. William Bull

                                James Kinloch

                                Charles Pinckney

                                Joseph Blake

                                John Cleland [    -  Jan. 2nd 1760], Justice, & member General Assy.

                                William Middleton, Esq.

Thomas Dale [1800 – Sept. 14th 1750] He was a prof. of Physic, Leyden (1724/5,) a Judge of Supreme Court in 1734, & Trader.

                                John Dart, a Charles Town Merchant who married 1st Hannah Livingson,

widow, 2nd Mary Smith, 3rd Mary Hext, widow

                                William Pinckney

                                Jordan Roche, Esqs. A father, and his only son, justices

                                Capt. Thomas Cooper

                                Mr. Benjamin Stead a Charles Town Merchant married Mary Johnson.

To:                          Jeremiah Theus, Artist, pictures except one done for myself which I give to Col. Pinckney.

To:                          Mrs. Sarah Barksdale “my old landlady.”

                                Dr. John Moultrie’s sons.

Exor:                      William Woodrope

Witnesses:           John Oyston

                                Isaac Barksdale Indian Trader, partner of John Rae.

                                John Rae Indian Trader


It appears that George Hunter did not marry a white woman in the colonial settlements since there is no mention of a wife or direct descendant heirs in his Will.  If he had any daughters by an Indian woman during his trade activities, they were probably already dead of smallpox before he made his Will.  Proof of any said Indian concubine and offspring is implicit alone, not yet found in documents.


The Scots Magazine, p. 460:

“Death of George Hunter, Esq., Surveyor General of South Carolina, occurred on

July 10th 1755 in Charleston.”


[IGI]  A marriage on Nov. 5th 1735, Argyle, Argyleshire, Scotland between

bride Elizabeth Hunter, (a daughter of John Hunter,) and groom William Dunlop.  This marriage is confirmed below.  Elizabeth Dunlop was mentioned as a sister in the 1755 Will of George Hunter in SC.


The following publications report that she, and thus George Hunter, was the issue of Rev. John Hunter [b. c. 1670, (Liberton?) – d. Feb. 12th 1756,] one of the ministers of Ayr, and that he outlived his son George Hunter by about a year.


History of the Counties of Ayr, and Wigton, page 150:

William Dunlop of Macnairston- Greenane, married Jean Murdoch, a daughter of Francis Murdoch, merchant in Ayr.  By his fourth wife, Elizabeth Hunter, a daughter of the Rev. Mr. Hunter, one of the two ministers of Ayr…”


Parliamentary Papers, p. 476:

“…May 1711…Rev. John Hunter, and Mr. Fullerton, then ministers of Ayr…”


Fasit Ecclesiea Scoticanae:  The Succession of Ministers in the Church of Scotland:

John Hunter, born about 1670.

Licensed by the Presbyters of Ayr Sept. 11th 1695.

Ordered to 2nd Charge Feb. 6th 1696.

Rev. John Hunter, minister of Ayr, married 1st on Jan. 7th 1698 in Glasgow, Lanark, Sc., to Elizabeth Skirvine, daughter of George Skirvine, master of the Grammar School, Glasgow, and had issue:

                George Hunter, born c. 1799 – died 1755, Charleston, SC.

                Helen Hunter, born c. 1700

                Robert Hunter, born c. 1701


Transported and Administrated Feb. 19th 1701.

Rev. John Hunter, minister of Ayr, married 2nd on Oct. 15th 1723 to Elizabeth Ramsay Dalrymple, Jordan, widow of William Jordan, land surveyor.  She was a sister of Mr. James Dalrymple.


                David Hunter

                William Hunter

                Elizabeth Hunter married 1735 to William Dunlop of Macnairston-


                                                Margaret Hunter married McDermet.

                                                Marion Hunter

                                                Susannah Hunter, [b. c. 1722 – d. 1809] who married her father’s

successor, Rev. Wm. Dalrymple.


                                In the General Assembly of 1727 during the case of professor (John) Simpson of                                       Glasgow, he said, “If one should call his Majesty King George a rogue and a                                    villain…,” whereupon the Commissioner James, Earl of Findlater, and Seafield,                                     rose and stopped him, when he immediately asked pardon, and acknowledged                                    himself in the wrong, but the Assembly caused him to be rebuked from the chair.


                                                Introduction to the History of Christianity, p. 450:

                                                “John Simpson, professor of Divinity in Glasgow, was accused of teaching heretical wiews

                                                about the person of Christ similar to those voiced in England by the Deists.”


                                                Douglas Register. p. 354:  “John Simpson, professor of Divinity, Glasgow, died Jan. 1740.”


                                                Testament dative of Robert & Andrew Fowlis:

                                                “To Jean Sterling, relict of the deceast Mr. John Simpson Profesor of Divinity in the

University of Glasgow, then being in life and failing her by decease to James, Ann,

Elizabeth, and Jean Simpson’s children lawful of the said deceased Mr. John Simpson

payable at the term of Whitsunday next…”


                                Rev. John Hunter, minister of Ayr, married 3rd on Nov, 28th 1751 to Agnes

Campbell, one of the 28 children of Mungo Campbell, Provost of Ayr.


                                                History of the Counties of Ayr and Wigton, p. 503:

                                                “…Mungo Campbell, Provost of Ayr…married Agnes Rankin, one of the heirs

Portitioners of Bankhead.” [She was one of his wives.]


                                John Hunter died the Father of the Church on Feb. 12th 1756.”


Analecta Scotica, p. 188:

Mr. John Hunter was minister of the Gospel at Ayr.  He died the 12th of Feb. 1756, aged 86, the oldest at the time in the Church of Scotland.  He was author of a dramatic poem The Wanderer, and the Traveler, Glasgow 1733.  It was dedicated to Susannah, the Countess of Elgintoun.  He also wrote “Spiritual Pleadings” (among other dramatic writings.)”


The Book of Robert Burns, pp 169-170:

Elizabeth Ramsay, a sister of Mr. James Dalrymple, married first William Jordan, land surveyor.  She next became the second of the three wives of John Hunter, one of the ministers of Ayr, who baptized the Poet Robert Burns.” [It was probably through Elizabeth’s acquaintances with local Surveyors that George Hunter became an Apprentice, and learned his profession.]


Pp 173-174:

Rev. William Dalrymple, a Colleague of Rev. John Hunter, actually performed the Baptism of Poet, Robert Burns, lawful son of Wm. Burns of Alloway, and Agnes Brown, his spouse.  The Poet was born on Jan. 25th 1759, three years after the death of Rev. John Hunter, minister of Ayr.  Dr. Dalrymple died Jan. 28th 1814, aged 91 in the 68th year of his ministry at Ayr.  He married Susannah Hunter, daughter of his Colleague, Mr. John HunterSusannah died Nov. 28th 1809, aged 83.”


The Scottish Antiquary; or Northern Notes, p. 84:

Anne Cunningham, daughter of William Cunningham of Broomhill, married first to John Hunter of Ayr, by whom she had two sons.  Anne married again on April 3rd 1760 to Robert Hamilton of Bourticeehill, Esq. (Her husband) Robert Hamilton, by an earlier wife, Jean Mitchell, heiress, widow of Major Garth, …”


Records mentioned herein resolves a sister-in-law relationship between Robert Dews and Madam Lelia Hague that made her, by marriage of Alexander Skene & Jemima Dews, an aunt-in-law of Bethel & William Dews, explaining why she was appointed overseer and guardian of these orphans that were counted in her 1725 household in St. George’s Parish, Berkley, Carolina.  She was uniquely qualified, and suited for this purpose.  Both the Guardian and Wards benefited from her appointment.  Although she was only related distantly as blood kin (a 4th cousin to Robert Dews,) because of her appointment as the guardian of his children she was legally required to be included as an Executrix of Robert’s 1722 Will.


It is of some interest that Alexander Skene’s son John mentions in his Will, a gold watch, and seal (Signet Ring) with his mother’s coat of arms, displaying a buck’s head with the motto “Luceo non Uro” deducing that she descended from the Mackenzies of Seaforth, Scotland.  Note that all of Jemima’s children but John Skene were apparently deceased at the time.  There is concern that this may have been the seal and coat of arms of Jemima’s first husband, (John?) Kenny; however, the Kenny clan was only a Sept or a Cadet line of the McKenzies of Seaforth, and I believe that clan law forbade them to bear the Arms, and signet of the McKenzies.  So in abidance by the traditional law of Scottish clans this family heirloom must have descended from Jemima Dew’s mother who could possess it but not bear it after her marriage.  She is believed to have been a direct descendant of the McKenzies of Seaforth.  This same reasoning forbade the Skenes from bearing such signets, and Arms for legal purpose.  This argument has some merit but is not conclusive, and could be found in error.  By his LW&T John Skene left these family clan heirlooms to his second wife Judith Wragg.


Clan MacKenzie

                         “LUCEO NON URO”

                            I shine, not burn


[From The History of the MacKenzies, by Alexander MacKenzie.]


(Celtic Line)













Gilleoin of the Ard [c. 850- c. 880.]

          He married 1st Kadlin, daughter of Gangerolf Landnamabok.

                  He married 2nd to Richilde, daughter of Robert Le Fort.


                                Clan Aurias              |                                               |Clan MacKenzie, of Kadlin

                                                Crinan                                   Cristin

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Kenneth                                 Kenneth

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Ewen                                       Murdock

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Crinan                                   Duncan

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Kenneth                                 Murdoch, m: Finguala

                                                                |                               daughter of Malcom MacLeod, III

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Paul                                        Duncan

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Martin                                    Murdoch

                                                                |                                               |

                                                Gillanrias                                              Gilleion Mor Nahair’de

                 __________________________|                                          |

Earls of Ross            |               Rosses                      |                                               |

                |                                               |                                               |

“The Priest” An Sagart        Paul                                        Gilleion Qy

                |                                               |                                               |

Ferquhard, I, (d. 1251)          Murdoch                                 Kenneth, m: Lady Elizabeth Stewart

“Mac An Sagart”                                   |                               daughter of John, Earl of Athole

                |                                               |                                               |

William, II, (d. 1274)                            Ewen                                                       |

He m: Joan                                             |                               Aneus Crom         

                |                                               |                                               |

William, II, (d. 1323)                            Tire                                                         |

                |                                               |                               Kenneth (d. 1304)

Austin Hugh, IV, (d. 1333)                     |                                               |

He m: Matilda, d/o Robert Bruce          |                               Ian Kenneth MacKenneth

                |                                               |                                               |

William , V                                            |                               Murdoch MacKenneth [1338-1350]

He m: Isobel                             Paul Mac Tire (grant 1372)   He received a Charter of lands in

                |                               He m: Mary Graham.            Kintail from David II in 1344.  He m:

                |                               Charter to lands of Gairloch     Fionaghal, a daughter of Torquil

                |                               in 1366.                                   MacLeod of Lewis, & wife Dorthea

                |                                               |                               daughter of the Earl of Ross.

                |                                                                                               |

Eupheria, VI, (d. 1398)                                                          Black Murdoch Kenneth Mor She

She m: Sir Walter Leslie                                                      MacKenzie of the cave (d. 1375)

                |                                                                               Chief of Clan [1350-1375]

Alexander Leslie                                                                  He m: Isabel MacCaulay.

He married Margaret MacDonald                                                          |

                |                                                                                        &nb