Thomas J. Ingham


Transcribed by Sylvia Hughson
February 2003
Photos from the original text unless otherwise indicated.

Thank you note from Mrs. D. A. Litzelswope of Dushore
to Mrs. Howder of Philadelphia, PA
Back of Postcard Dated November 14, 1911
Posted on eBay March 2004




















††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† †††††††††††




Little Loyalsock........................................................................................................................27

Formation of the County..................................................................................................5



Free Schools...............................................................................................................................30

Early Settlements.............................................................................................................5†††††††††††††

Organization of Townships.........................................................................................................30

First Residents.................................................................................................................6††††††††††††

How the County Was Formed.....................................................................................................32

Our County Lines.............................................................................................................7†††††††

Location of the County Seat........................................................................................................33

Primeval Forest.................................................................................................................7

First Election................................................................................................................................34

The Land Laws................................................................................................................8†††

The First Court.............................................................................................................................34

The Wallis Land................................................................................................................8†††††

The First Newspaper...................................................................................................................37

Priestley Lands.................................................................................................................8†† †††††††††††††††

County Officers Census of 1850 --- New Court House..............................................................37

The Genesee Road..........................................................................................................11††††††††

The Second Newspaper..............................................................................................................38

At the Forks.....................................................................................................................11†††††††††††††

First Judicial Election....................................................................................................................38

Friends' Meeting House...................................................................................................13†††††††††††††

The Mails in 1851..........................................................................................................................38

Conditional Settlers..........................................................................................................13††††

Dushore Again..............................................................................................................................39

For Settlement..................................................................................................................13


At the Forks......................................................................................................................16†††††††††††

The First Murder............................................................................................................................42

Shrewsbury Settlement....................................................................................................17


Davidson Settlement.........................................................................................................21

The War.........................................................................................................................................43†††††††††††


P. E. Armstrong Petition..................................................................................................................49

Elklick Settlement...............................................................................................................22




The Turnpike......................................................................................................................24




First School-house in Cherry Township.............................................................................27 ††††††††††††

County Officers.............................................................................................................................54











††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† †† †††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† A††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††

Albert, Peter................................................................................140

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† B†††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††

Bahr, William D...............................................................................228

Battin, Joshua..............................................................................138

Battin, Milton................................................................................103

Behr, Frederick A.........................................................................124

Biddle, Charlotte...........................................................................236

Bird, Oliver H................................................................................156

Brenchley, James L......................................................................133

Brown, Peter..................................................................................74

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† C

Campbell, Ambrose E......................................................................67

Campbell, George L.........................................................................82

Campbell, John C...........................................................................132

Castle, Henry J..............................................................................227

Chilson, Manning...........................................................................147

Christian, Justin L..........................................................................154

Cole, Samuel..................................................................................229

Connor, James J............................................................................107

Cooper, Judson D..........................................................................126

Cox, Amos.....................................................................................188

Cox, John B...................................................................................193

Croll, Charles M..............................................................................127

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† D

Deegan, George T..........................................................................164

Deegan, Jeremiah...........................................................................160

Deegan, J. Leonard.........................................................................165

Dieffenbach, Daniel E......................................................................197

Dunham, Edwin M............................................................................146

Dyer, Albert L..................................................................................154

Dyer, John C.....................................................................................98

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† E

Enright, J. A.....................................................................................232

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† F

Farrell, Ambrose E...........................................................................219

Fitzgerald, Thomas J........................................................................139

Forrest, George E............................................................................114

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† G

Gahan, Thomas W...........................................................................141

Gainer, James S..............................................................................209

Gallagher, Francis W.......................................................................175

Gavitt, Morgan..................................................................................186

Gorgg, James P................................................................................222

Gunther, Henry H.............................................................................145

Guy, Robert H..................................................................................106

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† H

Hayman, George W.........................................................................226

Hecker, Charles A...........................................................................221

Heinze, Christian.............................................................................100

Helsman, Joseph A.........................................................................113

Hembury, John................................................................................123

Herrmann, Martin E..........................................................................204

Hieber, Emanuel G...........................................................................230

Hill, Elgeroy W..................................................................................177

Hope, Christopher............................................................................102

Huffmaster, Henry G........................................................................127

Hufford, George H............................................................................151

Hunsinger, C. R.................................................................................170

Hunsinger, Port W.............................................................................225

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† I

Ingham, Thomas J...............................................................................63

Ireland, Joseph M..............................................................................115

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† J

Jackson, Charles E...........................................................................130

Jackson, George C.............................................................................70

Jackson, George D.............................................................................69

Jackson, Jefferson T........................................................................194

Jackson, Samuel...............................................................................231

Jennings, Bishop W............................................................................72

Jennings, Cortez H..............................................................................71

Jennings, William L..............................................................................73

Jennings, William N..............................................................................71

Johnson, William................................................................................113

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† K

Keller, H. J.........................................................................................118

Kellogg, Herbert M.............................................................................121

Kester, Samuel....................................................................................93

Kilmer, Francis L................................................................................196

Kilmer, John P. & Son.........................................................................195

Klingler, John W.................................................................................184

Kraus, Conrad...................................................................................180

Kraus, William H.................................................................................238

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† L

Landback, G. S..................................................................................119

Lawrence, William J...........................................................................185

Leonard, William H..............................................................................220

Lepsch, J. H........................................................................................101

Line, John S........................................................................................110

Litzelman, John...................................................................................189

Long, Hiram.........................................................................................135

Luck, J. W...........................................................................................155

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† M

Martin, Lewis......................................................................................235

Mason, William A.................................................................................210

McCartney, William J...........................................................................105

McDonald, George..............................................................................117

McFarlane, James...............................................................................187

McGee, Enos.......................................................................................121

McGee, John P......................................................................................90

McGee, Robert....................................................................................204

McHenry, John S.................................................................................170

McHenry, Rush J.................................................................................169

McKibbins, Henry W............................................................................178

McLeod, John E...................................................................................167

Meyer Frank........................................................................................120

Moss, John C.......................................................................................117

Mullen, Edward J.................................................................................144

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† N

Newell, Fred........................................................................................203

Noll, Elias S..........................................................................................176

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† O

Obert, Henry.......................................................................................168

Oliver, Royal H....................................................................................234

Osler, Hiram W....................................................................................104

Osthaus, Francis W............................................................................134

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† P

Parrish, Warren M...............................................................................226

Pealer, Charles E.................................................................................123

Pealer, D. W.........................................................................................224

Pomeroy, F. B........................................................................................94

Porter, Charles N.................................................................................129

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† R

Randall, William F...................................................................................99

Reeser, John D......................................................................................96

Reinbold, Henry....................................................................................159

Rettenbury, John V................................................................................95

Rice, Frank G........................................................................................150

Ritchlen, Henry.......................................................................................73

Roberts, John........................................................................................129

Rogers, Jonathan....................................................................................65

Rose, F. E..............................................................................................223

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† S

Schaad, Frank F....................................................................................110

Schaad, John........................................................................................108

Schaad, John C.....................................................................................109

Schaad, William J...................................................................................109

Schantz, Tilghman D..............................................................................149

Schoch, Anthony (Adam)......................................................................149

Schoch, Anthony...................................................................................148

Schoonover, Daniel................................................................................106

Scouten, Royal.......................................................................................120

Sick, Charles S.......................................................................................206

Sick, Joseph...........................................................................................215

Stephenson, Benjamin C.........................................................................131

Streby, George *.......................................................................................174

Suber, Jacob J........................................................................................142

Swank, Ellis..............................................................................................92

Swarts, M. DeWitt.....................................................................................91

Sweeney, Owen....................................................................................205

Sylvara, Benjamin M................................................................................152

Sylvara, Edwin G....................................................................................153

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† T

Taylor, Joseph S.....................................................................................200

Thayer, J. H.............................................................................................179

Thomson, Rush J.......................................................................................93

Thrasher, Ransom...................................................................................136

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† U

Utz, John M..............................................................................................197

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† V

Vincent, Fred P........................................................................................158

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† W

Walsh, Alphonsus....................................................................................190

Waltman, Frank U......................................................................................237

Weisbrod, Conrad.....................................................................................216

Weisbrod, Edward J.................................................................................217

Weisbrod, John.........................................................................................218

Wiley, Lyman...............................................................................................97

Wing, Charles L.........................................................................................166

Woodward, N. K..........................................................................................66

Wright, Theodore.......................................................................................178

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Y

Yonkin, George W.......................................................................................81

Yonkin, John................................................................................................88

Yonkin, William H..........................................................................................80

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Z

Zaner, Adam H.............................................................................................78

Zaner, Lewis B.............................................................................................79

* George Streby was also the author of the other, possibly more famous, account of local affairs: . The Streby History of Sullivan County.















††††††††††† This is a history of about two-thirds of the first century of the settlements and improvements in what is now Sullivan county.I have not attempted a narrative of events within the memory of the present generation, but some recent events have been naturally drawn into the narrative.

††††††††††† Those who read this history will feel that the conclusion has not been rounded up, but left with jagged ends.This seems unavoidable, for events which make history are constantly transpiring, and the historian can only stop at the most convenient point.

††††††††††† When I first passed through Sullivan county, in 1850, the most of it was a primeval forest; but old settlements, like islands in a sea of woods, were scattered through it:Around the Forks, and in Elkland, Fox and Hillsgrove were old farms, free from stumps, with stone fences and old buildings.In Shrewsbury, separated by miles of dense woods from the Forks, was a settlement which seemed to have been finished forty years before.A thread of small farms along Muncy creek and some old farms along North Mountain and at Elk Lick constituted Davidson; while far away from these settlements, and separated from them by lonely wildernesses, was the township of Cherry.The new county seat, Laporte, was a mere stumpy clearing, with a few small buildings, surrounded by miles of dark woods.

††††††††††† The peculiarities of these old settlements excited my curiosity and led me to inquire from the older settlers what brought them into such a wilderness at such an early day.I made memorandums of information thus received.After I had accumulated considerable information of this kind, I published in the Press and Standard a series of articles relating to each township, which attracted some attention and brought criticisms, corrections and new facts.

††††††††††† In 1876 I condensed the most striking facts in relation to the history of the county into an address which I delivered at Laporte on the Fourth of July.I did not publish this, because I felt that it was incomplete and I desired to add more to it.In 1894 I delivered a historical address at the Forksville fair, in which I used the material of my former address with additions and corrections.This I declined to have published for reasons already expressed.An address on the Molyneux, Bird and Warren families, which had been prepared with great research by George M. Pardoe, Esq., was read at the same fair and published in newspaper and pamphlet form.About this time Mr. William Meylert was employed by the state librarian to write a series of articles on the history of Sullivan county, and I placed my two addresses and all of my manuscripts at his disposal.He made such use of them as he desired, and made extensive researches of his own, which he combined in a number of articles published in a Harrisburg newspaper, and which I believe are preserved in the state library in scrap-book form.Mr. Meylert has preserved them in the same form, and has given me free use of his scrap-book, for which I here tender him my thanks.I also tender thanks to Mr. Pardoe for the copy of his address which he furnished to me and which I have used freely.I am indebted to Ulysses Bird, Esq., for facts collected by him and published in a newspaper several years ago, and also for his kindness in loaning me the docket of Edward A. Eldred, Esq., and other old and valuable manuscripts.

††††††††††† I cannot begin to name all of the persons who from time to time have given me information in personal interviews and by letters; and to name a part would seem invidious.Many of them are deceased; to those living I tender my thanks.I have not made use of nearly all of the information collected, because the publishers did not desire a lengthy history, but I have used that which seems most interesting.I am indebted to my brother, J. W. Ingham, of Sugar Run, for his assistance in collating the material and in writing the history.Without his efficient aid I could not have completed the work at the present time.Having given just credit to so many others about the only credit I can claim for myself is perseverance in collecting and preserving facts.This I may call a labor of love, for it has been done without any compensation.When I came into this county, nearly fifty years ago, I was treated with the greatest of kindness by the people then living, and from time to time as occasion has offered, I have experienced many favors from the rapidly increasing population, which I fully appreciate.My heartiest wish now is that the people who continue to inhabit these picturesque uplands and delightful valleys may be prosperous and happy.


††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† THOS. J. INGHAM.


††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††





††††††††††† Sullivan County is in that part of Pennsylvania purchased from the Indians in 1768, and also in the territory claimed by Connecticut.It was formed from Lycoming county by act of March 15, 1847; and Lycoming county was formed from Northumberland county by act of April 13, 1796.Many of the original surveys of lands now in Sullivan county were returned to the land office as in the county of Northumberland.




††††††††††† The county of Sullivan is situated midway between the north and west branches of the Susquehanna river.Its waters empty into these branches at widely divergent points.The Mehoopany creek and a branch of the Towanda creek take their rise near together and empty into the North Branch about forty miles apart.One branch of the Loyalsock rises very near the head-waters of the Mehoopany and Towanda creeks and running in an opposite direction empties into the West Branch near Williamsport.The head-waters of Muncy creek and of Fishing creek are but a few miles apart, yet one empties into the West Branch at Muncy, the other into the North Branch near Bloomsburg.Pleasant stream, which rises in Fox township, takes its way into Lycoming creek, which empties above Williamsport.The streams which rise on the northern line of our county go north into the Towanda creek.Sullivan county may therefore be called the "Highlands" of northern Pennsylvania; and yet with high mountain ridges running through it, nature has left valleys for railroads, some of which have been constructed and others in contemplation.




††††††††††† One of the earliest settlements of the West Branch above Northumberland was made at the mouth of Muncy creek in 1768, by Connecticut settlers from Wyoming Valley, but their settlement was entirely broken up by Colonel Plunkett, under orders of John Penn, governor of Pennsylvania, and the settlers imprisoned, or driven off.Their improvements were immediately occupied by Pennsylvania claimants, who lived there until 1778, when they were attacked by a band of Indians, and, being panic-stricken, fled, leaving the Indians in possession of the whole valley.The war with the Indians lasted about six years, the settlers in the valley suffering all the hardships and cruelties of an Indian warfare.We can easily imagine that no hardy, adventurous settlers undertook to begin settlements within the present boundaries of Sullivan county while this Indian war was going on.The Indian war-paths from the North Branch of the Susquehanna led through this county, and in the fastnesses of this region the savages retired after committing their depredations on the West Branch, and no doubt caught big trout from the waters of the Loyalsock, and killed game on the banks of that beautiful stream.When the first settlers came they found an Indian meadow on the flats above the forks of the Loyalsock.




So far as is now known, the first white resident within the boundaries of what now constitutes Sullivan county, was Daniel Ogden, who settled at Hill's Grove considerably more than one hundred years ago, --- probably in 1786, --- on land at present owned by Richard Biddle.He made a clearing, built a house and a small gristmill on the waters of Mill creek. He sold his property to John Hill (for whom the township was named) and moved away about the year 1794.It is said that Ogden, like many other American pioneers in the wilderness, did not care for society, disliked near neighbors, and when the Englishmen began to move in around him, determined to leave the place.It is also said that, having had a son killed in the Revolutionary war with Great Britain, he had acquired an unreasonable hatred against all Englishmen.There was a rumor that he was a Tory, but the evidence is against it, and the rumor was, no doubt, started by a personal enemy.

††††††††††† James Ecroyd went to Hillsgrove before Ogden left the place, and improved the land which was afterward owned and occupied by Jonathan Lewis.He afterward went to Elkland and built a mill on Mill creed, afterward called King's creek.The following incident is related in a publication of Mr. Gernerd, of Muncy:"On Saturday, the 30th of January, 1796, James Ecroyd set out to hunt, and lost himself in the woods.The whole neighborhood drove the woods every day, yet he was not found until the following Friday.He had wandered eight miles from the nearest house, although he had been twice within a quarter of a mile of Hillsgrove.In crossing a run by means of a pine log he had slipped in the water and wet his lower extremities, and subsequent exposure to the frost, on one of the sharpest nights in winter, resulted in the loss of most of his toes.The dog-bark disclosed his whereabouts, and he was found by an expiring fire in a very exhausted condition."

††††††††††† About 1787 a man named Griffith Griffey settled on land since well known as the farm of Judge Speaker.He built a log hut back near the mountain side, on a rise of ground about thirty feet high, as he said, to be out of the way of high water.He planted a small orchard, and lived there about ten years.He was a "squatter," as no survey of the lands thereabouts had yet been made.He was living there one or two years before John Hill settled at Hillsgrove.After Griffey left the place, Charles Edwards lived there two years and made a little clearing.Thomas Wallis lived there a short time.Richard White made the greatest improvement in the way of clearing, and built a small frame house and log barn.His only title was a clearing lease for a term of years.He died about 1833, but his widow remained on the place until about 1841, when John A. Speaker moved there.His farm was called "Sidney," because the James Campbell tract was patented in the name of Sidney, in 1797.

††††††††† John Hill settled on what is now Hillsgrove about 1789, and took up all the flat land along the north side of the Loyalsock creek for two miles up and down it, and half a mile back from the creek on the mountains.This land was surveyed and patented about 1794.Hill died in 1839 and was buried in the cemetery near by, where several strangers had already been buried before any of the original settlers had died, the first one having been M. Charles Bui Boulogne, a Frenchman, agent of the French colony at Asylum, who was drowned in attempting to ford the Loyalsock at Hillsgrove, July 20, 1796.

††††††††††† After John Hill's death, his son, John C. Hill, the uncle of John Sadler **, had charge of the farm until his death, when John J. Sadler and W. J. Eldred were appointed administrators.Mrs. David Rogers, a daughter of John Hill, Sr., became the owner of the farm where John H. Rogers now resides, extending almost up to the mouth of Elk creek.Mrs. Joseph Sadler, mother of John J. Sadler, became the owner of the second farm above Hillsgrove.Mrs. Martha Craven, by will, became owner of property where the Tannery Company now own and have their buildings.John C. Hill acquired the property now owned by Richard Biddle.
** Editor's Note: You can learn more about the history of the Sadler family and its appearance in this area in Aunt Eliza's Scrapbook. John Hill, the founder of Hillsgrove, was married to Mary Robb, daughter of Robert and Susanna Robb of Muncy, PA in 1796. Thereafter, the Hill, Robb, Sadler and Craven families were all related by marriage. You can find out more about the Robb family at Descendants of John Robb.

††††††††††† Nearly ten miles farther up the Loyalsock a man known as Captain Brown built a cabin on land now occupied by Isaac Rogers, below the Forks.He was an Indian fighter in the wars on the west branch, and did not like clearing land.He lived by hunting and fishing, always standing ready to furnish venison or bear's meat on a half day's notice.He was probably the first dealer in fresh meat in this county.A man named Miller lived on the opposite side of the creek from Captain Brown's cabin.A man named Strong came from Cherry Valley, in "York State," and built a cabin on the bench of land where Millview now stands, close by the mountain brook which starts from a spring on George C. Bird's land, and is still known as "Strong's Run."He had been led to believe that it was only twelve miles down the Loyalsock to its junction with the west branch of the Susquehanna, but when he had made the trip to the river and ascertained that instead of twelve miles, the distance was at least forty, he returned to Cherry Valley.Strong and Ogden were old acquaintances, but there were no roads from Ogden's to Strong's and when Mrs. Ogden visited Mrs. Strong she was taken up the creek in a canoe.The settlers named above came without concert with each other, or backing, and were in the county previous to 1794.




††††††††††† Before the year 1796 the territory now comprised in Sullivan was all in Northumberland county.By an act of the legislature, passed September 25, 1786, Luzerne county was organized.The west line of Luzerne ran from the head of Towanda creek along the ridge which divides the waters of the north branch of the Susquehanna from those of the west branch, to a point due west from the mouth of Nescopeck creek.This new county of Luzerne took in some of the eastern portion of the territory which is now in Sullivan, but left the larger part in Northumberland.By an act of the legislature, passed April 13, 1796, the county of Lycoming was formed, which took all the settlements in this county then commenced.




††††††††††† The country at this time, between the north and west branch of the Susquehanna river, was an almost unbroken wilderness, consisting of dense forests of heavy timber-trees, thick tangled growths of laurel bushes, windfalls full of tall blackberry briers, and dark, dreary swamps containing alders, tamarack bushes, and coarse grass. This wilderness of woods, rocks, hills, mountains and streams was well peopled with wild animals, such as deer, elk, bears, wolves, panthers, catamounts, wild-cats, --- to say nothing of the smaller inhabitants, such as minks, beavers and foxes.There were also serpents, such as rattlesnakes, copperheads and blacksnakes.




††††††††††† From April 3, 1792, to March 28, 1814, these lands could be purchased from the State for six and two-thirds cents per acre, to which the cost of the warrant and survey had to be added.It is not wonderful that enterprising men with capital made haste to acquire large bodies of land.It was not the intention of the law-makers to assist "land-grabbing," as it is called, by fixing so low a price per acre for the State lands, but it was intended to be for the interest of the poor who desired to own land; and to encourage a rapid settlement of the public domain.The result proved to be exactly the opposite to the intent of the legislature.

††††††††††† Although the law allowed the sale of only a four-hundred-acre tract to a single individual, the law was evaded generally by men of large means who bought as many four-hundred-acre tracts as they wanted, under different warrantee names.Having obtained their titles, they raised the price of unimproved lands so high that it placed them beyond the means of the poor, and the settlement of this county, as well as adjoining counties, was impeded.The State did not first survey the land and then sell it, as was the practice of the United States government, but sold the land, and then issued warrants to survey it.




††††††††††† Samuel Wallis, of Muncy, took a large number of warrants to locate on the Loyalsock.To get supplies to his surveying parties he had a road cut from Muncy to the summit of the Allegheny, thence down the steep mountain-side to Hillsgrove on the Loyalsock.This was known as Wallis road, but was merely a foot-path, or pack-horse road cut through the woods to convey supplies to his surveying parties engaged in this county.As early as 1793 another pack-horse road was cut, leaving the Wallis road at the foot of the Allegheny, thence northward to the left of Hunter's Run, on through to the forks of the Loyalsock, where Forksville is now situated.This was called the "Courson Road," and was first used by surveyors, in bringing in provisions and traveling to and from their work.

††††††††††† A great deal of surveying was done by Wallis in 1793, and it is said that William Molyneux was with one of his surveying parties at the Forks in that year.As soon as Wallis had completed and returned his surveys, he sold a large body of land on the waters of the Loyalsock to Joseph Priestley, Jr., and John Vaughan.




††††††††††† Joseph Priestley, Jr., and some other English gentlemen had projected a settlement for English emigrants on the waters of the Loyalsock, and contemplated the purchase of three hundred thousand acres of land.It was to be a rallying point for the English, who were at that time coming to America in great numbers.It was thought by them that by the union of industry and capital the wilderness would soon be cleared, and made equal to any other part of the country in everything necessary to the enjoyment of life.The project was finally abandoned, as it was found that the generality of Englishmen who came to this country were not adapted to the kind of labor required and the hardships to be endured by the first settlers in a wilderness.Joseph Priestly, Jr., however, did what he could to establish a prosperous colony.

††††††††††† In 1794 he sent William Molyneux, Powell Bird and John Warren to make a clearing near the forks of the Loyalsock.They cleared about two acres and built a small house for Priestly, near where the Methodist church now stands.These men afterward brought their families, and the manner of their coming is best described by Josiah Warren (a son of John and Mary Warren), as related by George M. Pardoe and found in his Genealogy of William Molyneux and his Descendants.

††††††††††† Mr. Pardoe says:"Josiah Warren, of Canton, a son of John and Mary Warren, and who was born on the old Warren homestead, near Millview, May 10, 1808, and who knew all of those old pioneers well, told the writer in 1890 that William Molyneux came up first with a surveying party for Joseph Priestly, Jr., of Northumberland; that soon after he came back and brought Powell Bird with him, and that Molyneux, at least, built his house at that time.That they then went back to Northumberland, and Molyneux went to England to get his family.That the next spring his parents, John and Mary Warren, came up with their family and lived in the Molyneux house until they had built a house for themselves, on their land above and adjoining the Molyneux land.That his sister, Jane, was born on the way up, at Abram Webster's, on the old Genesee road between Muncy and Hillsgrove.That the father and oldest child, Sarah, came on and left the mother and babe at Webster's, who, a few weeks after, completed the journey on horseback.That his sister, Jane, was born May 24, 1795.That Molyneux and Bird came afterward with their families, he thought in the fall of the same year.He also stated that his mother, Mary Warren, was the first woman who baked bread in Sullivan county.That Rebecca Bird Molyneux was the first white person born there.That he, Josiah Warren, was at that time (1890) the only living member of either of the three first families, and also the oldest person then living who was born in the settlement.This statement as to the date of his sister Jane's birth I find verified in the old family bible of the Warrens, now in the possession of William Warren, of Elkland."

††††††††††† Mr. Pardoe further states:"I think it reasonably certain that of the permanent settlers William Molyneux was the first to come and spy out the land, and the first to make improvements, which was in 1794.That in all probability Powell Bird was the second to come and view the land, which was also in 1794, and that John Warren, who came with his family in 1795, was the third to come, and the first to bring his family, and that William Molyneux and Powell Bird brought their families in the fall of the same year."

††††††††††† It will be noticed that this differs somewhat from our statement, that in 1794 Mr. Priestley sent Molyneux, Bird and Warren to make a clearing at the Forks.It is proper, therefore, to give our authority, who was Moses Rogers (father of Judge Rogers), and whose statement was made to the writer many years ago, and taken down by him at the time in writing, which memorandum is still preserved.Those who knew Moses Rogers will attach great weight to his statement, for he was a clear-headed, truthful man, and had an excellent memory.We will quote still farther from Mr. Pardoe's interesting history:"I understand that in coming here these settlers came over the mountain from Muncy, past Abram Webster's and struck the Loyalsock at or below Hillsgrove.It is told that they forded the Loyalsock thirteen times from Hillsgrove up.That everything had to be packed on horseback or on their own backs, and as horses were scarce they frequently had to go on foot to Muncy, their nearest trading place (only thirty miles), and bring back what few store goods they were compelled to use.The mortar and pestle was the only mill they had for years."

††††††††††† These pioneers selected lands on the Little Loyalsock adjoining each other.Although William Molyneux apparently purchased his land in 1794, the land was not conveyed to him until January 18, 1803.The Molyneux farm had a large amount of bottom land.The village of Millview now stands on this tract.

††††††††††† After the clearing was made for Priestly at the Forks, Molyneux commenced clearing on his own land.He built a cabin on the opposite side of the creek from where Millview stands.He lived there several years without his family.One day while attending a deer-killing at the creek, on his return he found no cabin --- it had taken fire and burned up.He then built a house of hewn logs, near the present site of the Molyneux sawmill, and having made a house that seemed comfortable, returned to England for his family.His wife died before his return, but he brought three of his children with him, viz.:John, Thomas and Elizabeth.Edward was left at that time; but came afterward.He built the third house on the bank of Strong's Run in the limits of the present village of Millview, and only a few yards south of the Molyneux Homestead.Elizabeth kept house for her father until she was married to William Snell some years afterward.William Molyneux and his son John then kept house for themselves until 1823, when John married Martha Saddler.William Molyneux lived until 1848, and died in his eighty-ninth year.

††††††††††† The land of John Warren adjoined the Molyneux land, being the next farm up the Little Loyalsock creek.Warren's first house stood about half way between the present residence, formerly the Warren homestead, and the creek, on a bench of land near where an old log building stood until a short time ago.The second house was built just across the road from the present residence on that farm, which was the third and last Warren homestead.John Warren died April 17, 1813, being the first of the original settlers to pass away.His good wife, Mary Ward Warren, the first woman who came there, lived until May 14, 1840.The Warren farm is now owned by the descendants of William Molyneux and Powell Bird.

††††††††††† The land of Powell Bird adjoined the Warren land, and still farther up the creek still goes by his name.It is now owned and occupied by his grandson, John K. Bird.The first house built by Powell Bird stood only a few rods from the residence of John K. Bird, across the mountain brook which runs between the house and the barn, and nearer Bird's creek than the present residence.Powell Bird died April 13, 1829.His wife, Lydia Hannant Bird, died January 29, 1832.Powell Bird's descendants are numerous and have always been among the most substantial and respected citizens of the county.

††††††††††† Thomas Huckell brought his family to the Forks in 1797. He had contracted with Priestly for four hundred acres of land lying on both sides of the Loyalsock at the Forks.He lived only one year after he came there, and his widow being unable to complete the payments due on the land, surrendered to Priestly that part of the tract which lies on the side of the creek now occupied by the business part of Forksville.The part which she retained was afterwards owned by her grandson, D. T. Huckell.The homestead on which the widow resided until her death was on the left side of Little Loyalsock, about a fourth of a mile from the church.Daniel T. Huckell, grandson of Thomas Huckell, was accidentally killed a few years ago.He was a man of fine talents, and extensive information, active in all good works.He was one of the most eloquent public speakers who ever resided in this county.

††††††††††† The farm in Hillsgrove where Wheeler Green now lives, was settled on in 1793 by John Huckell.It is not known whether or not he was connected with others in the county of the same name.The old settlers called him "the little Englishman."He was not successful.His wife and two daughters died.He then started to go back to England but took sick and died at Muncy.His son, an officer in the British army, had started to bring his father home, but contracted a fever and died on the ship.In 1796 Joseph Huckell settled on the land below Hillsgrove.His son, Benjamin Huckell, who was an excellent farmer and a man of great intelligence and influence, succeeded to the farm, and lived there all his life.He raised a large family and has many descendants.The Snell farm, now owned by Ezra S. Little, on Elk creek, was first settled by Joseph Warren about 1796.John Snell purchased the land in 1833.Mrs. Ezra S. Little, a daughter of John Snell, has lived on the farm since 1837.




††††††††††† The Genesee road was opened about the year 1800 --- so called because it afforded the first road for emigrants from southern Pennsylvania to the rich valley of the Genesee river, New York.This road ran from Muncy (then called Pennsburg), passing the house of William Ellis, on Wolf Run, and of Abraham Webster, near Huntersville; thence over the Allegheny by Highland lake and down the Ogdonia creek to the Loyalsock; thence up that stream, passing Hill's to Elk creek, which it followed to Lincoln Falls **; thence over the ridge to King's creek, which it followed for some distance, then turned eastward, passing Eldred's and went over Burnett's Ridge and down Millstone Run to Shrader's Branch and down that to Towanda creek, where it connected with other roads to Tioga river.

** Editor's Note: From about 2003-2007, Scott and Kathi Keefer operated The Lincoln Falls Lodge. We have excerpted a brief historical overview from their web site, on which you can also find two maps and other references:

Lincoln Falls was named in honor of President Abraham Lincoln during the Civil War. It was at this time that a post office was established as well as two saw mills and a few homes. A general store and a Wesleyan Methodist church completed the village.
Early history records indicate the Towanda Path and the Genesee Road passed through the heart of Lincoln Falls. It was used as part of early Indian paths and later as a main route by emigrants traveling from neighboring sourthern states to the valley of the Genesee River in New York State. (This history is documented in Indian Paths of Pennsylvania: by Paul A. W. Wallace, 1987.)
The Falls also figured prominently as an audio signal for slaves seeking freedom during the era of the Underground Railroad. One path leading to Canada followed along Elk Creek from Hillsgrove to the juncture with Kings Creek. At this point, a lovely waterfall is evident. Hearing that sound,, the travelers knew to turn toward the left to a safe house a short distance away.




††††††††††† In 1802, Samuel Rogers, Sr., purchased the one hundred and forty acres of land surrendered by the widow of Thomas Huckell, and made considerable improvements.His sons, Samuel, William and Jonathan, erected a woolen factory, which stood a few rods below the bridge, on the south side of the creek.The factory was in operation until 1816, when it was swept away by a flood.The Rogers family had been engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods in England, and thoroughly understood the business of making cloth.Previous to the establishment of this factory each family in this region had done its own spinning and weaving.The factory proved a great help to the neighborhood by giving employment to people, and making a ready market for their wool.When the war of 1812 came, they obtained contracts from the government to furnish kersey cloth for the army.

Several teams were constantly employed in transporting their goods to Philadelphia; and bringing back raw material.So thorough was the destruction of this factory by the raging stream that nothing remained to show the place where it had stood except a single log imbedded in the gravel at the bottom of the creek.The only thing ever found of the building and its contents was a dye kettle which was discovered some months after the flood in a deep hole about a mile below the Forks.

††††††††††† Samuel Rogers, Sr., brought a family of ten children to the Forks.His youngest son, Moses, who was born in 1806, took the land after his father's death, and occupied it for many years.He laid out the village of Forksville in 1854, and lived to see it a prosperous town.He was a quiet, unobtrusive, but highly intelligent man, who was greatly respected in the county.He died in February, 1879.His sons were Saddler S., M. Austin, Isaac, J. Wesley and William.Saddler S. is now acting as county commissioner; M. Austin was an associate judge of the county for five years; J. Wesley Rogers is an acting justice of the peace; William Rogers enlisted in the army, and was killed in the service; W. C. Rogers, a grandson of Moses, has served as a representative in the Pennsylvania legislature.

††††††††††† The first store started in Forksville was in 1848, by Alonzo Potter, in the old schoolhouse.The next year, having built a new store, his goods were removed to it.In 1850 he sold out to William J. Eldred, who continued the business until 1853.In 1855, M. A. Rogers, having erected a new store building, commenced the mercantile business, which he has continued to conduct until the present time, and has probably been longer in business than any other merchant in the county.

††††††††††† Soon after the first improvements were made at the Forks, Priestly sent a good many settlers to the Elklands.Among them were William Snell, William King, William Gingley, Edward J. Eldred, James Ecroyd, Jesse Haines, David Thomas, Jonathan Hartly, Joel McCarty, Francis Boyles and Charles Mullen.The name of Elklands was adopted at an early day, because elk were found in that region.

††††††††††† William King came to America about 1799, being then about twenty-six years of age.He stopped at Northumberland a short time and then went to Elkland to work for Ecroyd.About the year 1803 he bought the land now occupied by George W. Glidewell and built a cabin a few rods south of a fine flowing spring.As he was unmarried, he sent to Northumberland for his father and mother to come and live with him.Their names were Thomas and Esther King, and they brought with them their youngest daughter, Sarah, who afterwards married George Bird.In 1817 they built a better house.Esther King died in 1832 and her husband died some time before.Two years after the death of his mother, William married Polly Crandall, and lived with her until the time of his death in 1852.William King left no children, but his brothers and sisters have numerous descendants still living.

††††††††††† William Snell made the first clearing on the land since occupied by Robert and James Hart.William Bingley made his commencement on the farm since owned by Joseph Whitely.Bingley's house had a panel door, --- the first ever seen in Elkland.

††††††††††† Charles Mullan first settled the land now known as the "Peck place."David Thomas went to Elk Lake, which was then called Thomas' Lake.Francis Grange was also an early settler, and exceedingly domestic.In 1828 he went to Northumberland to make a payment on his land, and he then told Joseph Priestly, Jr., that he had been married forty years, and that was the first time he had passed a night away from his wife.It is stated that he lived with his wife for seventy years, and that both lived until they were upwards of nine-six years of age.

††††††††††† James Ecroyd, who commenced an improvement near Hillsgrove, removed to Elkland about 1800 and built a sawmill and gristmill under one roof, on King's creek.This creek was also called Mill creek.He and Jesse Haines were Quakers, and influenced others of that denomination to move there.

††††††††††† Joel McCarty was born on the 16th of December, 1771.His wife, Ellen, was born on the 14th of May, 1781.They were married in 1798, and had one child, Aaron, when they moved to Elkland, in 1801, and took up land near Elk lake.He made one of the best farms in Elkland township.At an early day he made a profitable business in hunting panthers and wolves.There was a bounty of eight dollars on each wolf killed, which was afterwards raised to twelve dollars.Mr. McCarty had a family of eleven children, and his descendants settled around him until it was called the McCarty settlement.Many of his descendants remain in the county.


Friends' Meeting House
Elkland, PA
An Undated Old Postcard
The publisher was Coughlins Photo, Morris, PA.
The sign in front of the house in the picture is entitled "Elklands Meeting".
Contributed by Elaine Frey



††††††††††† David Thomas, James Ecroyd, Jesse Haines, Ezra Haynes and Joel McCarty were active in erecting a Friends' meeting house in that vicinity.This meeting house was in use previous to 1805, and was located northwest of Eldredsville, and a half mile south of Ecroyd's settlement, on lands afterwards taken up by Thomas Baker, and now included in the farm owned and occupied by Mahlon C. Mercur.The old road leading to the church has been for some time vacated; a thicket of small timber has grown up around the site.The scattered stone from the fallen chimney marks the place of its location, and a noble spring of water is very near the stone pile.Near the point now known as Lincoln Falls a settlement was made prior to 1800 by Joseph Reeves.




††††††††††† The first twelve settlers in Elkland were each granted one hundred and fifty acres of land free of cost, on the following conditions:First, that they would within one year build a substantial log house, completely clear, fence and improve ten acres in five years, --- only one family to settle on a tract of four hundred acres, --- and they were to have the privilege of purchasing the remainder of the tract at two dollars and fifty cents per acre; hence the first settlers were at some distance from each other.

††††††††††† Francis Bull, who was a carpenter, married a daughter of Robert Lambert.The Bull farm was long the home of Joseph Pardoe, and was afterward owned by Barton Luther.In 1825 Charles Mullan erected at his own expense, in Elkland, a house to be used for school, scientific and religious purposes, which was for many years the central place for religious and educational gatherings in that township.Miss Zelpha Mason taught the first school in this building.The next winter James Green, an Englishman, taught, and later Nehemiah Ross, and a Mr. Woodruff, from Monroeton.




††††††††††† A number of settlers went farther west into the territory since known as Fox township.They were induced to go by the gift of one hundred acres of land to each family.Among the first who went there, were Joseph, Amos, John, Jonathan and Samuel Hoagland; Philip, Anthony and Henry Kilmer; Brumley and Thomas Williams; Archelaus Luce, and Marshall Battin.

††††††††††† Philip Kilmer was of German descent, born in the Mohawk valley, New York, about 1781, and moved from there to Fox township with oxen and wagons.He and his two sons, Anthony and Henry (who were of age) were three of the first ten settlers in the township who each received the gift of one hundred acres of land from the land-owner.His other children were Charles, Martha, Rosina, Philip Jr., Peter, Hannah and George.At the time of their settlement, the nearest gristmills were at Muncy and Canton.A. B. Kilmer, a grandson of Philip Kilmer, Sr., is now a resident of the township and is a justice of the peace.

††††††††††† The settlement established there was composed chiefly of Friends, and the name of Fox was given to it, in memory of George Fox, the founder of the Society of Friends.A Friends' meeting house of hewn logs was built near the present Fox Center.

††††††††††† Marshall Battin cleared a large farm and was a leading man in the new settlement.He was a consistent Friend and contributed largely to build the Quaker meeting house.His sons, so far as we have their names, were Joseph, John, Joshua, Reuben and Samuel.These sons remained in the county, were good farmers, and substantial citizens, and have many descendants.John Battin held the office of county commissioner for three years.

††††††††††† In 1805 an English traveler named Robert Sutcliff visited Elkland, and a few extracts from his journal will serve to illustrate life in Elkland at that period:

††††††††††† "Twefth month, 13th, I spent the afternoon at Jesse Haines', whose family were busily employed in making maple sugar.J. H. is a minister in good esteem, has an agreeable wife and a group of fine children who have plenty of employment in clearing and cultivating his plantation in the wilderness; which, however, appears to be an excellent soil, and the situation being dry and healthy, on a rising ground, there is every probability that at some future day this may become a property of great value.

††††††††††† "Twelfth month, 14th, I visited at E. H.'s (Ezra Haines, afterward of West Chester), a nephew of J. H.'s.He, with his wife and one fine child, had but lately come into this country, and had cleared only a few acres, but which appeared to be well managed and very productive.He had just nailed up the skin of a large bear against the side of his house.He had shot the beast while in the act of seizing one of his hogs, having been led to the scene of action by the shrieks of the poor animal while under the rude embraces of the bear.By E. H.'s attention the tables were quickly turned in favor of the hog, which was rescued and was in a fair way of recovering from his wounds.

††††††††††† "Twelfth month, 15th, I attended Elkland's meeting.During the sitting of it, a company of hunters came in and leaving their rifle guns at the door, behaved in a becoming manner until the meeting was broke up.

††††††††††† "Twelfth month, 16th.I spent this day at my relation's.In the course of it I saw two of his men cut down a hemlock tree, which is a species of pine.This tree was four yards in circumference, and fifty yards in length; yet it was of but little value here.The timber which most abounds on this farm is the sugar maple, the beech, the locust and oak. This day I saw a family from near Derby, England, of the name of Lambert, who I understood were likely to do well.

††††††††††† "Twelfth month, 17th, I rode from Elkland to Muncy, across the Allegheny mountains, in company with J. H. and one of his neighbors.When near the top of the Allegheny mountains, we passed the company of hunters who had attended the meeting at Elklands.The principal objects of their pursuit were deer, although they had no objections to meeting with a bear or a wolf.In passing down the Allegheny mountains we came near the house of a man of the name of Webster who had killed thirty-six bears the last season."

††††††††††† Edward J. Eldred came to Elkland in 1800.He was from London, England, had studied law, and been admitted to the bar; afterward engaged in business as a wholesale tea merchant, in which he was not very successful.He decided to come to America in 1798, and was two and a half months on the ocean.After staying some time in New Jersey and in Kingston, Pennsylvania, he went to Northumberland with letters of introduction to Joseph Priestly, Jr., who induced him to go to Elkland as his agent.

††††††††††† At first he lived in a log house belonging to William King, Sr., but as soon as possible went on the land he had purchased from Priestly, and erected a comfortable frame house thereon.In this house he afterward entertained many travelers who were passing through on their way to the Genesee county.He soon became a leading man in that section, surveyed, and sold land, wrote deeds, wills and contracts, viewed and laid out roads,When the needy required assistance he was among those who rendered aid, as may be seen by an agreement in his handwriting which shows the kind feelings of other early settlers toward each other and their willingness to give assistance to the unfortunate.The agreement is as follows:


To the Men of Elklands:

††††††††††† Since one of our number, Edward Jones, has the misfortune to be afflicted with lameness, and consequently unable to do that for himself which the situation of a settler in this country requires; under these circumstances it is but a fellow-feeling to give our assistance, for we are all liable to the like affliction.It is therefore suggested that we should, as many of us as are so disposed, meet together at Edward Jones' house, on the first Monday in April (taking our own provisions along), there to cut over for him a piece of woods; and should his lameness continue, then to meet again at his house, on the first Monday in May, to log off and clear the said piece for planting.

††††††††††† {Signed}††††††††††† Edward J. Eldred,

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† David Barrington,

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† William Molyneux,

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Peter Dominique,

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Jonathan Frisbey,

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Powell Bird.

††††††††††† March, 1801

††††††††††† When the first death occurred in Elkland, in 1802, --- the death of Felix Powell, --- Mr. Eldred was called to make an address at the funeral.On the 29th of March, 1808, Edward J. Eldred was appointed a justice of the peace, and from his well-kept docket, which is now in the hands of Ulysses Bird, Esq., many interesting facts have been obtained.All the marriages solemnized by him are there recorded, and attested by the signatures of witnesses present.All certificates that were given for bounty on wild animals killed are noted, and we find, among others, that John Youns, Joseph Reeves, John Rogers and Samuel Bill each killed a panther; that George Bird killed seventeen wolves, Joel McCarty six wolves, and William Molyneux, Aaron McCarty, John McCarty, Powell Bird and John Snell each killed one wolf.All of these animals were killed in that vicinity within fourteen years.

††††††††††† The first school in the county that we have any record of was commenced in 1804 in a log house owned by John Warren.The teacher was named John Bull, and, as his name indicated, he was a stalwart Englishman.He conducted his school on a strict and summary method.Though a severe disciplinarian, Mr. Bull did great service from 1804 to 1811.He taught wherever he could obtain scholars.Provision was made by the settlers for the tuition of children whose parents were too poor to pay the teacher.The docket of Esquire Eldred records an affidavit, dated April 24, 1811, in which John Bull gave the names of those who were unable to pay, --- evidently for the purpose of obtaining payment from a fund provided for that purpose.




††††††††††† In 1816 Mrs. Sarah Huckell conveyed half an acre of land to Samuel Rogers, Powell Bird and William King, trustees of the Loyalsock school.The 4th of July that year was celebrated by a bee for clearing off the land for a school-house.The building was completed, and a school commenced on the 1st of December, 1816, John Warburton being the teacher.This was the first building erected especially for school purposes in Sullivan county.

††††††††††† In 1819 an organization was formed establishing a Sunday-school in the Elklands.The agreement, which is still preserved, shows that it was the work of very intelligent men.It provided for a Sunday-school to commence at eight or nine o'clock in the morning, with an intermission of two hours, and to close at four or five o'clock in the afternoon.In the intermission preaching was allowed by ministers of various denominations.The pupils in the Sunday-school were to be taught reading, writing, and the fundamental rules of account.The members of the association were to act as teachers in turn:The signers of this agreement were William Russell, E. J. Eldred, James Royle, John Snell, William King, Francis Bull, Francis Boyles, Joseph Pardoe, John Raper, Thomas Baker, John Grange, Charles Mullen, Richard Snell, James Hardy, John Huckell and John King.A library of excellent books was contributed by John Vaughn, of Philadelphia.Afterward the members themselves assisted annually to increase the library.This school was maintained for twenty-three years, and during this period Edward J. Eldred and William and John King served as three of the five members of the executive committee; Joseph Pardoe, and John Snell having served part of the time.Charles Mullen was librarian for a number of years.

††††††††††† The condition of the country and the people in 1818 was described by Thomas Merideth, a land agent who traveled through the settlements.He said:"The settlements were few and scattered and the roads poor; they were so narrow that the branches of the trees interlocked and formed a shade impenetrable to the sun.The bridges were composed of round logs or poles thrown carelessly down with the bark on and openings between them.The poorer class of people, with whom I had much to do, resided in log cabins --- dark, smoky and cold.The furniture was of the rudest kind --- a bench for a seat, a deal board for a table, a couple of sticks set in the logs, and tough bark cut in strips and crossed for the straw bed to rest upon.This was a luxury; it was more common to lie on the floor on a straw bed, often wrapped in a blanket. I have seen fifteen to twenty men, women and children crammed into one room in this manner.As mills were at a distance, flour was a rarity.The family frequently lived for a length of time on pounded corn, milk and potatoes with venison, if the good man could find time to kill it."




††††††††††† While the settlements were extending from the Forks to Elkland and Fox, settlements were also being made along the Courson road.Abraham, Isaac and Jacob Courson, who were brothers, settled on adjoining farms on Muncy creek flats, about ten miles from Pennsborough (Muncy).These farms were not in the present limits of Sullivan county, but were not far from the present county line.All the settlers who came into what is now Shrewsbury passed the Courson farms.Samuel Wallis had located most of the lands in that vicinity previous to 1794, and in June of that year he sold a number of tracts to Charles Wolstoncraft, who in September of the same year sold ten thousand two hundred and seventeen acres to George Lewis.This land included the lake long known as Lewis lake, and now Eaglesmere, and extended from the Loyalsock to Muncy creek.Mr. Lewis was a wealthy Englishman who resided in New York at that time and conducted the American branch of a London importing house.He also engaged in buying real estate for English capitalists.There is no evidence that Mr. Lewis visited his lake before 1803, but in the summer of that year he spent six weeks at the lake.On returning to his home in the city he found that yellow fever had prevailed during his absence, and that very many of his dearest friends had died in consequence.He was so impressed with the feeling that his life had been spared from his remaining in this mountainous wilderness, that he resolved to build him a home on the shore of the lake.

††††††††††† His first sale of land was made to Robert Taylor, who settled on Rock Run in 1804.Taylor made his own road over the ridge to Rock Run, cleared up a farm and erected a sawmill and a gristmill. He was the father of Richard, Frederick, James, Robert and George W. Taylor; and many of his descendants are still in this county.In 1804 Lewis employed men to open a road from Robert Taylor's to the lake, and had a house erected there.He then commenced clearing his farm, and putting up buildings for the manufacturing of glass.He pushed the work so steadily that in 1808 the great stone building on the summit overlooking the lake was completed, and also a large frame house, which was occupied George Lewis and his family; and on the same street (now, Eaglesmere avenue) three stone houses, and on the street at right angles therefrom were six frame houses, painted red; also a school-house; and further around, out of sight of the lake, a large boarding-house.A sawmill was built at the outlet of the lake.That the buildings described were erected there is certain, but some fix the date a year or two later.This was the first village in the county, and for some years a very busy one.They boated sand from the head of the lake and hauled it up the hill to the glass-works building.

††††††††††† George Edkins came to the Shrewsbury settlement in 1806.He was an Englishman who had been in the employ of General Horatio Gates, to superintend his farm on the Hudson.His first journey to Lewis lake was made on foot, and he kept a journal of each day's travel.He was eight days going to Shrewsbury, and six days returning to the Gates farm.The distance as he made it was two hundred and fourteen miles.Edkins purchased of Lewis lands which had been improved by John Henderson, and moved his family there May 10, 1808.It was an interesting incident in the life of George Edkins that he left England to avoid an arrest, because he had not sufficiently respected the game laws.When he left he was engaged to a young lady named Moorby, and as it was not prudent for him to return to her, she came to him, and they were married in this country.Edkins built a good frame house, made a good farm, planted orchards, ornamental trees and shrubs.The evidence of his taste remained upon the place long after his death.After Sullivan county was organized he was elected county treasurer.He left a family of four sons and two daughters, and their descendants are numerous in this county.

††††††††††† John G. Holmes, who was among the early settlers, taught school in his own house, two miles from the lake, in the winter of 1807-8.He understood navigation and surveying.Mr. Holmes continued to teach occasionally until 1818.

††††††††††† Theophilus Little made an examination of lands from Pennsborough (Muncy) to Lewis lake as early as 1799.Land where the borough of Hughesville now stands was offered to him at a lower price than land near the lake, but he did not like the soil, preferring timbered land of the mountains, and purchased about three thousand acres within a mile or two of the lake.He was at that time a resident of Monmouth county, New Jersey.He had six sons, named John, Daniel, Thomas, Theophilus, Tobias and another whose name cannot be obtained.Daniel, the second son, came upon the land in 1804, and others came later.John commenced at Rock Run.Thomas, with his father, cleared the farm at Little's Corners, a mile from the lake.Thomas afterward exchanged land with Tobias Little and went to the valley of the Loyalsock.Tobias was a younger brother, born in July, 1779, and with him came his father and mother.Tobias made a large clearing, a mile or so beyond Little's Corners, but built no house there, and afterward moved on the land where J. H. W. Little now resides.Mary Little, his mother, died soon after she came there.His father died February 19, 1825, aged eighty-one years.The Little family came from England, but were of Scotch-Irish descent.They were active patriots during the Revolution, two of the family having been in the army as commissioned officers.They were always active in promoting the educational and religious interests of the community.The descendants of the family are numerous and many still reside in the county.

††††††††††† Among the early settlers of Shrewsbury, though not the very earliest, were Joel Bennett and Thomas Bennett.Joel Bennett came from Jersey in 1809, when he was twenty-one years of age, and went into the settlement about the forks of the Loyalsock, where he worked six or eight years, and during that time earned money to buy some land in Elkland.He then married Sarah Bird, daughter of Powell Bird, and in 1817 they moved on the land which he had bought in Elkland.There he remained about three years, and then sold his land to Joseph Pardoe and moved to Lewis' lake, where he worked for George Lewis about six years.He then bought land of George Lewis, adjoining Edkin's, and commenced a clearing there, where he remained during the greater part of his life.He died in 1867.He had ten children.Only three remained in this county, --- George W. Bennett, William Bennett and Caroline Sheets.

††††††††††† Like most of the settlers at that day, Joel Bennett was an occasional hunter, and incidents of his early hunting in this county are still related.On one occasion he and his brother Thomas were out together; one went up one side of Hunter's lake, and the other on the opposite side.Joel soon saw a large animal on a log, and, having a ball and twenty buckshot in his musket, fired away.The animal rolled off; up started another of the same kind, which made a few jumps, and then stopped and looked him in the face.He hastened to load and at the same time called his brother.The shouting started the beast away, and when Thomas came it was gone.The dead animal proved to be a large panther.

††††††††††† Thomas Bennett, brother of Joel, came with him to this country in 1809, but returned to Jersey, where he remained several years, and there married.He then came with his wife to Lewis' lake and worked for George Lewis for several years, then moved to the outlet of Hunter's lake where he tended Lewis' gristmill.He remained there a number of years, then bought land of Lewis, adjoining land bought by his brother Joel, and there made a home, which he occupied most of his life.He died in 1870, aged eighty-eight years, ten months and four days.He had fourteen children.

††††††††††† George W. Bennett, son of Joel Bennett, was an influential man in Shrewsbury for many years.He was a justice of the peace and held other township offices.His children were Boyd P., Nelson M., Monroe, Herbert, Libby, Ida, Martha and Bernice.

††††††††††† George L. Bennett, son of Thomas, was likewise a leading citizen and highly-respected man in the township.His children were Richard W., Jonathan F., Araminta, Emma K. and Annie E. Bennett.
Editor's Note: You can learn more about the descendants of Thomas Bennett via his son George L.Bennett and granddaughter Annie E. Bennett at The Bennett and Vroman Lineage.

††††††††††† While the war with Great Britain continued the glassworks of George Lewis at the lake, although situated far from the market for his glass at Philadelphia, and with no other means of transportation except by wagons over poor roads, was, nevertheless, profitable; but when peace was declared, and English glass was imported in large quantities, with low duties, the manufacture of glass so far in the interior was impossible except at a loss, and Mr. Lewis was compelled to suspend operations.His farming business, however, continued.The farm was large, and was in a state of good cultivation.At one time he had a flock of four hundred sheep, a fine stock of cattle, raised a good deal of grain, and had an abundance of fruit.In 1822 he was living at the lake with his family, but the tenant houses were empty, and most of the laborers gone.

††††††††††† Among the notable events which took place here was a Fourth of July celebration at the glassworks in 1824.Preparations were made on a grand scale, and almost the entire population of the surrounding country gathered at the place to give utterance to their patriotic feeling, which had been rekindled by the visit of General Lafayette to this country. After this date Mr. Lewis' health began to fail.He had met with severe financial losses, not only in the stopgage of his glassworks, but by investments made in New York and elsewhere, and in the purchase of such large bodies of wild lands, which were taxed but produced no income.In 1829 he placed his real estate of twelve thousand and two hundred acres of land, in Sullivan county, and seven thousand and five hundred acres, in Franklin county, New York, in the hands of William Elliott, his brother-in-law, and Ithiel Town, to be sold for the benefit of his creditors.He soon afterward went to England on business, and there, in 1830, died.In his will he gave direction for the removal of his body to Mount Lewis for burial, and his directions were followed to the extent of shipping his remains to New York, where they were buried.The difficulty of removing the body to Mount Lewis in warm weather, without railroad facilities, no doubt prevented his wishes from being carried out.The glassworks, with about two thousand acres of land, were sold at public sale in June, 1831, and purchased by John J. Adams, of Washington, District of Columbia.Adam removed to Mount Lewis with his family, and recommenced the manufacture of glass, which he continued for three or four years.The property then passed through several hands, and in 1845 was purchased by J. R. Jones, who, about 1847, came with his family to reside upon it.His wife's maiden name was Clay.She was twice married, her first husband's name being Laussat.

††††††††††† Judge Jones farmed extensively, and practiced law.He was a fine scholar and a very ready and forcible speaker.Mr. Jones' military service and death in the war for the Union will be related further on.While Mrs. Jones was attending the funeral of her husband, the family residence took fire and burned to the ground.

††††††††††† Thomas Haywood, an Englishman, with wife, daughter and son John, accompanied by his son-in-law, Christopher Peale, and wife, came to reside at Eaglesmere about 1858.Two years later another son of Thomas Heywood, Thomas Heywood, Jr., with his wife, joined his parents at Eaglesmere.These four families purchased wild lands west and south of the outlet of the lake, and labored from year to year in clearing land.After the death of Judge Jones, Christopher Peale * continued in charge of the Eaglesmere estate.
* Edtor's Note: You can learn more about the Peale family at Descendants of Christopher Peale.

††††††††††† Even at that early period Eaglesmere had many summer visitors, and the homes of the occupants of the property would often be taxed to their utmost capacity to accommodate the boarders who desired to remain some time at the lake.Soon after the death of Judge Jones a considerable amount of his real estate was conveyed to Emile C. Geyelin, Mrs. Jones' son-in-law, who erected a sawmill, made improvements, and carried on the lumber business at the outlet of Hunter's lake.The stage route from Muncy had been changed as to reach Laporte by way of Sonestown.The only families remaining at Eaglesmere were those who had small farms adjoining the Jones property.The heirs of the Jones estate, through their representative, William Bradford, commenced the sale of lots at Eaglesmere during March, 1877.The Hays and Green lots were then conveyed, and buildings erected soon afterward.Dr. Hays, of Muncy, acted as agent in making sale of lots, and to his energy and his faith in the health-giving situation of Eaglesmere may be attributed the rapid development of the place as a summer resort.

††††††††††† In 1879 Lewis Smith purchased the lots on Allegheny avenue, on which was standing the only dwelling-house that had survived since the days of George Lewis.During the same year Henry VanEtten obtained title to the land on which Hotel Eaglesmere is erected, and built during that summer a part of the hotel building.He retained his ownership one year, when he disposed of the property to E. V. Ingham.Mr. Ingham had, the year before, purchasing the hotel, built a store-house on the corner of Laporte and Eaglesmere avenues.

††††††††††† As soon as Mr. Ingham obtained the hotel he enlarged it, and continued to make improvements from year to year.He was the first to send out advertising pamphlets, and his energy and good management did much to attract attention to Eaglesmere as a summer resort in its early years.We have not space to outline the recent rapid growth of this fine village.




††††††††††† Another settlement, quite distinct from the others described, was made at the base of the North mountain by Colonel Adam Derr, David Richart and Nathan Howell.They came from that part of Northumberland county since made Columbia county.While hunting, they found a fertile upland plateau at the west end of the North mountain.They were so much pleased with the location that they purchased land, and made a road around the mountain to it.They moved there with their families in 1806 or 1808.Colonel Derr had served in the Continental army during the Revolutionary war.When these settlers first moved there, no road was open to Muncy.The distance, in a direct line, to the gristmill of Robert Taylor was not very great.It is probable that a road was made to the Shrewsbury settlement before very long.

††††††††††† In 1812 Griffith Phillips, Sr., moved to the North mountain with his family.He cleared up the farm since occupied by David Phillips, Griffith Phillips, Jr., and Thomas Phillips.He was an enterprising and intelligent man.His son, Evan H. Phillips, was the first sheriff of this county.His son, Griffith Phillips, Jr., was a county commissioner, and his grandson, Maynard J. Phillips, has been one of the associate judges of Sullivan county.David S. Phillips, who went with Griffith Phillips, Jr., to the North mountain, enlisted in the army and served in the war of 1812.He was at the battles of Lundy's Lane, Chippewa and Stony creek.

††††††††††† Elias Smith moved to the North mountain settlement the same year that Griffith Phillips, Sr., came.Soon after that William Richart, Thomas Reed, John Strawbridge and William M. Clemens moved there.About 1805 Thomas Reed moved down to Muncy bottom and commenced improvements on land afterward owned by James Taylor.The adjoining farm was first settled by William Smith and afterward taken by Robert Taylor, Jr.His farm included the land now occupied by the thriving village of Muncy Valley.The first opening in the mountain-sheltered valley, where the village of Sonestown is now flourishing, was made by Timothy Crawley and Peter Anderson.They kept bachelorís hall for several years, until Timothy Crawley was married.Anderson and Crawley sold the land to Benjamin Fiester, who afterward sold it to George Sones.

††††††††††† George Sones at one time owned the whole valley.He sold a large part of it to his son, John Sones, who lived there until his death.John Sones had previously commenced an improvement on land which included the present site of the village of Glen Sharon.

††††††††††† About 1820 James Glidewell, an Englishman, bought land and settled a short distance up the east branch of Muncy creek.He came to America in 1801, first settling in Northumberland county.His wife was Mary King, whose parents were settled in Elkland township.Mr. Glidewell was the father of ten children:Hester, Thomas, Elizabeth, Mary, John, William, Sarah, Ann and Dinah.His sons Thomas and John took up lands near their father.Thomas Glidewell married Hester Lacey, and their children were:James, Josiah, Sarah, Thomas, Ann, Dinah and Charles.John Glidewell (son of James) settled on the high plateau overlooking the valley of Muncy creek above Sonestown, not far from a precipice.He cleared a large farm, raised a large family, and was a man of honesty and intelligence.As a hunter he was mostly after the bear, and the number he killed and trapped was remarkable, but no record has been kept of the number.He lived until he was past ninety.William, another son of James Glidewell, removed to Elkland township, where he made a fine farm and put up excellent buildings.His son, George W. Glidewell, still owns the farm, and has been county commissioner.

††††††††††† In 1822 John Whitacre moved on the land first taken by John Sones and improved it.He was succeeded by his son, William Whitacre, who was succeeded by his son, Robert, from whom it passed to Peter E. Armstrong, who laid out the village of Glen Sharon.




††††††††††† A sawmill was built by George Sones near the present village of Sonestown about 1843, and John F. Hazen, a millwright, purchased a site and built a gristmill in 1850.Jacob Simmons moved from Moreland township, Lycoming county, into a log house that stood near where Magargle's hotel now stands, on the 17th day of March, 1842, and lived there until he bought the Morrison place, on which he resided until after the close of the war, when he moved into the house where Thomas S. Simmons now lives and where he died August 9, 1884, aged seventy-nine years.His wife was Jane Sones, and their children were John, Isaac N., George W., Simpson S., Thomas S., Davis S., Rosetta A. and Jacob L.†† His son John was elected sheriff in 1863.Five of his sons did good service in the war for the Union, and two of them, Simpson S. and Isaac, were killed in service.The other three who enlisted are still living, --- George W. Simmons is postmaster at Sonestown; Thomas S. Simmons is a justice of the peace, and David S. is in the west.

††††††††††† In 1851 George Miller made a purchase of one thousand seven hundred acres of land in Sonestown and vicinity, and moved his family there.He had several sons, among whom were Cyrus, William and Peter, who were for a number of years engaged in improving the place.In 1851 Jacob Reed purchased lots and erected a small tavern, which he occupied for a few years, and then disposed of the property to William Corson.In connection with his tavern Mr. Corson ran a line of stages from Muncy to Dushore.He continued in the hotel business about ten years, when he sold the tavern stand to James Taylor and moved to the west.The tavern stand was subsequently sold to Thomas S. Magargle.

††††††††††† The first store-house was built by Edkin Corson, who engaged in the mercantile business for a short time and afterward in lumbering.In 1867 Edward Lyons purchased the Bennett farm, sawmill and timber lands of Mr. Corson, and engaged extensively in the lumber business.About the same time William and Jacob Lorah and Thomas Dent engaged in lumbering, farming and mercantile business in the place.




††††††††††† The part of Davidson known as the Elklick settlement was an unbroken forest until 1823, when James Rogers and a Mr. Wilson first explored it.The next year they cut a road from the Susquehanna and Tioga turnpike, and moved in with their families.In 1826 John Keeler moved there with his family and soon after that John Hiddleson, Edmund Pennington, John R. Pennington, Christopher Speary, Samuel Speary, John Hunter, Robbins and a few others moved there.It was some time before they had a road to connect them with the Crawley-Anderson settlement.

††††††††††† Miles Sperry came from Huntington, Luzerne county, in 1826, and took up four hundred acres of land in Davidson.He was the father of seventeen children, and his descendants are quite numerous in the county.One of his grandsons, James Sperry, was killed at the battle of Chancellorsville.Joseph Converse came to Elklick settlement in 1828.He was the father of nine children, and the Converse families are remembered as possessing many of the characteristics of the New England people.Although in a wilderness their homes were made enjoyable by good housekeeping, neatness and pleasant surroundings.

††††††††††† In 1833 William Smith removed from the Muncy valley farm to the Elklick settlement, where he lived until he was nearly eighty.He was county commissioner in Lycoming county before Sullivan county was formed, was active in the formation of the new county and the location of the county seat, and a leading man in the politics.He held the offices of county treasurer and associate judge.

††††††††††† About 1832 the Elklick settlers united and built a schoolhouse at the intersection of the Muncy road with the first road built across North mountain.John Hiddleson was born in 1790 in Chester county, Pennsylvania, was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and arrived with his family in the settlement in April, 1826.He cleared a large farm, built and operated a sawmill.About 1865, his health having failed, and desirous of being near his children who had gone west, he removed to Illinois, where he died in 1875, having outlived his wife for several years.



Dushore, PA
Looking East Toward the Lehigh Valley Railroad Trestle from Downtown
Note the Holcombe Furniture and Undertaking Store Sign on the Left
Postcard Photo Dated 1910
Original Postcard Auctioned on eBay in May 2013
Photo Contributed by Scott W. Tilden
Click here to see the Back Side. The message is addressed
to "Miss Lela Brackman" in Forksville. We don't know the author, but we do know that Lela (Brackman) Ellis (1888-1972) is buried in Millview Cemetery in Forksville, PA.


††††††††††† In 1794, the same year that Molyneux, Warren and Bird made the first clearing for Priestly at the Forks, a lone Frenchman, with one arm, made a clearing and built a cabin in the present limits of Dushore.His name was Aristide Aubert Dupetit Thouars --- pronounced Du-Petit-Twor.We are indebted to the researches of Rev. David Craft for this man's biography, which may be found at length in Craft's history of Bradford county.

††††††††††† Aristide Dupetit Thouars was born in France, in 1760, educated at a military school, obtained a position in the marine corps and was in several naval battles.In a few years he was made a captain and had command of a warship.In 1792 he set out on a voyage to rescue LaPerouse, in a vessel purchased in part with the proceeds of his share of his father's estate. A fatal malady carried off one-third of his crew, and he put into the nearest Portuguese harbor.He was arrested and sent to Lisbon, where he underwent a captivity of some duration.His vessel was confiscated and sold.After an investigation it appeared his arrest was illegal.He was released and six thousand francs were paid to him by the Portuguese government as the proceeds of the sale of his vessel.He distributed most of this money among his crew, and made his way to the United States. landed at Philadelphia and went on foot to the French settlement at Asylum, which is on the North branch, ten miles below Towanda.He arrived there in the spring of 1794 entirely destitute.Mr. Talon, the resident manager at Asylum, gave him four hundred acres of land, including what was subsequently the John Mosier farm, in Cherry.He built a cabin near a spring, afterward called the Frenchman's spring, which is now well known in Dushore.There alone, and with only one hand, he undertook to clear a farm.His habit was to return to Asylum, fifteen or twenty miles distant, every Saturday night and back to his work Monday morning. Thus he spent the summer of 1794. In 1796 he went on foot to Niagara Falls in company with some French noblemen, who rode on horseback.The next year he got a small patch of land under cultivation, but the progress of events in France soon took him back to that country.He sailed for France in 1797, obtained a place in the navy, was put in the command of a vessel with eighty guns, and sailed with the French fleet on an expedition to Egypt.The French fleet encountered the English fleet, under the command of Admiral Nelson, and the famous battle of the Nile ensued.The French were taken at a disadvantage, and the fire of the English guns raked them with terrible effect.Captain Du Thouars, finding that the battle was growing desperate, nailed his colors to the mast and told his men they would never surrender.A shot took off his only arm, but he still kept on his feet, commanding his vessel.Very soon another shot took off a leg.Though prostrate on the deck he still incited his men to fight to the last, but while being carried away a third shot killed him.This was on the first day of August, 1798, and Du Thouars was then only thirty-eight years old.

Bend in the Susquenhanna Near Asylym, PA
Where the French Colony Was Established
Postcard Photo Dated 1900
But the appearance probably was
the same as it had been 100 years prior when
Aristide-Aubert Dupetit-Thouars first arrived.
Postcard Auctioned on eBay in November 2005
Photo Contributed by Carol Brotzman

††††††††††† The first house within the limits of Dushore, was built by Theodore Phinney, near the site of Headly's mills.It was built with logs, with only one room, a big fire-place and stone chimney.Phinney was originally from Connecticut, but never lived in the house, and it was first occupied as a residence by John Stowers, before 1819.This family was so far from neighbors that Mrs. Stowers did not see one of her own sex for seven months.Stowers came from the vicinity of Towanda Creek.Soon after Stowers went there, Phinney built a sawmill near the falls (Headley's mill site) and put the first dam in the stream at that place.




††††††††††† In 1806 an act was passed incorporating a company to be called the "President, Managers and Company of the Susquehanna and Tioga Turnpike Road."The turnpike was designed to furnish a shorter route from Berwick to the Tioga river at Newtown, now Elmira.This company constructed a road in 1808 as far as the Loyalsock creek, and in 1810 completed it to the Heverly settlement.From near the Long pond it went directly to the Loyalsock, which it crossed about a mile below what is now Ringdale Station, and crossed the Little Loyalsock near what is now Sick's Mill, and continued northward to the Heverly settlement.Supplements to the act of 1806 were passed in 1812 and 1815.A new route was surveyed, and Andrew Shiner took the job of building the road, and got it opened as far as Birch creek in 1818.In that year Amos Ellis built a shanty on the Loyalsock, and boarded men who worked on the turnpike.He afterward built a hotel at that place.John R. Lopez built a shanty and boarded men near Birch creek.At that time Samuel McNeal was on land not far from the place where the old Evangelical church was built.There Sally McNeal, the first white child in Cherry township, was born.Frederick Huffmaster was at the Phinney mill; Jacob Miller was on the land since known as the Lewis Zaner place.Ezra Payne came in the fall of 1818 or winter of 1819.He moved into a house called the "Yankee house;" built of hewn logs with two rooms, a chimney in the middle and a fire-place in each room.This house was built by John Stowers after he left the Phinney log house at the Falls.Stowers then moved away from Cherry.

††††††††††† On the 18th of March, 1819, Freeman Fairchild and his wife, whose maiden name was Hannah Kitchen, moved into the house with Ezra Payne.Soon afterward Payne moved across the road on his farm (the same afterward owned by Daniel and Solomon Bahr), where he built the first farm house and frame barn in that township.He also planted the first orchard.He was the first postmaster at the Cherry post office, and also the first justice of the peace in the township.Afterward a road was started from the turnpike on his premises, which went to Wyalusing and was known as the "Payne road."Later in the spring of 1819, Frederick Huffmaster moved to the farm where his grandson, Henry Huffmaster, has recently lived.

††††††††††† The public spirit of the new settlement was shown on the 4th of July, 1819, when they raised a tall cherry "Liberty-pole," from the top of which the stars and stripes were first flung to the breeze in that township.Roswell Phelps read the Declaration of Independence.We have no report of speeches, but a patriotic song was sung, which commenced:

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† "Come all ye gallant heroes,

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †††††† I'd have you lend an ear;

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† I'll sing you a small ditty

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †††††† Which will your spirit cheer."

††††††††††† As soon as Payne left the Yankee house Fairchild leased it and there commenced the hotel business.He afterward purchased a farm and built a large frame house, long known as the Fairchild's Hotel.It was situated on the ground now occupied by the house of B. M. Sylvara, on the hill south of Dushore.Freeman Fairchild and his wife were from Morris county, New Jersey, but had lived in Berwick, whence they moved to Cherry.Their children were Stephen, Harriet and Caroline, brought with them, and another son, David, born after their settlement in Cherry.

††††††††††† In the Fairchild tavern, for many years, weary travelers over the mountain found a welcome resting place.In 1834 Mr. Fairchild died, but his widow continued to keep the hotel until about 1851.Among the settlers who came in 1819 and 1820 were Brookins Potter, Roswell Phelps, Linas Holcomb and David E. Davis.About this time Mr. Shiner built a sawmill, and later a gristmill, at the crossing of the turnpike at Big Loyalsock, and the location was from that date known for some time as Shiner's Mills.Here was established a post office, and Mr. Shiner received the appointment as postmaster.A road was built making connection with the original road connecting Lewis's lake with the old turnpike, which became the mail route from Mount Lewis to the turnpike.On its completion John Reeser, a miller by trade, then living in Columbia county, was induced to move his family, and take charge of the mills.About 1823 Mr. Shiner contracted with his son-in-law, Amos Ellis, and sons, Evan O. and Andrew, to sell them the Shiner's Mills property.




††††††††††† Previous to this he had commenced improvements at a point on the turnpike afterward known as Shinersville.Here he laid out a village plat, on lands conveyed to him by the turnpike company, and offered village lots for sale at thirty-five dollars each.This point seems to have been one first selected by the settlers as the most convenient place of gathering.Here was the first burial after the settlements commenced, occurring during the summer of 1821, being that of William Maston, who came from Symsbury, Connecticut.Among those purchasing and improving the property were: David E. Davis, merchant, tavern-keeper and potash manufacturer, and John Mosier, blacksmith.A post office was here established, and Henry W. Cooper appointed postmaster.In this neighborhood we find the largest number of settlers at the time of the organization of the township.Among those who took up lands, we have the name of Samuel Thomas, who cleared the land still known as Thomas farm.

††††††††††† A sawmill was built by Shiner at the crossing of Birch creek at the turnpike.Jesse, John and Samuel Hicks each improved lands in this vicinity.John M. Kirkendall made the first improvements on lands known as the Pendergast place.Jesse Kirkendall's name is found among the list of single freemen in the returns of 1824, and Charles Scott and Samuel Dill, who settled on lands still known by their names, came as early as 1820.The second schoolhouse built in the township was located here.

††††††††††† John R. Lopez was a sub-contractor on the turnpike and was working near Ellis' in 1819.Later he purchased land on the turnpike north of Shinersville, where he continued to reside until his death.Lopez creek was named after him, and has given name to the present flourishing town of Lopez.In addition to the persons already named, Dennis Thrall, William Graifly, Caspar King, Joseph Litzenswope, Alden Potter, Nicholas Potter, William Potter, Joseph Potter, Charles Scott, Samuel Dill and John Miller were settlers before 1822.Henry Yonkin moved into the township in 1822.He was born in Germany and came to this country in 1806.He purchased land and cleared a farm on a ridge south of the Little Loyalsock.The same farm was afterwards occupied by Peter Yonkin, his son.Henry Yonkin came to Cherry from Brier creek, Columbia county.He had seven children --- Henry, John, Jacob, Joseph, Peter, Elizabeth (who married Henry Graifly) and Catharine (who married Christian Mosier).Quite a large settlement of Germans gathered around Henry Yonkin, and that part of Cherry township became known as "Germany."In that settlement was erected, about 1825, the first church in Cherry township.Henry Yonkin, Joseph Litzenswope, Dennis Thrall and William Graify were among the active men in that church-building work.It was called a Lutheran or German Reformed church, but they received assistance from Catholics in building it, and it was used for Catholic worship as occasion required.The Rev. John Miller, a young German minister, first preached there in the German language.Henry Yonkin's sons were all highly intelligent, industrious and thriving men, and his numerous descendants have been worthy, influential citizens.

††††††††††† Andrew Shiner had town lots regularly laid out at the point on the turnpike north of the present village of Mildred.He sold a number of these lots, and buildings enough were erected to give it the character of a village.He had purchased a good deal of land, and incurred expenses, as he stated, to the amount of seven thousand dollars.Being unable to meet his obligations he was sold out by the sheriff in 1829.He returned to Columbia county, and with his departure his village decayed.Natural causes took the center of business to Cherry Hill.Samuel Jackson, who had been employed by Andrew Shiner in his business, and had married one of the latter's daughters, now removed to land on the turnpike, south of Ezra Payne's, and occupied the "Yankee house," heretofore mentioned, built by John Stowers.Here he opened a store.

††††††††††† As soon as the turnpike was completed a coach was put upon it, and a great deal of travel went over it, especially in the spring of the year, when hundreds of raftsmen from southern New York and northern Pennsylvania were returning from their rafting trips to the lumber markets on the lower Susquehanna.The lands were found to be good, and settlers flocked in and took up farms in every direction.Among those who came early (some in 1823) were Henry Yonkin, William Graifly, Casper King, Joseph Litzleswope, Dennis Thrall, William Hartzig, John Mosier, William Darby, Frederick Barge, John Reeser, Lewis Zaner and William Colley.




††††††††††† The first school-house in Cherry township was built on Cherry Hill, near the residence of Daniel Bahr, in 1820, and a school was taught here the same year by Salome Tompkins, at one dollar per week and board.The next term was taught by Roswell Phelps, from Connecticut, and the next by Alma Potter, of Huntington.




††††††††††† After John Reeser left the Shiner mill, about 1823, he took up land along the Little Loyalsock, including a mill site about a mile below Phinney's sawmill.Here he erected a gristmill.He had sons named William, John, Daniel and Amos.His son, the Rev. William Reeser, has given to the public considerable information in regard to the early settlement.We quote Mr. Reeser as follows:

††††††††††† "A considerable source of income to our fathers in those early days was the maple-sugar product.The seasons were much better than now, and considering the crude appliances in use in the manufacture of sugar, the amount of the crop in pounds was very gratifying, although the prices realized were generally small.Game and fish were plenty.Deer could frequently be seen walking along the highway.For a period of about eight years wild turkeys were very plenty.My wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Martin and who was raised on the farm now owned by Lyman Baker, says she was frequently sent by her parents to drive the wild turkeys from the buckwheat, and sometimes the flocks were so large as to frighten her.Trout in great numbers could be found in all of our streams, and of a size, too, that would set wild the anglers of to-day.Wheat could not be raised in this country at that time.There was a plentiful growth of straw but it would not head.Corn was the same way --- all stalks, and no ears.The first corn was raised on what is now known as the Lyman Baker farm.Rye and buckwheat did well.Wages in those times were small.Finally the times improved and a good workman was able to get seventy-five cents a day during haying and harvesting; at other work fifty cents a day was considered a day's wages.A day's work was from sunrise to sunset.

††††††††††† "We knew nothing about the eight-hour law then.A girl's wages were from fifty to seventy-five cents per week.Very often the men were compelled to go from home to earn money with which to pay for their lands, leaving their families, as we may say, in the wilderness to shift for themselves for months at a time.The tools used by the first settlers were an axe and a handspike, and with the assistance of a pair of oxen the early settler was ready to commence his battle with the wilderness."

††††††††††† The Rev. William Reeser, from whom we quote, has always been a prominent man in the county and acted for three years as county commissioner.Amos Reeser, son of John Reeser, was a genial and much respected hotelkeeper in Dushore for many years.

††††††††††† William Colley, who came from Columbia county when a young man, in the employ of Mr. Shiner, was one of the first to engage in the public business of the township.He succeeded Mr. Maxwell as justice of the peace.Mr. Colley was president of the first school-board in Cherry township, and among the most active in measures connected with the organization of the county.He received the appointment as associate judge, and when a change was made, by which judges were elected, he was continued in office five years longer.He served also as prothonotary and recorder, continuing to hold important public positions, either in connection with county or township, until impaired health compelled him to give up public business.

††††††††††† Among the early settlers in Cherry township was George Hunsinger.He had formerly resided near Berwick, and moved to the Genesee country in New York, but finding the fever and ague prevailing there, returned and took up land near the southwestern corner of the present boundary of the township, along the old turnpike.By him and his sons the first clearings were made on the ridge between the two branches of the Loyalsock.His family consisted of seven sons and two daughters, viz.:Christian, George, Samuel, Charles, Jacob, Solomon and Barney.His daughters married Thrashers and resided in Schuylkill county.Christian was a blacksmith by trade; Jacob moved to Lycoming county; Solomon to Bradford; Barney to Schuylkill, and George settled in Forks township, where his father made his home with him until he died.

††††††††††† David H. Goodwin came about 1830.He was first employed as a surveyor by non-resident land-owners, and in a few years became their agent for the sale of lands.He was a well educated man, thoroughly alive to the importance of improving the county, and especially interested in advancing its educational interests.During the winter months he was employed as a school-teacher, and sometimes taught singing schools.He was active in church work, and occasionally served as a local preacher.

††††††††††† Joseph Bachelor settled along the turnpike on the hill north of what is now Dushore, but did not remain long.William Lawrence took up land on the turnpike about three-fourths of a mile north of Bachelor's improvement.He came from Augusta township, Northumberland county.He was born in 1805, married a daughter of Horatio Ladd in 1824, and built a log house in the neighborhood.In 1825 he contracted for forty-eight acres of land at two dollars per acre, for which he obtained a deed, and five years afterward he increased the amount to one hundred and twenty acres.Mr. Lawrence was one of the first commissioners of the county, and prominent in all its affairs until he left this county and moved to Bradford county, in 1854.His wife died in 1847, leaving one son, John H. Lawrence, who was afterward sheriff.His grandson, William J. Lawrence, is now prothonotary and recorder.

††††††††††† Cornelius Harrington took up lands in the northwestern part of the township about 1828.He was from Ireland, and was afterward joined by a number of his countrymen.The neighborhood is known as the Harrington district.He was an energetic man in all measures pertaining to the interests of the county, and was the first in taking active measures for the establishment of the Sullivan county fair.So far as is now known he was the first Catholic Irishman who settled in Cherry township.Joseph Litzleswope (father-in-law of Cornelius Harrington), who settled in Cherry township in 1823, was the first German Catholic.Cornelius Harrington's son Cornelius owns the homestead, and James is a prominent business man in Dushore.

††††††††††† Isaiah Bartley, who was one of the most active managers in the contest for the county seat at Cherry Hill, came into the county about 1835.He kept a store and, being a single man, boarded at the Fairchild hotel.He was of Protestant Irish descent, had an excellent education, and was a man of fine talents.He was the most efficient man at Harrisburg of all who advocated the county seat in Cherry.He afterward moved to Harrisburg and continued in business there until he died.




††††††††††† In December, 1825, John Mosier purchased seventy-five acres of land, including Du-Thouars spring and clearing, and a large part of what is now Dushore.He afterward purchased thirty-five acres more.He moved there in the spring of 1826.He was a blacksmith by trade, and earned the money to pay for his land by working as a journeyman in blacksmith shops along the river.In clearing his land, after cutting the underbrush and small timber, he trimmed the big hemlocks from the top down, and left them standing.His object was to get a partial use of the land, and he supposed that the trees would remain sound until he could build a mill and saw them into lumber.Mr. Mosier was generally supposed to be a German, but his certificate of naturalization says he renounced his allegiance to the government of Switzerland.He was a man of low stature, being about five feet and four inches in height.He died January 17, 1859.

††††††††††† In 1829 Mathew McDowell erected a building for a store within the lines of what is now Dushore, and stocked it with goods.He had a clerk named Henry W. Cooper, who conducted most of the business.This was the first store within the limits of Dushore.McDowell sold out to Henry W. Cooper.How long the latter continued business there is uncertain, but he erected another building near the one purchased of McDowell.Both of these buildings were on land now owned by George H. Welles, where the store and bank building is erected.Cooper sold this property to Samuel Jackson, who moved his family and store goods there.To make more room he erected another building between the two purchased, and connected them together, making one long two-story house.In this he lived and kept a store and a tavern.John Mosier's blacksmith shop was on the same side of the street a little farther northeast.Mosier's swelling house was on the other side of the street, near where the George D. Jackson homestead now stands.The place was called "Jackson Hollow" until Charles F. Welles, of Wyalusing, being a guest of Jackson, an remembering that the residence of the celebrated French captain (Du Thouars) had been near by, suggested to Jackson that he should put the name on his sign.The suggestion was promptly acted upon, and Dushore was put upon the sign. The name Du Thouars was altered to Dushore, because it was easier spoken.Although this name was adopted by Samuel Jackson, and used by him, the old name was still used by some, and to give it authoritative sanction a public meeting was held and the name of Dushore formally adopted.

††††††††††† Samuel Jackson died in January, 1840.After his death the store was continued in the same building, by William Colley, until it was disposed of to Edward Hughes.Hughes remained one or two years, when Dr. Josiah Jackson moved his family into the Samuel Jackson house and kept a store in the same building.Prior to this, and whilst Hughes was still in business, Dr. Jackson had a store up the creek, near the falls, in the house recently occupied by the late Judge Fairchild.This store was chiefly in charge of his son George D. Jackson.In 1847 John Mosier sold his blacksmith-shop lot to Cornelius Cronin, and his swelling-house lot to Josiah Jackson.Cornelius Cronin immediately erected a building and established a store.Soon afterward Dr. Jackson built a store-house and dwelling-house on the opposite side of the street.Prior to this John Dieffenbach had acquired the old Phinney mill-site at the Falls and had erected a sawmill and gristmill, which were destroyed by a flood in 1850.Dr. Jackson practiced as a physician, and his son, George D., was the leading man in the store.

††††††††††† About 1847 Dr. John M. Heacock came and practiced as a physician.He had his home and office at Mrs. Fairchild's.




††††††††††† Soon after the passage of the free-school law an election was held at the house of John Bahr for the election of school directors, and on the 27th of September, 1834, the directors met at the school-house near Mr. Bahr's, and apportioned the length of their terms of office.The following are the names of the first directors:H. W. Cooper, F. Huffmaster, Peter Hunsinger, Samuel McNeal, Jacob Hoffa and William Colley.At a meeting of the school board, at the house of William Colley, March 29, 1836, it was resolved that Cherry township be divided into two school districts; the inhabitants living north of the little Loyalsock creek to have one school, and those living south of said creek to have two schools.




††††††††††† Having outlined the earliest settlements in the county, we will recur to the township organizations.Shrewsbury township was originally erected by decree of court of Lycoming county in 1803.At that time it embraced the whole of what is now Sullivan county.The name is attributed to Theophilus Little, as the namer and as the Little and Bennett families came from Shrewsbury township, in Moumouth county, New Jersey, the name was appropriate.

††††††††††† Elkland township was established in 1804, but the record is imperfect.Hon. C. D. Eldred, in his reminiscences published in Now and Then (Vol. 11, p. 163) says: "William Benjamin, an old surveyor, was appointed by the court to run and mark the boundary lines of Shrewsbury.But this was unsatisfactory to the inhabitants of the new settlement on the Loyalsock, near where the new road ran, as it was found that a controlling portion of the voters would remain south of the Allegheny mountains. Accordingly, while Benjamin was engaged in running the boundary lines of Shrewsbury, the inhabitants north of the mountain engaged him to run and mark a line for the division of Shrewsbury and the erection of a new township out of the western portion.It was, however, agreed later between the settlers north and south of the Allegheny that a new township should be formed, and we find on record of the next term of court two petitions filed, differing in some respects as to boundary, but each asking for a division of Shrewsbury township.These two petitions are endorsed, 'granted per curium,' but as they differ in describing the boundary, which one, or can either be deemed official?"

††††††††††† This difficulty was solved by an act of assembly.The records of the commissioner's office show that William Benjamin ran a line between the townships of Shrewsbury and Elkland in 1804.On the 28th of March, 1808, an act of assembly was passed, establishing the election district of Elkland.The place appointed for holding the election was the house of William Molyneux.This district embraced the settlements of Forks, Hillsgrove and Fox, as well as Elklands.The whole of our present county of Sullivan was thus embraced in these two townships of Shrewsbury and Elkland.The line run by William Benjamin in 1804 was probably adopted in the act of assembly, as the line between Elkland and Shrewsbury.

††††††††††† Cherry township was created at the May session of the court of Lycoming county in 1824.It was formed from Shrewsbury township, and comprised the northeast corner of the county.Davidson township was established by the court of quarter sessions of Lycoming county in 1833. It was named in honor of the Hon. Asher Davidson, one of the associate judges.This territory also was taken from Shrewsbury, and extended along the south side of the county from Muncy creek to the Susquehanna and Tioga turnpike.Forks township was established by the court of quarter sessions of Lycoming county in 1833.It took all the territory of Shrewsbury township which remained between Cherry and Elklands up to the northern line of the county, and a part of the eastern portion of Elkland.Fox township was established by the court of quarter sessions of Lycoming county in 1839.It was formed from Elkland, and took the northwestern corner of the county.It was named in honor of George Fox, the founder of the Society of Friends.

††††††††††† Hillsgrove township was once part of Shrewsbury, was first named Plunkett's Creek.It was so called when the county of Sullivan was formed, and retained that name until 1856, when an act of the legislature was passed changing the name to Hillsgrove.The village and post office had been called Hillsgrove during the time the township was called Plunkettís Creek.When the county was formed, a large part of the old township of Plunkettís Creek had been left in Lycoming county, and thus a township with the same name was in each county.This caused the citizens to petition for a change of name, and the name of Hillsgrove was adopted as a fitting memorial of John Hill, who was a prominent early settler.

††††††††††† The seven townships above enumerated comprised the whole of Sullivan county at the time it was organized, but the township of Colley was established by a decree of the court of quarter sessions of Sullivan county at the December term of 1849.It was all taken from Cherry township, and named in honor of Hon. William Colley.The first election was held at the house of Joel R. Potter, February 15, 1850.The officers elected were:Judge of election, Thomas Messersmith; inspectors, Jeremiah Hunsinger and William W. Burgess; supervisors, John Santee and Joel R. Potter; township auditors, Paul Q. Bates, William Vaughan and Henry Rough; justices of the peace, Albert Vaughan and Jonathan Colley; school directors, Henry Rough, Jonathan Daddow, John Bates, Thomas Messersmith, Dudley Vaughan and William W. Burgess; assessor, Daniel Hunsinger; constable, Adam Messersmith; overseers of the poor, Thomas Messersmith and John Hunsinger.

††††††††††† Laporte township was erected by the court of quarter sessions of Sullivan county in 1850.It was formed from parts of Cherry, Davidson and Shrewsbury.The name for the county seat was suggested by Seku Meylert, in honor of his friend, John Laporte, who was surveyor-general of the state of Pennsylvania.The name of the township naturally followed the name of the county seat.




††††††††††† The agitation for the erection of the new county was commenced in 1845.Among the active men engaged in the movement were Isaiah Bartly, David H. Goodwin, Dr. Josiah Jackson, William Colley, Daniel H. Fairchild, Seku Meylert.It was proposed at first to take a portion of Bradford county, reaching as far east as the Susquehanna river, and northerly as far as Wilcox hotel.This project was attempted in 1846, but the bill was defeated at that session of the legislature by the opposition in Bradford county.

††††††††††† The long distance to Williamsport was the most prominent argument for the formation of the new county, but, as usual in such cases, the active men in the movement had other considerations.A county seat on the Susquehanna and Tioga turnpike was contemplated by the active men who resided in Cherry township, and different sites for the county seat were contemplated by others.About thirty thousand acres of timbered land had recently been purchased by Meylert and Clymer from the Norris and Fox heirs, and the purchasers favored a new county with the county seat upon their lands.

††††††††††† At the session of the legislature in 1847 the petition for a new county was renewed, and the parties representing the bill at Harrisburg consented to leave off the portion of Bradford county first asked for, and the new county was formed wholly from the county of Lycoming.The name of Sullivan was adopted in honor of Charles C. Sullivan, then a senator from the Butler district, who took an active part in procuring the passage of the bill.The surveyors designated to run the exterior lines of the county were William A. Mason, then residing near Monroeton, in Bradford county; John Laird, of Lycoming county, and S. H. Goodwin, of Sullivan county.The return indicates that the lines were run by Mason and Laird.The survey was completed and return made to the secretary of the commonwealth June 12, 1847.


Original Courthouse Fence
Sullivan County Courthouse
Looking Toward the Baldwin House
Laporte, PA
May 2007
Photo by Deb Wilson



††††††††††† The commissioners for locating the county seat were the Hon. Thomas H. Wilson, of Harrisburg; Hon. Reuben Wilbur, of Bradford county, and Thomas W. Lloyd, Esq., of Lycoming county.The location of the county seat now became the absorbing topic in every part of the county, and the points advocated were Cherry Hill (Fairchilds), Dushore, Shinersville, Ellises, Hiddleson's (near what is now Nordmont), the Center (now Laporte), Sonestown, Lewis' Lake, Forksville and Hillsgrove.Only six of these localities were strongly urged, namely:Cherry Hill, Dushore, the Center, Lewis' Lake, Forksville and Hillsgrove.In favor of Cherry Hill was the Fairchild's interest, represented strongly by Isaiah Bartley, Samuel F. Headly and many others in Cherry. In favor of Dushore were Dr. Josiah Jackson and George D. Jackson.In favor of the Center was the Meylert and Clymer interest, represented chiefly by Michael Meylert.Lewis' Lake was represented by the Hon. J. R. Jones.Forksville by Moses Rogers, the owner of the land, backed by the whole population of Forks and Elkland.Hillsgrove was represented by John J. Saddler, John A. Speaker and all the people of that locality.Attorneys employed were William Elwell, Esq., of Towanda, for the Meylert and Clymer interest.Hon. David Wilmot, of Towanda, for the Forksville interest; Hon. J. R. Jones for the Lewis' Lake interest.The commissioners met in July, 1847, at the Fairchild tavern, and then went to Shinersville and the tavern of Amos Ellis.It was strongly urged that as the turnpike was the main thoroughfare from Berwick to Towanda, and the outlet to market for most of the farmers of the county, that the county seat should be on the turnpike, and that the most central point on the turnpike was at Cherry Hill.The commissioners then went to Hiddleson's and Sonestown, and thence to Lewis' Lake.The beauties of the lake, and its accessibility from the west of the county, were urged upon the attention of the commissioners.

††††††††††† The center location was in a dense wilderness.It could only be reached by the old glass-works road, never good, and at that time impassible for a carriage.The commissioners, however, on foot, or on horseback, made their way for six miles through the forest to the heavily timbered mountain plateau, called the geographical center of the county, and now Laporte.They returned to the lake, and thence down the rugged narrow road to Forksville.In the beautiful little valley at the forks of the big and little branches of the Loyalsock, they met a great number of people, and were shown that this was the most accessible point for the people of Forks, Elkland, Hillsgrove and Fox, and that the people of Shrewsbury and Davidson could reach Forksville more easily than Cherry Hill or Dushore.

††††††††††† After hearing the arguments on all sides, the commissioners adjourned for consideration, and, having duly considered the case, on the 19th of August, 1847, they met at the Center and drove the stake where the court-house now stands.The place was then named Laporte.The reasons given by the commissioners for the location was that in time the center would be found to be the most convenient location for all sections of the county.They were assured by those who represented the Meylert and Clymer interests that the land would be cleared and roads opened immediately, and suitable buildings erected for holding court and entertaining the public. The work of clearing land at Laporte and opening roads to it was commenced early in September.A log house was built to accommodate the workmen.It stood where the Baptist church now stands.In October the eastern part of the frame building now occupied by Mrs. M. C. Lauer, and known as the "Mountain House," was put up.Improvements were continued during the ensuing winter and spring.




††††††††††† The first election was held on the second Tuesday of October, 1847.The Democrats and Whigs nominated tickets as follows:


††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† DEMOCRATES.††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† WHIGS.

Prothonotary...........................................................................................................Alfred Bennett†††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† William E. King.

Recorder.................................................................................................................William Mullan.†††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Amos C. Wilber.

Treasurer................................................................................................................James Taylor.††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Daniel Little.

Commiss'n'rs...........................................................................................................William Lawrence.†† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Edward Hughes.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Joseph Molyneux.††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† George Bird.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Jacob Hoffa.††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† John Edkins.

Sheriff.....................................................................................................................Evan H. Phillips.†††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† William J. Eldred.

Auditors..................................................................................................................Richard Taylor.††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Powell Bird.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† J. S. Green.†††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Joseph Battin.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† Thomas King.††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† George Edkins.


††††††††††† The total vote polled was four hundred and sixty-three.The Democratic ticket was elected by an average majority of one hundred and eighty.The newly elected county commissioners were advised by their counsel that they could provide buildings for county uses in any part of the county, until the court-house should be erected.Accordingly they rented buildings on Cherry hill, and there opened the public offices.They obtained the use of the church building on the hill for the purpose of holding the first court.This action on the part of the county officers was sharply resented by those who favored the location of the county seat at Laporte, and they prepared for a battle royal in court.




††††††††††† The court of quarter sessions and common pleas was convened in the Evangelical church on Cherry hill June 5, 1848.Judge Anthony, of Williamsport, presided.A. J. Dietrick was sworn as district attorney.The church was crowded with people, and a great array of attorneys was in attendance.As soon as the grand jury was called, William Elwell, Esq., of Towanda, acting as attorney for Lewis Zaner, a defendant under recognizance, moved the court to quash the array of grand jurors, and discharge the said Zaner, a defendant, --- first, because the said defendant was called to appear at Cherrytown, whereas the seat of justice is at Laporte, nine or ten miles distant; second, because the grand jurors were drawn at Cherrytown, and not at Laporte, the county seat.Then followed an animated argument.The attorneys employed, and present, were Oliver Watson, Esq., James Gamble, Esq., and J. Hughes, Esq., of Williamsport; Joshua W. Comly, Esq., of Danville; Charles R. Buckalew, Esq., of Bloomsburg; J. M. B. Petriken, of Muncy; and William Elwell, Esq., and Ulysses Mercur, Esq., of Towanda.Joshua W. Comly let the opposition to the motion to quash the grand jury.After a full hearing, Judge Anthony sustained the motion to quash the array, and the court ended.The result was that the county offices were opened at Laporte in the building erected by Mr. Meylert.

††††††††††† On December 25, 1848, court convened at Laporte, with Hon. J. B. Anthony, president judge, and Hon. William Colley and Hon. John A. Speaker, associate judges.The next day the court adjourned, not to meet again until the first Tuesday June 1849.

††††††††††† Meanwhile petitions had been circulated and largely signed, and presented to the legislature early in the session of 1849, asking that commissioners be appointed to review the location of the county-seat. Accordingly an act was passed March 26, 1849, appointing Jedediah Irish, of Schuylkill county; Hon. William Jessup, of Susquehanna county, and the Hon. John H. Broadhead, of Pike county, to review, and if in their opinion it would prove necessary, to re-locate the county-seat.These commissioners met at Laporte on the 20th of June, 1849, and went from there to Cherry, and thence to Forksville.At the latter place, they had a public hearing, and a large crowd attended, as all the former excitement in the county was revived and intensified.The following is copied from the notes of Mr. William Meylert, who attended the meeting:

††††††††††† A mass meeting was held at the forks of the Loyalsock in November, 1849, when for nearly two days the evidence pro and con was presented, Hon. S. F. Headly and David Wilmot appearing in the interest of parties asking for removal, and Hon. J. R. Jones, William Elwell and Ulysses Mercur for Laporte.From papers preserved, it is believed that the names of fully six hundred petitioners were presented to the commissioners.Seven petitions favoring Laporte, containing two hundred and forty-six names, and as nearly as could be made out, one hundred of those names were from Cherry township.A large majority of the citizens of the western townships favored the location of either Millview or Forksville, but seemed to have united at the time on Forksville, as the location they desired.The local interests of that part of the country were favorably presented by the Hon. John A. Speaker.Much time was consumed in consideration of damages, which, in the event of removal, should be awarded to Clymer and Meylert and their assigns.Judge Wilmot was in the special employ of the county commissioners to defend the county interests.After his arguments had been attentively listened to, Mr. Mercur put forth his best efforts in reply.It is now believed that his address brought him in favor of many of the citizens who listened, and materially helped in the final settlement of the question.Judge Elwell gave some time in sifting evidence, but the events proved that he at the time had no hope that either evidence or argument would avail before a majority of the commissioners."

††††††††††† After a full hearing, the commissioners adjourned to meet at Wilkes-Barre.The Hon. William Jessup immediately left the county; Hon. John H. Broadhead and Jedediah Irish, Esq., went as far as the tavern of Mrs. Fairchild, where they stopped for the night.It was on Saturday evening, November 3, and they went out and drove a stake by moonlight for the site of a court-house, on a farm late the property of Freeman Fairchild, and made return that they had established the county-seat at that place.Their report was filed December 18, 1849.The county offices were removed back to Cherrytown soon after the December term of court held in Laporte that year.

††††††††††† Immediately thereafter the power of the legislature was again invoked.There was a contest at Harrisburg.Charges of bribery and fraud were made.After much contention the act of April 9, 1850, was passed, which repealed the act of March 26, 1849.The effect of this was to replace the county-seat at Laporte.The same act authorized the governor to appoint a new commission to review and if necessary re-locate the county-seat.The commissioners appointed by the governor were William Williamson, Frederick Watts and________________Early in the summer they took a carriage at Harrisburg and drove thence by the way of Laporte to Cherry, where they had their first meeting.They then drove to Forksville, and thence to Laporte.At the latter place they had a public meeting, when the whole subject was again discussed by citizens and lawyers.At this meeting it was contended that by reason of the first location at Laporte, Messrs. Meylert and Clymer had been induced to expend a large amount in clearing land, making roads and putting up buildings.The act of assembly provided that if the county-seat should now be removed the county would be liable in damages to them for the full amount of their said expenditures.A statement was submitted that their expenditures up to June 16, 1849, had been $13,739.61, and from that time to June, 1850, not less than sixteen dollars per day additional.There was a division among those who opposed Laporte.While the people in the western part of the county were unanimous for Forksville, they were quite as much opposed to Cherrytown as they were to Laporte, and a considerable feeling had arisen between the Cherrytown interest and Dushore.The latter point had been rapidly taking the business from Cherrytown, and a number of business men of Dushore expressed their opinion that a court-house and county offices on the hill (Cherrytown) would not be to their advantage.Influential men in Cherry township stated that they had rather go to Laporte than to Forksville to transact county business.

††††††††††† The commissioners in their report held that there was no sufficient reason for the removal of the county-seat from Laporte.This ended all practical efforts to remove the county-seat, but a feeling that injustice had been done lingered long in Cherry and the western townships.

††††††††††† The large building long known as the Laporte hotel was erected by Michael Meylert, in 1850, and a large room over the kitchen part was especially built for a court room.There was also a room for the commissioners' office, and another for the prothonotary and register and recorder.A strong plank house, one story high, was built for a jail.

††††††††††† At the time the controversy about the county seat was ended, there were living at Laporte only six families, to-wit: William A. Mason, William Fancher, John C. Wilson, Joseph B. Little, Alfred Bennett and Michael Meylert.The square reserved for the court house and park was dotted with huge hemlock stumps and decorated with rocks.All around the little clearing in every direction were miles of dense, primeval forest.The roads north, west and south were of the roughest kind --- barely passable.The nearest railroad was on the opposite side of the river from Muncy, about twenty-eight miles distant.There was one store in Laporte owned by James Phillips, and kept by his clerk, Walter Spencer; also a blacksmith shop, in which a German named Selzer did the work.At the presidential election of 1848 they were in the whole county three hundred and three votes cast for Lewis Cass electors; one hundred and forty-seven cast for Zachariah Taylor electors; and nineteen votes cast for Van Buren electors; total vote, four hundred and sixty-nine.

††††††††††† President Judge Joseph B. Anthony died between the September session, 1850, and the February session of 1851, and James Pollock was appointed to take his place.Judge Pollock came upon the bench at the February term, 1851.An act of the assembly had been passed providing that in Sullivan county one person should hold the office of prothonotary, register and recorder, clerk of the orphans' court, clerk of the quarter session, and court of the oyer and terminer.Alfred Bennett's term as prothonotary had expired, and William Mullan was elected to hold the office of prothonotary and the other offices combined with it in the act of assembly.Mr. Mullan therefore took his seat as prothonotary.Henry Metcalf, of Dushore, was qualified as district attorney.Lewis Zaner, of Cherry came in as sheriff.The resident attorneys at that time were A. J. Dietrick, Henry Metcalf and J. R. Jones.An attorney named Thomas L. Boileau came to Laporte in January of that year.He was passed middle age and evidently poor; had practiced law in Norristown.He was well educated, well read in the law, and said to belong to a family of excellent standing.He was gentlemanly in his manners and entertaining in his conversation.During the few weeks before court he had been employed in several cases.On the first day of the May term, he was admitted to the bar of Sullivan county.That night, for the first time in Laporte, he took liquor, and was soon drunk.He got into a row in the bar-room and flourished a knife like a crazy man.His conduct was so notorious that when court assembled in the morning the members of the bar petitioned the court to expel him from the bar.He was not in the court at the time, but Judge Pollock ordered his name to be stricken from the roll of attorneys.An hour afterward Boileau came into court and rose to present a petition and make a motion.Judge Pollock informed him that he had been expelled from the bar.Without a word he dropped his head and went out of the court-room.Half an hour afterward, with his little bundle tied in a handkerchief, he passed over the hill, on foot, toward Muncy and was never seen in Laporte again.




††††††††††† The first newspaper published in the county was the Sullivan Eagle, commencing with issue dated March 22, 1850.It was issued from an office on the turnpike, nearly opposite to Mrs. Fairchild's.The paper does not name its publishers, but the printer was R. H. Foster, who did all of the work.It was Democratic in politics, and A. J. Dietrick and Isaiah Bartley were among those who managed it.The paper was discontinued about the time the county-seat was permanently fixed at Laporte

COUNTY OFFICERS--------------------------------------------------------------CENSUS OF 1850----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------NEW




††††††††††† John Battin, of Fox, had been elected commissioner in 1849, and Griffith Phillips, of Davidson, had been elected in 1850; so that the board of commissioners consisted of Messrs. Hoffa, Battin and Phillips.A J. Dietrick, Esq., was appointed clerk and counsel.George Edkins, of Shrewsbury, had been elected county treasurer, and Hon. J. R. Jones acted as his deputy.

††††††††††† The census of 1850 was taken in Sullivan county by William J. Eldred.The population was as follows:


TOWNSHIPS.††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† MALES†† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† FEMALES††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† TOTAL††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† NO. OF DWELLINGS


Colley...........................................................................................97†††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †††† 87†††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††† 184††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †††† ††††††††††††††† 38

Cherry........................................................................................820†††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† †† 786†††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 1606††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††† 188

Davidson....................................................................................267††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 270†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 537†††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††90

Elkland........................................................................................210††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 199†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 409†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††73

Forks..........................................................................................173††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 170†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 343†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††61

Fox.............................................................................................121††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 112†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 233††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††41

Plunketts Creek & Hillsgrove..................................................... 105††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 94†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 199††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 35

Shrewsbury..............................................................................81†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 114††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 195††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 36

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† _____††††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ______††† ††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††† ______††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††† ______

Totals.......................................................................................1874†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 1832†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 3706†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††562

††††††††††† At that time there was one store in Forksville, kept by William J. Eldred; two in Dushore, --- one kept by J. Jackson & Sons, and the other by Cornelius Cronin; one store at Hillsgrove, kept by Augustus Lippincott; one at Millview, kept by ________ Birdsall; and one store at Laporte, kept by Walter Spencer.In 1851 Michael Meylert took the job of building a brick court-house, forty-four feet square, and three stories high.Stephen V. Shipman made the plans and superintended the work.The bricks were made within the limits of Laporte, and put in the walls before the season ended.The building was ready for use in the spring of 1852.It combined a court-room, four county offices, four cells for prisoners, and three rooms for the sheriff's family.




††††††††††† In the spring of 1851 Michael Meylert purchased the material and good will of the Sullivan Eagle.The old Franklin press, a relic of the past, was stowed away in the Laporte Hotel barn, where it remained a number of years as a curiosity.With a new Washington press and new type, the first number of the Sullivan Democrat was issued May 3, 1851.Meylert and Foster were the publishers and editors.In their first editorial they say:"There is a mine of interesting incidents connected with our peculiar local situation which ought to be worked.Sullivan county is the 'back-woods,' of which people in the lower counties used to talk so much.It is part of the 'far west' left behind in Pennsylvania, when the rest of the family emigrated beyond the Mississippi.The wildest parts of forest life are household words about our hearths, and told with a pen would be shining tales.Why may we not find a chief among us taking notes?If there should be, faith, we'll print 'em.'"The county statement for 1850 is published, in which George Edkin, treasurer, in his account with the county charges himself with $2,877.56, received, and credits himself with county expenditures, $2,370.07; commissions, $150.56; and shows a balance in his hands of $350.93.




††††††††††† By act of April 15, 1851, the counties of Bradford, Susquehanna and Sullivan were made to constitute the thirteenth judicial district, and at the general election of that year the opposing candidates for president judge were David Wilmot and William Elwell.Wilmot was elected.At the same election in the legislative district, composed of the counties of Susquehanna, Wyoming and Sullivan, Michael Meylert was elected a member of the assembly.John A. Speaker and William Colley were elected as associate judges; A. J. Dietrick was elected treasurer; William Reeser was elected commissioner.




††††††††††† The manner of carrying the mails in Sullivan county in 1851 is thus described in the Sullivan Democrat of June 3d;"The man from Bloomsburg comes to us on Monday evening, and returns to Bloomsburg on Tuesday.The man from Fishing Creek comes in on Tuesday morning, passing on to Muncy, returns here on Wednesday, and goes over to Cherry, where he receives the Towanda mail of Saturday (that of Tuesday being left at Monroeton; the mail starting from Monroeton half an hour before the mail reaches that place from Towanda), and returns here on Thursday."

††††††††††† Hon. David Wilmot, having been elected president judge of the thirteenth judicial district in the fall of 1851, first presided in the courts of Sullivan county at the February term in 1851.Judge Wilmot had previously served two or three terms in congress, and had attained a national reputation as the author of the Wilmot Proviso.He was afterward a United States senator.At the May term of court John B. Linn, Esq., of Lewisburg, was admitted to the bar.He located at Laporte and remained several years.Mr. Linn in later years was secretary of the commonwealth, and occupied other distinguished positions.

††††††††††† At the general election in October, 1852, John Mullan, Democrat, had three hundred and twenty votes, and John G. Bartch, Whig, had two hundred and forty votes as candidates for county commissioner.At the presidential election in November, Franklin Pierce, Democrat, received four hundred and twenty-six votes; Winfield Scott, Whig, received one hundred and seventy-seven votes; Martin Van Buren, Free Soil, received fifty-nine votes.

††††††††††† In 1852 the first steam whistle sounded in Sullivan county.In that year Michael Meylert erected a steam sawmill at Laporte.There were many sawmills in the county, but all, hitherto, had been run by water.In 1853 the Democrats nominated for representative, James Deegan, of Cherry; for sheriff, Jacob Hoffa, of Cherry, for prothonotary, Thomas J. Ingham, of Laporte; for treasurer, Richard Bedford, of Forks; for commissioner, Richard Taylor, of Davidson; for county surveyor, William A. Mason, of Laporte; for auditor, Cornelius Cronin, of Cherry.The Whigs nominated for sheriff, Amos C. Wilbur, of Davidson; for prothonotary, no nomination; for treasurer, no nomination; for commissioner, John Glidewell, of Davidson; for county surveyor, no nomination; for auditor, Jonathan Colley, of Colley.The strife was mostly on sheriff, and the Whig candidate was elected.Wilbur had three hundred and four votes and Hoffa two hundred and eighty-six, leaving a majority of eighteen for Wilbur.All the rest of the Democratic ticket was elected.The borough of Laporte was established by a decree of court, in quarter session at the September term, 1853, and the first election was held November 10, 1853.




††††††††††† While the controversy about the county seat was raging, Cherry Hill and Dushore were both thriving places, and there was doubt which would take the lead.As soon as it was fully established that the county seat would not be established at Cherrytown, the advantages of Dushore as a natural center for business prevailed.Business on the hill diminished, and rapidly increased in the valley.

††††††††††† Hon. S. F. Headley purchased from John Dieffenbach the mill privilege at the falls, and erected a new dam, and a gristmill and sawmill where John Dieffenbach's had been destroyed by the flood.Dr. Jackson erected a large storehouse on the opposite side of the street from the Samuel Jackson store-house, where a thriving business was conducted by J. Jackson & Sons for many years.The mercantile business established by Cornelius Cronin was continued and enlarged.Prior to 1851 Henry Huffman had a tannery and tanned upper leather.He was the father of Christian Huffman.E. D. Richard had a tailor shop and advertised that he would "give 'em fits."Morris Heisz had a liquor store.John W. Stiles had a store for a short time.Hon. S. F. Headly established a store near his mills, which was conducted by Arthur Robison and Joseph Gansel.In January, 1852, it was bought by James Deegan, who continued the business for some time, and was succeeded by a Mr. Shaffer, and afterward by John M. Heacock.

††††††††††† The portion of Dushore above the mills became known as Headlyville.About the year 1852, George H. Welles and F. N. Wilcox moved their store from New Albany to Dushore and erected the building now occupied as the corner drug store.The business was carried on by them until 1856, when Nelson W. Ackley was admitted as a partner.A dwelling house was built in 1855.In 1858 Mr. Welles purchased the interest of F. N. Wilcox, and the business continued in the name of Welles, Ackley & Company, which was continued until the death of Ackley in 1869, when his brother, Perrin R. Ackley, assumed his brother's interest.Mr. Welles moved to Dushore in 1859 and resided there until 1864, when he returned to Wyalusing.Mr. Welles continued his mercantile business at Dushore until quite recently.

††††††††††† Dushore borough was incorporated by the court of quarter sessions of Sullivan county in 1859.The number of votes at the first general election was forty-six.The increase in population in Dushore has been continuous and rapid.The business changes have been frequent.It is not within the scope of this history to follow these changes, or make a record of all the mercantile, manufacturing or other business enterprises which have been so numerous in the last forty years.It is now a prosperous town of twelve hundred inhabitants.




††††††††††† In 1854 the whole country was agitated by the Kansas-Nebraska act, and the question of extending slavery into these territories became the absorbing political topic.The people of Sullivan county shared in this excitement, and as usual differed in their opinions.The proceedings of a mass meeting held at Forksville, in August of that year, will serve to show the position taken by the Free Soil party.We copy from the report in the Sullivan County Democrat, as follows:

††††††††††† "At a large and enthusiastic mass meeting held at Forks of Loyalsock on the 16th inst., the following officers were chosen: Henry E. Shipman, president; Benjamin Huckell, Daniel Reynolds, Henry W. Dye, Joseph Woodhead, Reuben Battin, Edward Molyneux, David N. Travis and John P. Taggart, vice-presidents; A. J. Trout and Augustus Lippincott, secretaries.The object of the meeting having been stated, Hon. David Wilmot was called upon and addressed the assembly.His speech occupied three hours, and was listened to with the greatest attention.It was a clear, full and accurate statement of the policy of this government in reference to slavery from the period of its organization until the present time.He showed from history, and the debates in convention which framed the constitution, that the framers of our government never intended to recognize slavery as a national institution, and proceeded to point out the difference between their views and the views of those who claim to be peculiarly the expounders of the constitution and friends of the Union at the present day.He contrasted the opinions of Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Jackson, and many other Democrats of the early days of the republic, with the present race of party Democrats, whose principles are to get office.He declared his willingness to adhere to every doctrine in relation to slavery laid down by Jefferson or Madison.He believed in the Democracy laid down in the Declaration of Independence, and taught by those who fought in the Revolution; but he claimed no affinity with the degenerate race of office-seeking politicians who call themselves Democrats.We have no intention of giving an abstract of his lengthy and statesman-like speech, as we should fall far short of doing it justice.After Mr. Wilmot had closed T. J. Ingham presented resolutions setting forth in substance the principles of the Republican party.

††††††††††† "The question on the passage of the resolutions was taken by a rising vote, and the whole assembly voted for the resolutions and not one against them.An address and resolutions adopted by citizens of Colley township, fully endorsing the resolutions of the Independent Democratic meeting held in Elkland, July 4th, were then presented to the meeting and received with marks of approbation.

††††††††††† "On motion it was resolved that the president appoint a standing committee, to be composed of one voter from each election district, who duties shall be the same as are usually performed by standing committees.The president appointed the following gentlemen to be the said committee, viz.:S. H. Daddow, J. T. Stalford, Daniel Little, Levi Rogers, P. E. Armstrong, T. J. Ingham, Isaac Keller, Wheeler Green, Joseph Woodhead, Reuben Battin, T. J. Ingham; chairman.

††††††††††† "On motion it was resolved that three persons be appointed by the president to confer or correspond with Anti-Nebraska men in other counties of this congressional district, and after such conference and correspondence to recommend a suitable candidate to be supported by the people at the next election.The president appointed Thomas J. Ingham, Levi Rogers and J. P. Taggart said committee.The thanks of the assembly were tendered to Mr. Wilmot for his address, after which the meeting adjourned.

††††††††††† "HENRY SHIPMAN, President."

††††††††††† "A. J. TROUT,†††††††††††† Secretary."

††††††††††† "A. LIPPINCOTT,†††††††† Secretary."


††††††††††† In the same issue of the Sullivan Democrat, which contained the foregoing proceedings, appeared the following notice:



††††††††††††††† The Democratic citizens of Sullivan county are requested to meet at the Forks of Loyalsock on Wednesday, the 30th of August, at 10 o'clock A. M.The object of the meeting is to vindicate the Democratic party from the charge made against it by the Hon. David Wilmot of being the "Slavery propagandist Democracy", and of defining the true position of the party on the slavery question.The meeting is called more especially by the Democrats of the western townships, but all others are earnestly requested to attend.


††††††††††† The writer has made diligent search for the copy of the Democrat containing the proceedings of the mass meeting held in pursuance of the call, but has been unable to find it.It is remembered however, that able speakers were present, and took the ground that Bigler did not favor the extension of slavery, but held to the Douglas plan of popular sovereignty.

††††††††††† The majority for William Bigler in the county at the next election was eighty-eight.

††††††††††† In the ensuing year the independent Democratic organization of Sullivan county, following the general movement of the Anti-slavery party in all of the northern states, adopted the name of Republicans, and the hitherto Whig party ceased to exist as a party.The Whigs, almost without exception, were merged into the Republican organization.

††††††††††† At the general election of 1855 the Democratic ticket was: --- for senator, Aaron J. Dietrick; for members of the assembly, Oliver Lathrop and John V. Smith; for treasurer, James Dunn; for commissioner, Samuel K. McBride; for auditor, George D. Jackson.The Republican ticket was:For senator, Andrew Gregg; for members of the assembly, Thomas J. Ingham and O. G. Hempstead; for treasurer, John S. Green; for commissioner, William Glidewell; for auditor, J. W. Hogeland.The contest was animated, and resulted as follows: majority for Dietrick, seventy-three; majority for Ingham, over Smith, one hundred and forty-nine; majority for Ingham over Lathrop, ninety-five, majority for Green, ninety-one; majority for McBride, one hundred and twenty-six; majority for Jackson, two hundred and eighty.In the senatorial district Andrew Gregg was elected.In the assembly district Thomas J. Ingham and John V. Smith were elected.




††††††††††† In 1855 the first murder was perpetrated in this county.The trial was held at the February court, 1856.John Michael Kamm and Anna Vietengruber were indicted for the murder of John George Vietengruber.Henry Metcalf was district attorney, and A. J. Dietrick was engaged for the defense.There was evidence that John George Vietengruber was living with his family at Elk Lake in 1855; that John Michael Kamm was living with them; that in the summer of that year Vietengruber was missing, and that it was reported that he had gone away.The neighbors were suspicious that there had been foul play, but there was no evidence that he had been murdered.In the fall Joseph McCarty, being in the woods near the lake, observed a place which looked as if a person had been buried, but he did not investigate closely, as it was near night.The next day he took some neighbors with him and went to examine the place.They were surprised to find that during the night the grave had been opened, and from all appearances a human body removed.They found hair, finger or toe nails, and some other indications that a decaying body had lain there.The circumstances were very strongly against Kamm and Mrs. Vietengruber, and they were arrested for murder and lodged in jail at Laporte.After diligent search the body of Vietengruber could not be found.

††††††††††† When the trial commenced no certain evidence could be adduced that Vietengruber was dead.It seemed as though the defendant would certainly escape.The prosecution, however, made the most of their case.They introduced testimony showing the absence of Vietengruber, the finding of a grave in the vicinity, where a body had been buried, the removal of the body in the night, and then proved that all the clothes he had still remained in the house.A young son of Vietengruber was on the stand as a witness, and the clothes of Vietengruber were brought to be identified, for the inspection of the jury, when Mrs. Vietengruber, in hysterical excitement, suddenly arose and pointing her finger at Kamm, exclaimed: "He did it!"Instantly Kamm said in a hissing whisper, but so sharp it could be heard all over the room: "Hist, Anna, hist!'Then Mrs. Vietengruber began to rave in a frenzied manner, and the trial had to be suspended.This occurred at five o'clock Saturday afternoon, and the court adjourned until Monday.Mrs. Vietengruber remained in the same condition on Monday, and the court adjourned until Tuesday.On that day the jury found that she was incapable of making her defense, and as against her, the court suspended the trial, and proceeded with the trial of Kamm.

††††††††††† Meanwhile Kamm had made a confession.He admitted he had killed Vietengruber, but said it was in self-defense; that Vietengruber came at him with a knife while he was chopping wood, and he struck Vietengruber with his axe, and that, being alarmed, he buried the body in the woods; that he was around when McCarty found the grave, that he went that night with a bed-tick, and took up the body, which he carried into the lake as far as he could, and sunk it with stones.His confession did not avail him, and the jury found him guilty of murder in the first degree.

††††††††††† His counsel made a motion for a new trial, to be heard at the ensuing term.When spring opened, search was made and the body of Vietengruber was found in the lake, in accordance with Kamm's confession.The wound upon the head, however, did not agree with Kamm's statement.Experts who examined the skull testified that he must have been struck with the axe while lying down.He was probably murdered while asleep.On the 27th of May, 1856, Kamm was sentenced to be hanged.He was executed in the jail-yard erected for the purpose on the north side of the court-house.Mrs. Vietengruber was never tried.She was allowed to run away.




††††††††††† In 1856 the presidential election occurred in which James Buchanan was the Democratic candidate for president, and John C. Fremont, the Republican candidate.The people of Sullivan county were as well stirred up as any other county in the state.Public meetings of both political parties were held in nearly every schoolhouse in the county.

††††††††††† An act of the legislature had been passed April 22, 1856, forming a new judicial district, consisting of the counties of Columbia, Wyoming and Sullivan.Governor Pollock appointed the Hon. Warren J. Woodward, of Luzerne county, to be president judge.At the ensuing general election he was elected without much opposition.In later years he became a judge of the supreme court.The same year the Hon. William A. Mason and the Hon. William Smith were elected associate judges; Samuel Craft was elected sheriff; William Colley was elected prothonotary.The majority for Buchanan over Fremont was one hundred and eight-six.

††††††††††† In 1857 the Democratic candidate for governor was the Hon. William F. Packer; the Republican candidate was the Hon. David Wilmot.Both candidates were from counties adjoining Sullivan, and both were well and favorably known to the people, but the election did not turn on the personal merits of the candidates.The free-soil issue was still prominent.The Democrats carried the whole ticket by an increased majority.Packer's majority over Wilmot was two hundred and twenty-seven.Walter Spencer, of Laporte, was elected county treasurer; John Dieffenbach, of Cherry, was elected county commissioner.The total vote on governor was seven hundred and fifty-nine.In the presidential election of 1860 the people of Sullivan county shared alike with other sections of the country in the excitements of that campaign.The vote, as shown by the returns, stood as follows:For Abraham Lincoln, four hundred and twenty-nine; for Stephen A. Douglas, four hundred and ninety-seven.




††††††††††† When the war of the Rebellion opened, the people of Sullivan county, generally speaking, without regard to party lines, declared in favor of the preservation of the Union.From the Sullivan County Democrat (the only newspaper published in the county) of the date of April 19, 1861, we quote the following editorial:

††††††††††† "Never was a greater excitement produced than by the news of the assault upon Fort Sumter, and its subsequent surrender.Persons could not realize the fact that a fort so strong could be taken in so short a time without producing more mischief to those who were assailing it, and when it was announced that no one was injured by the firing, disbelief of the news was very generally expressed.

††††††††††† "The intelligence is substantially confirmed by dispatches received yesterday, published in another column.We do not pretend to explain the apparent inconsistencies, which fuller advices may reconcile, but accept the main facts as true.Fort Sumter has pulled down the proud flag which has floated so long over its walls.War, offensive and unprovoked, has been inaugurated by the Confederate states against the government and people of the United States, and we must prepare for the realities.

††††††††††† "We have ever advocated in this paper the cause of conciliation and peace.We hoped that the spirit of sectional strife and discord might be allayed without bloodshed; and that the states could continue to move forward together under the constitution handed down by our fathers.In this we have been disappointed --- war has actually begun.Seven states are in arms and have openly proclaimed their intention to seize the capital of the United States.

††††††††††† "Without regard to the causes which have led to this deplorable state of affairs, it becomes the duty of every patriot to stand by and uphold the flag of our Union.The star and stripes, which have floated over so many battlefields and been honored in every nation of the world, must not now be dishonored and trampled under foot upon our own soil.

††††††††††† "It is idle to pursue the temporizing and procrastinating policy in hopes to preserve the Union by conciliation alone.It has been tried, and it has failed; for every concession has only been replied to by fresh insults and renewed preparations for still greater aggressions.During the whole period that the secessionists have been decrying coercion, they have been steadily preparing for war, and that now they have made their plans complete, they have thrown off the flimsy disguise of defensive preparation, and boldly proclaimed their purpose is offensive war against the national government.

††††††††††† "In face of such facts as these it is criminal neglect of our duty any longer to delay being prepared to strike when the encounter does come, and to strike such a blow for our country as will make its enemies quail, and treason and rebellion forever hide their heads.The government should act vigorously, act promptly, and act for success.Thoroughly prepared for the worst emergency, we shall find success an easier task."

††††††††††† The enthusiasm of the people was in full accord with the sentiments expressed by the editor of the Democrat.A news item in the same paper said:

††††††††††† "Dushore, April 18, 1861.Three hundred guns were fired at this place this morning in honor of Major Anderson, with a full determination to stand by the Union, and support the Constitution of the United States.The flag of our country is floating in the breeze, and long may it wave."

††††††††††† From the Democrat of May 10, 1861: "A union meeting was held in Colley township on Monday, April 29.William Bartly was chosen president; Daniel Mosier and Henry Dieffenbach, vice-presidents; and Asa Adams, secretary.Addresses were made by William Bartley, S. V. McVey, J. T. Hested, R. Jackson, Joseph Gansel, William R. Campbell and L. D. Oden.Judging from the report sent us the meeting was very enthusiastic and cheerful."

††††††††††† From the Democrat of May 24: "The flag that was made by the good ladies of this borough last week was hoisted from a pole opposite the residence of C. C. Finch, on Muncy street, on Saturday morning last at about 4 o'clock.The cheering was long, and particularly by the ladies.A few appropriate and enthusiastic remarks were made by T. J. Ingham, Esq., after which three cheers were given for the speaker, three for the fair ladies who made the flag, and three for the Union."

††††††††††† From the Democrat of May 31: "A beautiful flag was thrown to the breeze on a suitable staff, at the residence of John Simmons, in Davidson township, on the afternoon of the 25th, in the presence of a large number of people.A meeting was organized by the selection of O. P. Johnson, president; James Taylor and Robert Taylor, vice-presidents; addresses were delivered by John R. Neily, Peter Sones, and others.The 'Star Spangled Banner' was sung by the ladies, after which the meeting adjourned, amid three cheers for the Union and flag of our country."

††††††††††† There were similar demonstrations of the people in all parts of the county, but full reports have not been preserved.The substantial fruits of this enthusiasm soon appeared in the enlistment of soldiers.The first prominent men who offered their services were Henry Metcalf, of Dushore, and the Hon. J. R. Jones, of Lewis' Lake.The location of Bradford county on the east, and Lycoming county at the west, drew a number of volunteers into organizations out of the county, and for which other counties have had credit.

††††††††††† The first distinctive organization in Sullivan county was a company led by Henry Metcalf, who was elected captain.This company assembled at Laporte, on the 3d of September, 1861, and went thence to Philadelphia, where they were mustered into the Fifty-eighth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers.Hon. J. R. Jones took some volunteers with him to Philadelphia, where they joined the Fifty-eighth Regiment, of which he was made colonel.This regiment was ordered to Norfolk, Virginia, where it remained for some time.Subsequently it was ordered to Newbern, North Carolina, and in May, 1863, while acting as brigadier-general, he captured a large force of rebels at a place called Green Swamp.Shortly after returning to his camp near Newbern, his forces were attacked by the Confederates, and he was shot through the breast.His body was brought to Philadelphia, and after lying in state in Independence Hall it was taken to Roxborough, where he was buried with the honors of war, in the Leverington cemetery, where a monument has been erected to his memory.

††††††††††† Captain Metcalf was promoted to be major on the 10th of June, 1863, and continued in active service until April 5, 1864, when he resigned, to attend to important business interests at home.He died suddenly, at Dushore, on the 23d of December, 1864.

††††††††††† In the summer of 1862 enlistments were constant.Henry R. Dunham, of Laporte, and Henry S. Dieffenbach, of Dushore, were active in forming a company.The company assembled at Laporte, August 25th, and immediately went on to Harrisburg to be mustered into the United States service.


Dunham became first lieutenant, and Dieffenbach second lieutenant, and the company was designated as Company K, One Hundred and Forty-first Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers. Lieutenant Dieffenbach died in the service.Lieutenant Dunham afterward became captain in another regiment and served until the end of the war, but was so broken in health that he did not long survive.James Deegan, of Cherry, and his brother, Jeremiah Deegan, also were active in forming a company, and the former was made captain, the latter a lieutenant.Both survived the war, but their brother, Thomas Deegan, who went with them, was killed.

††††††††††† It would not be just to the memory of the intelligent and patriotic young men --- the very flower of the country --- who entered the service as privates, not to record their services.They were largely composed of the best educated and most respectable young men of the county.Their numbers, however, and the impossibility of gathering all the facts is a bar to relating their achievements.It is not possible to give all their names, but we give as full a list as can be now obtained, as follows:

††††††††††† Cherry township --- George Baumgartner, Anthony Baumgartner, Adam M. Baumgartner, Lewis M. Zaner, E. M. Zaner, William Graul, Joseph Huffmaster, John Dunne, John Kinsley, John Hartzig, Charles Kinsley, Joseph Sick, Samuel Bahr, William Burke, John Huffmaster, Joseph T. Hested, William Scott, Jefferson Colley, Charles Arey, Hiram Kisner, Felix Timmons, Ira Bentley, John Henley, Green Henley, Daniel Prichard, John S. Dieffenbach, George W. Thrasher, Ellis Persun, John McCracken, John McCracken, Jr., Thomas McCracken, Francis Bennett, Miles McDonald, John Thrall, Charles Kneller, Samuel McNeal, Jeremiah Deegan, Alfred Cole, John J. Hoffa, Charles Murnna, J. Yarrington, James Deegan, William Deegan, Henry Stahl, Jeremiah Mooney, Henry Hileman, Nathan Persun, John Mooney, George Harlocher, Thomas Deegan, Lewis Oten, Henry Dieffenbach, H. H. Hartman; total number, fifty-three.

††††††††††† Colley township --- Daniel V. Prichard, Lewis D. Potter, Charles Schock, C. B. Potter, John G. Graub, Hector Prichard, Major Scouten, Lyman Brown, Taper Hunsinger, Peter Mosier, Nathan L. Brown, total number, eleven.

††††††††††† Davidson township --- G. W. Simmons, J. N. Simmons, Daniel Phillips, A. Biggers, Peter Sones, J. W. Speary, B. C. Speary, T. Edgar, T. Glidewell, E. Gower, J. Bennett, T. S. Simmons, S. Wilbur, C. W. Larish, F. N. Larish, D. Larish, W. F. Lansh, Simpson S. Simmons, D. S. Simmons, G. W. Pennington, James Speary, D. M. Speary, William Arms, G. A. Skinner, C. F. Skinner, D. Taylor, C. S. Taylor, P. Miller, T. A. Dent, William Lorah, G. T. Phillips, William Wilson, J. Gower, E. S. Howell, B. Horn, J. J. Miller, J. Lorah, G. W. Biggers, S. Swank, C. Martin, J. N. Hazzen, Asa Speary, C. Miller, E. Smith, Jacob Wilson, C. Glidewell, Jackson Phillips, J. Biggers, Washington Sheets, Nelson Johnson, total number, fifty.

††††††††††† Elkland township --- Jonas Bedford, William Bedford, Edmund Bedford, Henry Bedford, George F. Bedford, William E. Bedford, George Bedford, Joseph Bedford, Charles M. Boyles, Charles Webster, James H. Pardoe, Charles Grange, William Boyles, Joseph Black, Henry Grange, George W. Glidewell, John T. Caless, George N. Pardoe, William Norton, James Norton, Nicholas Snyder, Charles Merritt, Samuel Gilbert, George Webster, William Whitely, Vinson McCarty, Daniel Vargason, Albert Hess, Ferdinand Hess, Thomas Merritt, Charles King, Chester King, Henry Jefferson, Edward Boyles, William Huckell, Henry Molyneux, Ellis Molyneux, John C. Warburton, George W. Warburton, William Warren, John Merritt; total number, forty-one.

††††††††††† Fox township --- Alfred Warburton, C. M. Battin, W. M. White, M. Porter, C. N. Porter, John Porter, Peter Brown, H. Y. Porter, Aaron Brown, Samuel Brown, H. D. Dickerson, Nathan Porter, D. H. Richardson, U. Hoagland, Cornelius Rightmire, H. N. Hoagland, E. P. Fanning, W. P. Fanning, Sanford Fanning, Ezra Williams, Samuel Hosier, Peter Hosier, Sanford Williams, A. L. Shaddock, M. I. Shaddock, L. H. Shaddock, John Rundell, R. M. Wheeler, S. D. Wheeler, Usel Wheeler, George Wheeler, John D. Wheeler, Rollin Harrison, Isaac Harvey, Isaac Harvey, Jr., James Harvey Jr., William Harvey, George Harvey, Alvin Heath, Daniel Porter, S. S. Connell, Philander Gilbert, John Brenchley, Chester Brenchley, Thomas Cooley, Alonzo Foster, John Backer, Benjamin Kilmer, J. M. Letts, Jethro Battin, Hiram Boughton, Hiram Woodhead, J. Warburton, Jerry Butler; total number, fifty-four.

††††††††††† Forks township --- William Rogers, Samuel Molyneux, Henry Hunsinger, Wm. Bedford, Henry Epler, Joel L. Molyneux, James Rinebold, George M. Pardoe, James Corcoran, N. W. Farrell, J. C. Warburton, Solomon Hottenstine, E. R. Warburton, H. Hottenstine, George Luke, F. Luke, William Luke, M. Little, Samuel Black, Thomas Rogers, S. S. Rogers, Isaac Smith, Theodore P. Wilkinson, John W. Rogers, Ezra Rogers, Henry F. Black, Henry W. Baldwin, William Campbell, H. Campbell, Speaker Osler, Amasa Baker, George W. Little, Edward Frank, John Hottenstine, David Vough, George W. Davidson, Charles Hunsinger, Charles Shaffer, George Wanck, J. Tayne, David Frear, Joseph Kester, E. Gongler, George Neely, Daniel M. Ginley, Richard Johnson, P. W. Johnson, Lons Rinebold; total number, forty-eight.

††††††††††† Hillsgrove township --- E. W. Snell, B. F. Snell, William Snell, Luther C. Snell, Charles Snell, David Bryan, Samuel Bryan, Losson Bryan, Jacob Sherman, Benjamin Bryan, William Lancaster, Herman Molyneux, Philip Finsel, Sylvester Green, George Green, Samuel Yaw, David R. Davis, Thomas Craven, John C. Craven, Lucian Bothwell, John C. Campbell, William Campbell, Henry Campbell, William J. Warner, Lewis Warner, Richard McBride, William McBride, Peter Hummel, Reuben Bostwick, James Northrop, William Cox, Jack Gilson, Eli Dickerson; total number, thirty-three.

††††††††††† Laporte borough --- Joseph C. Pennington, Charles W. Converse, Oliver G. King, Jacob S. Stevenson, Isaac L. Low, John J. Low, H. M. Stevenson, M. M. Fiester, Samuel H. Buck, Isaac Sones, C. Reed, M. H. Traugh, Franklin Horn, Freeman Horn, T. J. Pennington, Andrew Glidewell, Mahlon Whitbeck, George N. Stevenson, Ezra Zeliff; total number, nineteen.

††††††††††† Shrewsbury township --- George W. Craft, George W. Smith, Jr., Alfred Little, Theodore Taylor, A. J. Taylor, George Vietengruber, George Clark, David Bubb, Charles Prescott, John U. Fiester, Henry Edkin, Thomas Edkin, John Hoss, Henry Koons, William Winders, Stewart Winders, John R. Jones, John W. Bennett, Henry Brown, Josiah Emery, Richard Green; total number, twenty-one.

††††††††††† The total number, as we have it here is three hundred and forty-two, which is almost one-third of the highest number of votes at that time polled in Sullivan county.

††††††††††† There were no companies, or squads of men enlisted in Sullivan county after those already mentioned, but many persons went away, by ones, twos and threes, and enlisted in other counties.They were assigned to old regiments, where most needed, and it has been found impossible to get a complete list of them all.

††††††††††† When those whose age, circumstances, temperament, and enthusiasm had inclined them to enlist, had entered the service, there was still a demand for more men, which necessarily compelled a draft. The first United States draft was made in September, 1863, Sullivancounty having been exempt from the previous state draft, by having supplied her full quota of volunteers.From this government draft she was also justly entitled to exemption, having already furnished more than the number called for.The number of her volunteers in service was two hundred and seventy-seven, when the number charged against the county was only two hundred and forty-four, as shown by the report of the adjutant general, contained in the legislature record of 1863.An enrollment, however, was made.A number enlisted voluntarily before the draft, and some were drafted.The draft of March 10, 1864, reached a number of citizens in this county who promptly reported and generally made good soldiers.A few sent substitutes, which cost from six to seven hundred dollars each.In some instances substitutes made their escape after being mustered into service, and in rare cases drafted men failed to report.There is quite a list of deserters, but not more in proportion than in the other counties of the state.

††††††††††† In the latter part of 1862, the criticism of the Lincoln administration in some of the city newspapers produced its effect in the country; and the citizens of Sullivan county fell into their party currents.The Democratic party of the county kept pace with the party in the state, and while asserting their loyalty to the Union, severely condemned the administration in the conduct of the war.A few took strong grounds in favor of peace at any price, and were so sympathetic with the south that they were called "Copperheads."There never was a time when this class had a majority of the Democrats in Sullivan county. The Democratic party, however, in 1863 took a determined stand against the administration of Governor Curtin, in this state, and of President Lincoln, in the nation; and the political warfare, which had been like a truce for nearly two years, became a hot battle at the polls in 1863.

††††††††††† The candidates for governor were Andrew G. Curtin, Republican, and George W. Woodward, Democrat.The result in the county was seven hundred and thirteen votes for Woodward, and three hundred and fifty-nine for Curtin; majority for Woodward, three hundred and fifty-four.The Democratic county ticket was all elected, as follows:For assembly, George D. Jackson; for treasurer, Walter Spencer; for commissioner, John F. Keeler.

††††††††††† The presidential election of 1864 was the most intensely embittered of any election hitherto held in the county.The position taken by the Sullivan County Democrat is indicated by the following editorial taken from its issue of November 4, 1864:

††††††††††† "The policy of Mr. Lincoln is the emancipation and equality of the Negro, at the expense of all the rights and interests of the free white men and women of America.For the benefit of the Negro, he is now prolonging the war.For the Negro, he is adding millions daily to the national debt. For the Negro, he is now increasing the burthensome taxation which is pressing down the people of the north. For the Negro, he is now ordering quarterly conscriptions, and dragging away from their homes and families the white men of the nation.For the Negro, he is now sneering at the Union and trampling upon the constitution.Let white men think of these things. Let every Democrat in Sullivan county be at the polls on Tuesday next, and vote for McClellan and Pendleton!"

††††††††††† No Republican newspaper being at that time published in the county, no authentic sample of their campaign publications can be cited, but it is recollected that public meetings were held by both parties in almost every school-house in the county, and the issues discussed before crowded audiences by the ablest speakers in the county on both sides.The result was for McClellan six hundred and seventy votes; for Lincoln three hundred and sixty-nine votes, --- majority for McClellan three hundred and one.A few days after election an incident occurred which caused considerable excitement in the county and which is thus related in the Democrat of November 9, 1864: " On Saturday last our usually quiet town was visited for the first time, which caused no little amazement, by a troop of horsemen numbering about thirty, under command of Captain Lambert, and accompanied by Captain Silvers, a deputy provost marshal.Their mission was to arrest all drafted persons who had not reported, and convey them to headquarters, where their respective cases are to find adjustment.They rode good horses, were well armed, and orderly in their behavior while in this place.We understand that a rendezvous is to be appointed at Dushore, where two hundred men are to be stationed, and all conscripts who have not reported themselves are to be ferreted out and meet with their just dues."The men in hiding mostly escaped to the woods and no record is found of any arrests made.




††††††††††† In March, 1864, Hon. George D. Jackson representative from Sullivan county, presented the legislature the petition of P. E. Armstrong, representing God's people worshipping at Celesta, Sullivan county, asking the passage of a resolution that the people of Celesta, Sullivan county, while conforming to the faith they profess, be considered peaceable aliens, and religious wilderness exiles from the rest of the commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† As soon as the somewhat lengthy petition was read, Mr. Cochran, of Philadelphia, moved that the petition be referred to the committee on divorce.{Laughter}.Mr. Alleman:"I move to amend by providing that it be referred to the 'fancy committee,' --- the committee on federal relations."Mr. Jackson:"I move that it be referred to the committee on the judiciary general.Whatever may be thought of the people who have requested me to present this petition, whatever opinion may be formed of that people from hearing that petition read, --- I must say one thing:They are a sect that have come into the county of Sullivan, and have chosen a piece of land on the mountain tops.They are building a home for themselves.While I believe they are monomaniacs on this one point, they are good citizens of the county; they live sober and industrious lives and while I do not believe in their doctrines, I believe that they have the right equally with the citizens of this commonwealth, to send their petitions to this house, and I hope that this memorial will be treated with respect."The petition was referred to the committee on the judiciary general.

††††††††††† Mr. Armstrong, who presented the petition alluded to, had some years previously laid out a village in Laporte township, between the county-seat and Lewis Lake, which he named Celesta.He was a believer in the second advent of Christ, and founded his belief on the prophesies in the Bible.He was a man of ability, and had studied the Scriptures with great attention.From his premises he could make a strong argument in favor of his religious belief.He made a large clearing in the wilderness, put up a number of buildings, purchased printing materials and published a newspaper at Celesta called the Day Star of Zion.He gathered around him quite a number of those who shared his belief.He held that it was his duty to prepare the way for the second coming, and to that end he dedicated all his landed property to the Lord.He made out, and had recorded in the recorder's office, a deed which has excited great attention.It was the conveyance of a square mile of land to "Almighty God and his heirs in Jesus Messiah."

††††††††††† The deed, dated June 14, 1864, sets forth as its inducement that he "is taught by the inspired word of God and his Holy Spirit that his children should not claim or own any property, but should consecrate unto God all things they possess for the common good of the people who are waiting for his Son from heaven, and who are willing to live together in holy fellowship, relying upon his word and bounty, and to the end that his saints may be fully separate from the world and gathered together and enjoy the light and liberty which they did in the once faithful days of theocracy."

††††††††††† Although the legislature took no further notice of his petition, Mr. Armstrong acted on the assumption that the land conveyed was sacred ground and not within the jurisdiction of state or national authorities. He, consequently, refused to pay taxes. The result was that the collector sold his sheep for personal property taxes and the county treasurer sold his land for unseated land taxes.Finding that his hope of founding an independent community could not be accomplished, he left the place and returned with his family to Philadelphia.

††††††††††† The writer was intimately acquainted with Mr. Armstrong and respected him very much.He was a well educated, honest and trustworthy man and entirely sincere in his religious convictions.The land sold at treasurer's sale was purchased by his son, A. T. Armstrong, who holds it by treasurer's deed at this time.

††††††††††† On Thursday, October 1, 1863, the Dushore Union, a new paper, was started at Dushore, by S. F. Lathrop.Mr. Lathrop had formerly been connected with the Sullivan County Democrat, and had acted as clerk to the commissioners.The Dushore Union was established as an independent paper, but was strongly committed to the prosecution of the war.The paper was published about a year.It was well printed and ably conducted.In 1864 the publication was suspended and Mr. Lathrop enlisted and went to the war.




††††††††††† When Richmond was taken and Lee's army was captured at Appomattox, there was no telegraph line which reached Sullivan county, but the news came quickly and caused great rejoicing.It was at once determined to have a jubilee in the court-house at Laporte.The court-house was crammed full of people --- Democrats and Republicans, men and women, old and young, were in harmony, and congratulatory speeches and cheering abounded.Before the meeting closed a rumor came that President Lincoln had been shot.It was met by incredulity and could not be verified.The next morning, however, at daylight the flag on the liberty pole was at half mast and all the people mourning.

††††††††††† The second paper published in Laporte was the Sullivan Free Press, which was established about October 1, 1865.The press and materials were purchased by T. J. Ingham; John T. Brewster, who was a practical printer, became the publisher.John T. Brewster and T. J. Ingham were the editors.It was Republican in politics.In the spring of 1869 Mr. Brewster purchased a press and printing materials, and continued the publication of the Free Press for awhile at Laporte, and then removed to Dushore and continued it there until 1872.

††††††††††† June 28, 1872, a campaign newspaper was started at Laporte, called the Grant Standard.E. V. Ingham was publisher, T. J. Ingham and E. V. Ingham, editors. About the middle of October, in the same year, Mr. Ingham purchased the materials and good will of the Sullivan Free Press, then published at Dushore, from John T. Brewster, and, soon after the presidential election, the name of the Grant Standard was changed to the Press and Standard.With that name the publication was continued by E. V. Ingham until 1876, when Mr. Ingham, having engaged in the mercantile business, discontinued it.The press and materials used for the Press and Standard were leased to W. H. McCarty, who, in July, 1882, started a new paper, Democratic in politics, called the Democratic Sentinel.Mr. McCarty published it one year, then sold the lease and good will of the paper to James A. Gallagher, who as editor and publisher continued the publication at Laporte until 1885, when he removed it to Dushore, and in company with Frank Boyd published it for a year, and then discontinued it.

††††††††††† E. V. Ingham, having retained an interest in the press and materials, removed them back to Laporte, where they were leased to Dr. W. B. Hill, who published the Campaign Democrat for a few months.

††††††††††† In February, 1878, Alfred B. Bowman opened a job-printing office at Dushore, and on the 28th of that month issued the Dushore Review, in the shape of a four-column quarto, and it continued in this form until August, 1878, when it was enlarged to a six-column quarto. Its name was then changed to the Sullivan Review.January 5, 1881, Mr. Bowman sold his establishment to E. A. Strong and William S. Holmes.Mr. Holmes was a practical printer and had been foreman in the Press and Standard office.Mr. Strong was a business man and had been superintendent of common schools.They continued the partnership until June 16, 1883, when it was dissolved by the death of Mr. Holmes.Mr. Strong was sole proprietor until September 1, 1887, when he sold it to Fred Newell, its present editor and publisher.Mr. Newell had been foreman in the office for some time before he purchased it.

††††††††††† In the summer of 1882 J. W. Gould commenced a newspaper in Dushore, called the Dushore Record.It was published about three months and then removed to Towanda.

††††††††††† It should be mentioned here that the publication of the Sullivan County Democrat was suspended soon after the death of Michael Meylert, in 1883.The press and materials were purchased by Samuel F. Colt, Jr., who established the Sullivan Republican at Laporte, about the middle of February, 1883.He sold it to William M. Cheney, in 1884, who continued its publication until March, 1896.He then discontinued the newspaper, and sold the materials and good will to Victor C. Hugo.Mr. Hugo revived the name of Sullivan Democrat, and published the first number April 3, 1896.It was published for one year, and then suspended.Soon after the Sullivan Republican was suspended, the Sullivan Publishing Company purchased a new press and materials, and established the Republican News Item at Laporte.The first number was issued in May, 1896.Charles L. Wing leased the plant and has continued as publisher and editor until the present time.

††††††††††† The Sullivan Gazette was established by George Streby in Dushore; the first number was issued February 16, 1887.In politics it is Democratic.It has been successful from the start, and its publication still continues by the original proprietor.





Lehigh Valley Railroad Station Depot
Dushore, PA
Early Twentieth Century
Original Photo Taken by Charles W. Hoffa
Posted on eBay in February 2003

††††††††††† During the fall of 1851, Michael Meylert engaged with prominent business men in Towanda with a view of locating the Towanda & Catawissa Railroad so as to reach the Sullivan coal fields, and make its southern terminus at Catawissa.From Mr. Meylert's previous knowledge of the country, from surveys made by him and William A. Mason, he believed a feasible route could be found, and engaged Major E. McNeil to superintend the survey.The survey was made during the month of November, 1851, and during the following winter Mr. Meylert, who was at that time a member of the legislature, procured the passage of an act, supplementary to the original act, authorizing the building of the Towanda & Catawissa Railroad, by which a company could make such connections with other roads, and have as full authority over any part, as though they had completed the whole road.This subsequently became the basis for other legislation by which the Muncy Creek Railway and that of the Sullivan & State Line, obtained their charters and had surveys of the Sullivan coal field made by Prof. P. W. Shaffer.He with Mr. William A. Mason made careful examinations of the field, but finding nothing but the underlying small vein reported adversely as to the quantity that would warrant the building of a railroad.

††††††††††† But little was done from 1855 until about 1859, when the upper vein was discovered at Bernice by Myron M. Wilcox while hunting for deer, and who, assisted by George D. Jackson, opened it.George D. Jackson in connection with his father, Dr. Josiah Jackson, made purchase of Mr. Meylert of part of the coal field, and the three united in developing it.Subsequently M. C. Mercur and C. F. Wells, Jr., were induced to join them.To the perseverance and financial aid given by Mr. Mercur, and the high standing of Mr. Welles among capitalists connected with railroads, we are greatly indebted for our public improvements.The Sullivan & State Line Railroad was commenced about 1867, and completed to Bernice in 1871.

††††††††††† The Muncy Creek Railroad was chartered, with Michael Meylert, H. R. Mehrling, Robert Taylor, George Bodine and A. J. Dietrick, as body corporate for laying out and constructing the road.The object was to build the road from Muncy up Muncy Creek and to Laporte, thence to connect with some other road running east.The first officers were:President, Michael Meylert; treasurer, Joshua Bowman; secretary, B. Morris Ellis; and superintendent, H. Mehrling.

††††††††††† Muncy offered little or no encouragement and the route was changed to Hall's as the western terminus and the work of construction began.The survey and beginning of work on the Muncy Creek road was made about 1866.Samuel Stevenson, assisted by B. L. Cheney, made the first survey, and their labor was followed up by William A. Mason, who acted as chief engineer.William A. Mason was well and favorably known by every farm-owner along the line of both roads, and became the man who, to a greater extent than any other, was referred to in all that pertains to the topography of the country.In 1867 the line had only reached three miles beyond Hughesville, or nine miles in all.The grade thus far had been very easy, and the expense very small compared to what was to come before Laporte could be reached.Hence construction work was entirely suspended.

††††††††††† In 1872 a new organization was effected. About that time the Catawissa extension of the Philadelphia & Reading railroad, from Milton to Williamsport, was put through, giving the Muncy Creek railroad a western outlet.This, however, did not change matters much financially, and the road did not pay.In 1881 it was sold, and the new corporation had the name changed to the Williamsport & North Branch railroad, and Mr. B. G. Welch became general manager.Work of construction was renewed and by 1886 the road was completed to Nordmont.

††††††††††† While the eastern terminus of the Williamsport & North Branch railroad was at Nordmont, a change was made in the ownership of the stock.John Satterfield and Henry L. Taylor, wealthy capitalists of Buffalo, New York, became the controlling owners, and new officers were elected as follows:Hon. H. C. McCormick, president; John Satterfield, vice-president; J. Henry Cochran, treasurer; S. T. McCormick, secretary.The railroad was completed to Satterfield and put in operation in the fall of 1893.

††††††††††† The Eaglesmere railroad is a narrow gauge road from Sonestown to Eaglesmere.It was constructed in 1892.The officers of the company at the time it was constructed were C. William Woddrop, president; John R. T. Ryan, vice-president; B. Harvey Welch, general manager; W. Clayton Mason, chief engineer.The length of the railroad is eight miles.




††††††††††† The Bowman's Creek branch of the Lehigh Valley railroad was completed from Bernice to Lopez in 1887, and extended to Wilkes-Barre in July, 1893.C. H. Jennings and B. W. Jennings, doing business in the firm name of Jennings Brothers, who had been engaged in lumbering near Thorndale, anticipating the completing of the railroad to Lopez, secured a choice location on the Loyalsock at that place, purchased a large quantity of timber land, and erected a large steam sawmill.In this mill they combined all the appliances which their own experience suggested and modern invention provided, for the rapid and economical manufacture of lumber.In this immense establishment and in the timber woods they employed from three to four hundred men.

††††††††††† Trexler & Turrell also erected a large sawmill near by and employed a great number of men.A kindling-wood manufactury and other manufacturing establishments quickly followed, and the town of Lopez, with hotel, stores and churches, sprang up in the wilderness like magic and continues to flourish.




††††††††††† The large tanneries which have done so much to increase the business and population of Sullivan county, deserve mention. The first important tannery in Sullivan county was established at Laporte, by Michael Meylert, in 1856.After two years it was sold to Clarkson, Nichols & Company, who continued the business for two years.In 1866 the plant was leased to A. Lathrop & Company, who continued the business for one year.The property, with a large body of timber land, was then sold to Thorne, McFarlane & Company, and by them largely improved and successfully conducted until it was purchased by the Union Tanning Company, about 1894.While Thorne, McFarland & Company were conducting the Laporte tannery, they also rented a large tannery at Thornedale, and built quite a village there, but it did not continue to be profitable and was abandoned.The busy village disappeared about 1894 or 1895.

††††††††††† In the year 1867, L. R. Bump & Company purchased land from Robert Taylor, and erected the Muncy Valley tannery and conducted the business for several years.The property then passed into the hands of D. T. Stevens & Son, who made many improvements.The large business done there has been the means of building up the thriving village of Muncy Valley.The Stevens interest has recently been sold to the Union Tanning Company.

††††††††††† The tannery at Hillsgrove was established by Andrew Hawver sometime previous to 1874.It was sold January 14, 1874, by John Hall, United States marshal, to B. G. Brandman & Company, who sold it to Thorne, McFarlane & Company, in 1876, who sold it to Hoyt Brothers, in 1878.Hoyt Brothers rebuilt and enlarged the tannery and conducted it successfully until about 1894, when they sold it to the Union Tanning Company.This thriving tannery has been of great advantage to the enterprising town of Hillsgrove.

††††††††††† Thomas E. Proctor purchased from the Fishing Creek Lumber Company the site for a tannery, at Jamison City, in 1890; also purchased a body of timber land in that vicinity.He erected a first-class tannery and did a large business there, greatly aiding to build up the picturesque village of Jamison City --- which has the honor of being situated in two counties.This tannery, like the others mentioned, is now owned by the Union Tanning Company.




††††††††††† A list of officers who have been elected and served in Sullivan county since its organization is here annexed:

††††††††††† President Judges --- 1851, David Wilmot; 1856, Warren J. Woodward; 1862, William Elwell; 1872, William Elwell; 1874, Thomas J. Ingham; 1884, John A. Sittser; 1894, Edward M. Dunham.

††††††††††† Associate Judges --- 1851, William Colley, John A. Speaker; 1856, William Smith, William A. Mason; 1861, James Deegan, Richard Bedford; 1871, Cornelius Cronin, Joseph Gansel; 1876, M. A. Rogers, F. B. Pomeroy; 1881, Daniel Fairchild, John G. Wright; 1886, Robert Taylor, Jr., E. A. Strong; 1891, John Yonkin, 2d, M. J. Phillips; 1896, John S. Lines, Conrad Kraus.

††††††††††† Congress --- 1848, William A. Petriken; 1852, James Gamble; 1854, Allison White; 1856, Allison White; 1858, James T. Hale; 1860, James T. Hale; 1862, Henry W. Tracy; 1864, Ulysses Mercur; 1866, Ulysses Mercur; 1868, Ulysses Mercur; 1870, Ulysses Mercur; 1872, James D. Strawbridge; 1874, Henry W. Early; 1876, John I. Mitchell; 1878, John I. Mitchell; 1880, Robert J. C. Walker; 1882, William Wallace Brown; 1884, William Wallace Brown; 1886, Henry C. McCormick; 1888, J. Boyd Robinson; 1890, S. P. Wolverton; 1892, S. P. Wolverton; 1894, Monroe H. Kulp; 1896, Monroe H. Kulp; 1898, Rufus K. Polk.

††††††††††† Members of the House of Representatives --- 1847, William F. Packer and Timothy Ives; 1848, William F. Packer and Joseph Smith; 1849, William Brindle and William Dunn; 1851, Isaac Reckhow and Michael Meylert; 1852, Ezra B. Chase and John W. Dennison; 1853, Ezra B. Chase and James Deegan; 1854, William J. Turrell and Charles J. Lathrop; 1855, Thomas J. Ingham and John V. Smith; 1856, Simeon B. Chase and Alfred Hine; 1857, John V. Smith and Peter Ent; 1858, George D. Jackson and Samuel Oaks; 1859, George Jackson and Samuel Oaks; 1860, Hiram R. Kline and Thomas Osterhout; 1861, George S. Sutton and Levi L. Tate; 1862, George D. Jackson and John C. Ellis; 1863, George D. Jackson and John C. Ellis; 1864, Joseph H. Marsh and Lorenzo Grinnell; 1865, Lorenzo Grinnell and G. Wayne Kinney; 1866, G. Wayne Kinney and James H. Webb; 1867, James H. Webb and John F. Chamberlain; 1868, James H. Webb and John F. Chamberlain; 1869, James H. Webb and John F. Chamberlain; 1870, James H. Webb and Perley H. Buck; 1871, Samuel Wilson and Amos C. Noyes; 1872, Amos C. Noyes and Henry W. Petrican; 1874, Richard Bedford; 1876, B. Rush Jackson; 1878, E. M. Dunham; 1880, P. R. Ackley; 1882, Bryan Collins; 1884, Bryan Collins; 1886, M. A. Rogers; 1888, William Waddell; 1890, Russell Karns; 1892, Marshall J. Lull; 1894, B. W. Jennings; 1896, B. W. Jennings; 1898, J. L. Christian.

††††††††††† State Senators --- 1849, William F. Packer; 1852, James W. Quiggle; 1855, Andrew Gregg; 1859, George Landon; 1862, William J. Turrill; 1866, George D. Jackson; 1868, C. R. Buckalew; 1872, Thomas Chalfant; 1875, Robert P. Allen; 1878, George D. Jackson; 1880, Elias McHenry; 1882, William W. Hart; 1886, Verne H. Metzger; 1890, Grant Herring; 1894, J. Henry Cochran; 1898, J. Henry Cochran.

††††††††††† Sheriffs --- Elected, 1847, Evan H. Phillips; 1850, Lewis Zaner; 1853, Amos C. Wilber; 1856, Samuel Craft; 1859, Joseph Gansel; 1862, John Simmons; 1865, John Lawrence; 1868, John G. Wright; 1871, Jeremiah Mooney; 1874, William H. Yonkin; 1877, John Utz; 1880, James Deegan; 1883, Edward Bergan; 1886, Henry Tripp; 1889, John Utz; 1892, Thomas Mahaffy; 1895, Ellis Swank; 1898, H. W. Osler.

††††††††††† County Commissioners --- 1847, William Lawrence, Joseph Molyneux, Jacob Hoffa; 1848, Jacob Hoffa; 1849, John Battin; 1850, Griffith Phillips; 1851, William Reeser; 1852, John Mullan; 1853, Richard Taylor; 1854, John Smith; 1855, Samuel K. McBride; 1856, Robert Taylor; 1857, John Dieffenbach; 1858, William Brown; 1859, John Hiddleson; 1860, John Dieffenbach; 1861, Henry Williams; 1862, Daniel Vaughan; 1863, Joseph Gansell; 1864, Henry Williams; 1865, James McMahon; 1866, Robert Taylor; 1867, Wheeler Green; 1868, James Dunn; 1869 Abraham Morgan; 1870, John Brown; 1871, Christian Mosier; 1872, Thomas L. Magargle; 1873, John Corcoran; 1874, Jasper Clark; 1875, James McMahon, Griffith Phillips, J. C. Edgar; 1878, John Yonkin, 2d, Henry C. McBride, Geo. W. Glidewell; 1881, G. L. McHenry, J. C. Robbins, Ezra S. Little; 1884, George Albert, Thomas Streby, John J. Low; 1887, Jacob A. Myers, Charles Hugo, J. N. Campbell; 1890, S. K. McBride, D. W. Scanlan, William M. Cheney; 1893, John H. Farrell, Gabriel Litzelman, John J. Webster; 1896, H. G. Huffmaster, S. S. Rogers, Philip Secules.

††††††††††† Prothonotary, Register, Recorder and Clerk of Courts --- Elected†† 1847, Alfred Bennett; 1850, William Mullan; 1853, Thomas J. Ingham; 1856, William Colley; 1859, Charles C. Finch; 1862, Charles C. Finch; 1865, Charles C. Finch; 1868, Charles C. Finch; 1871, Charles C. Finch; 1874, Charles C. Finch; 1877, Henry VanEtten; 1880, Henry T. Downs; 1883, Henry T. Downs; 1886, A. Walsh; 1889, Alphonso Walsh; 1892, Alphonso Walsh; 1895, W. J. Lawrence; 1898, William J. Lawrence.

††††††††††† County Treasurers --- 1847, James Taylor; 1849, George Edkins; 1857, Aaron J. Dietrick; 1853, Richard Bedford; 1855, John S. Green; 1857, John S. Green; 1859, Robert Kitchen; 1861, Walter Spencer; 1863, Walter Spencer; 1865, John G. Wright; 1867, Walter Spencer; 1869, Walter Spencer; 1871, John M. Heacock; 1873, John Sullivan; 1875, Walter Spencer; 1878, Edward Bergan; 1881, William A. Mason; 1884, Robert Stormont; 1887, Jacob Lorah; 1890, William Murry; 1893, A. L. Smith; 1886, Ransom Thrasher.

††††††††††† County Auditors --- 1847, Richard Taylor, J. G. Green, Thomas King; 1848, Thomas King; 1849, Cornelius Cronnin; 1850, George W. Phillips; 1851, James Coning; 1852, Arthur Robinson; 1853, Cornelius Cronin; 1854, George D. Jackson, John Brown; 1855, George D. Jackson, John F. Hazen; 1856, Samuel B. Birdsall; 1857, Charles C. Finch, John M. Heacock; 1858, Thomas Farrell; 1859, John G. Wright, Samuel McBride; 1860, Nelson W. Ackley; 1861, John W. Martin; 1862, Lyman B. Speaker; 1863, Thomas Messersmith; 1864, Abraham Morgan; 1865, R. D. Lancaster; 1866, Christian Mosier; 1867, William Smith; 1868, R. D. Lancaster; 1869, G. D. Cline; 1870, George W. Bannett; 1871, Lyman B. Speaker; 1872, Francis Lusch; 1873, T. J. Keeler; 1874, Benjamin H. Tripp; 1875, George W. Bennett, Adelbert Williams, A. B. Kilmer; 1878, John E. Finnan, Albert Hazen, J. R. Fleming; 1880, James Miller; 1881, Robert Stormont, R. D. Lancaster, S. F. Colt, Jr.; 1884, Thomas A. Jennings, Christian Caseman, John M. Gautsch; 1887, J. Harry Spencer, Edward Franke, Ulysses Bird; 1890, J. Harry Spencer, George S. Wright, Ulysses Bird; 1893, M. E. Wilcox, Morgan Gavitt, Irvin D. Heverly; 1894, J. B. Magargle; 1896, A. F. Hess, Christian Crossman, Delbert L. Brown.

††††††††††† Jury Commissioners --- 1867, Jas. Thompson, George W. Simmons; 1870, John K. Farrell, Daniel T. Huckell; 1873, Richard Biddle, Thomas Messersmith; 1876, Joseph C. Pennington, John Person; 1879, Levi B. Hunsinger, George C. Bird; 1882, John Mullen, Henry Stahl; 1885, William Fulmer, Thomas Simmons; 1888, Charles Haas, Thomas Farrell; 1891, Christian Caseman, George W. Simmons; 1894, Zachary T. Kilmer, Henry Swank; 1897, William Bird, William D. Heverly.

††††††††††† District Attorney --- 1848, A. J. Dietrick; 1850, Henry Metcalf; 1856, Henry Metcalf; 1861, Thomas J. Ingham; 1864, A. L. Grim; 1867, A. L. Grim; 1870, E. M. Dunham; 1873, Rush J. Thompson; 1876, Frank F. Drake; 1879, Bryan S. Collins; 1882, John H. Cronnin; 1885, Rush J. Thompson, 1888, Rush J. Thompson; 1891, A. L. Grim; 1894, Edward J. Mullen; 1897, A. Jackson Bradley.

††††††††††† Coroners --- 1847, J. D. Wilcox; 1848, John D. Wilcox; 1849, John Brown; 1852, Cornelius Harrington; 1854, Wm. Brown; 1856, Robert W. Henley; 1859, Lanny D. Porter; 1866, Frederick Fleschut; 1868, Samuel Craft; 1869, Frederick Fleschut; 1870, Sanford E. Benjamin; 1873, R. W. Henley; 1875, Robert W. Henley; 1877, W. C. Mason; 1881, Francis Chaffee; 1884, William W. Waddell; 1887, W. W. Waddell; 1889, W. B. Hill; 1893, W. B. Hill; 1896, Edward Everett; 1898, Charles Wackenhuth.

††††††††††† County Surveyors --- 1850, William A. Mason; 1853, William A. Mason; 1856, John Persun; 1857, Benjamin L. Cheney; 1865, Job L. King; 1868, Job L. King; 1875, Job L. King; 1881, Nathan Persun; 1882, Henry Swank.

††††††††††† County Superintendent of Schools --- Richard Bedford, from 1854 to 1857; C. J. Richardson, from 1857 to 1860; Hallock Armstrong, from 1860 to 1863; John Martin, from 1863 to 1875; E. A. Strong, from 1875 to 1878; J. P. Little, from 1878 to 1887; M. R. Black, from 1887 to 1893; F. W. Meylert, from 1893 to 1899.















††††††††††† THOMAS J. INGHAM was born November 25, 1828, in the then township of Asylum, county of Bradford, and state of Pennsylvania. He was the son of Thomas Ingham and Eunice Horton Ingham.His first known ancestor was Jonas Ingham, who came from England and settled in Trenton, New Jersey, about A. D. 1700.In direct descent from Jonas, was Jonathan, who resided at Big Springs, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, Jonas, who was a captain in the Revolutionary war, and afterwards a pioneer on the Wyalusing creek; Joseph, who owned a farm and mills at the mouth of Sugar Run creek in Bradford county, Pennsylvania; and Thomas, who succeeded to the farm and mills at Sugar Run, where the subject of this sketch was born.The house in which he was born was near the west bank of the Susquehanna river.

††††††††††† The first known ancestor on his mother's side was Barnabas Horton, who came from England prior to A. D. 1640, and in that year settled in Southhold, Long Island.The father of Eunice Ingham was Major John Horton, of Terrytown, Pennsylvania, who served in the Revolutionary war.

††††††††††† Thomas J. Ingham received his education chiefly in the common schools, but for short terms attended the Hartford Academy, and Wyoming Seminary.In early life he worked on the farm, and in the saw mill owned by his father.About the beginning of the year 1851 he came to Laporte, Sullivan county, and was employed by William Mullan to act as his deputy in the office of prothonotary, register and recorder.In addition to this work, in 1852 he was appointed clerk to the commissioners.In 1853 he was married to Caroline A. Cheney, daughter of Abel Cheney and Priscilla Washburn Cheney, born at Cortlandville, New York, February 15, 1831.

††††††††††† In the fall of 1853 he was nominated on the Democratic ticket for the office of Prothonotary, register and recorder, and no nominations being made against him, he was elected, and discharged the duties of the office until December, 1855.

††††††††††† In the summer of 1855 he took an active part in the organization of the Republican party in Sullivan county, and was nominated by that party as a candidate for representative.The district consisted of the counties of Susquehanna, Wyoming and Sullivan, entitled to two representatives, and at the representative conference O. G. Hemstead, of Susquehanna county, and Thomas J. Ingham were nominated as candidates of the Republican party in this district.The Democrats nominated John V. Smith of Wyoming county, and Oliver Lathrop of Susquehanna county.The two parties in the district were closely balanced.In the contest which followed Mr. Ingham ran considerably ahead of his ticket and carried Sullivan county by a plurality of one hundred and forty-nine, which gave him the largest vote of any of the candidates, and elected him.His colleague was defeated by a small plurality.He served with credit one term in the legislature, and declined to be a candidate for re-election.

††††††††††† In the spring of 1856 he removed to Sugar Run, Bradford county, where he engaged in the mercantile business.This business not proving profitable, he entered the law office of Hon. Ulysses Mercur as a student, and was admitted to the Bradford county bar at September term, 1860.

††††††††††† Mr. Ingham returned to Sullivan county in November, 1860, and commenced the practice of law.In the following year he was elected district attorney, and served for three years.He took an active part as a public speaker in most of the election campaigns in his own and adjoining counties.

††††††††††† In 1865 he purchased a printing press and printing material, and assisted John T. Brewster to establish the Sullivan Free Press, a weekly newspaper published in Laporte, and became one of the editors.After a few years he withdrew his name as an editor of that paper, and, in 1872, assisted his son, Ernest V. Ingham, in establishing a campaign newspaper called the Grant Standard, and acted as one of the editors.In the fall of the same year he purchased, from John T. Brewster, the material and good will of the Sullivan Free Press.Immediately after the November election the Grant Standard was changed in name to the Press and Standard, and its publication continued by E. V. Ingham, Thomas J. Ingham still acting as associate editor.His newspaper engagements, however, at no time interfered with the active practice of his profession.

††††††††††† The legislature, in 1874, made a change in the judicial district, and provided for the appointment of an additional law judge. In May of that year Mr. Ingham was appointed by Governor Hartraft as additional law judge --- Judge Elwell being president judge in the same district.

††††††††††† At the same session of the legislature, but later in the session, an act was passed establishing the forty-fourth judicial district, consisting of the counties of Wyoming and Sullivan, and providing for the election of president judge at the ensuing fall election.Mr. Ingham was unanimously nominated by the Republicans of both counties for president judge.Elhannan Smith, Esq., of Wyoming county, was nominated by the Democrats.There was a large Democratic majority in both counties.The election was closely contested, but Mr. Ingham having received a majority in each county, was elected.He was commissioned and served as president judge for ten years.

††††††††††† In 1884 Judge Ingham was unanimously nominated by the Republican county conventions in both counties for re-election. The Democrats nominated John A. Sittser, Esq., of Wyoming county, as their candidate.Both counties were Democratic, with majorities ranging from three to five hundred.It was the year of the presidential election, when Blaine was the Republican candidate, and Cleveland the Democratic candidate.It proved to be what was called "a Democratic year."The majority for Cleveland in Sullivan county was 383 and he had a larger majority in Wyoming county.The judicial election was hotly contested in both counties.Judge Ingham received a majority in every election district in Sullivan county, and his majority in the county was 441.The majority for John A. Sittser, however, in Wyoming county, exceeded the majority of Judge Ingham in Sullivan county, and Mr. Sittser was elected.

††††††††††† On retiring from the bench Judge Ingham resumed the practice of law, and had his office in Dushore for about four years.Having associated his son, F. H. Ingham, with him in the practice of law, he returned to Laporte, where he has continued to practice until this time.

††††††††††† At the congressional election in 1886 he was solicited by many friends to accept the nomination for congress, which he declined.At that time the district was Republican, and the nomination was almost certain election.

††††††††††† Mr. Ingham, has three sons, all living.His eldest son, Ernest V. Ingham, having learned the printer's trade, published the Grant Standard and Press and Standard for a number of years, and since that has been in business in Eaglesmere. Ellery P. Ingham, his second son, commenced the practice of law in Sullivan county.In 1889 he was appointed special deputy collector of the port of Philadelphia, and served in that position until 1892, when he was appointed United States district attorney for the eastern district of Pennsylvania, in which office he served four years.He is now engaged in the practice of law in Philadelphia.His youngest son, Frank H. Ingham, is still engaged with him in the practice of law at Laporte.

††††††††††† As an attorney Judge Ingham ranks among the foremost in this part of the state, and his powers as an advocate have been demonstrated on many occasions.His public career has been long and honorable, and he is still recognized as one of the most prominent and influential men in this section of the country.

††††††††††† JONATHAN ROGERS. --- "Biography is the most universally pleasant, the most universally profitable of all reading," said Carlyle.This is so because we learn more by the example of our fellow men than in any other way.Abstract truth makes but little impression, but when it finds exemplification in the lives of those we know it cannot fail to influence.It is therefore eminently proper that we preserve in written record the life work of those who have been honorable, enterprising, and upright, that their examples may inspire us to emulate their virtues.The career of Jonathan Rogers is certainly one which contains many valuable lessons, for in the paths of industry and honesty he achieved success and won a reputation that classed him among the most highly esteemed citizens of Sullivan county, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Mr. Rogers was a native of the Keystone state, - his birth having occurred in Muncy, Lycoming county, on the 10th of February, 1821.The family is of English origin.His father, Jonathan Rogers, Sr., was a native of England, and a son of Samuel Rogers, who was also born in the same country.The latter came to America about the year 1800, bringing with him his wife and a large family of children.One of the number, however, died on the voyage.Locating in Pennsylvania, the grandfather of our subject spent his last days in Forksville, Sullivan county.Jonathan Rogers, father of our subject, spent his childhood days in his native land, and after arriving at years of maturity married Miss Elizabeth Snell, who was also a native of England.They became the parents of the following children, namely:Mrs. Sarah Bryan, Mrs. Ann Wright, Mrs. Mary Fowler, William, who died at Picture Rocks, Lycoming county, in September, 1898, at the age of eighty-two years, Jonathan and Richard.All of the family are now deceased.The father was found dead in bed at Forksville, and seven weeks later the mother was found dead in the mill race, probably having died of cramps.

††††††††††† Jonathan Rogers, whose name begins this biography, remained at home until ten years of age, when his father died, after which he lived among relatives until he was able to care for himself.From an early age he earned his own living, working as a mechanic and millwright, and becoming very proficient in the latter line.He established the Rogers mill at Lincoln Falls and built up an excellent trade, receiving patronage from all the surrounding country.His excellent products, his earnest desire to please his patrons, and his honorable business methods brought him a large trade.

††††††††††† Mr. Rogers chose as a companion and helpmeet on the journey of life Miss Elizabeth Huckell, who was born in Hill's Grove, Pennsylvania, where the birth of her father and of her first child also occurred.Her parents were Benjamin and Margaret (Plotts) Huckell, who both died at Hill's Grove, in 1884.Unto our subject and his wife were born fourteen children, as follows:Marion W., widow of N. K. Woodward, formerly a merchant of Dushore; Edward G., a resident of Elkland township; Sarah A., who is living on the old homestead; Anna M., widow of N. C. Pardoe, of Elkland township; Charles S., a member of the milling firm of Rogers Brothers; Louzina, wife of F. H. McCarty, a resident of Lake Run, Pennsylvania; John P., a farmer of Estella, Sullivan county; Benjamin F., who died at the age of three years; Serena D., who is living on the farmstead; Harriet C., wife of Owen McCarty, of Edwardsville, Pennsylvania; Rachel L., a successful teacher of Sullivan county; Ella M., wife of Silas McCarty, of Elkland township; Elizabeth M. and Jonathan, who are also living on the homestead farm.

††††††††††† In his political views Mr. Rogers was an independent Republican.Before the Civil war he was a strong anti-slavery man, and throughout his entire life was active in support of all measures of reform --- measures which tended to do away with bad conditions and to advance the moral, educational, social and material interests of the community.An earnest Christian gentleman, he was for a number of years actively identified with the Wesleyan Methodist church.He also took a commendable interest in the practical improvement of the locality, in bettering the condition of the roads, and otherwise promoting the welfare of his township.His sterling worth, his fidelity to duty, his advocacy of all that was true and right, won him uniform respect, and no man was held in higher regard in the township than Jonathan Rogers.He died February 12, 1896, but his influence is still felt by those who knew him.

M. A. Rogers and Sons
Bank Check Drawn on
Firt National Bank of Dushore
July 11, 1900
Posted on eBay August 6, 2003
Photo contributed by Carol Brotzman

††††††††††† N. K. WOODWARD. --- The life record of N. K. Woodward is one which should adorn the pages of the history of his adopted county, for during many years he was one of the most prominent citizens and enterprising merchants of the community.He made his home in Dushore, and his well directed efforts, his enterprise and executive ability brought him success, while his honorable dealings gained him the confidence and high regard of his fellow men.He won that "good name which is rather to be chosen than great riches," and in his death the community lost one of its best citizens.

††††††††††† Mr. Woodward was born in Fort Wayne, Allen county, Indiana, on the 12th of July, 1844, and descended from one of the leading families of Pennsylvania.His father was a member of the state legislature, and exerted a wide and beneficent influence in public affairs.He married a Miss Bostwick, of eastern New York, and they became the parents of seven children.Three of his brothers became distinguished lawyers, but Emmett, who practiced in Atlanta, Georgia, is now deceased, while Jesse is now practicing in Texas, and Marcus is a member of the bar of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.The two sisters in the family are Mrs. Mary Miller, a resident of New York, and Mrs. Adaline Baker, who is living in Burlington, Kansas.

††††††††††† Mr. Woodward, whose name introduces this review, was left an orphan at the early age of four years, and was reared by his cousin, Judge Warren J. Woodward, at Wilkes-Barre, and acquired his education in the schools of that city and at commercial college.In 1860 he came to Dushore, where he later opened a mercantile establishment, and from that time until his death was actively identified with the commercial interests of the town.He studied the wishes of the public and endeavored to please; he had the ability to meet all kinds and all classes of people, and his straightforward dealing and affability secured to him a constantly increasing business.He enjoyed a large trade, and was widely recognized as a successful, practical and progressive business man.As the years passed he acquired a valuable property as the results of his energy, untiring efforts and careful management, and so well did he gain it that the most envious could not grudge him his prosperity.

††††††††††† In 1883 Mr. Woodward was united in marriage to Miss Marion W. Rogers, the eldest daughter of Jonathan Rogers.She was born on the old homestead which belonged to her maternal grandfather, and is a lady of culture, education and natural refinement.For fifteen years prior to her marriage she engaged in school teaching with excellent success, having the ability to impart clearly and concisely to others the knowledge that she had acquired.After a happy married life of five years, Mr. Woodward was called to the home beyond on the 3d of June, 1888, at the age of forty-four years.He was a public-spirited citizen and took a deep and commendable interest in everything pertaining to the general welfare, giving a liberal support to all measures which he believed would promote the public good.In politics he was a Democrat, but not an aspirant for office, preferring to devote his energies to his business interests.A man whom to know was to respect and honor, his death was widely mourned, and his memory is cherished by all who knew him.Mrs. Woodward, like her husband, has many warm friends, and her pleasant home in Lincoln Falls is noted for its hospitality.

††††††††††† AMBROSE E. CAMPBELL, an enterprising and successful young business man of Shunk, Sullivan county, is the proprietor of a well-known mercantile establishment there, and is also connected with agricultural interests.Not withstanding these cares he finds time to take part in local affairs and has frequently been chosen by his fellow citizens to offices of trust and responsibility.He comes of the famous Scotch clan Campbell, the first of his branch of the family to come to America being his great-grandfather, who was accompanied by four brothers.John Campbell, his grandfather, was born in Montour county, Pennsylvania, and was married near Danville, same state, to Miss Mary Winterstein, daughter of Henry and Polly (Jingles) Winterstein, and in 1833, soon after his marriage, came to Bradford county.In 1851 he located at the present site of Campbellville, Sullivan county, of which he became the founder, and there he built a gristmill.Later he sold that property and purchased another gristmill in Fox township, and this he operated until his death, which occurred in 1881; his wife died in 1875.They had the following children:William, Caleb, Mary, Eliza, John S., James H., Hiram and Joseph.

††††††††††† James H. Campbell, the father of our subject, was born in Campbelltown, Montour county, April 9, 1831, and at an early age became his father's partner in the milling business.He also engaged in farming near Shunk, and in 1868 built the store now occupied by our subject.In 1884 he sold his interest in the mill, and as the years have rolled on he has left more and more of his cares to the able management of his son. Politically he is a staunch Republican and has filled various important offices, including those of county commissioner and township clerk, while for twenty-one years he was postmaster at Shunk. While on the board of county commissioners, from 1889 to 1891, he did effective work in arranging for the construction of many iron bridges to replace those destroyed by the flood of 1889.

††††††††††† During the Civil war Mr. Campbell made an honorable record.He enlisted in 1861, in Company K, under J. B. Ingham, of Monroe, and was assigned to the Fiftieth Pennsylvania regiment.He was a member of the first southern expedition, leaving Fortress Monroe for Hilton Head in October, 1861, and served in the battle at the latter place. Next he was on camp duty at Beaufort for six months and then in the battle of Pocotaligo.Then he was transferred again to Fortress Monroe and started on the campaign that ended in the second battle of Bull Run.Next we find him at Chantilly; and on to Fredericksburg in the spring of 1863.Then from Chancellorsville to Vicksburg, back to Tennessee, overland to Cumberland Gap, back to Knoxville, where he was one of the besieged for two months.Then after a short furlough he took part in the battle of the Wilderness, and next at Spottsylvania, where he was severely wounded.After his discharge from the hospital he returned again to the front and served until the end of the war.

††††††††††† In 1864 Mr. Campbell was married to Miss Elizabeth Hoagland, a daughter of Samuel and Sally (Wilcox) Hoagland.Our subject is the eldest of six children, the others being:Cora B., wife of James Brenchley, a farmer in Fox township; Sebra T., who died at the age of five years; Lucian, who died when two years old; Leon I., who married Miss Lulu Wright and assists our subject in the store; and George T., who also is employed in the store.The father is a member of J. B. Ingham Post, No. 91, of Canton, and a hearty supporter of all that ends to the benefit of his old comrades in arms.He has also been identified with the Order of Odd Fellows since October 5, 1872, and has passed through all the degrees.He is a member of Lodge No. 321, also a member of the Encampment, a higher branch of Odd Fellowship.

††††††††††† Ambrose E. Campbell, the immediate subject of this review, was born August 16, 1867, in Fox township, Sullivan county, and his education was begun in the local schools.Later he attended the graded schools of Canton for two years, and in 1889 he was graduated at the Elmira (New York) School of Commerce.During his youth he assisted his father in the work of the farm and store and for some time filled the position of bookkeeper.In 1890 he became a partner in the store and since June, 1897, has conducted the business alone.He also takes charge of one-half of his father's farm, comprising eighty acres, giving general oversight to its cultivation.Like his father, he is a strong supporter of Republican principles and for four years has been postmaster at Shunk.In the year 1896 he was mercantile appraiser for Sullivan county.He has served three terms as township clerk and for some time was school director, being secretary of the board during his term.Since 1888 he has been a member of the I. O. O. F. and is a charter member of Washington Camp, No. 220, P. O. S. of A., at Shunk.He has filled every position in which he has been placed with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of all concerned.

††††††††††† The marriage of Mr. Campbell to Miss Clara M. Ferguson, daughter of Charles and Ann (Moore) Ferguson, took place at Canton, October 23, 1889, and three children have blessed their union:Harry E., born December 22, 1890; Edgar, April 5, 1892; and Leslie, April 11, 1894.

††††††††††† GEORGE D. JACKSON. --- In the death of the honored subject of this memoir there passed another member of the little group of representative business men who were prominent in inaugurating and building up the chief industries of this section of Pennsylvania.His name is familiar not alone to the residents of the city of Dushore, to whose development he contributed so conspicuously, but to all who have been in the least intimately informed as to the history of the state.He was identified with the northern section of Pennsylvania for many years and contributed to its material progress and prosperity to an extent equaled by but few of his contemporaries.

††††††††††† His father, Dr. Josiah Jackson, was one of the leading men and physicians of Sullivan county.He early located in Dushore and was an active factor in all the fields of enterprise which contributed to the development of the new country.As George Duggan Jackson approached mature years he developed rare abilities and energy, which were devoted to the improvement of the section surrounding Dushore, and for long years was the leading merchant of the county.He was the acknowledged leader in all matters of progress, foremost in everything of value to the community, the county and the state.To him is mainly due the construction of the Sullivan & Erie railroad, and the development of the coal, lumber and other natural resources of the county.All these contributed not only to his individual prosperity but also largely promoted the general welfare.

††††††††††† That Mr. Jackson was a popular citizen and had the confidence and regard of his fellow townsmen is evinced by the fact that in 1858, 1859, 1862, and 1863, he was chosen to represent in the state legislature the district comprising Columbia, Montour, Sullivan and Wyoming counties.In 1866 he was elected to the state senate from the district including Columbia, Montour, Northumberland and Sullivan counties, and in 1878 was chosen to represent the twenty-fourth senatorial district.Repeatedly re-elected, what higher testimonial could be given of his efficient service in the law-making body of the state?He left the impress of his strong individuality upon the legislation of Pennsylvania, and aided in framing a wise public policy.He died during his second senatorial service, passing away November 23, 1879, at the age of fifty-four years.

††††††††††† Mr. Jackson was united in marriage to Miss Bernice Woodruff, a daughter of Jared Woodruff.Their children are Mary B., wife of J. W. Young, of Philadelphia; Alice E., wife of Thomas Irving, of Philadelphia; George C., deceased; Willie W. who married Ida Green, of Cattaraugus, New York, and has two daughters, Donna and Bernice; and B. Winifred, wife of P. P. Sturdevant, of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Mr. Jackson was a pronounced Democrat, a leader in his party, but his friends were numerous in all political parties and in all classes of society.At his death public opinion was expressed in the speeches delivered by the members of the state senate, who, in words of highest praise, spoke of his intellectuality, his ability, his loyalty and devotion to the best interests of Pennsylvania.In a memorial volume published by the state appears the following:"He was well known for his integrity of character, for diligence in attention to the interests of his constituents in every public position, and for his manly, genial qualities.A devoted husband, a kind parent, a loyal friend and an able counselor, at his death the community met with a grave loss, the Democratic party mourned for one of its valued members and Sullivan county for one of its leading citizens.He was a useful representative, just to himself and true to the interests of the people.He possessed unbending integrity and was deeply imbued with the spirit of true manhood.None ever doubted his honesty.His motives were as pure as his private character was spotless.He had great business capacity, a broad and correct grasp of affairs in all fields of action, and by the force of his inherent abilities and qualities he rose to influence and honor."

††††††††††† GEORGE C. JACKSON. --- The name of Jackson has been so long and prominently connected with the history of Sullivan county, that a representative of this leading and influential family needs no introduction to the people of this locality.George Corydon Jackson, a son of George D. Jackson, fully sustained the high reputation of the family in connection with the industrial interests of this section of the state.He was born in Dushore, in March, 1854, and on account of delicate health in his boyhood he was educated in private schools, pursuing his studies in such institutions in Scranton and Towanda, Pennsylvania.After entering upon his business career he was for many years proprietor of extensive coal yards, enjoyed an extensive trade in that mineral, and at the time of his death was engaged in developing the coal mines on the Jackson lands, near Bernice.This was his principal business, yet he was interested to some extent in lumbering, mining and manufacturing.He carried forward to successful completion whatever he undertook, being a man of excellent business and executive ability, of sound judgement, keen discrimination, systematic habits and indefatigable energy.

††††††††††† He was united in marriage to Miss Mary M. Green, of Philadelphia, and they resided at the family homestead in Dushore.When in the prime of life, and in the midst of an honorable, useful and prosperous business career, George C. Jackson was called to his final rest, passing away on Christmas day of 1898, when only forty-five years of age.

††††††††††† JENNINGS BROTHERS. --- In this age of colossal enterprise and marked intellectual energy, the prominent and successful men are those whose abilities, persistnce and courage lead them into large undertakings and to assume the responsibilities and labors of leaders in their respective vocations.Success is methodical and resultant, and however much we may indulge in fantastic theorizing as to its elements and causation in any isolated instance yet in the light of sober investigation we will find it to be but a result of determined application of one's abilities and powers in the rigidly defined lines of labor.Prominent among the men who have done so much to advance the material welfare of Sullivan county is the firm of Jennings Brothers, extensive manufacturers and wholesale dealers in lumber, at Lopez, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† The American pioneer of this branch of the Jennings family was Paul Bishop Jennings, a native of Wiltshire, England, who came to the United States in 1816 --- a lad of eighteen years --- and found employment as a farm hand near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.He saved a little money and for a short time attended school, it being for the first time in his life.He then went to the lumber woods of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, on the Lehigh river, where he worked as a teamster, and later as a jobber; he saved money enough to buy a farm and gristmill at Mehoopany, Wyoming county, that state.There he began his independent career as a business man, established a store and built a sawmill, which he operated in connection with his gristmill and farm and became a successful and prominent business man, leaving a large estate at the time of his death, which occurred in 1864.He married Miss Elizabeth Tuttle, of Kingston, Pennsylvania, and to them were born four children:Joseph T., a resident of Mehoopany, Pennsylvania, and a prominent lumberman; William N., the father of our subjects; Caroline, wife of E. W. Sturdevant, of Wilkes-Barre; and Mary A., deceased.

††††††††††† William N. Jennings was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, March 3, 1829, and acquired a business education.In the memorable days of 1849 and 1850, when twenty-one years of age, he went to California, but after a year returned to the Keystone state.For a time he was employed as foreman in the construction of the Horseacre dam at Mehoopany, and soon afterwards, in connection with his brother Joseph T., began extensive lumber operations at Jenningsville, Wyoming county, a thriving little town named in honor of the brothers.About three years later, in 1857, William N. Jennings removed to Pittstown, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, where he conducted a lumber yard, flour, feed and provision store, and in 1865 moved to Wilkes-Barre, where he continued in the same line of business until 1877.A year later, in 1878, he moved to the new oil fields of Pennsylvania, at Bradford, and for three years manufactured lumber, doing a very successful business.Again returning to Wilkes-Barre, in 1883, he has since made his home there, enjoying all the comforts and esteem a successful business man could wish.He married Miss Sarah Ann Hicks, of Wyoming county, and they have four children, as follows:Cortez H. and B. Worth, who compose the firm of Jennings Brothers; William L.; and Eleanor, wife of Dr. N. A. Rinebold, of Wilkes-Barre.

††††††††††† Cortez H. Jennings, the elder son, was born in Jenningsville, Wyoming county, December 1, 1855, and was educated in the public schools of Pittston and Wilkes-Barre, in the Wyoming Seminary at Kingston, and spent three years at the West Point Military Academy.From the age of sixteen years he worked, during vacations, in his father's office, and in the summer of 1875 was captain of the steamer Hendrick B. Wright, running between Wilkes-Barre and Nanticoke.From 1875 until 1879 he attended school, and from 1879 until 1881 he assisted his father in the latter's business interests.In the fall of 1881 he came to Sullivan county, where he purchased of James McFarlane & Company, a large tract of timber land.In December of the same year he came to the county, and in partnership with his brother, B. Worth, erected the necessary buildings and equipments, and began lumbering.In the spring of 1882 they erected their first saw mill, which had a capacity of thirty thousand feet of lumber per day, and from time to time they have purchased large tracts of timber land.In the fall of 1887 they built a part of the present hemlock mill, with a capacity of forty-five thousand feet of lumber per day, and three years later enlarged the mill, putting in gang saws and increasing the capacity to seventy-five thousand feet.They also constructed a part of their logging railroad along the banks of the Loyal Sock creek, and have since extended the road until its length is sixteen miles.In 1884 they established a store in Lopez, which has been increased from time to its present large proportions.It is to-day one of the most complete mercantile establishments in Sullivan county, and gives employment to nine men.The offices of the company are on the second floor of the store building and are equal to any in the state as to convenience, finish and furnishings.In the offices they employ four assistants, and their pay-roll shows the names of four hundred in their service.In 1895 the Jennings Brothers purchased a controlling interest in the clothes-pin factory conducted under the name of the Lopez Manufacturing Company, a concern which employs fifty operatives.In 1896 they bought the Trexler & Terrell mill, put in band saws and other modern machinery, and now use it as their hardwood mill.It has a capacity of thirty thousand feet of lumber per day and furnishes employment to thirty-five men.The Jennings plant is one of the most complete and largest of its kind in this section of the country.They own over one hundred and fifty houses occupied by their men; and in fact everything used by the concern is theirs.Their homes are models of comfort and convenience, and the brothers are public-spirited, energetic, progressive, generous, kind-hearted, and in fact possess all the qualities that go to make business men successful and popular.

††††††††††† Cortez H. Jennings is an active member of the Republican party, has served as postmaster of Lopez, and in 1898 was the county's nominee for congress.He affiliates with the Masonic fraternity, and is an active member of the Lopez Athletic Association.He has been twice married --- first in June, 1880, to Miss Florence N., daughter of Captain A. B. Mott, of Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania.She died in January, 1883, and on the 21st of September, 1885, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary Louise Bowman, a daughter of Harry H. and Jane (Gregg) Bowman, of Towanda, Pennsylvania.This union has been blessed with three children:Donald Hicks, who died in infancy, Sarah Hicks, and Paul Bishop.Mrs. Jennings is a member of the Episcopal church.

††††††††††† Bishop Worth Jennings, junior member of the firm of Jennings Brothers, was born at West Pittston, Pennsylvania, May 4, 1862, and was educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre, in the Bloomsburg State Normal and the Wyoming Seminary.At the age of seventeen he entered his father's office, where he worked one year, and then spent the following year in the employ of his uncle, Joseph T. Jennings, at Mehoopany.Following this he joined his brother in the lumber business in Sullivan county.He has charge of all the office work of the company, and is a stockholder and president of the Dushore bank.Socially, he belongs to the Masonic order, is an active member of the Lopez Athletic Association, and is captain of the Lopez Baseball Team, a famous organization which has lost but one game in two seasons.In 1894 he was elected on the Republican ticket to the state legislature, and re-elected in 1896.He has also served four years as postmaster of Lopez, several years as justice of the peace, seven years as school director, and during that time was president and secretary of the board.

††††††††††† On the 5th of December, 1883, B. Worth Jennings was married to Miss Ella M. Castle, daughter of John Castle, of Kiantone, New York, and to them have been born two children:William Worth, who was born October 25, 1884, and Ethel May, who was born May 10, 1889, and died May 12, 1897.Mrs. Jennings is a communicant of the Episcopal church.

††††††††††† William L. Jennings, foreman and superintendent of the Jennings Brothers Hemlock Mill, of Lopez, was born at Wilkes-Barre, October 24, 1865.He pursued his studies in the public schools of that place; in the Chamberlain Institute, of Cattaraugus county, New York; the Riverside Seminary, of Wellsville, New York; the Keystone Academy, of Factoryville, Pennsylvania, and the Wyoming Seminary, of Kingston, Pennsylvania.He worked for one year in his father's sawmill in Bradford, McKean county, this state, and in April, 1882, entered the employ of his brothers at Lopez.He began by burning brush and piling lumber, and from the lowest place has worked his way upward, step by step, to his present responsible position.He has sole charge of all the work, from the rough saw-log in the pond to the finished lumber loaded on the cars ready for market, using ninety-four men in his department.

††††††††††† Politically he, too, is a Republican, and socially is a member of the I. O. O. F. and the K. O. T. M.In 1897 he was elected school director, was president of the board the first year, and is now secretary.He was married January 22, 1889, to Miss Fidelia Agnes Myers, who was born January 22, 1867, a daughter of C. C. Myers, of Mehoopany.With the Episcopal church she holds membership. By her marriage she has become the mother of three children, namely:William Hicks, Victoria and Florence; but the last named died in infancy.

Editor's Note: In 1899, the Jennings brothers began to relocate their enterprises to Maryland and West Virginia, where the forests had not yet been cut and opprotunities remained for a growth lumber industry. You can read the history of one such enterprise in West Virginia at Keith Allen's History of Jenningston.

††††††††††† HENRY RITCHLEN. --- One of the most popular and faithful officers of Forks township, Sullivan county, is Henry Ritchlen, who is now serving as tax collector, to which position he was elected in 1897 for a three-years term.He is numbered among the progressive and enterprising citizens of the community, and is a wide-awake and practical farmer who owes his success in life to his own well directed efforts and careful management of business interests.

††††††††††† Mr. Ritchlen represents one of the old and prominent families of the county.His father, Charles F. Ritchlen, was widely and favorably known in Forks township and took an active part in public affairs.He was born in Baden, Germany, where he acquired a good education and afterward served as a soldier in the German army.When a young man he crossed the Atlantic to the new world and located in Sullivan county, Pennsylvania.There he married Miss Mary M. Tahl, who was born in that locality, and was a representative of a prominent German family.Mr. and Mrs. Ritchlen began their domestic life in Forks township, where the father of our subject improved a farm which he afterwards sold to John Kane.He then removed to the farm upon which our subject now resides --- then a tract of wild land covered with a growth of native forest trees.These he at once began to clear away in order to prepare the land for the plow, and in course of time he transformed the undeveloped tract into a finely cultivated farm of ninety-three acres.There he engaged in raising both grain and stock, planted a good orchard, built a substantial residence and made many other excellent improvements.He was a stanch Democrat in his political views, and for twenty-eight years served as tax collector, while for thirty-two years he was justice of the peace, and during all that time not a case which he tried was ever taken to the higher courts --- a fact which stands in unmistakable evidence of the soundness and justice of his decisions.In his family were sixteen children, but the greater number died in infancy or childhood.Only four are now living: Joseph, a resident of Forks township; Frank, a resident of Laporte, Pennsylvania; Henry; and Mary, wife of Bernard Hanck, of Sullivan county.The father died at the age of sixty-seven years, and the community thereby lost one of its most valued citizens --- a man whom to know was to respect and honor.

††††††††††† Henry Ritchlen was reared to manhood on his father's farm, trained to habits of industry and honesty, early becoming familiar with all the duties that fall to the lot of the agriculturist, and acquired a good education in the public schools.He spent one season in the lumber woods near Oshkosh, Wisconsin, and for a number of winters worked in the lumber woods of Sullivan county, but has given the greater part of his time and attention to farming, and has now a valuable and productive tract of land, much of which is under a high state of cultivation.He manages his business interests with system and energy, and in addition to the cultivation of grain he raises horses and cattle of a high grade.

††††††††††† In 1884 Mr. Ritchlen was united in marriage to Miss Amanda Hostler, who was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of Henry F. Hostler and Sarah (Solinburg) Hostler.The latter is now deceased.Four children have been born of this union:Alice M., William Henry, James Morton and Carl Francis, aged respectively thirteen, ten, six and two years.Mr. Ritchlen is one of the most active supporters of the Democratic party in his township and does all in his power to promote its growth and insure its success.He is now serving as township tax collector, and discharges his duties in a most prompt and faithful manner.He is one of the intelligent and progressive citizens of the community, frank and genial in manner, and his genuine worth has won him the high regard of many friends.

††††††††††† PETER BROWN. --- For more than thirty years Peter Brown has been engaged in agricultural pursuits in Sullivan county, and is numbered among the leading and influential farmers of that locality.He is also one of the veterans of the Civil war, and through days of peace as well as days of strife is a loyal, patriotic citizen, giving his support to all measures and movements which he believes will prove of public benefit.

††††††††††† A native of Fox township, Sullivan county, Mr. Brown was born on the 14th of April, 1841, and is a representative of one of the pioneer families of the community.The Browns are of English descent, and the first American ancestors arrived in this country at an early period in American history.The grandfather of our subject was Aaron Brown, who, in order to make his home in a settlement that was unmolested by Indians, came to Sullivan county, where both he and his wife spent their remaining days.Their graves were made in the Brown cemetery, in Fox township where Mrs. Luce, the mother of Mrs. Aaron Brown, was also buried.The father of our subject, Archelaus Luce Brown, was born near New Albany, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and on arriving at years of maturity married Miss Sarah Harris, daughter of Peter and Hannah (Battin) Harris, of Lycoming county.He became one of the pioneers of Fox township, Sullivan county, where he secured his land by patent from the government.He then developed the wild tract into a richly cultivated farm and carried on agricultural pursuits until his death, which occurred in 1889.His wife passed away in 1893.In his political views he was a Democrat, but he was never an aspirant for office.He was the father of seventeen children, fourteen of whom are yet living, namely:Peter, Hannah, William, George, Sylvester, Maria, Reuben, Rosetta, Chandler, Rosilla, Almeda, Salome, Murray and Judson.Annetta died at the age of four years, and two died in infancy.

††††††††††† On his father's farm in Fox township, Peter Brown spent his childhood days and aided in the labors of field and meadow.At the age of twenty-one, on the 24th of October, 1862, he was drafted to serve in the civil war as a member of Company C, One Hundred and Seventy-first Regiment of Pennsylvania Drafted Militia, under Capt. Clinton E. Woods, and was stationed at Newbern, North Carolina, his command being attached to the Eighteenth Army Corps under General Foster.Later they were sent on transports up the Pamlico river and by sound to Washington, North Carolina, the journey occupying seven days.At Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, Mr. Brown received an honorable discharge, and on the 8th of August, 1863, returned to his home.Months passed and the war still continued.There was an urgent call for troops from time to time, and on the 15th of March, 1865, Mr. Brown enlisted, joining Company H, Fifteenth New York Regiment of Volunteer Engineers, under Captain Andrew Nauger, in which command he served until the close of hostilities, when he was honorably discharge by special order of the government.During his second term of service he was stationed at City Point, Virginia, for a time, and afterward took part in the campaign against General Lee in Virginia --- a campaign which resulted in the surrender of Lee and the downfall of the Southern Confederacy.Mr. Brown then went to Berksville, thence to Clover Station and on to Washington by way of Richmond.He participated in the grand review at Washington, the most brilliant military pageant ever seen on the western hemisphere, and then making his way to the north received his discharge papers in Elmira, New York.

††††††††††† The country no longer needing his services on the battle field, Mr. Brown returned to his home in Sullivan county once more to take up the pursuits of civil life.He was a brave and loyal soldier, always found at his post of duty, and well deserves the gratitude and praise of the nation which he helped to preserve intact.

††††††††††† On the 28th of May, 1863, F. B. Spinola, brigadier general, commanding the Keystone Brigade to which Mr. Brown belonged, addressed the brigade as follows:

††††††††††† " I avail myself of this opportunity of saying to the officers and men of the Keystone Brigade that the time has arrived for me to take my leave of you, and, as your term of service will soon expire, many of you, I presume, will abandon the scenes and excitement of the battlefield again to resume your usual pursuits of industry.In parting allow me to assure you that I entertain an exalted opinion of you both as officers and soldiers; and, in my official character, I thank you for the prompt and cheerful manner in which you have ever performed your arduous and dangerous duties, and I shall always look back upon my association with you as among the pleasantest hours of my life.You were put under my command at the time when you were fresh from your native state, and, with a few exceptions, entirely unacquainted with the toils and dangers of war; you were placed in no 'school of instruction,' but marched directly to the front, where you have remained performing your duty in a manner reflecting great credit on yourself and great honor on your state.

††††††††††† "Your march from Suffolk, Virginia, to Newbern, North Carolina, has no equal since the war began, except in General Banks' retreat from Winchester, and that differed from yours in this important particular --- yours was toward the enemy and his was from them.Your conduct at Mill creek and White Oak river was equal to that of veteran troops; your march to Pollocksville, for the purpose of encompassing the enemy at the second battle of Newbern, developed your powers of endurance and at once gave you a prominent place among the best troops in the service.While aboard of the transports in front of the rebel batteries on the Pamlico river you were both willing and anxious to incur any risk or to encounter any danger necessary to relieve the beleaguered city of Washington, North Carolina, and no troops in the army could have manifested greater willingness to make any necessary sacrifice to reinforce the garrison and to relieve it from the perils which surrounded it; but authority higher either than you or me checked your patriotic desires.Your conduct at Blountís creek fully developed your impetuous desires to encounter the enemy, and no soldier ever retired from the battlefield with greater reluctance after it had been demonstrated that the column could not advance, owing to the destruction of the bridges which crossed the stream.Your reconnaissance to New Hope school-house was all that could have been asked of any troops; it was a success in every particular.Your march to, and occupancy of, Swift Creek village, with its accompanying sharp skirmishing as you approached the place and drove the rebels from it in precipitate flight at the dead hour of night, were worthy of the 'Old Guard' of Napoleon.

††††††††††† "Your conduct throughout has been of a character that has placed the brigade in an enviable position; intemperance and immoral practices, as well as vice in its various forms, have been strangers to the officers and soldiers of the Keystone brigade.Instead of participating and indulging in the practices which are so prevalent and demoralizing among soldiers, you have invariably been found on the Sabbath day joining with eachother in prayer and uniting your voices in singing praises to the Great Ruler of all.

††††††††††† "No cause can fail, my countrymen, when supported by such men as constitute the Keystone Brigade!You have done your whole duty to your country, to your state, and to your families in a manner that no man among you need be ashamed to acknowledge that he is one of the Keystone Brigade, while the authorities of your state can, with pride, point to you as an emulation for others who are to follow you to the field!

††††††††††† "We are all called upon to make some sacrifices in times like the present, but the American, who would not obey the call of his country in her hour of peril, is unworthy of enjoying the benefits and blessings of a free government, which cost many lives and much treasure to establish.No army ever suffered like that of Washington!No men ever bore their sufferings with less murmuring than the brave patriots who pledged their lives, their fortunes and their sacred honor that you and I might enjoy civil and religious liberty!You need go no farther than your own home to find the spot that gave shelter to the Father of His Country, together with the eleven thousand famishing patriots who wintered at Valley Forge, to which place they were traced by the blood which oozed from their unshod feet!

††††††††††† "At the expiration of your term of service it is fair to presume that many of you, from age and other causes, will not again enter it; but in the name of liberty and a bleeding country, I not only appeal to the young men of the brigade to enlist again, but I implore you, in the name of the men who suffered every conceivable hardship and privation in order to show to the despots of the world that man is capable of self-government, that you will prove yourselves the proud representatives of the patriots of '76, and never quit the field until this diabolical attempt to destroy the government which Washington and his associates gave us has been plowed out by the roots."

††††††††††† It was in 1867 that Peter Brown located upon the farm in Fox township, which he now owns and occupies, and since that time he has carried on agricultural pursuits, meeting with good success in his undertakings.His early boyhood training well fitted him for the work.He has upon his place a large and substantial residence, good barns and other necessary outbuildings, and an orchard which yields choice fruits in season.He manifests both industry and progressiveness in the management of his property, and is therefore deriving therefrom a good income.

††††††††††† On the 12th of March, 1865, Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Susan Mills, who was born in Towanda, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and prior to her marriage was a successful teacher.She is a daughter of Joseph and Mary (Savacool) Mills.Her father was born in Sussex county, New Jersey and was descended from New England ancestry.He first married Sophia Savacool, and they had three children --- Mary A., Dorinda and Martha.By his second marriage, to Mary Savacool, there were eight children, of whom four are living:Ambrose Abbott, Mrs. Brown, Mrs. Amanda Griswold and Mrs. Cythera Black.Four of the children died in infancy.The father of these children, a farmer and carpenter by occupation, died in Leroy, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, at the age of fifty-two years.His wife died in Madison county, New York, near Oneida, in 1898, at the age of seventy-eight years.They were faithful members of the Methodist church.Mrs. Brown is an accomplished and cultured lady and has been to her husband a faithful helpmeet.To them have been born three children, but Scott, the only son, died in childhood.The daughters are Frances Martha and Edyth Evelyn; the former is the wife of R. T. Beers *, and the latter the wife of W. H. Salisbury, of Williamsport, Pennsylvania, by whom she has one child, Monna Larue.During his early business career he was for twelve or fifteen years employed as traveling salesman by the White Sewing Machine Company, and was quite successful in that line of business.
Editor's Note: You can see the Teaching Certificate issued to R. T. Beers in 1898 by the Sullivan County Schools.

††††††††††† Mr. Brown usually gives his political support to the Republican party, but does not consider himself bound by party ties.He has filled nearly all of the township offices, and is ever faithful and conscientious in the discharge of his duties.He gave to his daughters good educational privileges --- Frances Martha having finished an excellent education at the Dover Institution, Dover, New Jersey, and Edith Evelyn having graduated at the State Normal school, at Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, in the class of 1893.Both were numbered among the most successful teachers of Sullivan and adjoining counties.To all movements and interests calculated to prove of public benefit Mr. Brown lends his aid and influence, and is widely recognized as a valued citizen and a man of sterling worth, straightforward in business and reliable at all times.

††††††††††† ADAM H. ZANER. --- The great-grandfather of our subject, Adam Zaner, who was a native of Prussia, came to America about 1731 and settled in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in agriculture.He had received an excellent education in his native land and was a successful farmer.He served seven years in the Revolutionary war and lived to be nearly one hundred years old.He was the father of eight children, two daughters and six sons, the latter being John, Peter, George, Abraham, Adam and Daniel.

††††††††††† Adam Zaner, the second, grandfather of our subject, was born in Schuylkill county, where he became a successful farmer and held many of the local offices.He also carried on the trade of a tailor and lived an industrious and useful life.He married a Miss Buck, who bore him five children --- Nancy, Lewis, Rebecca, Morris and Jerusha.Both parents lived to a very old age.

††††††††††† Lewis Zaner was born in Briar Creek township, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, October 2, 1804, where he attended the common schools and spent his youth in assisting his father on the farm.In 1828 he came to Lycoming, now Sullivan county, and settled on a tract of wild land in what is now Cherry township.He began the struggle of life single-handed and alone, and by patience, perseverance and economy amassed a fortune of no mean proportions.He was blunt of speech and manners, but possessed sterling qualities of heart and mind which won for him many friends in spite of his rough exterior.He was the second sheriff of Sullivan county, an office which he filled with great ability, and was for a long time prominent in the administration of local affairs.After the death of his wife, in 1883, he moved to Muncy and purchased a beautiful home where surrounded by all the comforts and luxuries of life, he passed the remainder of his days, dying October 27, 1887.His wife's maiden name was Eve Chrisher, a native of Berks county, Pennsylvania, and to them were born the following children:Elizabeth, the wife of Jonathan Colley, of Muncy, Pennsylvania, Adam H., our subject; Elijah W.,who died in the service of his country during the Civil war; Rebecca, widow of Henry Whitmire, of Muncy; Hannah, wife of Amos Cox, whose sketch will be found on another page of this work; Levi, a farmer in Montour county; Loretta, wife of Daniel E. Dieffenbach, of Cherry township; Lewis M., who served three years in the Civil war and died while in the army; and Amanda, deceased.The mother of these children died August 20, 1883, aged eighty-one years.

††††††††††† Adam Henry Zaner is one of the prominent citizens of Dushore and for many years was a successful farmer until old age forced him to give up active life and retire.He was born in Briar Creek township, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, May 23, 1827, and had all the advantages of an education in the public schools possible at that time, which were few as compared with those of the present day.His entire life has been spent in Sullivan county, on the farm which was originally purchased by his father and which he operated until 1887, until he moved to Dushore, the property then being sold to his son.During all these years he has led an exemplary life and has set an example of industry, integrity and liberality which can safely be followed by his descendants.He has been a Republican ever since the formation of that party and has held several local offices such as school director, constable, etc.He has been vice-president, stock-holder and director of the National Bank at Dushore, and his opinion was highly valued by all connected with that institution.Mr. Zaner was married March, 27, 1853, to Miss Fietta Wentzell, a daughter of Jacob and Susannah (Bahr) Wentzell, who was born in Berks county, February 27, 1834.Of this union six children have been born:Mary A, the wife of William Bahr, of Cherry township: Amanda, at home; Jerome, employed in an excelsior factory at Ricketts, Pennsylvania; Nelson H., living on the old home farm; Lewis B., also residing on a part of the farm; and Bernice, the wife of Addison Yonkin, of Cherry township.The family holds a high position in the community and the children are worthy descendants of their estimable ancestors.

††††††††††† LEWIS B. ZANER, who carries on general farming in Cherry township, was born December 31, 1863, on the old Zaner homestead, a part of which he now owns, and is the son of Adam H. Zaner, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work.Our subject spent his boyhood and youth in attending a district school and assisting his father on the farm, until 1888, when he went to Overton, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in the manufacture of wintergreen extracts for nearly two years.He then removed to Proctor, Lycoming county, where he carried on the same business for three years, and later went to East Canton, Pennsylvania, where he remained two years.He then sold out his factory and returned to Sullivan county, purchasing from his father the farm on which he now lives.This he has brought to a high state of cultivation, and is justly proud of his fertile fields, excellent stock and pleasant home.He is well known throughout the community as an intelligent and enterprising man, and he and his family are highly respected by all who know them.He is a member of the German Reformed church and a Republican in politics.

††††††††††† Mr. Zaner was married April 8, 1896, to Miss Minnie Benjamin, of Dushore, and they have one child, Miriam.Mrs. Zaner is a daughter of Edward and Salinda (Colley) Benjamin, and was born at Dushore, September 9, 1867.Her father was born in Michigan, and when three years of age was brought by his parents to Sullivan county.They settled at Dushore where the family have since resided.Mrs. Benjamin died in 1881, at the age of thirty-three years.Mr. Benjamin, who is a painter and decorator by trade, is still living and resides at Dushore.Their children were four in number:Minnie, wife of our subject; William F., deceased; Emily and Deborah, who are living with their father.

††††††††††† WILLIAM H. YONKIN. --- With other prominent members of the Yonkin family whose histories will be found in this biographical record of Sullivan county, the gentleman whose name heads this sketch has made for himself a well earned reputation as a man of ability, enterprise and intelligence.To such there is always open a field of action in which their talents may be brought into play, and used, if they so elect, to further the best interests of their community.That has been the case with Mr. Yonkin, as a brief relation of the chief events in his life will prove.

††††††††††† William H, Yonkin was born January 13, 1838, in Cherry township, Sullivan county, on a farm adjoining the one on which he now resides.His parents, Henry and Barbre (Hartzig) Yonkin, were old settlers of the county and highly respected citizens.A full sketch of their lives and record of their ancestors and immediate family will be found in the history of their son, Hon, John Yonkin, on another page of this book.Until reaching his majority William remained at home, assisting his father in farming, then started out on his own account.In some seven years he was employed on various farms in the vicinity and then went to Elk county, where for three years he was engaged in lumbering.At the end of that time he returned to Sullivan county and purchased fifty acres of his present property, from Frederick Miller, to which a few years later he added fifty more acres.

††††††††††† Of this he has made a fertile, well-ordered farm, where with his family he enjoys life in a comfortable home, and entertains his many friends with genuine hospitality.

††††††††††† On June 30, 1869, Mr. Yonkin was united in marriage with Miss Hannah A. Fairchild, and this union has been blessed with two children --- Otis F. and Mina Claire --- both of whom are at home with their parents.In 1874 Mr. Yonkin was elected to the responsible office of sheriff of Sullivan county, which he held for three years, fulfilling its duties to the satisfaction of all concerned.That his fellow citizens appreciated his ability and faithfulness in positions of trust is further shown in the fact that he has served them as collector for two years, constable for five years, township clerk for four years, and township treasurer for two years. At present (1898) Mr. Yonkin is holding a government position, having been appointed in 1895 United States store-keeper and gauger at Mildred, Sullivan county.In this office, as in others, he has demonstrated his fitness for the place by his honesty, tact and courtesy.

††††††††††† Mr. Yonkin has been a Master Mason since 1867 and is an honored member of Lodge No. 387, at Dushore.He has also been a member of the Farmers' Alliance since 1890.He belongs to the Lutheran church, and in politics is a Democrat.

††††††††††† Mrs. Yonkin was born in Cherry township, September 23, 1847, and is a daughter of Steven and Nancy (Thomas) Fairchild; the father having been born in New Jersey and the mother in Cherry township, Sullivan county.Mr. Fairchild came to Cherry township with his parents in 1819, they being pioneers of this region.He followed the occupation of a farmer and also operated sawmills.He died April 5, 1880, aged seventy-five years, his wife surviving him until July 20, 1890, when she, too, passed away, at the age of sixty-seven years.Their remains are interred in Cadwallader cemetery.To Mr. and Mrs. Fairchild four children were born, namely:Caroline, who died when three years old; Hannah A., wife of our subject; Charlotte A., residing on the old homestead; and William T., who married Miss Anna Hall and who also lives at the old home.

††††††††††† The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Yonkin were Freeman and Hannah (Ketcham) Fairchild, who removed from Morris county, New Jersey, and in 1819 to Cherry township.The mother was born in May, 1784, and died October 16, 1872.The father was born in 1782 and died in 1834.To this couple were born the following children:Steven, married to Miss Nancy Thomas; Harriet, who became the wife of Wells Willocks; Caroline M., who married John W. Martin; and Daniel, who married Miss Elizabeth Richard.

††††††††††† The grandparents on the maternal side were Samuel T. and Charlotte (Huffmaster) Thomas, natives of Germany, who came to the United States and to Sullivan county at an early day.In accordance with an old custom, Mrs. Thomas, then a young girl, not having money enough to bring her over, was sold on her arrival in this country, the purchase money defraying her passage.The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Thomas were:Nancy, mother of Mrs. Yonkin; Caroline, who died when fifteen years old; Margaret, the wife of Adrian Van Houten; William, who is married and lives at Berwick, Pennsylvania; and Mary M., who married Frank Parsons and also lives at Berwick.

††††††††††† GEORGE W. YONKIN. --- Among the enterprising and successful farmers of Sullivan county, may be numbered the gentleman whose name heads this sketch and who is well known throughout Cherry township.He is a son of Henry and Barbre (Hartzig) Yonkin, the father a native of France and the mother of Switzerland, whose history is given at length in the sketch of Hon. John Yonkin on another page of this volume.The family has for years resided in this county and its members are among the most prominent and well-to-do citizens.

††††††††††† George W. Yonkin was born in Wyalusing, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, October 30, 1836, and remained with his parents until seventeen years of age, when he entered the employ of Colonel G. F. Mason, with whom he remained two years.He then went to Southport, where he worked one year for Lewis Miller, at the end of that time returning to Bradford county, where he was in the employ of William A. Parks for six years, most of this time being spent in lumber camps.Later he purchased from Mr. Ward, sixty-five acres of land, of which he immediately cleared eleven acres, and built a small frame house.He soon brought his farm into good shape and by industry and perseverance he made it productive and porfitable.In 1862 he came to Sullivan county, and in 1878 he built his present residence, a comfortable house of two stories.He is popular in his neighborhood and has served two terms as pathmaster.He is a member of the Reformed Lutheran church and in politics is a Democrat.Mr. Yonkin was married July 21, 1861, at Le Roy, Pennsylvania, to Miss Mary J. Sweeney, and of this union three children have been born.Emily married Lloyd McCarthy, and lives at Dushore, Pennsyklvania; G. Addison, who married Miss Vernie Zaner, is a farmer in Cherry township; John Married Miss Agnes Lutzelman, and keeps a tavern in Lopez, Sullivan county.

††††††††††† Mrs. Yonkin is a daughter of John and Mary (Conners) Sweeney, and was born in county Clare, Ireland, December 10, 1841.Her parents came to America in 1852, settling in Canton, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where her father followed his trade as a shoemaker.He died in that city in November, 1875, aged sixty-three years, his wife surviving until 1888, when she, too, passed away, at the ripe old age of seventy-three years. Their remains are interred in Towanda, Pennsylvania.The children of this worthy couple were:Mary J., wife of our subject; Bridget, who became the wife of Thomas Carmedy, of Bernice, Pennsylvania; John, living in Tioga county, Pennsylvania; Ella and James, who died in childhood; James, employed in the state library at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania; and Anna, who died at an early age.The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Yonkin were Charles and Hannah Sweeney, who spent their entire lives in their native country, Ireland.Her maternal grandparents, also, were natives of Ireland.

††††††††††† Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin are pleasantly situated, and are enjoying the results of their early years of labor and care.They are interested in all the public movements of the day and give their aid to all worthy objects.

††††††††††† GEORGE LOWE CAMPBELL. --- This is the age of marvelous accomplishments in subduing the giant forces of electricity to the use of man.A great number of distinguished men have come into being as notable inventors, who are now promient among those whom science and wealth delight to honor, and the names of Morse and Bell, of Brush and Edison, of Tesla and Roentgen are familiar to all as leading spirits of the electrical world.It has, however, apparently come to Sullivan county to produce an invention in this line second to none in practical utility and the useful application of electricity to the wants of today.A sketch of the inventor and what he has accomplished is fittingly placed on the pages of the history of his native county.

††††††††††† George Lowe Campbell, the inventor of the Campbell System of Electric Traction, was born at Hillsgrove, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, on May 28, 1866, the son of John C. and Margaret M. Campbell, of Highland Scotch origin.(See sketch of John C. Campbell on another page of this volume.)From 1868, when his parents moved to Williamsport, this state, until 1890, when he returned to this invigorating region in quest of health, Mr. Campbell did not make his home here.Attending the public schools of Williamsport until he was thirteen years old, he then left school to enter the employ of the Central Pennsylvania Telephone & Supply Company.He gave his steady attention for four years to the telephone and electric-light work, and then passed two years in special studies at home.Removing to Washington, District of Columbia, he there engaged in newspaper work, which he successively and successfully conducted in Washington, Rochester and Buffalo, New York, and Marion, Indiana.He represented the Pittsburg Pennsylvania Press during the exciting period of the Homestead strike and riots.His health failing, he returned to Sullivan county and spent three years at Eaglesmere and in western Sullivan, finally locating permanently in Dushore.He now turned his attention again to electricty and brought his special knowledge of that science into practical utility and invented the Campbell Electric Bulletin and System of Telegraphy, and organized a company for its development.He is also the inventor of an auto-electric semaphore known as the Automatic Rock-Cut Signal System.In all of these inventions Mr. Campbell has developed new and startling principles, the application of which enables him to produce results long desired and sought after, but which, until his ideas were brought into tangible form, no one had reached.

††††††††††† Of one of his inventions the Commercial and Financial World says:"The Campbell system of electric traction is well described as the simplest, best and most economical system yet invented for the propulsion of cars, street railways, elevated railroads and tramways.It has so few working parts and is so solidly constructed that the chances for accident are reduced to a minimum."This system has been submitted to the judgment of experts and practical street railway men who have had experience in underground trolley work, and their unanimous opinion is that this is a system posessing absolutely none of the faults of the other magnetic or third-rail systems, and having many advantages peculiary its own.The great objection to other systems is their multiplicity of parts, separate contacts, switches, etc.As the Campbell system dispenses with all such mechanism, it is entirely free from such objections.Mr. Campbell is the present manager of the Campbell Electric Traction Company of Towanda, Pennsylvania, incorporated to introduce this invention.

††††††††††† He has also well under way other valuable inventions, among which is a printing telegraph, which can be constructed very simply and at a slight expense compared with the enormous cost of former instruments of that kind.Experiments made with it indicate that it will print a message, not one at both ends of the line as transmitted by the operator, but by as many like instruments as may be connected with the transmitting wire.This invention may eventually revolutionize telegraphy as it enables one to send a message, whether there is an operator at the other end of the wire or not, for the message will be clearly printed and await the operator's coming, if he be absent.

††††††††††† Mr. Campbell is yet a young man.He has a quick, active temperament, in which brain predominates.As a consequence he is never quiet.His temperament has been classed by phrenologists as "mental motive."When not otherwise engaged he is occupied in literary work, in which he wields a facile pen.He has written a number of humorous and descriptive sketches that have appeared in New York and Philadelphia papers, and is the author of a novel with local color entitled, "A Champion of Amateurs," now in process of publication by a New York publishing house.

††††††††††† Mr. Campbell was married in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, in 1879, to Miss Reba J. Sanders.They have had six children, of whom four, three sons and a daughter, are now living, the eldest being eleven years of age.Mr. Campbell's permanent home he has made at Dushore, on account of the rare healthfulness of this region, and here he is contemplating developing a beautiful country seat on a hill overlooking the little valley in which nestles the pleasant village.He is a pleasant, genial companion, and his many friends wish him all the success that his future now promises.

††††††††††† HON. JOHN YONKIN. --- Prominent among the well known, thrifty and honored citizens of Cherry township, the gentleman whose name heads this sketch deserves more then a passing notice.His ancestors came to this country almost a century ago, and they and their descendants, seemingly unaffected by the fever of change which draws so many to seek the far west, have always been loyal to the Quaker state.Mr. Yonkin himself has remained a faithful son of his native state and county, being born September 26, 1829, in Cherry township, where his long and busy life has been spent.He is the son of Henry and Barbre (Hartzigg) Yonkin, who was born at Havre, France, and in Switzerland, respectively.A brief sketch of the grandparents on both sides will be of interest to all readers of this biographical work, and is herewith presented.Henry and Elizabeth (Hartzigg) Yonkin were natives of Hesse-Cassel, Germany, and came to America in 1807.Prior to sailing on their long journey, --- as it was considered in those days, --- some trouble arose which caused them to be detained for a year before they could start.This delay, added to the rascally conduct of the captain of the vessel, who took advantage of their youth and ignorance of travel to swindle them out of their small capital,caused their funds to be entirely exhausted by the time they reached the shores of the new world, and, in accordance with a custom prevailing in those days, upon landing they were sold to a farmer at Bethlehem to pay for their passage.They remained with this man for several years, then lived in different parts of the state until 1823, when they removed to Cherry township, Sullivan county, which was then a part of Lycoming county.Here Mr. Yonkin purchased seventy-five acres of wild land, for which he paid two dollars per acre, made a clearing and built a log cabin.He followed farming and also worked as a wheelwright, and in the course of time became a well-to-do and prominent citizen of his locality.His family consisted of seven children:Henry, father of our subject; John, who married Miss Mary Lavenverg; Elizabeth, now the widow of Henry Graifley, of Cherry township; Catherine, wife of Christian Mozier; Joseph, who married Lucretia Hoffa; Jacob, living in Cherry township, whose wife, Elizabeth Moyer, is deceased; Peter, deceased, whose wife, Catherine Suber, survives him.

††††††††††† Mr. Yonkin and his wife were members of the Lutheran church, and in politics he was a Democrat.He died in June, 1851, at the age of seventy-seven years.His last words to his wife were: "I wish you the good luck to live ten years more," which wish was fulfilled, his beloved companion dying just ten years later, in 1861, aged eighty-six years.Both were buried in the Lutheran cemetery in Cherry township.

††††††††††† On the maternal side the grandparents of our subject were John and Catherine (Shiredecker) Hartzigg, natives of Switzerland, who came to America in 1813 and settled in New Jersey, removing later to that portion of Muncy township, Lycoming county, now Cherry township, Sullivan county.Here Mr. Hartzigg carried on farming and also worked as a wheelwright.Once in their early settlement here Mr. Hartzigg was taken very ill.A physician must be consulted and medicine obtained.To do this Mrs. Hartzigg walked forty miles in a day to Berwick, through twenty miles of unbroken forests, and the next day returned on foot the same distance to her home.He died in 1852, at the age of seventy-eight years, and his wife several years later, at the age of eighty years.Their children were as follows:Barbre, who became the wife of Henry Yonkin, father of our subject; John M. and William, who married sisters, Eliza and Sarah Kester; and Salina, who married Philip Miller.

††††††††††† Henry, father of our subject, was born in Havre, France, in 1806.He came to this country in 1824, and settled in Sullivan county, where he purchased fifty acres of wild land, at two dollars per acre, from a man named John Kunkle.To this he afterward added fifty acres more, and eventually had a fine farm.He became an influential citizen and held a number of public offices, being supervisor, school director, tax collector, etc.

††††††††††† In politics he was a Democrat, and with his wife was a member of the Lutheran church.He died December 29, 1889, at the age of eighty-three years, his wife surviving him until October 7, 1891, and reaching the advanced age of eighty-nine years.Their children were as follows: John, the subject of this sketch; Mary C., the widow of William Smith, who resides with her daughter, Ida Zaner, in Cherry township; Charles F., living in Forks township, Sullivan county, married Miss Wealthy Merrithew; George W., a farmer in Cherry township, married Miss Mary Sweeney, and is represented in this work; Ellen is the wife of H. G. Huffmaster, whose sketch will be found on another page; W. H. whose sketch is also included in this book, is a farmer in Cherry township and married Miss Hannah Fairchild; Jacob died at the age of sixteen years; Emily died when eight years old; Hannah married Fain Moyer, a farmer in Lycoming county; Elmira is the wife of R. C. Kashinka, a blacksmith in Cherry township; Peter J. married Miss Elizabeth Kaneller, and farms on the old homestead.Edward married Miss Ellen Smith, and carries on farming in Cherry township.

††††††††††† Judge John Yonkin left his home when sixteen years of age, intent on making his own way in the world, and going to Bradford county at once found employment with Colonel Gordon F. Mason, who combined the occupations of farmer and land-agent, and also operated sawmills and dida general lumbering business.He remained with this gentleman for fourteen years, a trusted and faithful employe, and in 1874 purchased from John R. Huffmaster the farm on which he now resides.The place was then an unbroken wilderness, and the price paid for it was four thousand two hundred dollars, Mr. Yonkin buying it for his youngest brother, to whom he offered it for four thousand dollars.The latter, however, declined to take it and Mr. Yonker moved on it himself, and has by hard work and careful management converted it into one of the finest farms in Sullivan county.

††††††††††† Judge Yonkin was married February 21, 1863, at the residence of the Rev. Charles L. Early, Lutheran minister in Colley township, to Miss Loretta A. Barge.Mrs. Yonkin was born in Cherry township, March 16, 1841, and is a daughter of Gulieb and Sarah (Suber) Barge --- the former a native of Germany and the latter of Northampton, Pennsylvania.The father was brought to this country when a child of three years, his parents settling in Cherry township, and here he spent his entire life, dying August 19, 1890, at the age of seventy-five.

His wife died in 1888, aged sixty-two years.Their remains were laid to rest in Zion Lutheran cemetery.In addition to Mrs. Yonkin their family consisted of Sally A., deceased; Jacob, a farmer and fruit-grower in Wilmot township, who married Miss Frances Sacks; Emeline, the wife of Clark Fox, a farmer in Jefferson county, Kansas; Jesse married Miss Mary Bowen and lives in Bradford county, Pennsylvania; Mary S. married Michael Brobst, a farmer in Montour county, Pennsylvania; Caroline E. is the wife of Fred Swere, of Bloomsbury, Pennsylvania; Della C., deceased, was the wife of Freeman Frye.

††††††††††† The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Yonkin, Frederick and Mary E. Barge, were natives of Germany and came to this country in 1813, settling in Cherry township, where they carried on farming.Her maternal grandparents, Jacob and Mary M. (Fronfelder) Suber, were born in Pennsylvania, and settled in Sullivan couty in 1844.

††††††††††† Mr. and Mrs. Yonkin have one son, Ira B., who carries on his father's farm and is well known as a good business man.Judge Yonkin is a man of much prominence in public affairs and has filled many offices of honor and responsibility.He served as township treasurer four years and was school director for two terms.In 1878 he was elected county commissioner, serving for three years.In 1886 he was elected associate judge of Sullivan county, but his seat was contested by E. A. Strong.In 1891 he was again elected to this important position, which he held for one term of five years.He is a man of superior intelligence, of undoubted integrity, genial in his manner and a genreal favorite with all who know him.He is thoroughly posted in all the vital questions of the day and is a most agreeable companion.

††††††††††† JOHN P. McGEE, who was for many years a prominent hotel proprietor at Satterfield, Pennsylvania, was born in Towanda, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1839.His parents:Patrick and Sarah (Quinn) McGee, were natives of county Antrim, Ireland, and came to New York when young people.They formed an acquaintanceship and were married in New York, going from there to Montrose, Pennsylvania, and subsequently to Towanda.In 1845 they removed to Sullivan county and settled on the present site of Satterfield, which was then a wilderness.Mr. McGee purchased fifty acres of land, some years later adding fifty acres more, for which he paid a dollar and a half an acre.A clearing was made in the woods, a log cabin built, and with their little family the young couple began their pioneer life.The father was a stone-mason by trade, but made a successful farmer, and before his death had seen his property develop into a fine farm.He died August 31, 1863, at the age of sixty-two years, his wife having passed away July 14, 1860, when forty-seven years of age.They had a large family of children, as follows: Mary A., married Michael Quinn, and is deceased; Enos lives at Bernice, Pennsylvania; Jane is deceased; John P., subject of this sketch; Sarah married Michael Coley, and is deceased; James lives in Bradford county, Pennsylvania; Catherine married Edward McCarty; Peter, deceased; Henry, deceased; Ellen married John McGraw, and is deceased; Robert, whose sketch will be found on another page, lives at Dushore.

††††††††††† Our subject came with his parents to Sullivan county in 1845, and at the early age of thirteen years began working among the lumbermen and farmers, and in mines.In 1892 he built the hotel at Satterfield, which stands twenty-two hundred feet above sea level, and this he carried on until 1896, when his son assumed charge of the business.He was a popular landlord, and is well known and respected throughout the community.He has served as road commissioner and school director, and is a member of the Catholic church.In politics he is a Democrat.

††††††††††† Mr. McGee was married September 17, 1865, at Dushore, to Miss Margaret Minor, who was born in Cherry township, April 9, 1840, and died November 29, 1890, aged forty-eight years.She was a daughter of John and Mary (Coyle) Minor, both natives of Ireland.The children born to Mr. and Mrs. McGee were as follows:James married Miss Mary Gilligan, and lives in Lopez, Pennsylvania; Patrick F. married Miss Mary Goff, and is landlord of the Satterfield Hotel; John lives at Sayre, Pennsylvania; Mary resides at Towanda, Pennsylvania; Sarah resides at Bernice, Pennsylvania; William lives at home; Anna and Margaret are deceased.

††††††††††† M. DeWITT SWARTS. --- The financial and commercial history of Sullivan county would be very incomplete and unsatisfactory without a personal and somewhat extended mention of those whose lives are interwoven so closely with its business interests.Among this number is Mr. Swarts, the courteous and obliging cashier of the First National bank of Dushore.

††††††††††† He was born in Wantage township, Sussex county, New Jersey, a son of John and Elizabeth (DeWitt) Swarts, and is the fourth in order of birth in their family of ten children.He was educated in the public schools of his native township and the Mount Retirement Seminary.At the age of sixteen he entered the office of the prothonotary as assistant to his uncle, who then held that position in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania.In the spring of 1861 he went to Port Jervis, New York, where he was employed as clerk in a large dry-goods store until the spring of 1865, when he removed to Towanda, Pennsylvania, and entered the employ of Joseph Powell, a dry-goods merchant at that place.After one year spent as clerk in that establishment he returned to his home in New Jersey, and during the following year served as tax collector in his native township.On again going to Towanda he was employed as clerk in the dry-goods house of Taylor & Company for three years, and for the following four years was clerk and bookkeeper for the Towanda Tanning Company at Greenwood, Pennsyulvania.He was next a bookkeeper in the First National Bank, of Waverly, New York, for three years, and in a similar capacity spent six months in the Citizens' National Bank, at Towanda.He was then employed as clerk in the grocery store of Stevens & Long until 1880, for the following year was in the insurance business, and subsequently was with A. S. Gordon, a grocer, until January 1, 1881.He then opened a cash grocery of his own, which he conducted until June 15, 1882, when he went to Athens, Pennsylvania, and took charge of a store for R. H. Patch & Company, remaining there until May, 1883,.Returning to Towanda, he helped W. H. D. Green open his large dry-goods store and worked for him until the fall of 1884, when he embarked in the hay business, which he carried on for eighteen months.He then conducted a general store at the nail works at South Towanda until October, 1888, when he came to Dushore and took charge of George H. Wells' interests, closing out his large mercantile business.He was largely instrumental in founding the First National Bank, which was chartered January 17, 1891, and opened for business February 2, following, with George H. Wells as president, A. H. Zaner vice-president, and M. D. Swarts as cashier.In that capacity our subject has since served with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of all concerned, and is recognized as one of the most thorough business men of the county.Energy, close application, perseverance and good management --- these are the elements which have entered into his business career and secured his advancement.

††††††††††† In 1871 Mr. Swarts married Miss Frank Carter, youngest daughter of Dr. Carter, of Towanda, and to them was born one daughter, Josephine C., who now assists her father in the bank.Mrs. Swarts, who was a most estimable lady, departed this life June 30, 1890.

Sullivan Driving Park and Fair Association
Dushore, PA
Undated Stock Certificate Signed by Ellis P. Swank, Secretary
Made out to J. F. Jackson and signed by B. W. Jennings, President
Three powerful figures in Sullivan County politics in the late 19th century--all with their signatures on one piece of paper

Posted on eBay May 2006
The certificate for 2 and 1/2 shares was found with other materials dated around the end of the 19th century. The face value was $25.00.

††††††††††† ELLIS SWANK, ex-sheriff of Sullivan county, has for many years been prominently identified with the industrial and political interests of this section, and he has taken an active part in the upbuilding and progress of the community, cheerfully giving his support to those enterprises that tend to public development and materially aiding in the advancement of all social, industrial, educational and moral interests.

††††††††††† On the paternal side Mr. Swank is of German descent, his grandfather, Solomon Swank, having been a native of Germany. Emigrating to the New World, he was one of the earliest settlers of Sullivan county, where he followed his trade of blacksmithing until his death.He reared seven children, namely:John, Jacob, Christian, Samuel, Sarah, Elizabeth and Christiana.

††††††††††† Christian Swank, our subject's father, was born in Montour county, Pennsylvania, about 1820, and at a very early day accompanied his parents on their removal to Sullivan county.When a young man he became interested in agricultural pursuits, which he still follows in Davidson township.He married Miss Mary A., daughter of Jonas Swank, and to them were born seven children:Sarah A., now the widow of Clark Mossteller, of Sullivan county; Ellis, our subject; Peter G., a farmer of Davidson township; Henry, deceased; Elizabeth J., wife of J. A. Myers, of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; Arabella, wife of J. W. Phillips, and Jerusha, wife of Milton Flick, both of Lycoming county.The wife and mother departed this life in 1887.

††††††††††† Ellis Swank was born in Davidson township, July 18, 1849, and has spent his entire life in Sullivan county, receiving his education in its common schools and aiding in the work of the home farm during his boyhood and youth.In 1867 he took up the trade of carpenter, which he successfully followed for nine years.Subsequently he engaged in blacksmithing and sawing, while making his home in Muncy Valley.On the 17th of December, 1876, he was united in marriage with Miss Emma Phillips, of Davidson township, and four children blessed their union:Elizabeth J., who died at the age of fourteen years; Ellery E.; Thomas C., and Martin E.

††††††††††† In the fall of 1879 Mr. Swank was elected constable of Davidson township, and most acceptably filled that position for two terms.In 1883 he was elected county auditor, and in the fall of 1885 was the choice of the people for sheriff of Sullivan county, both of which positions he filled with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of the public.His duties were performed with an unselfish devotion that well entitles him to the respect which is so freely given him and to a place among the honored and valued residents of the county.Politically he is a Democrat, and socially is a member of Lairdsville Lodge, No. 986, I. O. O. F.When elected sheriff he removed to Laporte, where he now makes his home.

††††††††††† SAMUEL KESTER, one of the leading business men of Dushore, Pennsylvania, has shown in his successful career that he has the ability to plan wisely and execute with energy, a combination which, when possessed by men in any walk of life, never fails to effect notable results.He is now the junior member of the firm of Barth & Kester, manufacturers of doors, sash, blinds, molding, fine interior and exterior wood-work, rough and dressed lumber, and dealers in plastering, cements, sand, coal, brick, lath, lime, shingles, etc.

††††††††††† A native of Sullivan county, Mr. Kester was born in Cherry township, March 5, 1848, and is a son of Charles and Elizabeth (Barth) Kester.During his boyhood and youth he pursued his studies in the public schools of that township, and on attaining his majority began his business career as a blacksmith, working at that trade for three winters, while during the summer months he engaged in carpentering.He then engaged in contracting and building with his uncle, L. M. Barth, carrying on that business successfully until 1882, when they built their present plant and have since operated the same.Wide-awake, energetic business men, they have built up an excellent trade and both stand high in business circles.In his social relations Mr. Kester is an Odd Fellow, and in political sentiment is a stanch Republican, giving his support to all measures which he believes calculated to prove of public benefit.

††††††††††† Mr. Kester has been twice married --- first to Miss Hannah L. Martin, daughter of Louis Martin, and to them was born one child, Hattie, who now conducts a millinery store in Elsie, Michigan.On the 15th of September, 1886, he married Miss H. Alvernon Strong, who was born at Three Rivers, Michigan.Her father, James Strong, became a soldier of the Civil war and was killed at Fort Fisher.One daughter, Mildred, graces the second marriage.Mr. and Mrs. Kester hold membership in the Lutheran church, and in the social circles of the community occupy an enviable position.
Editor's Note: You can also learn more about the Kester family history at Descendants of Jacob Kester and Katherine Knubaharin.

††††††††††† RUSH JACKSON THOMSON is one of the ablest lawyers practicing at the Sullivan county bar, having that mental grasp which enables him to discover the points in a case.A man of sound judgement, he manages his cases with masterly skill and tact.He has made a specialty of real-estate and corporation law, and in these lines has gained a most enviable reputation.

††††††††††† Mr. Thomson was born at Hunlock's Creek, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, March 18, 1849, and is a son of James Thomson and grandson of David Thomson.The latter was a native of Litchfield county, Connecticut, and came to Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, with his mother, a widow, who served as janitress of the first jail of that county.He learned the carpenter's trade, which he made his life work.He married Susan Saylor, by whom he had three children, namely: George, James and William.

††††††††††† James Thomson, our subject's father, was born in Nanticoke, Luzerne county, March 21, 1820, and received a fair education in the public schools of his native town.On attaining his majority he commenced boating on the Pennsylvania canal, and was thus employed until 1853, when he accepted the position of superintendent of the shipping department of Washington Lee & Company, large coal merchants of Nanticoke.In the spring of 1856 he came to Sullivan county and purchased a farm in Cherry township, a mile and a half southeast of Dushore, where he followed farming for twelve years.At the end of that time he moved to Dushore, where he served as expressman for the following twelve years, and in 1876 was appointed justice of the peace, the duties of which office he has since most ably and satisfactorily discharged.He also acts as agent for several leading life, fire and accident insurance companies.In his political views he is a Democrat, and has been honored with a number of local offices, being one of the first jury commissioners elected under the new law, and also serving as school director many years, and as overseer of the poor.He is one of the most highly respected and prominent citizens of his community, and he and his estimable wife are faithful members of the Methodist Episcopal church.He was married, December 23, 1847 to Miss Elizabeth C. Jackson, a daughter of Dr. Josiah Jackson, who is represented elsewhere in this work, and two children blessed this union: Rush J., our subject, and Mary B., wife of E. A. Strong, of Wyalusing, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Rush J. Thomson was only seven years old when his parents located in Sullivan county, where he grew to manhood, his literary education being obtained in the public schools and in the State Normal at Mansfield.At the age of fourteen he commenced clerking in a general store at Dushore and was so employed for four years, after which he taught school for two terms and then began the study of law in the office of William A. and B. M. Peck, of Towanda.On his admission to the bar May 1, 1871, he opened an office in Dushore, and was not long in building up the large and lucrative practice which he still enjoys.His skill and ability in his chosen profession are widely recognized and he has been called upon to serve as district attorney for three terms.He has been a director of the Citizens' National Bank of Towanda eleven years, and is also a trustee of the Robert Packer hospital at Sayre, Pennsylvania.Like his father, he is a supporter of the Democratic party, and is one of the most prominent and influential men of Sullivan county.He was married March 9, 1875, to Miss Fanny I., daughter of Rev. Richard Videan, of Forksville, Pennsylvania, for many years a clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal church and in later life a merchant at Forksville, in this county.Religiously she is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.

††††††††††† HON. F. B. POMEROY, deceased, was for many years one of the leading business men and prominent citizens of Dushore, Pennsylvania.He was a native of this state, born at Troy, Bradford county, April 24, 1826, and traced his ancestry back to Eltweed Pomeroy, who came from England to America in 1630 and settled in Northampton, Massachusetts, and later at Windsor, Connecticut.His son Joseph was the father of Noah Pomeroy, who married Elizabeth Sterling.Their son Daniel married Naomi Kibbs and had a son Eleazer, who married Priscilla Kingsbury, and had a son Ebenezer, the father of our subject.Ebenezer Pomeroy became a resident of Troy township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, about 1818, and for some years carried on carding and cloth-dressing works, but afterwards purchased a large tract of land in that section, cleared it and resided thereon until his death, which occurred in 1878.He married Laura Brewster, and to them were born ten children, as follows: Edwin S., Emily, Kingsbury, Fayette B., Augustus, Chauncey N., Sybil M., Mary, Frances and C. Burton.

††††††††††† Fayette B. Pomeroy, of this review, attended the local schools, and after completing his education traveled as a commercial salesman for H. J. Grant, of Ithaca, New York, for eighteen years.In 1870 he came to Dushore and embarked in the drug business, which he successfully carried on for over a quarter of a century.He met with marked success in all his undertakings and was recognized as one of the representative business men of the town.He took an important part in the organization of the First National Bank of Dushore, was elected a member of its first board of directors, which position he continued to hold, and for two years prior to his death served as its president.He was a man of good executive ability, sound judgment and superior business tact, and was always cool and collected.In 1876 he was elected associate judge and served for one term, while he also at different times filled the offices of burgess, councilman and school director.It is but just and merited praise to say of Mr. Pomeroy that as a business man he ranked among the ablest; as a citizen he was honorable, prompt and true to every engagement; and as a man he held the honor and esteem of all classes of people; while as a husband and father he was a model worthy of all imitation, unassuming in his manner, sincere in his friendships, steadfast and unswerving in his loyalty to the right.He died on the 15th of September, 1898, and his death was widely and deeply mourned by the entire community.

††††††††††† In 1866 he married Miss Elizabeth Ellis, of Troy, Pennsylvania, who survives him with three daughters --- Mrs. Walter Appleman, of Wilkes-Barre, Mrs. William Waddell, of Dushore, and Miss Emily Pomeroy, of New York city.

††††††††††† JOHN VICKERY RETTENBURY is a leading representative of the business interests of Dushore, Pennsylvania, where he carries on operations as a jeweler and watchmaker, and enjoys a large and lucrative trade.He has the most complete store of the kind in Sullivan county, and also has the finest repairing department in this section of the state.Of excellent business ability and broad resources, he has attained a prominent place among the substantial citizens of the community, and has won success by his well-directed, energetic efforts.

††††††††††† Mr. Rettenbury was born in Devonshire, England, November 30, 1831, and is the only surviving child of Hugh and Judith (Vickery) Rettenbury.His father was a prominent hotel man in his native country, where he died when our subject was a lad of five years.The mother afterward married again, and in 1842 the family came to America, locating in Niagara county, New York, where Mr. Rettenbury completed his education in the common schools.During his youth he learned the carpenter and joiner's trade, and later the jewelry and watch-making trade.In 1878 he located in Monroeton, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, but in April of the following year came to Dushore, where he has since successfully engaged in business.In political sentiment he is a Republican, and he ever takes a deep and commendable interest in public affairs.

††††††††††† On the 28th of October, 1879, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Rettenbury and Miss Bernice Kellogg, who was born in South Branch, Bradford county, June 27, 1845, a daughter of Ezra and Lavina (Sweet) Kellogg.The father, who was a prominent farmer of South Branch, was born August 14, 1806, in Hadley, Massachusetts, and was a son of Amos and Eunice (Chadwick) Kellogg.Mrs. Rettenbury is a most estimable lady and a member of the Universalist church.

††††††††††† JOHN D. REESER, one of the leading retail merchants of Sullivan county, was born in Dushore, where he still resides, March 15, 1861.He received his education in the public schools of his native place and when eighteen years of age opened a confectionery store, which about a year later he converted into a general dry-goods store.In 1884 he took as his partner E. G. Sylvara and continued the business until 1891, when he sold his interest to Mr. Sylvara and opened his present establishment, which in one of the finest general department dry-goods and millinery stores in this section of the state.The millinery department is under the management of Mrs. Reeser, who has proved herself thoroughly capable of attending to all its details and making of it a most popular resort for the ladies of the county.Mr. Reeser is a self-made man and his success in business is due entirely to his own efforts, his careful management and strict attention to his affairs.He is a member of the town council and was at one time president of the borough council, but has always preferred to give his time and attention to his large and increasing business instead of courting the fickle favors of the political arena.He is a Royal Arch Mason and a member of the Northern Commandery.In politics he is independent, voting for the candidates whom he considers the best qualified to fill positions of trust and responsibility.

††††††††††† Mr. Reeser was united in marriage March 4, 1884, to Miss Mary R. Burns, daughter of Henry C. and Clara Burns, and of this union three children have been born, namely: John D. Jr., Marjorie J. and Mabel D.Mrs. Reeser is a most estimable woman.Both she and her husband stand high in the estimation of their fellow citizens and are always ready to assist in anything that pertains to the growth and welfare of the community.

††††††††††† John Reeser, the grandfather of our subject, was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1790, and was a miller and farmer by occupation.In 1821 he came to Sullivan county, locating at Loyal Lock Creek, on the farm known as the Ellis Stand, now owned by Mrs. Seaman.His wife, ne'e Madeline Betts, bore him nine children, namely: Daniel, William, Charles, Jeremiah, Amos, John, Reuben, Elizabeth and Susan.Mr. Reeser died December 9, 1860, at the advanced age of seventy years, and his wife January 8, 1869, having almost reached her seventy-sixth year.

††††††††††† Amos Reeser, son of the foregoing and father of John D., was born in the Ellis farm November 27, 1822.His school advantages were very limited, and early in life he began business for himself by selling liquor throughout the county, subsequently conducting a hotel at Long Pond, now Lake Ganoga, and later ran the famous Ellis Stand on the property where he was born.From this place he moved to Dushore and managed at different times all the hotels at that place except the Carroll house.He retired from active business in the spring of 1886, on account of poor health, and departed this life September 10, 1897.Mr. Reeser was married January 1, 1846, to Miss Rebecca Dieffenbacher, who was born in Columbia county, August 8, 1826, a daughter of Jacob Dieffenbacher, who came to Sullivan county in 1829.Of this union seven children were born, as follows: Angeline, whose first husband was Daniel Vaughn and who is now the wife of Hiram Nichols, of Sayre, Pennsylvania; Lyman died when eighteen months old; Valine, wife of George Honnotter, of Dushore; Emeline, who became the wife of William Scureman, and both are deceased; Mary who is the widow of Barney Weiss, of Waverly, New York; Burnes is the wife of William McHenry, of Sciotavale, Pennsylvania; and John D., the subject of this sketch.

††††††††††† Amos Reeser was a successful business man and was prominent in his locality.He held the offices of school director, tax collector, etc., fulfilling his duties with ability and to the general satisfaction of the public.In politics he was a Democrat and socially was a member of the I. O. O. F.His widow still resides on the old homestead in Dushore.

††††††††††† LYMAN WILEY, a highly respected citizen of Lopez, Sullivan county, holds a responsible position in the mills of Jennings Brothers, the well known lumbermen, his ability and efficiency having won the entire confidence of the firm.For a number of years Mr. Wiley was engaged in business for himself, meeting with success, and at various times he has made judicious real estate investments, being now the owner of property in Duluth, Minnesota, valued at sixteen thousand dollars, including a house and lot purchased in 1884 and other property bought in1888.He also owns a ten acre orange grove near Emporia, Florida, but the heavy frost of 1894-95 destroyed his trees, and the new growth will take years of care before reaching a profitable condition.

††††††††††† Mr. Wiley derives his energy and business acumen from good Scotch-Irish stock.John Wiley, his paternal grandfather, was born in the north of Ireland, and after learning the cooper's trade came to America, locating first in Troy, New York, and later in Dowagiac, Cass county, Michigan, where his death occurred.He was married after arriving in America, his wife dying in Cass county, Michigan.They had the following children: James, a farmer near Peoria, Illinois; Robert, our subject's father; Josephine A., who became Mrs. Spencer and resided at Wellsville, New York, until the death of her husband, and she was afterward killed by a runaway horse in Denver, Colorado; William, deceased, formerly a farmer at Dowagiac, Michigan; and a daughter, who married Moses Adams, a farmer near Elkhart, Illinois.

††††††††††† Robert Wiley, father of our subject, was born at Troy, New York, but his youth was chiefly spent upon a farm in Steuben county, New York.As a young man he engaged in farming there, and in 1859 he removed to the vicinity of Dowagiac, where he purchased a farm.Politically he was a Democrat and he and his wife were both devout members of the Presbyterian church.His death occurred at Dowagiac in 1865, when fifty-six years old, his wife departing this life in 1852 at Addison, New York, aged forty-three years.This worthy couple had six children:J. S., deceased, formerly a well known lumberman at Emporium, Pennsylvania; Elizabeth, wife of Luther Quick, a mechanic at Tiskilwa, Illinois; Lyman, our subject; Sarah, who married Henry Cunningham, a farmer in Highland township, Iowa county, Wisconsin; Emma, widow of William Ball, of Dowagiac; and Mary, who married Hugh Spencer, of Highland township, Iowa county, Wisconsin.

††††††††††† The birth of our subject occurred July 12, 1843, at Addison, New York, and during his youth he received a common-school education.At the age of fourteen he began work as a farm hand, receiving four dollars a month, thus requiring the labor of an entire month to enable him to buy a pair of boots.After a time he found employment in a sawmill in New York state as an unskilled laborer, and later he removed to Emporium, Pennsylvania, and worked for his elder brother, who was then engaged in lumbering.In 1866 he went to Greenville, Michigan, where he was employed in a mill as head sawyer for two years, and for four years he held a similar position at Manistee, same state.He then returned to Emporium, Pennsylvania, and entered into partnership with his brother, continuing about thirteen years.On disposing of his interest in 1885 he went to Emporia, Florida, where he spent some time looking after his orange grove, but on his return to Pennsylvania he worked for a while as a band-saw filer at Emporium and Tidioute, Pennsylvania.In March, 1897, he removed to Lopez and took his present position as band-saw filer for Jennings Brothers.

††††††††††† In politics Mr. Wiley is a firm supporter of the Republican party, and although he is not ambitious for official honors he has at times been chosen to fill local offices.He attends the Methodist church and for many years has been an active member of the Masonic fraternity, having joined it at Addison, New York, in 1864.He is fond of out-door life, being a devotee of the bicycle, and is a veteran in the League of American Wheelmen.

††††††††††† On November 8, 1880, Mr. Wiley was married at Addison, New York, to Miss Orvilla Rowley, daughter of Warren Rowley.She passed away while in Emporia, Florida, July 8, 1886.

††††††††††† JOHN C. DYER, a prominent resident of Colley township, Sullivan county, has been extensively engaged in lumbering and other lines of business, his efforts being uniformly rewarded with success, and as a citizen he is held in high esteem for his sterling qualities of character.

††††††††††† Mr. Dyer belongs to a well known family of Pike township, Bradford county, his grandfather, Samuel Dyer, a native of Long Island, having come to Pennsylvania in 1813, purchasing a farm on the old state road in Bradford county, where his death occurred some years later.His wife, Hilda Fairchild, a native of Connecticut, married again, but continued to reside in the same locality.To Samuel and Hilda Dyer the following children were born:Harriet, wife of Lyman White, of Herrick, Bradford county; Ephraim, our subject's father; Martha, deceased, married Lyman Madison, of Herrick; William, a farmer at Elkhart Grove, Carroll county, Illinois; Alvira, deceased, married Henry Sherman and lived in Missouri until her death; Charles, a farmer in Carroll county, Illinois.

††††††††††† Ephraim Dyer was born and reared in Bradford county and was a farmer by occupation.In 1862 he moved to Kansas, where he became a prominent worker in the Republican party and in 1864 he took a position under the federal government, which he held for some time.He died at his homestead at Abilene, Dickinson county, Kansas, in 1896.His wife, Linda Taylor, who is still living in Kansas, was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, the daughter of Jonathan Taylor.Of their children, Nelson, who served four years in the United States army, resides at Abilene, Kansas; Emily married Mr. Pattery, of Abilene, Kansas; J. C., our subject; Samuel died in childhood; Ellen married Charles Depew, of Nebraska; Oscar, a merchant at Wyalusing, Bradford county, married Mrs. Liberty A. Orton; Justina, widow of Mr. Wilder, resides in Kansas; Frederick settled in California; and Etha resides in Kansas.

††††††††††† J. C. Dyer, the immediate subject of this review, was born September 22, 1844, in Bradford county, where his youth was spent, his education being secured in the common schools of that locality.At the age of nineteen he found employment as a farm hand in Duchess county, New York, remaining two years, and later he spent a short time in similar work in Carroll county, Illinois.On his return to Pennsylvania he began farming and milling in Terry township, Bradford county, remaining about eighteen years.He owned about ninety acres of land, and during his residence there he devoted much time to lumbering.On disposing of this property he bought a farm in Pike township, Bradford county, which he sold two years later.He then ran a sawmill at Bernice, Sullivan county, for a year and a half, and for eleven years past he has been connected with a lumber mill at Ricketts, owned by Trexler & Turrell, being employed as filer and foreman.Politically he is a Republican, and while residing in Bradford county he served as school director and road commissioner, and in Sullivan county he has been a member of the election board in his township.For seven years he has been identified with the Masonic fraternity at Monroeton, Pennsylvania, and although not a church member he attends religious service and is always ready to assist in any worthy cause.

††††††††††† In 1866 Mr. Dyer was married to Miss Mary A. Buttles, a native of Terry township, and three children have been born to them, namely:Albert, who resides in Lopez; Worth, who resides on Long Island and is in the employ of the Long Island Railroad company; and Sadie, who married Murray Tozer, head bookkeeper for Jennings Brothers at Lopez.

††††††††††† WILLIAM FLOYD RANDALL, M. D. --- One of the most exacting of all the higher lines of occupation to which a man may lend his energies is that of the physician.A most scrupulous preliminary training is demanded, and a nicety of judgment but little understood by the laity.

††††††††††† Our subject is well fitted for the profession which he has chosen as a life work, and his skill and ability have won for him a lucrative practice in and around Dushore, Pennsylvania, where he is now located.

††††††††††† The Doctor is a native of Sullivan county, born in Forks township, February 7, 1867, and is a son of Dr. Wallace J. and Sarah (Green) Randall.The father, who died at Forksville, October 3, 1881, was for twenty-two years one of the leading physicians of the county.He was born at Columbia Cross Roads, Bradford county, this state, and settled at Forksville in 1859.He was a prominent Republican and twice was his party's nominee for congress.Fraternally he was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Patrons of Husbandry.Our subject is the oldest in his family of six children, the others being Esther M., now the wife of Rev. Charles Shonabacher; Moses L., a carpenter at Lincoln Falls, Pennsylvania; John W., who is still on the homestead farm at Forksville; Washington E., a clerk in a drug store at Forksville; and Maude, who resides with her mother at the old home at Forksville.

††††††††††† Dr. Randall, of this sketch, pursued his studies in the public schools of Forksville and Hepburnville, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and later took a two-years course in the academic department of the Williamsport Commercial College, and then graduated in the business course in September, 1883.Subsequently he took a special course in German and a post-graduate course at the commercial college.After working for one year as bookkeeper for Lancaster & Stevens at Forksville, he entered the office of Dr. Francis Chaffee and began the study of his chosen profession.He spent the winter of 1886-7 at the College of Physicians & Surgeons in Baltimore, and in the spring of the latter year became interested in the drug business at Forksville with Dr. Chaffee.In the spring of 1889 he graduated at the medical department of the University of Baltimore, and then opened an office at Forksville, where he engaged in practice for a time.He took a post-graduate course at Jefferson Medical College, of Philadelphia, in the winter of 1892-3, and on leaving Forksville in the fall of 1897 attended lectures at Philadelphia for six weeks.On his return to Sullivan county he opened an office in Dushore, and was not long in building up a large and lucrative practice, which he still enjoys.He makes a specialty of the diseases of women and children and also of the diseases of the nose, ear and throat.He was appointed pension examiner in September, 1898, and is an honored member of the Bradford County Medical Society and the State Medical Society.He is also a Knight Templar Mason and a member of the Improved Order of Red Men.

††††††††††† On the 18th of April, 1888, the Doctor was united in marriage with Miss Della J. Fleming, a daughter of John and Zelphia (Rogers) Fleming, of Forksville, and they now have a little son, William Ralph, born June 5, 1893.Both the Doctor and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and hold an enviable position in social circles.

Editor's Note: Here is a story printed in the Sullivan Review in 1891 that reveals some of Dr. Randall's creativity:

The Sullivan Review
February 5, 1891

An interesting item of medical news comes from Fox Township. The particulars of the case are as follows: Mamie, a five year old daughter of Sylvester Brown of Shunk, met with an accident last April which resulted in the formation of two large ulcers in the lumbar region of the back.
One of the ulcers was eleven by four and the other eight by three inches. Medical aid was secured for the little sufferer and an attempt made to heal the sores.
November 17, Dr. W.F. Randall of Forksville, was called and took charge of the case. At that time the ulcers had destroyed the flesh almost down to the bone. Dr. Randall concluded to try to heal the sores by the engrafting of skin and has met with excellent success.
The smaller one was grafted with skin taken from the arms of two healthy brothers and a sister, and the larger one by skin taken from frogs. Both ulcers are healing rapidly and the patient is in a fair way to recover.
This we believe is the first attempt at skin grafting in our county and the many readers of the Review will no doubt be interested in knowing about it. Dr. Randall is entitled to much praise for the professional zeal and skill shown in the treatment of this case.

††††††††††† CHRISTIAN HEINZE, a well known resident of Fox township, Sullivan county, is a good type of the thrifty German citizens of our country who have done so much to aid in its growth and development.Like most of his countrymen, he is loyal to the land of his adoption, and when the Civil war broke out he espoused the cause of the government and offered his services to sustain the rightful authorities.His record is that of a brave soldier, who never shirked his duty and was always ready to respond to the call to action.

††††††††††† Mr. Heinze was born in Swartzburg, Reidelstadt, Germany, May 14, 1832.His father, Andus Heinze, was born in the same place and was a charcoal-burner by occupation.He married Christina Honn, also a native of Swartzburg, who died in Germany.After her death the father came to this country, in 1856, with one son, Frederick, and located in Sullivan county.He died in New York city, at a good old age.Frederick died September2, 1898, aged sixty-one years and nine months.Both were members of the Lutheran church.Four children were born to Andus Heinze and wife, one of whom died in infancy:August, deceased; Christian, the subject of this sketch; and Frederick.

††††††††††† Christian Heinze received a good common-school education in his native land, and when fourteen years old began to help his father at charcoal-burning.He was nineteen years old when he set sail with the others of his family for the United States, the voyage being a very tedious one, as this was long before the days of the "ocean grey-hounds" of the present time.A severe storm also delayed the travelers, and fifty-six days were consumed in making the trip.For a time young Heinze lived with an uncle at Poughkeepsie, New York, from whom he learned the shoemaker's trade, then took charge of a crockery store in New York city.In 1862, the second year of the Civil war, Mr. Heinze enlisted and was assigned to Company B, Twentieth New York Infantry, in which he served for nine months, spending most of the time in Virginia and taking part in the battle of Sharpsburg, and in the movements against Fredericksburg.He was in the hospital for many months, suffering from chronic diarrhoea and intermittent fever.In weight he was reduced from one hundred and sixty-five to seventy-five pounds, and he has never entirely recovered his health.

††††††††††† Our subject was united in marriage March 1, 1855, the Miss Katinka Flemming, daughter of Frederick and Johanna Christiana (Gender) Flemming.Her parents were natives of Germany and came to New York in 1853.Their children were Augusta, Matilda, Christian, Theresa, Emelia, Christiana, Christy, Louise and Frederick; two are deceased.Mr. and Mrs. Heinze have one son, Carl, who married Miss Carrie Goeckler and has three children, --- Anthony, Lillie and Elenora.Mr. Heinze has a fine farm of fifty acres and is in comfortable circumstances.

††††††††††† J. H. LEPSCH, superintendent of the Standard Wood Company's plant at Lopez, this county, was born in Buffalo, New York, March 21, 1870.He is a son of Clemens and Caroline (Eckhart) Lepsch, and a grandson of Clemens Lepsch, a native of Wurtemberg, Germany.His grandfather learned the trade of carpenter and followed it in the fatherland until his death.He had two sons, Charles and Clemens, both of whom came to America to live.Charles was for about thirty years a prosperous carpenter of Buffalo, New York, where he died:Clemens Lepsch, the father of our subject, was born in Wurtemberg, November 14, 1840, and served five years in the German army.He embarked for this country when twenty-six years old, locating at Buffalo, New York, where he was engaged as lumber inspector for a number of years.While living in Buffalo he was married to Caroline Eckhart, also a native of Wurtemberg.After a ten-years residence there he moved to Salamanca, New York, and was again engaged in the lumber business, till his death, August 8, 1882.He had always affiliated with the Republican party.His wife lives at Bradford, Pennsylvania.They were the parents of five children, viz.:Clemens, superintendent of the Standard Wood Company at White Haven, Pennsylvania; J. H., the subject of this biography; Charles, a machinist for the Standard Wood Company at Bradford; Elizabeth, living with her mother at the same place; and William, a bookkeeper for the Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburgh Railroad, at Bradford.

††††††††††† J. H. Lepsch received his educational training at the schools of Carrollton and Salamanca, New York.He was but twelve years of age when his father died, and he soon afterward obtained employment in a sawmill at Carrollton, New York, where he remained five years.The following five years he worked at bundling kindling wood for the Standard Wood Company, at the same place.In 1892 he went to Bradford and worked in the machine shops until 1896, when he came to Lopez, Sullivan county, and took charge of the kindling-wood factory for the Standard Wood Company at this point.This firm does an extensive business, having seventeen factories in operation.

††††††††††† Mr. Lepsch was united in matrimony to Miss Sadie Torrance, a daughter of David Torrance, of Bradford.They have two children --- Ada P., born June 6, 1896; and Hazel R., born March 21, 1898.Mr. Lepsch was made a Mason February 28, 1896, at Salamanca, New York, and united with the Knights of the Maccabees at Carrollton, that state, April 3, 1888.

††††††††††† CHRISTOPHER HOPE, postmaster and a prominent merchant of Mildred, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, possesses that valuable quality of versatility or adaptability which is a prominent element of the American character and which by its exercise in international commerce is beginning to attract world-wide attention and regard.Mr. Hope is of Irish extraction and for the success which he has attained in life his own efforts deserve full credit.

††††††††††† He was born at Lovelton, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, November 3, 1862, the son of Peter F. and Marcella (Reilly) Hope, now residents of Lovelton.Peter F. Hope was born in Ireland, in 1836, the son of Christopher and Eliza Hope, who remained in their native land throughout life.Peter F. was a young man of twenty-one when he resolved to seek a new home in America.He settled at Lovelton, married Marcella Reilly, the daughter of Bernard and Ann (Cunningham) Reilly, and there engaged in farming.To Peter F. and Marcella Hope were born these children:Christopher, subject of this sketch; Bernard, Edward, Bartholomew, Francis, Charles, George, Elizabeth (Mrs. John Corcoran), Anna (Mrs. Edward Schultz), Mary (Mrs. Malloy), Margaret, Susan (Mrs. Michael Murray), Catherine, and Marcella, --- all living.

††††††††††† Christopher, our subject, the eldest child of his parents, remained at home, assisting in the work of the farm until he reached the age of twenty-three years.He then started out for himself in life.For six months he was in the woods at Big Shanty, McKean county, Pennsylvania, and then he returned home for a year.Again he engaged in lumbering at Lopez, this state, and then was connected with a hotel at Dushore.Returning to Lovelton he farmed for two years, then in 1893 he engaged in his present mercantile business at Mildred.In February, 1894, he was appointed postmaster at Mildred.In politics he is a Democrat and in religious faith a Catholic.Socially he is a member of the order of the Knights of Labor, and is highly esteemed.

††††††††††† Mr. Hope was married at Dushore, in April, 1890, to Miss Anna Burke, a native of Ireland, the daughter of William and Ann (Sullivan) Burke.William Burke was born in county Galway, Ireland, November 4, 1833, the son of Michael and Mary (Cunningham) Burke.Of the five children of this latter couple two --- John and Margaret --- died young; three came to America:Thomas, now a farmer of Colley township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania; Michael, a shoemaker of Lopez, this county; and William, the father of our subject's wife.The parents died in Ireland --- Michael in 1868, aged ninety-two years, and Mary in 1858, aged seventy years.William Burke was married at Tyna church in county Galway, Ireland, June 22, 1860, to Ann Sullivan, who was born in county Tipperary, same country, in 1833, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Donnelly) Sullivan, who remained in Ireland.After his marriage William remained on his father's farm until two years after the latter's death, then, in 1870, he emigrated to America.He settled at Dushore, where he worked for four years on the track for the Jackson & Millett Coal Company, and after the road changed hands he continued with the new owners until 1879, when he entered the Bernice coal mines.In 1888 he purchased from Joseph Marshall his present farm and in 1895 retired from coal-mining and has since engaged in farming.He is in politics a Democrat and a member of the Catholic church.The children of William and Ann Burke are as follows:Mary, Mrs. Patrick Lynch, of Detroit, Michigan; Margaret, Mrs. John Temple, of Detroit, Michigan; Michael, who died young; Ann, wife of our subject; Thomas, a resident of Cleveland, Ohio; Tracia, Patrick and Dennis, at home.To our subject and wife have been born the following children:Zetia, Mary, Florence, Corentha, Frances and Helen.

††††††††††† MILTON BATTIN, who lives in Fox township, near Piatt, this county, was born in the neighborhood where he still lives, April 18, 1839.His father, Joseph Battin, the son of Marshall and Mary (Hoagland) Battin, was also born in Fox township and married Nancy Bagley, a native of Bradford county, and the daughter of Eason and Esther Bagley.To Joseph Battin and his wife twenty children were born, of whom those named below grew to years of maturity:Milton; Mary (Mrs. Hoppes); Harriett (Mrs. Reibsan); Reuben; Lamartine; Amy (Mrs. Savacool); Lucinda (Mrs. Fry); Clarkson, James and Henry, who live in Michigan; Marshall, who died when sixteen years old; and Larue, who died when fourteen years of age.The father died May 22, 1890, aged seventy-seven years.He followed farming during most of his life.He was a strong Republican in political belief and a birthright member of the Society of Friends.His wife, who was a most estimable woman, a devoted wife and mother, and a kind neighbor, departed this life in February, 1878, when fifty-five years old.

††††††††††† Our subject spent his early youth and manhood on his father's farm, attending the district school and performing such tasks as fall to the lot of a country lad; but when the Civil war broke out his patriotism was roused and with hundreds of others, young and old, he responded to the call of President Lincoln for seventy-five thousand volunteers, enlisting in October, 1861, in Company B, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Infantry, under Captain Henry Metcalf, of Dushore, J. Richler Jones being the colonel in command of the regiment.He served for three years and three months and saw much severe fighting, being in the battles of Zuni, Virginia, December 11, 1862; two battles of Sandy Ridge, April 18 and 20, 1863; Gum Swamp, May 22, 1863; Batcheller's creek, May 23, 1863; and Cold Harbor, June 1863.He was taken sick at Fortress Monroe and was for some time in the hospital.Being granted a furlough he returned home, subsequently going to Philadelphia and receiving an honorable discharge at Germantown, Pennsylvania.His record as a soldier is one of which he may well be proud, and he now receives a pension from the government.

††††††††††† The marriage of our subject to Miss Eliza Higby took place March 24, 1865, in Fox township, Sullivan county.Mrs. Battin is a daughter of William Higby, whose great-grandfather, also named William, once owned the whole of Long Island and sold it for a few dollars.William Higby's wife was Miss Julia Ann Olds, who was born in Massachusetts and whose father was a soldier in the war of 1812.Twelve children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Higby, of whom one is deceased.The others are:Martin, Emma, Eliza, Charles, Laura, William, Esther, Celestia, Perley, Julia Ann and Darwin.The father died in August, 1860, at the good old age of eighty-five years, and the mother is now living with her son Sylvester Higby in Davies county, Missouri.

††††††††††† Mr. and Mrs. Battin are the parents of four children:Ethelind E., the wife of Frank Williams, of Fox township:they have once child, Harry Burt; Esther E., who married Charles P. Tinkham and has one child, Ray Randell; Henry M., who lives in West Burlington, Pennsylvania; and Charles Garfield, unmarried.

††††††††††† Mr. Battin has two good farms, comprising one hundred acres in all, under excellent cultivation and on which are a commodious house, large barns and all needful appliances for carrying on a well regulated farm.He also has a good orchard and plenty of small fruits.In politics he is a Republican and is always ready to work for the good of his party.He has been a member of Jones Post of the G. A. R. at Forksville and is popular in all classes of good society.

††††††††††† HIRAM W. OSLER. --- The gentleman whose name heads this sketch is one of the best known and most popular and enterprising men in Sullivan county, where he was born January 18, 1858, in Elkland township, and where he has always made his home.His grandparents, John and Jane (Myres) Osler, were natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, respectively, and came to Sullivan county at an early date.

††††††††††† Jeremiah M. Osler, grandfather of our subject, was the first settler in what is now Lincoln Falls, Elkland township, where his grandson Hiram now resides.He was the proprietor of the woolen mills at that place for many years and was a prominent and influential citizen.He married Miss Julia Brown, who was born in Sullivan county, a daughter of George W. and Mary (Snyder) Brown, old settlers of the county.Ten children were born to this union, two of whom died in childhood.Those living are:Hiram W., Newton, who resides at Dushore; Joseph, who lives at Fall Brook, Tioga county, Pennsylvania; Lillie, who is the wife Grant Little, of Laporte, Pennsylvania; Nellie, who married Moses Randall, of Elkland township; and Boyd, at home.

††††††††††† Hiram W. Osler was reared on the home farm, where he was taught lessons of industry and honesty.He obtained a good, practical education in the public schools, to which he has added in his later years by >general reading and observation, and is one of the best informed men in the county.He has an excellent farm of fifty acres near Lincoln Falls, on which he erected a good house, commodious barn and other out-buildings.He is a zealous Republican and has done much for the party, his advice being generally sought by the leaders in political affairs in this section of the country.He has held a number of public offices with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of his constituents, and on November 8, 1898, was elected sheriff of Sullivan county, taking office the first Monday in January, 1899.

††††††††††† Mr. Osler was married June 26, 1882, to Miss Sadie King, a daughter of J. A. and Jane (Converse) King, the former a native of Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and his wife of Sullivan county.The father died in October, 1894, and his wife in May, 1869.Their family consisted of four children:Alice R., and Scepter, deceased; Susy Kate, the wife of Albert Kay, of Forksville, Pennsylvania; and Sadie, wife of our subject.Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Osler, namely:Ira E., Sydney I., Marion I.,John King and Susanna.

††††††††††† WILLIAM JAMES McCARTNEY, one of the busiest, most energetic and most enterprising men of Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, has for several years been identified with the Lopez Manufacturing Company, of Lopez.Endowed by nature with a strong character, he was so surrounded in childhood that his latent powers were developed and strengthened and he became a successful business man.In the prosecution of his business there has been manifest one of the most sterling traits of his character --- his desire to carry forward to the highest perfection attainable anything that he undertakes.††††††

††††††††††† Mr. McCartney was born in county Tyrone, Ireland, October 10, 1837, a son of James McCartney, a prominent contractor and builder and merchant near Dungannon, that county.Our subject attended school in Belfast, Ireland, until nine years of age when the family removed to Manchester, England, where he learned the carpenter and joiner's trade, and then worked at the same in that country for two years.At the end of that time he went to sea as carpenter's mate, but a month later was promoted as ship's carpenter, and he later purchased a half interest in a vessel, remaining upon the water for thirty years.He first landed in America in 1859, and in 1880 took up his residence here, locating first at Boston, Massachusetts, where he worked at his trade for a time.Subsequently he was made general foreman and superintendent of construction for a large firm of contractors, and on leaving their employ he engaged in contracting on his own account.In 1884 he removed his machinery, which he had previously purchased for a door, sash and blind factory, to Sheepshead Bay, New York, and operated the same in partnership with J. Y. McKane for a short time, selling his interest in 1887 on account of an injury he had received and going into the country for his health.While idle, he conceived the idea of manufacturing kindling wood for the city markets, and soon afterward built a large plant at Lopez, Pennsylvania, which, with two partners, he operated for several years.At one time the plant was totally destroyed by fire, but was promptly rebuilt, and finally sold to the combine which now owns it.He established the present industry, built and equipped the plant, and when it was burned he rebuilt and established the Lopez Manufacturing Company, and now has one of the leading industries of Lopez, manufacturing fifteen hundred gross of clothes-pins per day, and also a large quantity of broom-handles, curtain-poles, mine rollers, cant-hook handles, dowels, wooden novelties, etc.Under the management of our subject the firm does an extensive and profitable business.

††††††††††† In 1881 Mr. McCartney was united in marriage with Miss Margaret O'Hanlon, at Malden, Massachusetts.She is a native of county Louth, Ireland, and there Mr. McCartney first met her.They have no children living.Socially, he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Foresters, and politically is identified with the Republican party.

††††††††††† ROBERT H. GUY, the well-known inside foreman for the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Company at the Bernice mines and a prominent citizen of Bernice, was born in Durham county, England, July 4, 1850, and is a son of Paul and Ann (Lawery) Guy, also natives of England, where the father engaged in mining for many years.Our subject had no educational advantages during his boyhood and entered the mines when a lad of nine years, working in England until 1870, in which year the family came to the United States, locating at St. Clair, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania.He entered the mines in that section, as did also his father, who was killed by a falling rock while thus employed.

††††††††††† In 1871 Robert H. Guy removed to Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, where he worked at mining for ten years, and then accepted the agency for a history of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, which he sold in several counties of the state.Coming to Bernice, Sullivan county, he entered the mines here in May, 1882, and was promoted to his present responsible position on the 1st of August, 1893.He is an expert miner and holds certificates from the state for both anthracite and bituminous coal-mining.

††††††††††† On the 25th of December, 1873, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Guy and Miss Sarah Cooper, and to them were born two children, namely:Paul, who died in infancy; and Sarah C., now the wife of Rev. W. F. Colebough, of Monroeton, Pennsylvania.He was again married, December 5, 1883, his second union being with Miss Anna E. Huffmaster, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Reeser) Huffmaster, pioneers of Cherry township, Sullivan county.By this marriage there were two children:Lloyd F., who was born June 15, 1886, and died September 9, 1892; and Ethel M., who was born June 21, 1893.Mrs. Guy, a most estimable lady, is a member of the Presbyterian church.

††††††††††† Socially Mr. Guy affiliates with Bernice Lodge, No. 962, I. O. O. F., Towanda Lodge, F. & A. M., and also the chapter and commandery of the Masonic fraternity.He is president of the Bernice Citizens Band, has held the office of school director and is one of the public-spirited and influential men of Bernice.

††††††††††† DANIEL SCHOONOVER, the well-known foreman of the wood gang and also sawyer for the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Coal Company's mines, at Bernice, Pennsylvania, was born in Pike county, this state, September 25, 1837, a son of John and Mary (Rowley) Schoonover, natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, respectively.By trade the father was a carpenter.In the family were eleven children, of whom nine are now living (1898), namely:Daniel, our subject; John, a resident of Foot of Plane, Bradford county, Pennsylvania; Ann, wife of Lester Camp of Monroe township, Bradford county; Melvina, wife of Charles Van Loovin, of Barclay, Bradford county; Elizabeth, widow of Daniel Reed, of Walston, Pennsylvania; Manning, a resident of Monroe township, Bradford county; Lewis, of Towanda, Pennsylvania; and Mary Adelia, wife of Clayton Lewis, of Greenwood, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Daniel Schoonover received a common-school education at Milford, Pike county, and when sixteen years of age went into the pine woods of New York state, where he worked for three years, after which he spent several years on a farm.His patriotism and loyalty to his country were manifested in August, 1862, by his enlistment in Company C, One Hundred and Forty-first Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and for nearly three years he served with that famous regiment, participating in the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, Petersburg and many other fierce engagements.He was twice wounded, first at Chancellorsville and again at Strawberry Plains.The war being over, he was honorably discharged and mustered out at Bailey's Cross Roads, Virginia, May 28, 1865.

††††††††††† Returning home, Mr. Schoonover entered the employ of M. C. Mercur as sawyer in a mill in Monroe township, Bradford county, and later held similar positions at Foot of Plane, Barclay and White Haven.In June, 1874, he accepted the position of night watchman with the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Coal Company, and has since remained with them, an honored and trusted employee, being promoted to his present position after being one year in their service.In his political affiliations he is an ardent Republican, and socially he is a prominent member of Sullivan Post, No. 388, G. A. R., the Improved Order of Red Men, and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

††††††††††† On the 17th of November, 1866, Mr. Schoonover was united in marriage with Mrs. Harriet Knowles, widow of Levi B. Knowles and daughter of Ambrose Garey.She was born in Windham, Wyoming, county, Pennsylvania, March 17, 1840, and by her marriage to our subject became the mother of the following children, namely:Addie E. M., who was born March 7, 1869, and died September 14, 1872; John A., who was born May 14, 1871, and died April 14, 1872; Hattie A., who was born June 9, 1874, and is now the wife of William Brown, of Bernice.

††††††††††† JAMES J. CONNOR, the well-known and popular proprietor of Connor's hotel, Mildred, Pennsylvania, and outside foreman for the company operating the old Jackson mine, Bernice, was born in county Cork, Ireland, June 2, 1852, a son of Daniel and Johanna (White) Connor.The birth of the father occurred in the parish of Ross, county Cork, and learning the stone-mason's trade in early life he followed it in his native land until 1854, when he and his family emigrated to the New World, locating in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania.He secured employment in the mines and worked there until the spring of 1868, when he removed to Barclay, this state, where he was similarly employed.The fall of that year, however, found him a resident of Bernice, Sullivan county, and he secured work at his trade on the State Line & Sullivan Railroad, then building, and remained with the company until 1872.That year he again entered the mines and while there employed was killed by a fall of top coal in September, 1872.His worthy wife passed away in May, 1880.In their family were six children, namely:John, who was born in Ireland, for nearly a quarter of a century a miner at Bernice, later in trade at Dushore, until he died May 6, 1894; James, our subject; Patrick, manager of a general store at Bernice for W. H. Blight; Johanna, wife of Dennis O'Brien, of Bernice; Michael, an engineer at the coal-breaker at Bernice for ten years, and now in charge of his brother's store at Dushore; and Ellen, wife of Edward Mannix, of Bernice.

††††††††††† The subject of this review was about three years old when brought by his parents to America, and made his home with them in Schuylkill county, where he attended the public schools until nine years of age.He then secured employment as a slat-picker in the mines.In 1868 the family removed to Bernice, where he engaged in mining until 1879, when he took a trip west, prospecting in Colorado for several months.On his return to Bernice he resumed mining, which he continued to follow until 1885.In that year he erected his present hotel at Mildred, where he has since catered to the public, and in this undertaking he has met with a well-deserved success.In the spring of 1898 he was employed by W. B. Gunton to superintend the opening of the old Jackson mine, and in July of that year was appointed outside foreman, which responsible position he is now acceptably filling.On the 23d of May, 1882, Mr. Connor was united in marriage with Miss Ellen Scanlan, daughter of John Scanlan, of Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and to them have been born nine children; Daniel P., who is serving as clerk in the hotel; John E., Johanna, Honora, James, Michael, Ellen, Catherine and Julia.The family are members of the Catholic church and are quite prominent socially.Mr. Connor is identified with the Democratic party, and affiliates with Katonka Tribe, No. 336, Improved Order of Red Men, and the Ancient Order of Hibernians.

††††††††††† He is one of the foremost business men of Sullivan county and his success is due entirely to his own energy and business ability.His hotel is modern and conveniently arranged and under his judicious management has become one of the most popular public houses in this section.

††††††††††† JOHN SCHAAD, a well known and highly esteemed citizen of Mildred, Pennsylvania, was for many years actively identified with the business interests of Sullivan county, but is now living retired.As a young man of twenty-four years he came to America, and with no capital started out in a strange land to overcome the difficulties and obstacles in the path to prosperity.His youthful dreams have been realized, and in their happy fulfillment he sees the fitting reward of his earnest toil.

††††††††††† Mr. Schaad was born in Canton Schaffhausen, Switzerland, March 11, 1834, and received a good education in his native country.About 1858 he came to America and located in New Jersey.He manifested his loyalty to his adopted country by enlisting at Philadelphia, in 1862, in Company I, Sixty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and served for one year, being discharged on account of disability.He then settled in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, where he worked for a short time in the mines and then engaged in the meat business.Selling out his interests there in 1865, he came to Sullivan county and embarked in the saloon business at Dushore, but a year later removed to a farm in Colley township, which he operated for one year.He then purchased a farm in Bradford county, and in connection with its cultivation engaged in the meat business for two years, selling out at the end of that time.He next conducted a meat market in Bernice until 1880, when he erected Schaad's hotel at Mildred and carried it on until 1893, selling it that year to his son, John C.Near his hotel property he built a large distillery, which he successfully operated until August 23, 1898, when he sold all his business interests to his sons, John C., William J. and Frank F., and with his wife sailed for Switzerland, where he passed some time amid the scenes of his childhood, and returned in the fall.The vessel in which he returned encountered twelve days of heavy storm, the same that wrecked the steamship Portland and so many other vessels, but his vessel came through in safety.

††††††††††† Mr. Schaad was married in 1865 to Miss Elizabeth Mosier, a daughter of Christian Mosier, of Colley township, Sullivan county and to them have been born seven children:John C.; William J.; Katherine, deceased; Henry J., a brakeman on the Lehigh Valley Railroad; Frank F.; George P., who is in the employ of Scouten, Lee & Company at Parsons, Pennsylvania; and Anna L.

††††††††††† John C. Schaad, the eldest son, was born in Colley township, March 15, 1867, was educated in the public schools of the county, and at the age of twenty-one years entered the mines at Bernice, where he was employed for six months.He then secured a position in Philadelphia with N. G. Taylor & Company, plumbers, for whom he worked for two years.Returning home, he bought his father's hotel and has since successfully conducted that well-known hostelry.It is one of the largest in the county and enjoys an excellent patronage.As previously stated, he and his brothers, William J. and Frank F., purchased the Schaad distillery in August, 1898, and they also bought equal interests in the hotel property.Each year the distillery places on the market three hundred barrels of the famous "Straight Rye Schaad Whisky," and it has proved quite profitable.

††††††††††† On the 11th of February, 1892, John C. Schaad was united in marriage with Miss Henrietta, daughter of D. G. Goodin, of Cherry township, and they now have three children:Grace L., born September 16, 1893; Joseph G., born October 13, 1894; and Joshua G., born May 21, 1898.The parents are members of the Lutheran church, while socially Mr. Schaad is identified with Bernice Lodge, No. 962, I. O. O. F., and politically supports the Republican party.He is an enterprising, wide-wake business man, and has already met with excellent success in his undertakings.

††††††††††† William J. Schaad was born in Sullivan county, October 29, 1869, attended its public schools, and on attaining his majority entered the employ of Scouten, Lee & Company, of Wilkes-Barre, where he worked his way upward to the position of manager.He, too, is an ardent Republican in politics, and is a member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America and the Sons of Veterans.He wedded a Miss Mosier, by whom he had two children, Cassie and George; but she is now deceased.

††††††††††† Frank F. Schaad, born at Bernice, May 27, 1873, also pursued his studies in the public schools, and on reaching manhood went to Parsons, Pennsylvania, where he too, was in the employ of Scouten, Lee & Company for one year.Returning home he worked in the hotel, and is now successfully engaged in business with his brothers as a member of the firm of Schaad Brothers.In his political affiliations he is a Democrat.


††††††††††† JOHN SANTEE LINE, a leading citizen of Bernice, Pennsylvania, now serving as associate judge of Sullivan county, is entitled to distinction as one of the most progressive and enterprising men of this section, and he was for many years actively identified with its railroad interests.He was born in Salem township, Luzerne county, this state, June 15, 1831, a son of Conrad and Sarah (Santee) Line, also natives of Luzerne county.He received his education in the public schools of Salem and Hollenback townships, and at the age sixteen secured a position as clerk in a general store at Wapwallopen, where he remained for two years.At Beach Haven he was likewise employed for about three years and then went to Mauch Chunk, where he began railroading in the service of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, with which he was connected for three years.At the end of that time he returned to Beach Haven and took charge of the store where he had formerly been employed, remaining there about two years.Returning to Mauch Chunk he held the position of conductor on the famous Switch Back Gravity road for two years, and in 1863 entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad as conductor on the Beaver Meadow division.In 1865, however, he began running a locomotive on the Mochonoy division, two years later was transferred to the Wyoming division, and in 1869 to the Pennsylvania and New York division.In 1873 he was promoted to the position of engine dispatcher at the Lackawanna & Bloomsburg Junction, holding the same for three years.In 1877 he entered the service of the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Company, as engineer, and became a resident of Bernice. There he began running a stationary engine at the pumping station in 1884, and was thus employed until 1897, when he retired from active service.

††††††††††† Mr. Line was married, December 23, 1857, to Miss Emma, daughter of Jacob West, of Mauch Chunk, and to them have been born seven children, as follows:Alonzo G., who died in infancy; Samuel, a stationary engineer now engaged in the water works at Sayre, Pennsylvania; William L., who was killed in his nineteenth year by the collapse of the railroad bridge at that place in 1883, while on duty as brakeman for the company; Edward T., telegraph operator at the Lackawanna & Bloomsburg Junction, Pennsylvania; Sarah F., wife of George B. Winter, of Towanda, Pennsylvania; Anna G., deceased; and Catherine F., at home.The family hold membership in the Presbyterian church and are quite prominent socially.

††††††††††† In the spring of 1896 Mr. Line was appointed justice of the peace, but the following fall resigned that position to assume the duties of associate judge, an office to which he was elected on the Republican ticket in the fall of 1896.He is thoroughly impartial in meting out justice, his opinions being unbiased by either fear or favor, and fidelity to the trust reposed in him is above question.Fraternally he has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows since 1857, is district deputy grand master for Sullivan county, and also belongs to the Masonic order, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Patriotic Order Sons of America.As one of the leading and most highly respected citizens of Bernice it is consistent that the Judge be represented in a work whose province is the portrayal of the lives of the prominent men of Sullivan county.

††††††††††† JOSEPH A. HELSMAN, who for fifteen years has held the position of superintendent of barns for the Sullivan Railroad Coal Company, at Bernice, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, March 8, 1857.His father, Anthony Helsman, was born in Coblentz, Germany, in 1812, and was a miller by trade.He married Miss Anna Hymbredt, who was born in the same town as her husband, and they came to this country in 1854, settling in Scranton, and later in Bernice, where the father died in 1883, and the mother in 1880.Their children were Joseph, Benjamin, Mildred, Frank and Joshua, the two latter being deceased.

††††††††††† The subject of this sketch attended school in Scranton and for a short time in Sullivan county.He, however, began life for himself at the early age of eleven years, when he went to work and has kept steadily at it ever since.His first labors were in a coal mine at Fallbrook, Pennsylvania.In 1872 he came to Bernice and commenced work in the breakers, and by careful attention to his duties he earned the esteem of his employers and was promoted to his present position.The barns of which he has charge contain forty-five mules and twelve horses, which require careful attention.

††††††††††† Mr. Helsman was married in Bernice, July 1, 1878, to Miss Susan Mater, a native of Dushore and a daughter of Valentine and Susanna (Reeser) Mater.Mrs. Helsman is an intelligent woman who is a good help-meet to her worthy husband.They have eight children, as follows:Lucy; Walter, who has been night watchman at the engine house at Bernice for two years; Mary; Alfred and Albert, twins; Rowena, Charles and Raymond.Mr. Helsman was for many years a Democrat in his political belief but is now a staunch Republican, and has filled a number of responsible offices, having been a member of the school board, tax collector and township treasurer.Socially he is a member of the Order of the Red Men, Knights of Labor and Camp 481, P. O. S. of A., of which latter he has been head officer.He is a man of integrity, well informed, and is a prosperous and highly respected citizen of Bernice.


††††††††††† WILLIAM JOHNSON, foreman of the old Jackson anthracite mines at Mildred, Sullivan county, is one of the best known and best read men in his locality.While always busily engaged in the duties of his occupation he has yet found time to make himself acquainted with the literature of the day, as well as more solid reading; and by study and research, much of it carried on at hours which should have been devoted to sleep, he has mastered the details of his business to such an extent that he is considered an expert in mining matters.

††††††††††† Mr. Johnson was born at Anwick, Northumberland county, England, September 10, 1850, a son of William H. and Barbara (Riddle) Johnson.His father was a miner and worked in West Virginia and also in Sullivan county.He died August 14, 1891, when sixty-four years of age.His widow is still living and makes her home at Dubois, Clearfield county, Pennsylvania.Their family consisted of the following children:William, the subject of this sketch; James, a resident of Dubois, a miner by occupation and also a well-known musician, having great talent in that direction.He was the leader of the volunteer band of Dubois, and was a favorite with all his associates.His death in 1895 was a severe blow to his family and also to the members of the various musical organizations of the town, all of which were represented at his funeral, one of the largest ever seen in Dubois; he left a widow and seven children.The other children of the parental family were:Isabella, wife of H. W. Harrington, who died at Bernice in 1878, leaving two children:Alonzo, who lives at Burlington, Pennsylvania; and Mary Ann, deceased.The parents were upright people, devoted members of the Presbyterian church and brought up their children to habits of industry and sobriety.

††††††††††† The immediate subject of this sketch received a good education in the common schools, which he supplemented by study in the evenings after the day's work was done.He later attended the Scranton School of Mines, from which he received a diploma as a mining expert.He has held the position of foreman of mines in Bradford, Lackawanna, Jefferson, Clarion, and Sullivan counties, and from all his employers he received the highest recommendations for his ability and thorough knowledge of his business.For a while he taught a district school, and, as has been stated, has been a student all his life.

††††††††††† Mr. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Mary Whateley, January 31, 1872, at Barclay, Bradford county, where she was born and educated.Mrs. Johnson is a daughter of William and Jane (Hall) Whateley, natives of England, and is a woman of fine mind, a devoted wife and mother and a useful member of society.Their children are:William E., living in Mildred; Albert Lee, Frank Earl and James E.; one child died in infancy.Mr. Johnson is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he is an exhorter and class-leader.He was converted under the preaching of Mr. Moody, the evangelist, and was for a time a member and elder of the Presbyterian church.He is a zealous worker in the cause of religion and is always ready to lend his aid to all good works.He is a man of broad views, liberal in every sense and is known as a thoroughly reliable and upright man whose standing in the community is second to none.He was always enthusiastic in the cause of temperance.He wrote and compiled the ritualistic workings of the Independent Order of Loyal Templars, which existed at Bernice, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, and was the source of doing much good, especially in enlightening the minds of the young people in reference to the evils of intemperance.Socially he belongs to Lodge 534, F. and A. M., at Punxsutawney, and in politics is a Republican.

††††††††††† Mr. Johnson has built a large and convenient house with all modern improvements, which is furnished in excellent taste.His house is a popular resort for old and young who enjoy the friendship of this hospitable couple.

††††††††††† GEORGE E. FORREST. --- The popular and well-known station agent of Bernice is George E. Forrest, a young man whose fidelity to duty and ability in the line of his chosen vocation has made him one of the leading representatives in business circles in the town.He is a western man by birth, a native of the Hawkeye state, which is the banner agricultural state of the Union.He first opened his eyes to the light of day in Fayette, Fayette county, Iowa, in July, 1874, and is a son of Charles H. Forrest.His ancestry is American and English, and he is a type of the energetic, enterprising Anglo-Saxon race.He acquired a good practical education in the public schools and was thus fitted for life's responsible duties.For some years he has been in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, having been located at Dushore previous to his removal to Bernice.He entered the railroad service in the subordinate position of section hand, and by his faithfulness to duty and his able performance of the task assigned him steadily worked his way upward to the responsible place which he is now filling.Determining to enter the telegraph service, he began studying telegraphy at Hornet's Ferry, Pennsylvania, and worked two and a half years at Tunkhannock as night operator, when he was promoted to be day operator at Dushore.He availed himself of every opportunity to practice the art and gain a high degree of proficiency therein.He was very careful and accurate.September 1, 1896, his ability enabled him to accept a position in the service of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as operator and station agent.In July, 1898, he was transferred from Dushore to Bernice, where he is now located, and his courtesy to the patrons of the office, his capable service and his trustworthiness have won the confidence of his employers and the high regard of the public.

††††††††††† Mr. Forrest was united in marriage to Miss Luella Fulford, a lady of good family and of intelligence and culture, who was reared and educated in Pennsylvania.They now have two children, Helen and Percy, who are the life and light of the household.In his political views Mr. Forrest is independent, voting for the men whom he regards as best qualified for office, regardless of party affiliations.He has never sought office, but attends strictly to business, and has won the respect of all with whom he has been brought in contact.

††††††††††† JOSEPH M. IRELAND. --- Doubtless many of our readers, in tracing their ancestral lines to the point where uncertain tradition brings their researches to an early and unsatisfactory ending, have realized the value to future generations of this attempt to preserve in substantial form the information yet obtainable concerning the genealogies of our citizens, together with such account of the men of this day as will serve to continue the record for posterity's use.

††††††††††† In the case of the subject of this sketch, a well known citizen of Ricketts, Sullivan county, the first ancestor of whom there is any authentic record was one Isaac Ireland, who died about two hundred years ago, leaving a cane that has been handed down through six generations and which is now in the possession of our subject.In each generation the eldest son has been named Isaac in honor of this ancestor, but unfortunately no definite account has been preserved of their history.The family has long been identified with the town of Truro,. Cornwall, England, and Isaac Ireland, our subject's grandfather, was born and reared there and during his youth learned the sawmaker's trade.He married a Miss Mitchell, of Cornwall, and some years later removed to the township of Percy, Ontario, Canada, where he and his wife spent the remainder of their years.They had the following children:Thomas Isaac, a farmer in Percy township; Electa, the wife of George Bush, of Green Bank, Ontario; Daniel, a lumberman at Mariposa, Ontario; Louisa, who became the wife of Willard Gould, a farmer near Hersey, Michigan; and John Seley, the father of our subject.

††††††††††† John Seley Ireland was born in Cornwall and was about eleven years old when his parents moved to their new home in Canada.He learned the saw-maker's trade, returning to England for that purpose, and for several years was employed in that capacity in mills at Chicago, Illinois, and Green Bay, Wisconsin.During the Civil war he became interested in lumbering and at one time he owned a large amount of valuable timber land in Northwestern Wisconsin, but the fire of 1871 swept over the tract, causing the loss of his entire investment.For one year he was in the hotel business at Green Bay, being proprietor of the Fox River House, but soon after the fire he located at Whitehall, Michigan, where he was employed as a sawyer.Later he left a similar position in Muskegon, Michigan, and after a time he formed a partnership with Mr. Gregory and opened a saw-repairing shop in that city.The venture proved successful, and he and our subject, who had come into possession of some capital, decided to build a shingle mill at Muskegon.This burned, proving a total loss, and Mr. John Ireland then removed to Fort Bragg, California, taking a position as saw-filer in a mill.He also spent some time in a mill at Puget Sound but afterward located at Keating Summit, Pennsylvania, as a saw-filer in a sawmill.After a few years he and our subject took a contract which did not turn out well, and on June 1, 1897, he removed to Ricketts, taking employment as a saw-filer.He owns farm property in Cattaraugus county, New York, and he and his wife, whose maiden name was Maria Mitchell, are now residing there.Mrs. Ireland is a native of Cornwall, England, and a daughter of Sophia and Joseph Mitchell.Two children have been born to them, namely:Isaac, a sawyer by trade, who died at Buffalo, N. Y., at the age of thirty-one, leaving a widow and two children, who are now residents of Muskegon, Michigan; and Joseph M., our subject.

††††††††††† Joseph M. Ireland was born November 25, 1859, in Percy township, Ontario, Canada, and when four years old accompanied his parents to Green Bay, Wisconsin, where he remained about nine years, the family then removing to Muskegon.Before he attained his majority he learned the saw-maker's trade, working with his father and later with the Branch Crook Saw Company, at St. Louis, and on completing his apprenticeship he found employment in a mill at Muskegon.At first he was kept at ordinary work, but as his ability and skill were seen he was promoted to a position as sawyer and from that time to this he has never worked for less than five dollars per day, and at times has received as high as twelve dollars.In 1887 he came to Pennsylvania, taking a place as saw-filer in the mill at Austin, where he remained seven years and a half.The following year was spent in operating a sawmill in McKean county on his own account, but the venture resulted in a total loss of his capital.He then passed one year at Thornton, Arkansas, and three months at Monroe, Louisiana, as a saw-filer, and since that time he has been with Trexler & Turrell, of Ricketts, in the same capacity.He came with the intention of staying one month, but has now been in their employ more than a year, his efficient service being highly appreciated by the company.

††††††††††† On August 7, 1881, he was married, at Au Sable, Michigan, to Miss Anna McFarlane, a native of Appin, Canada, and a daughter of Malcolm McFarlane and Janet ne'e Mac Master, who were both born in Scotland.Three children were born of this union:Jeannette, born June 20, 1882; Francis M., June 22, 1884; and John Malcolm, August 14, 1886.The family now resides in Bradford, where the children are attending school.

††††††††††† Politically Mr. Ireland is a staunch Republican and while residing in Austin he served as a member of the town council.Socially he is identified with the Masonic fraternity, having united in 1882 at Au Sable, Michigan, with Au Sable Lodge, No 243, F. and A. M., and Iosco Chapter, No. 83, R. A. M.He also belongs to the council at New Orleans, Louisiana, the commandery at Coudersport, Pennsylvania, and the Mystic Shrine at Buffalo.

††††††††††† JOHN C. MOSS. --- Among the farmers who are devoted to their calling and bring skill to the aid of agricultural art is John Moss, whose fine property in Colley township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, is a source of pride to the entire community.He was born near Wilkes-Barre, this state, July 3, 1861, and is a son of David and Sarah (Wright) Moss, both natives of New Jersey.The father died September 29, 1879, leaving the following children:Emily, deceased; Aaron, of Bowman' creek, Pennsylvania; Solomon, a soldier of the Civil war; Wesley, who lost his life in the service; Mary, the wife of Mr. Dow, of Colley township; Joseph, also of the same township; Daniel, residing near Ashley, Pennsylvania; Horace, of Luzerne county; Sarah, the wife of Mr. Taylor, of Bangor, Pennsylvania; Margaret, the wife of J. R. Weaver, of this township; and John, the subject of this sketch.

††††††††††† John Moss represents a class of substantial, progressive farmers.He purchased his present farm of eight hundred and ninety-seven acres in 1894, and the year following erected a good barn sixteen feet high and forty-six by fifty feet in dimensions.He has but lately completed his residence, at a cost of eleven hundred dollars, a building constructed especially with a view to convenience and comfort.He has added many other improvements to his property, making it one of the finest farms in this section.

††††††††††† GEORGE McDONALD. --- Though yet comparatively young in years, the subject of this sketch, now treasurer of Cherry township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, has by his own unaided efforts climbed to a position of influence and worth in the community in which he lives.He is one of those active young men to whom life means accomplishment, and he possesses both the will and the energy to attain that position at which he aims.

††††††††††† Mr. McDonald was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, May 9, 1861, the son of Patrick and Catherine (Burns) McDonald.Both parents were natives of the Emerald Isle and were there married, but shortly afterward they emigrated to America and settled in the township above mentioned on the old turnpike road, on the Hemeway farm, which they greatly improved.Later they located on the old homestead, upon which our subject now resides.It was then wild land, but under the applied efforts of Patrick McDonald and later of his sons has been brought up to a high state of cultivation.The father did not long survive his emigration to the new country.He died in 1865.In politics he was a Democrat and in religious faith a Catholic.Through life he was an industrious farmer.His widow survived him many years and died at the age of seventy-four years.She had been a faithful wife and a devoted mother, and as a neighbor she was loved and esteemed by all.To Patrick and Catherine McDonald were born twelve children, of whom ten grew to maturity.Among them were:John, a resident of Bradford county; William, a miner of Reynoldsville, Pennsylvania; Miles, a hotel-keeper at Cripple Creek, Colorado; Charles and Thomas, miners at Cripple Creek; Ellen Dudley, a widow, of Bradford county, Pennsylvania; George, subject of this sketch; Daniel, who died at Cripple Creek; and James, who was drowned, when a young man, at Big Rock, Sullivan county.

††††††††††† George, our subject, was raised on the old farm and in the schools of the neighborhood received a good education.He has devoted his life to farming and stock-raising and now owns the old homestead of one hundred acres.He was married October 18, 1885, to Miss Alice Farrell, daughter of James and Catherine (Farrell) Farrell, and a native of Bradford county, this state, where her parents now reside.Mrs. McDonald was educated at the Rochester (New York) high school and had fitted herself for a teacher.She possesses many accomplishments and estimable qualities, which endear her to many friends.To George and Alice McDonald have been born six children:James, Patrick, Willie, Katie, Lizzie and George.James, the eldest, died at the age of twelve years.The pleasant home of Mr. and Mrs. McDonald was erected in 1895, at a cost of one thousand dollars.

††††††††††† In religious faith Mr. McDonald is a Catholic; in politics he is a Democrat, and since attaining his majority he has been an active and zealous worker for the success of his party,He is recognized as one of its leaders in Cherry township.In the spring of 1898 he received the nomination for township treasurer and after a spirited campaign won the election.He is regarded as one of the prosperous and leading men of the township, and the circle of his influence as a citizen is steadily widening.

††††††††††† J. J. KELLER, engaged in the general blacksmithing business in Bernice, was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, on the 9th of May, 1866, and is a son of E. H. and Mary (Richart) Keller, both of whom were natives of the Keystone state and of German descent.The father was born in Bloomsburg, and during the Civil war he loyally served his country as a defender of the Union.In his family were eleven children --- nine sons and two daughters.

††††††††††† When fourteen years of age H. J. Keller started out in life on his own account, and the success achieved is due entirely to his well directed efforts and his enterprise.He began learning his trade in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and afterward followed that pursuit for three years in Unionville, this state.He then came to Sullivan county, locating at Laporte, where he was employed for a year, after which he went to Towanda, where he followed blacksmithing for a time.He next came to Bernice where he has now been located for over twelve years.He does the general blacksmith and mechanical work for the Sullivan County Railroad and the Anthracite Coal Company, and has given excellent satisfaction, being an expert in his line.He repairs boilers and engines and does all kinds of work on iron and steel, and his capability in that direction is most marked.He thoroughly understands everything in this line of industrial interests, and as the result of his capability and honorable dealing has won a very liberal patronage.

††††††††††† Mr. Keller was united in marriage, on June 19, 1888, to Miss Cora Wilmot, of Bernice, daughter of Albert Wilmot, and they now have two sons --- Ray W. and Carl A.In his political affiliations Mr. Keller is a Republican and keeps well informed on the issues of the day.He has served on the school board and has held other local offices.Socially he is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Bernice, has filled all the chairs and is now Past Grand.He also belongs to the Masonic fraternity.He is a man of fine physique, weighing over two hundred pounds, and well proportioned, is frank and jovial in manner, honorable and trustworthy in his dealings, and by his fellow-townsmen is regarded as one of the valued residents of the community.

††††††††††† G. S. LANDBACK. --- This name is well known in Sullivan and adjoining counties, as at least four generations of the family have made their homes here.John Landback, the grandfather, was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and Harvey, the father, was born in Luzerne county, but moved to Sullivan, where the former was engaged in agricultural pursuits.Harvey Landback was formerly a cooper and for twenty-five years worked at his trade in Cherry township.In later years he has quit the duties of his trade for the more peaceful and healthful life of a farm, securing for this purpose property in Colley township, where he now resides.He is a Democrat in his political affiliations.The maiden name of the lady with whom he was united in marriage was Caroline Thrasher.She was a daughter of Benjamin Thrasher and a native of Cherry township, now living in Colley.Fourteen children were born to them, of whom five are deceased.The living that now honor the community in which they reside are:Wilson, who lives with his father in Colley township, as do the two youngest children, Amanda and Levi; G. S., who is the subject of the biography; Annie E., the wife of Edward Hunsinger, of Colley township; Malinda, the wife of Howard Winslow, of Lovelton, Pennsylvania; W. H., a tinsmith of Wyalusing, this state; and Louis, a farmer, of Lovelton.

††††††††††† G. S. Landback was born in this county, in Cherry township, January 6, 1865, and has since made it his home.His opportunities for a schooling were decidedly limited when he was a boy, but by comprehensive reading and intelligent observation he has stored his mind with varied and useful knowledge.When eighteen years of age he embarked in the manufacture of birch-oil in his native township, and carried on the business there for twelve years.In 1894 he engaged in the lumber business in Colley township, purchasing a plant which embraced a shingle, planing and grist mill.Here he does an extensive business, receiving work from three counties.He is a Democrat in general politics, but votes independently of party in local elections.He is a liberal member of the Lutheran church, and is esteemed for his upright walk in life.He is not an aspirant to office, but has served on the board of election.

††††††††††† He was married in Waverly, New York, August 12, 1887, to Miss Euphius Shoemaker, a daughter of John and Sarah (McGardiner) Shoemaker.She died August 22, 1898, when in the prime of life, having but recently reached her forty-third year.They were the parents of two children:Edna, born July 2, 1888; and Grover Benjamin, born January 9, 1894.

††††††††††† FRANK MEYER, a general merchant and dealer in dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes and other lines of trade at Mildred, is one of the successful and progressive men of that place.He occupies a new store and carries an extensive stock, and his large acquaintance throughout the county is such as to bring him an excellent trade.He was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, September 10, 1856, where his father, John Meyer, was an early settler.The latter was born in 1800 in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and was of German descent.He remained in Lehigh county until 1853, when he removed to Cherry township, Sullivan county, where he was married to Miss Mary Hoffa, who is still living at Mildred.The father died in 1864.They were the parents of four children:Frank; Matilda Lily, of Dushore; Henry, living at Beach Tree, Jefferson county; and Cora, wife of Charles Heverly, of Lopez.The father was a farmer by occupation, politically was a Democrat and in religion a Lutheran.

††††††††††† Frank Meyer, the subject of this review, was carefully reared by his parents, whose teachings he has endeavored to follow during his life.He was reared on the home farm and received a good education in the common schools.He was married when twenty-two years of age to Miss Emma Vogel, who was born and educated in Germany and was sixteen years old when she came with her family to Pennsylvania.Mr. and Mrs. Meyer have four children --- Raymond, Ruth, Julius and Henry.

††††††††††† Mr. Meyer had followed various business pursuits, such as mining, lumbering and general jobbing, before taking up his present occupation.In 1893 he went into the coal trade at Hughesville, but remained only six or eight months when he sold out at a good profit and returned to Mildred.He owns the building in which his store is located and also two good dwelling-houses, and has been successful in his business enterprises.He is an intelligent and progressive man, honorable in his transactions with others, and in politics is a staunch Democrat.

††††††††††† ROYAL SCOUTEN, postmaster of Colley, is one of the best known and most popular men in Sullivan county.He has held the offices of tax-collector and justice of the peace and in every position assigned him has earned a reputation for honesty, good judgment and courtesy.

††††††††††† Mr. Scouten was born in Bradford county, January 11, 1864, and comes of a good family, being a son of Solomon and Deborah (Hartford) Scouten.His father was born in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, and died in 1875.He was a staunch Republican and an honored citizen.The mother is still living and is well-known for her earnest work in church circles and her kindness and benevolence to all in need of sympathy and aid.They were parents of eight children --- three sons and five daughters.

††††††††††† Our subject was brought up on a farm.In the district schools he obtained the rudiments of a good education, and has studied and read much ever since his school-days were over, and is a well informed, intelligent man.He was married to Miss Hattie Hunsinger, July 2, 1887, and they have three children --- Clyde, Stella and Bernard.Mrs. Scouten is a daughter of Martin and Sarah (Santee) Hunsinger, a family prominent among the citizens of Sullivan county.

††††††††††† Mr. Scouten takes an active interest in political matters and is a hard worker in the Republican party.He has held nearly all the local offices, with credit to himself and for the welfare of the public, and is deserving of the esteem in which he is held.He has a fine farm of one hundred acres, on which he located in 1888.He has built a comfortable house, capacious barn and convenient outhouses, and the entire aspect of the place, with its meadows, pastures, wood lots and cultivated fields, is one of comfort and plenty.Mr. Scouten has made a successful farmer because he has been thorough and industrious, and has been equally successful by his genial ways and honest dealing in making friends wherever he is known.

††††††††††† ENOS McGEE, car repairer for the Sullivan Railroad Coal Company, in whose employ he has been for twenty-three years, resides at Bernice, where he is a highly respected citizen.He was born at Binghamton, New York, June 15, 1836, and is of Irish descent, his father, Patrick McGee, being a native of the north of Ireland and reared among the beautiful flax fields for which that part of the Emerald Isle is noted.The father came to this country when eighteen years of age and was married in New York about 1833, to Miss Sarah Quinn, also born in Ireland.They resided for a time in Binghamton, and then came to Sullivan county, where the father died at sixty-two years of age, and the mother when fifty years old.They were most worthy people, highly respected in their community, and reared their family to habits of industry and sobriety.The father was a stone mason by trade and did general work in that line.Their family consisted of nine children, of whom the sons were:Enos; John and James, of Albany, Pennsylvania; William, a son of John, who became a soldier in the Spanish war.

††††††††††† Enos McGee was for many years engaged in mining and has always borne a high character as an honest, upright man.He is interested in all the live questions of the day and favors all enterprises which tend to the welfare of his community.Mr. McGee was married in Dushore, June 14, 1864, to Miss Mary Donagan, a native of Ireland and a daughter of Patrick and Margaret (O'Brien) Donagan, and the following children have been born of this union, namely:Sarah (Mrs. Parr), of Bernice; Catherine (Mrs. Donovan), of Cherry township; Patrick H., of Bernice; Robert, of Cherry township; Enos, Jr., and William.

††††††††††† Mr. McGee is a staunch Democrat and has frequently served as judge of elections.Socially he is a member of the Knights of Labor.

††††††††††† HERBERT M. KELLOGG, a prominent business man of Lopez, Sullivan county, is a representative of a well-known pioneer family, and his successful career shows that he has inherited the enterprise and thrift which characterized his ancestors.The Kellogg family became identified with Connecticut during the colonial period and the first of the name to settle in this state was Amasa, our subject's great-grandfather, a native of Connecticut who came to Bradford county on horseback when this region was a "howling wilderness."Ezra Kellogg, our subject's grandfather, was born in Hadley, Massachusetts, and reared in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where he followed farming and lumbering for many years, his death occurring in Monroe township, on March 12, 1885, at the age of seventy-nine years.He was a man of influence and for thirty consecutive years held the office of commissioner in his township.He married Miss Lovina Sweet, who was born at Spencer, Tioga county, New York, and died in Monroe township, May 7, 1893, aged eighty-one.The fifty-six years of their wedded life were passed in the same house in which they began housekeeping.They had the following children:Ornaldo, deceased, who conducted a hotel at Towanda for many years; Morris, father of our subject; Guy, a farmer on the old homestead near Monroeton, Bradford county; Jemima, widow of Warren Brown, of Wyalusing; Brunette, deceased, who was the wife of Samuel Irving, of Liberty Corners, Bradford county; Amy, who died at the age of eighteen years; Berenice, wife of J. V. Rettenbury, a jeweler at Dushore.

††††††††††† Morris Kellogg was born in Bradford county and grew to manhood on the old homestead.For a time he followed farming near New Albany, in which town he later engaged in the hotel business, which he carried on until his death in 1886, at the age of forty-six years.Politically he was a Republican, but was never an aspirant for office.His wife, ne'e Minnie Haythorne, who died in 1885, at the age of thirty-nine years, was a native of East Franklin, Bradford county, and a daughter of Benjamin and Fanny (Knickerbocker) Haythorne.The children of this union were:Elizabeth May, wife of A. D. M. Henry, a traveling salesman, of Dushore; Herbert M.; Myrtle, wife of B. J. Ely, of Lopez; Fanny, Blanche and Lovina all reside in Dushore.

††††††††††† Herbert M. Kellogg was born June 7, 1869, near New Albany, and during his youth enjoyed the educational advantages afforded by the graded schools of that place.When he was sixteen years old his father died and later he went to Dushore to learn the jeweler's trade with his uncle, J. V. Rettenbury, remaining three years.On October 29, 1890, he opened a branch store at Lopez for Mr. Rettenbury, and in January, 1892, he purchased the business, which he still carries on with marked success.In connection with the jewelry business he has a news depot and also keeps a large stock of toilet articles, patent medicines and similar commodities.He owns the store-building and a pleasant home in Lopez and is regarded as one of the substantial business men of the place.In politics he is a Republican and at present (1898) he is serving his second term as treasurer of Colley township.

††††††††††† On July 14, 1891, our subject was married at Dushore, by G. H. Miller, to Miss Florence Scureman, and they have one son, Herbert M., who was born at Dushore, May 2, 1892.Mrs. Kellogg was born July 3, 1869, and is the daughter of Appolos E. and Lydia (Wilt) Scureman, and granddaughter of Henry and Eliza Ann (Clark) Scureman, of New Jersey.Her father was born in New Jersey, but for many years has been a citizen of Dushore.He married Miss Lydia Wilt, of Allentown, Pennsylvania,a daughter of Andrew and Mary (Swartz) Wilt.They were the parents of nine children, as follows:R. H., a miller at Luzerne; Francis E., died in childhood; Anna E., wife of Fred Sweet, living in Dushore; Mary Alice, wife of Langley Smith, of New York city; Emma H., wife of G. J. Clark, a lawyer at Wilkes-Barre; Florence (Mrs. Kellogg); Mark A., of Dushore; Charles G., of Ithaca, New York, and George W., of Dushore.

††††††††††† JOHN HEMBURY is a native of Colley township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, where he was born May 28, 1870, and still resides, one of the most enterprising, wide-awake citizens of Lopez.His ancestors were English, the grandfather being a crockery-ware dealer in London, England, where he died.His father, Josiah Hembury, was born in London, and when sixteen years old came alone to America to try his fortunes in this land of promise.He secured a position in Colley township, this county, in a sawmill, and for many years followed that occupation in this county.He owned a sawmill in Cherry township and another near Laporte, which he operated until some five years ago, when he disposed of them and bought a farm in Cherry township.This farm consists of sixty-five acres of improved land and upon it he is spending the sunset years of life in the quiet pursuits incident to farming.His wife was Miss Mary Carroll *, a native of Philadelphia.Of their numerous family many are residents of this vicinity.The children are as follows:William, who died at the age of twenty-three; Ellen, wife of Adam Deafen, a merchant and farmer of Cherry township; Jane, wife of Aaron Reed, of Lopez; Ella, wife of Judson Cooper, of Lopez, whose sketch appears elsewhere; John, who was drowned near New Albany, Bradford county, when but fourteen years of age; Josiah *, living at Bernice, engaged in lumbering and mining; Sarah, wife of Adam Bumgardner, a railroad foreman at Towanda, Bradford county; John, the subject of this sketch; Elizabeth, wife of Frank Bumgardner, foreman of the Lehigh Valley Railroad; Andrew, employed in lumber work at Lopez; George, at work in the same place; Samuel; and Lottie, at home.The father is a radical Republican and served four years during the Civil war, taking part in many important engagements, among which was the battle of Gettysburg, where he was wounded.He is a prominent member of the Grand Army of the Republic.While a resident of Colley township he filled the office of road commissioner, most acceptably to the people.
* Editor's Note: The mother's surname was actually McCarroll as shown on the Death Certificate for her son, whose full name was Robert "Josiah" Hembury (1866-1926). Robert married Alvernia Dunkelberg (1867-1928), daughter of S. T. and Mary (Smith) Dunkelberg. Here is her Death Certificate.

††††††††††† John Hembury received a common-school education and assisted his father about the work at the mills, becoming thoroughly conversant with every detail of the business.At the age of eighteen he embarked for himself, first in lumber work and later in the hotel business at Dushore and Ricketts, this county.In February, 1897, he accepted a position with Jennings Brothers as filer in their hardwood mills.He was married at Dushore February 10, 1898, to Miss Cressie Kier, a daughter of George Kier, a farmer of Cherry township.Mr. and Mrs. Hembury are members of the Catholic church.He is an unswerving Republican in his political views, and was formerly a member of Dushore Lodge, No,. 494, I. O. O. F.

Charles E. Pealer
Dushore Pharmacist
Undated Victorian Trade Card
Posted on eBay January 2005

††††††††††† CHARLES E. PEALER, the well-known and popular druggist of Dushore, occupies a position in the front rank in business circles of Sullivan county.Tireless energy, keen perception, honesty of purpose, genius for devising and executing the right thing at the right time, guided by resistless will power, are the chief characteristics of the man, and have brought to him his success.

††††††††††† Mr. Pealer was born in Dushore, April 5, 1862, and is a son of Thomas Pealer, whose birth occurred in Fishing Creek township, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, April 29, 1811, his father, John Pealer, being a pioneer of that section. It was in 1860 that Thomas Pealer came to Sullivan county and took up his residence in Dushore, where he engaged in the boot and shoe business.Soon after his arrival he was appointed justice of the peace and served his fellow citizens in that capacity for several years, to their entire satisfaction.He was one of the first to begin the imposing of fines in place of imprisoning in petty cases, and in this way soon accumulated a snug sum, which he proposed should be used to build sidewalks in the town.He was a man of fine attainments, and his decisions were never reversed in the higher courts.While a resident of Columbia county, he was instrumental in securing the formation of Montour county, and ever took an active and prominent part in public affairs, his opinions always being received with favor.In 1868 he removed to Muncy, Pennsylvania, where he spent two years; from there went to Lock Haven, where the following twelve years were passed, and then took up his residence in Renovo, at each place being engaged in the boot and shoe business.In 1890 he returned to Dushore and lived with his son Charles E. until his death, which occurred in 1898.In 1832 he married Miss Eleanor McHenry, by whom he had eight children, namely:Susanna, Charlotte, Martha, Silas, Elmira, Eli B., Erastus and Dyer C.He was again married in 1857, his second union being with Miss Adaline McHenry, and to them were born two children:Emma J. and Charles E.The mother still finds a pleasant home with our subject.

††††††††††† During his boyhood and youth Charles E. Pealer attended the public schools of Lock Haven and began his business career as clerk in a drug store at that place, still continuing his studies, however, in night school.In 1882 he was graduated at the Lock Haven State Normal, and subsequently he secured a position in a drug store in Renovo, where he remained about a year.Going to Driftwood, he had charge of a drug and general store as manager for four years, and then embarked in the drug business on his own account at that place, in partnership with W. H. Roach, the two carrying on operations together for five years.On selling out, Mr. Pealer returned to Dushore, in October, 1891, and bought his present fine store, which he has since so successfully conducted, receiving from the public a liberal patronage.

††††††††††† He has been twice elected as a member of the borough council, and is now serving a second year as president of the board.He was for several years a member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America, and has held all the chairs in said lodge.

††††††††††† Mr. Pealer was married on the 4th of June, 1890, to Miss Alice, daughter of William R. Jordan, of Benezette, Pennsylvania, and they have become the parents of two children:Robert E., born March 10, 1891; and Howard W., born June 20, 1895.

††††††††††† FREDERICK AUGUST BEHR, father of Herman and Otto Behr, of the firm of Behr Brothers, who are prominent lumbermen and millers in Colley township, is one of the leading German-American farmers of Sullivan county.He was born in the province of Piess-Schleic, Germany, June 25, 1823, the son of John A. Behr, a draper and cloth manufacturer.The mother was Christina Marie Oelert, who was born in the same village as her husband.John Behr's family comprised eight children, one of whom died in childhood, the others being:Antonia, Wilhemina, Frederick August, Caroline A., Edward, Adolph and Anton.The parents were Lutherans in their religious belief and both died in their native land.

††††††††††† The subject of this sketch received a good education in the public schools of Germany and when fourteen years old entered college, where he remained three years.At the age of twenty-four he sailed from Hamburg on the ship Caroline Marie and was forty-five days making the voyage to New York City.From the latter place Mr. Behr went to Philadelphia, where he resided for thirteen years, carrying on a manufactory of picture and mirror frames.He was united in marriage, in Philadelphia, 1852, to Ottline Foerster, a native of that city, who bore him one child, now deceased, named Alvina, who died in 1855.Mr. Behr was subsequently married, on November 13, 1857, to Miss Anna Huch, a native of the duchy of Brunswick, Germany, whose parents were Carl and Sophia (Vendenburg) Huch, both born in the same village as their daughter, where the father was a custom-house officer.The family came to Philadelphia in 1855, and there the father died in 1858, the mother in 1873.Their children were four in number:Carl F., who is proprietor of a large type foundry at Philadelphia; Anna (Mrs. Behr), Helen A. and Hermina.

††††††††††† Frederick A. Behr came to Sullivan county in 1860 and purchased five hundred acres of land, on which no clearing had been made.He at once began its improvement and by unceasing industry and a thorough knowledge of the art of agriculture he has succeeded in converting the one-time wilderness into fertile fields, green meadows, and orchards bearing luscious fruits.Here he has a beautiful residence, with grassy lawns, large barns and out-buildings and everything necessary to a well kept farm.He also has an extensive park, in which deer roam at pleasure, and in fact nothing is wanted to make this an ideal place.The family of Mr. and Mrs. Behr consists of seven children:Hedwig Sophia, wife of Ernest Troeger, living in Philadelphia; Otto Frederick, a lumberman and prominent business man of Colley township, who has held township offices for a number of years; Bertha, wife of Lowe Werner, of Philadelphia; Hermann August, one of the firm of Behr Brothers, of Lopez; Sophie, wife of August Kramer, of Denver, Colorado; Helena, wife of Adolph Otten, of Wyoming county; and Minna, who is at home.They also have an adopted daughter, Frances, whom they took when a babe two months old.

††††††††††† Mr. Behr is a Republican in his political views, as are all his sons, and he has held nearly all the township offices, to the satisfaction of the public.He was one of the founders of the Republican party among the Germans of Philadelphia, and was a valued counselor among Republican leaders.The firm of Behr Brothers is composed of Hermann August Behr and Otto Frederick Behr, and owns thirteen hundred acres of land.They do an extensive business in lumbering and milling, employing from six to twenty-five men, and having a high reputation for honesty and fair dealing.They received an excellent education in Philadelphia, are men of culture and are noted for their frank and genial disposition, their hospitality and for the interest they take in all that affects the growth and welfare of the community.They are both honorary members of the Delaware Ornithological Club, of Philadelphia, which is connected with the American Academy of Natural Sciences, and are highly interested in the workings of this body.

††††††††††† JUDSON D. COOPER, of Lopez, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, was born in Elmira, New York, October 20, 1857, and is the son of William L. and Hannah (Lathrop) Cooper, and a grandson of William Cooper, a pioneer farmer of Chenango County, New York.William Cooper was born in Orange county, New Jersey, in 1800, and remained there until he had attained his majority, when he located in Chenango county, New York, which at that time was an almost unbroken wilderness, inhabited by wild beasts and the fiercer redman.Here he spent the remainder of his life, clearing and cultivating his land and caring for the wants of his family.He married Elizabeth Longcoy, and to them were born the following children:William L., the father of our subject; Julia, wife of James Warren, of Chemung county; Charles, a farmer of Bulkhead, that county; Charlotte, deceased wife of Ray Warren, also of that county; Allen, a soldier in the Rebellion, and two terms sheriff of Chemung county, now a resident of Elmira, New York; and Mary Elizabeth, wife of Isaac Garrabrant, of Elmira Heights, New York.His wife dying, William Cooper was united in marriage to Lydia Mudd, who was born in 1800 and lived to the extreme age of ninety-eight years.Mr. Cooper was called to his reward March 20, 1872.

††††††††††† William L. Cooper, the father, was born in Chemung county, in Baldwin township, and was there reared to manhood.His first business venture was as proprietor of the hotel at Dean's Corners, where he remained several years.He chose for his life's partner, Hannah Lathrop, a daughter of John Lathrop, and to them were born three children:Judson D., our subject; John W., who died young; and George Franklin, a bookkeeper, thought to be living in Brooklyn.When the Civil war threw its dark cloud over our land, William L. Cooper was among those who sacrificed their lives for the national honor, enlisting, in 1862, in Company E, One Hundred and Forty-first Regiment, New York Volunteers, and contracting spotted fever, from which he died.

††††††††††† Judson D. Cooper was thrown upon his own resources at a much earlier age than the average boy.From the time he was twelve years old he has been obliged to provide for himself, first as chore boy on the farm, and, as he became older, being employed in milling and carpenter work.He has since continued in the milling business.In 1880 he came to this county, where he and Josiah Hembury, his father-in-law, purchased a mill in the vicinity of Cherry Mills and for some five years operated it most successfully.The following six years were spent in a mill in Forks township, after which he came to Lopez, in 1892, to accept the position of head filer for Jennings Brothers --- a position he still holds.

††††††††††† He was married at Dushore, this county, to Adella E. Hembury, October 29, 1881.She is a daughter of Josiah and Mary (McCorrel) Hembury.Their children were:Mary Elsie, who died at the age of one and one-half years; George Franklin, Cora Belle and Forest Judson.Mrs. Cooper is a member of the Evangelical church, and their religious faith is exemplified by their daily lives.Mr. Cooper is a member of the Sawmill Experts' Association, of Minnesota, and also belongs to the Patriotic Order Sons of America, having united with that body at New Albany, in 1890, and is identified with the Knights of Maccabees, becoming a member in 1896, at this place.Mr. Cooper also expects soon to be initiated in the order of Free Masons, of which he intends to be a member through life.

††††††††††† CHARLES MORRIS CROLL, a popular tonsorial artist of Dushore, Sullivan county, is an excellent illustration of what fair dealing, strict attention to business, careful management and a genial disposition will do toward the consummation of a successful business career.Mr. Croll was born in Columbia county, this state, October 22, 1854, a son of William and Jennie (Auman) Croll, and received a good common-school education in the public schools of his native county.When twenty-one years of age he started to learn his trade under the tuition of William Weary, of Dushore, after which he rented a shop and on his own responsibility entered upon his chosen vocation.Three years later he purchased a lot and built his present place of business, one of the finest and most completely equipped in the county.He owns three houses in Dushore, and the one in which he resides is a handsome edifice, fitted up with every modern improvement and convenience.

††††††††††† Mr. Croll was united in marriage June 25, 1890, to Miss Carrie A. Taylor, a daughter of David Taylor, of Muncy Valley.She is a member of the Methodist church.

††††††††††† William Croll, the father of our subject and a native of Pennsylvania, was born January 22, 1819.He was a carpenter by trade and came to Sullivan county in 1860, locating at Dushore, where he followed his trade up to the time of his death, which took place in 1871.He married Miss Jennie Auman, of Columbia county, and to them were born seven children, namely:Annie, who is the wife of Willard Clayton, of Duluth, Minnesota; Clarence D., a carpenter of Athens, Pennsylvania; Charles M., our subject; William D., a hotel clerk in Athens; Freeman W., a finisher in an Athens furniture factory; George W., a clerk in a clothing store in Duluth, Minnesota, and Elsie M., a stenographer in New York city.Mrs. Croll survives her husband and is a resident of Athens, where she has a large number of warm friends.

††††††††††† HENRY G. HUFFMASTER. --- Nowhere among the tillers of the soil who have made the virgin wilderness and broad prairies of our country to bloom and blossom as the rose can there be found more industrious, upright and loyal citizens than those whose ancestors came at an early day from the fatherland.To the strong, thrifty character of the German they have added the push and perseverance of the native-born American, and under their busy hands the country has been developed and wealth and honors have become their portion.

††††††††††† Among the early settlers of Sullivan county wereFrederick and Christina Huffmaster, paternal grandparents of the subject of this sketch, who emigrated from Germany in 1801, landing at New York, where they remained until 1825, when they came to Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, settling on land which forms a portion of the present farm of Henry G. Huffmaster.On the maternal side Mr. Huffmaster's grandparents were Frederick and Mary Bartch, also natives of Germany.They came to America in 1821 and took up their residence in Sullivan county in 1828.

††††††††††† The parents of our subject were Henry and Barbara (Bartch) Huffmaster, both natives of Germany.Henry was but seven years old when his father emigrated to America and settled in New York.There he followed his trade of weaver and taught his son the same business.The family removed to Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, when Henry was about twenty-one years old and located on fifty acres of land in the wilderness.This was soon converted into fertile fields and is still in possession of the family.The father pursued his trade in connection with farming and reared his children to habits of economy and industry.He was a worthy member of the Evangelical church, and a good Republican.He died March 17, 1873, at the age of seventy-seven years, seven months and seven days, and was interred in Bahr Hill cemetery, Cherry township.His wife's death took place August 3, 1878, in her seventieth year, at Mapleton, Illinois, where she was buried.

††††††††††† To this worthy couple the following children were born:Joseph, who married Elizabeth Reeser and was killed at the battle of Chancellorsville during the Civil war; Eliza, who married Rev. John C. Bolten, an Evangelical minister, and is deceased; Magdalena, who married Henry Stiff and is deceased; Frederick, who married Sallie A. Thrasher, and is a farmer in Cherry township; John, who served as a soldier in the Civil war and now resides in Hancock county, Illinois; Henry G., subject of this sketch; Mrs. Nancy Hawk is next in order of birth; and Robinson, who lives at Coldwater, Kansas.

††††††††††† Henry G. Huffmaster was born in Cherry township, November 16, 1838, on the old homestead, where he still resides.His long life has been one of activity, and as a result of his thrift he has accumulated a fair share of this world's goods.Remaining at home, working upon the farm until reaching his majority, he then learned the carpenter's trade of his brother Joseph, with whom he worked for two years.He then went into business for himself, at the same time carrying on farming.In November, 1896, Mr. Huffmaster was elected county commissioner for a term of three years and has now the esteem of the community by the justness and fidelity with which he has discharged the duties of his office.He also filled the office of school director for six years, and took an active interest in the cause of education.He is a member of the Reformed church and in politics is a Republican.Mr. Huffmaster was married October 20, 1859, to Miss Ellen Yonkin, who was born in Cherry township June 17, 1837, and is a daughter of Henry and Barbara (Hartzig) Yonkin.Her family is one of the best known and most prominent in Sullivan county, a full record of which will be found in the sketch of her brother, Judge John Yonkin.Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Huffmaster:Edward, who is unmarried and is at home; Rudolph, who died at the age of three years; and Brush, who married Miss Minnie Vail and is farming in Cherry township.The Huffmaster family stands high in the community socially and are excellent citizens.

††††††††††† JOHN ROBERTS. --- The subject of this sketch in one of the young men of Bernice who has become identified with the mining interests of that vicinity and who by his thrift, faithfulness, reliability and energy is regarded as one of the prominent citizens of the county.He is foreman of the coal-breaker at Bernice and for nearly ten years has been connected with that industry, receiving the promotion which from application and ability he has so well deserved.Mr. Roberts is prominent in social affairs and a thoroughly representative citizen.

††††††††††† He was born in Little Lizard, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, April 17, 1869, the son of Nathan and Inez (Moyer) Roberts, natives of Susquehanna county, where the father, a life-long carpenter, died, February 20, 1893.The mother, who was born February 10, 1846, now lives at Bradford, Pennsylvania.She is a member of the Evangelical church.To Nathan and Inez Roberts were born six children, as follows:Adon, who is fireman of the breaker at Bernice; John, subject of this sketch; Jennie, wife of Charles Quick, a miner of Bernice; William, a miner of Bernice; Belle, who is now residing at Susquehanna; and Nettie, of Bernice.

††††††††††† Our subject was reared at the home of his parents in Susquehanna county, where he received a common-school education.In 1889 he came to Bernice, where he secured a position as fireman in the present breaker, which position he filled until his promotion in 1895 to foreman of the breaker.Adon, brother of our subject, is now fireman at the breaker and has been in the service of the company for the past five years.He is the patentee of an anthracite-slate picker, which is a most valuable invention.

††††††††††† On November 18, 1892, at Bernice, was celebrated the marriage of our subject and Miss Bertha Snowsky, who is the daughter of Henry and Agusta (Gnoskey) Snowsky.To Mr. and Mrs. Roberts have been born two children --- Ruth and Eunice.

††††††††††† Mr. Roberts is a prominent member of the P. O. S. of A., of which he is treasurer.He is also a member of Camp Bernice, I. O. P. M.In politics he is a Republican.He is progressive and enterprising and is held in high esteem by the community in which he lives.

††††††††††† CHARLES N. PORTER. --- Among the brave men who helped to make up the quota of soldiers sent by Pennsylvania to the defense of the Union in the dark days of the Rebellion was the subject of this sketch, now a leading agriculturist of Fox township, Sullivan county.He made an honorable record by his gallant service and in the paths of peace he has proved himself equally worthy of the confidence and esteem of his fellow citizens.

††††††††††† He was born in Schoharie county, New York, where his ancestors made their home many years ago.Latney D. Porter, our subject's father, was born and reared in the town of Broome, that county, and was married there to Miss Mahala Loose, a native of the same county.In 1842 he removed to this section, having received by will a tract of land in Sullivan county, from a relative of his wife.Later he bought other tracts in Fox township, and at the time of his death he owned a large amount of land.His wife died when our subject was but three years old.Of their other children the first died in infancy; William is a farmer in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; Nathan, formerly a resident of Fox township, who was killed by a falling tree; Daniel, a farmer in Fox township, who died in 1897; Harvey, a farmer in Fox township; Densey, wife of B. S. Porter, a farmer in Lycoming county; and Miner, who married Annie Brown and settled in Fox township, Sullivan county, but met a soldier's death at Fort Garrison, on October 1, 1864, while serving in Company B, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry.

††††††††††† Our subject was brought to Sullivan county when a babe and was educated chiefly in the schools of Fox township.On October 18, 1861, at the age of twenty, he enlisted in Company B, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, for three years, under Captain Metcalf, and during his term he took part in many severe battles in Virginia and North Carolina.He returned home in the fall of 1864 and in the following year went to Minnesota and spent a winter working as a lumberman in the woods.Since that time he has been engaged in general farming in Sullivan county and has besides conducted a grocery store in Shunk for a year and has filled numerous contracts for buildings and similar work. He owns about one hundred and fifty acres of land, much of it under cultivation, and has devoted considerable attention to stock-raising.Politically he is a steadfast Republican, and among the offices which he has held we may mention those of constable, overseer of the poor and commissioner of the township; and he has served on the election board at various times as judge and clerk, while his interest in educational affairs has been shown by several years of effective work as school director.Socially he and his family are prominent and he belongs to the P. of I. and the P. O. S. of A., being a charter member of the latter society at Shunk.

††††††††††† Mr. Porter was married to Miss Henrietta Williams, November 5, 1866, in Fox township.She was a daughter of Henry Williams, and her death took place in 1871.Our subject was married a second time, his bride on this occasion being Miss Rebecca Kilmer, a native of Fox township, Sullivan county, and a daughter of Peter Kilmer.By the first union he had two children:Myrtie, the wife of Morris E. Morgan, a farmer in Fox township; and Henry, who died in infancy.By his second marriage there are three children:Otus, a farmer living on the homestead; Orwell, who married Miss Eva Brown and resides on a farm in Fox township; and Harry E., at home.Mrs. Myrtie Morgan has six children:Lenora, eleven years of age; Floyd, nine years; Henrietta, seven years; Daniel, four years; Leon, two years; and Agnes, three months.

††††††††††† CHARLES EMERY JACKSON, proprietor of Hotel Jackson, at Mildred, Pennsylvania, was born in Ithaca, New York, May 20, 1865, and is a son of Cornelius W. and Elanora (Stevens) Jackson, both natives of New York state.His father was a dealer in, and breeder and trainer of horses.Our subject, the only child, was principally educated in the public schools of his birth-place, and for a time he attended a business college.At the early age of twelve years he began tallying lumber for McGraw & Company, of Tonawanda, New York, and a year later entered the employ of F. N. Dounce, a coal dealer of Elmira, New York, as bookkeeper, remaining with him four years.He then assumed the management of a branch coal office at Elmira for W. H. Blight, and in October, 1884, came to Bernice as confidential clerk, bookkeeper and assistant postmaster for Mr. Blight, with whom he remained for ten years.In 1894 he erected the Hotel Jackson, a small but modern hostelry at Mildred, Pennsylvania, since which time he has given his personal attention to the hotel and proved himself a genial and obliging host.His place has become a great favorite with the traveling public, particularly with hunters and fishermen, and is well patronized.

††††††††††† On the 10th of April, 1886, Mr. Jackson led tothe marriage altar Miss Emeline E. Utz, daughter of John Utz, of Dushore, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this volume.Three children have been born to this union.Charles U., Robert E. and Richard W.

††††††††††† Socially Mr. Jackson is prominent, and is to-day an honored member of Bernice Lodge, No. 962, I. O. O. F.; Katonka Tribe, No. 336, I. O. R. M.; and Washington Camp, No. 481, P. O. S. of A.He is a recognized leader in the ranks of the Democracy in his community, and takes an active and influential part in local positions, was congressional conferee in 1893, a delegate to two county conventions and secretary of both, and was a Democratic candidate for congress in 1898.He has served one term as auditor of Cherry township, Sullivan county, and was justice of the peace in the same township for a term of five years.In all the relations of life he has been found true and faithful to every trust reposed in him, and his official duties have been most satisfactorily discharged.

††††††††††† BENJAMIN C. STEPHENSON, a well-known citizen of Elk Lake, Fox township, is a veteran soldier, who is justly proud of his record during the Civil war.He was a member of Company G, Forty-ninth Pennsylvania Infantry, First Division, Third Brigade, under Colonel Hickman and Captain James T. Stuart.Mr. Stephenson took part in the battle of the Wilderness and the seven-days fight, into which the regiment entered with eight hundred and eighty-seven men, and at the close of the seven days not one hundred responded for duty.They succeeded, however, in driving the rebels from the vicinity of Washington, District of Columbia.This regiment was also in the battle of Winchester, Virginia, after which it went to Petersburg and served at Fort Hill.Our subject was present at the surrender of General Lee to General Grant at Blackwater Run, which ended the war.He also took part in a skirmish at Hall's Hill, and in fording the Potomac river caught a severe cold, which brought on the rheumatism and caused him great suffering.When he entered the service he was physically one of the best men in the regiment, weighing one hundred and eighty-five pounds, but after his attack of rheumatism was reduced to less than one hundred pounds!He was honorably discharged in July, 1865, and returned to Bradford county, stopping at Harrisburg to procure a pair of crutches, as he was so badly crippled that he could not walk without them.He has suffered much from his experience in the army, but has never regretted the sacrifice he made for the good of his adopted country.

††††††††††† Our subject was born in Liverpool, England, January 1, 1834, a son of Benjamin and Jane (Watson) Stephenson, natives of Yorkshire, England.He was brought to this country by his parents when a small boy and they settled in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where his mother died in 1849 and his father in 1864.The latter was a farmer and lumberman by occupation and was a member of the Episcopal church, while his wife was a Catholic.They were the parents of four children:William, living in Sheshequin, who was a soldier in the same company and regiment as our subject; Anastasia (Mrs. Horton), deceased; Mary (Mrs. Rice), deceased; and Benjamin C., our subject.

††††††††††† Mr. Stephenson was married July 15, 1855, to Miss Sarah Jane Dickens, who was born in Ulster county, New York, a daughter of Stephen E. and Mary (Miller) Dickens.They are the parents of the following children:Dorrance Ulysses, who died when twenty-nine years old, unmarried and living with his parents, to whom he was devoted; Ann Eliza, wife of John D. Kunzman, of Elkland township; Kate (Mrs. Warner), who died at the age of twenty years; Joseph Edward, who was born in 1876 and married Miss Grace E. Martin, and they have one daughter, Sarah Elmina; John Franklin, who was born December 18, 1877, and lives with his parents.

††††††††††† Mr. Stephenson is a Democrat but liberal in his views, voting for the men he deems the most suitable for office.He was for many years a member of the G. A. R., is a loyal citizen and good neighbor and well thought of by all.

††††††††††† JOHN C. CAMPBELL, the popular postmaster at Piatt, Fox township, is one of the well known citizens of Sullivan county and a veteran of the Civil war.He was born in New Albany, Pennsylvania, December 31, 1837, the son of Caleb and Catherine (English) Campbell.Caleb Campbell was the sixth son of John C. Campbell, who was a direct descendant of the famous Campbells of Scottish history, whose Highland chiefs play such a prominent part in song and story.John Campbell and his wife, ne'e Caroline Metcalf, had seven children:Alice, William, Caleb, John, James, Hiram and Joseph.Caleb Campbell was a miller by trade and followed this occupation in company with C. H. Mills for a number of years in Susquehanna and Bradford counties.He then came to Sullivan county and founded the town of Campbellville in or about 1850.Later he lived in New Albany, Dushore, Headly Mills, Monroe Corners, Cape Mills, and finally settled in Shunk, Fox township, where he carried on a milling business until his health failed and he was obliged to retire from active life.His death took place at Eaglesmere, in October, 1895 when seventy-eight years of age.

††††††††††† Mr. Campbell was twice married, his first wife being Miss Catherine English, who was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and was the daughter of William and Mary English.Ten children were born of this union:John C., subject of this sketch; Fernando, who died in childhood; Theodore, who also died at an early age; William, who was a soldier in the Civil war, a member of the Fourteenth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, in which he served nineteen months, and died while at home on a furlough; Henry, who also was a soldier, serving three years and four months in the Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and is deceased; Wilson, who lives in New Albany, Pennsylvania; Charles, deceased; Alice, who became the wife of George Northrup and is deceased; Louise, who married John Smith and lives near Forksville, this county; and Rebecca, the wife of Charles Easenwine, and is living in Towanda, Pennsylvania.The mother of these children died in 1854, at the early age of thirty-three years.Mr. Campbell's second wife was Miss Ursula Cheever, who bore him two children --- Willis and Samuel.

††††††††††† John C. Campbell had the usual advantages of schooling which boys of his day enjoyed, and when he was old enough learned the carpenter's trade.In August, 1864, he enlisted as a soldier in the Civil war, becoming a member of Company I, Two Hundred and Third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served during the remainder of the war and saw some heavy fighting in the battles of Deep Bottom, Fort Fisher, Wilmington and Portsmouth.He was in the hospital for some time at Long Island and was discharged on July 14, 1865, with a good record as a faithful and brave soldier.Mr. Campbell took up his residence in Sullivan county in 1867, working at his trade at Williamsport.After General Harrison had been elected president Mr. Campbell went to Washington, District of Columbia,. where he remained some time, returning to this county in 1892, since which time he has lived at Piatt.

††††††††††† Mr. Campbell's first wife, to whom he was married in 1861, was Miss Margaret Lowe, a daughter of Jesse and Jessie (Plotts) Lowe.She died at Eaglesmere in 1892, leaving one son, George L. Campbell, now a resident of Dushore and the manager of the Campbell Electric Traction Company, of Towanda.See his sketch on another page of this volume.Mrs. Jessie (Plotts) Lowe was widely known throughout Sullivan county, before the days of regular physicians, as an expert nurse and doctress.The second wife of our subject was Mrs. Emily (Hoagland) Williams, the widow of Daniel Williams, to whom he was married January 25, 1893.Mr. Campbell resides on a fine farm of fifty acres, which he has under excellent cultivation and on which he has built a very pleasant and comfortable house and also a cozy little building used as the post-office.He was appointed post-master by President McKinley on November 24, 1897, and is fulfilling the duties of that office to the general satisfaction of the public.He is well liked by every one and is deserving of the high esteem in which he is held.

††††††††††† JAMES L. BRENCHLEY. --- This well-known farmer and lumberman of Shunk, Fox township, Sullivan county, is a native of Bradford county, this state, having been born at the latter place November 15, 1864.His parents are George and Lydia (Loomis) Brenchley, now residing in Fox township.The mother is a native of Bradford county and a daughter of James Loomis, of the latter place.The father was a native of Fox township, his parents coming to this country and locating in that township before 1840.George Brenchley was twice married --- his first wife being a Miss Weed, by who mhe had two children, Abraham and John, the latter dying at the age of twenty-four years.After the death of his wife he was again united in matrimony to Miss Lydia Loomis.To them were born the following children:Minnie, the wife of Guy Fuller, of Springfield, Pennsylvania; James, the subject of these memoirs; Frank, who married Mattie Leonard and is living at home engaged in lumbering; Maggie, the wife of Emery Tellison, of Smithfield, this state; Maud, Walter and Wallace, the latter three living at home.

††††††††††† When James L. Brenchley was a child of nine years his parents came to Sullivan county, settling in Fox township.Here he attended the common schools, receiving such education as could be obtained from them until he reached his eighteenth year; at this age he began to work for himself, employed in the extensive lumber tracts of that region.He afterward bought a farm of seventy-four acres, from which he has cleared most of the timber and otherwise greatly improved, devoting the land to general farming.He also engaged in lumbering.

††††††††††† At the age of twenty-three he was united in marriage to Miss Cora, daughter of James H. Campbell.Two children have blessed this union:Ina Belle, born December 6, 1896, and Ethel M., born July 26, 1898.In politics Mr. Brenchley is an unyielding Republican and is at present serving a three-years term as road commissioner.He is a prominent member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America, with which he united some four years age, and is deservedly popular throughout the county, where he is well known.
Editor's Note: You can see family pictures and learn more about the Brenchley family at Bill Brenchley's Page. Also, many of the family ancestors are interred in the West Hills Cemetery in Shunk in western Sullivan County, PA. According to Bill, George Loomis, the grandfather of Lydia (Loomis) Brenchley, was captured and spent most of the Revolutionary War in a prison in England. He was born October 6, 1753 and died September 21, 1836. It is not known where he is buried, but his widow, Deborah, lived in Bradford county, PA. where she got a pension after he died.

††††††††††† FRANCIS W. OSTHAUS. --- The foreign-born residents of this section constitute a most desirable class of citizens, and the subject of this sketch, a worthy representative of the thrifty, enterprising class, is deserving of special mention in this volume.For many years he has been identified with the agricultural interests of Forks township, Sullivan county, while he also conducts a large mercantile business at Overton, Bradford county, and in both these lines of work he has met with marked success.

††††††††††† The ancestral home of Mr. Osthaus is in Munster, Germany, and his grandfather, Antone Osthaus, a life-long resident of that place and a prosperous wine merchant, died there at the age of eighty-four years, leaving two children:Henry A., father of our subject, and a daughter who married and remained in Germany.Henry A. was born in Munster, April 22, 1766, and when a young man moved to Hamburg, where he secured a position as bookkeeper in a large merchandising house.He remained there a few years, when his health failed, and in 1793 he took up farming.He located first on government land in Himmelsthueur, or Heavensport, remaining about fifteen years, then renting a farm at Woeltingerode, near Goslar, where he died in June, 1838.He was married in 1803 to Clara Van Buck, who was born in 1786 and was the daughter of Major Van Buck, an officer in the army of the Bishop of Munster.Her death occurred in February, 1844.Our subject was the youngest of four children, the others being:Minnie, who married Gustavus Wienhagen, a farmer in Germany, and is deceased; Carl, who succeeded his father on the home farm and died in 1879; and Elizabeth, who is now the widow of Carl Boettcher, a judge in Hertzberg in the province of Hanover.

††††††††††† Francis William Osthaus was born in Woeltingerode, May 10, 1821.He grew to manhood in his native province, receiving a college education, and at the age of eighteen was employed by a gentleman who lived in the city as overseer and administrator of his farm land.This position he held for twelve years.In 1852 he came to America and located in Forks township, Sullivan county, where he first purchased fifty acres of partially cleared land.This he sold a few years later and he now owns two adjoining farms, one of one hundred and seventy and the other of ninety acres, having about one hundred and fifty acres in all under cultivation.He is a general farmer but has been interested in stock-raising for many years, and was extensively engaged in that business during the Civil war.In 1854 he went into the mercantile business in the same township, and in 1867 built his present store at Overton, where he has a lucrative trade in general merchandise.Politically he is a "gold standard" Democrat, but has never aspired to public office, and at one time when elected, justice of the peace, he declined to qualify.Although not a church member he is in hearty sympathy with religious movements and has always been a friend to progress in any form.

††††††††††† In 1851 Mr. Osthaus was married to his first wife, Miss Minna Huebenir, who died in 1859.In 1861 he was married in Sullivan county to Jennie, a native of Prussia and a daughter of Edward and Augusta (Groskopf) Francke.By his first marriage he had four children:Herman H., who was educated in Heidelberg and Goettingen, Germany, and in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he was graduated in 1877; in 1878 he was admitted to the bar and at present is practicing law at Scranton, Pennsylvania; Arthur, who was a Normal graduate, and died in 1876, at the age of twenty-one years; Elizabeth, who is the wife of Dr. Herrmann, of Dushore, Pennsylvania; and Gustavus died in infancy.By the second marriage there were three children:Rowena; Carl Edward, who resides at home and is in partnership with his father in the store at Overton; and Adolphus, who died in 1876, aged two and a half years.

††††††††††† HIRAM LONG, a prosperous general farmer residing in Cherry township, was there born December 26, 1826, being a son of Hiram and Barbre (Hartzig) Long.His father was of English extraction and was born in Venango county, New York, where he died in 1840, at the age of forty years.He conducted a hotel and also carried on a general merchandise business.The mother died in 1861, at the good old age of eighty-six years.

††††††††††† When two years old our subject was taken to raise by his grandfather Hartzig, with whom he made his home until reaching his majority.He then went to Monroeton, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where he was employed as a hostler in a hotel for a short time, then removed to Towanda, Pennsylvania, where he worked for a Mr. Fowler at rafting on the Towanda creek.From this place he went to Laporte and was in the employ of Michael Millett, working in the lumber woods.From Mr. Millett he purchased a farm of one hundred acres, agreeing to work out the price of it at fifty cents a day, but at the end of two months he became discouraged, and feeling that at that rate it would take a long time to earn the purchase money, he threw up his job and returned to Monroeton.He spent the following nine months in lumbering, and then, his grandparents desiring him to return, he went back to his old home and ran the farm one year on shares.

††††††††††† On June 23, 1850, Mr. Long was married, in Cherry township, to Miss Victoria Ritchlin, and soon afterward bought his present farm.There were at that time but two acres of it cleared, and in this stood a poor log cabin built by the former owner of the place, Solomon Hunsinger.In no way daunted by the prospect of hard work, Mr. Long repaired the humble home and made it as comfortable as possible, and at once began the improvement of his land.Later he put up a better house of logs, and in 1870 built his present comfortable residence.By constant industry, coupled with economy and with never-failing persistence and energy, Mr. Long has conquered all difficulties and has prospered in his undertakings.To-day he owns three profitable farms, has money at interest, and is able to sit down and rest, with the pleasant conviction that his work has been well done and that the closing days of his busy life may be passed in the bosom of his family, peacefully and happily.

††††††††††† Mr. Long has been twice married, and by his first wife had ten children:Louis F., born January 4, 1852; Julia A., born March 14, 1854, deceased; Edward W., born November 1, 1855, is a hotel-keeper at Mt. Jewett, Pennsylvania; Ellen L., born November 19, 1857, married Harry Carson, who keeps a hotel at Kane; Mary J., born March 5, 1860, deceased; Julius, born May 28, 1862, married Miss Mary Barth and is in the laundry business at Dushore, Pennsylvania; Loretta, born January 20, 1865, deceased; Charles F., born May 5, 1866, deceased; Amelia, born September 25, 1868, married Fred Stark and is deceased; Alice A., born May 26, 1872, married Walter Matthews.

††††††††††† Mrs. Victoria (Ritchlin) Long was born June 16, 1830, at Dayton, Switzerland, and came with her parents to America and settled in Sullivan county at an early day.She died December 4, 1893, at the age of sixty-three years.

††††††††††† Mr. Long was married the second time on December 16, 1896, when he wedded Mrs. Sarah (Kaye) Wilkinson, a native of Yorkshire, England.She is the daughter of Henry and Ruth (Crawshaw) Kaye, of Yorkshire, where they still reside, her father now being seventy years old and her mother seventy-five years old.They had three children, Sarah; Harriet, who died in infancy; and Albert, who married Miss Mary A. Taylor, and is carrying on coal-mining in his native land.Mrs. Long's paternal grandparents, Henry and Ann (Bedford) Kaye, came to this country from England in 1850, and settled in Sullivan county, where they spent the remainder of their lives.By her marriage to Albert Wilkinson, in England, Mrs. Long had two children:Ruth Alice, deceased, and Carrie, born October 15, 1883.Mrs. Long came to America in 1885 with relatives, who settled in Elkland township, where she made her home until her marriage to our subject.

††††††††††† Mr. and Mrs. Long are members of the Lutheran church and in politics he is a Democrat.They have one child, Elizabeth Winifred, born November 7, 1897.


††††††††††† RANSOM THRASHER. --- The subject of this sketch, the treasurer of Sullivan county, is not only one of the foremost citizens of that county, but is also a representative of one of its foremost families. In the township of Cherry is the Thrasher settlement, thus made memorable by a hardy and enterprising pioneer, George Thrasher, the grandfather of our subject, who came to the county in its state of native wildness, and with the aid of his seven lusty sons made the welkin ring with the cheery and civilizing ax till the nucleus of a settlement rapidly developed into a prosperous community, radiating a beneficent influence throughout a widening region.

††††††††††† George Thrasher, the pioneer, was a native of Reading, Pennsylvania, where he was born in 1774, just before the Revolutionary war.He married Catherine Fox, of that city, and became one of the strong and prosperous lumbermen and farmers of the Keystone state.He first settled in Luzerne county, where he remained until 1828.Purchasing from a land agent, a Mr. Kittwolder, a tract of eight hundred acres in what is now Cherry township, Sullivan county, he in that year emigrated with his household of hardy lads to the new county.Here he remained, an energetic and prosperous citizen, through life, and passed away July 12, 1846, aged seventy-one years, nine months and twenty-four days.His wife Catherine who was born July 18, 1773, and died May 8, 1854.The ten children of George and Catherine Thrasher were as follows:Elizabeth, who died unmarried; Catherine, who first married a Mr. Miller and afterward Philip Heverly; Hannah, who first married George Rupert and later Mr. Bendinger; George, father of our subject; Benjamin, who married Anna Hunsinger; Jonathan, who married Catherine Bostian; Samuel, who married Rachel Person; Adam who married Hannah Dieffenbach; Joseph, who died unmarried; and Reuben, who married Anna Suber.

††††††††††† George Thrasher, father of our subject, was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, in 1803.He was raised in that county and there married Lydia Weaver a native of Luzerne county, the daughter of Christian and Maria Weaver, who on April 1, 1847, emigrated to Cherry township, Sullivan county, and there remained through life.Christian Weaver was a wheelwright and followed his trade in connection with farming.He died December 26, 1837, aged fifty-one years, five months and one day; his wife, Maria, died May 10, 1831, aged thirty-seven years and nine months; both are buried in the Thrasher cemetery.To Christian and Maria Weaver were born seven children, as follows: Lydia, mother of our subject; Rosanna, who married Christian Benninger; Anthony, who married Mary Dieffenbach; Barnhart, who married Mary Kizer; George and Jacob, twins, the former marrying Margaret Eagly and the latter having twice married, first Eliza Conley, and later a widow from New York; Margaret, who became the wife of George Eberling.

††††††††††† The family of George and Lydia Thrasher consisted of the following children:Joseph, who married Sally Moyer and is a farmer of Cherry township, Sullivan county; Stephen, who married Caroline Kinsley and is now deceased; Phoebe, who became the wife of J. B. Lamberson and is now deceased; Ransom, subject of this sketch; Adam, who is unmarried and is the partner of our subject in the ownership and tilling of the old homestead; Rachel, widow of Benjamin Hieber, a farmer of Cherry township, who was killed by lightning at his home in June, 1895; Reuben, who married Elizabeth Barber and resides in Colley township, Sullivan county; and Catherine A. who died unmarried.George and Lydia Thrasher remained in Luzerne county until the death of the elder Thrasher in 1846.He then moved to the farm in Cherry township, now owned by his sons, Ransom and Adam.Two years later his life was cut short by an accident.While on his way to mill, March 18, 1849, with a load of grain, between his home and Dushore, his team ran away and he was killed, at the age of forty-five years, seven months and twenty-one days.The widow, who was born June 13, 1812, survived until June 13, 1887.Both are buried at the Thrasher cemetery, which adjoins the homestead of our subject, a spot which in 1829 was dedicated to burial purposes and where about sixty of the Thrasher family are now interred.The first burial in the lot was that of Joseph Thrasher, an uncle of our subject, who was there laid away in 1829.George Thrasher was a successful farmer and in political faith a Democrat.He and his family were members of the Lutheran church.

††††††††††† Ransom Thrasher, the subject of our sketch, was born in Sugarloaf township, Luzerne county, February 5, 1839.He was seven years of age when he came with his parents to Sullivan county and but ten years of age when deprived of a father's care.He has remained a citizen of Cherry township and for his home clings to the old homestead which he and his brother Adam secured by purchasing the interest of the other heirs, and which they have since jointly and very successfully cultivated.Adam has avoided political honors, but the subject of our sketch has been called upon to fill some of the most responsible public duties.In 1882 he was elected collector of Cherry township, and in 1896 was elected to the office of county treasurer, an office for which his keen business grasp of mind has eminently fitted him.Mr. Thrasher has been highly successful in his business affairs, is public-spirited, and besides the general yet deep interest which he takes in public affairs is especially attached to home, party and religion.He is in politics --- a staunch Democrat and his religious affiliations are with the Lutheran church.The edifice of that denomination in which he attends services and the adjoining cemetery are situated on land taken from the old homestead.The premises are kept in that neat and tasteful manner which characterizes methods on the Thrasher homestead.Long since Mr. Thrasher has risen by his native talents and kindly disposition to an envied place in the esteem of his fellow citizens, and he now enjoys the full meet of respect and regard which come to a life so well and successfully spent.

Joshua Battin (1819-1900)
Obituary Photo October 1900
See full obituary below this biographical sketch.
Source: Sullivan Review, Dushore, PA, October 11, 1900

††††††††††† JOSHUA BATTIN is among the oldest residents of Sullivan county, and was born in Fox township March 21, 1819, when that township was known as Elkland.He has passed all of his life as a resident of these two townships.He was an industrious youth, and at the age of twenty-two began to take care of himself, working on the railroad at track work or for the neighboring farmers.He then cultivated the homestead, raising stock and saving his earnings until he had accumulated sufficient to purchase land of his own.His first farm was in his native township; this he soon sold and bought land in Elkland township.He continued to buy at different times and was at one time the owner of two hundred and fifty acres.Much of this land has since been sold.It was his custom to buy land partly improved, and he has cleared some fifty acres of timber.He devotes his time to stock-raising and general farming.

††††††††††† His grandfather, John Battin, was born in Chester county, on the Brandywine river.He married Susanna McDermitt and lived in Columbia, Lycoming and Sullivan counties, dying in the latter.He was a surveyor and school-teacher, many years having been spent in the latter employment in this county.Being a man of more than ordinary education, his services were in much demand in writing for his neighbors.Of his children, John was a weaver in Columbia county; Henry was a farmer and horse-dealer in the same county; and Marshall, the father of our subject.

††††††††††† Marshall Battin was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, December 23, 1784.He was married in that part of Lycoming county, now Fox township, Sullivan county, March 27, 1809, to Mary Hoagland, of Elkland township, Esquire Eldred performing the ceremony.Soon after his marriage he received a tract of one hundred acres of land as a homestead from the Barclays, offered by them as an inducement to open up the wilderness to settlement.This land lay in Elkland and was wild timber land.He cleared some seventy-five acres and did farming and stock-raising.He took a deep interest in politics, especially during his later years.He was first a Democrat, became a Whig, and at the time of his death was a Republican.He served his town as supervisor and auditor several times.Both he and his wife were members of the Friends' church and were earnest Christians.Their family was composed of the following children, viz.: John, born March 3, 1810, a farmer of Fox township, deceased; Joseph, born May 6, 1812, also was a farmer in Fox township, and died there;Henry, born June 6, 1815, resided in the same township, and died July 19, 1859; Hannah was born September 9, 1816, married George Kilmer and died in Nebraska; Joshua, whose history is here briefly given; Samuel, born November 25, 1821, is a farmer in Fox township, as is Reuben, who was born May 18, 1826; and Benjamin, born October 24, 1831, and died January 30, 1835.Marshall Battin was a noted hunter, even for that time, and killed a great deal of the game which was so plentiful in that region.He died December 4, 1875.His wife was born December 30, 1789, and died December 2, 1880.

††††††††††† Joshua Battin was married in Elkland township, to Miss Ellen Woodhead, a native of England, by whom he had three children, namely:Mary Hannah, who died at the age of five years; Edwin P., a farmer of Forks township; and Walter C., living in Elkland township.After the death of his wife, Mr. Battin contracted a second matrimonial alliance, with Miss Amelia Hess, a daughter of Christian Hess and a native of Germany.They are members and liberal contributors to the Friends' church, and are quick to respond to the call of any worthy object.He is a staunch Republican, and has been supervisor, auditor and school director, and also served on the board of election.

Editor's Note: Here is the original obituary for Joshua Battin:

The Sullivan Review
Dushore, PA
October 11, 1900


Joshua Battin, the subject of this short biographical sketch, was a son of Marshall and Mary (Hoegland) Battin, born on the old Battin Homestead in Fox Township, March 21, 1819.
His father was one of the first settlers in Fox Township and his maternal grandfather, Joseph Hoegland*, was the very first settler there, having built a grist mill not far from the present mill at Shunk.
After attaining his majority, he purchase a large lot of land in Elkland township, and cleared a large farm on which he resided the remainder of his life. He became one of the most successful farmers and dairymen in the township. By industry and frugality he gained in comparative ease the last twenty years of his life. He was at the time the leading dairyman in the township. Enlarging his farm, he held at one time over two hundred acres, a large part being cleared and in a high state of cultivation. He also owned a large farm in Forks township now owned by his son E. P. Battin. Few men in the county have been more successful in agricultural pursuits than our subject.
Joshua Battin was twice married, first to Ellen Woodhead, 19th February 1852; to them was born three children, Walter C. who resides on a part of the old homestead, Ed P. who lives in Forks township and a daughter who died in infancy. Mrs. Battin died Nov. 6, 1858. On the 28th Nov. 1883, Mr. Battin was again married to Amelia M. Heess who still survives.
In politics he was a staunch Republican, in religion a Friend, in business an honest man, in every day life an honored and respected citizen. But death seeks a shining mark and Monday, Oct. 8, 1900, quietly, peacefully the messenger came and Joshua Battin speaks no more. The funeral was largely attended on Wednesday, intemrent at the Friends Meeting House.


*This is I believe the correct spelling as i find it written many times in Eldred's Docket.. The descendants now spell it Hoagland.

††††††††††† THOMAS J. FITZGERALD, who is telegraph operator and also clerk for the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Company, at Bernice, was born at Wyalusing, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, July 6, 1874.He is the son of John and Nancy (Donahue) Fitzgerald, the former of whom was born at Pottsville and the latter in Bradford county.They now reside at New Albany, this state, where the father is foreman of a railroad section.Besides our subject they have four children:Ella M., Anna B. and Gertrude are at home with their parents; and John B. is an agent of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company.

††††††††††† Our subject attended school until eleven years of age, when he became clerk in a country store in Bradford county, where he remained two years.He was then employed as an extra operator and station agent at various points, among them Wilkes-Barre, Buffalo, etc., finally accepting a position with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, with which he remained ten years.He was sent to Bernice October 11, 1893, for that company, and worked for it until July 6, 1898, when he accepted his present position.

††††††††††† Mr. Fitzgerald was married at Bernice, June 18, 1895, to Miss Jennie T. McDonald, and they have two children --- John D. and Thomas.Mrs. Fitzgerald was born in Dushore, April 8, 1872, and is the daughter of John and Julia (Sheridan) McDonald, the former a native of England and the latter of Sullivan county.Mr. McDonald came to America with his parents when he was four years old and has lived in Sullivan county ever since.He removed from Bernice to Dushore in 1881.The following children have been born to this worthy couple:Andrew, an iron-molder in Towanda, Pennsylvania; Kate, who married Frank Farrell and lives at Dushore; Mary, who married Daniel Clark, of Cortez, this state; Julia, who married Richard Clark and lives in Marquette, Michigan; Rudy, the wife of John Dailey, of Mildred, Pennsylvania; Clark, who is unmarried and lives at Cortez, this state; Jennie, wife of our subject; and Mildred, Florence, and Lawrence are at home.

††††††††††† Mr. Fitzgerald is one of the most promising young men in his community, being intelligent, industrious and thrifty in all his habits, and is very popular with all classes of good society.He is a member of the Catholic church and a Republican in his political views.

††††††††††† PETER ALBERT, a prosperous general farmer in Cherry township, was born on an adjoining farm October 5, 1861, and is the son of George and Eliza (Bartch) Albert.He attended the district school, obtaining a good education, and during the winter of 1882-3 attended a commercial college in Philadelphia.He remained at home assisting his father until the age of twenty-three, when he purchased the farm on which he now resides and which contains one hundred and two acres of fertile land.He was married in Columbia county, this state, and immediately afterward moved to Sullivan county.Mr. Albert has always been an industrious, progressive man, and is a most worthy citizen, and has been at the head of several farmers organizations.He is a Republican in politics, and while he does not take an active part in political campaigns his opinion is frequently asked on the questions at issue, and he may be relied upon to support candidates who have shown their fitness for office.

††††††††††† Mr. Albert was married July 4, 1885, at Dushore, Pennsylvania, to Miss Julia M. Seidler, and three children have been born of this union --- Lillie E., Aury C. and Arthur L.

††††††††††† George Albert, father of our subject, was a native of Wehrden, kreis Saarbrucken, regierungsbezirk Trier, kingdom of Prussia, and came to America when twenty years of age.He first located in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, where he was married and five years later removed to Cherry township, Sullivan county, settling on a farm adjoining the one where our subject now resides.At that time the land was in a wild state, and before the log cabin in which they first made their home could be built it was necessary to cut down the timber and clear away the undergrowth.His property consisted of sixty-six acres, which Mr. Albert purchased at an orphans court sale at two dollars an acre.In the course of years this became a fertile spot and is now a fine property.The children born to this worthy couple were as follows:Eugene, who died in infancy; Matermus, who married Miss Minnie Troup and is a school teacher in Payette, Idaho; Peter, subject of this sketch; Lena M., who married A. L. Tuttle and lives in New Plymouth, Idaho; and George W. H., who resides at Payette, Idaho.Mr. Albert died September 23, 1890, aged fifty-eight years, and is buried in Bahr's cemetery in Cherry township.He was a man of prominence in his community and served three years as county commissioner and also as school director.In politics he was a Democrat.Mrs. Albert was born April 17, 1837, and is still living on the old homestead.

††††††††††† The paternal grandfather of our subject was John Albert, a native of Germany, where his entire life was spent.The maternal grandparents were John G. and Magdalena (Stiner) Bartch.

††††††††††† The wife of our subject was born at Dushore, Pennsylvania, February 6, 1865, and is the daughter of William and Catherine (Long) Seidler.Her parents were natives of Germany and Switzerland, respectively, who came to America in their younger days and were married at Dushore.Her father was a wagonmaker by trade and in politics was a Democrat.He died February 12, 1865, aged fifty-five years, his wife surviving until October 13, 1876, when she, too, passed away, at the age of fifty-two years.They are buried in Thrasher's cemetery in Cherry township.The father was a member of the Lutheran church, while his wife was a Presbyterian.They were the parents of six children, namely:Bertha, who married Freem L. Martin and lives in New Albany, Pennsylvania; John, who is unmarried and is a farmer in the state of Washington; and Julia, wife of our subject; Adelaide, who died at the age of six years; and two who died in infancy.

††††††††††† THOMAS W. GAHAN. --- Among the many successes of the hardy sons of Erin who emigrated to America, a fitting example is found in the family history of the progressive farmer whose name is at the head of this sketch.Mr. Gahan is himself a native of America.He was born on the farm which he now so successfully cultivates, December 22, 1844.But his parents were natives of the Emerald Isle and crossed the ocean in that tide of sturdy Irish emigration, which in 1833 set in so strongly toward the land of freedom.When Patrick Gahan came in 1833 to the present farm of his son in Cherry township it was an unbroken wilderness.With Patrick came his brother Morris, and each bought fifty acres of wild land, paying for it one dollar an acre.A little later Morris sold to Patrick his little farm and moved to Bradford county.In Sullivan, then Lycoming county, Patrick Gahan met his future wife, Nora Fitzgerald.Both were natives of county Kerry, Ireland.To this marriage were born five children:Elizabeth, wife of Cornelius Harrington, a farmer of Cherry township; Thomas W., the subject of this sketch; Mary, wife of John Reilly, a farmer of Idaho; Morris, a machinist of Williamsport, Pennsylvania; and William, deceased.The mother died in 1851, aged thirty-five years, and the father married as his second wife Mary Manning.Patrick Gahan died in 1883, aged seventy-three years.He was a thrifty farmer and in politics a Democrat.Both parents of our subject were devout members of the Catholic church, and both are buried in St. Basil's Catholic cemetery, Dushore.

††††††††††† Thomas W., our subject, was reared on the farm in Cherry township, and obtained a fair education in the schools of his youth.At the age of twenty years he went to West Branch, Potter county, and to Clearfield county, where for many years he followed lumbering.He was married February 2, 1874, at Dushore, to Miss Bridget Curry, who was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, May 15, 1851, a daughter of Martin and Margaret (Flynn) Curry, natives, respectively, of counties Cavan and Mayo, Ireland. The parents of Mrs. Gahan were early pioneers of Sullivan county; they were married at Wilkes-Barre, and in 1842 came to Cherry township, Sullivan county, where they remained through life.They entered into a wilderness home and the father cleared the acres, year by year, transforming it into a prosperous farm.The children of Martin and Margaret Curry were as follows:Mary, who married Thomas McCale and is now deceased; Edward, who married Mary Blade and is now deceased; Charles, a resident of Garfield county, Colorado, who for his first wife married Mattie Harper and for his second Ellen Carney; Michael J., who died at the age of two years; Bridget, wife of our subject; Cecelia, wife of Michael O'Toole, of Garfield county, Colorado; James, who lives on the old homestead; and Margaret A., who died unmarried.Martin Curry and wife were consistent members of the Catholic church.He died in January, 1883, aged seventy-five years; the wife died December 10, 1893, aged seventy-two years; both are buried at Dushore.

††††††††††† To Thomas W. and Bridget Gahan have been born the following children:Nora, Maggie, Thomas F., Mary, Charles, Winnie, Patrick, Edward and Leo.In 1879 Mr. Gahan returned to Sullivan county, and has since that time devoted himself to farming.He is one of the representative farmers of Sullivan county.His clear and active mind is quick to see improved methods and his force of character impels him to undertake that which seems to him best.He is therefore progressive.He has been highly successful in his agricultural pursuits.Like his ancestors, he holds to the faith of the Catholic church and politically he is a Democrat.He has served his fellow citizens as township treasurer, school director and road commissioner.In 1896 he was a candidate for representative, but at the polls was defeated by a very small majority.In his township and county he is regarded as a strong and capable man, one who ranks easily among those whose opinions have weight and whose example is worthy of close emulation.

††††††††††† JACOB J. SUBER. --- For the success which he has attained in life, the subject ofthis sketch gives due credit to the admirable training, the example and influence of his father, Benjamin Suber, who was in point of intelligence and in business capacity one of the remarkable men of a generation ago, and whose talent and faithful life were spent within the confines of what is now Sullivan county.

††††††††††† Jacob J. Suber's great-grandfather, Jacob Suber, served under General Washington in the Revolutionary war.This shows the early date at which the family was domiciled in America.It is certain that any of the present generation who is eligible can be admitted to those select orders, the Sons of the Revolution or the Daughters of the American Revolution.

††††††††††† Benjamin Suber was born in Windsor township, Berks county, Pennsylvania, in 1820.When young he was brought to Lycoming (now Sullivan) county, by his parents, Jacob and Mary (Fraunfelder) Suber, who settled on a farm in Cherry township now owned by John Utz.Here Jacob Suber engaged in farming through life; his widow afterward married Jacob Hoffa, of Sullivan county.Benjamin was reared amid the privations and hardships of pioneer life, to which some young men succumb, but which others, more courageous, more ambitious and keener-sighted, surmount and outrun to their own advantage.His facilities were meager but his wits were sharpened by the prolific education of nature, which surrounded him; and even the knowledge of books did not elude him, for where will and perception abide a pathway may be blazed and cut to the lighter realms of mental attainment.In 1844 Benjamin Suber married Caroline Hoffa, daughter of Jacob Hoffa.He engaged in general farming in Cherry township and to himself and wife the following children were born:Mary M., who married Benjamin Thrasher and is now deceased; Jacob J., subject of this sketch; Catherine, who married Jacob H. Kinsley and is now deceased; Hannah S., wife of Louis Sax, a farmer of Bradford county, Pennsylvania; Elizabeth L., wife of Elisha Wilson, a farmer of Bradford county; George F., who married Emma Hopkins and is engaged in farming in Cherry township, Sullivan county; Adam R., who died young; Daniel, who married Emma Peterson and lives on the old homestead in Cherry township; and Benjamin L., who died young.The business talents of Benjamin Suber met with signal reward and he amassed considerable property, including several large farms.In religious faith he was a devout Lutheran.In Politics his convictions drew him to the Republican party, the principles of which he expounded ably and forcibly.He became one of its leading advocates in Sullivan county, and received from the party the nomination of associate judge.Gallantly with flying colors he led the forlorn hope against the entrenched majorities of the Democratic party, but went down beneath the too powerful opposition.He served as path master of Cherry township and filled other positions of trust.His death occurred January 12, 1887, at the age of sixty-six years, five months and five days, and his remains were laid away in Thrasher's cemetery.During the Civil war he was drafted, but having a large family put a substitute in his place.His widow afterward married John Dieffenbach, a prominent farmer, and they now live in the quiet and peace of business retirement in Cherry township.

††††††††††† Jacob J. Suber, our subject, was born in Cherry township, November 17, 1847.He was raised on his father's farm and when in 1868 he attained his majority he found himself the possessor of twenty dollars, which he had saved from his earnings.His father in token of the faithful services of his youth offered him a watch, valued at twenty dollars, or the same amount in money.The lad accepted the currency, and, no doubt thinking his father a very satisfactory employer, arranged to remain in his services at a stipulated rate of wages.He thus continued in the employment of his father until he had attained the age of thirty-five years; but meanwhile from his wages he had purchased from Jeremiah Deegan eighty-six acres of land.He settled upon his farm after his marriage and there remained until 1891, when he removed to his present home.

††††††††††† Mr. Suber was married May 15, 1883, to Caroline C. Bachman, who was born on the farm which they now occupy, February 20, 1851.She is the daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Bahr) Bachman.The father was a native of Bavaria, Germany, there learned the miller's trade and when a young man emigrated to America.He secured employment in the mill at Dushore.He married Sarah Bahr, a native of Berks county, and soon afterward settled upon a farm in Cherry township, which he had purchased from a Mr. Hieber, and upon which he erected a two-story brick residence, now the home of Jacob J. Suber.Here he remained until his death in 1893, when he had reached the age of eighty-three years and two months.He was buried in the Bahr Hill cemetery, Cherry township.He was a member of the Evangelical church.The widow, who was born in 1822, is now living at the home of her son-in-law, subject of this sketch.To Joseph and Sarah Bachman were born the following children: Jacob, who died in infancy; John, who died at the age of twenty-seven years; Loretta, wife of Nathan Person, a farmer and surveyor of Dushore; and Caroline C., wife of our subject.

††††††††††† In politics Jacob J. Suber is a Republican.His religious faith is that of the Lutheran church.Mr. Suber has combined farming with the spirit of modern times and has made the combination a success.He is widely known as a successful and "up-to-date" farmer.He not only possesses the envied talent of financial success but also that rarer instinct of successful investment.But not to farming does he give sole attention.He thoroughly appreciates the relations of an agricultural life with the broader affairs of the world and is well versed in general history and current affairs.In a word the career of Mr. Suber typifies in a most excellent manner the independence of farming blended with the intellectual possibilities and culture of modern times.

††††††††††† EDWARD J. MULLEN, one of the leading members of the Sullivan county bar, was born in Overton township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, December 2, 1865, a son of Martin and Sabina (Clark) Mullen.He attended the public schools of his native township until sixteen years of age, when he entered the Susquehanna Collegiate Institute at Towanda and there completed his literary education, graduating in 1885.After leaving school he went to Plymouth, Pennsylvania, and there engaged in teaching for one year, subsequently securing a school at North Towanda, where he remained another year, registering in the meantime as a law student in the office of William Maxwell and giving all his spare time and his vacation to the study of his chosen profession.During the fall and winter of 1888-89 he taught school at Laporte, Pennsylvania, and in the fall and winter of 1889-90 he was similarly engaged at Sonestown.In the spring of 1891 he entered the office of Hon. Bryan C. Collins, of Dushore, and, completing his law studies, was admitted to the bar in May, 1892.Until 1896 he practiced at Dushore and then removed to Laporte, where he now resides.

††††††††††† Mr. Mullen is acknowledged as one of the leading attorneys of Sullivan county, and by many as the leading one; and he enjoys a large and lucrative practice, his oratorical powers and convincing arguments before a jury being well known.He was admitted to the Bradford county bar in 1896 and to the bar of the supreme court in 1898.In politics Mr. Mullen is an active Democrat, and in 1890 he was a delegate to the state convention from Bradford county and assisted at the nomination of Pattison.He was elected chairman of the county committee of Sullivan county in 1892, serving until 1897; was elected a delegate to the state convention at Reading in 1897, and was elected and served as district attorney from 1895 to 1898.

††††††††††† On June 10, 1896, Mr. Mullen was united in marriage to Miss Mary O'Donovan, daughter of Dennis and Mary O'Donovan, of Arnot, Pennsylvania, who were formerly residents of Sullivan county.Mr. and Mrs. Mullen are both consistent members of the Roman Catholic church.

††††††††††† Martin Mullen, father of our subject, is a prominent farmer of Overton township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and is a native of county Mayo, Ireland, where he was born November 10, 1837, his parents being Bartholomew and Ann (Judge) Mullen, who also were born in county Mayo.The family emigrated to Canada in 1847 and moved to Overton, Pennsylvania, in 1851, where they spent the remainder of their lives in agricultural pursuits.The father departed this life in 1862 and the mother in 1891.Martin Mullen received a common-school education, and, following his father's example became a tiller of the soil.He married Miss Sabina Clark, a daughter of John and Barbara (Brown) Clark, both of them being natives of Ireland. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Mullen:Mary A., who became the wife of John Welch; Edward J., the immediate subject of this sketch; and Barbara C.The Mullens have for many years been prominent farmers of Bradford county.

††††††††††† HENRY H. GUNTHER, of Ricketts, Sullivan county, is an expert telegrapher and for some years has been in charge of the office of the Lehigh Valley Railroad at that point, his efficient discharge of duty winning the appreciation of his employers and the general public.

††††††††††† Mr. Gunther is of German descent in both paternal and maternal lines.His father, Gotlieb Gunther, was born in Stuttgart, Germany, March 31, 1839, and came to America in early manhood, locating first in Philadelphia, where he learned the butcher trade, and for some time was employed as foreman over twelve other workmen in an establishment there.Later he removed to Catawissa, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, where he carried on a general meat-market business for many years, his death occurring in 1878.Politically he was a strong Democrat and he and his wife were both devout members of the Lutheran church.He was married in Philadelphia to Miss Mary Zeigler, a native of Munich, Germany, who was born March 30, 1837, and died October 13, 1897.Nine children were born in this family:Mary, Emma and Reuben C., who died in infancy; Elizabeth, who married H. T. Young, of Catawissa; William, who is a butcher in the same town; the next is one who died in infancy; Henry H., mentioned more fully further on; George, who was drowned at the age of four years; and A. T., who is in the laundry business at Catawissa.

††††††††††† The immediate subject of this review was born April 18, 1868, at Catawissa, where he attended the common schools for some years.At the age of fourteen he began to provide for himself and for about five years he worked in the meat business.While thus employed he determined to learn telegraphy, and by night study he prepared himself for that line of work.When nineteen years old he secured a position as operator on the Pennsylvania Railroad at South Wilkes-Barre, where he remained until 1890, and for three years he had charge of the office of the Lehigh Valley road at Penn Haven Junction, but since January, 1893, he has held his present position at Ricketts.

††††††††††† Mr. Gunther's marriage took place October 21, 1893, when he was united to Miss Annie H. Weaver, at Catawissa.She is a daughter of John Y. Weaver, of that city.Three children have blessed this union, namely:Elizabeth, Mary and Freda.

††††††††††† In his political opinion Mr. Gunther is a Democrat and he and his wife are leading members of the Lutheran church at Ricketts.He is also identified with various social orders, having united with the Masonic fraternity at Monroeton, Pennsylvania, in 1895, the I. O. O. F., at Catawissa, in 1889, and in the same year joined the P. O. S. of A., and he has held the office of commander in the latter order.

††††††††††† HON. EDWIN MURRAY DUNHAM. --- In the last half of the present century the lawyer has been a pre-eminent factor in all affairs of private concern and national importance.He has been depended upon to conserve the best and permanent interests of the whole people and is a recognized power in all the avenues of life.He stands as the protector of the rights and liberties of his fellow men and is the representative of a profession whose followers, if they would gain honor, fame and success, must be men of merit and ability.Such a one is Judge Dunham, who now occupies the bench of the forty-fourth judicial district of Pennsylvania, winning high commendation by his fair and impartial administration of justice.

††††††††††† The Judge was born at Windham, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, August 31, 1844, a son of John L. and Laura M. (Cheney) Dunham, both of whom were descended from good old New England stock.(The latter belongs to the well-known Vermont family of that name.)Our subject's paternal grandparents were John and Drusilla (Brainard) Dunham, natives of Connecticut and early pioneers of Bradford county, this state.In their family were three children, namely:Cynthia, John L. and Matilda.John L. Dunham was also a native of Windham, born September 11, 1811, and received a very meager education in the district log house-house.He followed his father's vocation, becoming a tiller of the soil.On the 1st of January, 1857, he removed to Laporte, Sullivan county, where he was engaged in the lumber business, and while attempting to start a jam of logs on the river he was drowned August 31, 1861.In 1836 he married Miss Laura M., a daughter of Abel Cheney, of Bradford county, and she long survived her husband, departing this life February 26, 1894.The Judge is the youngest of their three children.Henry R., born April 22, 1838, died at Laporte, September 7, 1877.He was an attorney-at-law, a lieutenant in the Civil war and for a time a farmer in Kansas.Benjamin M., born February 14, 1840, was also one of the boys in blue of the Civil war, a member of Company K, One Hundred and Forty-first Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was killed at the battle of Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863.

††††††††††† Judge Dunham acquired his early education in the public schools of Windham and Laporte, and later enjoyed the advantage of four years in a private school conducted at the latter place by Rev. Hallock Armstrong.He then spent a few years in teaching school in Bradford and Sullivan counties , Pennsylvania, and in Orange county, New York.In the meantime he registered as a law student in the office of Judge Ingham at Laporte and pursued his legal studies during the vacations, and at such times as his duties permitted while engaged as a teacher.In 1866 he was admitted to the bar of Sullivan county at the May term of court, and at that time entered into partnership with Judge Ingham, remaining with him until elected district attorney in 1870.Since his admission to the bar he has been continuously and actively engaged in the practice of his profession and has for many years been one of the most prominent and distinguished attorneys of the county.He has been engaged on one side or the other of every important case tried in the county, and he has been remarkably successful in his chosen profession.

††††††††††† On the 19th of June, 1872, Judge Dunham was united in marriage with Miss Hannah M. Crocker, daughter of Daniel Crocker, of Deposit, New York, and to them were born four children:Ellen L., an invalid residing at home; and Charles, Benjamin and Edwin M., all of whom died in infancy.The wife and mother departed this life February 9, 1895, at the age of forty-seven years, five months and fourteen days.

††††††††††† Judge Dunham is an ardent supporter of the Republican party, and has often publicly advocated his principles.On various occasions he has been called upon to stand as a candidate of his party, and has several times filled elective offices in a county which is more than two-thirds Democratic.He has served as burgess, school director and member of the city council, and was one of the first jury commissioners of the county.He was elected district attorney in 1870 and to the legislature in 1878.In 1882, and again in 1886, he was the choice of his county for congress but failed of nomination in the district conference in the latter year, lacking but one vote of being the successful candidate.His election in the fall of 1894 as president judge in a district that is Democratic by a large majority was entirely due to his high reputation as a man of the strictest integrity, with a high sense of honor and a past career marked by a consistent course of justice to all and malice toward none.On these principles the Judge was elected and his course since has borne out all that his most sanguine friends expected of him.He possesses a mind practically free from bias, and he brings to his duties a most thorough knowledge of the law and of human nature, a comprehensive mind, and calm and deliberate judgment.His sentences are models of judicial fairness, and he is a type of the law that respects and protects, not condemns, humanity.In his career he has met with success financially as well as professionally, and is a stockholder and director in the Dushore bank and also in the Lake Mokoma Land Company.During the Civil war he was a member of the Union League, and socially he now belongs to Evergreen Lodge, F. & A. M., of Monroeton, the Chapter at Towanda, and Laporte Lodge, No. 923, I. O. O. F.

††††††††††† MANNING CHILSON. --- Among the charming summer resorts which annually attract to this region a host of visitors is the North Mountain House, at Ganoga lake, near Ricketts, Sullivan county, which the subject of this biography has lately opened to the public.The natural advantages of the locality are the best, the lake and numerous streams affording unusually fine fishing and the buildings having been improved to suit the requirements of a refined class of guests.The house accommodates about a hundred visitors and many of the best people of Wilkes-Barre have chosen it as their favorite resting place during their vacation season, while a daily passenger train in each direction makes it easily accessible from all points.The enterprising proprietor is a native of the Keystone state and belongs to a well-known Bradford county family.

††††††††††† Hiram Chilson, our subject's father, was born in 1833 in Bradford county and is now residing upon a farm of seventy-four acres on the river flats near Owego, New York, where he is engaged in the cultivation of tobacco, celery, vegetables and small fruits.He was married in Bradford county to Miss Jane Neiley, a native of that county, and both are held in high esteem among their circle of friends.They have had five children:Manning, our subject; Horace, a mechanic in Athens, Pennsylvania; Celia, the wife of Charles Patterson, a mechanic in Elmira, New York; Burley, a telegraph operator on the Lehigh Valley Railroad at Falls, Pennsylvania; and Stuart, now residing at Owego, New York.

††††††††††† Manning Chilson was born January 13, 1858, in Frenchtown, Bradford county, and at the age of fourteen went to Towanda, Pennsylvania, where he attended the grammar school for some time.At twenty-four he entered the employ of the Barclay Railroad as brakeman, remaining eight years and a half, and on April 14, 1890, he took a position as brakeman on a freight train on the Lehigh Valley Railroad.On August 14 of this same year he was promoted to the post of brakeman on a passenger train, and this he held until October 1, 1898, when he left the employ of the company to engage in the hotel business.He rented his present hotel for one year, together with the fishing rights in the lake and neighboring trout streams, and has the privilege of renewing his lease for five or eight years.He has made extensive preparations for an enlarged business and his plans will doubtless be realized.†††††††††††

††††††††††† Mr. Chilson is a Republican, his father being also affiliated with that party.Socially he and his wife are prominent in society and both are members of the Episcopal church at Towanda.He is also identified with the I. O. O. F., having joined Towanda Lodge, No. 167, in December, 1892, and in 1896 he united with the Knights of the Maccabees, Towanda Lodge.

††††††††††† On September 6, 1882, Mr. Chilson was united in marriage to Miss Frances L. Northrup, who was born in Bradford county, November 4, 1862, the daughter of Marion Northrup.Three children have been born of this union, namely:Lena, born July 23, 1887; Walter, May 2, 1893; and Margaret, January 12, 1896.

††††††††††† ANTHONY SCHOCH, a well known resident of Ricketts, Sullivan county, has held for many years a responsible position with the Trexler & Turrell Lumber Company, of that place, and at present is foreman of their extensive mills.He is a member of a highly esteemed family of Carbon county, Pennsylvania, his ancestors having settled there at an early period.

††††††††††† Philip Schoch, our subject's father, was born and reared in Carbon county and followed farming there for many years, his death occurring in 1886.He married Miss Lydia Klindup, who was born in 1819 and whose death took place September 22, 1898.

††††††††††† Anthony Schoch was born in Carbon county and grew to manhood on the old homestead.His first employment was as a lumberman, but after some years he left his native county and removed to Hazelton, Luzerne county, being employed for a time in that city.On his return to Carbon county he resumed his former work, some time being spent at Hickory Run; later he went to Goldsboro, Pennsylvania, and engaged in the manufacture of wintergreen and birch extracts.After a few years he sold this business and took a contract as mail-carrier, while he also followed lumbering at the same time at Harvey's Lake, Pennsylvania.He then went to Lopez, Sullivan county, to enter the employ of a milling company, and since leaving that place he has held his present position at Ricketts.He is a much esteemed citizen and is a leading member of the Lutheran church of his town.Politically he affiliates with the Democratic party, but he does not aspire to official honors.In 1870 he married Miss Catherine Meckes, a native of Carbon county and a daughter of Philip Meckes.She departed this life May 19, 1889, and of their large family of children only three lived to maturity:Adam, who is an enterprising and popular citizen of Ricketts; Emory, who married Gertrude Bealmer and resides at Ricketts, an employee in a lumber mill; and Eugene, who resides at Ricketts.

††††††††††† ANTHONY SCHOCH, more familiarly known as Adam Schoch, is a young man of undoubted integrity who has secured his present position of foreman in the yards of Trexler & Turrell, at Ricketts, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, through his industry and energy.He is a son of Anthony Schoch and was born February 5, 1873, in Carbon county, this state.At the age of twenty he came to Ricketts to work for himself and began as a laborer for the firm in whose service he is still engaged.So diligently did he apply himself to the duties in hand that at the expiration of three years he was made foreman, a position for which he has shown himself well qualified.

††††††††††† He was married at Waverly, New York, on March 9, 1892, to Miss Annie F. Sliker, a daughter of W. M. Sliker.She was born at Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania.They have had three children, namely:Florence, deceased; Esther and Lawrence.Mr. Schoch is a strong Democrat and takes an intelligent interest in the working of his party.He was made a Mason at Monroeton, Pennsylvania, in 1897.

††††††††††† TILGHMAN D. SCHANTZ, a prominent resident of Ricketts, Sullivan county, is a descendant of a well known pioneer family of this state, his ancestors having come from Posen, Germany, at an early date to settle on the present site of Egypt, Lehigh county.

††††††††††† The first of the family of whom we have an extended account was Jacob Schantz, the grandfather of our subject, who was born and reared in Lehigh county, where he was engaged in business as a miller for many years, his death occurring in 1843.He married Miss Sarah Fogle, a member of another pioneer family of Lehigh county, and they had the following children:H. J., father of our subject; T. P., formerly a physician at Allentown, who died shortly after beginning practice of his profession; F. J. F., who has been for many years a Lutheran minister and who is now (1898) pastor of the church at Myerstown and a trustee of Muhlenburg College; L. J., who was accidentally killed in boyhood; Amanda, who married Rev. Aaron L. Leinbach, formerly pastor of the Reformed church at Reading, Pennsylvania, and both are now deceased; and C. Eleanor, deceased, who married Dr. Thomas B. Cooper, of Coopersburg, Lehigh county, whose death occurred while he was in congress.

††††††††††† H. J. Schantz was born on the old homestead at Schantz's Hill, Lehigh county, June 27, 1820, and remained on the home place during his entire life.By occupation he was a miller, but he retired from active business about ten years before his death, which took place at Allentown, Pennsylvania, January 13, 1893.He received a good practical education in his youth and was always a leader in his community.He was the founder of the Allentown bank, the first in the county, and rode on horseback to Harrisburg to get the charter.In his later years he took a keen interest in agricultural progress and was the second president of the Lehigh County Agricultural Society.He and his wife were members of the Lutheran church, in which he held many offices; and politically he was a Democrat, as was his father before him.He was married in Lehigh county, in January, 1847, to Miss Caroline Schall, daughter of David Schall, her grandfather, also named David Schall, being a leading pioneer of Berks county, where he was a merchant, farmer and hotel keeper.Her mother, Mary Rupp, was a granddaughter of Jacob Rupp, a prosperous farmer of Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, where he was probably born.Mrs. Schantz, the mother of our subject, is still living at Allentown, Pennsylvania.Mr. and Mrs. Schantz became the parents of two sons:C. H., who is unmarried and resides at Ricketts; and T. D., our subject.

††††††††††† T. D. Schantz was born February 4, 1852, at Schantz's Mills, and his education was begun in the public schools of that locality.Later he attended Wyoming Seminary and Nazareth Hall in North Hampton county, Pennsylvania, where he acquired a knowledge of military tactics.In early manhood he became a traveling salesman for a Reading firm, remaining with them eleven years, and for five years he operated the mill at the old homestead.He then spent two years at Newfoundland, Wayne county, as proprietor of a hotel, and in 1893 settled in Ricketts, where he opened another hotel, which is largely patronized by lumbermen.In politics Mr. Schantz is a staunch Democrat and he and his wife are leading members of the Lutheran church at Ricketts.Socially the family is much esteemed and Mr. Schantz has been identified with the Masonic fraternity since 1874.

††††††††††† On February 24, 1888, Mr. Schantz was married in Philadelphia to Miss Alice R. Culvertson, daughter of John L. and Rebecca (Huffman) Culvertson, and three children have blessed the union:Helen M., born September 3, 1887; Carrie R., May 23, 1892; and Marie I., May 15, 1894.

††††††††††† FRANK G. RICE, who is general manager and buyer for the firm of Jennings Brothers at Lopez, is a man who has attained his present responsible position by his own exertions, having been first employed by this firm in a subordinate capacity and earning his promotion by the faithful discharge of his duties.The firm have a general store and are also proprietors of the Jennings Lumber Mill and dealers in all kinds of mill goods.Mr. Rice was with this firm for two years before coming to Lopez, his connection with them covering twelve years in all.His ability as both buyer and salesman and his genial and accommodating manner, combined with his honorable dealings in all business transactions, have made him invaluable to the firm and placed him in high favor with all who patronize the establishment.

††††††††††† Mr. Rice was born at Monroe, Bradford county, July 27, 1865, the son of Joel Rice, who was a gallant soldier during the Civil war, where his health was injured by exposure, which later caused his death.He was a Republican and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.He married Miss Mathena Kellogg, who is still living, and three children were born to them:Mary I., who has for a number of years been a popular and successful teacher; Frank G., our subject; and Willard, who resides on the old homestead in Monroe, where the family have a good farm and a pleasant home.Our subject obtained a good education in the common schools and at Susquehanna Collegiate Institute, and later engaged in teaching for a short time.He then went into the store of Jennings Brothers, in whose employ he has remained ever since.In 1887 the firm removed to Lopez, as has been stated, and are doing an extensive business there.

††††††††††† Mr. Rice was united in marriage January, 22, 1892, at Athens, Pennsylvania, to Miss Adelaide Kinney, a daughter of Frank G. and Harriet (Mineer) Kinney, of Athens.Mr. Kinney was a lumberman, but is now deceased.Mrs. Kinney is now living with Frank G. Rice, in Lopez.Mr. and Mrs. Rice have three children --- Frank Richard, Elizabeth K. and Joel K.Mr. Rice is a staunch Republican and a loyal citizen, who takes a deep interest in all public questions of the day and lends his aid to all progressive movements.He is frank and genial in his manners and is one of the popular men in Lopez.

††††††††††† GEORGE H. HUFFORD. --- Longfellow wrote: "We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done."If this golden sentence of the New England poet were universally applied, many a man who is now looking down with haughty stare upon the noble toilers on land and sea, sneering at the omission of the aspirate, the cut of his neighbor's coat or the humbleness of his dwelling, would be voluntarily doing penance in sackcloth and ashes, at the end of which season of self-humiliation he would handle a spade, or, with pen in hand, burn the midnight oil in his study in the endeavor to widen the bonds of liberty or to accelerate the material and spiritual progress of his race.A bright example of one of the world's workers is the man whose name introduces this review.Comparatively young in years, he occupies a responsible position with the firm of Jennings Brothers at Lopez, holding this place by reason of ability, his faithfulness to duty and his industry.

††††††††††† George Henry Hufford was born in Mehoopany, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, on the 26th of December, 1868, and is a son of Jeffrey Hufford, who was born in Stroudsburg, Monroe county, this state, and was of German descent.When the Civil war was ushered in between the north and the south, he offered his services to the government in defense of the Union, and served for three years as a valiant defender of the cause represented by our starry banner.He was never wounded, and with an honorable military record returned home on the cessation of hostilities.He married Addie Dull, and they had seven children --- five sons and two daughters.

††††††††††† The subject of this review was reared on his father's farm, and in addition to his labors in field and meadow he worked in the lumber woods.He was early trained to habits of industry and honesty, which have ever been salient points in his character.For twelve years he worked in the lumber woods, and there is now no more proficient judge of hard woods than Mr. Hufford.For some time he has occupied the responsible position of hardwood inspector for the firm of Jennings Brothers, proprietors of the extensive hardwood mills and plant at Lopez.He has served in this position since 1889, and is certainly well qualified to fill it.Much depends upon his selection of lumber, else the product of the mills would be unsatisfactory and the patronage of the firm would decrease.Mr. Hufford, however, has the full confidence of his employers and enjoys their warm regard.

††††††††††† On the 3d of July, 1895, Mr. Hufford was joined in wedlock to Miss Kate Frounfelker, who was born, reared and educated in the Keystone state.They have two children, Grier and Ross.In his political views Mr. Hufford is a staunch Republican, unswerving in support of the principles of the party.He attends the Methodist Episcopal church, and is a frank, genial gentleman, honorable in all business dealings, and a favorite among his large circle of friends.

††††††††††† BENJAMIN M. SYLVARA. --- The deserved reward of a well-spent life is an honored retirement from business, in which to enjoy the fruits of former toil.To-day, after a useful and beneficial career, Mr. Sylvara is quietly living at his pleasant home in Dushore, Pennsylvania, surrounded by the comforts that earnest labor has brought him.He is one of the most prominent men of Sullivan county.

††††††††††† He was born at Spring Hill, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1821, a son of Don Emanuel Sylvara, who was born at Lisbon, Portugal, about 1790.He came to America when a lad of fifteen years, in 1805, to escape being impressed in the army, and was well supplied with money, but it was taken from him by the captain of the ship, who bound him out to pay his passage money.He soon escaped from his master, however, and went to Connecticut, where he found a friend in Joseph Nichols, a landlord of a hotel, with whom he remained for several years, later learning the furrier's trade and working for a time at it.In 1816 he came to Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, and soon afterward purchased a farm in Tuscarora township.Clearing a portion of it, he resided thereon and followed farming until 1839, when he traded it for property at Silvara, Bradford county, where he continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until his death, in March, 1853.Prosperity crowned his efforts and he left to each of his children a farm.He married Miss Janette Marsh, and to them were born ten children, as follow:Joseph, a physician, now deceased; Benjamin M., of this review; Eliza A., wife of Robert Cooley; Theodore and Andrew J., both farmers of Bradford county; John T., deceased; Emily, wife of Charles Davidson; Lewis B., an invalid residing in Silvara; Louisa, who died in infancy; and Ebenezer L., a broker, of Perry, Michigan.For her second husband the mother married Benjamin Dexter, but they had no children by that union.She died in 1874.

††††††††††† Benjamin M. Sylvara received a meager education in the public schools of his native place, and worked on the home farm until thirty years of age.During this time he learned the carpenter and joiner's trade.On leaving home he moved to a farm given him by his father and later to Laceyville, Pennsylvania, where he worked at his trade for a short time.He then went on the road peddling, and later opened a store, at Norconk's Corners, Bradford county, which he sold at the end of a year and returned to his farm.Soon afterward, however, he again went to Laceyville, where he purchased a store and conducted it for two years, returning to his farm at the end of that time.

He next made his home in Towanda, where he worked in a hotel one year, and on the 1st of May, 1860, came to Dushore, where, in the spring of 1861, he became proprietor of the Dushore House, conducting that well known hostelry for three years.At the end of that time he opened a store and two years later bought a sawmill, gristmill and one hundred and forty acres of land.After operating the mills for a year, he purchased a large farm near Dushore and moved thereon, being engaged in tilling the soil until 1882, when he moved to his present residence in Dushore.He successfully engaged in the brokerage business until 1891, when he retired from active business.When the First National Bank was organized in Dushore, in 1890, he became a stockholder and director, and in January, 1895, he was elected president, but retired a year later, owing to failing health.He has always been one of Sullivan county's most progressive and public-spirited citizens.Prior to 1860 Mr. Sylvara was a Democrat in politics, butsince then has given an unwavering support to the men and measures of the Republican party.Always upright, honest, plain-spoken and truthful, he has made no enemies, and in his declining years enjoys the love and respect of all who know him.

††††††††††† On the 1st of April, 1845, Mr. Sylvara married Miss Harriet L. Stone, a daughter of Calvin Stone, of Herrick, Pennsylvania, where she was born March 10, 1821, and they have become the parents of four children:Lucretia A., born September 19, 1846, married James H. Hughes, of Olean, New York, November 2, 1874, and they have two children:Lottie A. and Don E.; Edwin G., a merchant of Dushore, is mentioned below; Emily J., born October 7, 1852, was married July 3, 1870, to J. Newton Martin, who died January 2, 1894 [Editor's Note: This is incorrect; he died in 1884], and the children born to them were Bayard T., born August 12, 1873; Linta V., born July 29, 1876; and Dudley H., who was born November 9, 1881, and died December 30, 1883.Mrs. Martin resides with her parents.Ellen L., born May 13, 1855, died August 16, the same year.

Victorian Trading Card for E. G. Sylvara Store
Front and Back
Dushore, PA
Source: Posted on eBay June 2006

Editor's Note: Per the information posted with the pictured item on eBay, the actual card measures 3.25 by 4.5 inches. According to the seller, T and J Collectibles: "On many Victorian parlor tables, a place of honor was reserved for the Bible, family album, post card album and a huge scrapbook. In the latter, were lovely pasted advertising cards which were acquired by different members of the family. When members of the family went out to shop, they were given colorful trade cards with their purchases. At the local food store, many of these cards came packaged in tins of tea and coffee. Each member of the family would have been quite delighted to receive these free cards. The color cards were the most cherished. Lithography had just been introduced and any colorful bits of paper were treasured. As family members brought new cards home, everyone became excited. The family members began to go to many different stores to see if they had any cards and if they would look nice in their books. Thus, we have the beginning of trade card collecting."

††††††††††† EDWIN GRANVILLE SYLVARA, one of the leading merchants of Dushore, was born in Tuscarora township, Bradford county, obtained his primary education in the public schools of Sullivan county, and later attended Dickinson Seminary, at Williamsport, Pennsylvania.In 1869 he secured a position as bookkeeper with Charles Pugh, a wholesale grocer of Wilkes-Barre, where he remained ten years, and on returning to Dushore engaged in the butter business until 1884.In that year, in company with J. D. Reeser, he opened a general store, and together they conducted the business until 1891, when he purchased Mr. Reeser's interest and has since been alone. He carries one of the largest and finest lines of general merchandise in Sullivan county, occupying a large double store, and he is one of the most progressive and enterprising business men in this region.He employs five clerks, and in connection with his general mercantile business also deals largely in country produce.

††††††††††† Mr. Sylvara was married May 1, 1879, to Miss Sarah E. Albertson, daughter of Samuel Albertson, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, who was born in Burlington, New Jersey, of Quaker stock, and was for thirty years superintendent of the Wolf, Hard & Company's glass works at Pittsburgh.Mr. and Mrs. Sylvara have two children:Leland A., born March 8, 1880; and Benjamin M., born September 24, 1890.

††††††††††† Mr. Sylvara has a high standing in the Masonic fraternity, belonging to the blue lodge, chapter and commandery of Pittston, Pennsylvania, the consistory at Towanda, and the Lu Lu Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia.In his political affiliations he is a Republican, and he has held the offices of school director and auditor in his borough.As a citizen he ever stands ready to discharge every duty devolving upon him, and he receives and merits the high regard of the entire community.

††††††††††† ALBERT LEE DYER, the well-known proprietor of the Lopez Meat Market and also a livery stable at Lopez, Pennsylvania, is a native of Bradford county, born at New Era, February 13, 1868, and is a son of John C. and Mary (Butler) Dyer, who are likewise natives of Bradford county and now make their home in Lopez, Sullivan county.The father is now in the employ of Trexler & Terrell, as saw-hammerer, at their mill in Ricketts.Albert L. is the oldest of the three children of the family, the others being William W., a telegraph operator in Brooklyn, New York; and Sadie E., wife of C. M. Tozer, of Lopez.

††††††††††† The primary education of our subject was obtained in the public schools of New Era, but he later attended the Towanda graded school and the Susquehanna Collegiate Institute.At the age of nineteen he came to Bernice, Sullivan county, and worked in the lath mill for a year, after which he was employed as foreman for J. W. Stroud, the lumberman, for two years, and was in partnership with that gentleman in the lumber business for a year.In May, 1891, he removed to Lopez, and opened a confectionery store and pool room, which he conducted for four years, and on selling out purchased a meat market.Consolidating his business with that of J. D. Place, they carried on the meat market together for fifteen months, but at the end of that time Mr. Dyer bought his partner's interest and has since been alone.In addition to the meat business he also conducts a livery and feed stable, with good success.He is enterprising and progressive, and the success that has crowned his efforts is due entirely to his own perseverance and good management.

††††††††††† On the 4th of October, 1894, Mr. Dyer was united in marriage to Miss Ella M., daughter of John Utz, of Dushore, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this volume.She is a member of the Lutheran church, while socially Mr. Dyer is a member of Evergreen Lodge, No. 163, F. & A. M., of Monroeton, Pennsylvania; Dushore Lodge, No. 494, I. O. O. F.; and Lopez Tent, K. O. T. M.He is an active member of the Republican party, was appointed constable for one year and twice elected to that office, and in 1896 was also elected town clerk.His official duties have always been most faithfully performed, and in all the relations of life he has been found true to every trust reposed in him.

††††††††††† JUSTIN LOOMIS CHRISTIAN, M. D., an eminent physician and surgeon of Lopez, Sullivan county, was born near Millville, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, August 18, 1866, a son of Jacob and Martha (Smith) Christian.His early education, acquired in the district schools near his childhood home, was supplemented by a course at the Orangeville Academy and at Millville Seminary, and later he successfully engaged in teaching school for a period of three years.Entering the office of his brother, Dr. H. S. Christian, of Millville, he commenced the study of medicine, and subsequently he was graduated at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore, Maryland, and the Medico-Chirurgical College at Philadelphia.He began the practice of his chosen profession at Hillsgrove, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, in April, 1890, and removed to Lopez on the 15th of January, 1897.His thorough knowledge of medicine and his skill in surgery have won for him the confidence of the people, and he has already succeeded in building up a large and lucrative practice.

††††††††††† Among his professional brethren Dr. Christian stands high, and he is now serving as surgeon for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, is president of the board of pension examiners for Sullivan county, and is special examiner for all of the leading insurance companies operating in the county.He is a member of the American Medical Association, the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, the Lycoming County Medical Society and the West Branch Medical Association.He is also president of the Lopez Athletic Association, and belongs to Monroeton Lodge, F. & A. M., Hillsgrove Lodge, No. 305, I. O. O. F., and Washington Camp, P. O. S. of A., at Bernice.He has ever taken an active and commendable interest in public affairs, is a member of the Republican county committee and is an ex-member of the Republican State League.

††††††††††† In 1898 Dr. Christian was unanimously nominated as the Republican candidate for member of the state legislature, and in a strong Democratic county, which gave that state ticket two hundred majority in this falls election, the popularity of Dr. Christian was shown by his election as member of the assembly with a majority of two hundred and thirty-three. His home town, Lopez, gave him nearly every vote cast, he receiving two hundred and fifty-two votes and the Democratic candidate only eighteen.

††††††††††† The Doctor was married, August 20, 1893, to Miss Celia Peck; daughter of Homer Peck, of Hillsgrove, and to them have been born one son, Justin L.Mrs. Christian holds membership in the Baptist church.

††††††††††† J. W. LUCK, the affable, genial proprietor of Lopez's flourishing confectionery and grocery store, was born in Tioga county, New York, February 6, 1861, and is of English and German parentage.His father, William Luck, was born in England, coming to America when a young man and locating in the state of New York.His wife, to whom he was married in Broome county, that state, was Lucy M. Councelman, who was of German descent and died in Tioga county, at the age of eighty-three years.William Lunck was a farmer of Tioga county, and died when our subject was but three years of age.The children were Edward, who died in boyhood; Olive, living with her mother in Tioga county; J. W. and Julia, twins, the former the subject of this sketch, the latter the wife of George Lull of Owego, New York; and Ozias F., foreman of the bridge division of the Erie Railroad, at Paterson, New Jersey.

††††††††††† After receiving an education in the common schools Mr. Luck began to earn a living for himself, working for the farmers in his neighborhood, and later worked in the lumber woods in New York and Pennsylvania.From the lumber regions of New York he came to Sullivan county and embarked in lumber jobbing at Ricketts and Lopez.He spent three years as foreman in the Standard kindling-wood factory, and in May, 1897, he decided to try a more congenial business and opened his present stand, where he deals in confections, groceries and cigars.Into this, as in all his business, he throws his best efforts, and he enjoys a large and lucrative patronage, which is accorded him as much for this kindly, pleasant manner of treating his patrons as for the superior excellence of his goods.

††††††††††† He was married in Maine, Broome county, New York, to Miss Berdena Ballard, and this union resulted in the following children:Ina Belle, born November 22, 1885, and Hazel, born September 3, 1893.Mrs. Luck is a most estimable lady, and is a communicant of the Evangelical church of Lopez.

††††††††††† Her maternal grandfather was Amos Ballard, who was born in the state of New York, where he resided for a number of years and where he married Cornelia Curtis.They finally moved to Pennsylvania, where they lived until the death of his wife.Seven children were the fruits of the union.The mother was laid to rest at the age of thirty-six.He then enlisted in the late war of the Rebellion, and died at Washington, at the age of forty years.Gardner Ballard, the grandfather on the father's side, was a resident of New York state and married Keziah Haines.Six children were born to them.One of the sons, Leroy, was killed in the Civil war at the battle of Weldon Railroad.Gardner Ballard was a veteran in the late Civil war and died at the age of seventy-four years.He was also a devout Christian.

††††††††††† John O. Ballard, father of Berdena Ballard, was born in the state of New York, was a lumberman in early life, and married his cousin, Olive Ballard, at Centre Lisle, Broome county, New York, in 1868.He enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Ninth Regiment United States Volunteers, and served three years in the Civil war.Olive Ballard, his wife, was born near Herrick, in Pennsylvania, in 1850.She was left an orphan at an early age.She lived several years in the family of a physician, and was launched on the sea of matrimony while in her 'teens.Three children were born to them, only two, Berdena and Edna, reaching maturity.

††††††††††† Mr. Luck favors the Democratic party, but in minor elections always gives his support to the candidate he thinks will fill the office in the most acceptable manner.

††††††††††† OLIVER H. BIRD. --- The subject of this sketch is a prominent member of a family which has long been influential and well known in the history of Sullivan county. **More than a century ago, or in 1793, his great-grandfather, Powell Bird, and family emigrated from their ancestral home in Norfolk, England, to America.He crossed the ocean with John Warner and a Mr. Molyneux.For two years he lived in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, and then came to Forks township, Sullivan county, to property which was then in the wilderness, and which for more than a hundred years has now been in possession of the family.To each of the three emigrants, Messrs. Bird, Warren and Molyneux, Joseph Priestly had presented a deed for fifty acres as an inducement to bring cultivation and civilization to the wild surroundings.In England Powell Bird had married Lydia Hannant, and the young wife and her babes made with him the long pilgrimage to the new home.The first white child born in Forks township was a daughter of Powell and Lydia Bird, Rebecca, who married Edward Molyneux.The emigrants lived to a good old age and died on the wilderness home and were buried on the farm.

††††††††††† George Bird, the grandfather of our subject, was born in Norfolk, England, in 1789, and was three years of age when, in 1793, home ties were broken and a start made for the fertile fastnesses of Pennsylvania.He grew up in Sullivan county and here married Sally King, who was a native of England.Their children were Phoebe, born November 23, 1813, widow of John Fawcett, of Elkland township; Powell, born January 16, 1815, married Sarah P. Molyneux, and died March 8, 1896; Mary, born November 8, 1816, widow of Thomas Norton, of Forks township; Thomas, born August 1, 1818, died October 8, 1819; Esther, born April 29, 1820, married Richard Biddell, and died October 15, 1894; Lydia, born March 3, 1822, widow of Joseph Fawcett, of Elkland township; Charles, father of our subject, born June 21, 1821, died October 15, 1897; William born July 2, 1826, died February 20, 1828; George C., born February 15, 1829, married Harriet Kaye; Ann, born August 10, 1832, died March 21, 1879; and John K., the youngest, born November 25, 1837, married Caroline Yonkin, and is now a prominent farmer of Forks township, and the owner of the old Bird homestead.Caroline Yonkin was the daughter of Peter Yonkin, a prominent farmer of Sullivan county.George Bird remained a farmer through life and died July 14, 1872, aged eighty-three years; his wife died September 3, 1867, aged seventy-nine years.The remains of both were interred in the Bird family burying-ground, on the old homestead in Forks township.

††††††††††† Charles Bird, father of our subject, was a life-long resident of Forks township, and, like his ancestors, devoted his attention to the tilling of the soil.At the age of twenty-one he moved to the farm now worked by his son Oliver H., and here remained through life.He was married to Harriet Molyneux, of Sullivan county, daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Rogers) Molyneux, and a descendant of the Mr. Molyneux who emigrated from Norfolk, England, to America with Powell Bird in 1793.To Charles and Harriet Bird were born five children:Oliver H., subject of this sketch; Ruth, who married George Reinbolt, a farmer of Forks township; William, a farmer of Forks township; and Angeline and Adeline, twins.The former married Louis McCarty and is deceased; Adeline is the wife of James Farrell, of Forks township.Charles Bird was a man of considerable prominence.In politics he was a Republican and he was called by his fellow citizens to hold many local offices of trust and responsibility.He died October 15, 1897, aged seventy-two years.His widow, who was born January 12, 1825, still survives and resides with our subject.

††††††††††† Oliver H. was born on the farm he now cultivates, March 24, 1846.His boyhood and youth were spent here, and through the earlier years of his manhood he continued to till the acres, remaining on the old farm until 1883, when he settled upon a tract of fifty acres in the rough wilderness, which by his unremitting energies he cleared and reduced to a high state of cultivation.Upon the death of his father, in 1897, he returned to the old homestead to care for the aged mother.

††††††††††† Our subject was married December 6, 1872, at Millview, Sullivan county, to Miss Catherine Hunsinger, who was born in Forks township, May 18, 1851, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Probst) Hunsinger.

There were born to them six children:Samuel J., who married Viola A. Clark and is a farmer of Forks township; Clara M., wife of James Dristol, a farmer of Forks township; Jennie L., wife of Tilman J. Clark, a farmer of Forks township; Ralph, Mary S., and Angeline, deceased.Oliver H. Bird is a member of the Methodist Protestant church and in politics is an earnest Republican.He is not an office-seeker, but at times has been elected to local offices, having filled the offices of assessor and school director.Few men can claim a family residence in Sullivan county, so long continued.The record of these four generations has been one of honest toil, blameless conduct, and intelligent view of the relations of life, a public-spirited interest in the welfare of the community, --- in brief, a typical presentation of that high American citizenship which constitutes the heart and brain of the country.He is honored and esteemed by his fellow men, and is held to be one of the prominent substantial men of Sullivan county.
** Editor's Note: Ernest Hatton succinctly summarized the genelaogy of the children of Powell and Lydia (Hannant) Bird as follows in a message to this site on Novemer 7, 2007:

Let us now sum up what is known of the children of this family by this point:

1. Robert - the oldest son, died during the sea crossing from England to America.
2. Hester - the spinster daughter, some times called Ester, was possibly born in 1770, but I doubt it; that was three years before Powell and Lydia were married and I have found no record of this date. She was frequently a witness at various weddings and events in the neighborhood. She is thought to have died in 1862 and is buried in Lot # 6 in the Bird Family Cemetery on the homestead She is probably one of the children listed still at home for the 1820 census.
3. Naoma - or lona as she was sometimes called, seems to have died young on the homestead and is buried also in Lot 6 of the Bird Family Cemetery.
4. Phillipi - also called Phillipa and maybe Phyllis - She had married Richard Cropley after coming with her parents to America and they had lived in Georgetown, DC (Since there was not yet to my knowledge, any Washington, DC, it is unclear where this home was actually located . Kermit Bird has found in some of his work that at one time the area at or near present day Muncy Valley was called Georgetown. This would make more sense location-wise, but I haven't yet been able to verify this. Family history tells us that she had the family Bible and Powell's will tells us that she had returned to England by 1818 to live. There has been no found record so far to indicate where in England she returned to, although I have guessed she might have returned to claim the property that was her inheritance from her grandfather, George Bird, father of Powell Bird.
5. Mary - had married Edward .Jones on Dec.15, 1797 in Muncy, Pa. and had by around 1810 moved with her husband and family of 7 or 8 children out of the 11 they eventually had, to near Geneva, N. Y. where Edward was a pot maker at the Geneva glass works. Edward's dates are: born Feb.17, 1770 in Woolston, England and died on January 9, 1823. We think he is buried in Geneva, N. Y. Mary's dates are: born Oct. 12, 1775 in England and died in 1843. She is buried in Clyde, NY, where she and some of her children moved after Edward died.
6. Sarah - was married to Joel Bennett on March 11, 1810 by Justice Eldred. Joel and his brother Thomas had come from Shrewsbury N.J. about 1809. Joel and Sarah lived on a farm in Elkland for several years. Selling their farm to Joseph Pardoe, they moved to Lewis Lake [i.e., Eaglesmere] where Joel worked for Mr. Lewis for several years. He then bought land from Lewis and cleared a farm that they lived on until Joel died in 1867. Sarah may have gone to live with a daughter near Lewis Lake until her death on Nov. 16, 1874. They were the parents of 10 children.
7. Eleanor - was married to John Bull, the 1st school teacher in Sullivan Co. They later made their home in Lycoming Co. She is thought to have died in 1862. They are known to have had at least one son, John Bull, Jr. - since l found a deed at the Lycoming County Court House dated December 27, 1847 for land bought by the son from John and Eleanor, and which was recorded on February 4, 1848 on Pg. 163 -164, Deed Book 1, I believe.
8. Elizabeth - had a son, Job Summers, out of wedlock in 1800 and was known locally as Elizabeth Summers before she married Fred Rowe. She had married Fred Row(e) by 1818 and they moved to Ohio.
9. Ruth - is said to have married Nimrod Bennett and lived in the Sonestown, Pa. area. I have not yet been able to trace anyone in this line. I do know that she is buried in the Bird Family Cemetery, Lot # 6.
10. Lydia - married Jonas Uras (other spellings of this name are Urous, Youris and Yours). By 1818, they were both dead but had born a son, Richard Yours, who had not yet reached his majority and was living on the Bird homestead with Powell and Lydia.
11. Rebecca - born January 1, 1797 on the homestead and married July 11, 1814 to Edward Molyneux, the last of William Molyneux's children to arrive from England. They had 13 children. Edward was born April 16, 1789, in Warrington, England and died on March 2, 1872. Rebecca died July 24, 1882. They are buried in the Old Molyneux Cemetery on the original Molyneux Homestead. Their branch of the family history has been extensively researched through the years and recently it was updated by Louise Molyneux Woodhead.
12. George - born about 1790 in England, traveled to the New World when only 3 years old, and at 5 years of age journeyed to their new home in the wilderness. He married Sally King in 1813. They had 11 children, 5 of them by 1820. Sally King Bird was born on August 3, 1788 in England and died on August 3, 1867. George died on July 14, 1872, at the age of 83. They are both buried in marked graves in the Bird Family Cemetery. George was known as a great hunter of wolves, panthers, & bears. He always had several hounds on the place. He was a farmer throughout his life, had been trained also by his father to weave on the loom, and ran a sawmill on the Bird Homestead.

††††††††††† FRED PORTER VINCENT. --- Although residing in Philadelphia in order to discharge the duties attaching to the office of United States appraiser at the port of Philadelphia, Fred Porter Vincent is numbered among the leading citizens of Sullivan county.He was born in Milan, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, February 2, 1856, and was the second son of David B. and Joanna E. Vincent.He acquired his preliminary education in the public schools, later attended a private school in Athens and then completed his education in the common schools.He thus gained a good practical knowledge of those branches of learning which fit one for life's responsible duties, and was also trained to habits of industry by his father, who encouraged him to engage in such work as usually falls to the lot of young lads in country villages.For a few years prior to attaining his majority he spent the greater part of his time in his father's blacksmith shop, and in the fall of 1877 he entered the employ of J. W. Carroll, a prominent clothier of Athens.Soon mastering the principles and methods whereon a successful mercantile business is conducted, he was entrusted by his employer with the establishment of several branch stores, and in the fall of 1879 came to Dushore in the interest of Mr. Carroll.Here he opened a clothing store, which he successfully conducted for his employer until 1885, when he purchased a half interest in the business, the following year becoming sole proprietor.Carrying a large and complete stock of men's clothing and furnishing goods, and endeavoring earnestly to meet the wishes of the public, he won a liberal patronage, and conducted this store until the winter of 1896.

††††††††††† Mr. Vincent has always taken an active part in political affairs in his county and is a pronounced Republican, unswerving in his support of the principles of the "grand old party."He has served as chairman of the Republican standing committee for several years, and his keen discrimination and capable management have been very effective in securing Republican victories.He has been honored with a number of official positions, was appointed postmaster at Dushore by President Harrison, in 1889, for a four-years term, and in 1886 was elected collector of Dushore.In the early spring of 1897 he was appointed by President McKinley to the position of assistant United States appraiser of the port of Philadelphia, and is now residing temporarily in that city.His administration of the affairs of the office has been most commendable and acceptable, for he is a man of sterling integrity of character and upright purpose, who never falters in the performance of any duty of public or private life.He and his estimable wife have a very extensive circle of warm friends in Sullivan county, and as one of the prominent men of the locality he well deserves representation in its history.

††††††††††† HENRY REINBOLD, one of the most prominent and prosperous farmers of Cherry township, has been a life-long resident of the farm which he now owns and occupies.He was born on this farm March 24, 1839, and his memory goes back to the time when it was almost in a condition of a primitive wilderness, for only a few years before his birth his father had founded a home in the wilderness.

††††††††††† The family of which Mr. Reinbold is a worthy and honored representative has been domiciled in America for three generations.The paternal grandparents of our subject, Ludwig and Sally (Lindes) Reinbold, were natives of Germany.Emigrating to America they tarried for a time in Philadelphia and later removed to Lehigh county, where they remained through life.Ludwig Reinbold rendered signal service for the country of his adoption by enlisting in the Revolutionary war and serving under General Washington.His wife proved her devotion to the cause of liberty by baking bread for the hungry patriots.The family of Ludwig and Sally Reinbold consisted of twelve children.The eldest son, William, lived to the extreme age of almost a century, dying in 1875, at the age of ninety-nine years, ten months and twenty days.

††††††††††† Another of the sons, Henry, was the father of our subject.He was born in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, 1796, and there married Mary Werst, who was born in Lehigh county in 1796, the daughter of Jacob and Susannah (Landrus) Werst, who remained life-long farmers of that county.In 1833 Henry Reinbold, Sr., emigrated to the present home of his son, subject of this sketch.He purchased fifty acres in the wilderness, paying for it two dollars and fifty cents per acre.In this forest he made a small clearing, upon which to build a log cabin.When completed, settlers from far and near gathered for a house-warming or a dance.House furnishings were not very complete in those times, and a blanket served for a door.One of the party leaned against it and was precipitated into outer darkness.He was severely reprimanded by a companion for imagining that all people had doors to their houses.Deer abounded in the vicinity, and many were shot.One dark night Mr. Reinbold shot a deer and lost his way in the forest.He only found his path home by making a loud outcry and evoking a distant bark in response from the dog of a neighbor.Guided by the sound he recovered his bearings in the trackless wilderness.Henry Reinbold, Sr., was a shoemaker, and he followed his trade in the wilderness home.He was fertile in resources and possessed of excellent business judgment, becoming quite prominent in the new community.He died September 24, 1867, aged seventy-one years.His widow survived until October 8, 1890, when death overtook her at the age of eighty-six years and eight months.Both are buried in Germany cemetery.The children born to Henry and Mary Reinbold were as follows:Lavina, widow of Samuel Faust, of Tavola, Pennsylvania; William, who resides with his brother, Henry; Ann, wife of George Bender, a farmer of Cherry township, Sullivan county; Mary, who first married Solomon Hess and later Edward Diggin, of Northampton county; Elias, who married Sarah Biddle and lives in Northampton county; Henry, subject of this sketch; Samuel, deceased; and Hannah, wife of Daniel Babst, a farmer and butcher of Sullivan county.

††††††††††† Our subject has always remained upon the ancestral farm in Cherry township, where he has engaged successfully in farming, besides filling various public trusts.He was married September 26, 1875, at Overton, Pennsylvania, to Ann M. Bahr, who was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, January 18, 1835, daughter of John and Susannah (Hoffman) Bahr, and granddaughter of John and ______ (Reeser) Bahr, and of John and ______ (Kruber) Hoffman.Both grandfathers were farmers of Berks county.In 1835 the paternal grandparents of Mrs. Reinbold removed from Berks county to Cherry township, Sullivan county.Two years later her parents, John and Susannah Bahr, also came to Cherry township.John Bahr, the father of Mrs. Reinbold, was a farmer and stone-mason.He died August 16, 1884, aged seventy-six years, nine months and eleven days.His wife died April 26, 1884, aged seventy-seven years. Both are buried at Germany cemetery.The family of John and Susannah Bahr consisted of the following children:Charles, deceased; Ann M., wife of our subject; Julius, deceased; Mary, deceased; Jacob, deceased; Susan, who married John Hartzig and now resides in Cherry township; Catherine, wife of Jere Barth, a farmer of Cherry township, and Libbie A., wife of Louis Bender, a farmer of New Albany, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Henry Reinbold served as township assessor for the years 1883 and 1884.In 1892 he was elected surveyor for the Farmers' Home Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Sullivan county, serving three years.In 1898 he was re-elected to the same position.Since he was eighteen years of age Mr. Reinbold has been a member of the Lutheran church.In politics he is independent.He has demonstrated his fondness and ability for an agricultural life by bringing his excellent farm under a high state of cultivation.Mr. Reinbold is regarded as one of the leading men of the company, a reputation which has been won by the success of his life, by his advanced ideas, and by his interest and helpfulness in public affairs.

††††††††††† JEREMIAH DEEGAN is numbered among the pioneer settlers of Sullivan county.For sixty-five years he has resided in this locality, coming here long before the county was organized, it then constituting a part of Lycoming county, while the town of Dushore was then called Cherry.He was born in Kingston, New Jersey, on the 7th of September, 1833, and is a son of Jeremiah Darby and Alicia T. (Birmingham) Deegan.His father was a native of county Kildare, Ireland, born in 1783.He acquired a fair education, and while a resident of the Emerald Isle engaged in boating.In 1827 he crossed the broad Atlantic to America and took up his residence in Easton, Pennsylvania, but soon afterward removed to Kingston, New Jersey, where he was employed on the construction of the state's public works until the spring of 1833.That year witnessed his arrival in Sullivan county.He purchased a farm in Cherry township, and in the fall of the same year brought his family and household effects by wagon to his new home.Here he cleared a small farm, and by diligent efforts and careful economy managed to provide his family with all the necessities and many of the comforts of life, and to give his children good common-school privileges.

††††††††††† In his native county Jeremiah D. Deegan was united in marriage to Miss Alicia T. Birmingham, a lady of excellent family and superior education, who was born in Dublin, 1799.His death occurred in 1851, and his wife, long surviving him, passed away on the 14th of April, 1886.To this worthy couple were born the following children:Mary, the eldest, a native of Ireland, became the wife of Patrick Mooney, but both are now deceased.James was born in Ireland, December 5, 1819, raised a company during the Civil war and went to the front as captain, gallantly serving his adopted country through that momentous struggle.Returning from the war, he became one of the leading and influential citizens of Sullivan county, was justice of the peace, associate judge for two terms, and for one term represented his county in the state legislature.He died in Hughesville, Pennsylvania, September 24, 1882.Catherine, the next of the family, was born in Ireland and is the widow of John Groves, her home being in Leadville, Colorado.Margaret, also a native of Ireland, died in infancy, while the family were crossing the Atlantic to the New World.William, born in Easton, Pennsylvania, died in infancy; John, born in New Jersey, served for three years in the Civil war and afterward went to the Indian Territory, where his death occurred.Jeremiah is the next of the family; William, born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, died in infancy; Thomas, born in Cherry township, April 22, 1839, enlisted in the Union army, was wounded at Fredericksburg and died from his injury, January 9, 1863.William H., born in Cherry township, May 18, 1841, resides in Dushore, and is section foreman for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company.He was married October 23, 1877, to Miss Catharine Miner, and to them have been born seven children:John F., Viola, Alice, James H., Thomas A., William J. and Mary.The last died in infancy.

††††††††††† Jeremiah Deegan was only a few days old when brought by his parents to Sullivan county.Here he obtained a good common-school education, and when sixteen years of age began driving a team used in connection with the construction of the New York & Pennsylvania canal.He was thus employed for about two years, after which he learned the wagonmaker's trade, although he never followed that pursuit.He found employment in the lumber woods and on the river booms for about four years, and was then, by his brother, placed in charge of some contract work on the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, being thus engaged until October 28, 1861.

††††††††††† On that date Mr. Deegan offered his services to his country and enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry.On the 28th of November, 1861, he was made second lieutenant of his company, at Camp Curtin, was promoted first lieutenant January 16, 1863, and on the 13th of March, of the same year, took command of the company with the rank of captain.He participated in the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Cedar Mountain, the second battle of Bull Run and many other engagements, and won his promotion as the result of gallant and meritorious conduct while under fire.He resigned from the service and received his honorable discharge May 10, 1863.

††††††††††† Returning to the north, Mr. Deegan purchased a farm in Cherry township, Sullivan county, and engaged in its cultivation for two years.He then disposed of that property and entered the employ of Hon. George D. Jackson as clerk in his general store, where he remained two years.Through the succeeding five years he was with the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Company, prospecting for coal.He then resumed farming, purchasing a tract of land in Cherry township, which he operated for eighteen months, when, selling, he removed to Dushore and worked for one year as a laborer on the railroad.He next rented the Dushore House, then the leading hotel in the town, conducting the same for ten years, when he embarked in the confectionery business.Selling that enterprise a year later, he established a livery stable, which he sold after six months.In Partnership with Ambrose Farrell he purchased the Hotel Lopez, at Lopez, Sullivan county, and together they carried on business until the death of Mr. Ferrell.Mr. Deegan then rented his interest in the hotel to Mrs. Ferrell and afterward sold to her, in May, 1898, since which time, on account of delicate health, he has lived in Dushore, retired from active business.

††††††††††† Mr. Deegan was married, April 5, 1863, to Miss Ella B. Smith, who was born in Monroeton, Pennsylvania, March 19, 1843.Her father, Jonas P. Smith, was born in Camden, Oneida county, New York, June 25, 1810, and at an early day located in Monroeton, where he engaged in merchandising and later conducted a hotel.He was married July 1, 1840, to Miss Fidelia S., daughter of Jared and Sophia Woodruff, and to them were born two children:Ella B., now Mrs. Deegan; and Emma B., who married W. K. Taylor, and after his death married Jesse Schoonover, of Towanda, Pennsylvania.Mr. Smith died December 1, 1849; his wife, March 23, 1856.To Mr. and Mrs. Deegan have been born nine children:George T., whose sketch follows; W. Francis, who was born May 25, 1865, and died on the 9th of October of the same year; Alice P., who was born September 27, 1866, and is the wife of Henry J. Castle, of Lopez, Pennsylvania; Emma B., who was born May 8, 1868, and is the wife of James P. Carmody, of Towanda; M. Eugene, who was born September 12, 1869, and is a locomotive fireman on the Lehigh Valley railroad, his home being in Sayre, Pennsylvania; Oscar J., who was born November 1, 1873, and died March 30, 1874; J. Leonard, whose sketch appears on another page of this work; Margaret E., who was born April 22, 1877, educated in St. Elizabeth's College, of Allegany, New York, and is now in the employ of Jonas Long and Sons, of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania; and Bessie A., who was born November 22, 1882, and is still with her parents.

††††††††††† The family are devout members of the Catholic church, while socially Mr. Deegan is affiliated with the Grand Army of the Republic, and politically is identified with the Democratic party.He is one of the prominent and highly esteemed citizens of the county, and has most capably served as school director and a member of the town council.He is highly esteemed for his sterling worth, and in the community where his life has been passed has many warm friends.

Postcard Advertising Deegan Enterprise
George T. Deegan took over and ran his father's Dushore store in 1883. This postcard is dated February 18, 1898.
Photo contributed by Scott W. Tilden
Original auctioned on eBay in March 2013

††††††††††† GEORGE T. DEEGAN is an enterprising business man of Dushore.He is there conducting a confectionery store and is also proprietor of a livery stable.He was born in the town, December 28, 1863, and is a son of Jeremiah Deegan, an honored pioneer of the county.In the public schools he acquired his education, and after putting aside his text-books he worked for eighteen months in the employ of C. S. Fitch, a confectioner, of Towanda, Pennsylvania.On the 1st of April, 1883, he took charge of his father's confectionery store in Dushore, establishing his present business one year later.In 1890 he opened his livery stable and has since enjoyed a lucrative trade in both his ventures.He is an enterprising, progressive young business man, of known reliability, and the success that he has achieved is well merited.

††††††††††† Fraternally he is a member of the Knights of Columbus and the Sons of Veterans; politically he is a staunch Democrat; and religiously he is a member of the Catholic church.He was married February 15, 1887, to Miss Bertha J. Pealer, a daughter of Jacob M. Pealer, of Dushore.


††††††††††† J. LEONARD DEEGAN was born in Dushore, Pennsylvania, on the 22d of September, 1875.His father, Jeremiah Deegan, is a son of one of the pioneers of Sullivan county, and at the opening of the Civil war enlisted for service among the Pennsylvania Volunteers.In recognition of his military worth he was made second lieutenant of Company C, One Hundred and Seventh Regiment, receiving his commission November 28, 1861.He was made first lieutenant of the same company on the 16th day January, 1863, and was promoted to the captaincy on the 13th of March of the same year.His wife was Ella B. Smith, and she belongs to an old, wealthy and respectable family.She bore her husband nine children, namely:George T., Francis, Alice, Emma, Eugene, Oscar, J. Leonard, Maggie and Bessie.

††††††††††† Of the family Leonard was especially endowed with talent.He attended the parochial school conducted by the Sisters of the Immaculate Heart until sixteen years of age, when he was sent to the St. Bonaventure College and Seminary, at Allegany, New York, where he studied for two years.There he laid the foundation for the grand manhood that so signalized him; there he imbibed the principles of morality and religion that he so faithfully practiced and that endeared him to all who knew him.Completing the commercial course at the above named institution, he accepted a position with the firm of Jonas Long's Sons, at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.It was while he was discharging his duties there that the tocsin of war was sounded, and he heard the voice of executive authority issuing from the national capital calling the sons of the nation to do battle for the flag.The war with Spain had been declared, and young Leonard laid down his merchandise upon the counter, donned a suit of blue and went forth to do battle for the cause of human freedom.On the 8th of May, 1898, he enlisted as a private in Company D, Ninth Pennsylvania Volunteers, at Wilkes-Barre, and was sent to Chickamauga, Georgia.There he was made regimental post-master, a position that he ably filled, endearing himself at the same time to his companions.While in the discharge of the exacting duties of this office he was stricken with typhoid fever, which resulted in his death on August 9, 1898.The first to leave his native county, he was the first to die --- the first to offer up his young life, so full of promise, on the altar of liberty.Amidst all the trials and hardships of camp life, patriotism was his guiding star to duty."Who has a better right to defend the flag than the son of a soldier," was his answer to a protest against entering the army."If I die --- well ' `tis sweet to die for one's country.' "

††††††††††† His remains were borne home to Dushore by way of Wilkes-Barre.At the latter place a vast concourse had assembled to do honor to the dead soldier, while at his home the entire place was in mourning, flags at half mast, business places closed, and every evidence of grief and sympathy made manifest.The obsequies were held on the 13th, and were very largely attended.Practically the entire population of the county was present, while Wilkes-Barre, Kingston, Auburn, Pittston, Towanda and New Albany sent representatives.Numerous and beautiful floral tributes told eloquently the story of the young hero's worth, and the place that he held in the heart of his friends.The local post of the Grand Army of the Republic attended as a guard of honor.A requiem high mass was celebrated by Rev. X. A. Kaier, and Rev. J. A. Enright preached an affecting sermon from the text, "A good name is better than precious ointment, and the day of one's death is better than the day of one's birth."The warmest friendship had ever existed between young Leonard and Father Enright, who thus officiated in compliance with the request of the dead hero.The vast audience was in full sympathy with the eloquent priest, and sobbed when his voice, broken with emotion, described the life and death of his friend or grew quiet and hushed when he uttered words of consolation.Later the flower-strewn grave in the churchyard received the coffin, and there now rests in an eternal sleep under the blue skies of his childhood's home and beneath the folds of the flag for which he died, Sullivan county's sole representative in the ranks of the dead of the Spanish-American war.

"Your cry was the flag, yes, the flag of the brave;

To sustain it forever, death, glory, the grave;

May it wave o'er the land, the dear red, white and blue, ---

May it wave o'er the graves of the gallant and true.


Then rest, soldier boy, in thy garment of blue;

To the star-spangled banner, you've proved yourself true;

May it wave o'er your grave, o'er the land, o'er the free,

And remind us forever, dear Leonard, of thee."

††††††††††† CHARLES LOREN WING, the popular postmaster of Laporte, Pennsylvania, and editor of the Republican News Item, was born in Binghamton, New York, June 13, 1871, a son of George T. and Mary (Porter) Wing.He received his education in the public schools of Tioga and Sullivan counties, Pennsylvania, and when thirteen years of age entered the office of the Sullivan Republican at Laporte, to learn the printer's trade.Three years later he went to Buffalo, New York, where he worked on a paper for five months.The following five years he spent in Chautauqua, New York, Laporte, Pennsylvania, Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, and New York city, and one year in Europe, after which he returned to Laporte.Here he formed a stock company and, as editor, began the publication of the Republican News Item May 8, 1896.He is a supporter of the Republican party, and on the 1st of April, 1898, was appointed postmaster of Laporte, being the present incumbent.Socially he is identified with the Patriotic Order Sons of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.Although a young man, he has already attained a prominent and influential position in the community, and in journalistic work has met with marked success.

††††††††††† JOHN ELMER McLEOD, a prominent resident of Lopez, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, was born in Susquehanna county, near Skinner's Eddy, July 15, 1857.The family are of Scotch extraction, the great-grandfather coming from Scotland to America and locating in the state of New York.He was a weaver by trade and was forced to work three months after reaching this country to pay his passage over.He eventually became a farmer in Genesee county, New York.John McLeod, the grandfather, was born in that county.While yet a young man he came to Tunkhannock, this state, and secured employment.He married Hannah Gregory, a native of Connecticut.Her father was Levi Gregory, of Montrose, Susquehanna county, this state, at which place the wedding was solemnized, and which was also the scene of her death.Her husband died in Wisconsin.They were the parents of the following children:Nancy, deceased wife of William LaFrance, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Parney, wife of William Burris, of Wisconsin; Caroline, wife of Norton Baldwin, near Skinner's Eddy, Susquehanna county; Calvin, who has retired from business and lives in Rush township, Susquehanna county; Levi, killed by guerrillas while on fatigue duty in the Civil war, while a member of the Forty-eighth Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers, a wife and five children survived him in Wyoming county; Daniel G., the father of our subject; Sarah, wife of Solomon Gay, of Hartford, Wyoming county, this state; Maria, wife of James Turrell, a farmer of New York; and Lucy, widow of William Satcher, now residing in Minnesota.

††††††††††† Daniel G. McLeod, the father of our subject, was born near Skinner's Eddy, in Susquehanna county, February 5, 1831, and there grew to manhood.He secured employment in the lumber mills of that county, and later went to Wyoming county, where he was engaged in agriculture for five years.In 1863 he enlisted to serve in the Civil war until its close, in Company F, Fifty-third Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers.He was in the battle of the Wilderness, and on the second day's fight received two wounds almost simultaneously, one in the leg, another in the hand, while a third bullet passed through the crown of his cap.He was sent to the hospital, where he remained some time and was afterward sent home on a furlough.He then returned to the front of battle and saw the surrender of General Lee.He has always been an ardent Democrat and has acceptably filled a number of town offices, having been tax collector, school director, constable, over-seer of the poor, and postmaster at Lehigh Tannery, at which place he operated a sawmill for a period of eight years.In 1890 he took the census of Carbon county.For several years past he has resided at Lopez, where he is foreman of the bundling room of the kindling works.He was married at Allison, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, January 24, 1855, to Lydia Frear, a daughter of Abram Frear.She died September 28, 1882, leaving, besides her husband, three children, as follows; Edith, who married E. W. DeWitt, of West Pittston, Pennsylvania, and died in her thirty-eighth year; Florence, the wife of J. S. Friant, of White Haven, Pennsylvania; John Elmer, the subject of this biography, who was the eldest of the family.

††††††††††† John Elmer McLeod attended the common schools of Carbon county, where he grew to manhood.He secured employment in the sawmill at Bridgeport when twenty-one years old and remained there seven years, when he accepted a position with the kindling wood factory at the same place.He was with this firm but a short time, and in 1889 came to Lopez to work for the Lopez Kindling Wood Company, under Mr. McCartney.He was foreman of this plant seven years, and resigned to accept a similar position in the Fisher Kindling Wood Factory.In 1897 he was promoted to the position of general superintendent and contractor of the entire plant.They furnish employment to a large number of persons, giving work to eighteen men and about sixty boys and girls, the latter being employed for the most part in tying bundles.They find in New York city a ready market for the entire product of the factory.

††††††††††† Mr. McLeod was married September 16, 1886, in White Haven, Pennsylvania, to Miss Laura Morris, who is a daughter of Enos P. and Rose (Fairchild) Morris, and who is a native of that city.Four children have blessed their home:Harry, born in 1882, lives at home and is employed in the mill with his father, and Joy Fletcher and Jessie, all at home.Mr. McLeod is a Democrat.He is a zealous and conscientious member of the Methodist Protestant church, and his wife is a communicant in the Presbyterian church.

††††††††††† HENRY OBERT is the genial and popular proprietor of the Obert House **, of Dushore, one of the best-known hostelries of Sullivan county, of which he took charge in March, 1894.Since taking possession he has practically rebuilt the whole structure, turning the old-fashioned house into a modern hotel that is first-class in every particular.On the interior it is finished in hard wood and presents a pleasing appearance.The office is large and well furnished, the bar occupies a handsome room and is stocked with the choicest of liquors; the dining-room is large, well lighted, cheerful and fitted for the accommodation of the many guests of the house; the kitchen is well appointed and convenient, while the rooms of the house are all newly finished and furnished, the entire building being airy and cool in summer, and heated throughout by steam in the winter.Mr. Obert gives special attention to the service at his table, which in its way is unexcelled.He makes a popular and courteous landlord and the many patrons of the Obert House are always sure of every attention conductive to their comfort and convenience.

††††††††††† A native of Sullivan county, Mr. Obert was born in Colley township, April 10, 1863, and is a son of Mathias Obert, a retired farmer of Mildred, Pennsylvania, who was born in Baden, Germany, February 22, 1818, a son of Frederick and Rosa (Dutter) Obert, of Baden, where the grandfather followed the occupation of a weaver.Mathias was the youngest of a family of five children, the others being Bernard, Celestine, Charles and Catherine.In 1851 he came to America and purchased a farm in Colley township, Sullivan county, where he resided until October, 1898, when he removed to Mildred and laid aside all business cares.He wedded Mary Hulsert, who was born in Baden, Germany, June 20, 1820, a daughter of Anthony and Mary (Auldhouser) Hulsert, and ten children have been born to this union:Mathias, deceased; Adeline, now Mrs. William Widdicks; Caroline, Mrs. Samuel Saxe; Rose, Mrs. Jacob Dice; Pauline, Mrs. Emil Biehler; Mary, Mrs. Frank Baker; Elizabeth, Mrs. Jerry Donovan; Emma, Mrs. Timothy Ryan; John, a farmer of, Colley township; and Henry, our subject.The family are connected with the Catholic church, and the father is identified with the Democratic party.He has been honored with a number of official positions, including those of school director and path-master, and for fifteen years was supervisor of his township.

††††††††††† The common schools of his native township afforded our subject a good practical education and he was later graduated at Pierce's Business College in Philadelphia.He worked on the home farm until twenty years of age and then engaged in the lumber business, carrying it on quite successfully in Cherry and Colley townships until he purchased his present home, on the 1st of March, 1894.He has since given his entire time and attention to its management and has met with most gratifying success.

††††††††††† On the 1st of February, 1894, Mr. Obert was united in marriage to Miss Clara, daughter of Martin Saxe, of Wilmot township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and they have become the parents of two children:Martin, born October 14, 1894; and Mary, born March 13, 1898.In religious faith both Mr. and Mrs. Obert are Catholics.

** Editor's Note: The following article appeared in the Sullivan Review and Gazette and Herald on October 1, 1924:


The Obert House, which has been owned for several years by the Michael Cummiskey heirs was sold last week to P. J. Finan, the present proprietor. Mr. Finan is a genial landlord and it is with pleasure we congratulate him in acquiring this property. The Obert Hotel is one of the oldest and best known hostelries in this part of the State and its hospitality is known far and wide among the traveling public. Another bathroom has been added and other changes in the building will be made in the near future.

Dushore, Pa 1912
The pond is located near Headly Avenue and was in fact known as Headly's Pond at one time.
Headly originally bought the pond from John Dieffenbach and built a feed mill there. The Oberts came into possession of the pond later.
This is a real photo postcard dated July 9, 1912. It was postmarked from Sonestown and mailed by Cecil Botsford to Ethel Turner of Stanley, New York. It reads: "Dear Friend: Received your card today. Just received my certificate this morning. Of course I was pleased to get it. The exams were quite hard this year It is warm here, too. We are getting one thunder shower after another today.

Photo contributed by Carol Brotzman
From an eBay auction posting in March 2003

††††††††††† RUSH JACKSON McHENRY, D. D. S., a prominent and successful dentist of Dushore, Pennsylvania, belongs to an old and honored family which was founded in this country prior to the Revolutionary war by Daniel McHenry, who was born in Scotland, in 1736, and located in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, where he succeeded in accumulating large landed interest. **He was a man of means and a fine education.When the Revolutionary war broke out his sympathies were with the colonies and he enlisted in the Continental army, was made sergeant of his company, and was in command of his regiment at the battle of Bunker Hill.He wedded Miss Mary Stevens, who bore him eight children, namely:John, Daniel Jr., Martha, Susana, Benjamin, Uriah, Moses and Elias.

Editor's Note: You can learn more about the origins of the McHenry Family at James Boyd McHenry and the Origins of the McHenry Family of Sullivan County. You can also see a picture of the old McHenry Hotel that stood in Benton, Columbia County, PA.

††††††††††† Daniel McHenry, Jr., was born at Stillwater, Columbia county, March 28, 1783, and received a good common-school education.Throughout life he continued to be engaged in agricultural pursuits upon lands given him by his father, and there died March 28, 1862.He was an active member of the Democratic party, and was one of the most prominent, progressive and influential men of his community.He was united in marriage to Miss Polly Coleman, and to them were born ten children:Elizabeth and Sally, both now deceased; Benjamin, living retired in Benton, Columbia county; Polly, widow of Elisha Alberson, of Columbia; William, father of our subject; Martha, widow of Jacob Curry, of Cambria, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania; Moses, deceased ; Uriah, a retired miller of Millersville, Columbia county; Joseph, who still resides on the old farm in Columbia county; and Charlotte, widow of George Laubach, of Orangeville, Columbia county.

††††††††††† William McHenry, our subject's father, was born at Fishing Creek, Columbia county, March 28, 1818, and during his youth received a fair common-school education, while his business training was obtained on the home farm, where he remained until attaining his majority.He then operated a rented farm for two years, and at the end of that time purchased a place in Columbia county, where he continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until 1849, when he sold his property there and came to Sullivan county.Here he rented a farm in Cherry township for a short time, but it was not long before he purchased property and has resided thereon up to the present time, in 1898.In his political affiliations he is a staunch Democrat, and he has most efficiently served as constable and overseer of the poor for several years.He is widely and favorably known, and he and his family are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church.He has been twice married --- first, in Columbia county, to Miss Charity A. Alberson, a daughter of William Alberson, and of this union two children were born:George L., a carpenter and cabinet-maker of Dushore; and Angeline, wife of Seth Johnson.On the 6th of March, 1850, he led to the marriage altar Miss Priscilla, daughter of Dr. Charles Kinsley **, of Dushore, and to them have been born seven children, as follows:Frank, a blacksmith, of Waverly, New York; Rush J., our subject; William, a contractor in West Virginia; John S., a clerk in C. E. Pealer's drug store of Dushore; Sarah A., widow of Henry Ballard, residing with her parents; Ellen, wife of Josiah Smith; and Maude at home.
** Editor's Note: Who is this mysterious "Dr. Charles Kinsley"? He has proven highly elusive and we are left only with what for now [April 2007] are plausible conjectures. First, we know that the emigrant Charles Kinsley, born in Germany in 1780, came to the area with his wife Mary in 1833, according to other sources. They had one child, also named Charles, who married Mary Bahr. They in turn had seven children, one also named Charles, who married Jennie Hall. He was not a physician as far as we know and he never had a daughter named "Priscilla".

"Priscilla" married William McHenry in 1850. She outlived him by four years, dying on February 4, 1907. Her obituary in the Sullivan Review, dated February 7, 1907, reported her age at death as 78 years and stated that she was interred at Thrashers Cemetery. So, who was she? The 1840 and 1850 Federal censuses for the area show three young women living with the aged emigrant Charles and Mary: Priscilla, Elizabeth and Hannah. In the second of these censuses, Priscilla is actually married to William McHenry, but the young couple is living right next door to the residence of the elderly Kinsleys. The respective ages of the girls are 20, 18 and 16. Also living with William and Priscilla are two children from his previous marriage to Charity Albertson of Columbia County, PA, who has died.

Our best guess is that these three girls were orphans raised by the elder Kinsleys. They might be either children of a first marriage by Charles Kinsley [the husband of Mary Bahr] or orphans of an unknown relative (perhaps a cousin or nephew of Charles the emigrant?). In any case, the elder Kinsleys took them in and raised them. Further clarification of these relationshps would be most helpful.

††††††††††† Dr. McHenry, of this review, was born in Dushore, July 21, 1864, and obtained his literary education in the public schools of that place and the Tunkhannock high school.He commenced the study of dentistry under Drs. Avery & Palmer, of Tunkhannock, and later entered the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery, at Philadelphia, where he graduated in the spring of 1885.He at once opened an office for the practice of his chosen profession in Dushore, and his skill and ability soon becoming recognized he was not long in building up a large and lucrative practice, which he still enjoys.He makes a specialty of bridge and crown work, on which he took a special course of lectures in the spring of 1897, and he has ever been a constant and thorough student of his profession.He is also a musical composer of some note, has written many able compositions now before the public, and is a talented musician, being an expert performer on the double-bell euphonium and the violin.

††††††††††† John S. McHenry, the Doctor's brother, was born in Dushore, May 30, 1868, was educated in the public schools and learned the barber's trade, which he followed for five years.In 1891, he accepted a position in Pealer's drug store, where he still remains.He is a supporter of the men and measures of the Democratic party, and socially is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.On the 26th of September, 1894, he was united in marriage to Miss Inez Jordan, a daughter of William R. Jordan, of Benezette, Pennsylvania, and they now have one son, Ralph J.Mrs. McHenry is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.


††††††††††† C. F. HUNSINGER, the popular proprietor of the Colley House, which is located in Colley township, six miles from Dushore, on one of the principal country roads, is a representative farmer of Sullivan county and is most favorably known, not only to the traveling public but also to all throughout the community.He was born in that township, June 29, 1848, his parents being among the early settlers and prominent citizens of the county.His father, Taper Hunsinger, is still living, at the advanced age of seventy-five years.He is a son of John Hunsinger, was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, and came with his parents to Sullivan county when a boy of six years.He was one of the respected citizens of Colley township until his removal to Wyoming county about 1895.His wife's maiden name was Mahala Henry.To them were born four children:C. F., the subject of this sketch; Hannah Jane, wife of J. B. Winslow, of Santa Ana, California; Margaret Theresa, wife of G. W. Brown, of Orange county, same state; and Jonathan, of Jackson township, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania.The mother of these children died on April 9, 1869, and the father married again, his second wife being Miss Elmina Steele, who also is deceased.She left four children, namely:Thomas, living in Colley township; Hetty, wife of Reuben Shader, of Bradford county, Pennsylvania; Lizzie, wife of J. P. Allen of Colley township; Rush, also of Colley township.Taper Hunsinger has carried on farming during the most of his life.He was s soldier during the Civil war and made an excellent record as a brave and faithful man.He was a member of Company I. First Battery, First United States Light Artillery, and has held a number of local offices, such as constable, tax collector, etc.

††††††††††† The family of John Hunsinger, father ofTaper, consisted of the following children:William, Jeremiah, Daniel, Taper, Hettie, wife of Rev. Carl Early, of Colley township, also deceased; Margaret, who married Ira Steele; Catharine, the wife of Wilson Potter; and Alfred, also of Colley, a member of the One Hundredth and Forty-first Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry in the Civil war.

††††††††††† C. F. Hunsinger was brought up to habits of honesty and industry and received a common-school education, to which he has added by study and reading, and is today one of the best-informed men in Sullivan county.He has for many years taken an active part in the Grange and other orders, whereby his knowledge of public matters has been greatly enlarged, and he is a fluent speaker on all topics of the day.He is a practical farmer and has been successful in business enterprises.In 1888 he bought the hotel he is now managing, which is one of the most popular houses in that region.He is a model landlord, giving personal attention to the wants of his guests and providing for them such pleasant accommodations that they are always ready to return to his hospitable abode.In this he is ably seconded by his estimable wife and capable daughters.He has a large patronage, of which he is fully deserving.

††††††††††† The first wife of Mr. Hunsinger was Miss Helena Schock, a daughter of George and Catharine (Kuhnley) Schock, of Wilmot, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, to whom he was married July 5, 1869.Of this union three children were born:Howard Milton, deceased; Henrietta, wife of William C. Richard, of Colley township; and Anna M., wife of John H. Dieffenbach, also of Colley township.Mrs. Hunsinger died November 28, 1877, and our subject was united in marriage to his present wife, formerly Miss Celinda E. Hunsinger, January 15, 1879.She is the daughter of P. B. and Lydia (Dresher) Hunsinger, of Wilmot township, Bradford county, Pennsylvania.The children of this marriage are Maude Lillian, Leona May, deceased, and Gladys D.Both the surviving daughters are living at home.

††††††††††† Mr. Hunsinger is an active member of the Grange, being a charter member of Colley Grange, No. 365, in which he has held the offices of master, lecturer and secretary.He has represented Colley Grange in the State Grange several times,

and has been a representative to the national convention three times.He has been twice elected lecturer of his, Pomona Grange, consisting of the counties of Bradford and Sullivan.Mr. Hunsinger's wife is heartily in sympathy with the Grange movements and has been a zealous laborer in Grange work, as was also his former wife.As soon as his children become eligible they are brought into the circle of the same organization, and his daughter, Maude L., received the seventh degree, admitting her to the National Grange, at the age of seventeen.

††††††††††† Mr. Hunsinger was a charter member of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society, and has had twelve years service on the executive committee of that society.He has been frequently requested to accept its presidency and to take other prominent offices, but the location of his home being in the extreme northeast corner of the county has prevented his acceptance of any of them.

††††††††††† Mr. Hunsinger was twice elected justice of the peace and served for nearly ten years.A remarkable history is connected with this service.His justice's docket, carefully preserved, shows that there was never a case tried before him which was appealed or a person bound over to the higher courts.His purchase of the hotel prevented his continuance in this office, otherwise it is probable that his docket would have been continued for many more years.For many years a Democrat, although now claiming himself as an independent, Mr. Hunsinger has been a candidate on two occasions for nomination to the legislature in Democratic conventions.He has often been a delegate to political and social conventions, and is always to be found an active and a working member.He is also a valued member of the Odd Fellows fraternity, holding membership in the order since he was twenty-one years of age.

††††††††††† Mr. Hunsinger comes naturally by his devotion to the Grange.He is a farmer by nature, and although trying other vocations at various times, he has always come back to farming as his preference.Since his purchase of his hotel ten years ago he has purchased one hundred and eighty-seven acres of land adjacent, which he has developed into the finest farm in Colley township.During this period he has erected not only a fine residence but a large and model barn, and the evidences of his love for agriculture and his interest in that are seen on every hand.

††††††††††† Mr. Hunsinger is a man of pleasing address, frank and genial in his manners, honorable in his business affairs and deservedly popular.

††††††††††† GEORGE STREBY, one of the leading newspaper men of Sullivan county, is the popular editor and proprietor of the Sullivan Gazette, of Dushore, Pennsylvania.He is a native of the county, born in Forks township, January 7, 1855, and is a representative of one of the honored pioneer families of this section of the state, his great-grandfather, Leonard Streby, having been the third white settler of Overton township, Bradford county.Thomas Streby, our subject's father, located on a farm in Forks township, Sullivan county, in 1852, and is still one of its successful and prominent agriculturists.Politically he is a Democrat, and he has been honored with a number of local offices, including those of tax collector, road commissioner and school director.He married Miss Caroline Bleiler, and our subject is the oldest of their children, the others being Lloyd, a farmer of Forks township; Frank, a journeyman wheelwright; Clinton, a farmer of Overton township, Bradford county; and Anna.The family all hold membership in the Reformed church and are widely and favorably known.

††††††††††† George Streby received his early education in the public schools of Forks township, and later attended the Sullivan County Normal Institute and the State Normal at Mansfield, Pennsylvania.In 1874 he commenced teaching, and successfully followed that profession until 1887.In February of the latter year he came to Dushore and established the Sullivan Gazette, a clean, newsy weekly journal and the only successful Democratic organ published in the county.Mr. Streby is public-spirited in an eminent degree and has done much in behalf of the general welfare of the community.For twelve years he efficiently served as auditor in Forks township, and was school director for several terms.

††††††††††† On the 22d of February, 1880, Mr. Streby wedded Miss Mary J. Woodley, a daughter of A. K. Woodley, of Overton, Bradford county, and of this union four children have been born:Clara A., Martha J., Oscar R., who died in his third year, and Austin W.Mrs. Streby is a most estimable lady and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.

††††††††††† FRANCIS W. GALLAGHER. --- It is said that biography yields to no other subject in point of interest and profit, and it is especially interesting to note the progress that has been made along various lines of business by those of foreign birth who have sought homes in America; to note the readiness with which they adapt themselves to the different methods and customs of America; to recognize the advantages offered and utilize the opportunities which the new world affords.Mr. Gallagher, the genial proprietor of Hotel Gallagher, of Laporte, Pennsylvania, is a worthy representative of this class.

††††††††††† He was born June 15, 1862, in county Fermanagh, Ireland, of which his parents, Dennis and Ann (Johnston) Gallagher, also were natives.The father followed the occupation of farming.When a young man he came to the United States and spent a few years in the south, but returned to his native land, where he followed agricultural pursuits until called from this life, in 1875.The mother is still living and continues to reside on the Emerald Isle.The family of this worthy couple consisted of eleven children, namely:James, now deceased; John, who conducts a livery stable in Potter county, Pennsylvania; Mary and Sally, both deceased; William, who is living in Texas; Hugh, a machinist in Boston; Francis, our subject; Dennis, a weaver in Boston; Catherine, also a resident of Boston; Patrick, who is still in Ireland; and Thomas, who is in Scotland.

††††††††††† During his boyhood Francis W. Gallagher attended the common schools of Ireland to a limited extent, and when thirteen years of age went to England, where he worked as a glass-blower for five years.In June, 1879, we find him en route for America, and on reaching the shores of this country proceeded to Warren county, Pennsylvania, where he secured work in a tannery.Later he worked in several different tanneries in this state, and the spring of 1892 found him employed in the tannery at Laporte.It was then that he quit that business and opened a restaurant, and in 1896 he built an addition to his place and engaged in hotel-keeping.In the fall of 1898 he again rebuilt, and now has one of the largest and best hotels in Sullivan county.He has proved a genial and accommodating host and now enjoys a large and lucrative patronage.He has ever taken an active and commendable interest in public affairs and has been elected to official positions of honor and trust, being tax collector one term and burgess seven years.He is also prominently identified with local politics and is now serving his second year as chairman of the Democratic county committee.

††††††††††† On the 12th of May, 1885, Mr. Gallagher led to the marriage altar Miss Theresa, daughter of Charles Briger, of Thorndale, Pennsylvania, and to them have been born five children:Mary A., born October 12, 1886; Emma, born July 15, 1889; Susan, who was born February 28, 1892, and died the same day; William P., who was born March 8, 1894, and died May 8, 1898; and Francis, born July 13, 1897.The family hold membership in the Catholic church.

††††††††††† REV. ELIAS S. NOLL, pastor of the Reformed church at Dushore, to which he came in 1895 and in which he was first ordained as a minister, has deservedly been most successful in his chosen work.At the time when he accepted the call the congregation was small and the church building anything but desirable; but through his zealous efforts, ably assisted by his congregation, he has been the means of largely increasing the membership and also of erecting a fine new edifice of modern architecture, which was dedicated February 7, 1897, and comfortably seats three hundred people.It was built at a cost of four thousand five hundred dollars.In addition to the audience room there is a basement for a Sunday-school and for meetings of various kinds.The principal officers of the church are Henry Stahl and A. Yonkin, elders; Lewis Zaner and Guy Yonkin, deacons.Mr. Stahl is the treasurer and also superintendent of the Sunday-school.The church has eighty members, which represents some thirty families, and all are in sympathy with their pastor, whose hands they uphold in every good work. The ordination of Mr. Noll occurred September 15, 1895.

††††††††††† Rev. Mr. Noll was born near Reading, Berks county, Pennsylvania, March 5, 1866, the son of Mahlon and Maria (Seyler) Noll, both of German descent.Besides our subject their children were:Rosa E. (Mrs. Milton Feather); Sarah A. (Mrs. William Hill); Mahlon, Jr.; and Chester.Elias was reared upon a farm, attending the common schools until seventeen years old, when he began teaching and preparing for college.He later took a course at the Keystone State Normal school, which was supplemented by attendance at Ursinus College and at the theological seminary at Collegeville, Pennsylvania, graduating at that college in the class of 1893 and at the seminary in that of 1895.He taught in the normal school at East Stroudsburg, Monroe county, for one term.

††††††††††† Mr. Noll was married June 7, 1898, at Milton, Pennsylvania, to Miss Linda Zaner, whose family are among the old and prominent settlers of Sullivan county.Mrs. Zaner was educated in the normal school at Muncy and before her marriage was a popular and successful teacher and is a cultured and refined woman.Mr. Noll is a man of strong physique, active and energetic in all he undertakes and one who uses every power of his intellect to advance the cause to which he has devoted his life.He has made many friends in the short time in which he has resided at Dushore and with his wife is universally loved and respected.In politics he is a Republican and is also strongly in favor of prohibition.

Editor's Note: Linda (Zaner) Noll died january 29, 1923 and Rev. Noll then married Amanda Peifer on July 24, 1924. Amanda was born August 14, 1880, daughter of George Zimmerman and Mary (Zartman) Peifer of Northumberland County, PA. She was previously married to Harvey W. Hoffman on September 1, 1903, from which marriage she had two children. Her first spouse was deceased at the time she married Rev. Noll.

In 2007, Janis Darby bought a paperweight at a yard sale in Fulton, NY. The paperweight was embossed with a picture of Rev. Noll and his first wife, Linda Zaner. We are appreciative of Janis for contributing this picture:

Reverend Elias S. and Linda (Zaner) Noll
early Twentieth Century
Photo on Paperweight Purchased at Yard Sale in 2007
Source: Janis Darby

††††††††††† ELGEROY WILLARD HILL. --- Among the veterans of the Civil war who went from Susquehanna county none bears a more honorable record or is held in higher esteem by his neighbors then the subject of this sketch, who is a citizen of Fox township, his post-office being Shunk.When a boy of only thirteen years his youthful patriotism was aroused by stories of the war then raging between the north and the south, and on March 1, 1863, he enlisted and remained in the service until the close of hostilities in 1865.His regiment, the Fiftieth Pennsylvania, in which he was a member of Company G, First Division, Second Brigade, was assigned to the Army of the Potomac under General Burnside of the Ninth Corps.

††††††††††† Mr. Hill was in many of the famous battles, among them those of the Wilderness, Vicksburg, Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, Knoxville and Petersburg, Virginia.He was one of the regiment that seized the Weldon Railroad and blew up Fort Hull and he also had the good fortune to be present at the surrender of General Lee at Richmond, which was virtually the close of the war, and saw those two great commanders, Grant and Lee, as they met preparatory to arranging terms of surrender.Mr. Hill was badly wounded in the ankle at the battle of the Wilderness, but otherwise escaped injury.He was honorably discharged September 2, 1865, with a good record as a brave and faithful soldier.

††††††††††† The subject of this review was born at Butternuts, Otsego county, New York, November 11, 1849.His father, Pardon Hill, was a native of Connecticut and served with honor in both the Mexican and Civil wars.He was a son of David Hill, who was a son of Russell Hill, the latter a soldier of the Revolutionary war, who was killed at Stony Point.Pardon Hill married Miss Nancy Hopkins, whose father, Cyrus Hopkins, served in the war of 1812, and who shot and killed General Brock just before the battle of Queenstown, Canada.Cyrus Hopkins father, Stephen Hopkins, was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence.

††††††††††† Pardon Hill and wife had three children:Elsie Ann (Mrs. Avery), of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; Elgeroy, our subject; and Cyrus Hopkins, who died at South Delta, Maryland.The father died when seventy-six years of age and the mother when forty-four.

††††††††††† From early childhood our subject was thrown on his own resources, and what schooling he received was obtained after he left the army.He, however, has improved all his opportunities and is well posted on the current literature of the day.On August 29, 1875, he was married at Grover, Bradford county, to Miss Sarah May Thomas, who was born in South Wales, a daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Thomas) Thomas, the latter of whom died at Landors, Swansea, South Wales, when sixty years of age.The father is still living and is seventy-five years old.There were thirteen children in this family, of whom six died in childhood, the others being:Herbert, Sarah May, Margaret, John, William, Benjamin and Elizabeth.Mrs. Hill was reared and educated in South Wales and was twenty-four years of age when she came to Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† In 1875 Mr. Hill settled on a farm on which he now lives, and which, under his care, has become a valuable property. He has on it a commodious and comfortable house, good barns and other out-buildings, a cider-mill and a fine orchard.The whole place shows evidence of being in the hands of a competent manager.Mr. Hill is a Republican in politics and a member of the G. A. R.He has served in various township offices, among them being those of road commissioner and school director.While inheriting from his chivalrous ancestors the warlike spirit and love of country which led them so often to risk their lives in the service of their country, our subject is a man of peace, and none rejoices more than he that the recent war with Spain was so speedily ended.He is perhaps more interested in the fact that he and his father have been noted hunters and lovers of sport than in any other matter.He has kept a record of the deer which he has himself killed, and they number one hundred and twenty-eight.Mr. and Mrs. Hill have one child, Herbert Telford, born November 28, 1876.He was educated at the State Normal school and has taught one term.

††††††††††† HENRY W. McKIBBINS, proprietor of the McKibbins House at Lopez, Pennsylvania, was born in Elmira, New York, August 24, 1867, a son of Henry and Caroline (Granger) McKibbins.The father of our subject was a well-known citizen of Pine City, Pennsylvania, where he kept a hotel and spent the most of his life.He died in that place May 28, 1872, aged forty-eight years.His wife is still living and resides with her son, Henry W., at Lopez.This worthy couple were the parents of eight children, namely:Mary, the wife of Emery Heller, of Breesport, New York; Lottie, deceased; Samuel, a painter and paper-hanger in Elmira, New York; Mattie, deceased; Henry W., Carrie, deceased; Charles, a journeyman painter and paper-hanger; and Thomas, deceased.

††††††††††† Our subject received his education in the public schools of Elmira, and when eighteen years of age began tending bar at Waverly, New York.For nine years he was thus employed, working in Waverly, Hancock, Lordville, New York city, and in Wyalusing and Dushore, Pennsylvania.In October, 1894, he bought the lease and fixtures of the Kennedy House, Laporte, Pennsylvania, and, changing the name to the Commercial House, operated it until June 1896, when he sold out, and going to Lopez purchased the Mark Brown saloon, which he rebuilt into his present commodious up-to-date hotel.He is a model landlord, giving every branch of his business his personal attention and making all his patrons comfortable and satisfied.He consequently enjoys a large patronage and is making a great success in his business.

††††††††††† Mr. McKibbins was united in marriage August 20, 1893, to Miss Mary Sax, daughter of Martin and Elizabeth (Dunkleburg) Sax, of Wilmot, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and to them have been born two children --- Henry M. and Maggie.The family are members of the Catholic church and are highly esteemed by all their acquaintances.

††††††††††† THEODORE WRIGHT, M. D., a well-known physician and surgeon of Dushore, Pennsylvania, is one of the younger members of the medical fraternity of Sullivan county, but his prominence is by no means measured by his years; on the contrary he has won the reputation which many an older practitioner might well envy.

††††††††††† The Doctor was born in Venango county, Pennsylvania, October 28, 1868, and is a son of Theodore and Stella E. (Ferry) Wright, both natives of northeastern Pennsylvania, the former of Bradford county, the latter of Tioga county.The father is a man of prominence and is now editor-in-chief of the Philadelphia Record.Our subject was educated in a private military academy of that city, and commenced the study of medicine under Dr. M. T. Prendergast, attending physician to St. Joseph's hospital.In the spring of 1891 he graduated in the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, and gained a good practical knowledge of his chosen profession by spending one year in practice at the Polyclinic Hospital.Coming to Dushore in the winter of 1892-93, he remained here for five months, but in the spring of 1893 returned to Philadelphia, where he was engaged in practice for two years.On the 1st of May, 1898, he returned to Dushore, where he now enjoys a lucrative and constantly increasing practice, his skill and ability being widely recognized.

††††††††††† In 1892 was celebrated the marriage of Dr. Wright and Miss Rose M. Murney, daughter of Captain John Murney, of Philadelphia, and of this union have been born four children, namely:Theodore, John Bruce, Joseph Singerly and George Dewey.

††††††††††† PROFESSOR J. H. THAYER, principal of the Dushore high school, is one of the best known and efficient educators in Sullivan county and is deserving of the high esteem in which he is held, both as a teacher and as a citizen.He has occupied his present position for over a year, having begun his duties at the high school September 1, 1897, and during this time has given general satisfaction and proved himself to a marked degree an able and conscientious instructor **.

††††††††††† Professor Thayer was born in New Albany, Bradford county, this state, August 1, 1868, his parents being James and Tempe (Watson) Thayer.His father was of good old Virginia stock and of French descent, and spent his boyhood days in Virginia, where he attended the common schools until sixteen years of age, when he joined the Confederate army under General Lee and served nearly through the entire period of the war.Then he located in Elkland township, and afterward in Bradford county.He married Miss Tempe Watson, a daughter of Jairus H. and Rebecca (Van Loon) Watson.In September, 1871, he removed to Bernice, Sullivan county, and died February 25, 1896; his wife had died February 24, 1895.They had nine children left by their death, namely:Elizabeth, now Mrs. Heflin; Jairus H.; William N.; Bernice, now Mrs. Shaffer; James M., Jr.; John W.; Cora, now Mrs. Rutherford; Frank A.; and George W.

††††††††††† The subject of this review was well brought up and early learned habits of honesty and industry. While a boy he attended the common schools and also pursued his studies at home, subsequently attending Susquehanna College at Towanda and the State Normal at Mansfield, and when only seventeen years old began teaching school during his vacations.For the past thirteen years he has been constantly employed as a teacher, eight years of which he had charge of the schools at Bernice.He is now, as has been stated, principal of the Dushore high school, which contains one hundred and thirty scholars, and he is assisted in his duties by two ladies, Miss Julia Cronin and Miss Jennie Vaughn.Professor Thayer has been most successful in his chosen calling and has gained the affection and respect not only of his pupils but of their parents also, who find in him a capable teacher and a man worthy of their confidence in every respect.He is genial in his manners and popular with all classes of good society.

††††††††††† Professor Thayer was married July 15, 1891, at New Albany, Pennsylvania, to Miss Annie Coyle, a popular and successful teacher of Bradford county.Four children have been born to this union:Frederick William, Francis Ivan, Mildred Eugenia and Nellie R.


Editor's Note: The local newspaper of record, the Sullivan Review, periodically published reports on school grades and attendance for local schools. Here is one example from the March 6, 1902 edition. Imagine having your school grades published in newspaper for all your neighbors to see! Note that Professor Thayer signed the report at the bottom.

School Report.

Following is the report of the Dushore High school for last month:

Senior Class.
John Ortlieb, 99; Julia Farrell, 97; Herman Jacoby, 96; Emma Cole, 95; Joe Cummiskey, 96; Gertrude Saxe, 96; Saylor Lawrence, 94; Ambrose Walsh, 98.

Junior Class.
Elena Kline, 96; Lizzie Farrell, 97; Charles Borton, 97; Hanna Litzelman, 97; Wesley Douglass [no grade posted].

C Class.
Zeta McHenry, 95; Otto Ortlieb, 96; Leon Jones, 97; Zora Carpenter, 96; Ethel Heacock, 96; Maurice Zuparn, 98; Mildred Hayman, 97; Hattie Lawrence, 97; Emma Lawrence, 94; Hugh McDonald, 95; Ray Zaner, 97; Chas. Jackson, 97.

Percentage of attendance, 93.

Visitors: Director Samuel Cole, Misses Donna Jackson, Hattie Newell, Leona Mingos, Rowena Herrmann, Olive Saxe, Mamie Hanaway, Amelia Litzelman, Miss Zaner, Harvey Hoover.

J. H. THAYER, Prin.


††††††††††† CONRAD KRAUS. --- It so seldom happens that the incumbent of a public office reaches that position solely by the force of his own merits, recognized by his fellow citizens and without the use of the machinery so well known to all politicians, that the biographer feels that a sketch of such a one cannot fail to be interesting to residents of his town and county.As an industrious, honest and intelligent citizen and a conscientious and wise judge, Conrad Kraus in his daily private business and in his duties as associate judge of Sullivan county has earned the esteem and respect of everyone, and no more popular or honored man is to be found in his community.

††††††††††† Mr. Kraus, who resides in Cherry township, his post-office being Dushore, was born in Tamaqua, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, December 27, 1858.His parents, Henry and Catherine (Blumenstein) Kraus, were natives of Hesse-Cassel, Germany.The father, after serving five years in the army in his native land, grew tired of military life and came to America in 1849.In Tamaqua he met and married his wife, Anna Catharine Blumenstein, who, with her sister Elizabeth, came to the United States in 1854.Mr. and Mrs. Kraus lived in Tamaqua until 1887, when they moved to Sullivan county and located near Cherry Mills.Henry Kraus was a drover and dealt largely in stock.Forty years ago he commenced to drive cattle from Sullivan county to Philadelphia and other markets, and by this, and by dealing in meats, in the course of years he accumulated a comfortable fortune, much of which was lost, however, at the time of the panic at the mines in Schuylkill county in the 70's, caused by the protracted idleness of the hundreds of miners working in the coal mines there.These miners Mr. Kraus had long been supplying with meat, and he thought he ought not to desert them in their time of need.The strike lasted long and failed.The miners had no money to pay anything and Mr. Kraus's losses rose into thousands of dollars.Mr. Kraus lived to the good old age of seventy-two years and died on October 16, 1896.His wife died on November 4, of the same year, aged sixty-three.They are buried in the German cemetery at Dushore.Both were members of the Lutheran church, and in politics Mr. Kraus was a Democrat.Mrs. Kraus had three brothers, Peter, and Jacob and Casper (twins).Peter was for many years principal of a school in Rodenburg, Hessen, Germany; Jacob served in the German army through the entire Franco-Prussian war of 1870-71, and now lives in Prussia, a proprietor of an extensive manufactory of brick; Casper served in the same war as an officer, and at the historic and bloody battle of Gravelotte was severely wounded.In recognition of his distinguished bravery in this and other engagements he received the decoration of the Iron Cross from the emperor.He is now living a retired life in Prussia.The two sisters of Mrs.Kraus are Elizabeth and Doratha. Elizabeth came to America with Mrs. Kraus, as already stated, and lives near Hazelton, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania.Doratha remained in Germany, where she married a prominent official, Burgomaster Conrad Weimer.

††††††††††† The paternal grandfather of our subject, also Henry Kraus, passed his entire life in Germany, where he served in the army for several years and subsequently carried on the trade of butcher.His wife's maiden name was Julia Helwig.The children of this couple were Conrad; Henry, father of our subject; William G.; George and Susannah.All came to America, where the sons engaged in droving and the butcher business, and all are now deceased except George, who lives at Tamaqua, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† The family of Henry Kraus comprised five children, of whom Conrad, the subject of this sketch, was the eldest; Elizabeth married Conrad Koehler, a designer for a carpet company at Philadelphia; William H. married Miss Sarah Atherton and carries on butchering in Cherry township; his sketch may be found on another page; Henry, who is also a butcher, married Miss Emma Litzelman and lives at Laporte, Pennsylvania; Sophia married Frank Weinshenk, a baker of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Conrad Kraus, the subject of this sketch, was married May 4, 1880, to Miss Kate M. Hecker, who was born in Philadelphia May 4, 1860, and of their union the following children have been born, all of whom are at home with their parents:Frederick C., Conrad H., Charles A., Matilda C., Henry C. and Albert S.

††††††††††† Mrs. Kraus is the daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Miller) Hecker, who were natives of Saxony and Wurtemberg respectively, and who came to this country in 1852.They settled in Philadelphia, which was their home until 1881, when they came to Sullivan county, locating in Cherry township, where they still reside.The children of this worthy couple were four in number:Ernestina, who married David Phillips, and is deceased; John, who died in childhood; Frederick and Kate M., who are now living.A sketch of the Hecker family will be found on another page.

††††††††††† Conrad Kraus remained with his parents until reaching the age of eighteen, in the meantime pursuing his studies in the district and also private schools.He became well acquainted with both German and English literature and on leaving school helped his father in the work of driving cattle and also perfected himself in the trade of butcher.He later went to Philadelphia, where he was for two years in the employ of John Wuster, a port butcher, and then took charge of two meat and provision stores for Levy & Bloch for about five years.

††††††††††† In 1881 Mr. Kraus removed to Sullivan county with the intention of going into business at Dushore, but owing to the closing down of the tanneries at Laporte and Thorndale he went into the lumber woods, where he worked about two years for Jennings Brothers.He subsequently went to Dushore, engaging in the meat business with John Utz, Jr., whose interest he bought two years later, and, sending to Philadelphia for his brother, William, the two carried on the business for five years or more.Mr. Kraus then bought his brother's interest and operated a few years by himself, then sold out, and in 1893 removed to his present place, which he purchased from his father-in-law, Charles Hecker.On this farm is a large butchering plant.This establishment is fitted out with steam chopper, tanks and all the necessary appliances for operating an extensive slaughter house.In connection with this he carries on general farming.

††††††††††† While never an aspirant for office, his private business, occupying so much of his time, Mr. Kraus was induced by friends, who admired his sterling common sense and his upright course in business matters, to accept the nomination for associate judge of the county court, and in November, 1896, he was elected to that office, polling the largest vote ever given to a single candidate in Sullivan county.His straightforward, manly discharge of his duties in that office have justified the confidenceplaced in him.In politics he is a Democrat, loyal at all times to the principles of his party.He is a member of the Lutheran church and is classed as one of the most thrifty, intelligent and popular men in the county.His fine library, well stocked with the best of modern as well as classical works, shows his good taste in literary matters, and he passes as much time with his books as his extensive business and public duties will permit.His combined library and office is a unique sight in a country section.It seems more in accord with metropolitan life, and on its walls are carved heads of various domestic animals wrought out by the clever skill of his father.

††††††††††† Judge Kraus possesses a very social nature and enjoys society life.In 1875 he was a member of a junior lodge of the United Order of American Mechanics at Tamaqua.On October 19, 1880, he was enrolled a member of Company B, Second Regiment of the National Guard of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, in which he served until he left Philadelphia for Sullivan county.He was also a member of the Odd Fellows lodge at Laporte, and at present is a member of Union Lodge, No. 108, of Towanda; Union Chapter, No. 161, of Towanda, and of Northern Commandery, No. 16, Knights Templar.In these Masonic bodies, as in all social relations, Judge Kraus is most highly esteemed, and he enjoys a wide friendship with the leading people of a large extent of country.

††††††††††† REV. JOHN W. KLINGLER, pastor of the Lutheran church at Dushore, is one of the prominent divines of Sullivan county and is active and zealous in the cause of his Master.He entered upon his present charge March 4, 1894, and since then has accomplished much good, both in the church and in the community.

††††††††††† Mr. Klingler was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, receiving his early education in the public schools of that place and later attending the college at Myerstown and Muhlenberg College at Allentown, Pennsylvania.He was a very studious youth and excelled in his classes, taking a four-years course at Muhlenberg College, and graduating in the class of 1880 with high honors.He received also the degree of Master of Arts at the Theological Seminary in Philadelphia in 1883.Although but a little over forty years of age Mr. Klingler is well known as a fine classical scholar and is now conducting two classes in Greek.Since taking charge of the church at Dushore he has been the means of adding one hundred and ninety-two members to its rolls, has baptized one hundred and eighty-four persons and has married forty-one couples.

††††††††††† He is a fine speaker and his congregations are always large and attentive.In politics he is an independent Republican with prohibition tendencies, and his influence, especially with the younger people in the town, is most beneficial.His aspirations are of the highest and he gives promise of a brilliant career of usefulness.

††††††††††† The marriage of Mr. Klingler to Miss Agnes E. Gruber, of Stouchsburg, Pennsylvania, took place May 10, 1887, and they have one child, Caroline.Mrs. Klingler is an intelligent, refined woman, and ably assists her husband in his church work.

††††††††††† WILLIAM JOHN LAWRENCE is a well-known contractor and builder of Dushore, senior member of the firm of Lawrence Brothers, of whose skill and ability many notable examples are seen at various points in this region.Thoroughly reliable in all things, the quality of his work is a convincing test of his own personal worth, and the same admirable trait is shown in his conscientious discharge of the duties of the different positions of trust and responsibility to which he has been chosen in business and political life.He is now acceptably serving as prothonotary, register and recorder, and clerk of the courts of Sullivan county, and makes his home in Laporte.

††††††††††† William Lawrence, our subject's grandfather, was born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1803, and came to Sullivan county about 1828, purchasing a farm in Cherry township, where he was engaged in tilling the soil until his death.He took an active part in the organization of the county and was one of the commissioners first elected.He married Miss Eliza, daughter of Horatio Ladd, and to them were born four children:Ann, who married Andrew Jackson, of Dushore, now deceased; Celinda, wife of Freeman Wilcox, of New Albany, Bradford county, Pennsylvania; John H., justice of the peace in Dushore; and Fidelia, deceased.For his second wife he married Mrs. Ann Gage, daughter of Thomas Manley, and to them were born two children:Ida, deceased; and William T., of East Canton, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† John Horatio Lawrence, our subject's father, was born in Cherry township, April 11, 1833, was educated in the district schools, and on attaining his majority embarked in mercantile business in Dushore.Two years later, however, he sold out and bought a farm in Cherry township, which he has since successfully conducted.He has not confined his attention alone to agricultural pursuits, but has again engaged in merchandising in Dushore, has engaged in lumbering to a considerable extent, and also acted as insurance agent.He has taken quite an active and prominent part in political affairs, has held the offices of school director, auditor and constable; in 1865 was elected sheriff of the county on the Democratic ticket, and was appointed justice of the peace in 1893 and again in 1898, being the present incumbent.He married Miss Hannah C., daughter of John Dieffenbach, of Cherry township, and they have become the parents of twelve children:Elizabeth, Mrs. D. W. Pealer, of Lopez, Pennsylvania; Ida E., Mrs. D. H. Lorah, of Sonestown, Sullivan county; William J., our subject; Clarence, deceased; Charles T., a contractor and builder, of Dushore; Clinton E., a contractor and builder of Lopez; Jennie F., Mrs. J. P. Little, of California; Howard, deceased; Orville H., a manufacturer, of Waverly, New York; Celinda A., a resident of California; Laura, Mrs. A. J. Bradley, of Laporte; and Frank W., a journeyman machinist.

††††††††††† William J. Lawrence was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, February 27, 1857, and was there educated in the district schools.At the early age of sixteen years he taught one term of school, and in the spring of 1874 secured a position in the office of a lumber firm in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.A year later he entered the office of Broderick & Company at Luzerne, Pennsylvania, as bookkeeper, remaining in their employ one year.The following two years he worked at the carpenter's trade in the summer and in the mines during the winter, but being injured in the mines he returned to Sullivan county and worked at his trade in Dushore through the summer and taught school during the winter for three years.He then moved to Milton, Pennsylvania, and later to Chester, but in 1884 returned to Sullivan county, and in the fall of the same year he and his brother, Charles T., began contracting and building.In the conduct of this business they have been eminently successful and among the prominent buildings which they have erected are the Hotel Eaglesmere at Eaglesmere; the Catholic church at Overton; the Episcopal church at Laporte; the Catholic churches at Wilmot and Laporte; and the court-houses at Troy and Laporte; besides many other public buildings and residences in Sullivan and Bradford counties.

††††††††††† In May, 1877, Mr. Lawrence was united in marriage to Miss Annie B., daughter of Mrs. Harriet Baker, of Luzerne, and to them have been born five children:Bertha G., a successful teacher, who is a graduate of the Bloomsburg State Normal; Eva Blanch; William S.; Hattie Winifred: and John R.

††††††††††† Mr. Lawrence is a director of the First National Bank of Dushore, and has always been counted as one of the representative and most enterprising citizens of the place.In the fall of 1889 he was the Republican nominee for sheriff and was defeated by a small majority.He was elected school director at Dushore in 1891, and resigned that position in 1896 on his removal to Laporte.In the fall of 1895 he was elected to the offices which he is now so creditably and satisfactorily filling.Again in 1898 he was re-elected as prothonotary, register and recorder and clerk of the courts.Upright and honorable in all his dealings and true to every trust reposed in him, he has the confidence and esteem of all with whom he has come in contact either in public or private life, and his friends are many throughout Sullivan county.

††††††††††† MORGAN GAVITT is a well-known and successful educator of Sullivan county, now holding the responsible position of principal of the Laporte high school and also as deputy county treasurer.He is one of the most reliable progressive and popular young men of the community, and the success that he has achieved in life is due entirely to his own efforts.

††††††††††† Professor Gavitt traces his ancestry back to William Gavitt, a native of Massachusetts, who located in Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, about the beginning of the nineteenth century.His son, Peter Gavitt, the grandfather of our subject, was born in Susquehanna county, July 10, 1827, and is now a well-known farmer of Laporte township, Sullivan county.In his family were the following children:Temperance, now the widow of William Stone, of Susquehanna county; Nancy, wife of Daniel Reynolds, of the same county; Prentice, who was killed at the battle of Chancellorsville; Peter, a farmer of Laporte township, Sullivan county; Mary, widow of Francis Rosencrants, of Susquehanna county; John, a retired tanner of the same county; and Thankful, wife of Albert Conklin, of Laporte.

††††††††††† Peter Gavitt, Jr., our subject's father, was born in Susquehanna county, received a common-school education and became a tiller of the soil in his native county.In the spring of 1869 he came to Sullivan county and purchased his present farm four miles south of Laporte.He married Miss Eliza, daughter of John Rosencrants, of Susquehanna county, and to them have been born six children:Polly, wife of E. J. Messenger, of Susquehanna county; Louisa, wife of Troutman Simmons, of the state of Washington; Ruby, wife of William Low, of Laporte township, Sullivan county; Jennie, wife of J. W. Buck, of Sonestown; Lee R., a farmer on the old homestead; and Morgan, our subject.

††††††††††† A native of Sullivan county, Morgan Gavitt was born February 28, 1871, in Laporte township, where he attended the public schools, acquiring a good practical education.At the age of sixteen years he commenced teaching school, and has since successfully followed that profession, while for five years he also worked in the lumber woods during his vacations.In 1892 he was elected county auditor of Sullivan county, which office he most creditably filled for one term.In 1894 he was chosen principal of the high school of Laporte, where he still remains, and he is acknowledged to be one of the most thorough and capable instructors in the county.Although still a young man his popularity is established on a firm basis, that of his own well-tested merit.Politically he is an active member of the Democratic party, and socially belongs to Sonestown Lodge, No. 321, I. O. O. F.

††††††††††† On the 30th of May, 1892, Mr. Gavitt was united in marriage with Miss Alda Buck, daughter of Jacob Buck, of Glen Marr, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and to them have been born three children --- Lou M., Blake and Fredda.

††††††††††† JAMES McFARLANE, merchant, lumberman and farmer, of Laporte Tannery, Sullivan county, was born in Arbroath, Scotland, June 10, 1830.He is the oldest of five children born to Rev. James and Elizabeth (Anderson) McFarlane, and was eight years old when his parents came to America and settled in Hudson county, New Jersey, where he received a thorough education under the tutelage of his father.When eighteen years old he secured a position in a large leather store in New York city, where he remained until 1864, and then formed a partnership with William and Jonathan Thorn, embarking in the hide and leather business at 76 Gold street, New York.Soon afterward the firm purchased an old tannery and ten thousand acres of timber land at Laporte, and, repairing and refitting this plant, began the manufacturing of leather, this branch of this business being under the sole charge of Mr. McFarlane, the latter also attending to the sales department in New York, by traveling back and forth.In 1883, the manufacturing department at Laporte having grown to such large proportions, he became a permanent resident of that city and devoted his entire attention to this branch of the business.In 1887 the firm purchased a tract of land at Thornsdale and there erected a tannery, which also fell to Mr. McFarlane's full management.The Hill's Grove tannery had been bought in 1873, but after running for two years had been sold to Hoyt Brothers, and at one time this firm owned forty-two thousand acres of land in Sullivan county, selling the latter interests to the Union Tannery Company in 1893 and also closed their New York sales department.Mr. McFarlane retained his extensive private interests, consisting of one of the largest tilled farms in the country, a large sawmill with a capacity of ten thousand feet a day, a timber tract on Loyalsock creek and a large, well stocked general store.

††††††††††† Mr. McFarlane has always been one of the representative business men of Sullivan county.The interests which he represents have been of incalculable value to Laporte and he is still planning new improvements and extensions for the benefit of the farming and working community.He is a stockholder and director in, and for some years was president of, the Lake Makoma Land Company.In politics he is a Democrat.

††††††††††† On February 5, 1868, he was united in marriage to Miss Augusta Lovell, daughter of John Lovell, of Hudson county, New Jersey, and to them have been born three children, namely:James J., born June 10, 1869, is in the employ of Austin Nicholas & Company, of New York; Ada, who is at home; William, who died at the age of eighteen years.Mr. McFarlane owns a small farm and a handsome residence, "Glen Wild," in North Bergen township, Hudson county, New Jersey, where his family reside.

††††††††††† AMOS COX. --- After a long life of useful activity, in which he has accumulated a comfortable fortune, and by his uprightness, benevolence and genial manners has won the esteem of his fellow citizens.Mr. Cox is now spending his old age in happy retirement at his beautiful home near Dushore, whose hospitable doors are ever open to his numerous friends and acquaintances.He was born in Anthony township, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, January 23, 1830, the son of David and Mary (Buck) Cox, the former of whom was born in New Jersey and the latter in Berks county, Pennsylvania.David Cox was an extensive farmer and also a blacksmith by trade, and became a wealthy and prominent citizen of Anthony township, where he died March 3, 1879, at the age of seventy-nine years, one month and fifteen days.He and his wife were members of the Evangelical Association.He maintained an untarnished reputation as a Christian for forty-three years, and he was a firm believer in the principles of the Republican party, to which he lent his hearty support.His wife died February 19, 1890, aged eighty-three years, and both are interred in White Hall cemetery in Montour county, Pennsylvania, which was formerly a part of Columbia county.To this worthy couple five sons and two daughters were born, namely:John B., deceased; Elizabeth, who is the widow of Peter Deal and lives in Montour county; Amos, our subject; Frank, deceased; Mary, who married Seth Bond and is deceased; William J., who is a farmer in Columbia county; and David A., a merchant and inspector of agriculture in Montour county.

††††††††††† Amos Cox was reared on the home farm, attending the district school and assisting his father in such occupations as usually fall to the lot of a farmer's lad, remaining with his parents until twenty-eight years of age, when he took entire charge of the farm for his father, for two years, also renting and operating a place for himself for one year.At the end of this time his father-in-law, being very anxious for him to come to Sullivan county, he did so and purchased a farm in Cherry township, on which he lived until 1888.In that year he gave up all active business and removed to his present delightful home, which is in the suburbs of Dushore and which he had erected under his personal supervision.It contains all modern improvements and is in every way a model home.

††††††††††† The marriage of Mr. Cox and Miss Hannah J. Zaner took place at Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, December 24, 1859, and of this union two children have been born:Elmira J., who married Frank D. Welever, a machinist for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, lives at Sayre, Pennsylvania, and has two children, Fred C. and Harry C.; and Eva Z., who married the Rev. S. S. Mumey, a United Evangelist clergyman at Espey, Pennsylvania, and they also have two children, Mildred H. and F. Euphemia.Mrs. Cox is a daughter of Lewis Zaner.Her mother's maiden name was Eve Chrisher.She was married to Lewis Zaner at the family home in Berwick, Columbia county, Pennsylvania.Mr. and Mrs. Cox are worthy members of the United Evangelical church and he is a Republican in his political views.

††††††††††† JOHN LITZELMAN. --- The man who starts out in life empty-handed, and with no wealthy or influential friends to aid him, finds that he has many difficulties to encounter, many obstacles to overcome; yet determination, perseverance and energy will enable him to push aside all barriers which impede his path to success and to gain at last the goal for which he has striven.It is in this manner that John Litzelman has won a place among the prosperous and valued citizens of his native country.Obstacles which would have disheartened a man less resolute spirit have but nerved him to greater effort, and he now enjoys a handsome competence as the reward of his labors.

††††††††††† Mr. Litzelman was born in Cherry township, on the 24th of October, 1847, and is a son of Mathias and Mary (Yenne) Litzelman, both natives of France.In that country they were reared and married, but in 1822 severed all ties which bound them to their native province and sailed for the new world.Landing in New York they spent two years in the metropolis and then came to Sullivan county, locating in Cherry township, where the father purchased a farm of Mr. Cadwallader, a land agent, buying one hundred acres at two dollars and a half per acre.In France Mr. Litzelman had engaged in the manufacture of soap, but now turned his attention to agricultural pursuits.His property was a wooded tract, but with characteristic energy he began to clear away the trees, and in course of time where once stood the forest were seen waving fields of grain.His death occurred in 1846, at the age of fifty-four years, and his wife passed away in 1888, at the advanced age of eighty-nine.They were devout members of the Catholic church, and were buried in St. Basil's cemetery.

††††††††††† They had a family of eleven children, as follows:Mary, who was married and died in Illinois; Mathias, who wedded Mary Baumgartner, and died in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; George, a retired farmer of Bradford county, Pennsylvania, who married Lavina Hollenback; Christina, who became the wife of Nicholas Young and died in Lycoming county; Magdalena, who married Benedict Ordlick, and died in Dushore, where her husband's death also occurred; Michael, who married Elizabeth Yonkin, and is a carpenter of Sayre, Pennsylvania; Louisa, wife of Peter Moshineau, a stone mason of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; Gabriel, a farmer of Cherry township, who first married Mary White, and after her death wedded Elizabeth Baker; Adeline, wife of George Sollinger, a farmer of Oregon; Raphael, who married Lydia Sick and follows farming on the old family homestead; and John, of this review.

††††††††††† During the greater part of his minority John Litzelman resided under the parental roof, and in the district schools of the neighborhood acquired his education.At the age of twenty he began learning the carpenter's trade under the direction of his brother Michael, with whom he worked for five years, thoroughly mastering the business.He then went to Towanda, Pennsylvania, where he spent two years in the employ of Henry Lamereaux, after which he began contracting and building on his own account.He has since followed that pursuit and has met with excellent success in his undertakings.He has erected many buildings, including the following school-houses in Sullivan county:Ringer Hill, Shrimp, Jordan Hill, the King, Barth, Lammer, Cherry Mills, Quinn, Bernice and repaired the Wampool school.He also erected two school-houses in Bradford county, and these substantial structures stand not only in evidence of the educational progress of the community, but are as monuments to the thrift and enterprise of Mr. Litzelman.In connection with his building interests, he also operated a planing-mill on Lard creek, in Cherry township for ten years, from 1871 until 1881, and while thus engaged a belt caught his sleeve, drawing his arm into the machinery and severing his left hand at the wrist.He afterward had an iron hook attached to his arm. and in this way accomplishes almost as much as though he had the use of both hands.This certainly indicates the indomitable enterprise and energy of the man, for many others would have become disheartened under such circumstances.In 1885 he purchased of John Bahr his present farm in Cherry township, and with the aid of his children is now carrying on agricultural pursuits in connection with contracting and building.

††††††††††† On the 7th of November, 1853, Mr. Litzelman was united in marriage to Miss Mary Sick, a native of Cherry Mills, born in July, 1852, and a sister of Charles Sick, the postmaster of Cherry Mills, and one of the most prominent citizens of Sullivan county.An extended notice is given of his life on another page of this work.Twelve children have been born of this union, namely:Samuel, now deceased; Agnes, wife of John A. Yonkin, proprietor of a restaurant in Lopez, Pennsylvania; Stephen, Windsor, Clara, Amelia, Charles, Thada, Mary, William, Jennie and Elizabeth, all yet at their parental home.

††††††††††† Mr. Litzelman is a member of the Catholic church, and in his political associations is a Democrat, but has had neither time nor inclination to seek public office.His duties of citizenship, however, are always faithfully performed, and he supports all progressive measures for the public good.His life has been well spent, and his honorable business career has brought him the high regard of many friends as well as gained for him a desirable property.


††††††††††† ALPHONSUS WALSH, one of the most prominent men and leading citizens of Sullivan county, was born in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, August 16, 1854, receiving his education in the public and private schools of Sullivan county, which he attended until sixteen years old, when he began teaching and followed that vocation for fourteen years.In 1878 he took up the study of law in the office of Thomson & Collins at Dushore, and was admitted to the bar in September, 1884.In the fall of 1886 he was elected on the Democratic ticket to the office of prothonotary, register and recorder, and clerk of the court, holding office for nine consecutive years, during which time he was also burgess of Laporte borough.On retiring from these incumbencies he opened an office in Dushore, where he has built up a large and lucrative law practice.He is one of the leading Democrats in the county, was the party nominee for congress in 1896 and the county nominee for the same honor in 1898.He is a stockholder and director in the First National bank at Dushore, for which he is also attorney.

††††††††††† Mr. Walsh was united in marriage June 10, 1893, to Miss Elizabeth Donahoe, daughter of Thomas Donahoe, of Cherry township, and to them has been born one daughter, Helen.The family are members of the Catholic church.

††††††††††† John Walsh, father of our subject, was born in 1810, in county Kilkenny, Ireland, received a meager education in the public schools and earned a livelihood by tilling the soil.He emigrated to Canada in 1840 and a few years later came to the United States, locating in Albany, New York, whence, after a short sojourn, he removed to Pottsville, Pennsylvania, and in the fall of 1856 came to Sullivan county and purchased a farm in Cherry township, continuing to follow agricultural pursuits until his death, October 19, 1886.He married Miss Anna Burk, a native of his own country, and of this union were born nine children, as follows:Catherine, who became a Sister of Charity; Ella, Mary, James, Anna, Alphonsus, Teressa, Michael (who died on the eve of being ordained a priest), and Agnes.Alphonsus is the only living member of this family.John Walsh was an honest, hard-working farmer, respected by all who knew him.In his political principles he was a staunch Democrat and in religion a sincere member of the Catholic church.Mrs. Walsh was a woman of sterling qualities who devoted her married life to the welfare of her family and whose death occurred January 11, 1894.

John B. Cox
Carte de Visite (Introductory Card)
Dushore, PA 1870
Photo Courtesy of Scott W. Tilden
Original Auctioned on eBay in March 2014

††††††††††† JOHN B. COX, who was born in Derry township, Montour county, Pennsylvania, April 3, 1826, was a son of David and Mary (Buck) Cox, natives of the state of New Jersey, and of Berks county, Pennsylvania, respectively.He was a brother of Amos Cox, in whose sketch on another page is given some of the family history.

††††††††††† Mr. Cox, during his early days, assisted his father upon the farm and in his blacksmith shop, but he was a studious lad whose ambitions led him to a different field of work, and when eighteen years of age he began to prepare himself for the ministry.Unfortunately his health failed him, and he was obliged to give up all his hopes and prospects in that direction and to turn his attention to some means of making a livelihood.He went to Philadelphia, where he learned the art of photography, and for many years followed that business with success.In 1862 he came to Sullivan county, locating in Dushore, where he combined the business of photography with those of black-smithing, wagon-making and undertaking.In 1874 he removed to the farm in Cherry township, where he spent the remainder of his life.He was well known and highly esteemed in his community, was a court officer for twelve years and justice of the peace four years.It was while holding the latter office that his death took place, on October 13, 1892.

††††††††††† Mr. Cox was twice married, his first wife being Miss Mary A. Eisenbrown, by whom he had six children, of whom five died in infancy; the remaining daughter, Mary L., married Bigler Andy and lives in Bernice, Pennsylvania.For his second wife Mr. Cox married Miss Hannah Heppler, to whom he was united March 22, 1862, in Montour county, Pennsylvania, by Rev. John Thomas.Of this union the following children were born:David R., born March 12, 1863, married Miss Emma Kinsley, and is farming in Cherry township; Levi N., born July 26, 1864, married Miss Jennie Baker, and is a track-layer in a mine at Bernice; A. Lincoln, born September 18, 1866, is unmarried, and lives with his mother; Rev. William B., born May 9, 1863, is a United Evangelical minister at Newberry (Williamsport), Pennsylvania, his wife being formerly Miss Anna Farley, of Buffalo Valley, Union county, Pennsylvania.

††††††††††† Mrs. Hannah Cox was born September 20, 1841, a daughter of George and Hannah (Kruser) Heppler, who were farmers in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania.Her father died April 15, 1847, aged about thirty-five years, and the mother February 28, 1857, aged fifty-two years.They were members of the Lutheran church.Their family consisted of the following children, Catherine, widow of John Burrier, lives in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania; Andy, who married Eliza Daniels, and died at the age of thirty-five years; Isaac, who is a merchant and farmer, and who formerly kept a hotel, and is living at Gratztown, Pennsylvania; he has been twice married; Polly, who died when six years old; Hannah, the wife of our subject; Elizabeth, who is the wife of David Willard, of Uniontown, Pennsylvania; George, who has been twice married, and whose present home is at Rocktown, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania; John, who married Miss Harriet Keller, resided in Ashland, Schuylkill county, where she died in 1888; he now makes his home at Springtown, Bucks county, Pennsylvania.The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Cox were Stoeffel and Catherine (Wagner) Heppler, of Schuylkill county, where their entire lives were spent.

††††††††††† JEFFERSON THEODORE JACKSON, late a leading citizen of Lopez, Sullivan county, was prominently identified with the business interests of that locality for many years.He belonged to a well known family of this section and his father, Alexander Jackson, was born and reared in Cherry township, where he became a prosperous farmer, owning a valuable tract of land within four miles of Dushore, and there his death occurred in 1888, from heart disease.He was married to Miss Mary Arey, a native of Lancastershire, England, who came to America in childhood with her parents, John and Margaret Arey.Her father became interested in farming and mining in Bradford county, where his last years were spent.Mrs. Jackson survived her husband four years, her death occurring in 1892.The following children were born to Alexander and Mary Jackson:John, who is engaged in farming on an extensive scale in Wilmot township, Bradford county; Robert, a miner at Beaver Meadow, Luzerne county; William, a farmer near Hollenback, Bradford county; Louisa, who became the wife of Henry Frailey, residing near Hollenback; J. T., our subject; Wellington, who occupies the old homestead in Cherry township; George, a lumber worker at Lopez; Henrietta, the wife of Henry Smith, a hardware dealer at Wyalusing and a stockholder in the bank at that place; and Abbie, who is unmarried and resides in Sullivan county.

††††††††††† J. T. Jackson, the immediate subject of this memoir, was born September 14, 1859, on the old homestead in Cherry township, Sullivan county, and his educational opportunities during boyhood were limited to the district schools of that vicinity.At the age of fifteen he began working for neighboring farmers, continuing to be thus engaged for the following three years, when he went to Hazelton, Luzerne county, and found employment in the mines, where he worked for two yeas and was promoted to an outside position, retaining the latter for two years, when, having a desire to see something of the country, he took a trip through Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia.During his tour he visited many points of interest, including the famous battle-fields of Gettysburg, Bull Run and Antietam, together with the country around Richmond and the Shenandoah Valley.On his return he spent a year on the homestead at Dushore and a year as a farm laborer in Colley township, Sullivan county.Later he was employed in a tannery at Laporte, and for a short time he kept a boarding house there for the men who worked in the tannery.For three years he conducted a similar establishment at Thorndale, and then removing to Lopez, he built a large hotel, with accommodations for about ninety guests.This he operated alone for five years, but at present it is managed by a tenant.

††††††††††† The marriage of Mr. Jackson took place on August 26, 1885, when he was united to Miss Julia Erb, a native of Cherry township and a daughter of Frederick Erb, who was born in Germany.Of this union five children were born, namely:Virginia, November 9, 1886; James, April 3, 1888; William, September 15, 1889; Arthur, August 11, 1891; an infant girl, Mary, born in February, 1892, died in infancy; and Izetta, born August 23, 1898.

††††††††††† Mr. Jackson was a Democrat in politics and at times has taken an active part in local affairs, serving one year as constable in Colley township.He was, and his family are, popular socially, and during the existence of the branch of the P. O. S. of A. at Lopez he was an active member.

††††††††††† On October 18, 1898, Mr. Jackson was found dead in the dining room of his own hotel, where he had been lifeless for several hours from heart disease, leaving his wife to manage all affairs, with a family of small children.

††††††††††† JOHN P. KILMER & SON, proprietors of the sawmill at Shunk, Fox township, are men who thoroughly understand their business and consequently have a large patronage and are making a success of their enterprise.Their mill was built in 1892, is run by steam, and is of thirty-five horse power.They do all kinds of sawing, turning out large timbers for building, laths, shingles, etc.Everything about the place is in good shape and shows excellent management.

††††††††††† John P. Kilmer wasborn in Fox township, this county, December 30, 1844, and is a son of Peter Kilmer.The latter was a native of Schuyler county, New York, and was eight years old when he came to Sullivan county with his father, Philip Kilmer, one of the earliest settlers, who located here about 1812.Philip was a native of Germany and was twice married, the names of his wives being Hannah McMullen and Mrs. Anna Brown.

††††††††††† Peter married Mrs. Lutica Letts, a widow with three children:James, who died in service; Elizabeth, whose husband, Usual Wheeler, a soldier in the Civil war, died in service, of the measles, and his wife, of the same disease, contracted from him, on the day before; and William, also a soldier of the Civil war.Mrs. Letts' parents were John and Axa (Ryder) Scudder.Of her marriage to Mr. Kilmer two children were born, --- John P. and Rebecca, who became the wife of Charles N. Porter.Peter Kilmer died in 1897, at the advanced age of ninety-four years.He was a farmer and in politics was a Republican.Mrs. Kilmer died in 1887, aged seventy-three years; both were worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal church.

††††††††††† John Philip Kilmer was brought up on the home farm and learned the blacksmith's trade, to which he added that of carpenter and cabinetmaker.He was married November 1, 1868, to Miss Samantha R. Williams, who was born in Ridgebury township, Bradford county, November 6, 1849.Her parents were Henry and Christina (Rightmire) Williams.Both died in Fox township, the mother when thirty-five years old and the father when seventy-three.Henry Williams was a very prominent man in the county, a leading Democrat in a Democratic county.He stood high in the councils of his party and was often called on to hold important trusts, among them being that of county commissioner.For many years he was justice of the peace in Fox township and was universally known as "Squire" Williams.He also was a noted hunter, --- in fact his choice of a home in Sullivan was largely due to the advantages it afforded for hunting.

††††††††††† Their children were:Sanford R., who died in service in the Civil war; Henrietta, deceased, who was the wife of Charles N. Porter, of Fox township, this county; Matilda, now Mrs. Frank A. Boyle, of Elkland; Mortimer, of Auburn, New York; and Samantha R., the wife of J. P. Kilmer.For his second wife Mr. Williams married a Miss Shadduck and by this marriage there were four children, namely:Rosetta Fuller and Homer K., both of Ithaca, New York; Evert S., of Michigan; and Mary, the wife of Jacob Bohn, of Dushore.

††††††††††† John P. Kilmer and wife are the parents of five children, namely:Francis L.; Claude, who died when nearly six years old; Maude E,; Nancy E. and Jesse R.Mr. Kilmer is a prominent citizen of Fox township, of which he has been the overseer of the poor and also a member of the school board.He is a charter member of the local lodge of the P. O. S. of A., whose meetings are held in Kilmer hall at Shunk.The family is highly esteemed throughout the community.

††††††††††† Francis L. Kilmer, junior member of the firm of J. P. Kilmer & Son, was born in Fox township, February 26, 1871.He was married January 6, 1892, to Miss Ora Foster, also a native of Fox township and the daughter of Rial and Ann (Cranmer) Foster.Of this marriage three children have been born, namely:Howard D., Carlton R. and Orley Fred.

††††††††††† Mr. Kilmer is an intelligent, industrious and enterprising young man, who bids fair to make his mark in the world and who has a fine reputation among business men for his honesty and fair dealing.He is a charter member of the local lodge of the P. O. S. of A. and is greatly interested in the object for which the order was established.

††††††††††† JOHN MARTIN UTZ has for many years been one of the most highly respected and valued citizens of Sullivan county.He is of foreign birth, but his duties of citizenship have been performed with a loyalty equal to that of a native son of America.In early life he was prominently identified with the industrial and political interests of this section, but is now practically living retired at his present home in Dushore.

††††††††††† Mr. Utz was born August 30, 1834, at Hengestfeld, kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, and is the eldest of the eleven children born to George Andrew Utz, a blacksmith.Our subject was educated in his native place and learned the blacksmith's trade with his father.He came to America in August, 1853, and located at Towanda, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, where he worked at this trade until May of the following year, when he became a resident of Dushore, continuing to follow his chosen occupation here until the close of the Civil war.During that struggle he served as deputy marshal, and later became interested in the stock business with Isaac Reitz, buying horses and cattle for the government and also for the city and local markets.After nine years of successful business in this line Mr. Reitz retired from the firm, but our subject continued operation alone and also engaged in the real-estate business.Mr. Utz has ever taken an active and commendable interest in public affairs, and entered the field as an independent candidate for sheriff of Sullivan county, and was elected by a large majority.Later he was nominated for sheriff on the Democratic ticket and was triumphantly elected.He held the office of constable many years, was school director for several terms, and has been a member of the town council of Dushore.He owns and operates a large and valuable farm in Cherry township, Sullivan county, and it has been through his own efforts that he has gained a comfortable competence and become of the most substantial citizens of his community, as well as one of its most influential and prominent men.

††††††††††† On the 1st of May, 1859, Mr. Utz married Miss Mary A. Sacks, who was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, February 12. 1841, and they have become the parents of ten children:Adia F., now the wife of George E. Scouten, of Dushore; George A., deceased; John E., a resident of Dushore; Emeline E., wife of Charles E. Jackson, of Mildred, Sullivan county; Laura B., wife of O. H. Lawrence, of Waverly, New York; Mary E., wife of William H. Hill, of Dushore; Ella M., wife of Albert Dyer, of Lopez, Pennsylvania; Frederick W., of Dushore; Gertrude R., deceased; and Margaret M., at home.The family are identified with the Lutheran church and are quite prominent socially.

††††††††††† DANIEL EMANUEL DIEFFENBACH. --- The subject of this sketch is the representative of one of the most prominent families of Sullivan county, typifying those sterling qualities which in that county, as well as in any locality, must bring to their fortunate possessors the successes of life.The history of the family in America dates back four generation.

††††††††††† His great-great-grandfather was Conrad Dieffenbacher **(as the name was then spelled), who was the son of Leinhart Dieffenbacher and was born at Eppingen, in Grait Herzogthum, Baden, March 1, 1743.In the autumn of 1764 Conrad emigrated to America and settled at Faulkner Swamp, Pennsylvania.There he was married January 30, 1769, to Catherine Betz, a native of Faulkner Swamp.Afterward he moved to Limerick township, now Montgomery county, Pennsylvania.He had eleven children, as follows:Abraham, born November 16, 1769; John, July 13, 1771; Frederick, May 4, 1773; Jacob, grandfather of our subject, November 17, 1775; Philip, February 3, 1778; Henry, January 31, 1780; Elizabeth, May 11, 1782; Conrad, February 15, 1785; Catherine, May 2, 1787; David, June 17, 1789; and Susannah, August 31, 1791.Conrad Dieffenbacher moved with his family to Derry township, Northumberland county, in April, 1793.There his wife died June 3, 1809, aged about sixty years and he married as his second wife Catherine Hass, a widow, of Selins Grove.Conrad died in Derry township, Northumberland county, August 6, 1813, at the age of seventy-one years.

††††††††††† Jacob Dieffenbach, grandfather of our subject, was a farmer and miller of Lycoming county.He married Christina Gardner, who was born in Lycoming county, February 14, 1784, and to them were born these children:Susan, who was the wife of Jacob Fullmer; Daniel; Elizabeth, wife of Christol Springer; Sarah, wife of William Kessner; Charles; John, father of our subject; Hannah, wife of Adam Thrasher; Mary, wife of Anthony Weaver; Jacob; Henry; and Rebecca, who married Amos Reeser.Jacob Dieffenbach, in 1829, removed to what is now Sullivan county.He remained a lifelong farmer and died October 30, 1840, aged sixty-four years; his widow died December 21, 1859, aged seventy-five years.

††††††††††† John Dieffenbach, father of our subject, was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, March 29, 1813.In 1829 he came with his parents to Sullivan county and at Dushore from 1840 to 1850 he operated a mill, having at the age of twenty years served an apprenticeship at that trade.He also engaged extensively at farming and became a prominent citizen of the county.In Lycoming county he served as constable and in Sullivan county he was a county commissioner.He married Miss Elizabeth Hoffa, who was born at Mahatonga, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, April 10, 1819, daughter of Jacob and Catherine (Swallow) Hoffa, who moved from Schuylkill county to Dushore April 1, 1827, where he engaged in farming.Jacob Hoffa was a very prominent citizen.He was county commissioner and served as justice of peace for many years.To John and Elizabeth Dieffenbach these children were born:Hannah C., born January 4, 1836, married John Lawrence and is now deceased; Jacob, born November 26, 1837, died October 1, 1840; Daniel E., the subject of this sketch, born October 11, 1839; John S., born October 29, 1841, was lieutenant in Company D, One Hundred and Forty-First Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and died in the army, October 11, 1862; Henry S., born December 15, 1843, served in the United States Army during the Civil war and died February 6, 1871; Catherine A., born March 19, 1846, became wife of Julius Vogel, a merchant of Mildred, this state; Clinton A., born July 20, 1850, is a farmer and carpenter of Cherry township, who married Caroline Kingsley; George F., born June 6, 1857, married Gertrude Strong, of Wyalusing, Bradford county; Elizabeth, born October 29, 1864, became the wife of George Heverley, a traveling salesman of New Albany.Mrs. Elizabeth Dieffenbach died November 11, 1886, and was buried in Thrasher's cemetery.

††††††††††† For his second wife John Dieffenbach married Mrs. Caroline (Hoffa) Suber, a sister to his first wife.She was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county, April 18, 1827, and her first husband was Benjamin Suber.John Dieffenbach is a member of Christ church, and is a Democrat in politics.He now lives a retired life at Dushore, enjoying the comforts which he has won from the world by a life of industry and business prosperity.

††††††††††† D. Emanuel Dieffenbach, the subject proper of this sketch, was born October 11, 1839, on the homestead farm, now also his property, which adjoins his home farm; it was then in Lycoming county, but is now a part of Cherry township, Sullivan county.He was reared a farmer and remained at home until his marriage at the age of twenty-three years, to Miss Loretta C. Zaner, daughter of one of the most prominent residents of the county.She was born in Cherry township, Sullivan county (then Lycoming), November 17, 1837.Her father, Lewis Zaner, was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, October 2, 1804.He married Miss Eve Chrisher, and in the spring of 1828 the young couple emigrated to what is now Cherry township, Sullivan county.Here he settled in almost an unbroken wilderness, upon a farm now owned and occupied by his grandsons, Lewis and Nelson Zaner.In this forbidding environment, single-handed and alone, he began the struggle for life.By his exercise of patience, perseverance and economy, his struggle ended happily.Fortune favored him with winning smiles.He soon attained prominence in the affairs of the county.He became the first sheriff of Sullivan county and for many years was actively influential in the administration of the new county's affairs.His life partner passed away August 20, 1883, aged eighty-one years, four months and twenty-four days.After her death he removed to Muncy, Pennsylvania, where he purchased a handsome home and surrounded himself with all the luxuries of life, which his fancy dictated and which his wealth made obtainable.Though living in ease at Muncy, his attachment to his old home remained, and family ties drew him in frequent visitations to the homes of his children in Cherry township.His sturdy and erect figure was a familiar and cheering sight on the streets of Dushore.Only one week before his death, which occurred October 27, 1887, he had visited the old home.His remains were borne to the grave in Bahr's cemetery, Cherry township, and laid beside those of his wife, by C. W. Garey, James Thompson, Hon. F. B. Pomeroy, Hon. D. H. Fairchild and B. M. Sylvara, of Dushore, and Peter Yonkin, Sr., of Cherry township.To Lewis and Eve Zaner were born four sons and five daughters, among them Adam H.; Levi, who married Christia Ann Crawford; Rebecca, who married Henry Whitmire; Hannah, wife of Amos Cox; Loretta C., wife of our subject; and Elizabeth, the oldest, who married Jonathan Colley.

††††††††††† The family of D. Emanuel and Loretta C. Dieffenbach consists of the following children:Sylvellin A., who married Endora Brown, and is a miner at Mildred, Pennsylvania; Alverna M., wife of S. H. O'Brien, a farmer of Columbia county, this state; Charles M., who married Mary Kinsley, and is a farmer of Cherry township; Harry L., a contractor and builder at Cleveland, Ohio, who married Anna Bushy; and Cora E., wife of F. J. Grover, agent for the Union Tea Company, at Dushore.After his marriage our subject for eleven years was engaged in farming "on shares" on his father's farm.He then purchased the farm of one hundred acres which he now owns and occupies, and about ten years ago he bought the old homestead of ninety-five acres, which adjoins his present home.

††††††††††† Mr. Dieffenbach is a member of the Reformed church and in politics is a Democrat.He is one of the foremost farmers in the county, and in Cherry township has frequently been called to fill local office, serving from time to time as treasurer, school director and collector.He is a progressive agriculturist and a good business man.Financial success has crowned his labors, and in the community he is held as a man of sterling character and worth, possessing excellent business judgment and in every sense a substantial and representative citizen.
** Editor's Note: You can learn more about the origins of this family at Descendants of Conrad Dieffenbacher.

††††††††††† JOSEPH SCOTT TAYLOR, outside foreman of the Bernice mines for the State Line & Sullivan Railroad Company, is a native of Pennsylvania, born in Franklin township, Bradford county, July 20, 1840, a son of John M. and Ruth A. (Albro) Taylor, well known farming people of that county.He received his early education in the public schools of his native place and grew to manhood.Soon after attaining his majority, in November, 1861, he responded to his country's call for aid to assist in putting down the Rebellion and became a member of Company E. Fifty-second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry.The first engagement in which the regiment took part was the battle of Fair Oaks, Virginia.It was under command of General McClellan in the Peninsular campaign and was one of the most active regiments in the command; and it is able to boast of having approached nearer to Richmond than any other.For three years Mr. Taylor followed the old flag to victory on southern battle fields, and in November, 1864, was honorably discharged, when sergeant of the company.

††††††††††† Returning to Franklin township, Bradford county, he engaged in farming for two years, and then spent the following two years at Greenwood in the employ of a tannery company.From there he went to Barclay and entered the service of I. O Blight, who a year later promoted him overseer of the lumber department, which position he held until 1875.In that year he came to Bernice and accepted his present responsible position, which he has so creditably and satisfactorily filled for almost a quarter of a century, having the entire confidence of his employers as well as the esteem of those under him.

††††††††††† Mr. Taylor has been twice married --- first, in 1861, to Miss Jane Kellogg, of Burlington, Pennsylvania, and to them were born four children:William, who died in infancy; Herman W., a stationary engineer for the coal company at Bernice; Martha, wife of Fred Price, of Arnot, New York; and Bessie, who died in infancy.He was again married in December, 1889, his second union being with Mrs. Inez Roberts, a daughter of Nathaniel Moger.

††††††††††† In his political affiliations, Mr. Taylor is an ardent Republican, and in his social relations is a member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America.He held the office of school director in 1893, 1894 and 1895, and in February, 1898, was elected road commissioner, the duties of which position he is now most capably discharging.He is one of the best known and most highly respected citizens of Sullivan county, and he and his estimable wife are active and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Bernice.

††††††††††† FRED NEWELL. --- One of the prominent representatives of the journalistic profession is the gentleman whose name heads this brief notice, the well known editor and proprietor of the Sullivan Review, of Dushore, Pennsylvania.He was born at Canton, Bradford county, this state, October 11, 1862, a son of Josiah T. and Melissa (Webster) Newell, both of New England Puritan stock, the former a native of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, the latter of the Mohawk valley, New York.The family has ever been a very patriotic and loyal one, and the father of our subject was a soldier of both the Mexican and Civil wars.He died in February, 1869, and the mother now lives with her son, at the old homestead in Canton.In the family were four children, namely;Belle, deceased wife of B. J. Rundell, of Blossburg, Pennsylvania; Charles P., who operates the old home farm at Canton; Anna, the present wife of B. J. Rundell; and Fred, of this review.

††††††††††† The district schools of Canton township, Bradford county, afforded our subject his early educational privileges, and he later attended the Canton high school.At the age of eighteen years he entered the office of the Canton Sentinel to learn the printing business, but soon afterward went to Elmira, New York, where he worked for a time on the Daily Gazette; returning to Canton, he was again employed in the Sentinel office, and on the 1st of April, 1882, came to Dushore as foreman of the Sullivan Review, but the following October went to Towanda, Pennsylvania, where he was employed as compositor on the Daily Journal and also the Daily Review.In the summer of 1883 he returned to Dushore as foreman of the Sullivan Review, and on the 1st of September, 1887, purchased the paper which he has since successfully published, if being the only independent paper in Sullivan county. He is a prominent member of the Northwestern Pennsylvania Press Association, which was organized at his suggestion, and he was its first president.He is a non-resident charter member of the Ontario Club, of Towanda, Pennsylvania; was the first president of the Dushore Fire Company, and from 1887 until 1896 was corresponding secretary of the Sullivan County Agricultural Society.He is also a leading member of Dushore Lodge, No 494, I. O. O. F., and in 1883 and 1884 was district deputy grand master of Sullivan county. He organized at Dushore a camp of the Patriotic Order Sons of America and a camp of the Sons of Veterans, of which he has been lieutenant and captain and also aide-de-camp on the staff of the division colonel.It will thus be seen that he has taken quite an active and prominent part in public affairs, and is one of the representative and influential citizens of Dushore.He served as borough auditor from 1890 until 1893, and was school director and president of the school board from 1893 until 1896.

††††††††††† Mr. Newell was married December 21, 1882, to Miss Sallie, daughter of Judge D. H. Fairchild, of Dushore, and they now have two children:Hattie Belle, born April 4, 1884; and Fred, Jr., born January 10, 1892.The parents both hold membership in the Lutheran church and are quite prominent socially.

††††††††††† MARTIN E. HERRMANN, the oldest, best known and most successful physician in Sullivan county, was born in Mallersdorf, Bavaria, April 10, 1842, a son of Dr. Lionhart Herrmann.

††††††††††† The Herrmann family dates back to the invasions of the Huns and Goths, in Germany.On the mountains that divide Bavaria and Bohemia there was, about the time of these invasions, given to a certain chosen class of men each a tract of land that they might reside thereon and act as guards to give notice of the coming of the Huns and Goths, their common enemies.They were a sturdy race of people, trained in military tactics, bold and brave in warfare.They were freemen in every sense of the word, proud of their position, and declining such honors as titles and other empty distinctions.They were heard in the councils of their people, and were known by the names of Hoarige Maenner, later as Hoermann, and, in the seventeenth century, as Herrmann.Such, in brief, is the known early history of the people from whom Dr. Herrmann descends.His grandfather and his brothers were soldiers under Napoleon, and were all killed on the battlefield or died from diseases contracted in the army.

††††††††††† The father of our subject, Lionhart Herrmann, was a seventh son, and as by the customs of the country he should have devoted his life to the church, he began fitting himself for the priesthood, but decided that he was not a suitable person for that sacred position, and gave up the idea.He studied law and was made a justice or judge, by which title he was known until 1848, when, by the change of the constitution and the laws of this country, he began the practice of his profession, in which he continued until his death, in 1866, in the seventy-fourth year of his age.He was married to Miss Anna Beiler, a daughter of the director of Italian opera in Germany, who bore him four children, namely:Catalina M., Henrietta H., Martin E. and Anna.Mrs. Herrmann died in 1865, aged sixty-six years.

††††††††††† Dr. Herrmann received his early education in a monastery in his native land, and was graduated in the colleges of Wurzburg and Munich in 1866.He then traveled extensively throughout Europe, subsequently coming to America and landing at Philadelphia in 1868, where he remained four years in the practice of his profession.In 1871 he came to Dushore, where he has since resided and has a large and lucrative practice.Socially he is a Knight Templar and a member of the consistory, thirty-second degree, Scottish Rite.He is also a member of the Bradford County Medical society, of the town council, the board of health and board of pension examiners.He has held the office of school director for many years, and takes an active interest in the cause of education.In politics he is a staunch Republican.

††††††††††† Dr. Herrmann has been twice married, first, in 1869, to Miss Agnes Meylert, who died in 1872.His second marriage took place in 1876, when he was united to Miss Elizabeth Osterhous, daughter of Francis and Jemy (Franks) Osterhous, of Overton, Bradford county.Three children have been born of this union:Arthur F., a student of medicine in his father's office; Rowena A. and Miriam Anna.

††††††††††† ROBERT McGEE, proprietor of McGee's restaurant and Cafe in Dushore, was born on the homestead farm at Satterfield, December 19, 1855, and is a son of Patrick and Sarah (Quinn) McGee.He attended the public schools of Cherry township and when thirteen years of age he began life for himself as a cart-driver at the building of the State Line & Sullivan Railroad.Eighteen months later he entered the breaker at Bernice as a slate-picker, and then went into the mines as driver boy and finally as miner, a vocation he followed until May 11, 1882, when he met with a serious accident on the railroad, which resulted in the loss of a foot and incapacitated him for work in the mines.In the spring of 1883 he opened his present place of business --- an up-to-date cafe, bar and billiard parlor, the finest of its kind in the county.Mr. McGee is well adapted to the business and has won a host of friends and enjoys a large and lucrative business.

††††††††††† On December 23, 1886, Mr. McGee was united in marriage to Miss Ellen Happler, a daughter of James and Catharine (Kirk) Happler, of Wilmot, Bradford county, and they have one son --- James H.The family are consistent members of the Catholic church and enjoy the high esteem of a wide circle of friends.

††††††††††† OWEN SWEENEY. --- There are men whom it is a delight to know, and in whose cheery presence it is a delight to be --- men whose natures seem to overflow with geniality and good nature.Such men are popular.If with those qualities are combined industry, a love for work, and thrift, material conditions must be such as to preserve and enrich that geniality.His neighbors say that Owen Sweeney is a man of that kind.He is engaged in general farming in Cherry township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, and the outlines of his family history are herewith presented.He was born at Greene, Chenango county, New York, August 14, 1835, the son of Michael and Catherine (Sweeney) Sweeney.Though the parents were of the same name and natives of the same county in Ireland (Sligo), they were not related.Michael Sweeney was the son of Owen and Catherine (Hebern) Sweeney.He married in his native land and soon afterward, in 1830, set out for a new land.It was some years before he finally found the spot in America on which he resolved to make his home.Landing at Montreal in 1830, he remained there a short time, then went to Maine, where he remained a year.He then lived successively in New Jersey and in New York until 1836, when he moved to Bradford county, Pennsylvania.In 1842 he came to Sullivan county (then Lycoming) Pennsylvania.He had previously worked on the Chenango canal and on the North Branch canal, and had saved a portion of his wages.Upon his arrival in Sullivan county, in 1842, he purchased fifty acres of wooded land, at two dollars per acre, and there for more than half a century he remained.His wife died June 24, 1877, and Michael survived until February 14, 1895, when he passed away at the age of ninety-two years, five months and fourteen days.Both are buried in St. Basil's cemetery, Dushore.The seven children of Michael and Catherine Sweeney are as follows:Mary; Owen, subject of this sketch; Martin, a farmer of Cherry township, Sullivan county; Ann, who died at the age of eighteen months; Michael, who resides with his brother Owen; Patrick, a sawyer of Jefferson county, Pennsylvania; and Ellen, wife of Thomas Lavelle, of Walla Walla, Washington.

††††††††††† Our subject remained at the home of his parents until he attained his majority.Then for five years he engaged in lumbering during the winter and farming during the summer.At the age of twenty-six years he was married and he began housekeeping on his present farm of one hundred and four acres, which he purchased at one dollar and fifty cents an acre, from Colonel C. Jones. It was densely wooded, and when he came to the place he had to make a clearing for the plank dwelling which he erected, a dwelling which in 1893 he enlarged and improved.

††††††††††† The wife of Mr. Sweeney was Miss Margaret Jordan, and the marriage occurred at Dushore, October 6, 1861.She was born in county Sligo, Ireland, February 3, 1839, the daughter of Patrick and Margaret (Walsh) Jordan, natives of counties Sligo and Mayo, respectively.Patrick was the son of Henry and Mary (Cosgrove) Jordan, who remained through life in Ireland;but Michael and Mary (Howley) Walsh, the parents of Patrick's wife, emigrated to America in 1842 and settled in Cherry township.With them came Patrick and Margaret Jordan.Patrick Jordan settled in that part of Cherry township which later became Laporte township.He was for many years justice of the peace, and held various other offices of trust and responsibility, becoming a man of great prominence in the community.He died in 1889, at the age of eighty-four years. His wife survived until June 2, 1891, when she passed away, at the age of seventy-eight years.Both are buried at St. Basil's cemetery, Dushore.The children born to Patrick and Margaret Jordan were as follows:Mary, Mrs. Thomas Cavanaugh, of Forks township; Margaret, wife of our subject; John, a lumberman of Cherry township; Martin, a farmer of Cherry township; Michael, a farmer living on the old homestead in Laporte township; Thomas, a carpenter living on the old homestead; Abby, the deceased wife of Michael McDonald, a farmer of Cherry township; Bridget, wife of Michael Byron, a farmer of Bradford county; Ann, wife of Francis McDonald, a farmer of Cherry township.

††††††††††† The marriage of Owen and Margaret Sweeney has been blessed with the following children:Anna, wife of Michael McDonald, of Cherry township; Catherine, wife of Michael L. Daily, a florist of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Mary M., wife of Timothy J. Casey, a machinist of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Margaret M., now residing in New York; Ella B., a school-teacher, at home; Elizabeth A., wife of Thomas J. Frawley, a blacksmith of Dushore; Abby J., residing in New York; Stephen M., at home; John J., at home; Agnes, deceased; Martin M. and Thomas J., at home.Mr. Sweeney and family are members of the Catholic church.In politics he is a Democrat.He has frequently been called to fill local office.For a year he was township tax collector.For two terms he has been a school director and is now serving in that capacity.He is also assistant assessor.Mr. Sweeney has proved a successful farmer, and like him his children are industrious and steadily advancing.He has a pleasant home, in which good cheer reigns, and he finds comfort and pleasure in the vocation of his life.

††††††††††† CHARLES S. SICK. --- When the record of Sullivan county is written the history of Charles S. Sick should occupy a prominent place on its pages, for he is one of the leading business men.He possesses untiring energy, is quick of perception, forms his plans readily and is determined in their execution; and his close application to business and his excellent management have brought to him the high degree of prosperity which is to-day his.As farmer, merchant and postmaster of Cherry Mills, he is widely known, and the community regards him not only as a prosperous business man, but also as one of the most progressive and valued citizens of the locality, for his support is ever given to the measures which are calculated to promote the general welfare.

††††††††††† Mr. Sick has spent his entire life in Sullivan county, his birth having occurred about a half mile from his present home, on the 13th of February, 1841.The family is of German origin, and the ancestry can be traced back to the great-grandfather, who was a native of Prussia.The grandfather, Joseph Sick, was born in Baden, Germany, and there spent his entire life, following farming and shoemaking.He married a Miss Reinbold, and died in 1832, at the age of fifty-one years.The record of their family is not complete.One of their sons, Joseph, died in Baden, while Charles, the father of our subject came to America.A daughter, Frances, married a Mr. Seifred and came to the United States, locating in Philadelphia, where she died soon afterward.There were several other daughters of the family, but all account of them has been lost.

††††††††††† Charles Sick, father of our subject, was born in Baden, Germany, in October, 1815, and in the land of his birth learned the shoemaker's trade, which he there followed for seven years.Hoping to benefit his financial condition, he crossed the Atlantic to the United States, in 1836, and located in Camden, New Jersey, where he worked at his trade for a year, receiving seven dollars per month in compensation for his services.He then purchased a shop, which he conducted two years, after which he sold out and came to Cherry township, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania.That was in 1839, and Sullivan was then a part of Lycoming county.Here he purchased seventy-one acres of land, at three dollars per acre, and in connection with agricultural pursuits he carried on his trade until his death, which occurred July 22, 1877.He was a man of considerable prominence in the community, and held a number of township offices, discharging his duties in a prompt and able manner.In 1840 he married Miss Hannah Reinfried, who was born in Germany and was brought by her parents to America in infancy.She died in April, 1863, at the age of forty-four years, and with her husband lies buried in the Germany cemetery at Dushore, Pennsylvania.They were both members of the Catholic church, and in his political views Mr. Sick was a Democrat.They reared a large family of children:Charles; Caroline, who was born August 30, 1842, and is the wife of Henry Stohl, a resident of Cherry township; Joseph, of Cherry township, who was born July 25, 1844, and married Emma Gravely; Leo, who was born February 18, 1846, and died, leaving a widow, wh