Dufferin County

This site provides FREE GUIDANCE to information resources available for Dufferin County; unfortunately I cannot do your research for you. Did you check the Frequently Asked Questions page?

Dufferin County is a relatively young county. Originally, the townships of Amaranth, East Luther and East Garafraxa were part of Wellington County; Mono and Mulmur were part of Simcoe County and Melancthon was part of Grey County. Dufferin officially became a county (see map) on January 24, 1881. See the legislation that created this county.

What's New?

Archives, Museums and Libraries

Cemetery Aids

Census Records

Church Records

Civil Registrations

Farmer and City Directories

Free Lookups

Land Records

Local Histories on Dufferin County

Military Records



Other Genealogical Links of Interest

Planning on visiting the area?

Queries (also contains homepages)

Researchers for hire

Settler movement (from Dufferin County)


Tweedsmuir History Series

Upcoming Family Reunions


RootsWeb DUFFERIN-L and DUFFERIN-D Mailing Lists. To subscribe: type subscribe in the body of the letter with no other text and mail to DUFFERIN-L-request@rootsweb.com. Please leave the subject line blank. If you prefer digest mode (many postings in one email message), send your message as outlined above to DUFFERIN-D-request@rootsweb.com.

Search the Rootsweb Mailing List Threaded Archives for older postings on this listserv.

If you are interested in volunteering some time for looking up items for other genealogists, please email me.

This site created and maintained by Amy Menary.
Comments and suggestions are always welcome.

©Amy Menary
Last updated: February 2011