A Brief History of
Holmes County, OH

Holmes County was formed 20 January 1824 and organized the next year. Holmes County is made up of parts of Wayne Coshocton and Tuscarawas Counties. The county derived it name from Major Holmes, a gallant young officer of the war of 1812. The county seat is Millersburg.

Fourteen townships make up Holmes County. They are: Berlin, German, Hardy, Killbuck, Knox, Mechanic, Monroe, Paint, Prairie, Richland, Ripley, Salt Creek, Walnut Creek, and Washington.