Niagara Co. NYGenWeb Project -- Home Page

The Niagara County
NYGenWeb Project

[county outline map with Niagara in red]

Genealogy | Local history | Geography and travel | Other links | Lookups | Queries | Mailing lists | About this site


Welcome to the USGenWeb site for Niagara County, New York!

Niagara County is located in western New York State. The county seat is Lockport, NY, first settled in 1816 and incorporated in 1865. Niagara County is most famous for its "Seventh Wonder of the World," Niagara Falls, which includes the Thundering Rapids, Bridal Veil Falls, and Horseshoe Falls.

In 1990, the county population was 220,756 in a land area of 523 square miles, an average of 422 people per square mile. Over 70% of the residents were urban. Eighty-five percent were born in New York State, but reported their ancestries as German, Irish, Italian, English, or Polish (in that order).

Niagara County was formed from Genesee in 1808. (Genesee was formed from Ontario County in 1802. Ontario was formed from Montgomery in 1789. Montgomery was formed from Albany County in 1772, but was known as Tryon County until 1784. Albany County was one of the original counties of New York State.)

[Niagara license plate]

Here's where to find the major types of information and links on these pages:

Copyright © 2000-2008 by Niagara County, NYGenWeb Project. All rights reserved.
Links on this page last checked: August 2008

Site URL:
Site contact: Ellen Seebacher