Passaic County NJ GenWeb Project -- Geography atlas
Current municipalities in Passaic County

Original Passaic municipalities in 1837

Acquackanock1693in Essex CountyClifton, 1917
Manchester1837from Saddle River Township, Bergen CoHaledon Borough, 1908
Paterson1831from Acquackanock Township, Essex CoPaterson, 1851
Pompton1797from Franklin and Saddle River Townships, Bergen CoBloomingdale, Pompton Lakes, Ringwood, Wanaque
West Milford1834from Pompton Township, Bergen Coextant

Today's Passaic municipalities

CITYEst.Formed fromPreviously known as
Clifton1917Acquackanock TownshipAcquackanock Township, Weasel
Passaic1873Acquackanock TownshipPassaic village, Acquackanock Landing
Paterson1851Acquackanock TownshipPaterson Township, New Manchester
Little Falls1868Acquackanock Township
Wayne1847Manchester Township
West Milford1834Pompton Township, Bergen Co
Bloomingdale1918Pompton Township
Haledon1908Manchester TownshipManchester Township
Hawthorne1898Manchester TownshipGoffle
North Haledon1901Manchester Township
Pompton Lakes1895Pompton Township
Prospect Park1901Manchester Township
Ringwood1918Pompton Township
Totowa1898Manchester and Wayne Townships
Wanaque1918Pompton Township
West Paterson1914Little Falls Township
The source for much of the historical data on this page is the excellent resource, The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries, by John F Snyder, available through the New Jersey Geological Society.

 HOME  HISTORY  ATLAS  Municipalities  Boundary change  LINKS  Message board  Queries list  Mailing list  Archives  DATA  Wills  Cemeteries  City directories  Census  LOOKUPS  RESEARCH INFO