York County (Nebraska) 1854

York County, Nebraska
site search by freefind advanced
    ...a chronicle of its people and communities

 Nebraska Counties, 1854
  Home  |  Evolution of Nebraska  |  Nebraska Counties, 1855  |  Nebraska Territory, 1854

Thomas Cuming was Acting Governor of the Nebraska Territory from October 20th through December 23rd, 1854. During his short tenure he ordered that a territorial census be taken. Based on that census he defined eight counties and assigned councilmen and representatives to the counties.

The counties were named: Burt, Washington, Dodge, Douglas, Pierce, Forney, Cass, and Richardson Counties. This map shows the location of those counties, in what is present day Nebraska only a small portion of the Nebraska Territory in 1854.

The land that would eventually become York County is highlighted in yellow. It was divided between Cass and Pierce Counties, with a small portion still in the unorganized territory.

Nebraska Counties, 1854

Home  |  Evolution of Nebraska  |  Nebraska Counties, 1855  |  Nebraska Territory, 1854

You may link to pages on this site, but do not frame, copy, or reproduce them without written permission.
Copyright © 1996-2012 by the York County Historical Association, Nancy Beach, author, artist, or photographer. All rights reserved.
Contact webmaster to report problems with this page and copyright questions.