Biographies M-W - DCHS

Denton Community 
Historical Society

Biographies M-W

Many biographies are from 
"LINCOLN The Capitol City 
and Lancaster Co., NE" 
Published Chicago, Illinois.
The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company 1916


Herman Henry Meyer Family

Herman Henry Meyer is one of the leading farmers of Centerville precinct and with the aid of his sons cultivates five hundred acres of fine land. He also has a number of business interests, being a stockholder in the Bank of Roca, in the Farmers Elevator Company of Roca and in the Martel Telephone Company. His birth occurred near Syrus, Clayton county, Iowa, on the 10th of July 1859, a son of John H. and Eliza (Spellman) Meyer. They came to this country from Germany and were married in Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1835 they removed to Clayton county, Iowa, being among the pioneers of that region. In 1869 they came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, and settled in Saltillo precinct. Here the mother died in 1885, and the father passed away two years later, both being laid to rest in St. Paul's Lutheran churchyard at Centerville. 

Herman Henry Meyer was reared in Clayton county, Iowa, and Lancaster county, Nebraska, and received his education in the public schools. When still a boy he began farming for his father in Saltillo precinct and was so engaged until he was twenty-four years old. He was then married and subsequently took up his residence on one hundred and sixty acres of raw land on section 13, Centerville precinct, which belonged to his father. Mr. Meyer of this review removed a frame house, fourteen by eighteen feet, from Roca to his new farm and at once began breaking the virgin prairie sod. He has since lived upon that place which is now one of the most highly developed farms of Centerville precinct. 

As the years passed he remodeled his residence several times, and in 1909 he built a fine two-story house and the barns and outbuildings are also modern and substantial. He has prospered financially and has invested his capital in additional land, now owning five hundred acres in Centerville township, which he cultivates with the help of his sons. He harvests good crops of grain but does not confine his attention to that phase of farming as he also feeds large numbers of cattle and hogs for the market. He aided in organizing the Bank of Roca and the Farmers Elevator Company of Roca, in both of which he is heavily interested; and he was formerly a director of the Martel Telephone Company. 

Mr. Meyer was married on the 6th of December 1883, in Saltillo precinct, to Miss Sophie Schnieder, who was born in Zetel in the grand duchy of Oldenburg, Germany, on the 26th of February, 1853, but when six years of age came to America with her parents, Diedrich Johan and Catherine (Saefkin) Schnieder , both natives of Germany, where the father engaged in farming. After reaching America they first located in Clayton county, Iowa, but in 1869 came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, and homesteaded on section 30, Buda township. 

The father began the cultivation of that place, but was not privileged to enjoy his new home long, as he died soon after coming to Lancaster county. The homestead is still in the possession of the family and is operated by a son. Mrs. Schnieder passed away in 1898 and is buried at Hallam, while her husband is buried in the Stockfeld churchyard. Mr. and Mrs. Meyer have become the parents of eight children, namely: John Herman, who was born on the 18th of January 1885, and is farming in South Dakota; Louis Reinhard, who was born on the 21st of April 1887, and is farming near Plymouth, Nebraska; Harry William, who was born on the 23rd of September 1888, and is an agriculturist of Centerville precinct, Lancaster county; Edwin Frederick, who was born on the 29th of May, 1890, and is farming with his father; Elmer August, who was born on the 29th of March 1892, and is also assisting his father; Herman Henry, whose birth occurred on the 9th of December, 1893, and is assisting in the operation of the home place; Amos Jacob, who was born on the 28th of May 1895, and is farming with his father; and Helen Sophia, who was born on the 16th of July 1905. 

Mr. Meyer endorses the principles of the democratic party but votes an independent ticket when he thinks that he can best further the public welfare by so doing. The principles which govern his life are indicated in the fact that he is a member of the German Lutheran church, and his genuine worth is widely acknowledged. He is not only a factor in the agricultural development of his county but is also well known in business circles and can be depended upon to support all movements seeking to promote the interests of the community.

John Joseph Meyer, who is living retired in Hallam, Buda precinct, has been active in a number of fields of endeavor and has met with gratifying success in all that he has undertaken. For many years he engaged in farming, subsequently conducted a hardware and implement business and still later served as cashier of the Hallam Bank. He also assisted in organizing the Cooperative Telephone Company of Hallam, in which he is still financially interested. Mr. Meyer was born in Clayton county, Iowa, on the 14th of April, 1847, a son of John Henry and Eliza (Spellman) Meyer, who were born in Hanover, Germany. On removing to Lancaster county Mr. Meyer purchased one hundred and sixty acres of railroad land on section 21, Buda township, and an eighty acre tract on section 28, and later he bought ten hundred and fifteen acres in Saltillo precinct. 

He devoted his life to agricultural pursuits, engaging in farming and stock-raising on all extensive scale. John J. Meyer was reared in Clayton county and after putting aside his textbooks worked for his father until 1868, when he came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, to look at some land which his father was thinking of buying. He was favorably impressed with conditions here and as the result of his report concerning the county and the fertility of the soil the family removed here in the spring of 1869. A short time later John J. Meyer took up a homestead of eighty acres on section 28, Buda precinct, but continued to reside with his parents upon his father's farm. 

In 1870 he broke forty acres of his own land and in the spring of that year purchased half interest in a threshing machine outfit, which he operated during the summer and fall. In the following spring he took up his residence upon his farm, he and a neighbor, G. Rippen, keeping "bachelor's hall." Following his marriage, which occurred in 1873, he built a frame house, fourteen by sixteen feet in dimensions, which was later replaced by a commodious residence. He brought his farm to a high state of development and concentrated his energies upon its operation until the fall of 1894. He then retired from farming and removed to Hallam, Buda precinct. 

This town was platted in 1893, when the Rock Island Railroad was built through the county, and Mr. Meyer, seeing the excellent opportunity to build up a prosperous business in the new town, formed a partnership with Charles Severin and engaged in the implement and hardware business under the name of Meyer & Severin. They were the first merchants in Hallam and gained a gratifying patronage. Subsequently Mr. Severin sold his interest in the store to William Elfeldt and the firm name became Meyer & Elfeldt. This association was maintained until August, 1898, when they sold the business to William Roke. Mr. Meyer then turned his attention to banking, aiding in organizing the Bank of Hallam, which opened its doors for business on the 1st of December of that year. 

He was its first cashier and filled that position continuously for fourteen years, or until the fall of 1908. He then sold his interest in the institution and retired from business. He still owns his farm, which he rents, and is also interested in the Cooperative Telephone Company at Hallam, which he aided in organizing. In 1913 he built a beautiful residence in Hallam, in which he has since lived. On the 13th of March, 1873, the marriage of Mr. Meyer and Miss Louisa Heidecker was celebrated upon his father's homestead near Roca. Mrs. Meyer was born in Clayton county, Iowa, on the 1st of July 1852, and was reared within six miles of the home of her husband, but they never met until both had become residents of Lancaster county. 

Her parents, Christian and Barbara (Walter ) Heidecker, were both natives of Bavaria, Germany, and on emigrating to the United States settled in Clayton county, Iowa, which was then a frontier district. The father worked as a day laborer for a number of years but in 1869 came to Lancaster county, and homesteaded land on section 22, Buda precinct. At length, having accumulated a competence, he retired from active life but continued to reside on the farm, where he passed away on the 7th of November 1900. His wife died upon the home place on the 26th of February 1912, and both are buried in the Hallam cemetery. 

Mr. Meyer is a stalwart advocate of democratic principles and loyally supports that party at the polls. For ten years he was a member of the School board in district No. 114 and he can always be depended upon to take an interest in everything that concerns the public welfare. He holds membership in the Hallam Congregational church and its work profits by his support and cooperation. He has resided in Lancaster county since pioneer times and has not only witnessed its rapid development but has also been a factor in its advancement along various lines. Through industry and good judgment he has gained financial independence and has also gained an enviable reputation for fair dealing. 

Among the enterprising and successful financiers 0£ Lancaster county is numbered Frank Ford Miles, who organized the Bank 0f Sprague in 1910 and has since served as cashier 0£ that institution. He was born in Grafton, Fillmore county. Nebraska, February 8, 1875, and is a son 0f  Charles C. and Eva (Williams) Miles. The former, a native 0f Stow, Massachusetts, where he grew to manhood and received his education, engaged in the butcher business, but in 1861 put aside all personal interests and enlisted at Kewanee, Illinois, in the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which command he served until the close 0f the Civil war. 

He participated in the siege 0f Vicksburg and many other important engagements. After being mustered out he returned to Illinois and remained there until 1871, when he homesteaded land near Grafton, in Fillmore county, Nebraska. He engaged in farming there for many years, but in 1900 he retired from active life and took up his residence in Geneva, Nebraska, where he is still living. His wife, who also survives, was born near Toledo, Ohio, and was there reared. In early womanhood she became a resident 0f Kewanee, Illinois, and there her marriage occurred. 

Frank F. Miles passed his boyhood and youth upon the home farm in Fillmore county, Nebraska, and in the acquirement 0f his education attended the district schools and the Grafton high school. For fourteen years he worked as a telegrapher for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, but in 1910 came to Sprague, and organized the Bank 0f Sprague, of which he has since served as cashier. He has proved very capable in that capacity, directing the affairs of the institution so as to protect the interests of the depositors and at the same time earn good dividends for the stockholders. He gives his entire time to the business of the bank and is making a highly creditable record in his professional capacity. 

Mr. Miles was married, at Germantown, Nebraska, November 17, 1902, to Miss Myra Gibbs, who was born in Kingston, Illinois, on the 1st 0£ March, 1872. Her father, Dwight Gibbs, was a brick-mason by trade and was living at Topeka, Kansas, when his death occurred. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Mary Brown, is still residing in that city. Mrs. Miles graduated from the Topeka high school and taught school in Seward county, Nebraska, for some time be£ore her marriage. She is a woman of excellent judgment and is now serving as vice president of the Bank of Sprague. 

She is a member of Rosemary Chapter, No.2400 E. S., at Hickman, in which she has held some offices, and her religious faith is that of the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Miles is also a member of that church and fraternally he is connected with Hickman Lodge, No.256, A. F. & A. M., of which he has been secretary and has held other offices; Rosemary Chapter, No.2400 E. S., at Hickman ; Damocles Lodge, No. 94, K. p ., at Hickman; and Sprague Camp, N0. 1577, M. W. A., in which he has filled all of the chairs. 

He was formerly identified with the Order of Railroad Telegraphers, Division No.130, and held the office 0f local chairman. Since his removal to Sprague he has gained the confidence 0£ all who have had dealings with him and personally is popular. 

This is a journal written by Joseph Roger Coulson Miller, known as J.R.C. Miller on many documents. As a preface to this journal, the reference to this family as recorded in the 1971 Denton Ne. Centennial book is as follows: 

J.R.C. Miller was born in Pennsylvania in 1854. His father was killed in one of the early battles of the Civil War, and Joe, a mere boy, took over the support of the family at an early age. In 1875 he moved to Nebraska. He farmed east of Denton and taught school during the winter. His mother, Martha Jane Miller and his sisters Ellen Helm and Mary Reider and their small daughter, Myrtle E. accompanied them They settled west of Denton near the Haines Branch and spent their first winter in a home which was a partial “dug out”.

Written by R. W. Hamilton
I landed in Lincoln Neb Oct 1st 1875, from Pennsylvania. I was looking for a homestead. I went to Saline County found none. Took a school to teach at twenty-five dollars per month. I later made arrangements to farm the East half of the south east quarter section 34-9-4 which I farmed in wheat. I also had a piece of barley. I lived across the line in Saline county.

The grasshoppers came in hoards and consumed everything above ground. I had a good potato crop and my wheat and barley. I taught school the winter of 76-77 in the district for three months for one hundred dollars. Thus we lived, for my wife had joined me. Among my first acquaintances was Alford Burlingame who died in after years and is buried on the south east corner of the west half southeast quarter of 34-9-4.

I next became acquainted with Ellis Shane, who was looking for a girl to care for his wife who was ill. He procured my sister Mary who with my mother and sister Ellen had joined up. In early spring of 1878, I was appointed director of the school district where the land I was farming lies. The appointing board, saying, I was new and knew nothing of the affairs of the district they were leaving me all the records of the district, and wanted to know what money was in the district and report to the annual meeting my report. I did and reported the books showed four hundred dollars on hand. 

The treasurer reported they had no school house and no pupils to attend and he had loaned the money but was prepared to make it good. The man he had loaned it to was a carpenter. The money loaned had earned forty dollars and he was prepared to call it his or the districts as they chose to elect. I made the motion to call it the districts, build a school house with the money on hand. This the district did. The house was completed after harvest. A Sunday school was organized for Sunday afternoons. 

This was well attended from surrounding communities as there was none other short of Saline county and Camden on the Blue River. The Beams, Wilson's, Greer's. Lazader's and Denton's of Lancaster County attended. I became acquainted with Paul Denton. He had a Miss Van Slyke, a neighbor girl for a wife in arrangement to farm the land where the Village of Denton is now located. 

Before moving to Denton I disposed of my corn at twelve cents a bushel and my hogs at one dollar and ninety cents per hundred. We built a two room house just south of where the section house now stands. When I moved in I found Evan T. Wilson living in the section house then located just north of the track and east of the crick. His wife and children proved quite neighborly. 

I discovered he had had a homestead on sec 14-9-5 and a timber claim on sec 30-9-5, that his wife had been a Miss Greer a daughter of Mrs. Beam by a former marriage. She had a brother Rolland who was also married and lived on the same section. Evan Wilson’s father and mother had located somewhere on section 10-9-5. Later I think they returned to Iowa. Many of the early settlers after the grasshopper experience had disposed of their homestead and had sought “lands fairer than this” or gone back to “God’s country.” Among those I found on arriving in Denton was Ellis Shane, a Civil War Veteran who had married a Miss Cummins, a daughter of an early settler who lived on a farm near where Burnham now stands. 

Mr. Shane located on sec 20-9-5 where he was later joined by his father who also located on the same section. On the same section was located Rufus Markle who had married Elizabeth Wilson, a sister of Evan T. Chauncey Owens and Christopher Stahl were also early settlers on section 20-9-5. Hugh Coates and Robert Thurston were early settlers along with the Beam's, Greer's and Wilson's on section 30-9-5. A man by name of Parker and another by name of Geisler were located on 32-9-5. James B. Abbott wife and family and Cap Emsley and Peter Brandenberger was on section 1-9-5. Elder Hudson wife and family and Hamilton and Wesley Queen with their families were on section 12-9-5. Carl Reiche wife and niece were on 14-9-5. John Kuhn wife and Carl Shell a nephew and a man by name of Husenstein wife and daughter who later went by name of Sofia Stone was on section 34-9-5. 

A blizzard in late spring of 1874 or 1875 was said to have caused the death of a man by name of Parsons. Ellis Shane told me that a man by name of Haines had come north on the divide east of what is now Cheese Creek to its confluence with the creek now known by name of Haines Branch by reason of their camping on its banks. His wife who was sick, died and is buried there. 

The Overland Trails crossed the county east to west. It crossed the divide south of Denton precinct in sections 8,9,10 T 8 R 5 and crosses a small creek. When the freighters fed and watered their teams, Mother McGill milked cows and made cottage cheese and sold to the freighters, who called the creek, Cheese Creek. Along the north Haines branch there were settlements made by George Robinson, two Whitten families, a Mr. Pratt and a Mrs. Carter, Jacob Brong and family.

Phineas Helms and family consisted of one son, H. Smith Helms, a man by the name of Flower, Peter Schamp, Mike Deere, Addison Judd wife and family. Jacob Haist married Medora Brong, a daughter of Jacob Brong. A man by the name of Shrader, another by name of Riley also lived along the branch. Henry Reider wife and family consisting of one son, Manford Reider and two sons whose names were Perry Talley and brother, sons of his wife by a previous marriage. Lester Williamson and family, son and daughter. The daughter married a Charles Bentley in 1879, Smith Helms married Ella Miller the same year. D.A. Jones wife and family, a family Reeves by name, went on section 23-9-4. Early settlers in 12-9-4 were Milton Dunten, A.B. Dunten, better known as “Doc” and W.S. Dunten better known as Scott and Frank Stern. The boys were all Civil War Veterans. Doc Dunten was a violinist and furnished the music to the old and young of the community backed by his cheerful sunny smile. Scott Dunten was the professor and taught the young of his surrounding neighbors the rudiments of an education. He later became the first merchant of Pleasant Dale. 

There were other families on 6-9-5 and 18-9-5 but were transients and this writer is not sure of some of the data. A man by name of Andrews located on the SW ¼ of 9-9-5. Thomas and Steve Bott with their families located on the NE ¼ section 9-9-5. Jonas Reed was located on the W ½ of the NW ¼ 10-9-5. The year 1876 saw quite an influx of settlers over the Burlington who had built their ----- in 1871 and were anxious the country should be developed. They took up their tracks at Denton and put in a siding on the NE ¼ 15-9-5 and then delivered the lumber necessary to building of improvements for the English colony who came from North Adams, Mass. consisting of Mr. and Mrs. James Hocking and family, his brother Thomas Hocking wife and family, William, Samuel, Lester and two unmarried sisters. A William Mills who had married a sister of James Hocking and Fred Berryman who had married his oldest sister. 

They with their families constituted the Hocking fraternity and located on section 15, 10, and 21-9-5. Along with them came J.R. Roscrow wife and family, John Harley wife and family, Battice Fushia wife and family and Leonard Fushia and wife, they French Canadian. A man by name of Hazlett and later E. J. Marshall, wife and family settled on section 11-9-5. Thomas Huddleston wife and family located on SE ¼ 10-9-5. Andrew Nelson and wife located on W ½ of SW ¼ of 12-9-5. A family by name of Huddo located on S NE ¼ of 15-9-5 and then sold to J. W. Maughan and wife who located thereon. William Olney, wife and son J. W. with Joseph Morris and wife and daughter with her husband George Stewart settled on the NW ¼ 14-9-5. Robt. Moffett had bought out the Andrews and Bott homesteads, fed cattle and horses a couple of years, then sold to the Rev. John Smith wife and sons, J. Harry and J. Howard who moved thereon. 

George Descher, wife and their family acquired the SE ¼ of 4-9-5. Joe Payne, H. T. Johnson and wife and others whose names I have forgotten located on section 4-9-5. A German by name of Hoppe and family located on the south east ¼ sec 10-9-5. Charles Herpolsheimer located on the East ½ section 29-9-5 and his brother Fred and family located on section 31-9-5.

The Irish colony came in 1877 and located on section’s 24, 25, W ½ of 26-9-5, 1 in 8-5 and 6-8-6 and 19 and 30-9-6 consisting with their families of Timothy F. Jerry U, John R. Eugene F. James F, John P. and Murty Sullivan , a man by the name of Lowney, John Shea and Frank Enright. The Safford and Exley families had come in earlier and located on section 18-9-6. In the same year the Dutch began coming in from Penna among the first with their families were Frederick Haase, Charles Buelow, John Fraas followed later by Henry Haack and family. 

The Collis family, the Lukehart's, Joseph Burgess, Walter Miller, Frank Dauwalter, Standish Rapp, Robert Shaw who had married Emma Dunten. Oscar Olson, Emanuel Peterson, J. B. Carpenter, Joseph Allen, John Green, J. M. Kendall, Chas. T. Gray, Mr. Ratch, Herman Borgman, Henry Davis and with families were located within the precinct. Mr. and Mrs. D.A. Gilbert with son Martin and daughter Mattie were early settlers in 1882. At the same time Maxey M. Cobb who had married Carrie B. Gilbert moved to section 28-9-5 when he was joined by the D.A. Gilbert family. They had control of two sections. Robert Cameron on the north line of the precinct and others too but this writer does not recall their names.

The early settlers when they could, held their products off the market until assured the coming crop would mature. They fed their crops mostly to their livestock of which they aimed to keep sufficient to consume all their roughage. All the farmers had a small bunch of cattle, hogs and poultry, and were living within their means. D. M. Denton and Jonas Reed were the first sheep men, each of whom had quite a flock. J.R.C. Miller , Al Luzader and Frank Denton were the first sheep shearer's and were kept busy during the season.

These early sheep men were followed by J. O. Wakem on section 27-9-5 and G. R. York on section 33-9-5 and a man by the name of Lockwood on sec 3-8-5 all of whom had large flocks. J. O. Wakem disposed of his flock and land to C. R. Jones a new arrival from England. Paul Denton had accumulated quite a herd of cattle which he was herding summers and fatting out winter for the market. He migrated for the west with his herd in the spring of 1881. Henry Lane came in for feeding and fatting of cattle. F. R. Denton followed. R.F. Moffett followed with cattle and horses. D.A. Jones with cattle and sheep. The Smith's contented themselves with cattle and hogs. Hogs were always following cattle and were a by product. Pretty generally this was successful though loses occurred.

James Giles with family who came from England came to the north ¼ of section 17-9-5. His sons and daughter married the daughters and sons of the earlier settlers. The few years had made quite a change in the neighborhood. Marriages had added new homes. Henry Abbott, a son of J.B. Abbott had married a Miss Fushia, daughter of Battice Fushia, Harry Marshall, a son of E.J. Marshall had married Minnie Wilson. Joe Payne had married the eldest daughter of James Giles. Lem Beam married a Miss Markle, a daughter of Rufus Markle and had gone to the far west. They had been preceded by Roland Greer and family who had heeded the lure of the west. “There is a land that is fairer than this”? They were followed by Lem Wilson, a son of Evan T., the Shane boys and others. 

The Carpenter's, Judd's, Reeves', Shaw's, Payne's, and Weldon Kendall who had married Belle Wilson , the last daughter of Evan T. and others. They had all sought that “fairer land”. Robert Moffett who had married Mattie Gilbert sold his holding to the Smith's and went south. He is sleeping in Moberly Mo.

Among the early deaths occurred that of the Elder Shane, Coates and wife, Rufus Markle and the wife of George Reed who died of tuberculosis. The funeral was on a bitter cold day in those days. The cemetery at Yankee Hill was far away. In returning from the cemetery, Frank R. Denton and J. R. C. Miller agreed there should be a cemetery closer home. A few months later D. M. Denton had gone north to visit his son Paul, took cold and died of pneumonia. His sons brought him back and buried on a plot of ground which F. R. Denton later had platted into Sunnyside Cemetery ,where are interred some of the later comers. 

The Elder Abbott's are buried on the home place. The Hudson's in cemetery near Raymond. Some at Crete, many at Yankee Hill. The Giles', the Sittler's, the Hocking's, Waugh's, Shells, Clegg's, Herpolsheimer's, Harley's, Beam's, Berryman's, Nelson's, Morris, Taylor's, Reeves', Ward's, Baughman's and many other are all sleeping their last sleep in Sunnyside. J.R.C. Miller had put a memorial casket in the church where all are invited to place the cards for all our residents no difference when buried. Ellis Shane and wife, Mart Howe and wife, Evan T. Wilson and wife, Rufus Markle and wife and many more are sleeping in Yankee Hill.

The sorghum industry was followed by two makers on the north line of the township and J.R.C. Miller. They produced a good grade of molasses which met a ready sale at good prices. The market for seed was also good and they were progressive until the wholesalers began importing the by product from the sugar factories which they could buy for fifteen cents per gallon. The competition was too close. The makers of sorghum quit. It was a good thing while it lasted. Miller had succeeded in the sheep industry in the early eighties and had succeeded fairly well and was selling at thirty two cents per pound and when mutton was cheap yet they brought enough with wool to make it pay. 

Adverse legislation brought wool down to eight cents per pound and mutton down along with it. This was too cheap; he sold his wool for eight cents per pound and practically gave his sheep away. D.A. Jones was the only one left who held a small flock to clear up the weeds and I think eventually made a profit. After mishaps, J.R.C. Miller eventually landed in the creamery business. The farmers had built a creamer at twenty dollars a share, had leased it to a creamery company who had operated if for one year at a loss. It was on sale next to Millers property. He wanted it in operation. He saw the creamery co. 

They said they couldn’t make cost let alone a profit. If Miller had anything to offer, say so. He said why don’t you run it on the percentage plan. They said what percent. Miller said he did not know what would be fair, you know. Well what about ten percent, you furnish your own fuel and perform all the work, make you own tests, deliver to the depot. We pay the price and ten percent. Miller did not know whether the price was good or not. He accepted; the first month he lost seven dollars and fifty cents. The second month; two dollars and fifty cents. The third a profit. They were paying twenty five cents per pound for the butter fat taking the whole mile before the summer was over. Miller was receiving two hundred per month. 

The creamery company objected. Miller reminded them that when he was operating at a loss, they did not object. He had worked up a good business; their rate of profit was the same and had no cause to worry. They would pay as agreed, but on a renewal there would have to be a difference. For years the creamery business paid all concerned. Farmers were learning to keep a few cows for milk, a few hogs, a few calves, a good flock of poultry as a sure road to success in the farming industry.

J.R.C. Miller seeing the trains passing his places carrying the mail past conceived the idea of establishing a post office at Denton and circulated a petition to that effect. It was duly signed. He did not know to what office to send. He inquired at the Post Office in Lincoln. On information he directed an envelope, when the postmaster inquired what he was writing the department for; he was told he was sending a petition for a post office at Denton. The postmaster informed Miller, the matter had been placed in his hand. They had already made two attempts and failed. It was no use. Miller said the right to petition should never be abridged and was so guaranteed by the constitution. 

He tore the envelope open and wrote any correspondence had on the subject should be to J.R.C. Miller, care the Postmaster at Crete Neb. In due time the answer came. The Crete Postmaster when informed of the conversation said “You thought you could have a better chance through me. You have. I’ll recommend the post office be established.” It was and has continued open ever since. It is a money order office, has a double route Rural delivery system and a multiple daily mail.

Miller is responsible for the tearing up of the tracks on section 15-9-5 after the location of the post office, the railway co located their passing tracks at Denton and Miller made arrangements to buy grain and locate a lumber yard. He bought and shipped the first car of oats ever shipped out of Denton. He was short of cash and sold to A.H. Drain, who enlarged the business. D.A. Gilbert had built and opened a store and gave Drain considerable opposition. Drain sold to a man by name of Jones who had plenty of money and a family of girls. He made vast improvements. Large elevators were built and operated by various people. A bank was located and operated with numerous cashiers. 

The Clegg's came to town and operated a store. A Doctor Skinner located and held forth until promoted to the school for feeble minded at Beatrice. A Church was built by all the people participating under the auspices of the Methodists. Also a Catholic church. Jim Shane bought out the Cobb boys in the store business. D.A. Jones bought numerous building in and out of the village and moved into the village. He is sleeping in Sunnyside. The Austin's and Meyer's accumulated quite a holding in the community. 

He later moved to California, where he is at rest.
Denton has a high school where twelve grades of school work are taught. to those of the surrounding community. They also have an amusement hall. The village at one time contained two churches and a general merchandise store, and creamery, one bank, one lumber, hardware and coal store, two elevators, two garages, two rural mail carriers, one postmaster, one telephone central, two elevator operators, five school teachers and two preachers, one depot manager, one section foreman with their families, one meat market and one year shipped out ninety cars of live stock. The community furnishes business for all. There are about as many live in the community now as ever, but the business is mostly done elsewhere. They have lost the community spirit.

Clinton J. Mitchell, of Lincoln, Nebraska, now serving on the board of county  commissioners from the third district, was born on a farm in Saltillo precinct, of this county, February 16, 1875, a son of the late Henry F. Mitchell, whose record appears elsewhere in this volume. He has resided in this county throughout his entire life. Though born in Saltillo precinct, he has lived in Centerville precinct from early infancy and long devoted his time and attention to farming and stock raising, becoming one of the largest feeders of beef cattle in Lancaster County, a reputation which he has enjoyed for twenty years past. 

His home farm of three hundred and sixty acres lies one mile east of the town of Sprague. He bought the original tract from his father before he was twenty-one years of  age becoming owner of eighty acres wholly unimproved, not even a building or a fence being upon the place. As the years have passed he has extended the boundaries of his farm by additional purchases of land until the place now comprises three hundred and sixty acres and is one of the best improved farm properties in Centerville. Two hundred and forty acres of his land formerly belonged  to his father-in-law, William Charlton, whose only daughter became the wife of Mr. Mitchell. 

In addition to the home place Mr. Mitchell owns one hundred and sixty acres in Highland precinct and another tract of similar size in Butte County, North Dakota, both of which he has purchased. In politics Mr. Mitchell has always beep a stalwart republican, following in the footsteps of his father in this particular. He has never but once been a candidate for office and that the position which he is now filling. He was elected county commissioner from the third district in 1911 and took the office in January, 1912; In 1914 he was re-elected, so that he is now serving for the second term, which is a four years' term, continuing him as the incumbent until January, 1919. In order to be nearer the scene of his official activities he removed to Lincoln in 1915.

One of the distinct achievements of his official service was the complete redistricting of Lancaster county, having started the movement to bring this about. When he became commissioner the third district, which he represents, consisted of fifteen precincts of the twenty-four in the county and at the same time his district received only one-third of the county funds for improvements. He successfully carried through the movement to redistrict with the result that his district now has but nine precincts but still gets one-third of the improvement funds for roads and culverts. His activity on this line was for the general good of the people of his district. 

When he took office his district was carrying an indebtedness of fifty-eight hundred dollars, which has since been wiped out, and at the same time he has bought for the district's use two gasoline tractor engines, for which over four thousand dollars was paid. On the 21st of February, 1899, Mr. Mitchell was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary A. Charlton, the only daughter of William Charlton, the largest land- owner and wealthiest citizen of Centerville precinct. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell have one son, Charlton F., who was born on the 1st of March, 1900. 

Mr. Mitchell is a member of the Lincoln Commercial Club and fraternally is connected with the Knights of Pythias, while his religious faith is manifest in his membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. His life has been an extremely busy and useful one and he is numbered among the foremost agriculturists of this part of the state. He is wide-awake, alert and enterprising, ready for any emergency in business or in office and actuated at all times by honorable principles and unfaltering loyalty to that which he believes to be right. 

Clyde E. Mitchell has gained a gratifying measure of success as a farmer and stock raiser and, in addition to his home farm of two hundred and forty acres in Centerville precinct, owns a quarter section in Highland precinct and three hundred and twenty acres in Kansas. He was born in Cherokee county, Kansas, on the 5th of September, 1873, and is a son of Henry F. Mitchell, further mention of whom appears elsewhere in this work. When but four weeks old he was brought by his parents to this county and was reared upon the home farm in Centerville precinct. After completing his public school education he began farming on eighty acres of land, which was unimproved when it came into his possession, but which he soon brought under cultivation. 

His first home was fourteen by twenty-four feet in dimensions and there he lived for fifteen years, but his present residence, which he built in 1912, and which was planned by his wife, is commodious, well designed and attractively furnished. He has added to his holdings from time to time and his home farm now comprises two hundred and forty acres of land, all of which is in a high state of development. He also holds title to one hundred and sixty acres of land in Highland precinct and half a section in Kansas and derives a gratifying addition to his income from the rental of these two farms. He personally operates his home farm and although he raises some grain gives the greater part of his attention to stock raising, feeding cattle, sheep and hogs extensively. 

He has made a careful study of that business and as he watches the market carefully he seldom fails to secure good prices for his stock. In 1899 Mr. Mitchell was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Broeker, who was born in Cass county, Nebraska, and is a daughter of Fred and Louisa (Egger) Broeker, natives respectively of Germany and Switzerland. After removing to the United States the father engaged in farming in Nebraska for many years, but is now living retired in Orleans, this state. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell have a son and daughter, namely: Glenn and Irene. The republican party has a stanch supporter in Mr. Mitchell and for fifteen years he has served his community as a member of the school board. Fraternally he is identified with the Royal Highlanders and both he and his wife arc members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Since early infancy he has resided in Lancaster county, is thoroughly identified with its interests and has witnessed its development from a frontier region to a prosperous fanning section: 

Henry F. Mitchell, who was one of the honored pioneers of Centerville precinct, Lancaster county, was born on the 25th of October, 1845, in Licking county, Ohio, of the marriage of John and Maria Mitchell, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Virginia. The father engaged in farming in Licking county during his active life and both he and the mother passed away there. Henry F. Mitchell received his education in the early schools of his native county and there grew to manhood. He began assisting his father with the farm work when a boy and by the time that he attained his majority was a practical and efficient agriculturist. Following his marriage he and his wife went to Cherokee county, Kansas, where they resided for five years, but in the fall of 1873 came to Lancaster county, and Mr. Mitchell purchased eighty acres of land in Centerville precinct, with borrowed capital. 

He at once began the improvement and operation of his farm .and as the years passed paid off all his indebtedness. He engaged in farming and stock raising and was a factor in the development of his county along those lines. His death occurred upon his home farm on the 21st of February, 1902. Mr. Mitchell was united in marriage on the 1st of January, 1868, to Miss Alice Buel, who was born in Hartford township, Licking county, Ohio, on the 29th of April, 1849. An account of the life of her father, Edwin Buel, appears in the sketch of her brother, Friend Buel, Sr. She is still living and makes her home upon the Mitchell homestead in Centerville precinct. Following the death of Mr. Mitchell she became the wife of Ransom Jacobus, of Ohio, but he is also now deceased. 

She is one of the few pioneer settlers of Lancaster county still living, is yet active and in good health, and remembers vividly the early conditions in the county and the events of pioneer days. She has had children but one Sailey B., died in infancy. Those who survive are: three children , Clyde E and Clinton J. Mr. Mitchell cast his ballot in favor of the candidates of the republican .but was not otherwise active in politics. Fraternally, he was connected with the Masons and Knights of Pythias, and in his dally life exemplified the beneficent  principles upon which those organizations are based. He was of determination, enterprise and self-reliance, and these. qualities enabled him to overcome the obstacles which had to be encountered In the early days, and at the time of his death he was one of the substantial men of his precinct. He gained many friends in the county and his demise was widely and deeply regretted.

William Henry Harrison Moore of Martel assisted in organizing the Martel State Bank, and has since served as its cashier. He gives the closest attention to the management of its affairs and under his direction it has gained a high standing among banks of Lancaster county. Mr. Moore was born near Hoopeston, Illinois, November 26, 1876, and is a son of William Edmund and Eliza Jane (Arrowsmith) Moore, The former was born in Illinois, on the 31st of May 1847. As his father was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church the family lived in various towns and William Edmund received his education in a number of schools. On reaching mature years he engaged in farming in Iroquois county and later removed to McLean county, where he followed agricultural pursuits until 1896, when he retired from active life. 

About four years later he removed to Long Beach, California, where he now resides. He was married in the vicinity of Arrowsmith, Illinois, in 1873, to Miss Eliza Jane Arrow- smith, whose birth occurred in McLean county, on the 23rd of February, 1850. She also survives. William Henry Harrison Moore attended school near Saybrook, McLean county, Illinois, and later was a student in the high school at Red Oak, from which he was graduated in 1866. In the fall of that year he entered the State University of Nebraska at Lincoln and completed a course there in 1900, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Science. The following year he was assistant to the chemist of a Bessemer steel plant in Youngstown, Ohio, chiefly employed in analyzing steel. 

In 1902 he went west to Diamondville, Wyoming, where he served as superintendent of schools. In 1904 he became a resident of Lincoln, Nebraska, and entered the employ of the old Columbia National Bank, with which institution he was connected for about a year. In 1905 he came to Martel, and with R. E. and John Moore organized the Martel State Bank, of which he has since been cashier. He follows a policy which conserves the interests of stockholders and depositors at the same time that it permits legitimate extension of the business interests of the town. The bank has the complete confidence of the community and the volume of its business has grown steadily. 

On the 5th of June, 1912, Mr. Moore was married near Martel to Miss Minnie Wunderlich, who was born in this county, on the 20th of January 1892. Her father, Simon Wunderlich, was born in Germany, on the 23rd of March 1864, and received his education in the fatherland, but as a youth of seventeen years came to America. After living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for a time he came to Lancaster county, where he purchased a farm. He devoted much of his time to the carpenter's trade, but is now living retired in Martel. 

His wife, who bore the maiden name of Elizabeth Summerer; was born in Germany, December 12, 1859, and grew to womanhood in that country. She, too, survives. Mr. Moore is an independent republican and takes a keen interest in everything relating to the public welfare. He is connected with Hickman Lodge, No. 94, A. F. & A. M. and with the Knights Templar Commandery at Lincoln. When in the State University he was elected to membership in the scientific honorary society Sigma Xi, because of the excellence of his original work in engineering geology. He is affiliated with the Methodist church and its teachings govern his conduct in all relations of life. 

Rev D. B. O' Connor, pastor of St. Patrick's Church of Havelock, was born in Crete, Nebraska, April 7, 1875, a son of Patrick W. and Margaret (Brown) O'Connor, who is mentioned at length in another page of this work. He was about a year old when his parent's removed to Lincoln, where he was reared, and during his youthful day's he attended the public and parochial schools and St. Mary's Seminary having determined to devote his life to the church, he prepared for holy Mass which were conferred upon him in St. Louis Missouri, by Archbishop Kahn in June, 1901. 

During the succeeding twelve years his time was devoted to parochial duties, and to a professorship. In 1913 Father O'Connor returned to the Lincoln diocese and resumed the active work of a pastor at David City. 

He always had charge of a congregation at Friend and on the 14th of December, 1904, he was assigned to St. Patrick Church at Havelock, where he is now located, doing excellent work in this connection; his labor being a strong force in the up building of the church at that place and the extension of Catholic influence in the neighborhood.

Among the well-to-do residents of Lancaster county who have found fanning and stock raising both profitable and congenial is Charles Andrew Perkins, of Centerville precinct. He was born near Bonaparte, Van Buren county, Iowa, on the 24th of October, 1854, and is a son of William and Mary Perkins, the former a native of Ohio, in which state his parents settled in early days. William Perkins was one of the pioneers of Van Buren county, Iowa, and engaged in farming there until his death in 1889. 

He is buried in that county. Charles A. Perkins was reared under the parental roof and is indebted to the public schools of his native county for his education. After putting aside his textbooks he farmed with his father for a number of years but in 1874, when about twenty years of age, he came to Centerville precinct, Lancaster County, Nebraska, where he operates rented land for eleven years. At the end of that time he purchased two hundred and forty acres on section 12, Centerville precinct, which was partly improved when it came into his possession. He has brought the farm to a still higher state of development and has been very successful as an agriculturist. 

He annually harvests good crops and also raises shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs, for which he finds a ready sale. In addition to his home farm he owns eighty acres, also on section 12, and the entire three hundred and twenty acres is under cultivation. Mr. Perkins was married in Centerville precinct on New Year's day of 1889, to Miss Kitty Ritter, whose birth occurred in Michigan City, Indiana, on the 21st of February 1859. When she was still a child, however, her parents, John and Melvina (Cheney) Ritter, removed with their family to Wheeler, Indiana. Her father passed his entire life in the Hoosier state and kept the tollgate in Michigan City for some time. 

He there died in 1881 and his widow subsequently married John Chapman, a minister, who is still living at the age of eighty-two years and is now a resident of Seward county, Nebraska. Mrs. Perkins accompanied her mother and stepfather on their removal to Lancaster county, Nebraska, in 1869, and for seven years lived in the sod house which Rev. Chapman erected upon his homestead in Centerville precinct. She received the greater part of her education in this county and remained with her mother until her marriage. 

Mr. and Mrs. Perkins are the parents of four children, namely: Grace Amanda, who was born on the 9th of November, 1890, and is now the wife of Henry Johnson, of Lincoln, Nebraska; Byron Charles, who was born March 7, 1892, and is now farming in Lancaster county; Russell James, who was born July 21, 1896, and is assisting with the operation of the home farm; and Floyd Andrew, born February 18, 1901, now attending school. Mr. Perkins casts his ballot in support of the candidates and measures of the democratic party and fraternally is connected with Jamaica Lodge, NO.292, A. 0. U. W., of which he is a charter member and past recorder. The principles which govern his conduct are indicated in the fact that he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is a man of ability, enterprise and integrity and is justly held in high esteem. 

Clemens Piepho gained a competence through his well directed labors as a general farmer and is now living retired on his homestead on section 26, Centerville precinct. He was born in Germany and served with honor in the Hanoverian army in 1866 in the war with Austria. His birth occurred on the 23rd of July, 1844, in the kingdom of Hanover, and his parents were George and Caroline (Holveg) Piepho; also natives of Hanover. The father was born on the 18th of August, 1814, and passed away in Hanover in 1897. For many years he was in the government forest service. Clemens Piepho received a good education in Germany, completing what is the equivalent of our high school course, and in 1866, on .the outbreak of the war with Austria, volunteered for service in the Hanoverian cavalry. He took part in much hard fighting and remained at the front until the close of hostilities. 

He afterward visited various European countries, including Holland, Switzerland and France, and then went to Austria, where he resided for five years, holding the position of private secretary to the Danish ambassador in Austria. After leaving Vienna he went to France and a short time later took ship for America, landing in New York city in 1877. He went to Washington, D. C., and was present when Hayes was inaugurated as president of the United States. Later in that year he located in Tazewell and afterward in Woodford county, Illinois, and for two years was employed as a farm hand in those counties. In 1879, however, he removed to Franklin county, Nebraska, and six weeks later arrived in Lancaster county. He engaged in farming in Buda precinct for fourteen years but at the end of that time, or in 1894, purchased one hundred and twenty acres of fertile land on section 26, Centerville precinct. 

He made other improvements upon the farm and concentrated his energies upon its operation until 1908, when, feeling that he had accumulated sufficient capital to provide him with the comforts of life during his remaining years, he retired, turning over the management of the farm to his sons. He still lives upon the place, however, and in 1915 erected a fine two story residence, equipped with electric light and other modern conveniences. He also built good barns and outbuildings upon the farm. On the 9th of January, 1881, Mr. Piepho was married near Firth, Lancaster county, to Miss Caroline Margaret Wittestruck, who was born near Metamora, Illinois, on the 20th of June, 1863. Her parents, John August and Sarah Jane (Fogle) Wittestruck, were natives, respectively, of the province of Brandenburg, Prussia, and of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. 

Her father's birth occurred on the 15th of September, 1824, and the mother's on the 21st of March, 1834. Mr. Wittestruck received a public school education in his native country and also learned the cabinetmaker's trade in his youth. He followed that trade in Berlin for some time but on the 2nd of August, 1857, took ship at Hamburg for America, landing in New York on the 9th of September. He located in Burlington, Wisconsin, whence he removed to Metamora, Illinois, where he farmed and also did some cabinet work until 1870, when he took up a homestead in the vicinity of Firth, Nebraska, which he operated during his remaining years, dying on the 12th of March, 1886. His wife survived for almost twenty-five years, her death occurring on the 13th of February, 1911. 

Mrs. Piepho was seven years of age when brought by her parents to Lancaster county and she received her education in the public schools. She has become the mother of two sons. Ernest George, born November 19,1881, is farming the homestead in connection with his brother, Carl William, who was born October 2, 1898. Mr. Piepho is independent in politics, considering the qualifications of a candidate of more importance than his party affiliation. For two years he was moderator of school district No.77 and he has always taken a keen interest in educational affairs. He is a member of the Lincoln Kriegerverein, a society composed of men who have served in the German army. He is a man of sterling worth and his circle of friends is almost coextensive with the circle of his acquaintances. 

Among the successful and progressive farmers of Centerville precinct is George Daniel Rader, who was born in South Bend, Indiana, on the 23rd of November 1869. His father, Henry Rader, was born and educated in Germany but when nineteen years of age emigrated to the new world and located in New York city. He was employed in a slaughter-house there and subsequently removed to Indiana, where he engaged in farming near South Bend. He decided to try his fortune in the middle west, however, and became a pioneer settler of Richardson County, Nebraska, but as the Indians were hostile he returned to Indiana, where he remained until 1878. He then again went to Richardson county, whence in 1882 he came to Lancaster county and bought one hundred and twenty acres of railroad land on section 9, Centerville precinct. 

He brought his farm under cultivation and erected substantial buildings thereon and for many years concentrated his time and energy upon its operation. In 1902 he retired from active life but continued to reside upon the farm until his death in 1906. He is buried in the Centerville cemetery. He was married in New York city to Miss Elizabeth Landau, who was born in Germany but came to the United States in her girlhood. She survives at the age of eighty-two years and still lives upon the home place. George D. Rader was reared in Richardson and Lancaster counties, and received his education in the district schools. 

He farmed for his father for some time and also rented land belonging to others, but in 1905 went to Colorado and located near Fort Collins, Larimer county. After farming there for four years he returned to the home place in Lancaster county and has since engaged in raising stock and grain upon that farm. He thoroughly understands agricultural work and so manages his business affairs that his resources are constantly increasing. Mr. Rader was married in the Stockfeld church in Lancaster County on the 3rd of February 1891 to Miss Kate Berkman, a native of Peoria, Illinois, who came to Lancaster county with her parents in 1877. 

To this union have been born five children: Harry and Henry, both of whom are farming in Lancaster county; Hulda and Dora, at home; and Eunice, in school. All of the children are natives of Lancaster county save Eunice, who was born in Fort Collins, Colorado. Mr. Rader supports the democratic party at the polls but otherwise has not been active in politics. His religious faith is that of the German Lutheran church and in its teachings are found the principles which guide his life. His genuine worth is indicated in the fact that those who have known him the longest hold him in the highest esteem. 

T. H. Retherford, who owns and operates a good farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 30, Centerville precinct, was born in Mercer county, Missouri, on the 16th of June, 1855, a son of James and Mary Ann (Cunningham) Retherford, natives of Tennessee, where they were reared and where their marriage occurred. They removed to Mercer county, Missouri, and there the father owned forty acres of land, which he farmed until his death. T. H. Retherford spent his boyhood and youth upon the old homestead in Missouri and received his education in the public schools. 

In 1880 he came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, and after working on a farm as a hired hand for eighteen months began farming on his own account. For about twelve years he kept "bachelor's hall" but at the end of that time was married and brought his bride to the farm which he had purchased in Centerville precinct. The place comprises a quarter section and the fine improvements upon the farm testify to his energy and progressiveness as he has made them all himself. He raises both grain and stock and derives a good income from his well directed labors. 

Mr. Retherford was married in Missouri to Miss Maud Cunningham, a native of Mercer county, and they have become the parents of four children, Etta, Lester, Vernon and Bertha. Mr. Retherford is a stanch republican and loyally supports the candidates and measures of that party at the polls but has never been an aspirant for office. He devotes his entire time and attention to his farming and is meeting with gratifying success in his chosen work. 

John Robertson, a retired agriculturist living in Panama precinct, has resided upon his present farm for forty years. He was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, on the 13th of February, 1845, a son of Gilbert Douglas and Elizabeth (Davidson) Robertson, both natives of Lanarkshire, the former born in May, 1813, and the latter in 1817. The father served an apprenticeship for seven years to the stonemason's trade after completing a common school education and worked at his trade in his native country until 1849. He then crossed the Atlantic. 

Mr. & Mrs. Robertson have had two children: Douglas Gilbert, who was born upon the homestead September 14, 1902, and died in infancy; and Gilbert Douglas, who was born June 21, 1904, and is now operating that place. Mr. Robertson casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of the republican party and for fifteen years served on the school board of district 28. 

He is identified with Panama Lodge, No.220, I. O. O. F., and has been very active in the affairs of that organization, having passed through all the chairs and having served as a delegate to the Grand Lodge of Nebraska. He is widely known throughout the county, and his integrity and enterprise have won him a high place in the estimation of all who know him. 

Charles H. Schlichtemeier, one of the foremost citizens of Olive Branch precinct, is identified with financial interests as cashier of the Farmers State Bank of Kramer, of which institution he was one of the organizers. His birth occurred in Olive Branch precinct, Lancaster county, Nebraska, 0n the 21st of July, 1874, his parents being Frank and Catherine Schlichtemeier, natives of Germany. 

They emigrated to the United States in the years 1865 and 1867 respectively and made their way direct to Nebraska. They were married in Nebraska City in 1867, shortly after the mother's arrival in this country. Frank Schlichtemeier located in Olive Branch precinct, this county, .in 1865, purchasing a relinquishment on a claim and making this his home continuously until 1910, since which time he has lived in Kramer. The period of his residence in Lancaster county covers more than a half century and he has long been numbered among its substantial, respected and representative citizens. 

Charles H. Schlichtemeier acquired his education in the common schools and also spent a term as a student in the Lincoln Business College. He then returned to the home farm and a year later was married. In the spring of 1897 he purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty-acres on section 11, Olive Branch precinct, and started out as an agriculturist on his own account. He still owns that property but operated the place for only nine years and in the spring of 1906 took up his abode in Kramer, where he was prominently identified with the live stock business during the following decade, disposing of his interests in this connection about the 1st of February, 1916. In November, 1911, he entered the Farmers State Bank of Kramer as assistant cashier and one year later was made cashier of the institution, in which capacity he has ably served to the present time. 

He is also one 0£ the stockholders of the bank and his efforts have contributed to its continued growth and success in no inconsiderable degree. In addition to his farm property he owns sixteen town lots in Kramer, as well as his residence property, and he is widely recognized as one 0f the substantial and progressive citizens 0f the community. On the 8th 0f November, 1896, Mr. Schlichtemeier was united in marriage to Miss Anna Freese, 0f Olive Branch precinct. 

He gives his political allegiance to the republican party and is a member 0f the present school board, while for nine years he has acted as treasurer. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the German Lutheran church, to which his wife also belongs. He has lived in Lancaster county from his birth to the present time and his record is that 0f one 0f its worthy and esteemed native sons. 

Eilert Schnieder is numbered among the pioneer settlers of Buda precinct, residing upon the old family homestead on section 30. He was born in the state of Oldenburg, Germany, on the 13th of January 1851, a son of Diedrich and Catherine Schnieder, who are mentioned on another page of this work in connection with the sketch of his brother, Friedrich Schnieder. He began his education in the schools of the fatherland and following his emigration to the new world, continued his studies in public schools of Clayton county, Iowa, and of Lancaster county, Nebraska. He came to the United States in the spring of 1868, a year prior to the arrival of his parents. 

He had an uncle who had preceded him to this country and was then living in Clayton county, Iowa, whither Eilert Schnieder made his way, remaining with his uncle until the arrival of his father and mother. About the 1st of May 1870, they started with ox teams for Lancaster County, Nebraska, where they arrived on the 4th of June, having been four weeks and four days on the journey. The father here secured a homestead claim, embracing the 110th half of the northeast quarter of section 30, and Eilert Schnieder homesteaded the south half of the same quarter. The father died about 1878, and after the children had all reached adult age, Eilert Schnieder purchased the old homestead on which his father had settled and on which he has resided for so many years. 

His entire life has been devoted to agricultural pursuits, and his early training well qualified him to take up the work of this character on his own farm. Mr. Schnieder completed his arrangements for having a home of his own through his marriage in 1882 to Miss Rebecca Prange, a native of Germany, who came to this country with her brother Dick Prange in 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Schnieder have become the parents of twelve children: William, a resident of Buda precinct; Carrie, the wife of Henry Rippen, who is farming near Kramer , Nebraska; Maggie, living in Lincoln; Emma, the wife of Diedrich Mahlman of Olive Branch precinct; Anna, Sophia, Mary and Florence, all at home; Rudolph, living in Clayton county, Iowa; Edwin and Alfred, still at home; and George, who is yet in school.

Mr. Schnieder maintains an independent political course, voting according to the dictates of his judgment rather than a party. He has served in various local offices, including that of assessor, justice of the peace, road overseer and school director. He and his family are members of the Congregational church and are people of highest respectability. He is numbered among the pioneer settlers of the county, having for forty-six years lived within its borders, during which period he has witnessed the greater part of its growth and development as it has taken on all of the accessories and conveniences known to modern life. His efforts have been all element in the agricultural progress of the county and through his close attention to business, his intelligently directed effort and his business integrity he has won success. 

Friedrich Schnieder, a large stock dealer, was one of the pioneers of Buda precinct, and is now a resident of Hallam. He has led a most active life and his indefatigable effort has been crowned with a substantial measure of success. He was born in Germany, July 14, 1854, and is a son of Diedrich and Catherine {Saefken) Schnieder, who came to the United States in May 1869, establishing their home in Clayton county, Iowa. A year later, or in June 1870, they came to Nebraska, settling in Buda precinct, Lancaster county, the father homesteading the north half of the northeast quarter of section 30, while his son, Eilert, homesteaded the south half of the same quarter section. Upon that farm Mr. and Mrs. Diedrich Schnieder remained until called to their final rest. 

Their son, Friedrich Schnieder, was educated in the public schools and on reaching manhood began farming on his own account. In addition to tilling the soil he took up the work of raising thoroughbred Poland China hogs and short- horn cattle, and became one of the well known stock raisers of his part of the state. In 1880 he purchased eighty acres, constituting the north half of the northeast quarter of section 31, Buda precinct, and later he bought the southeast quarter of section 30. In 1892 the railroad was built through that part of the country and the town of Hallam was laid out on his land. Mr. Schnieder still owns one hundred and fifty-five acres adjoining the town site, and in addition his property holdings include one hundred and sixty acres in Morris county, Kansas, and one hundred and sixty acres in Rusk county, Wisconsin. 

In 1910 he left the farm and removed to Hallam, but is still active in the live stock business, with which he has been prominently identified for the past twenty-two years. His business interests have been carefully, systematically and wisely managed, and he has derived there from: a substantial measure of success. In 1881 Mr. Schnieder was united in marriage to Miss Wilhelmina Kelpien of Clayton county. Iowa, and to them have been born nine children, seven of whom are yet living: Diedrich, a resident of Hallam; Henry, who operates the home farm ; Lizzie, the wife of Andy Meyer, a resident farmer of Saltillo precinct ; Friedrich, who carries on farming in Rusk county, Wisconsin; Dora, who is clerking for the firm of Fred Smith & Brother at Lincoln, Nebraska; Louis, a barber of Hallam; and Amelia, the wife of Jarvin Lauterbach, a farmer of Buda precinct. 

Mr. Schnieder gives his political allegiance to the democratic party, yet does not hold himself bound by party ties and votes independently if his judgment so dictates. He has ever been interested in the welfare and progress of his community, has served as chairman of the town board and for more than thirty years has been school treasurer. He is justly counted one of the foremost men of his precinct. He likewise belongs to the German Family Club of Hallam and to the Modern Woodmen camp, while both he and his wife are members of the Congregational church. His life has ever been upright and honorable, commending him to the confidence and goodwill of his fellowmen, and he enjoys the respect and esteem of all with whom business or social relations have brought him in contact. 

Henry Schroeder is a well known and highly respected resident of Emerald, who in earlier years was actively and extensively engaged in farming and still owns and cultivates one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 10, Middle Creek precinct. He was born in Germany in January, 1848, a son of William and Katherine Schroeder, who were also natives of that country. The father was a laborer in Germany. Coming to America about 1870, he settled in Illinois and there resided until 1875, when he removed to Seward county, Nebraska, where he secured a homestead claim of forty acres, upon which he resided for seven or eight years. 

He then came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, and made his home in Middle Creek precinct, continuing his residence with his son Henry until his death, which occurred in 1885. His wife survived for a decade, passing away in 1895. Henry Schroeder was reared and educated in Germany and in 1868, when twenty years of age, came to America. He was employed as a farm hand in Illinois for five years, at the end of which time he began cultivating a rented farm, spending the succeeding eight years in that way. In 1882 he came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, arriving in March, at which period he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 5, Middle Creek precinct. 

He at once began to break the sod and till the fields and carried on the work of further improving and developing that place until 1909. In the meantime he had extended the boundaries of his farm until it comprised three hundred and twenty acres but later sold nearly half of this and now has one hundred and sixty acres on section 10, Middle Creek precinct, three miles north of Emerald. On putting aside active farm work in 1909 he removed to Emerald and purchased a nice home which stands in the midst of two acres of ground. He previously made a specialty of raising Poland China hogs, which constituted an important branch of his work. 

On the 4th of November, 1873, Mr. Schroeder was married to Miss Elizabeth Solfisburg, a daughter of Jacob and Annie Solfisburg, who were natives of Switzerland. They came to America in early life, settling in Oswego, Illinois, and there Mrs. Schroeder was born January 4, 1854. Her father followed farming in that state throughout his remaining days and passed away December 21, 1889, at the age of seventy-four years, while his wife died in 1895. 

Mr. and Mrs. Schroeder have become the parents of eleven children, namely: Edward, who was born June 19, 1876, and died June 9, 1915; Jacob, who was born December 22, 1877, and died in August, 1910; H. Fred, born June 10, 1879; Robert, born May 7, 1881; Mattie, February 25, 1883; Henry, June 15, 1885; Amanda, March 22, 1887; Lizzie, January 3, 1889; Albert, March 17,1892; and two who died in infancy. 

The religious faith of the family is that of the Lutheran church and in his political belief Mr. Schroeder is a republican. He was elected for six successive years as justice of the peace but never qualified. It was the wish of his fellow townsmen that he should serve in that office, knowing how loyal he is to duty and how impartial in his opinions. For many years he was school director and the cause of education has found in him a stalwart champion. 

Mr. & Mrs. F. Charles Severin

Hon. F. Charles Severin, former member of the state legislature and a retired farmer living in Hallam, was born in Germany, on the 7th of August, 1848, a son of John C. and Elizabeth (Lindekugel) Severin, who came to the United States in the summer of 1856, casting in their lot with the pioneer settlers of Clayton county, Iowa. In the spring of 1869 they became pioneers of Lancaster county, Nebraska, settling in the Buda precinct, where the father homesteaded eighty acres. He afterward extended the boundaries of his farm by the purchase of other land, upon which he lived to the time of his death. 

F. Charles Severin was reared on the old homestead in Iowa and acquired his education in the public schools nearby and also in a night school in Chicago. He went to that city when about eighteen years of age and there secured a position as clerk in a mercantile establishment. It was during this period that he attended night school, and after several months spent in that city he returned home. In the spring of 1869 he left Iowa and came to this county, where his parents arrived some months later. He took up a pre-emption claim of eighty acres in Buda precinct, and after perfecting his title to that property, he obtained a homestead claim of eighty acres adjoining. He afterward purchased other land and developed an excellent farm, which he continued to cultivate and improve until 1913, when he put aside the active work of the fields and removed to Hallam. 

He retained the ownership of that property, however, until 1916, when he sold out. He still has eighty acres in Buda precinct and three hundred and twenty acres in Chase county, Nebraska, and from his farm holdings derives a substantial annual income. In all his farm work he was practical and progressive, converting his land into richly productive fields, from which he annually gathered good harvesting. In 1872 Mr. Severin was married to Miss Gesine Albers, of Buda precinct, and to them have been born twelve children, nine of whom are yet living : William, a resident of Lincoln; Minnie, the wife of William C. Schultz of Fremont, Nebraska ; Richard, also residing in Lincoln; Carl, who is upon his father's farm in this county; Albert, of St. Joseph, Missouri; Hubert, a farmer, of Idaho; Fred, a carpenter of Hallam; George, who is operating a grain elevator in Hallam; and Edna, the wife of Glen Porter of Lincoln, Nebraska. 

In his political views Mr. Severin has ever been an earnest republican. He served as assessor and justice of the peace for several years in the early days and for more than twenty years was a member of the school board, doing everything in his power to advance the interests of education in this locality. In 1889 he was elected to represent his district in the state legislature and in 1891 was returned to the office, serving with credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents, his course being characterized by marked devotion to the welfare of the state. 

Fraternally he has been connected with Friendship Lodge, No.47, I. O. O. F., of Firth, for more than thirty-five years, and he belongs to the American Order of Protection. He is one of the well known and highly esteemed citizens of Lancaster county, having labored in many ways, and most effectively for the interests and up building of this section. He has been actuated at all times by a public spirited devotion to the general good and whether in office or out of it is a most loyal citizen. 

Jerome Shamp, president of the Shamp Implement Company, was born at Georgetown, Defiance county, Ohio, May 14, 1847, a son of N. B. T. and Matilda (Wilby) Shamp, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Muskingum county, Ohio. The mother died when her son Jerome was but six years of age and he was a little lad of but eight years when he lost his father, at which time, thrown upon the mercies of a cold world, he was bound out and at the age of fourteen years he ran away. 

He first went to Toledo, Ohio, and later to South Bend, Indiana, and there, when not yet sixteen years of age, he enlisted for service in the Civil war, joining Company H of the Twelfth Indiana Cavalry in December, 1862. He participated in all the raids between Atlanta and Nashville and at the latter place his horse fell upon him, injuring his knee so seriously that he was discharged for disability in July 1865. With the exception of four years when he was first married he has always been obliged to use a crutch and cane in order to assist him in getting around, so badly was he injured. 

On the 6th of June, 1866, Mr. Shamp arrived in Lancaster county, Nebraska, where lived his two uncles, P. S. Shamp and Peter Pickle. He secured a homestead claim in what became Centerville precinct and with characteristic energy began the improvement of his eighty-acre tract of land, to which he afterward added forty acres. Thereon he engaged in general farming until 1876, when he removed to Lincoln and turned his attention to the implement business, becoming a member of the firm of Dawson, Shamp & Company. Various changes in the partnership have led to the adoption successively of the firm names of Wallingford, Shamp & Company, Doolittle, Shamp & Company and Wallingford & Shamp. 

At length the business was incorporated under the name of the Shamp Implement Company, with Jerome Shamp as the president, and for forty years he has been continuously engaged in business in Lincoln, one of its oldest, most prominent and, most highly respected merchants, his name becoming a synonym in trade circles of this city for integrity and enterprise, In addition to his interests as president of the Shamp Implement Company, Mr. Shamp became 9ne of the organizers of the Lancaster Milk Producers Association and is chairman of its board of directors. 

In 1870, in Lancaster county, Mr. Shamp was united in marriage to Miss Jane Wallingford, a native of Shelby county, Ohio, and a daughter of Richard and Eliza (Allen) Wallingford, who were also born in the Buckeye state. In 1855 they removed to Decatur county, Iowa, and three years later came to Lancaster county, Nebraska, settling on a farm six miles southeast of the present site of Lincoln, where they spent the remainder of their lives. Richard Wallingford died at the age 0£ sixty-seven years, while his wife passed away twenty- eight years ago, the county thus losing two 0£ its honored early settlers. 

Mr. Wallingford was prominently connected with business affairs here in early times and became well-to-do. His daughter, Mrs. Shamp, has probably been a resident of this county for a longer period than any other of its citizens and there is no phase of its history or its development with which she is not familiar, and her reminiscences of the early days are most interesting. 

By her marriage she has become the mother of seven children, namely: Bertwell, of Lincoln, who is married and has seven children; Eliza May, the wife of Adolf Weinberger, a merchant of Lincoln, by whom she has one child; Maude M., who is the wife of E. T. Peters of Lincoln and the mother 0f one child; Claude, who is married and is a member of the Lincoln fire department; Malvin, a resident of Lincoln, who is married and has one child; Ole, of Lincoln, who is married and has one child; and Arthur, at home. 

Theirs is a most notable family record, for among the seven children and eleven grandchildren there has been not a single death in forty-six years. From the time of his arrival in this county Mr. Shamp has taken a most active and helpful part in promoting all the interests which have been of vital significance to the community. His fellow townsmen, appreciative of his worth and ability, have called him to various positions of honor and trust and. in 1887 the republican party, of which he has long been a stalwart advocate, elected him to the state legislature. 

During his term as a member of the general assembly he served on the railroad committee and was chairman of the committee of the whole, having charge of the railroad committee between the house and the senate. He was also chairman of the appropriations committee. He fought hard to secure the location of the Armour packing plant in Lincoln but it was taken to South Omaha. In 1892 he was a candidate for congress against William Jennings Bryan. Until coming to Lancaster county Mr. Shamp had had no opportunity to attend school and his education has all been self-acquired, but he has been a close student of men and events, watching the signs of the times and giving deep and earnest consideration to civic and industrial questions. 

He has thoroughly informed himself upon many vital problems and has become a very able speaker and writer. He is opposed to graft and "competitivism" of any kind and he applies these rules in the conduct of his own business, giving one price to all. For seven consecutive years he was president of the Western Implement Dealers Association, which indicates his high standing in trade circles, and he was highly complimented for the addresses which he made at the annual meetings of that organization, showing that he was acquainted with every branch of the trade and possessed an initiative spirit that wrought along new and progressive lines for the benefit of the business. 

His commercial and public interests have brought him a personal acquaintance with many men of prominence in the country. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias and to the Grand Army of the Republic, proudly wearing the little bronze button that proclaims him a representative of the latter organization and indicates the fact that he was loyal to the country during the darkest hour in her history. 

Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist church. In business he has prospered, becoming a well to do man, and he now occupies a beautiful home at No.1636 South Seventeenth street, surrounded by all of the comforts and many of the luxuries of life, all of which have come to him as the legitimate outcome of well defined effort intelligently directed. 

Among the successful farmers of Centerville precinct is Edom Sittler, who owns and operates one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 7. His birth occurred in Adams county, Illinois, on the 16th of March, 1876, and he is a son of John A. and Caroline A. (Volrath) Sittler, the former of whom is deceased, while the latter is now living at No. 1134 Plum street, Lincoln. Edom Sittler was reared upon the family homestead in Centerville precinct, He accompanied his parents on their removal to this county in 1877. He is indebted for his education to the public schools and for his knowledge of agricultural methods to his father. When twenty-one years of age he began farming on his own account and now owns a quarter section of land which formerly belonged to his father . 

The farm is situated on section 7, Centerville precinct, and it compares favorably in its improvements with other places in the locality. He raises both grain and stock and receives a good income from his farming operation. In 1902 Mr. Sittler was married to Miss Emma Grimm, a native of Lancaster county and a daughter of Henry Grimm, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Sittler have two children, namely, Evelyn and Melvin. Mr. Sittler is a republican in politics and is deeply interested in the general welfare but has not been an aspirant for office. 

He holds membership in the Wesley chapel and the teachings of the Methodist church guide his conduct in his various relations of life. He is in comfortable circumstances, and his home is modem and attractive. He values his material prosperity but values still more abundantly the confidence in which he is held by all who know him. 

John A. Sittler, deceased, became a resident of Lancaster county in 1877, and for almost three decades thereafter was continuously engaged in farming. He was born in Germany, August 1, 1840, a son of John Y. and Elizabeth ( Glaser) Sittler, who came to the United States when their son John was but four years of age. They settled in Ohio and the father was employed at farm work there, but in 1850 removed with his family to Adams county, Illinois, and engaged in farming on his own account near Quincy, where both he and his wife spent their remaining days. 

John A. Sittler attended a parochial school of Quincy and was reared to the occupation of farming, which he took up as a life work. He began cultivating land in partnership with a brother, and remained in Illinois until 1877, when he came to this county, which was then largely a frontier region. He homesteaded in Centerville precinct and ten years later purchased another farm, which adjoined his original tract, thereon residing until 1906. Throughout the entire period his time was given to the development and cultivation of his land and his untiring industry and perseverance brought good results. At length he put aside business cares and lived retired in the capital throughout his remaining days, his death occurring there on the 4th of July, 1915. 

On the 20th of November, 1870, in Quincy, Illinois, Mr. Sittler was united in marriage to Miss Caroline Vollrath, a native 0f Quincy, and a daughter 0f John and Mary Vollrath, who were born in Prussia, Germany, and became early settlers 0£ Quincy, Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Sittler had the following children : John A., born February 29, 1872; Obed, whose birth occurred April 1, 1873 ; Edom, whose natal day was March 16, 1876; Julie , born July 8, 1879; Emma, whose birth occurred December 1, 1882; John Carl, born June 7, 1887; and Anna S., born October 16, 1890. 

Mrs. Sittler and her youngest daughter reside in a comfortable home which was erected by the husband and father at No. 1134 Peach street. He attended the Methodist Episcopal church and he gave his political allegiance to the republican party. 

Julius Charles Imanuel Sittler, of Centerville precinct, who has one of the best equipped dairy farms in Lancaster County, was born in Adams County, Illinois, on the 21st of March 1873, a son of John Julius Sittler, also a native of Adams County. In 1877 the family came to Lancaster County, and the father engaged in farming here until 1888, when he removed to Randolph County, Missouri, where he farmed until his demise, in 1898. Although he devoted his life agricultural pursuits, he was educated for the ministry and was for many years a local preacher in the Methodist Episcopal church. He married Charlotte Bicker, a native of Germany, and her death occurred in Missouri. 

To them were born three children: Julius Charles Imanuel; W. D., a Methodist minister at Portland, Oregon; and Clara, the wife of Carl Kester, a resident of South Dakota. J. C. I. Sittler was four years of age when brought by his parents to Lancaster county, and received his education here. In 1888 he accompanied the family to Missouri and a few years later began farming in that state. He became the owner of land there and gained a gratifying income from his well directed labors. In 1903, however, he returned to Lancaster county, and purchased an eighty acre tract on section 17, Centerville precinct. It was an improved farm but the buildings were old and in bad condition and in fact the whole place was badly run down. 

He has erected a substantial and attractive residence, an up-to-date dairy barn and a sixty-ton silo and has installed a complete water system. He also has a modern dairy house equipped with a power separator and churn and in all of his work uses up-to-date methods and lays the greatest stress upon absolute cleanliness. He has a herd of high grade Jersey cows and derives a good income from the sale of butter. Mr. Sittler was united in marriage in 1896 to Miss Amelia Krapp, who was born in Quincy, Illinois, and is a daughter of Jacob and Mary (Rapp) Krapp, natives respectively of Germany and Illinois. 

The father was an efficient and progressive agriculturist. Both parents are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Sittler have been born two children, Esther and Etta, both at home. Mr. Sittler supports the candidates and measures of the republican party at the polls but has never been an office seeker. He holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal church and strives to conform his life to its teachings. He has little time for outside activities as the conduct of his dairy requires practically his entire attention but he is not lacking in public spirit and supports movements seeking the general welfare.

Benjamin F. Smith, living on section 32, Yankee Hill township, was born in Blair county, Pennsylvania, in November 1839, a son of Eli and Eby (Smith) Smith, who were natives of Pennsylvania and of English descent. The father engaged in woolen manufacturing in his native state for many years, but subsequently purchased land and devoted his remaining days to farming, his death occurring in 1886. For two years he had survived his wife, who died in 1884. Benjamin F. Smith was reared and educated in Pennsylvania and remained with his parents until 1861 when, aroused by a spirit of patriotism, he enlisted as a defender of the Union cause, joining Company D, of the Third Pennsylvania infantry with which he served for ninety days. 

Later he served for six months in the Second Pennsylvania Cavalry and was afterward connected for one year with the Thirteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry. After his final discharge he returned home where he remained until 1868 when he came to this county, walking from Nebraska City to Lincoln. The work of development and improvement had scarcely been begun at that time. This was a frontier region and but few settlers had ventured within the present borders of the county. Mr. Smith secured a claim on the 9th of May, 1868, entering eighty acres on section 32, Yankee Hill precinct. With characteristic energy he began to break the sod and till the fields, and he also set out many trees and otherwise carried on the work of improvement. 

Subsequently he purchased forty acres more and since that time he has lived continuously upon the place which is now his home. This covers a period of forty-eight years and there are now few residents of Lancaster county who have so long continued upon one place or even within the borders of the county. His farm is a nicely improved property and its careful management has brought to him gratifying success. In former years he was engaged very extensively in raising cattle and hogs but is now largely retired. On the 25th of December 1865, Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Harnish, a daughter of Daniel and Susan (Schultz) Harnish, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. The father was a shoemaker by trade and afterward became a farmer. He spent his entire life in Pennsylvania where he passed away in 1892. He had long survived his wife, who died in 1856. 

Mrs. Smith was born in the Keystone state October 18, 1845, and by her marriage became the mother of seven children: Eli Martin, who is engaged in farming in Yankee Hill township; Daniel L., who is cultivating his father's farm ; Ida, the wife of James C, Miller, residing in Virginia; Marion C., the wife of Wallace Angelo, a resident of Idaho; Carrie, the wife of George Williams, a farmer of Yankee Hill township; Emma B., the wife of Gordon Angelo, of Lincoln; and John Q., who died in 1872 at the age of two years. 

In politics Mr. Smith is a republican and for many years served as a delegate to the conventions of the party. He has occupied the position of road supervisor, was school treasurer for four terms and for twenty years one of the school directors. He is connected with the Dunkard or Brethren church and he is much interested in all those forces which work for the development and up building of the community along moral as well as material lines. His life has been well spent and those who know him esteem him highly because of the many sterling traits of character which he has displayed. 

J. Harry Smith, an up-to-date and prosperous farmer of Denton precinct, was born in Pennsylvania on the 9th of May, 1861, a son of John and Mary Frances (McDonald) Smith, the former born in England and the latter in Pennsylvania. In 1850 the father came to the United States and located in Delaware county, Pennsylvania, where his marriage occurred and where he resided until 1884, when he removed with his family to Lincoln, Nebraska. He soon afterward rented a tract of land east of Lincoln, in Lancaster county, and in 1889 purchased three quarter sections of land in Denton precinct, which are still in the possession of the family. 

He passed away at the home of his son J. Harry on the homestead in 1910, but his wife is still living. He was a local preacher in the Methodist church, and his life was a strong influence for righteousness and moral advancement. To him and his wife were born four children, namely: Ravil, who is a Methodist minister stationed in Philadelphia : Mrs. Elizabeth Gleason, of Lincoln; J. Harry; and J. Howard, who is farming land adjoining the homestead. Ravil, the oldest son, remained in Pennsylvania when the family came to Nebraska.

 J. Harry Smith has always had charge of the operation of the homestead. He now holds title to part of the place, and the value of his farm is greatly enhanced by its splendid buildings, all of which he has erected. He raises both grain and stock, and his thorough knowledge of agricultural pursuits, his integrity and his sound business judgment insure his continued success. Mr. Smith was married in Denton to Miss Sadie M. Hocking, a daughter of James Hocking, deceased, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. 

To this marriage have been born six children, as follows: Francis E., Elizabeth R., Ravil, Margery, John Ernest and J. Harry, Jr. Mr. Smith casts his ballot in support of the candidates and measure~ of the republican party and has served acceptably as school director. His religious faith is indicated by the fact that he holds membership with the Methodist church at Denton, and his conduct is guided by the teachings of that organization. He is respected for his ability and enterprise, esteemed for his probity, and his personal characteristics are such that he has gained the warm friendship of many. 

Rev. John Smith was born near Scarborough, Yorkshire, England in 1823. In 1850 John, his wife, and their 3-year-old son, Ravil, left Yorkshire, England, on a ship sailing to America. John brought with him a letter of introduction to the American Church. John's ancestors tell that the trip that was to take three weeks became a twelve-week trip. 

They ran low of food and drinking water on the ship. It was especially hard on John's wife, as she was pregnant with their second child. Upon arriving in America, John found a rooming house for the family and he left for a few days to find work. When he returned he found his wife had given birth prematurely and she and the baby had died. 

John and his son settled in Pennsylvania. In 1860 John married Mary Jane Frances McDonald. John and Mary Jane Frances had three children: Joseph Harry, John Howard, and Mary Elizabeth. The Smith children grew up in the rural Philadelphia area and went to school there. John was active in the churches in the Philadelphia area. He became a Deacon in 1870 and an Elder in 1876. John was with the Philadelphia Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church and as Deacon and Elder he was qualified to administer the Sacraments and Ordinances "to feed the flock of Christ." 

When Joseph Harry Smith was in his early 20's, he decided he wanted to come west and farm. He left Philadelphia and came to Lincoln in 1884. He rented a farm near 60th and Vine area and began farming. The rest of the Smith family, except Ravil, soon moved to Lincoln, also; where they lived for five years. In 1889, Joseph Harry Smith bought a farm northwest of Denton. John and Mary also bought a home two and one-half miles northwest of Denton. 

In the 1890's John Smith was conducting church services every Sunday in the school at Denton. Under his guidance and care, the congregation grew. The people attending decided to build a church. Rev. John Smith was elected President of the Board of Trustees on March 25, 1893. On June 12, 1893, people gathered for the ground breaking for the new church building. June 22, 1893, people gathered to lay the cornerstone for the Methodist Episcopal Church with Rev. John Smith officiating. The Denton Methodist Church was dedicated August 20, 1893, by Rev. Ravil Smith 

of Philadelphia. Assisting him were his father, Rev. John Smith, Rev. J. W. Embree, and Rev. Ingham of Emerald. Rev. Samuel Felton of Olney Church in Philadelphia made a gift of a 36-inch bell to the church, which is still in use. The church was dedicated August 20, 1893. 

Rev. John and Mary, and their sons Joseph and John remained in the Denton area. John remained active in the Denton Methodist Church. Rev. John Smith died January 28, 1911 at the age of 87. He died in his home two and one-half miles northwest of Denton. Mary died March 25, 1922, at the age of 83, in their family home. Ravil felt Mary was his true mother and came out from Philadelphia to preach her funeral sermon. Both 

Rev. John Smith and his wife Mary are buried in Sunnyview Cemetery in Denton. The cemetery is a community cemetery that is located next to the Denton United Methodist Church. Rev. John and Mary Smith were well known in the community, being known best as "Father Smith" and "Mother Smith." 

August 19, 1984, a United Methodist Church Commemorative Marker was placed on his grave to recognize his valuable contributions to the life of the church.

Reuben Springer, cashier of the Farmers Bank of Bennet, has had much experience in banking and has proved thoroughly efficient in directing the affairs of that institution. His birth occurred in Indiana on the 8th of March, 1876, and he is a son of John and Mary (Faust) Springer, natives of Ohio, who in 1848 removed to Indiana, where they lived until called by death. To them were born ten children, of whom six are living. Reuben Springer was reared in his native state and received a good common school education. During his boyhood and youth he also assisted his father and thus gained valuable training in habits of industry.

When twenty-one years of age he left home and came to Nebraska, where he engaged in teaching school for two years. In 1900, however, he entered a business college at Lincoln and after completing a course there was bookkeeper for the Lincoln Furniture Company for three years. Later he was employed in the City National Bank of Lincoln as teller for seven and a half years and at the end of that time was appointed state bank examiner, which important office he filled for two years. He then came to Bennet and was for two years vice president of the Farmers Bank but since 1916 has been cashier of the institution and has had the direction of its policy. 

He realizes that the first consideration in successful banking is the security of the funds of the depositors and stockholders but he also understands the function of the bank in promoting the business development of its community and is as liberal in the extension of credit as he can be with safety. The bank holds the confidence of the public and the volume of its business is increasing from year to year.

On the 28th of November, 1906, occurred the marriage of Mr. Springer to Miss Ena Harris, who was born in Lincoln. She is a daughter of Myron and Emma (Ormsby) Harris, the former now deceased, while the latter is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Springer have three sons. Myron W., Orion O. and Harold W., and they own the home which they occupy. 

William Sprong who passed away in 1910, when seventy-six years of age, was the pioneer dairyman of Lincoln, establishing a milk route here in 1864. Before coming to Nebraska he had been engaged in whaling on the Arctic ocean for twenty-two years and had many exciting adventures in the north seas. A native of New York, he was born in Norwich in October, 1834, and was reared and received his education in his native town. When sixteen years of age he ran away from home and on reaching New York shipped on board a whaler as cabin boy. For twenty-two years he followed the sea and during that period made four trips around the world. 

During the greater part of that time he was harpooner on a whaling vessel and developed great skill in the performance of his difficult task. At length, as his eyes were giving out, he quit the sea and came to Lincoln, Nebraska, where in 1864 he opened a dairy business, the first in the city. He bought and sold milk and cream and proved so successful in the management of his business affairs that after fifteen years he was able to retire from active life with a competence that insured him comfort. He continued to reside in Lincoln and passed away there in 1910. Mr. Sprong was married, on the 6th of October, 1897, to Mrs. Otto Webb. Her father, Henry Witte, was born in Germany, but emigrated to America and settled in Clayton county, Iowa, at an early day. 

He purchased a farm and subsequently bought two additional farms in Clayton county. In 1863 he came to Lincoln and opened a grocery store at the corner of Fourteenth and O streets, retaining the ownership of that business after turning his attention to real estate dealing. At the time of his death he owned forty-two pieces of property in Lincoln, a section of land near Tecumseh, Nebraska ; a section near Hallam, this state; four hundred and eighty acres on section 27, Stockton precinct, Lancaster county; a section and an additional forty acres near Martell, and sixteen lots in Nebraska City. 

He was united in marriage in Clayton county, Iowa, to Miss Dora Werger, and to them were born twelve children, of whom five are still living. Their daughter Emma was born near Garner Willow, Clayton county, Iowa, on the 31st of December, 1855, but was reared and educated Lincoln. She was here married in 1872 to Otto Webb, who followed carpentering for some time, but subsequently engaged in farming near Waverly, and still later on section 26, Stockton precinct. 

To this marriage were born four children. Minnie, who is thirty-two years of age, gave her hand in marriage to L. O. Bluhm, a farmer operating one hundred and twenty acres on section 26, Stockton precinct. They have four children, Louisa, Melvin, Marvin and  Wilma. Clara, thirty years of age, is the wife of Everett Rupert, who is engaged in the moving picture business at David City, Nebraska; Myrtle, who is twenty-six years old, resides with her mother on the home farm. Emma, who is twenty-four years of age, is the wife of William C. Werger, a farmer living near Martell, this state. 

Mr. Sprong supported the republican party at the polls but was not active in public affairs. Fraternally he was a Mason, belonging to a lodge in New York. His religious faith was that of the Lutheran church. During the many years of his residence in this city he gained a wide acquaintance and there were many who sincerely mourned his demise. His wife owns three residences in Lincoln, which she rents, and also has one hundred and twenty acres of land near the city, on which she lives and the operation of which she supervises. She has seen much of the development of Lancaster county, as there were still many evidences of pioneer life here when she came. She has at all times performed well the duties that fell to her hands.

Edward H. Stutheit, who is residing on a farm on two hundred acres on section 34, Centerville precinct, was born in Clayton county, Iowa, March 20, 1863, but was brought to Lancaster county by his parents, Henry and Caroline (Merker) Stutheit, when four years of age. An account of their lives appears elsewhere in this work. He grew to manhood upon the farm which he is now operating and received his education in the public schools of Centerville precinct. He was early trained in agricultural work and has devoted his life to farming, which he has found both profitable and congenial. For the first eight years after his marriage he lived on one hundred and twenty acres belonging to his father and located south of the home farm, but at the end of that time he took up his residence on the homestead where he has since remained. 

He has prospered financially and now owns his farm which comprises two hundred acres of fertile and well improved land. He has erected a good house, barns and other buildings, and he keeps everything in excellent repair. He not only raises the usual crops but also feeds stock for the market and derives a good income from his well directed labor. Mr. Stutheit was married in 1884 to Miss Louisa Krull, who passed away leaving five children: Harry, now a resident of Lincoln; Nora, the wife of Frank Klose, of South Dakota; Phoebe, the wife of Elmer Freye, of Montana ; Caroline, who married John Bachman of Lincoln; and Joseph, also in Lincoln. 

In 1913 Mr. Stutheit was again married, Miss Edna Jones becoming his wife, and they have two children, Belda and Ethel. Mr. Stutheit is a stanch advocate of republican principles and can be depended upon to support the candidates and measures of that party at the polls. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Sprague and their influence is always given on the side of moral advancement. He has resided in this county since pioneer days and has been a witness of the greater part of the wonderful development which. has transferred a frontier region into a prosperous and highly developed agricultural section. His genuine worth is attested by the fact that those who have known him most intimately since boyhood are his closest friends.

Edmund L. Temple is now living retired from active agricultural pursuits, although still residing on his farm on section 9, Yankee Hill precinct. He was born in Winnebago county, Wisconsin in 1851. His mother died when he was but three weeks old, at which time he was taken to the home of an uncle, J. H. Fritts, of De Kalb county, Illinois, by whom he was reared to manhood there receiving all the love, care and protection that a parent lavishes on a son. His father followed the 49ers to the California gold fields. where he kept up a regular correspondence with his people in the east and after "making his stake" started on the return journey but was never afterward heard from, and it is supposed that he was either killed by the Indians as he made his way across the plains, or was murdered for his money by one of the many bands of highwaymen who then infested that section of the country. 

In early manhood Edmund L. Temple was married in De Kalb county, Illinois, to Miss Corinthia Brown, a native of La Salle county, Illinois. They began their domestic life upon a farm in De Kalb county, where they resided until 1880, when Mr. Temple and his uncle, J. H. Fritts, removed to Salisbury, Missouri, where they remained for three years. In 1883 they came with their respective families to Lancaster county, Nebraska, and Mr. Fritts purchased the farm which Mr. Temple now owns. The former did not like this section of the country, however, and a month or two later, leaving his nephew on the farm, he returned to Illinois. 

Three years passed, however, and he again came to Lancaster county, where he continued to reside until his death. From the time of his arrival Edmund L. Temple concentrated his energies upon agricultural pursuits and was actively engaged in farming until 1909, when he rented his land, although he still maintains his residence on the old homestead.

Fraternally Mr. Temple is connected with Lancaster Lodge, No.54. F. &. A. M., while his wife belongs to Electa Chapter, No.8, 0. E. S. He is also affiliated with Baird Lodge, No.54, K. P., of Rokeby, Nebraska, and he and his wife are consistent and faithful members of the Congregational church. In politics he has always been a republican but never an aspirant for office. He is one of the highly esteemed citizens of Lancaster county, his life being well spent, characterized by devotion to duty in every relation. He deserves much credit for what he has accomplished, as his success has come to him as the reward of earnest, persistent and intelligently directed effort. 

Calvin Ward was a practical and enterprising farmer of Waverly precinct, and his demise was deeply regretted by all who knew him. His birth occurred in Virginia, on the 25th of May, 1831, and his parents were Jacob and Nancy (Landreth) Ward, who emigrated from the Old Dominion to southern Illinois where the mother passed away. About 1868 the father came to Nebraska, but subsequently returned to the Prairie state where his death occurred. Calvin Ward attended the public school but his education was limited as he had to devote the greater part of his time in his youth to assisting his father. 

Before reaching his majority he left home and began working for others, carefully saving his money with the aim of purchasing land. At length he became the owner of a good farm in southern Illinois, but in 1868 disposed of that property and became a resident of Cass county, Nebraska. The following spring he located upon a farm in this county and in 1870 homesteaded a tract of land in Waverly precinct. He then homesteaded an eighty acre tract of land on section 25, but after living there for about ten years and making a number of improvements upon the place, found that it was within the limits of the railroad grant and was compelled to purchase it from the railroad.

He continued to reside there during his remaining years and concentrated his energy upon the cultivation of the soil and care of his livestock. He was industrious, followed practical methods and received a good income from his labors. He passed away on the 24th of December, 1904. Mr. Ward was married, on the 23rd of August, 1857, to Miss Sarah Jane Debard, whose birth occurred in Warren county, Indiana, on the 11th of March, 1839, and whose parents were George and Martha (Brush) Debard, the former a native of Tennessee and the latter of Kentucky. However, their marriage occurred in Indiana. The father engaged in farming until the outbreak of the Civil war when he became a member of an Illinois regiment of volunteer infantry and. went with his command to the front. 

He took part in much hard fighting and died while in the service in Tennessee, on the 4th of February, 1885. Mrs. Debard resided for some years in Nebraska but passed away near Manning, Iowa. To Mr. and Mrs. Ward were born nine children, as follows: George Thomas, whose birth occurred on the 12th of September, 1858, and who is now engaged in farming and blacksmithing at Pretty Rock, North Dakota; Albert, who was born December 24, 1860, and is engaged in farming the home place; Solomon Elmer, who was born on the 3rd of August, 1865, and died on the 12th of February, 1879; Nancy Caroline, who was born December 22, 1866, and is now the widow of William Kent, a Civil war veteran, her home being at Eagle, Nebraska; Martha Ann, who was born on the 24th of June, 1868, and died in January, 1880; William Jackson, who was born on the 9th of March, 1871, and is now farming in Stevens Creek precinct; Mary Della, who was born on the 6th of June, 1873, and died in January, 1880; Samuel Wilson, who was born February 3, 1876, and is farming in Stevens Creek precinct; and Silas Frank, who was born on the 28th of August, 1878, and is assisting his brother Albert on the homestead. 

Mr. Ward gave his political allegiance to the democratic party and in religious faith was a Methodist. He did not take a very active part in public affairs, preferring to concentrate his attention upon his agricultural interests and in so doing he not only gained a competence but also contributed to the development of his township along the lines of farming and stock raising. He was a man of sterling worth and his memory is still honored by his friends. His wife survives and resides upon the homestead. 

Copyright  2011
Webmaster - Kathie Harrison
Denton Community Historical Society of Nebraska