Foster County North Dakota Genealogy

Foster County North Dakota Genealogy

About the North Dakota GenWeb Project

  • Foster County Research Sources

  • Index to "Cemeteries of Foster County, ND", 1997

  • North Dakota State Death Index (New)

  • Indexes to pre 1925 North Dakota marriages--some online some not

  • link to Veteran burials and Nationwide Gravesite Locator

  • Link to Norway Death Index for 1995-2000

  • 1883 Census Foster County Veterans & Widows

  • Index to and scans of 1880 U.S. Census for Foster County, ND

  • 1900 & 1910 U.S. Census Scans for Foster County, ND

  • link to North Dakota censuses on line--use back key to return here.

  • county BLM records of homesteads etc.

  • link to US Bureau of Land Management--homesteads etc.

  • North Dakota Geographic Information--maps and all kinds of ND data bases

  • Foster County Queries

  • Foster County Populated Places and Township names

  • BLM Bureau of Land Management Foster County land records

  • James River Genealogy Club Page

  • 1983 Foster County History book for sale at only $5--see the bottom of the "for sale" part of the JRGC page

  • Index to J. O. Robertson and Evans & Knott Funeral Home Records 1903-1969 (on RRVGS page--use Back key to return here)

  • latest Survey of ND Cemetery Books in Print

  • Index to North Dakota entries in the 1885 Dakota Territory Census

  • Index to North Dakota Naturalization Papers

  • Index to ND Published Biographies 185,000 biographies from 651 publications, at NDIRS,

  • link to Western ND Professional Genealogist Home Page

  • link to the North Dakota State Genealogical Society

  • great Germans from Russia links

  • link to Mobeck,Rood,Vick surnames on Trail Co. page.

  • Goodrich Family site--link added by their request

  • History of Foster County

    Foster County was established by the Territorial Legislature on January 4, 1873. The county was named to honor James F. Foster, the Commissioner of Immigration for Dakota Territory. It was originally a rectangular block of 42 townships. The county was not organized until the fall of 1883. Various townships were assigned to Griggs, Nelson, and Eddy Counties until at the present time Foster contains 18 townships. The county seat,and principal city, is Carrington, population 2267. A few early settlers arrived before the 1880's but many arrived after the origin of the county.

    Back to North Dakota GenWeb Project

    You are our [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor since 4 Jul 1997 -- thanks for stopping by!

    This page last updated 24 April 2017