Eddy County North Dakota Genealogy

Eddy County North Dakota Genealogy

About the North Dakota GenWeb Project

  • Eddy County Research Sources

  • Eddy County Queries

  • Eddy County Published Resources and Lookup Volunteers

  • Townships & Populated Places

  • Index to 1974 Eddy County cemetery book

  • Index to "Cemeteries of Eddy County, North Dakota", 1998,

  • Indexes to pre 1925 North Dakota marriages--some online

  • North Dakota State Death Index (New)

  • link to Veteran burials and Nationwide Gravesite Locator

  • Link to Norway Death Index for 1995-2000

  • latest Survey of ND Cemetery Books in Print

  • James River Genealogy Club Page

  • Index to North Dakota entries in the 1885 Dakota Territory Census (site closed until early spring 2014)

  • 1900 & 1910 US Census Scans for Eddy County

  • link to North Dakota censuses on line--use back key to return here.

  • Index to North Dakota Naturalization Papers (site closed until early spring 2014)

  • North Dakota Geographic Information--maps and all kinds of ND data bases

  • link to US Bureau of Land Management--homesteads etc.

  • Index to ND Published Biographies 185,000 biographies from 651 publications, at NDIRS

  • link to Western ND Professional Genealogist Home Page

  • link to the North Dakota State Genealogical Society

  • great Germans from Russia links

  • Eddy County Databases

  • See our cemetery index

    History of Foster County

    The area that is Eddy County was first a part of Pembina County. Following the later establishment of counties in 1873 it became part of Foster County and its history is politically mixed with that of Griggs and Wells counties. On April 27, 1885 after a protest election, Foster was divided to form Eddy County, with each county consisting of eighteen townships. New Rockford, population 1604, continues to be the county seat. The present courthouse was built in 1899. "North Dakota Place Names" shows that Eddy County was named for E. B. Eddy, founder of the First National Bank of Fargo.

    Back to North Dakota GenWeb Project

    \ This page last updated 11 June 2016