Korean War Monument Dedication

Korean War
Veterans Memorial

They made the ultimate sacrifice that we might live, as we do today, in a country free of oppression and fear. If we fail to honor them for that sacrifice we do not deserve the blessings of freedom that they died to secure for us.

Dedication of the Korean War Memorial

July 27, 2003
Haywood County Courthouse
2:00 P.M.


Introduction and Welcome:
Master of Ceremonies--Veteran of the Korean War
Quartermaster VFW Post 5202
Mr. Earl Caldwell

Chaplain VFW Post 5202
Mr. Don Wells

Posting of Colors:
Tuscola High School ROTC

Introduction of Guest Speakers

Guest Speaker:
Korean War Veteran
VFW State Legislative Officer
Mr. Zeb Alley

Guest Speaker:
Korean War Veteran
Past President of Chosen Few
Mr. Win Scott

Guest Speaker:
Korean War Veteran
Mr. Lewis Green

Unveiling of the Monument:
President of the American Legion Ladies Auxiliary
Ms. Loretta Russell
President of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary
Ms. Diane Ford

Laying of the Wreath:
American Legion Ladies Auxiliary Chaplain
Ms. Donna Wagner
VFW Ladies Auxiliary Chaplain
Ms. Ann Palmer

21-Gun Salute:
American Legion Post #47
VFW Post 5202 Honor Guards

Mr. Carol Underwood

American Legion Chaplain
Mr. David Wagner

Mr. Earl Caldwell

Retiring of Colors:
Tuscola High School ROTC

Please note that Pisgah High School ROTC is unable to attend.
They are scheduled for Boot Camp during that time period.

An Open House will be held at American Legion Post 5202 immediately after the Dedication Ceremonies. Please plan to attend.
The Ladies Auxiliaries of American Legion Post #47
and VFW Post 5202 will serve food and refreshments.

The Monument was designed and set by:
Cable Monument Company of Waynesville, NC

Military Display courtesy of:
Old Grouch's Military Surplus of Clyde, NC

Patriotic music supplied by:
Haywood County Community Band


Our deepest appreciation to the many who have donated and helped
to make this monument a reality. Your contributions have not gone unnoticed.
Our deepest thanks and appreciation go to those listed below and to the many unnamed donors.

The Earl H. Caldwell family
Ms. Jean Caldwell
Mr. Alan Clements
Ms. Nell Davis
Mr. Terry Edwards
Ms. Diane Ford
Mr. Lewis W. Green
Mr. Jim Howell
Mr. Gene Limbo
Mr. Billy Joe Leopard
Mr. Mark Leopard
Mr. Phillip Leopard
Mr. Roy G. Masceri
Mr. Gerald McCreary
Mr. Therold Nichols
Mr. Sam Patterson
Ms. Phyllis Ratcliffe
Mr. John Scroggs
Ms. Lorene Wood
Mr. Joe Terrell
Mr. Don Wells
Security Finance
Mr. Spurgeon Sizemore
Vickie's Hair Cottage
Sylva Women's Clinic
The Town of Clyde, NC
The Town of Canton, NC
The Town of Waynesville, NC
The Town of Maggie Valley, NC
VFW Post 5202 Bingo
VFW Post 5202 Canteen
Mr. Carmicheal & Ms. Hannah Sprecher
Mr. Hoyle & Ms. Jane Daniels
Sons of the American Legion Post #47
VFW Post 5198 Ladies Auxiliary
VFW Post 5202 Ladies Auxiliary
Ms. Doris Garrett in Memory of Mr. Bill Garrett
Mr. Edward Wright in Memory of Mr. Charles Wilson
Mr. Rodney James in Memory of Mr. Charles Wilson
Mr. Claude M. Lay, Sr. in Memory of Mr. Buddy Hooper
Mr. Bruce Marshall in Memory of Mr. Clarence L. Marshall
Mr. Harley & Ms. Mary Miller in Memory of Mr. Bobby Miller
Ms. Sally Ratcliffe in Memory of Maj. Curt Furtado

Site Preparation provided by:

Mr. Robert Arrington
Mr. J. C. Caldwell
Mr. Mark Heller
Mr. Billy Joe Leopard
Mr. Mark Leopard
Mr. Matthew Leopard
Mr. Phillip Leopard
Mr. Keith Moore
Mr. Charles Reece

Music playing is "Taps" sequenced by Doc & Ned

Back to Index

Copyright 2003 by Becky Howell