Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
Yellowstone County MTGenWeb

Yellowstone County Places

St. Paul’s Evangelical Lutheran Church

(United Church of Christ – 3rd Ave South & 34th Street)

Billings, Montana

Revised 30 April, 2016

The Evangelical Lutheran St. Pauls Church was founded and incorporated on March 3, 1923. Reverend F. T. Schmidt by order of the Honorable Missions Committee of the North Dakota District of the Lutheran Synod of Iowa and other states came to Billings several times to guide the congregation in the transactions necessary to establish a new church. There were 48 founding members. Pastor Schmidt was elected to serve the church and its congregation on April 1, 1923.  Architects Link & Hair designed the building. A German master-builder, Mr. Sebodt was hired to construct the facility for $10, 750.00. The cornerstone was laid on August 5, 1923, a Sunday. Pastor H. Jannsen from Marsh, MT gave the Festival Sermon. Church history (and its congregational lists for the period of 1923 through 1992) has been donated to the Forum by Howard Guenthner. The church was officially closed by membership vote as of March 29, 1992.

The founding church officers were:

Adam Bender – Moderator                              Jacob Strecker - Trustee

Jacob Walter – Treasurer                                 Conrad Wacker - Trustee                                

Fredrick Roth – Secretary                                Conrad Lenhardt – Trustee

Original Founding Members (August 5, 1923) were:

Henry Amen, Jacob Alles, Henry Badt, Jacob Bekel, George Bender, George Deines, John Gisick, Henry C. Guenther, Henry Gunther, Sr., Jacob Eckhardt, Conrad Hein Sr., Conrad Hein, Jr., John Hein, Sr., John Hein, Jr., John Hergett, George Kissler, Conrad Kristel, Jacob Koch, George Lackman, David Lackman, Sr., Henry D. Lackman, Jr., David miller, George miller, Frederick Rutt, Jacob Ruff, Henry Rehm, Alexander Rauh, Philipp Reuter, Jacob Sailor, George Schlentz, George Stieber, David Stieber, Henry Stieber, Jacob Strecker, Jr., Wilhelm Walter, Frederich Walter, Andreas Worm, Sr., Andreas Worm, Jr., John Yerger, and George Yerger.

There are three ledgers in the set: [Most of the information is presented in German]

Ledger I – 1914 to 1926

      Personen – oder Seelen [Membership]

      Tauf [Baptism]

      Konfirmation [Confirmation]

      Toten [Death]

Ledger II – 1925 to 1949

      Miscellaneous, church seals and membership lists

      Gemeinde – Beamten (1923 – 1927) [Congregational officers]

      Personen – oder Seelen [Membership]

      Tauf – [Baptism]

      Konfirmanden – [Confirmation]

      Trau – [Marriages]

      Toten – [Death]

      Kommunikanten – [Candidate for Confirmation]

      Miscellaneous  - [Member contribution, chronicles of events from April 1944 through August 17, 1952]

Ledger III – 1950 through 1995


      Congregation History

      Baptisms – 1950 through 1981

      Confirmands – 1950 through 1981

      Marriage Records – 1950 through 1983

      Deaths – 1950 through 1995, including some obituaries.

 Evelyn J. White, Rudolph & Marjorie Lenhardt Lackman during the summer of 2000, copied the records.

  Email me:
Katy Hestand
Yellowstone County Coordinator

© 2016 MTGenWeb