Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi

Jefferson Davis County

Welcome to Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi.


What's new

County Archives

Mailing Lists

To subscribe, send an email to [email protected].  In the body of the message put the word Subscribe.  Don't forget to turn off all signature files. 

For questions about this list, contact the list administrator at [email protected].

To leave the list use the email address above and send an email with the single word unsubscribe in the message body.

Search the MSJEFFDAVIS archives

Browse the MSJEFFDAVIS archives

Sight Navigation

Enter a search term or click Site Map to look for the information you need.


Search this site powered by FreeFind



If you have any information such as family Bible records, cemetery records, land records, deeds, wills, family group sheets, photos, or marriages that you would like to contribute, please send them to me and I will get it online. Look up volunteers are also needed. Together we can keep online genealogy free for everyone.

County History

Jefferson Davis County was established on May 17, 1906 from the eastern part of Lawrence County and the western part of Covington County. It was named for Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America.

Jefferson Davis County is bordered by Lawrence, Covington, Marion, Simpson and Lamar.

Prentiss was established on March 3, 1903. It was formerly known as Blountville which was named after William Blount, an early settler and merchant. At a special election held in April of 1906, the county seat was located at Prentiss, in the central part of the county.  The exact origin of the town name is uncertain but believed to be named after either Prentiss Webb Berry or S. S. Prentiss.

Towns include: Prentiss, Bassfield, Carson and Hebron. Communities include: Clem, Deen, Ebenezer, Green's Creek, Hathorn, Lucas, Melba, Mount Carmel, Oak Vale, Progress, Santee, Society Hill and Whitesand.



The USGenWeb Project was begun in 1996 to provide free internet access to genealogical data for every county in the United States.
Volunteers coordinate the collection of databases and individual county and state web pages.

If you're interested in hosting a Mississippi county, please contact Jeff Kemp, MsGenWeb state coordinator or Ann Allen Geoghegan, Assistant State Coordinator.


Last updated on Wednesday, January 14, 2015.

Copyright 2003-2015 by MSGenWeb - All Rights Reserved