Westville, Chariton Co MO
"Historical, Pictorical, and Biographical Record of Chariton County, Missouri"
1st Edition, Press-Spectator Steam Print, Salisbury, MO 1896.

Transcribed by Nalora Burns


WESTVILLE, one of the oldest trading points in the county, situated off the railroad, was laid out in August 1857 by Wm. S. WEST, M. D., section 22, TWP 56, range 18, located upon the southwest quarter. Its first business establishment was conducted by Smith & Hagler, who also performed the duties of postmaster. Upon the death of Mr. SMITH, Mr. HAGLER closed the business out, after which a Mr. SAVAGE, a methodist minister of Howard County, engaged in business there and was soon joined by one Charles RIGG. Dr. WEST was the first physician of the neighborhood. Since its earliest days this village has been a very popular trading point for a large number of thrifty and progressive citizens of that locality. At present the village has one general stock of merchandise, one drug store, one blacksmith shop and a hotel. In 1873 a Grange Hall was erected near Westville, but in 1880 it was sold to the Methodist and Presbyterian congregations, who moved the building to the town and have since used it for religious purposes. Among some of the early settlers of this community, we mention Henry CLARK, Arthur WITHERS, Thomas BELL, deceased, and Wm. HEDRICK and John SMITH, now past the three-score and ten mile post, yet enjoying health and prosperity. Westville Lodge, No. 202, A. F. & A. M., was instituted in 1858 with eight charter members, but in '63 the lodge discontinued and a new charter granted three years later, with A. N. LANGSTON as Worshipful Master. The original charter members of the Lodge were as follows: W. H. CALLISON, N. A. LANGSTON, J. E. DISARD, Wm. VINSON, Wm. SMITH, Dr. W. S. WEST, I. K. STEPHENSON, and DeWitt HAINDS. The lodge now (1896) is in a healthy active condition. Officers are as follows: Wesley ELLIS, Worshipful Master, G. W. MCCLURE, Senior Warden, James DUVALL, Junior Warden; J. H. CUPP, Secretary and I. C. COUCH, Treasurer.

Return to Main Index

Return to  Chariton County Home Page