Government-Chariton Co MO

"Historical, Pictorical, and Biographical Record of Chariton County, Missouri"
1st Edition, Press-Spectator Steam Print, Salisbury, MO 1896.

Transcribed by Nalora Burns


Chariton county is under township organization, being divided into sixteen minor civil divisions, with a populations according to the census of 1890, as follows: Bee Branch, 1290; Bowling Green, 1413; Brunswick, 3989; Chariton, 1122; Clark, 1225; Cockrell, 1011; Cunningham, 1341; Keytesville, 3394; Mendon, 735; Missouri, 887; Mussel Fork, 1158; Salisbury, 4310; Salt Creek, 992; Triplett, 1256, Wayland, 1068; Yellow Creek, 1065. Each township has its own board of directors, who have jurisdiction over their own roads, and bridges costing less than one hundred dollars. Each townshipo has its own assessor and collector. The government of the county is under the supervision of county officials, who are recognized as gentlemen of ability, highminded, intelligent, painstaking officials. While the county officials are all democrats, the citizens of Chariton differ in politics as in religion, and thought the majority favor the principles of the democratic party, there are many able and intelligent thinkers who count themselves Republican or Third Party ranks. The present officials of the county are as follows: Circuit Judge, W. W. RUCKER; Presiding Judge County Court, Loyd H. HERRING; Judge Eastern district, Henry HAYES; Judge Western District, Charles E. ALLEN; Judge of Probate, Henry C. MINTER; Clerk of Circuit Court, Henry B. RICHARDSON; Recorder of Deeds, Benjamin H. SMITH; Clerk of County Court, Raymond D. EDWARDS; Prosecuting Attorney, James C. WALLACE; Sheriff, James E. DEMPSEY; Treasurer and ex-officio collector; Alonzo L. WELCH; Coroner, Geo M. DEWEY; Public ADMINISTRATOR, Benj. F. MOORE; Surveyor, Samuel J. CARTER; School Commissioner, Orville L. DINES.

Return to Chariton County Home Page