Cottonwood County MN History--Southbrook Twp.

Southbrook Twp.
Cottonwood County, Minnesota

Southbrook township is the southwestern civil sub-division of Cottonwood is bounded on the west by Murray county, on the north by Rose Hill township, on the east by Springfield township and on the south by the county iine between Cottonwood and Jackson counties.

Besides two good sized lakes in the southwestern part of this township, the Des Moines river flows from the west out of Murray county, entering this township in section 6 and flows through the southern portion, leaving the township from section 31, entering Springfield township.

This township has neither village nor railroad station, but is settled by a thrifty class of people, who are fast becoming independent. Many of the early homestead and pre-emption claims of the county were selected from parts of this township.

The population in 1895 was 318; in 1900 it was 350, but in 1910 it had decreased, on account of removals, to 303.