Trails to the Past- Somerset County Maine-Index



 Somerset County





The million acres of land purchased by William Bingham of Philadelphia, in the western part of the State lie mostly in Somerset. The bounds of that purchase commence at the south-eastern angle of the Wellington in Piscataquis County, extending northward on the east line of the town, and westward on its south line to the south-western angle of Mount Abraham Township, thence northward on its west line to the northwestern angle of No. 6 of Range 7; whence it runs easterly on the north line of this township to Moosehead Lake, intersecting the eastern line near the north extremity of Deer Island. The mountains of this county of present note are Mount Bigelow, on the southern border of the most western part, Squaw, Fletcher, Johnson, Pierce, Spencer, Heald, Bald, Owl's Head Sally, Moxie, the Bald Mountain Range, Culcusso and Mucalsea mountains.

The industries of this county are chiefly agricultural; and having a good soil, few farmers fail to make a good living. Neat cattle and sheep are raised in large numbers.

Somerset County was incorporated March 1, 1809. Its territory was formerly embraced in Kennebec County; and sections of it have since been taken to form Franklin and Piscataquis counties. Norridgewock was the shire town until about 1870, when a new and elegant brick building containing a court-room and offices are presented to the county by Hon. Abner Coburn, and the county seat was changed to Skowhegan. There are now twenty-eight towns and four organized plantations. The townships classed as Wild Lands number 68. The number of polls in 1870 was 8,169. In 1880, 8,698. The number of children of school age in 1870 was 11,068. In 1880 it was 10,873. The population of the county in 1870 was 34,611. In 1880 it was 32,399. The valuation in 1870 was $10,048,159. In 1880 it was $12,128,878.

Source: Varney, George J., Gazetteer of the State of Maine.  Boston: B. B. Russell, 1886.


Cities and Towns

Anson & North Anson Fairfield Canaan
Athens Madison Cornville
Bingham Mercer Detroit
Brighton (plantation) Norridgewock Pittsfield
Cambridge Smithfield Skowhegan
Caratunk Solon
Dennistown (plantation)
Highland Plantation
Moose River
New Portland
Pleasant Ridge Plantation
St. Albans
The Forks (plantation)
West Forks (plantation)

Surrounding Counties
Aroostook County, Maine - north
Penobscot County, Maine - east
Piscataquis County, Maine - east
Waldo County, Maine - southeast
Kennebec County, Maine - south
Franklin County, Maine - southwest



 2011 - Present
 All Rights Reserved