Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
MEGenWeb Project ~ Hancock County, Maine
AmherstIncorporated as a town on February 5, 1831
AuroraIncorporated as a town of Hampton on February 1, 1831. Name changed to Aurora on February 6, 1833
Bar HarborIncorporated as the town of Eden on February 23, 1796. Name changed to Bar Harbor on March 25, 1913.
Blue HillIncorporated as a town January 30, 1789
BrooklinIncorporated as the town of Port Watson on June 9, 1849. Name changed to Brooklin on July 23, 1849.
BrooksvilleIncorporated as the town on June 13, 1817.
BucksportIncorporated as the town of Buckstown on June 27, 1792. Name changed to Bucksport on June 12, 1817.
CastineIncorporated as a town on February 10, 1796.
Cranberry IslesIncorporated March 16, 1830.
DedhamIncorporated as a town on February 7, 1837.
Deer IsleIncorporated February 2, 1789.
EastbrookIncorporated as a town on February 8, 1837.
EllsworthIncorporated as a town on February 26, 1800. Incorporated as a city on February 8, 1869.
GouldsboroIncorporated as a town on February 16, 1789.
Great Pond PlantationOrganized as Plantation # 33 MD on March 5, 1895. Name changed to Great Pond on October 1, 1969.
HancockIncorporated as a town on February 21, 1828.
LamoineIncorporated as a town on February 11, 1870.
Long Island PlantationIncorporated as town of Islandport February 11, 1857. Incorporation repealed March 27, 1858. Organized as a Plantation.
MariavilleIncorporated as a town on February 29, 1836.
Mount DesertIncorporated February 17, 1789.
OrlandIncorporated as a town on February 21, 1800.
OsbornOrganized as Plantation No. 21 MD BPP on March 5, 1895. Name changed to Osborn on April 4, 1923. Law incorporating town of Osborn passed February 11, 1976.
OtisIncorporated as a town on March 19, 1835.
PenobscotIncorporated as a town on February 23, 1787.
SedgwickIncorporated on 13 January 1789.
SorrentoIncorporated as a town on March 8, 1895.
Southwest HarborIncorporated February 21, 1905.
StoningtonIncorporated February 18, 1897.
SullivanIncorporated as a town on February 16, 1789.
SurryIncorporated as a town on June 21, 1803.
Swan's IslandIncorporated Maarch 26, 1897.
TremontName changed from Mansel, August 8, 1848.
TrentonIncorporated as the town on February 16, 1779
VeronaIncorporated as the town on February 18, 1861.
WalthamIncorporated as the town on January 29, 1833.
Winter HarborIncorporated as the town on February 21, 1895.


Copyright Notice: All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Tina Vickery [[email protected]] and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY. My very special thanks to Holly Timm for the creation of the MEGenWeb Hancock County graphic. The original photo was taken by Donald Vickery and is used with permission.

last edited

Towns Cemeteries Churches Interactive
Resources Vital Records USGenWeb Resources
History Family Home