Norfolk County

Massachusetts Trails to the past is requesting donations of any genealogy material that you may have such as old obituaries, death information or marriages, news clippings, births, and wills.  If you have any of this information, and would like to donate it please email it to Marie Miller ,  State Administrator for Massachusetts.  Please include the source of your information, if at all possible.


Its county seat is Dedham. The county was named after the English county of the same name with the meaning "northern folk". Two towns, Cohasset and Brookline, are exclaves.

Norfolk County, Massachusetts was created on March 26, 1793 by legislation signed by Gov. John Hancock. Most of the towns were originally part of Suffolk County, Massachusetts. The towns of Dorchester and Roxbury were part of Norfolk County when it was created but, as Boston annexed each town, they became part of Suffolk County again. Hingham and Hull were originally part of the Norfolk County legislation but petitioned to remain in Suffolk county and in June 1793 their removal to Norfolk county was repealed. Later, in 1803, they were moved into Plymouth County, Massachusetts. The county is the birthplace of four Presidents of the United States (John Adams, John Quincy Adams, John F. Kennedy, and George H.W. Bush), resulting in the moniker "County of Presidents."

Cities and Towns
Avon incorporated 1888 from Stoughton.
Bellingham incorporated 1719 from Dedham.
Braintree founded 1640.
Brookline incorporated 1705 from Boston.
Canton incorporated 1797 from Stoughton.
Cohasset incorporated 1770 from Hingham.
Dedham founded 1636. (County seat).
Dover incorporated 1784 from Dedham.
Foxborough incorporated 1778 from Wrentham.
Franklin incorporated 1778.
Holbrook incorporated 1872.
Medfield incorporated 1651 from Dedham.
Medway incorporated 1713 from Medfield.
Millis incorporated 1885 from Medway.
Milton incorporated 1662.
Needham incorporated 1711 from Dedham.
Norfolk incorporated 1870 from Wrentham.
Norwood incorporated 1872.
Plainville incorporated 1905 from Wrentham.
Quincy incorporated 1792 from Braintree.
Randolph incorporated 1793 from Braintree.
Sharon incorporated 1765 from Stoughton.
Stoughton incorporated 1726 from Dorchester.
Walpole incorporated 1724 from Dedham.
Wellesley incorporated 1881 from Needham.
Westwood incorporated 1897 from Dedham.
Weymouth founded 1635.
Wrentham incorporated 1673 from Dedham.

Adjacent Counties
Suffolk County (north)
Plymouth County (southeast)
Bristol County (south)
Providence County, Rhode Island (southwest)
Worcester County (west)

The information on Trails to the Past copyright (s) 2011-Present Date may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!