Whitley County KY AHGP



Whitley County was formed in 1818 and named for
Col. William Whitley. The county was formed
from Knox Co. Ky. and borders Tennessee on the South side. The county has two incorporated towns called Corbin, which is the largest of the two, and Williamsburg which is the county seat and was originally called Whitley Courthouse. With a landscape of steep hills and mountains, lumber and coal have been the county's main livelihood and production through the years. Covering thousands of miles are the Daniel Boone National Forest which aid in making this county one of the most beautiful places to see every season of the year.



All materials contained on Copyright 2005 to present emailDella Goodin. All Rights Reserved. All materials contained on these pages are furnished for the free use of those individuals researching their family origins. ANY COMMERCIAL USE, PUBLICATION, OR POSTING OF THIS MATERIAL ON ANY OTHER WEBSITE, WITHOUT THE WRITTEN CONSENT OF THE COORDINATORS/AUTHOR/SUBMITTER OF THE MATERIAL/PAGE, IS PROHIBITED. All images used on these pages were obtained from sources permitting free distribution, or generated by the author, and are subject to the same restrictions/permissions. All persons contributing material for posting on these pages do so in recognition of their free, non-commercial distribution, and furthermore, are responsible to assure that no copyright is violated by their submission.

Graphics by: Penny Parker