Scott County Kentucky Genealogy home

                                                         Welcome to Scott County, KY
  • Home                                                 
  • Contact Us                                          
  • Message Boards                                         

Courthouse built 1876

Online Data

 Bible Records
 Census Records
 DAR Big Spring Chapter
 Diary of Edward Callistus Barlow
 Death Certificates 1911-1957
 Delayed Birth Index
 Early Residents of Scott County
 Family Genealogies
 Fluke Family Burials
 G'town News in Lexington Newspapers 
 Marriages 1793-1831
 Our Neighbors
 Photo Page
 County Precincts
 Queries 1996 - 2002
 Revolutionary War Soldiers
 Scott Countians at Bryan Station
 Scott County Archives
 Scott County News 1902 - 1913      
 Surnames A - Q
 Surnames R - Z
 Spanish-American Soldiers
 Tax List 1800 A-L
 Tax List 1800 M-Z


Internet Resources     

KY Biography Project
Find A Grave-Scott County
Helpful Links  
Hughes, Henage & Isreal Tax List
Scott County Highway Markers
James Family in America
Mailing List - Scott County
Message Boards Scott Co.  
Ruddell's Station

Local Interest 

City of Georgetown
Georgetown College
Georgetown News-Graphic
Johnson's Funeral Home
Scott County Gems
Scott County Public Library
Toyota Manufacturing
Tucker Yocum & Wilson Funeral Home

Research Aids

Lookups - Scott County
Genealogy Projects
Resources in Scott County                          


! Notice !         

Eastern State Hospital Cemetery Project
is in the process of gathering a list of

persons buried in the hospital cemetery.

The County

Located in north-central Kentucky, Scott County was named for General Charles
Scott, who later served as governor of Kentucky from 1808-1812. Georgetown, the 
county seat is located seven miles north of Lexington. Taken from a part of
Woodford County, Scott was the eleventh county formed in 1792. It was one
of two counties established by the first Kentucky Legislature on June 1, 1792.
Scott is bounded by Owen, Grant, Harrison, Woodford and Franklin
counties and contains 286 square miles.

The Courthouse

The Scott County Courthouse was built in 1792 on a one acre lot sold to
the county by Elijah Craig. This building was torn down and a much
larger courthouse was built in its place.  On August 9, 1837, fire destroyed
the second courthouse and most of the records were lost.  The third courthouse
was built in 1847.  Again in 1876 the Scott County courthouse was destroyed by
fire.  The fourth courthouse was built and remains today.

Counties Surrounding Scott County



 Harrison       Woodford       Franklin
Owen Grant Franklin




What's New At This Site

Addition to Surname File






Participant in the KY GenWeb project.  State Coordinator, Sherri Hall Bradley
Participant in the KY History & Genealogy Project, State Cordinator Kath Hestand
Participant in the USGenWeb project


Scott County Coordinator  - Anne H. Lee

This site last updated Tuesday, March 14, 2017


All information submitted to and published at this site is intended for research purpose only. It may not be reproduced for
COMMERCIAL publication without the written consent of the creator. Although public records are not subject to copyright law,
the design of format is a personal creation and is subject to the laws of copyright. If you have any questions concerning
the information published on this page or at the Scott County, Kentucky GenWeb website, please feel free to email
me, Anne H. Lee, and I will be glad to address your questions and or comments.

© 2004 - 2016 Anne H. Lee