Leslie County Kentucky Genealogy

Leslie County was formed in 1878. The lower portion being taken from Harlan County, the northwestern part from Clay County and the northeastern section from Perry County.

The county seat of Leslie County is Hyden. ( pictured at top of page )

Hyden is located on US 421 and at the mouth of Rockhouse Creek, a branch of the Middle Fork of the Kentucky River. It was founded on John Lewis's farm in 1878 as the seat of the newly established county. Named for John Hyden (1814 - 1883), then state senator from Clay County and one of the commissioners appointed to establish Leslie County. The post office began operation in March 1879 with Leander Crawford as Postmaster. The town of Hyden was incorporated in 1882.

If you have files you would like to donate to the Leslie County Ky GenWeb Site please contact us :
Elva Nolan Morgan - County Coordinator
Misty H Smith - Assistant County Coordinator
Leslie County Vital Records Office
Leslie County Clerk
P.O. Box 916
Hyden, KY 41749
(606) 672-2193

Leslie County Neighbors :

Click here to view the Leslie County Genealogy  Message Board hosted by rootsweb. (opens in new window)

Join the Leslie County Mailing List