Woodson County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Woodson County

Trails to the Past

This county is available for adoption

Woodson County was established on August 25, 1855 as an original county in Kansas Territory. The county was named for either Daniel Woodson, who served as Territorial Secretary and acting Governor; or Silas Woodson, a lawyer and politician from Missouri who served as Governor of Missouri in the 1870's. The county seat has been Yates Center since 1876. Woodson County is in the southeast corner of Kansas, with Coffey County as its northern-most neighbor; Anderson and Allen Counties to the east and southeast resptively; Neosho and Wilson counties to the south and southwest; and Greenwood County to the west.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Cloud County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

If you are interested in becoming the County Administrator for Woodson County, email me as noted above for more information.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
photos Schools    

Woodson County Links

Return to Kansas Main Page