Seward County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Seward County

Trails to the Past

This county is available for adoption.

If you are interested in hosting Seward County, please contact me at [email protected] for more information.

Seward County was created in 1873 from unorganized territory, and named for William Henry Seward, Secretary of State under Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Johnson. It's location is in the southwest corner of Kansas along the Oklahoma border. Seward County is bordered by Haskell, Mead and Stevens Counties in Kansas (west, north and east); and Beaver and Texas counties to the south in Oklahoma. Official settlement of Seward County did not begin until 1884. The county seat is Liberal, although not the original judicial center. First Springfield, then Fargo Springs were named as county seats, but because the railroad bypassed these two towns, they lost population and in an election held in 1892, Liberal was named the new county seat.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Seward County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools Cities and Towns  

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page

Copyright 2011

 21 April 2011