Pottawatomie County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Pottawatomie County

Trails to the Past

This County is Available for Adoption

If you are interested in becoming the County Administrator for Pottawatamie County, email me at [email protected] for more information.
Pottawatomie County is located in the northeastern part of Kansas and was formed in 1857 from parts of Riley and Calhoun counties. It is bounded on the north by Marshall and Nemeha counties, on the east by Jackson and a small part of Shawnee counties; Waubansee county to the south, and by Riley county on the south and western borders. The county seat is Westmoreland, which was voted on in 1882. Its name was derived from the Pottawatomie tribe.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Pottawatomie County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools Cities and Towns  

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page
Copyright 2015

 August 1, 2015