Jackson County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Jackson County

Trails to the Past

This County is available for Adoption. Contact me at [email protected] for more information.

Jackson County is located in the northeastern corner of Kansas. and is bordered by Brown and Atchison counties to the northeast and east; Jefferson and Shawnee counties to the southeast and south; and Pottawatomie and Nemeha counties to the west and northwest. It's county seat and principal city is Holton. Jackson County was one of the original counties established in 1855, although it went by a different name (Calhoun county). In 1858 its name was changed to Jackson (in honor of Andrew Jackson, 7th president of the United States), and officially recognized in 1859. At that time Holton was established as the county seat.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Jackson County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools Cities  

Jackson County Links

Created and uploaded on September 22, 2011

Copyright 2011

Return to Kansas Main Page