Geary County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Geary County

Trails to the Past

This county is available for adoption. Contact me at for more information. Copy my address into your email's "To" line.

Geary County is located in northeastern Kansas, and was established in August, 1855 as Davis County. Originally named for Jefferson Davis, who was Secretary of War at the time, it was changed to Geary in 1889 in honor of John White Geary, third Territorial governor of Kansas. Geary County is surrounded by Riley County to the north; Wabaunsee County to the east; Morris County to the south; Dickinson County to the west; and Clay County to the northwest.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Cloud County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools    

Geary County Links

Return to Kansas Main Page

Created August 6, 2011

Copyright 2011