Douglas County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Douglas County

Trails to the Past

This County is Available for Adoption

Douglas County is located in the northeastern part of Kansas. It is bordered by Jefferson and Leavenworth counties to the north and northeast; Johnson and Miami counties to the east and southeast; Franklin and Osage counties to the south and southwest; and Shawnee county to the northwest. It's county seat and largest city is Lawrence. Opened for settlement in May of 1854, Douglas County is an original Kansas county, named for Senator Stephen A. Douglas, the Illinois senator.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Douglas County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools Cities and Towns  

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page

Copyright 2010

 November 26, 2010