Morris County, Kansas--Trails to the Past
Trails to the PastKansas Trails to the Past

Welcome to Morris County

Trails to the Past

Morris County is located in the east-central part of Kansas, and is bordered by Geary and Waubansee counties to the north and northeast; Lyon and Chase counties to the east and southeast; and Marion and
Dickinson counties to the southwest and west.  It was established as a county in 1855 under the name of Wise County, named for Virginia governor Henry A. Wise. The county was renamed in to Morris in 1859, after Governor Wise presided at the hanging of abolitionist John Brown.  Thomas Morris was a former US Senator from Ohio, and an opponent of slavery.

Council Grove is the largest town in Morris County, and is the county seat.  It was established in 1825 as a supply station for the Santa Fe trail.  Other towns include White City, Dwight, and others. Morris County is also home to a ghost town: Diamond Springs.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Cloud County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
photos Schools -- --

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page

Copyright 2012.  16 December 2012