Lyon County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Lyon County

Trails to the Past

Lyon County is located in the east-central part of Kansas, bordered by Wabaunsee and Osage counties to the north and northeast; Greenwood and Coffey counties to the east and southeast; Chase and Morris counties to the southwest and west. Lyon County was originally called Breckinridge County, after John C. Breckinridge, who became Vice-President in 1856. Later, after the former Vice-President became a secessionist, the name was changed to Lyon in 1862, in honor of General Nathaniel Lyon, who was killed in the Battle of Wilson's Creek in the Civil War. Emporia is the largest city in Lyon County, and is also the county seat.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Lyon County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools Cities and Towns  

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page